(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

i din went for the antenatal class first time n not going for this time also. that was due to the nature of my job. n now,since i have the experience, so too lazy to travel.

i dont feel too bad for the 1st time, u jus push when ur gynae/nurses instruct u to push as if they r pushing also.

i told myself i want another baby jus after pushing me back to my ward, hehe

Poshies,

Hi Oreo,

I went for antenatal class when I had my first child. Personally, I feel what is taught is pretty informative. I espcially like the exercises they taught us, hubby also participated and they also taught my hubby how to massage my back if I need him to! haha...

However, on the pushing part during labour, well, I didn't really feel it's dat useful. When in labour, so stressed and pain liao, everything taught also forget liao lah... only thing is when I pushed, the midwife will encouraged me telling me I'm doing well, can see how much of the bb's head and I felt motivated to push harder etc lor.
On the whole, classes are quite a gd experience. I also got to know other mums-to-be and I'm glad to see hubby's participation in the classes as well!

Hi oreo

Saw your question.

Since we are seeing the same gynae & will deliver in East Shore, here's my 2 cents of thoughts on the classes offered by EastShore.

I signed up & am currently attending the classes.
Well, there is one nutrition class which I think the info can be pretty much obtained from Internet.

However, for the exercise classes (I attended one so far which personally I think is really useful for me as a first time mummy lor.

Also, one of the parentcraft class which I attended was really resourceful as we were told how we know we are in labour & what to expect during delivery..etc...

But hor, must drag hubby along..hahahaa....

<font color="0000ff">Hey gals &amp; lbs</font>
Thanks for answering my question.

Appreciate it a lot.
I haven't really decided if i wanna go or not, hmmm.. must check with hubby first.
Btw, at what weeks should we go for the class? like in your 2nd tri onwards??

hi oreo

The one I attended stated to go on your 4th months onward (abt 16 weeks) but I started on my 5th month but there are some others in later stage lor..there are two ladies even in their 32th &amp; 34th weeks liao!

Actually not advisable lar since they cant pretty do the exercise liao due to the big-big tummy lor..thats why I think they advise to start on your second tri..

<font color="0000ff">tane</font>
My hubby already told me that he will not go into the labour ward with me. He's afraid that he will faint on seeing blood. He told me what if after he saw the labour scene already, then next time cannot perform liao!!
So I'm pretty much on my own.

Bluesea
Your midwife reminds me of the one at Mt Alvernia...so encouraging and funny. When i was pushing, she actually told me to imagine that i have not pass motion for a hundred years and had to use all my strength to "pang sai"...haha..she was so expressive when saying that, despite the pain, i wanted to laugh. She also kept telling me i did well..that really encourages me.

<font color="0000ff">twinklets</font>
Thanks for the info. on the "Spring" shop @ suntec.
Will go check it out one of these days.

oreo
most of the time your lower body will be covered with blanket, as long as he dun go and look down there, he won't be able to see anything. My hubby was also scared, so he didn't look, just at my side and shouted "push, push"...but the moment he saw his own flesh and blood being borned, i swear i saw his eyes got tears.

ya lor, today so cooling, good for us mothers to be. hehee

Oreo,
u must tell ur hubby to go in wif u. Ya lor, like wat tane said got blanket 1. If ur hubby choose not to go down there to see, he wont be able to see anything bloody lor.
I told my hubbby must bring our digicam inside. Must shoot afew mini videoclips.
My frens even say put tripod Stand infront of me just incase my hubby busy holding my hands &amp; the camera.

I dunno whether i want to go to these classes or not. Cos i noe for sure i'll forget everything when real thing comes.

I think the exercise i wud luv to do is just some swimming. I think they got websites to teach us how to do some simple exercise.
Btw i noe where to buy maternity swimming suit liao, @ SPring, cost aro $40++. hehehe cant wait to step into the water next week!!!!

poohy,
Is Tan KH a snr consultant? I can't seems to find his name in the gynae list. By 16weeks can see gender meh? If so, i also wish to know leh
Oh well for the classes, we jus hope that we'll receive the mail from them lor.

Florence,
I believe by early Nov you should be able to book for classes in Dec.

<font color="0000ff">twinklets, tane</font>
Got blanket, izzit? Gee.. i didn't know. very suaku hor! first time mtb.

ok, will try to persuade my hubby again ...

twinklets, what type of swim wear did you buy?
I'm also dying to swim but cannot fit into my present swimsuit and need to get one.

Hi afternoon MTB

ras so fast....now u how many weeks?
i still can cope with my old clothes although it is a bit tighter.
mostly maternity wear are very big size leh....that why i did not buy yet.
Or u can get the maternity pants first cos djustable. As for the top, buy L size first.

Oreo,
my sis told me 1, cos her hubby also scare of bloody scenes. whole session din look below.

Mayb u wont even need to persuade him. when the real time comes, he auto goes in with u! hehehee

i also cant wear my current 1. i dun want to appear like a ball infront of the pool with tat!

Tat piece is a 2 piece 1. The top can cover till the abdominal i think. I have yet to try, but so far this 1 is 1 of the cheapest i saw. I got saw afew in Mothercare &amp; 1 shop at Suntec too. All aro $70++++.

Ras,
How many wks are u now? U want to try wear drawstring pants first?
Maybe buy afew larger size clothes first lor, cos after birth sure need to wear them for afew mths too.
Hee tell u, when i started to wear maternity pants few wks bk, i feel so weird &amp; pai say man.

Took some time to read this thread.
I'm 7 weeks pregnant and baby's due on 12/6. So far I've had really horrible morning sickness and made me feel really weak. Any ways to combat this?

jamci,
I am only 7 weeks but I was about to outgrow my clothes even before I was pregnant. I already know I will outgrow my clothes very fast if I got pregnant. Thanks, I will look for the maternity pants.

Twinklets,
Thanks for your advice. I don't know how I will feel when I wear maternity clothes. I am always on the plump side, I already look pregnant without the maternity clothes, even more pai say.

I will go to Spring to look at the cotton pants you mentioned. I agree that we will need larger size clothes after birth. My friends told me they feel pai say wearing maternity clothes when they discharge from hospital.

Hi tane,

yea, it's so important to hv an encouraging midwife! i see her expression, I aso feel she's like pushing together with me, so I feel motivated to push. But alas, I finally still need gynae's assisted forceps.
But before I discharge, I actually filled in the feedback form to appraise the midwife, she's v polite and did not once mk me feel bad during the whole process.

When my hubby saw the baby, he was grinning so widely! told me "baby chu lai le" (bb is out) and repeated a few times to me, and I thot bb is truly out, then he said, head only!
who knows the next contraction comes v soon after and bb slips out fully with me giving one final scream! hee ... I also feel hubby's support during labour is veri impt, he will hold my hands and encourage me, and I feel he's into this as well. Afterall, bb is not only my own creation but his as well. He has to share my pain!

hi bett ! welcome aboard!

You can check out this website. http://www.ahealthyme.com/topic/pregnancycenter

Quite informative.
I've extracted some for ur reference.

Keep simple snacks, such as crackers, by your bedside. When you wake up, nibble a few crackers and then rest for 20 to 30 minutes before getting out of bed.

Eat small, frequent meals. An empty stomach can increase nausea. Aim for foods high in protein or carbohydrates, as both can help fight nausea.

Try taking 50 mg of vitamin B6 twice a day, with your healthcare provider's consent. B6 helps the body metabolize certain amino acids (proteins), which may somehow reduce nausea (no one knows exactly why this works).

Discontinue your prenatal vitamins temporarily. If the nausea improves, give yourself a few days and then reintroduce the vitamins.

Since iron can be hard on your digestive system, stop taking supplements for the first trimester unless you're anemic.

Avoid rich, spicy, acidic, or fried foods, and eat less fat in general.

Though it's important to keep yourself well hydrated, try drinking fluids only between meals, and limit them during meals.

Keep snacks on hand. Try eating small amounts of bland food throughout the day. Good choices include crackers, animal crackers, yogurt (high in B vitamins, which can decrease nausea), or anything else you can stand to eat.

Sniff lemons. The smell of a cut lemon may help your nausea. Put slices in your iced tea or sparkling water.

Drink ginger ale or ginger tea. Ginger is known to settle the stomach and help queasiness.

Give yourself time to relax. Talking things over with another mother-to-be can be a nice way to relieve stress. Some researchers theorize that stress and emotions may also play a role in morning sickness.

Try acupressure bands. You can find Sea-Bands, a soft cotton wristband with a plastic button, at drugstores. This simple device, created to fight seasickness, has also helped many pregnant women through morning sickness. Strap it on so that the plastic button pushes against an acupressure point in your wrist, and you may begin feeling some relief.

Ras,
hee me too, I already put on alot of weight since I married last year.

Even before pregnant, once i've a full meal, my stomach macham like 3 mths big liao.

You'll really feel so much comfy wearing maternity pants, no longer tat kinda suffocating feeling!!!!

ras, ya get that comfort pants

Last time, i always buy a size bigger skirts, that why i still can wear till now. I should wear size S but i do not want so i choose size M for more comfort wear up to hip line

So now can see tummy already sticking out and all my skirts became high waist suddenly.
hee hee

U are going to deliver at which hospital?

me will be going to KKH since i am going to see Dr john for my first appointment. Hope i will be comfortable with him.

Thanks twinklets.

However, about eating less fried foods, seems like only when I eat junk food such as beef burgers I don't vomit. Quite puzzling really. All other food will naturally find their way out through my mouth after I ate them. I've grown quite weak and my GP even gave me MC.

My GP and another specialist I've been seeing said that my MS came quite early. It should be from the 8th week onwards. Anyone else having this problem?

Oh, and I'm growing in size too like Ras. I can't zip up most of my pants. Time for shopping! :D

Anyone used a doppler at home? Where can we buy one and how much uh? Read that there are even shops overseas that can rent but never heard of such a service available locally...

Hi Ras,
U R Welcome

Hi Tinklets,
I went to Spring, yesterday, bought 3 pant n I top, the sale girl or the boss, Jenny serve me very good service I like their photo frame a lot. So tempted to buy.

Hi oreo,
Shld go n take a look at spring have quite a nice range of clothing

Bett,
I think u are not alone.. hehe.. cos when i eat junk food like fried chicken/fries/ice cream, my appetite seem very good too ..

but when come to eat more healthier food, i'll find it abit hard to swallow them..

Poshies,
hee i'm gog tomorrow too.. gog to buy the swimsuit (if i can squeeze it in lar..) &amp; maybe afew more tops.
I din see any foto frames leh.. will take note tmr .. we sure will buy alot next time 1 ..

Tane,
Spring is at the 3rd floor. Err u noe there's this area where they tend to have more kids shops there? I think is near to the Suntec sky garden, correct gals?

Btw gals, today is FRIDAY liao!!! very fast hor!!!!!! Every week I'm just looking forward to Friday.

oreo, thanks for the link. will look out for it in other shops too.

just to share that i went for my scan today and bb was measured 4.4cm, almost 2 inches liao, and the machine dated me even 11w6d (i thought i am only 10w+ now) which pushes my EDD forward almost by more than a week to 14 May 2005! hmmm... the machine deduced the EDD by the bb's length is it?

Same here to share, just back from checkup today. Heard baby's heartbeat today...asked doc for the measurement, she said that the screen is too small to measure...but it's at acceptable size...doc tried to scan to see if its a gal or boy for me, but it was naughty to close its legs up..so cant see...haha...hv to wait til at AMC

Drawn blood to do the triple test today also...Updates: The KKH antenatal class which starts in Nov, left Friday's slot...

Florence,

The Dec classes is open for registration liao...u can download form from KKH website and fax them the registratn, hv to pay 50% which is non-refundable...

Hey, westbb.....tink the machine aga aga one.....i got the same experience as u too..diff edds at my first and second appmt...but my gynae still uses the initial edd as record lor..

Thanks Piglet! Most properably will take the Sat. classes.

Hi westbb, I think the machine uses the length as a base for the EDD. I've asked gynae my EDD when she was taking the readings and she reconfirmed by looking at a chart. I peaked at the chart... I think its weeks or days vs length (something like that). Anyway she still uses my initial EDD as she said that the readings were only a few days off...

Westbb,
same question tat is in my mind too!!
tat mean our EDD will most of the time change?
Mine measured at 4cm at 10th week, i'm gog to visit Gynea next monday, i'm very excited to see how much it has grow!! hehehehe

Piglet,
how many wks are u now?? so fast can try to see boy or gal?? u must be very excited hor.

Usually triple test will take how long to do?
I'll drawing my blood next monday. Nervous leh.

Twinklets,

I m in 16 weeks now...doc wants to try to see if it's visible enough to check lor...but guess baby is telling me, "mummy, wait la"...haha....

Will be having detailed scan in 4 weeks time lor, by then, hopes baby is cooperative...

Just draw blood only le...wait for test results...

hehe.. guess ur bb is trying to make u wait like a gan jiong spider hor ..
very excited leh to noe ur own baby's gender sex ..........

Hi morning gals,

very happy starting for me.Like to share also. i feel bb is kicking tis morning on the MRT on my way to work.tis is the first time i confirm that bb is kicking,is in middle of the abodminal, few constant kick last for 5-10 min.still worried last few days for not feeling anything,now is a release.feel something is moving last few days, but like moving bowel,cant confirm.
will have a detail scan in mid Nov, hopefully able to find out a BB girl or boy.

Meow, AOE= age of empire, somthing like the warcraft, but very old version.

westbb,
i bought doppler in mothercare at KKH last time. i also saw it sell in kiddy palace at jurong pt.
personally i dun find it that usefull.it will pick up sound like the engines fm the cars 2 blocks away fm my home or dic-doc fm the alarm clock.make sure a very quite enviroment b4 can use it. n quite diffcult to hear the heart beats in the early stage.but once 2 trim, u may not it becos u can already feel BB moving everyday.

gals,

the doppler we buy at those shops in singapore does not really work that well... like what linn said, it cannot detect bb heartbeat at early stages.

the doppler gynae used are different.. those are more expensive and are actually ultrasound doppler. Meaning it emits ultrasound wave like your ultrasound scan... able to count the heart beat rate. These can be rented overseas but not in singapore.

agree with linn, by 2nd trimester, we can sense bb moving.. so the normal doppler is not that useful liao

Hi Ras,
Not too sure it is too late.... the price is abt $70 but i had suntec card so got 5% discount...

Hi tane,
twinklets is rite with the location, hope u two find the place hor...

hi Piglet,
ur gyn so cute... want to know the gender of the bb.... u must be excited to know too hor...

hi linn,
izt u can feel bb moving every now n then.... but this is my 1st... dunno know how to judge...

Linn,

How many weeks are u in now??.....this is ur first??.....I also felt something "knocking" in the lower abdominal since late last week...not that type of cramps lor...dun know if it's baby kicking...cos i tot cant feel so early when having first born...

Any mtb which not working, like to join me for a swimming session at Superbowl country club at marine south in the mornings or afternoons?