(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

Ras,
The triple test is jus like the NT test. NT test is to measure the thickness of BB's neck while triple test is to draw blood out from us and test for the level of AFP and can't remember what. Both are to test for Down Syndrome

Shane,
Triple test doesn't include HIV test. My HIV test was done during my first appt at hospital.

Poohy,
What time is your appt with KH Tan at the TPS? Mine is 2pm.

<font color="0000ff">dunnoleh</font>
Welcome! How many weeks are you now?

<font color="0000ff">shane</font>
Yours done before wk12?
Mine's recommended to be done bet. week 14-16.

<font color="0000ff">ras</font>
Triple test is not compulsory.
And if you're below 35, the gynae will usually leave it to you to decide if you want to have the test taken.

Thanks Little ones &amp; Tane.

Little ones,
I'm surprised that your doc enable to let you do the neck measurement 1 mth later for you. (you'll be 20+ wks by then, rite?)
For my case, the ultrascan technologist told me our bb is 13.7wks , &amp; already out of range, cant do the measurement for us.

Can you able to check for me with your gynea on this? I'm quite worried abt this down syndrome thing.. Cos I was told this neck thing accuracy is 85%, wherease the triple blood test is only 65% ....... Thks .........

Shane,
I din do the HIV blood test.
My husband also did 1 of the blood test. I cant remember which blood test though..

Hulo Dunnoleh!

Oreo,
I'm getting very very confused now.

My doc was told can be done till 14 wks.
But the ultrascan technologist said mine too big at 13.7 wks, out of statitics &amp; out of range liao.
I think I've to clarify again with my doc.

The neck measurement is more impt than the triple blood test, cos it is 85% accurate. Whereby for the Triple blood test, it is only 65% accurate.

oreo,
oops i read wrongly.
u meant the triple blood test is 14 - 16 wks, not the neck measurement rite?
Have u done urs?

Thks gals.

Is it necessary to do the HIV test ? I feel like better to do but cost also go up.

As for the triple test, i might have got it confused with the NT scan cos i rem my gynae saying abt some test need to do before 12 week so that it will be more accurate. Anyway i think i'll go for both cos need to rest my mind that bb is well and healthy.

Oreo,
I haven't done any test yet. Wait for my next visit in 3 weeks time.

Btw, any of u have dogs at home ?

Also, can still continue to use pimple cream or not ?

Was told by gynae not to go for spa, massage and hair colouring ...

But normal skincare should be ok ?

sorry, me very blur, first time so everything also don't know :p

Hi twinklets &amp; shane, if I am not wrong, you did the First Trimester Test (same as me). I did the test (both blood and scan) in my 12 week. I was very surprised when gynae wanted to draw my blood during that visit after my "go ahead" with the test (I thought its Triple Blood and it should be done in the 14-16 week). She said that this is a new method and its 90% accurate, but if I still want the Triple Blood, she can do it too...

http://www.pslgroup.com/dg/2023ae.htm

For the other tests, I have my yearly health screening in Raffles Hospital and its already taken care of.

meow,

my appt with kh tan is 3:10pm. might see u ard
I really hope he will scan for me .. cos maybe can see bb gender. And my mum going .. so she can also see the scan

I am currently in combat mode cos my final masters exam is tomorrow!?!! I am still mugging like mad... so scared if i failed cos I took a module from another faculty which is not my specialty (big mistake). Though I got 1 more free semester before convocation, but the exam period next sem fall during my EDD!!! so unless I wanna induce bb before the exam, I better pass tomorrow.... stressed!

Twinklets,
Here's the price and description for NT test in KKH:
Package A - U/S at 11-14wks with detection rate of 80-85% and result can be obtained on the day of scan cost $157.50
Package B - U/S at wk 11-14 and blood test at wk 11-14 with detection rate 90% and result available 2 working days after blood test $315
Package C - U/S at 11-14wks and blood test at 15-20wks with 90% detection rate and results in 2 working days after blood test cost $245.40

Tripple test should be done after 14weeks. It cost $87.90 for the test.
Both test won't be 100% accurate that's what all nurses tell ue.

Shane,
my mum has a dog at home and i intend to let her look after the BB.

Poohy,
you must be damn stress. But still...try to relax at times k?
All the best for your exams.
My appt is 2:20pm, so i believe you are behind me lor. You've already confirm him as your gynae hor? I'm still going with my hubby lor....let's see if we'll see each other tomorrow.

meow,

no lah, my gynae is dr ct yeong. I only see dr kh tan for the purpose of the down syndrome screening cos i took the premier secreening package mah (ie. Package C)

Florence,
Thanks for the info! I'll call up to check with my Gynea today.

Meow,
Thanks too! Appreciate these info.

Poohy,
Can drink Chicken Essence at this time?
If can, try to drink as can make u more alert. heee

Hi poohy,
don too stress up with the exam hor... jia you

Hi shane,
not too sure abt the nt test... but my doc din ask me to take... i just take the normal blood test... unless it show abnormal then i suppose to go n take. but till now no news from my clinic mean i'm okie....

hi florence,
u had booked ur Antenatal class with TMC on sun har? what time... i had make a booking on monday but hubby feel i shld change to weekend... what is the price difference? can share with me??

oreo/meow/shane,
Thanks for explaining to me.
My gynae has not told me about the triple test. I shall ask her during the next visit.

Hi poshies, I have booked the Sunday 2:30-4:30pm course. They also have Saturday 2-4pm, 4:30-6:30pm and Sunday 5-7pm.

Course Fees:

Delivery at TMC:
6 lessons (Wkday Classes) - $140
6 lessons (Wkend Classes) - $160
2 lessons + Doc's Talk - $120

Delivery at others:
6 lessons (Wkday Classes) - $160
6 lessons (Wkend Classes) - $180
2 lessons + Doc's Talk - $140

You can call their Parentcraft Centre (62514090) to change.

Hi twinkle
Jus called up the clinic and ask them abt the neck measurement thingy, the nurse told me that down syndrome thing is covered under the blood test.. and seems like the nurse is also not sure wat is abt the neck measurement thing. Anyway, she said that the detailed scan to be done on 5th mth onwards.

Morning gals,

So sad today. I accidentally wash my permanent contact lens into the sink and it was a new pair which i wear only for 2days.

Check with you girls,
1. Does anyone of you intend to take up the Antenatal Class from other hospital instead of the one you will be delivering?

2.Will there be any difference for the programs covered?

little,
maybe the nurse doesn't understand the meaning of neck measurement. NT test means Nuchal Translucency Test, maybe she'll understand this medical term used instead.
Infact, they aren't measuring the thickness of the neck but the gap behind the neck instead.

Twinklets,
I'm currently having an article for screening down syndrome. I can type it out for you here.

Screening for Down Syndrome in each pregnancy can be achieved by the following methods:
1. Mother's age. The risk of having a down syndrome child increases with the mother's age. However if only women aged 35yrs or older is offered an invasive test, Down Syndroe in younger women will not be detected.

2. Maternal Serum Screening where the results of simple blood test done between 15-20 weeks of pregnancy is combined with the mother's age to estimate the risk of Down Syndrome.

3. The 18-20 week scan where the prescence or absence of structral abnormalities or soft tissue markers can be used to better predict the risk of Down Syndrome.

Meow,
*pat*pat* dont be sad. Me worse, I lost my purse yesterday with IC/2 Credit Cards/1 ATM/some monies. Still hoping that someone will return to me these few days..

wow ... all these information is overwhelming. I'm already lost. :p

Sometimes i feel so lazy, just think of sticking with my current gynae thru'out so I can save some homework to be done. She was very detailed in her explanation during my first visit. The only prob is she practise at ESH and MT.A.

I'll be gg for my next appt in 2 weeks time. Cannot wait.

When do we need to start attending the antenatal classes ?

Poor meow and little ones.
don't be sad okie. Look on bright side of life. So baby will be happy also

meow,
oh ur mum got a doggie as well. I have 2. Just wondering anyone else here, so can exchange pointers in managing baby with dogs. I already have plans to change some habits of my dogs in preparation before baby arrives.

little,
True enough you really sound worst than me.
I've already call to make another pair. Have you make a report yet? Or did you left it at work place or some other places?

Shane,
I believe you can start after 14weeks or so. One of my friend didn't complete her classes cause BB can't wait already and she missed 2 lessons.

Hi cath, I'm taking the class in TMC but won't be delivery there (infact most probably not delivery in Singapore). The classes are the same for those delivery in that hospital or not. I am merely choosing TMC because I like their course (as compared to KKH and Mt. A) and because of their many weekend classes.

Hi shane, the antenatal classes usually starts from week 16 to week 22. KKH have their theory classes which starts in week 16 and the rest of the class at week 22 (if I didn't remember wrongly). For TMC, they will only accept you after week 20 (they mention something about some risks during exercise for less than week 20). If you take the class later, your tummy might be too big and can't really do the exercise.

Meow,
That happened to me before. I asked my dad to open up the sink and found the lens. I have to clean like crazy after that.

I also have a fair share of blunders recently. I tend to get distracted easily. I also become more forgetful and clumsy.

Shane,
can i seek some advise from you on dogs?? I happen to catch a few fleas on the dog recently. Should i shave all his hair away? If so, where can i go for one in the west with reasonable price? I'm lost cos i know nothing on dogs
Roughly how much does grooming a dog cost and does it includes trimming its nails?

I'm enjoying myself listning to music now.
Going to listen to some instrumental music for mother and BB.

Ras,
At least you found yours. I scream for my hubby and ask him to help. He help my check the waste trap but find nothing....so it really means its gone forever into the drain liao.
Oh well... jus pay again for my other side that i've lost can liao lor.
In fact 2 weeks ago, my left lens chip so i need to change and since i've wear it for close to a year, i change the whole pair. Aiya, shouldn't have thrown away the right side in the dustbin. I think its still there, but it should be very hard and dirty now.

Now waiting to see BB later again.

I am very sad...just got bad news from my gynae. my triple test shows that i'm at high risk for down syndrome. was advised to go for amniocentesis...very scared. i have make appt for the test tomorrow and the results can only get 2 weeks later...

Thks Meow and Florence. I'll look ard for the classes when i reach abt 12 weeks. so can take my time to decide hee hee ..

Ras and Meow,
y don't u gals try disposable lens ? Cheaper and if lost u still got extra lens at home..

Meow,
For fleas, no need to shave dog. But u need to bathe the dog with flea shampoo and apply medication (frontline-but i can't rem if frontline is purely for ticks and fleas. I can go home and check for u) on the dog to kill the fleas. You can send to groomer or go to vet for help. Grooming for dogs start from abt $25 for basic grooming if yours is a small dog. Bigger dog then more expensive. Basic grooming will include trimming nails, cut paw fur, bathe, blow dry, comb, clean ear. But diff pet shop got different prices. So you got to check with the petshop that you'll gg to.

Dear Tane, so sorry to hear about that... I will pray for you tonite... have you taken leave yet? You will need plenty of rest after the test...

Hi tane,
Not to worry much. I ever heard that blood test doesnt look favourable but after some other tests, its ok again - false alarm. Look at the bright side and I'm sure you and bb will be okay!

meow,
u gg to see gynae later ? so gd. can see your baby again.

Tane,
don't sad, must be strong and give bb courage. Hope everything goes well for your test.

<font color="0000ff">tane</font>
My thoughts are with you.
219411.gif

I have a friend who also went for triple test and the test shows a high risk for down syndrome.
However, they decided to keep the baby and all that time praying that the bb will turn out alright.
And she did give birth to a healthy boy!
So, the bottomline is the test is not 100% accurate.

Take care and don't worry so much. I'm sure everything will turn out fine.

Hi Meow,
I have recently shaved my dog too and glad I did cos my groomer told me that my dog has a lot of ticks.. feel so pity for it cos must be painful.. Prob its becos of the rainy season that's y there are a lot of ticks/fleas.

Grooming includes trimming of fur or shaving it all, cleaning the ears, triming nails, etc. For my shih tze, it costs me abt $50 per grooming.

Shane,
I can't use disposable contacts. My cornea are too small....
What's the diff between ticks and fleas? I know it has 6 legs and black in colour and no matter how i try to smash it, i jus dun die.
We never go to any petshop before...this dog was given to my parents from my dad's friend. K i'll try to check out the petshops that i pass by. meanwhile please tell me what kind of shampoo to use thanks.
Anyway, how can he get these fleas/ticks? He was given a bathe every week but he loves to pee at trees, could that be a cause?

Yeah going for the review on NT test done a month ago. That's what poohy is going as well.

Florence,
Can you tell me how to find out if the course is better at TMC? U have the course outline?

Shane,
Me also hope to change the habit of my dog eg. goin downstairs for pee/poo. But I think it's going to be hard, cos my mum tried it before and seems like my dog rather 'endure' than to pee/poo at home...

Meow,
From wat u describe, could be ticks ley. Must be careful. Don't anyhow kill the ticks cos when u squash them, if it's female, the eggs will scatter abt and you'll end up hvg a tick invasion. Then you have to clean ur whole hse to remove the ticks.
For fleas, they normally jump and it's whitish in colour if i'm not wrong. You can use a flea comb to comb thru ur dog fur, if u find small organisms on the comb then it's fleas.
Ticks normally stick on ur dog skin cos they survive on the dog's blood. U need to pry them our of ur dog skin cos they attach very tightly to the dog. If it's a tick problem. It's better to get ur dog shaven so u can get rid of all the ticks on him.

You can try bathing him neem oil shampoo. You can find this it's a dog's life in serangoon gardens. If it's incovenient, then u can get any tick/flea shampoo from the petshop. It's also best to put on frontline for ur dog if its ticks. it can help to kill all the ticks on him.

Yes, gg outside sometimes do result the dog from catching some bugs, esp rainy season. try to get ur dog to pee on less grass area and avoid the bushes. These are the areas where there's alot of bugs that we can't see.

Little one,
toilet retraining very tough one. esp change from outdoor to indoor. however still can be done. u must also endure and not bring ur dog down. Over a few days, the dog will give in and pee at home. once that happens, u can slowly show the dog where u want ur dog to pee. But for a start it will be a battle of endurance for owner and dog. hee hee ....

Meow,
I only know that ticks are those little black thing that sucks my dog's blood. Must use finger nails to poke it so that it will burst and died and I usually leave it to my mum.. cos I dont dare to do it. Ticks are common around grasspatch and esp during rainy days and after cutting of grass. If you find a lot of such on yr dog, I suggest you shave it bald jus in case it got reproduce and more come out.

As for the use of shampoos and frontline, if used too often, the ticks/fleas may be immuned to it and eventually become ineffective. Thus, my groomer advise us to let the dog eat garlie everyday cos it will keep the ticks/fleas away which is effective! hehe... but my dog is very smart, he will run away and hide whenever we wan to feed him with garlie.. haha..

shane,
so yr dog have such problem too? If we restrict the dog to go peeing for a few days.. will it hurt its bladder? I'm so worried abt it..

Little one,
yes eating garlic is one gd natural prevention for ticks.
But becareful don't feed everyday, every other day abit will be gd enuf. Cos overfeeding of garlic will cos thinning of blood in the dog.

Thanks Shane and Little for teaching me.
Ok, its confirm its ticks cos i see it grow very big before and i have to pull it out from his skin. What's frontline? Is it a product?

Little,
must we really poke it? Cos i throw it away in the dustbin and ask my mum to throw the plastic bag away straight into the chute.

little one,
my dog is indoor paper trained. they do their biz in the toilet on the papers. so i don't have this pbm.

Must monitor, if the dog still hold his bladder up to 3-4 days, then i think u better give in and bring dog down. But I think dogs are quite smart.

What u can do also before u start the endurance test is try to bring some papers down when ur dog go pee downstairs. After pee, soak some pee on the papers and bring it home. Then leave the pee soaked papers in btn the papers in the area where u want ur dog to pee. Then the next day don't bring ur dog down and bring ur dog to that area in ur hse to sniff. Keep bringing ur dog back to the area during intervals (those timing that u bring ur dog down) and let ur dog smell. Hopefully over time ur dog will give in and pee on the newspapers since the papers for the dog pee smell. it's a hint to the dog that dog can pee/poo there. It's gg to be tough but must perserve. Can do it one.

meow,
fresh diced garlic is the best.

little one,
every 2 day also can. for me i feed abt 3 times 1 week. sometimes only 1x a week cos i forgot :p

die, this one becoming doggy thread liow .... hee hee ...

wait the rest of the mummies gg to scold me ..