(2004/05) MAY Babies

Giggler,
weekdays & daytime, yes.
Weekends & night, have to take care of 3, including daddy... hahaha...

Leng Leng,
I must agree that kids treat friends better than us :) Maybe they want more attention from us, that's why they will do anything for that :)

Giggler,
I saw her teaching one of the younger one in CC before, but I do hope she can be as good to her di-di when Adrian grows older.

Alicia's Daddy,
somehow, "taken for granted"...

Do take note of attention seeking actions & speech as Adrian grows up,
there are days that Athena will say "I don't want didi",
that's when you'll have to explain why certain attentions are given to Adrian & not her as she grows older.

We reduce giving Athena attention b4 Besper is born,
so when Besper is born, she won't feel any difference in attentions from us.

Leng Leng,
Thanks for the advice.
Alicia is able to differentiate between "daddy to her", and "mummy to di-di", and this is our problem. She cannot share her daddy with di-di...:-( We are still trying to make her understand that both of them are important and deserve both of our attention.

Alicia's Daddy,
kekeke... that's what I mean...
Tell her the more she loves didi,
the faster he'll grow up to play with her.
So everyone have to love both of them for them to grow tall & healthy,
Athena's motivation to grow taller is to press the lift button at my parent's place,
she's able to reach those at our place & PIL's place already.

Have u sang Barney's "I love u, u love me... ... " to her b4?
Athena loves it when we hug & kiss her,
now as she sings, she'll hug & kiss didi too.

TLL, how do you 'reduce' attentions to Athena?

A's dad, you still having prob with Alicia thinking that you belong to her? Think I better 'warn' hb abt it cos he ever suggest that he'll take care of Vane while I take care of bb after I give birth.

Giggler,
Athena's our 1st child,
so she got everything she wants,
just wag her "tail", we'll know what she wants.

When she's 10mths old, I was pregnant again.
for 1st 3 mths, I won't carry her,
even when she cries, I'll leave her to daddy.
As she gets older,
we explain that there are times that daddy & mummy are busy,
we are not able to play/carry her all the time,
we encourage her to play on her own,
watch her favourite CDs on her own.

I watch all her CDs with her,
as we watch, we'll sing loudly,
before Besper's born,
there are days that I'll take my bath,
leaving her to watch her CD,
I'll know when the CD is finishing as she sings along.

BUT, do make sure that you home is 99% children safe b4 u try this.

Now we rope her in to help taking care of Besper,
bringing us his diaper, desitin cream, clothes, etc.
When Besper cries, I'll ask Athena to sing to him,
this stops his cry sometimes,
but if he doesn't stop, she'll join him to cry,
saying "didi don't want to hear me sing"... hahaha...

Leng Leng,
Thanks again for the great advise.
Alicia knows the Barney song, she will sing and loves to hug and kiss everyone, including her dolls. We are careful not to let her hug her di-di at this moment because she can be very "chu-Lu", so only let her stroke her di-di.

I din realise that Barney's song is the same tune as "this old man"..hahahaha..

Giggler,
Yes, still a problem that we need to work out.

Alicia's Daddy,
be surprise, Alicia can be gentle to didi,
just remind her that he's still a baby, needs to be gently with him.

We let Athena carry didi when he's a few weeks old,
she was only 20 mths old.
Just wrap him tight,
make her sit at sofa, her back lean backwards,
make her hands crossed in a cradle shape,
tuck a large pillow under her left arm (where bb head will be),
she looked so "serious" yet gentle
and has a sence of responsible when she carry him.

Giggler,
it'll be good that your hubby looks after Vane after u give birth,
according to my mom, we should not carry anything heavy after giving birth, for 4 months.
Else our womb may sag when we are old.

This is happenning to my Grandmother now,
there are days that her womb will "drop out",
she'll have to "push it back" using her finger.
Not sure what my mom & auntie means exactly.

Leng Leng,
I am really amazed with the great wealth of knowledge you have in this topic. Thanks!
Athena birthday is the same as Alicia rite? May 22, 2004?

TLL, your grandmas womb sound serious. Ill take note of it, thanks.

A's dad, think you got to be patient with Alicia in this matter. Do you give in to her when she makes noise that you cant touch didi?

Giggler,
Most of the time, I will give in, because she will keep crying, screaming, and pulling me away.

I changed my tactic last night, I asked her to sing together with me to di-di, and she did..:)
I think I have to get her involve whenever I am doing with Adrian.

Leng Leng
Dun understand your mum n aunt either.

Giggler
Chen Chen love to watch leapfrog dvd

Alicia's daddy
Alicia is v possessive

Alicia's Daddy,
Yup, keep Alicia involve when you do things with Adrian. That's what we do with both our Gs. Whenever I play with Gavin, I will play with Gareth too. Even though it's peek a boo. It will make Gareth feel better and not feeling neglected.

Also, cannot always let the di-di win. haha, why I say that. Cos yesterday we saw Gavin fighting toys with Gareth. Aiyoooo, very agressive leh. So, we discipline Gavin instead, told him that it is wrong to snatch toys from kor-kor.

Think I got alot to do in terms of teaching Gavin. hahaha

Koala,
Nice to see you back in the forum. Hope Chen is all clear now.
I think so too. Her favourite line is "It's mine". Giggler knows that when I try to ask Alicia to pass the gummy bear to Vane...*Haiz*, but hor, sometimes, she just share leh...

Pigletz,
Thanks Thanks for your advise.

As dad, thats a good start Same with Vane, her fav line also mine, mine, mine when playing with her cousin. Sigh

Koala, Chen also like the Letter Factory?

pigletz, so fast Gavin fights with Gareth liao?

A's dad, I agree, kids need to be coached at this age. But I'm so tired 'lecturing' her nowadays. Sigh...

Alicia's daddy, Giggler
Do u give your gal the food u r eating or the thing u r using straight w/o saying anything upon her request?

Alicia's daddy
All cleared now. Not as chatty n active as the past tho. Think need to regain strength. Boney now. Thx for sending constant regards

Giggler
Chen Chen likes all leapfrog dvds

Koala, what do you mean? You showed all leapfrog dvds to Chen? I only show Letter Factory to Vane. Initially, she didnt like it but after a few times, she's singing with them liao.

Koala,
During mealtime, Alicia eats what we eat. Nowsadays, we cook simple meal at home, like porridge/rice with some steam fish/vege + soup. We will try to eat out less often. Alicia likes soup, so we will pour soup into the rice, mix with vege, fish or meat. She likes it that way.

I will try to hide away from her if I am taking tit-bits, or some snacks which are not healthy.

As for thing, I will tell her off if it interrupts the thing that I am doing, otherwise, I will let her take to mettle for a while (i.e handphone)

It's not easy for kids to go through the ordeal of an illness. Must let Chem rest more, and eat well, I am sure he will be as chatty n active in no time. *Haiz* Alicia had a fever (38.7C) this morning in the CC, and I had to rush down to bring her to see a doc and now resting at home. Her right throat has some inflammation, and doc gave her a suppository immediately due to her history of febrile fit. Fever subsided now, but need further monitoring.

Giggler,
Alicia also likes Letter Factory only, so far.

RE: Children Cancer Foundation (CCF)
My office went to KKH and distribute goodies bags, and balloons to the children's ward (cancer), and made a donation to CCF yesterday. It is sad to see some of the kids going through chemo, and bed-stricken. The kids are happy to receive the balloons from us!

Giggler
Bearbitt lent me leapfrog talking factory 1 & 2 n Maths factory. Chen Chen like to watch all of them. I realised Chen Chen likes to watch dvd v much lately. Can watch 2 or 3 pcs @ 1 go

Alicia's daddy
I taught Chen Chen the meaning of share by telling him to say "mummy pls share ....." when he wanted wat I wz eating. I dun give him st away. Perhaps he learn to share thru dat way. He used to behave the way young bb n tod r. bb r borned to b self centered bcoz when they r bb, they taught u r she, n she is u. She doesnt know dat she can ctrl herself. @ toddler stage when she can exert self ctrl,she cont 2 behave tis way
Chen Chen wz back to his chatty self on last Fri n his appetite improves tremendously
Gd dat Alicia recovered fast fm her fever
Fits is v scary. A boi my mum bbsitted last time had fits when he wz young. He is ok now
It's v sad to c children in hospital, esp those whose parent can't afford to accompany them all the time. Young tod or bb can't express their needs, even tod who can, nurses can't afford to attend to them all the time
Does Alicia like the Mongolian song?

A's dad, good that Alicia's fever had gone, Vane got fever over the weekend. The fever is not very high but it affected her appetite. Ya, it's very sad to see kids in hospital, worse if they're bed-stricken.

Koala, Vane also glued to TV, hope she'll get sick of DVDs asap. Nowadays, we'll tell Vane that most of the toys belong to her cousin so that she'll share. If not, everything will be "mine"!!! Good that Chen's appetite improved, he's quite slim leh.

Koala,
I have not let Alicia hear the song yet. She has a sudden interest to watch Barney "counting" VCD now since the CC is teaching numbers. I also left my DVD drive in my office drawer :p

Alicia usually watch 1 VCD and she will go around the house to do other things.

Febrile fit is common in children <5 years old, but if it happens the first time, it can be very terrifying. We were terrified and worried when Alicia has her first febrile fit, but we learnt from it.

Giggler,
Seems like the chilly weather is causing many to fall sick. I bought a bottle of paracetomal from the doc, and asked the CC to keep it.

Got to fly down to US for meeting this afternoon, and back on Sat. Alicia gonna miss daddy again.

RE: Alicia and Adrian
Looks like big jie jie is beginning to show love to her di-di liao!

Giggler
Vane glue to TV to watch TV programme or educational dvd?
Chen Chen is even slimer now. Everytime he put on wt till round round, he falls sick. Sigh.....

Alicia's daddy
U may like to look for Richard Scary's vcd on counting. It teaches no up to 20. All the other dvd/vcd I came across counts up to 10 only. Singapore's Mathematics std too high liao

Gd dat Alicia stops after watching 1 vcd
How come u get the cc to keep a bottle of paracetomal? Dun the centre send kids home when kids hv fever?
C I told u, I believe Alicia will b a big gd jie jie to Adrian
Alicia is v zai on stage. She looks as big as the other tods. Is she the same age as the other tods?

Mom2Nat
Leapfrog dvd I bot teaches phonic - words factory, talking factory 1 &amp; 2. There is reading factory which I din buy. Regret. They hv 1 dvd on Maths. I din get tis coz it teaches no up to 10. Chen Chen counts beyond 10 liao
Hv u decided which nursery to register for Nat?

Mom2Nat, so far Vane only watched the Lettery Factory. It's gd in teaching phonics cos Vane sings after them.

Koala, Vane is glued to dvd and vcd... not sure if you classify Hi5 and Barney as educational or not. Vane likes the Richard Scary's vcd on counting too.

A's dad, wow... Alicia looked so steady on stage, no sign of nervousness at all. The teachers put make-up for them?

Just arrived Idaho, very cold......saw snow on the flight but no snowing on the ground :)

Mom2nat,
Alicia loves the Letter factory, where it teaches catchy song on the sound of each letter. It's a good way to instill basic phonic reading to beginner. Talking factories are more advance which can be use when they are older.

Koala,
I teach Alicia counting through daily activities, like climbing down the stairs, count the number of cars, etc. I also have a puzzles which counts and piece together the numbers (up to 20) that we can play. The Barney VCD on counting was something that she remembered after learning about counting in CC.

We are suggesting the CC to keep a bottle in case she has fever, and before we arrive to pick her up, the CC can give her a dose to contain the fever before it goes too high. It is meant for immediate action upon fever.

This dance item is with other age group (K1, and K2). I cropped the pic, otherwise it will be too large. There were only 3 of them in the same age group (toddler). Those kids behind her are older, but due to perspective of the pic, they look about the same.

Giggler,
My wife put on the make up for her.

Koala, Mom2nat,
My next US trip will be around end of Jan2007, if you want to buy more of the leapfrog DVD, I can help.

Giggler
Hi5 n Barney both entertaining n educational

Alicia's daddy
Wow snow.... it's beautiful
Since Alicia already count up to 20, Barney too easy for her. Me too, teach Chen Chen to count in daily activities
Acutually hor, it's not necessary to give paracet if fever is not too high. I always sponge Chen Chen when he has fever, give paracetomol if fever doesn't subside or too high. I forwarded a mail to your pacificnet a/c on not giving paracetomol st away when there is slight fever
Ai say man, u travel to US every mth! Muz hv earn many mileage pt
If I buy 1 leapfrog dvd got shipping charge mah.

A's dad, you travelled again??? So back in time to celebrate Xmas with your family?

Koala, the only relief is that Vane is not hooked to watching drama with the adults.

Koala / Giggler / Alicia's daddy
Wah, you all say until the dvd v good leh. Maybe I should get a few oso.

Alicia's daddy
Tks for offering. Isit exp? Where can I check out the titles?

Koala
Aiyo, haven't decided leh. Have you?? Chen chen in some PG already right? There is one near my place, YWCA... but I dunno these ind good or not leh.

Koala,
As long as I can get USD25 worth of things to be shipped, it is free shipping. Pai-sei, I did not inform you, and Giggler earlier for you to consider anything from Amazon. I was too busy before this trip. Hoho send me a list of books to buy on this trip (it's her pro-activeness..LOL) , and I added 2 books for myself to her list.

Year lor, it has been 1 trip to US/mth from Oct till next month. In fact, I told my boss that I do not mind hosting the meeting in Singapore next month, but due to some European participants travelling to US, I need to go there.

Thanks for the mail, I will read it later.
Last year, I used my mileage to claim 4 tickets from SQ to Penang. My parents, and my faily went there for a short vacation. I paid 20% of normal fare for Alicia at that time.

In fact, it was a little frightening to see snow when you are so high up in the air. I am thinking what will happen if the snow is an ice, and it got into the engine of the plane??? Eeeiiiii....

Giggler,
i will be back on Sat early morning, tat's why I did not consider joining the X'mas party in Natalie's place. I may be too tire.

Mom2nat,
You can check out Leapfrog DVD in Amazon.com. They have reviews of each titles. We bought it at US7.97/pc (not sure what is the price now), no shipping charges although the DVDs fly in SQ, and of course, I gave good exchange rate :) (even lower than my CC rate..LOL)- Koala, Giggler, dun worry about it..It's a pleasure helping you :)

But hor, only for a few privileged mommies here only, because my lagguage got limited space...LOL

Alicia's daddy
Tks for the gracious offer... Heee.. I will go take a look tonight. You so lucky can travel leh. Then how your wife cope with 2 kids?

A's dad, what books did you buy? Shd have told us mah, then we could get books as Xmas presents.
If you're not too tired, you still can go to Nat's place in the afternoon.

Mom2nat, Giggler, Koala,
Cannot get a proper sleep today. Think my biological clock did not go well this time, or I may have too much of caffeine + whisky before sleeping time. It is around 3-5C!

Giggler,
Really sorry about not informing you on time. I was so busy until hoho sent me an SMS about helping her to get some books. The order was done in a hush-hush manner after receiving her order through email, and it was really just-in-time for the order to arrive during the period I am here.

quite last minute buy, I bought "excuse me, a book on simple manner" by Karen Katz, and "meeting blue's brother- a blue clue series".

Oh, I went to Oshkosh, and Carter's factory outlet. Got my "first demin" set for Adrian, and a skirt for Alicia :)

Mom2nat,
Not sure if travelling for business is lucky, but it can be pretty tire, especially long haul flight. When I travel, my MIL will stay in our hse to help out with the kids. My brother-in-law, and parents will help with fetching Alicia to and from the CC.

Koala, and myself bought Letter factory, talking factory1 and 2. Giggler got the whole series (5 DVDs).

Alicia's daddy
NOw the dvds are on sale in amazon, $7.97. Would you be getting this price when you purchase? Or you will purchase later?

Giggler
Guess tods like music n fast movement. So they dun like drama.
The whole series of leapfrog cost > than the total of 5 dvd bot individually rite

Mon2Nat
We sing praise for leapfrog coz it catches the attention of tod n tod really learn fm there
Chen Chen is attending playgroup. He will cont wif the same playgroup next yr. After dat, gotta look for another school coz existing playgroup doesn't hv N2 n abv. Tis means I gotta register Chen Chen for N2 n abv by 2nd quarter of next yr. Really headache leh. I may n up sending him wif PCF. Seems not many schools for tod in Pasir Ris.
Most of Chen Chen's playgroup classmates (borned in 2003) registered wif Pentecost Methodist. 1 grandma told me the school is v gd. It's @ Pasir Ris Drive 6. May b u like to check it out

Alicia's daddy
Dun hv to feel sorry not informing me abt your purchase fm Amazon. Wow Ho ho. She is Amazon fan hohoho.....
Really save a lot using mileage to get air ticket.
Hahaha I never think of ice getting into the engine. Only find snow beautiful
It's v nice of u to hand carry the dvd all the way fm US to us, how can u charge us lower than your credit card bill rate. wat's the diff. Say lar. I transfer the diff to u.
U dun hv jet lag normally? Boi 3-5 degree is freezing. @ least there r heater for indoors
Nice dat u hv so many helpers to help when u travel

A's dad..
Aiyoo.. u make me pieshey here lei..

now the mummies here knw i amazon siao lei.. aiyoo.. peishey lei...

koala,
Some of the books in amazon are much cheaper than in spore. You must have the time and effort to compare retail (kino, times) and online bookstore pricing.

BUT whatever it is ALL thanks to A's dad lah, if not i gto pay for shipping fm US to Spore liao..

So A's dad, dun hold the meeting here, go US.. kekeke

Mom2nat,
My trip trip to US is going to be at the last week of Jan07. Actual dates and venue has not been confirmed yet. Usually, I will order 1.5 weeks in advance to get the benefit of free shipping in US. Seems like the price still the same, so I guess it will not go up anytime. I will let you know when my schedule is confirm. I helped Giggler to but individual DVD which cost lesser than buying their set kit.

Koala,
Maybe I travel alone, so think too much liao :p
ho ho ho, you can bet on her..hahahaha
Aiya, not much lah, can absorb :)

hoho,
LOL...maybe amazon queen??? hahahaha..
Boss say must go US liao, so start searching for your next order...:)

As dad, hehe dun need to feel pai seh for not informing me abt Amazon purchase.
I like Karen Katzs books too, got one on sharing for Vane.
Things from Factory Outlet really cheap? My fren used to spend hundreds dollars on clothings for her kids there. Tell me the diff in ex rate and Ill pay you leh

Koala, agree that they prefer music &amp; movement now. Heng ah
Yup, its cheaper to buy individually. Thanks to you for highlighting it and really thanks As dad for helping me to get them. PCF has class for N2? I thot its for older kids.

Hoho, did you get any book for the leap frog learning system in the end? You very hardworking mom to source for prices hor? Hehehe.

A's dad,
HAHAHA..
Hmm.. think enough fm amazon liao lah hor..
P's cupboard no space liao, gto buy another 1.
Its time i buy smething for myself.. keke..

I just ordered and get them delivered to my frd's hotel, if smooth smooth ah... U knw lah.. keke.. CNY coming lei.. keke..

Giggler,
I oso like Karen katz's bks! Phoebe oso!
Tts why i bought the box set.. OOPS!! shshsh "really worth it, esp. A's dad can hand carry to spore" shshsh...

Yup, i bought the Dora leapbook. Not too bad, at least P is touching it.. keke.. $$$ not wasted.

Dun like tt say lei, i work fast fast so that i gt some free time to do my own things..

If not at home, gto entertain Queen P!

Then Times, MPH bkstore is so near me, so lunch time can easily pop in.
Or i would call up kino and give them a list of bks, c spore hv bo.

A's dad,
U saw Carter's!
did you buy their slpwear for Alicia bo?!!
Those 3pc pack! very worth lei!

IF gt 2T, please help me buy for P if less than US8.99... HAHAHA..

Got see Babygap bo?
If got sleepwear, 2T, help me buy... HAHAHA..

IF only i can fly there myself..

Giggler,
Seriously, not much difference. Just take it as my kopi treat :) Maybe we can exchange the book so that they learn different thing hor.

Giggler, hoho,
I bought from Oshkosh, one romper + denim jumper (first demin set) for Adrian (for 12mths), 1 pink demin jumper dress for Alicia (for 4T), from Carter's, 1 romper for Adrian (for 9mths), and 3pcs of socks for Alicia. All cost me US$47+. Is this cheap?

I will not have time tomorrow since I am going to airport to catch a connecting flight out from Idaho to LA.

No Babygap in this area. You can check this out at www.boisefactoryoutlets.com

hoho,
COACH! COACH! COACH!