1 bedder @ TMC - how much did u pay?

Hi Valerie, if you are going to deliver at a private hospital, you have to close one eye. Of course do check the bill, but don't go asking each and every detail. As long as the "misc" charges are not sky high, it should be acceptable.

During confinement, try to cover up shoulders, feet and legs. After a quick shower, cover your shoulders with towel immed. Also don't around barefooted. Try to wear bathroom slippers.

juliann,
from what i recall when i delivered in march this year, i don't think there was any free flow of longan red date tea leh... in fact they gave me milo to drink most of the time. but maybe if you request for it (at extra cost) it may be provided.

Juliann,

I just delivered in TMC. They dont have red date tea. Ginger tea, milo, coffee etc only. I requested for ginger tea. Didnt c it being added as extra cost unless included in misc or wat. Also asked for more milo cuz hubby needed time to go back and get the red date tea..

Oh just to let u knw, TMC has food reheating svc. I didnt know that. So ate a few times of not so hot food due to delays caused by b'feedg at times.

Hi Juliann, I don't think longan red dates tea is provided at the hospital. My mum made the tea every morning and hubby brought it to the hospital for me.

First Mum, u can go nov thread to c my birth story. Posted on 11 or 12 Nov

Natural - 3.5 hrs..

TMC is GOOD. I stayed 3rd floor. The nurses are all v nice and expert in b'feeding. Svc is good. U will enjoy ur stay also..

Aprilpinky
wow envy u natural birth only 3.5 hrs!
wish mine will be like urs,keke....

Mummies here,
I have submitted my admission letter to TMC
Actually opt for 4 bedded, but hopefully will hv free upgrade to 2 bedded lor...
so ask u all do I need to bring anything else on the day of my delivering at TMC?

Thanks for your replies.

Will take note. Maybe I just ask for ginger tea and milo instead.

Hi Valerie,

Nice to see you here.

Hi Valerie, have you packed all the essential stuff for yourself besides the impt documents ?

-IC/letter of admission fm gynae/marriage cert/antenatal invoice.
-Breast pads/maternity pads
-Socks/Jacket
-Toiletries
-Maternity dress (for discharge)
-Toiletries.

I stayed on 3rd floor at TMC. The service is simply great, just like staying at a hotel except that you get to bring a baby home after the stay.
HaHaha

Val,
Walk more and do more kegel exercise..I think it helps...at least for me. I nearly cannot make it for epidural..I had my epidural 10 min after they said I was 8 cm dilated. Jerking like mad..

Janet, oh..so u stayed 3rd flr also! We were advised by a staff nurse also called Janet on the last day in relation to b'feedg etc. She even helped us carry the bb all the way to the carpark waiting area. Yup, it's like hotel stay.

Val, try to do some light exercises like walking. It helps to build up stamina and your thigh muscles won't be too stiff during delivery.

I stayed in 325. The nurses are like hotel staff, simply professional & warm. The nurse changed my girl's clothes, wrapped her up and carried her all the way to the lobby on the day of discharge.

hey Juliann,
yup yup nice to see you here,hee...

think logan tea we ask our family to bring to us lor,hehe...

Janet,
oh TMC give me a list what to pack
so what you listed is the same,hee...I shall follow thks

I hv not pack, will do so in Dec cos I be deliver in Feb

Janet/April
oh I do kegel exercise and walking,
nw these 2 are my only sources of exercise

I lazy to go swimming though is very good,keke :p
nw 2nd tri is ending...doubt I will go swimming

Hi Val, you can still pack in Jan since EDD is in Feb. It's more for yourself since TMC will provide a top/mittens/blanket for newborns.

Every morning, my mum would boil the longan/red dates tea and put inside a flask for hubby to bring to hospital. After my discharge, she continued to do that until my confinement was over. I just loved to drink that. Replaced the blood lost and yummy.

hi valarie..

I juz delivered at TMC abt a week plus ago.. i also opted for 4-bedded, but was upgraded to 2-bedded for free n haf stayed at 5th level..

like wat Aprilpinky said.. the svc there really gd.. n they r quite concern abt ur well-being, always checking to c if we nid help or any other things.. hee..

Janet,
I like red dates n logan too
nw most of my bu dring pregnancy, my mum will add red dates to sweeten it,hee...

yalor think I will pack in Jan before CNY

Hi Celtricia,
you also another Nov MTB like April ah?

oh you actually upgrade frm 4 bedded to 2 bedded
that's gd, how much did u pay in cash after all the medisave/medishield claims?

hee...I know TMC hv very good service but just concern will they hv shortage of nurse stuff since so many mothers deliver there?

Valarie..
yes, i'm also frm the Nov MTB juz like Aprilpinky.. in fact, her son was born 1 day b4 mine.. hee..
thanks..

ya.. initially i tot i won't b able to get an upgrade.. but who noes.. hee.. they upgrade me n on the 1st nite, i was all alone.. the other bed was empty.. so its almost like 1-bedded.. kekeke..
i paid ard 1.3k after medisave claims.. its a bit more coz i was admitted for observation, so its consider with an xtra day charge.. if nt i tink would b much cheaper..

Hi Celtricia, I got upgraded to a 2 bedded room while in the labour ward. I was also lucky to have the room all to myself after the other patient got discharged after 1 night. It sure made my labour sweeter. HaHaHa.

My girl is also a Nov baby. She will be 1 this coming Sat.

Hi celtricia,

The 1.3K u paid does it include your gynae's delivery charges or is it solely on hospital bills?

Mummy and baby's bills together rite or separate?

Hi Janet.. i was upgraded to 2-bedded when i was in the Observation Ward.. dat day d a patient was still there, but she was discharged the next day, whh was my labour day.. hee.. but late during the nite, another patient was warded.. but not so bad lah.. hee..

oh! ur baby ger turning 1 tis saturdya ah.. Happy Birthday to her.. hee..

juliann.. d 1.3K is solely hospital bills.. gynae charges is separate.. mummy n bb bills is charge together.. but they do break it up for u to haf a clearer pic of wat u pay for during d payment

wah Celtricia,
so nice u and April bb bday a day diff

ok thks for ur info for the bills, so 1.3 is mummy n bb bills?
gynae charges is seperate?
pardon my blurness :p

Celtricia, I opted for a 4 bedded room. Got upgraded to a 2 bedded. After the other patient got discharged after my 1st night there, I got the room all to myself until my discharge. Good deal huh ?

My daughter says thank you for your well wishes. HaHaHa.

janet/ april/ celtricia,
wow, u ladies can form a TMC alumni! judging from the collective pleasant experiences at TMC, im sure i wld enjoy my stay there too!

april/ celtricia,
how's ur confinement so far? shd be ending soon? so envious. hope i can get thru mine in a breeze.

wad were ur labor symptoms? ive been having menstrual-like cramps the last couple of mrngs. wonder if common?? i also feel dam "sng" in the pelvic/ groin area.

janet,
happy 1st bday to ur princess

Hi first_mum, I delivered at TMC bcos my gynae is under the Thomson group. Actually I wanted to deliver at Gleneagles which would be nearer home.
But hey, it was indeed a pleasant & memorable experience to deliver at TMC.

Confinement is actually the month whereby you get to eat & drink all the nutritious food/soup without the worry of having sore throat. Other months it would be too 'heaty'. You will enjoy it, esp since it is so cold now.

Have you packed all your stuff yet ? Don't forget to put socks in the hospital bag & also bedroom slippers during the confinement. Well, it looks like you will have a wonderful Christmas 'present' this year.

From my daughter, thank you aunties for your well-wishes. I am 1.

Hi Valerie, my princess is 1 tomorrow. Look after the kids well and time passes very fast day by day.

How many months pregnant are you Valerie ? If I didn't remember wrongly, first_mum is due in December. It's enjoyable having confinement end of the year because you get to eat lots of tonics to keep warm & replendish.

Valarie..
sorry for the late reply..
ya.. after deduction of the medisave, i paid 1.3k for both mum n bb bill..
gynae bill is separate.. u will b paying a portion first b4 u deliver.. den if the charges is more den wat u haf paid.. ur gynae's nurse will tell u during ur nxt checkup after discharge..

first_mum,
the stay at TMC is definitely gd, they even call u up after ur discharge to check if u r breastfeeding well n if u haf any probs.. such gd svc wif follow-up.. definitely a plus.. hee..

so far confinement is gd.. coz i've got my mum to do for me n she noes wat's my likings.. so i'm enjoying it.. except for the 1st week whereby i dun get to bath.. it was difficult at first, coz i used to wash my hair everyday.. n i couldn't take it, kept feeling the itch.. but right nw.. everything is well liao.. i gets to bath every 2-3days.. if nt i can only sponge myself..

can't help u on the part of symptoms, as i was warded due to decrease in bb's movement..

Janet.. den u r very lucky.. got the room all for urself thru out ur stay.. i expected to haf someone to share the rm wif since the nxt day of my delivery is 11th Nov.. heard frm the nurses lots of ppl deliverying on dat day.. so can't avoid nt having ppl to share room wif.. moreover.. when i was out at the nursery area, i even heard that there wasn't enuff bed.. some right after delivery no room for them at all ah.. so i consider myself lucky dat i got upgraded to 2-bedded for free.. hee..

Hi first mum,

Yup, u will enjoy ur stay there. Actually I stayed in single bedded and my total bill comes up to abt $1700 after medisave for 3D 2N, natural w epidural and vacuum so it seems that single bedded much more worth it huh? Cuz there's really lots of privacy. I got hubby as companion even.

For symptons, mine is contractions. 10-15 min apart b4 I rushed to gynae. U cannt miss those contractions. V painful!

Confinem is fine. Every1 tries to make u happy. It's just that u cannt make the bb happy cuz sometimes bb gets cranky. hehe

Janet,
oh I am currently 26 weeks, due in mid Feb ba if I am nt wrong....
ya think confinemnt at end of yr is good as weather so cooling

Celtricia,
it's ok know u busy taknig care of ur bb
so 1.3 remain same just gynae is top up the 2nd half?
nw I get better idea of the bill liao, thks

wah gd to hv own mum to do confinement hor?
me will be MIL helping out, but she is quite modern one nt pantang so hope mine will be a breeze too
hee

Mummies,ask u all who hv delivered,
is it v scary n nervous the moment we are in labour ward?
I really need to b very mentally prepared :p
cos i very gan geong one, hope I wont embarass myself in front of my gynae n nurses/midwives :p

Hi Valerie, so you are about 6 months pregnant. Year end confinement is good. It is cool but all the more must take care and cover up.

It's nice to hear your MIL will be helping you with the confinement. Since she is modern, that should be a breeze.

If I tell you I'm not nervous, that would be telling you a lie. I opted for induced birth because got 3 false alarms within a week. At the 11th hour, I was thinking of backing out and wait for the baby to come naturally. Don't worry, most pregnant women are kan cheong. I think I made a fool of myself in the labour ward and delivery suite. Midwives are used to it. HaHaHa

hi all, I also delivers at TMC, same as some of the mummies here, got free upgrade to 2-bedded. Stayed for about 4 nights, induced but later emergency c-section. I also like the service there, nurses are friendly.

valarie
During labour time, don't worry too much about being nervous and embarassing yourself, by then you will be more concern and busy trying to deliver the baby. Actually for me, I wasn't nervous and initially I was pretty cool, it wasn't until the contraction pain set in that my face starts to crumbles... hee hee...

janet
didn't know you are a mother of two until I read the old post. MY boy is coming to 2yrs and was toying the idea of another but I got concerns esp on caregiving. Are you a SAHM or working mum? Who looks after your older kid esp during your confinement time? I also do expressing for my boy and indeed I agree with you is no joke to express every 3 hourly. How you manage to do so while having to meet the needs of the newborn and also the older child? My hubby is very busy with work, everyday will only cames back around 9+ to 10pm. If he comes back around 8pm+ is already a bonus. I can't imagine I alone got to handle my boy and also the newborn should I have one, and at the same time facing my ILs.

Hi Jas, I am a SAHM.During my confinement, my parents brought my son out while I stayed at home with the baby and the maid. It was exactly a year ago. The school holidays just started then.

I expressed every 3 hours and it was like 8x a day. Really boring. Older one either played Xbox or his toys. To tell you honestly, I felt really guilty not having time for him during those months. It was also a trying time for everyone as I was always busy expressing milk & didn't have time to do anything. When I stopped expressing, I felt strange having so much time on hand.

It's not easy to look after an older, hyperactive kid and at the same time express milk with a wailing newborn around. It's crazy. It was because I had a reliable maid that gave me the opportunity to express milk. Otherwise it won't be possible. If you have older people around, they won't understand why you express milk when you can let the baby latch on.

Valarie..
ya.. gynae part depends one.. some no nid to pay additional..

ya.. its gd to haf my mum do confinement frm me.. heard frm my cousin, whose MIL hired a CL for her, she say her food so oily n no variety.. she dreaded eating the food n all.. heh.. so i pretty glad i haf my mum..

oh! ur MIL doing for u ah.. gd leh.. at least she's a modern mum, so shouldn't b prob for u..

For me, i wasn't nervous at the labour ward, coz areadi in pain n haf the urge to push liao.. others is all secondary.. dun even haf time to feel nervous.. kekeke.. unless u opt for induced birth lor.. mayb den u will b nervous..

Hi Valerie, I was nervous going for an induced birth but realized it was really no different from natural.

My gynae asked me to admit at midnight & while my hubby was doing the registration, the midwife inserted the pessary into the cervix for it to dilate. I was hooked up to monitor the baby's movements. Supposed to be sent up to the ward 1 hr after inserting but stayed in the labour ward throughout as the baby was too active. After the contractions started, I was already in pain. Everything else is secondary like what Celtrica mentioned.

hi janet/ valerie,
yuppers im due in dec
getting v excited as I count down to D DAY! just went to gynae today, bb is growing well and im pleasantly surprised that things went so well so far. hopefully i will also have a smooth delivery and confinement!

celtricia/ april,
glad ure enjoying ur confinement so far. i usually hear the bad side, its gd to hear +ve things for a change! im not so lucky to hv my mum do confinement for me, im hiring a CL. she looks qt "zai" hopefully she does the job well.

im looking forward to BF experience too.

the nurse taught me how to massage my breasts today. but when i got home i realise i cnt really remember all the techniques. is it we must massage towards the nipple in 4 diff directions for 1 min each breast. then twist the aerola and squeeze the nipple to clear the milk ducts? when i came home to try on my own, nothing come out ley.when the nurses tried on me, colostrum flowed out. m i doing it the wrong way?

Hi first_mum, sorry I didn't go for any classes. So no idea how to massage.

Glad to know your baby is growing well. All the best and hope you have an easy delivery. Take care & check to see if you have missed out anything in the hospital bag.

Janet
May I know why u need to induce for ur delivery? My friend who intro my gynea told me their bb was induced. am worried i need too.

Hi YL, I asked to be induced because I had 3 false alarms within the same week. Besides my baby was already 39 weeks then & the gynae had informed me that if she is still not out by 30 Nov (EDD is 4 days away), still have to induce. Don't worry too much in the meantime.

glad your bb is growing, soon u be holding ur darling

Janet,Celtricia
well I also hope my mum doing confinement cos she knws my pattern liao,keke...
but too bad she only can help out on weeekend as she is food family business wif my relatives, so not nice for her to quit n take care my gal in long term lor
so maybe after my maternity leave, I got to look for infant care
infact start looking nw liao,
see any good n reasonable one at sengkang

ya my MIL actually live in Canada
so fly all the way back to take care for 2 mths to help out, v grateful for her

hee.... eat potatoe one so v modern clipart{kao_sticktongue

haha Jas,Janet,Celtricia
aiyo I hope I wont be blur in labour room
cos Mrs Wong mention in antenatal class, most of the mummies will look 'blur' n totally forgot wat they learn in antenatal class
the midwives/nursesw will lead us how to breathe as we push right?
anyway my threashold of pain v low one so will opt for epi lor
keke...
thks mummies!

hope I dun hv to induce, anyway most 1st time mum will deliver 2 or 3 weeks in advance that's wat I observe

Ask u all another quest,
does TMC charge the extra hrs in labour room?
cos KKH do hv hourly charge after the free no of hrs in delivery ward
Eg: let say 1st 6 hrs free, 7th hr is hourly charge
that's wat my fren deliver in KKH told me,
cos she spent almost 25 hrs in KK deliver room for her 1st delivery, so charges quite high...
so wonder does pte hospi or TMC also hv this policy?

Hi Valerie, if you need to stay in the labour ward, you can't ask to be moved to the room right ?

I asked for induced birth. After inserting the pessary into the cervix, normal procedure at TMC is to stay in the labour ward for an hour for observation. If the cervix is slow to dilate, the MTB will be pushed to the ward upstairs until she is due to deliver. In my case, my baby was very active. Thus I stayed in the labour ward all the way until I delivered. I don't remember seeing extra charges for staying in the labour ward. However, at KKH, there is a charge for using the OT and it goes by a block of 4 hrs.

Val.. i tink no xtra charges.. i also not sure.. coz its nt stated in the bill leh..
dun worry.. the midwives/nurses will guide u on the breathing during ur pushing..

first_mum, dun worry.. some CL do an equally gd jobs as our mums too.. so haf faith in who u hire.. any prob.. juz asked n we will try to help u as well..

janet/ valerie/ celtricia,
thks for the well-wishes

im v happy bb is doing well. only concern is she grows too big for ez delivery. doc mentioned she'll only come out at full-term (almost another 4 wks)n im tinking she mite put on another kg, shes oredi 2.7kg @36 wks :eek:! does bb wt gain slow down in the last mth?

im almost done pkg my hospital bag. only left bedroom slippers hvnt buy, seems like the no longer widely available..

thks for the generousity in sharing info. i wld b soooo blur without all of u!

Hi first_mum, you are already 36 weeks pregnant ? Be prepared for baby to come within the next 2-3 weeks.

You can try Watsons for bedroom slippers.

You are welcome. We can share as much as we can.

Hi Valerie,

I think u shld start looking for an infant care centre now cos normally they will put your baby in the waiting list.

NTUC infant care centre at Sengkang is good. The enviroment is clean and the caregivers are very well trained too.

You can make an appt to take a look at the centre.

Hi to mums who have given birth at TMC,

Can we separate mummy and babies' bills? I heard by separating the bills, we are allow to claim more medisave rite?

I am now 32 weeks into my pregnancy, getting very excited but at the same time fearful of labour. Having mixed feelings.

Can I check if it's necessary to get an ear thermometer for baby??

How often do we use this?

Any idea where can i get cheap and good ones?

------------------------------------------------

1 more question;

Can we drink DOM during confinement while breastfeeding??

Celtricia,
thks, hehe gd thing TMC dun hv the extra charge in delivery ward

2005 first mum,
look like u counting dewn as u are 36 weeks nw
seems like alot of Dec MTBs pop 2 or 3 weeks earlier than the EDD leh, so excited for u all

yalor Juliann,
glad u found a gd infant care n thks for4 ur advise
we will go doen the NTUC infant care this sat on 3rd Dec
think DOM hv to be cook to evapourate the liquor,
Mrs Wong mention in 1st 2 antenatal classes leh, u remember?