1 bedder @ TMC - how much did u pay?

the advice janet gave is spot-on!

i only BF for a few months, so i supplemented with FM in the middle of the night from day one (my mum helped to feed via bottle). i BF in the daytime till her 12am feeding. luckily my girl did not get confused b/w breast and bottle, but i heard some babies might. also, if you plan to switch to bottle some time soon it's prob best to introduce it to your baby early on, so that they won't reject it later when they get very comfortable with your breasts!

if you plan to use Avent pdts, it can't be used with other brands. for me when i expressed previously, i used the avent manual pump and pump into the avent small 5oz bottles. then keep in fridge and warm up in the avent bottle warmer before feeding my girl.

btw, i chose to use manual pump because i didn't do much expressing, as i often fed my girl by direct latching on. i only expressed when i had engorgement. for times when i wasn't around to feed my baby directly, my mum would either feed her my EBM or just FM.

if you plan to BF for longer term and feed EBM often, then i hear the medela mini is a good buy.

btw, remember that EBM can only be kept in the fridge for max. 24hrs. after that you need to throw away already.

lani, for my 1st kid, i didn't give bf as he was born with a cleft lip/palate. with all the running around arranging for doctors' appointments, it is stressful enough. so gave him formula.

with my 2nd child, i give her ebm and it was a totally new thing for me although it is my 2nd time being a mum.

janet,
for me, i stopped BF because my daughter liked to play a fool when she was latched on! she would suckle-suckle only then fall asleep. whereas when we fed her FM from bottle, wah lau, she will wallop the whole damn thing! besides, i found it soooo tiring to BF lah...

janet,
i think i remember you posting a pic of your 2 kids on the forum! the older boy with his younger sis - the girl 10mths+ and still bo gey one right?? hahaha!!

janet,
that's right! i remember you saying that your 10mth old girl still has no teeth yet!! hehehe!! so any signs of her 1st tooth yet?

sarah is also 7mths already and still no sign of teething yet...

janet,
i read somewhere that if dnt let bb suckle n just feed EBM, the milk supply will slowly dwindle ley. so its not true? or r u 1 of the few lucky ones with alot of supply??

medela sterilised bots as in reusable or disposable ones? how many bots do we need actually. each time u express, how much milk do u get? and wads the qty we hafta store and for how long?

lani,
so its ok to BF in the day and feed EBM in the nite rite from the start? im so scared that bb will reject breast and take to the bottle only and vice versa.

btw mummies,
wad kinda bath type better, conventional or slide type?

how many bath sponges/ wash cloths do i need to get ready? which do u use to bath NB?

i think janet used regular milk bottles (those that can fit the medela pump). the bottles need to be sterilised first before pumping the milk into them.

if you don't want your ss to dwindle then you need to express often lah, prob every 3hrs or so.

i am not sure how many bottles you will need if you plan to express, but for me i started off with around 6 of the small 5oz bottles. then once my daughter was drinking more than 5oz per feeding i upgraded to the big 9oz bottles, and had 5 of those.

for me when i expressed i got very little milk, as i was latching on most of the time. the amount you need to store each time is prob how much your baby will drink per feeding. i know for NB, they feed about 8 times per day, then slowly over time this reduces. by the time my daughter was 3-4mths old, she was already on total FM and feeding only 4x/day and at approx 2.5 to 3mths old she already stopped waking up for night feedings (her last feed was 8pm and she will sleep till 8am next day).

EBM can be kept in the fridge for a max. of 24hrs. if baby doesn't consume it by then you must throw away. you can also keep EBM in freezer, but i'm not sure for how long, as i never kept in freezer before. better check with somebody to be sure.

for me i found i had no probs at all BF in the day and feeding FM in bottle at night. luckily my baby didn't reject, but i do hear that some babies will, so depends on your luck lah! for me, in order to avoid rejection, all bottle feedings (whether EBM or FM) MUST NOT be done by you!! this is so your baby will associate you with BF and other members of the family with bottle feeding. so long as you plan to direct BF you CANNOT do the bottle feeding also, as this will only confuse her. you must get other ppl (mum, MIL, hubby, maid, etc) to do the bottle feeding. once you are giving her ALL her feedings from bottle then only you can also feed her from bottle yourself. so for me all my daughter's bottle feedings were done by my mum and my hubby. when she was still NB, my hubby did the 9pm and 12am feeding and my mum will do the 3am and 6am ones. then i will direct BF at 9am, 12pm, 3pm and 6pm. it was the perfect arrangement for me!

for me i used the normal conventional bath. for bath sponge maybe 2 pcs enough, as after each use you will just rinse and dry (use natural sponge as it's gentler on baby skin). if you wanna use wash cloths maybe stock up ard 7pcs. when my baby was first born, i used natural sponge (and cotton balls to wipe eyes, face, ears, neck), but once she was ard 2 mths i switch to wash cloths already.

Hi first_mum, I expressed 8x day/night for 5 months. Gradually, I reduced to 7x and now finally down to 2x. I guess I was lucky that my supply met her needs. She was on total bm.

I would express straight into the bottle each time for convenience of warming up. Like Lani said, have to express every 3 hours to maintain the supply. By the time she was 4 months old, she slept through the night. However, I still woke up to express the milk while she slept. It was tough but I had to because of the engorgement.

I got 6 Pigeon bottles (8oz) and 2 of the 4oz bottles. Don't get too many bottles first.

lani,
ur info was v v helpful. now i get an idea how i shd schedule her feeding and "draw up duty roster" for hubby and maid haha. hope my bb will be gd and cooperate wiv us

i intend to express every few hrs when on maternity to keep supply up, i wld try every 3 to 4 hrs, hopefully can sustain loh.

btw i finally got my pyjamas from blush, so happy i dnt hafta live in dowdy ahmah sleepwear

janet,
i really admire u and ur determination. expressing at such close intervals required alot of patience and perseverance, esp waking up in the middle of the nite!

does it mean if u BF, ure more likely to get engorgement? i tot dats a prob one encounters only in the beginning, u mean will continue to experience it while u continue to BF wan ah??

MILK BOTTLES
i now have 3 big and 5 small ones, unfortunately i got it much earlier before i learnt much more from this forum, and got mostly the wide-necked ones that cant fit my breast pump! very cake-sim!! only have 2 normal sized bottles from NUK..

COT SHEET
i bought pigeon rubber air-filled cot sheet, now my SIL told me very hot, bb will be uncomfortable. then wad shd i buy huh?

you're welcome. try to express as often as you can (3 hourly is usually best) to prevent engorgement and also to ensure there is enuf EBM ss for your baby (ggod to have extra in case there are times you can't express).

engorgement is quite common when you are BF. it usually happens because the milk in your breast is already so full and it has not yet been "consumed" yet (ie. suckled by baby directly or expressed). the only way to relive engorgement is to immediately latch on and BF or to express lah. for me engorgement was the worst when i wake up in the morning, cause i last BF my daughter at 12am so by 9am surely very engorged lah! hehe!! my breasts also will get engorged if let's say i go out in the daytime for a few hrs, so by the time i come home gotta quickly express to relieve it!

if your bottles cannot fit your pump then no choice you gotta buy new ones lah!
for me now i am using Nuk also. i quite like it. you can use the Nuk teats or Pigeon teats - they both fit very well.

yah, the cot sheet may be a little warm, unless you planning to let your baby sleep in aircon room the whole day lah! do you have the baby cot yet? cause if you buy brand new ones from dept store they usually give you a free bedding set, and it i/c cot sheet. so for me i just used the free cot sheet, then i just bought 2 more pcs of cot sheet and an extra set of cot quilt and cot bumper.

btw, if you plan to let your baby sleep in aircon room, make sure the temp is around 24-25 degrees. any lower may be too cold and any higher too warm. for my daughter the temp is at 25 degrees, as she doesn't sleep with any blankets at all.

wow, pyjamas from blush!! surely very nice right??

btw, when is your EDD?

Hi first_mum, I think your Pigeon rubber sheet is a plastic one for changing the baby's diaper and after bath?

For the baby's cot mattress, there are a few brands like Baby's First Wardrobe, Peter Rabbit and so on.

I wanted to give up many times when I had to wake up at crazy hours to express the milk. The engorgement was killing me esp in the first few months. There was just no way I could sleep through that. Each time we went out, it was rush, rush and rush. The moment we returned home, I quickly expressed the milk to ease the engorgement.

hi lani/ janet,
thks for all the precious info! ive saved ur postings in a file according to topics so dat i can refer conveniently whenever i have to

im v restless and enjoy being out. even now at 32 weeks i run around alot and only get to sit down and rest aft 10pm everyday! now paying the price, cos feet is all swollen, ankles hurt and veins are showing! tot after confinement can finally go out all i want, now i know must rush here and there cos need to express milk!! bring pump ard oso v troublesome and hygiene can be a problem! duno wad hubby will say if every few hrs hafta come home express milk!

i dont intend to let bb sleep in aircon cos i dowan her become like me, no aircon cant sleep at all! hopefully she can tahan, cos my hse not v windy!

does bb slp with u in the 1st mth? or with maid/ CL? my cot is quite big, cant really fit in my room. and it doesnt have wheels also, so i cant suka suka push around. quite sad if i dnt get to slp with her ley.

btw do u all take coconut water during preg? when to start and take how often? do u know where to get fresh coconuts?

my edd is 23 dec

actually, i was like you when pregnant - almost everyday went out! hehe!! but you should do that as much as possible now, and make sure you have everything ready, cause once baby arrives, you sometimes won't even have time to shower or eat liao, let alone go out!!

btw, swollen ankles and aching feet is VERY normal, due to water retention. mine was VERY bad, but approx 2mths after delivery all gone already. btw, did your feet grow (ie. shoe size increased)? mine did leh! and now i still can't fit into some of my old shoes!! i was told by alot of friends that this will happen, and really depends on your luck if your feet will go back to its normal size. if it doesn't then very chia lak man, cause you cannot wear all your old shoes already and gotta go buy new shoes. i had to do that, had to buy several new pairs of shoes...

my daughter slept in a cot in her own room from the day we brought her back home. since my mum was helping me with confinement (i did not engage any CL), she slept in the room with my daughter (on a mattress on the floor). but even then my mum would go back home every weekend, so during weekends my daughter would sleep in the room by herself. we used a baby monitor to listen out for her, and maybe 1-2x/night either hubby or i would go in to check on her, just to make sure she's alright.

now she is already 7.5mths old and sleeping in her cot in her room all by herself very comfortably every night. she is very independent now, even when she wakes up in the morning or from her naps she doesn't want us to come in the room. she wants to play by herself first then when she is ready for us to get her, she will call/shout for us. very funny! so every morning around 8.15am-8.30am if we don't hear anything on the baby monitor we will go in to check, cause chances are she is already awake but playing happily on her own (she usually wakes up by 8am).

i did drink coconut water, but not religiously lah! if i happen to go east coast food centre then i will order it. i think can drink from approx 6-7mth preggie...

wah, edd 23/12, very close to x'mas leh!! so nice!!
my daughter was born 11 days before her EDD leh...

gd mrng lani!
heehee, now ive excuse to go shopping and buy more things!
have done so much shopping for bb since sep, v satisfying! now im only short of bathtub, wet tissues and diaper cream.

most pple say water retention comes 1 mth b4 edd, but im 2 mths away! so getting a little worried, i wana carry bb to full-term! didnt it hurt when u said ur condition was VERY bad? and i hate how my feet looks, and im so scared it'll just get worse everyday. cos my mum say sometimes it gets so bad hafta be hospitalised to be put on drip! so yday i hurry bought new pillow to raise my feet while sleeping! it does look slightly better today..

wow ur girl surely sounds extremely independent! im a big worry wart, duno whether ill let her sleep in the rm on her own anot. but its gd if i can make her learn independence from a young age.

does coconut water induce birth?? cos i wana start but im worried it may trigger labour!

yes, she'll be my best xmas pressie!
im also expecting my ger to come early... hee! just a hunch.

my water retention started VERY early, i think when i was in 6th/7th mth already! i think that's because i am very small-sized (only 1.5m tall and weight before pregnant 43kg) so the extra weight i was carrying around was really taking its toll on my feet. of course my feet was quite painful lah, but what to do? gotta bear with it lah. some more at work i sat on my butt all day, so i had to put a box under my desk so that i can put my feet up, then every hour or so i would go for a short walk. then once reach home i will lie down and put my feet up. hubby also helped me to massage every night...in my last mth it was quite bad that i took taxi home after work every time. my feet couldn't take the 1hr 15 min bus ride home.

i don't know much about the coconut water thingy...aiyoh, when i pregnant and during confinement also always never listen to what the old folks say one...hehehe...very stubborn!!

Hi first_mum, I tried to get everything I could before I was too big and clumsy to move around. It was quite irritating to look for the loo often when I was in the 3rd trimester - the baby was pressing on the bladder.

Try not to eat too salty food as it causes water retention. I controlled my salt, sugar and oil intake during my pregnancy. Very good girl. HaHaHa.

anyone knows if husbands is given toilitries if they are rooming in with the wives?

My hubby is staying with me. so wants to know if he is given anything so i can pack for him.

yl,
no hubby has to provide his own toileteries. for that matter, you also have to provide your own toileteries. the hospital doesn't really provide much toileteries for patient and hubby.

lani/ janet,

my water retention only started this week (32wks) but now its much much beta cos i put my feet up on 2 big fluffy pillows, it really works! went for massage too.. im also qt small-built, is water retention more common in petites?

nowadays i also v v lazy to take public transport. hv a tendency to just flag for cabs.

ive more or less gotten everything ready liao. and i can still move ard with ease, duno how long this will last. when confined to the hse, then ill pack hospital bag, wash bb's clothes and nappies and decorate bb's room

my diet is terrible during preganancy. i eat wadeva i crave and its all junk food. my hubby also bo bian, just give in to me ahha. dats y so fat now!

HOSPITAL ADMISSION
my gynae gave me an admission letter at the last visit@ 32 wks. is that equivalent to them having booked a room for me? i just bring the letter when i admit? much earlier on, the hospital sent me a letter to ask me choose the type of room and ive submitted that long ago. wads the TMC procedure like? also, do i hafta inform them in advanvce if hubby staying wiv me?

Hi Lani, your hubby can only stay overnight if you are staying in a single-bedded room. You may want to call the hospital to confirm the room and at the same time inform them your hubby is staying. A sofa bed is provided for him and meals at the cost of $60 (not too sure).

Bring the admission letter, the prenatal invoice (to claim for medisave) and IC when admission.

hi lani/ janet and rest of experinenced mummies,
do we hafta pack shampoo and body wash into hospital bag? do u get to bath straight after delivery or just simple cleaning up/ quick wipes cos during confinement not allowed to bath rite?? wld we be too weak to get off bed after epi anyway?

Hi first_mum, I was not allowed to get off the bed for the 1st day after delivery, although it was a natural birth. So my hubby gave me hot towel to clean up. On the 2nd day, I took a quick shower & shampoo using hot water. It was the fastest bath I ever took. I felt so clean and refreshed after that.

It is not advisable to get off the bed soon after delivery because of the episotomy done and the area being raw after stitches & childbirth.

janet,
i c... always feel dam shiok after a bath..

were u strict during ur confinement? who did confinement for u? did u bath? did u wash ur hair? did u drink plain water or only red date drink? did u wash ur hands only with boiled water?

i heard so much from my mum. the cannot drink water was a killer cos im a water guzzler! and i wash my hands all the time, cnt imagine how much water the CL will hafta boil a day for me to wash hands alone loh!

1st day i couldn't get out of bed, because i had c-section, so the nurses gave me a sponge bath.

to be quite honest, both hubby and i are not superstitious at all. we actually find some of the things ppl say you cannot do during confinement quite ridiculuous lah! for me, 2nd day in hospital already i took a nice shower and washed my hair! how can i not bathe?? so sticky and dirty!! aiyoh.

in fact, we asked my gynae about this and he said must bathe, if not wait get bacterial infection how? he said last time ppl didn't bathe after childbirth was because they used water from the well, so the water not very clean that's why they won't bathe. now our water supply so clean so it doesn't apply anymore!

for me, because i was still having bad water retention so i didn't drink water during confinement, just drank alot of the longan and red date tea. and i washed my hands as per normal the whole time, ie using tap water and dettol hand soap.

i also didn't have any CL. just had my mum help me out during the first few months.

lani,
u v modern ley, almost like angmoh!

my hubby also lidat, he say how can dnt bath, we're both clean freaks, i dnt bath slp beside him he'll freak out loh. but i hear so much from my mum, im starting to be convinced aldou some of the things DO sound ridiculous!

im v outgoing, 1 day stay home will die kind, gona tk alot of determination to stay home for a mth. n i love to work my hands around the hse, cnt imagine i gota close 1 eye and let the CL take over my hse!

heehee! yah...you know, when i was pregnant and hubby and i wanted to do up my daughter's room (hang up curtain rods and curtains, build book shelves, etc), hubby's parents said CANNOT, must wait till after baby is born, or at most i must leave the house then can do. aiyoh!! hubby and i said how can! we need the room ready BEFORE baby is born...so we just went ahead and did everything anyway (including drilling!!), then when they asked we said hubby and my bro did everything while i went out whole day! kekeke!!

for me i can't imagine letting a CL take over my house! my mum and me focused on the baby, and my mum also cooked everyday, then my PT maid cleaned the house every week while hubby helped do most of the small-small housework (wash clothes, wash dishes, feed cats, clean litter, throw rubbish, etc).

i didn't go out much the 1st week, only went out for lunch usually after mine or my daughter's doc appts. then just before my daughter's 1 mth, i went out half day (while hubby stayed home with baby) to go hairdresser (cut and colour hair!) and do some shopping! so fun!!

after my daughter turned 1 mth we (hubby, baby and me) went out every weekend liao!!

Hi first_mum, after I was allowed to get off the bed on day 2, first thing I did was to get a hot shower and washed my hair. Otherwise get infection if don't wash that area.

My mum did my confinement for me. Throughout the month, I only drank longan/red date tea. I bathed twice a day (but read this: late morning after sun is up and evening before 6). Lie down on the bed as much as possible and NO air-con. I ate a lot the whole day as I was bf 8x a day and always hungry.

lani/ janet,
hahaha. u still drill walls during ur pregnancy?? tot its a definite no-no!? actually my hse also underwent reno during 1st few mths of my pregnancy. but i always went out during the process...

how often are the check-ups after giving birth? n how often hafta bring bb to PD?

im sure its fun to bring bb out after she passes the 1st mth
cnt wait for my turn!

btw did ur bbs see the PD at TMC? my gynae asked if i have any preference, i said no and she just referred me to the PD clinic at TMC. a little upset that she seems so unconcerned.

NO AIRCON?? i wld DIE loh. my SIL say can ley, just on like mayb 26C or so. ddnt noe BF will get hungry easily. i wld b delighted to hv a chance to eat alot haha! but did u put on wt/ find it hard to lose wt since u ate so much?

Hi first_mum, for me no drilling, painting and shifting of furniture during those 9 months. Nothing to be done on the bed.

1 week after discharge from hospital, I had to go for the post-natal checkup at the gynae's clinic.

I was eating and eating all the time during the months when I was bf 8x a day. BF is good exercise. I lost my pre-pregnancy weight thru bf.

with regards to drilling, painting, shifting furniture, etc - it all depends on how superstitious you are lah. for me and hubby we are not superstitious at all (our religion discourages us to believe in superstitions lah), so we drilled curtain rods, shifted furniture, etc, in preparation for the baby's room. my daughter turned out fine, so i guess i am ok with it.

for aircon, if the temp is around 25-26deg then it should be ok. the key is you cannot be cold/chilly after giving birth, so some women will also wear socks or bedroom slippers all day. for me i also wore bedroom slippers at home all day. i didn't sleep in aircon room, but what i did is turn on the aircon a few hrs before i slept so that the room would be nice and cool, then before sleeping i will turn off! hehe! in the afternoons also sometimes buay tahan then i will turn on aircon and lie down in the room! haha!

when you BF you use up alot of calories, so def will be very hungry after each bf session! i was also like that! immed after bf must go eat something - so famished!

we only have 1 post natal checkup after birth. then the next month gotta go back for pap smear. for baby the 1st checkup i think was at 1 week old, then subsequently i think every month till 6mths (for jabs). after 6 mths you prob won't have any more checkups till the next jab at 13mths.

i think there are 2 PD clinics at TMC. i go to Paediatric Centre on level 3. I think most mummies prefer the other clinic (can't remember the name though...). it doesn't matter - if you find you don't like the PD you got, you can always switch, just make sure you don't sign up for the immunisation package yet lah.

Hi first_mum, like what Lani mentioned, don't sign up any immunization package unless you are comfortable with the PD. Otherwise it won't be easy getting a refund. Ask around for recommendations of PD. Some are blood suckers and impatient. I wouldn't advise you to go to Edmund Koh at Tiong Bahru (TMC PD).

lani/ janet,

haha. both of u have such different confinement experiences! janet is so strict while lani so modern. guess it all depends on the individuals' beliefs. hopefully this 1 mth will pass quickly so that i can live like a normal human being again!

AIRCON
i definitely cnt live wivout air con, somemore the weather these days is horrendous! will just on small small loh! actually my mum say cannot use fan oso... but no aircon/ fan, i really cannot compromise!

PD
ok get it. so PD can decide after bb comes la. actually was tinking of getting a PD in the east, saves all the travelling. TMC is not dat convenient for me. but if its once a mth, still can la.

AFTERBIRTH GIRDLE & POST NATAL MASSAGE
did u buy this? is it necessary in order to get back to shape faster? did u book post natal massage? how much and is ur masseur gd?

Hi first_mum, actually my confinement isn't that strict. When my girl was born last year, it was year end and rather cold. That's why I didn't need air con. Besides, I bathed twice a day and wash my hair as per normal. Definitely not strict as compared to not allowed to bathe and having to wear long sleeved PJ and socks.

As for PD, ask around for a recommendation. Try to get one convenient for you.

I had a natural birth. Thus didn't require the girdle. As for massage, I bf 24/7 and that was great 'exercise' for losing weight. My gf had massage after she gave birth. According to her, she said eating the jamu given by the malay massage lady will help to lose weight faster.

yah, i don't think janet's confinement was that strict lah, coonsidering she showered and washed hair everyday. haha!

if you looking for a PD in the east, can try Dr Cecilia Lee. Her clinic is at blk 139 tampines st 11. she is quite good, i have been there once before when my girl had high fever at night.

actually you would need a PD immed when your baby is born, so that the PD will check on her/him EVERYDAY at the hospital, and also do the BCG jab (compulsory) and hearing test (optional) while he/she is still in hospital. so its more convenient to have a PD from TMC at this stage. once you and baby are discharged you can change PD if you like.

the girdle thingy is meant only if you had c-section. i had to use it immed after my c-section and i used it EVERYDAY for the next 3-4mths!!

i also had post-natal massage, but because i had c-section, i had it only 2 mths after delivery. the massage and binding def can help to trim the tummy a little, but not that much lah! you still need to watch your diet and exercise! haha!!

janet/ lani,
its also yr-end now but im like hot and flushed everyday. i remember the weather being cooler in previous yrs, mayb now body temp higher so feel hot all the time!

gd to hear that can bath and wash hair. wld be such a torture if not allowed to!

i read from the dec mums thread that natural birth also can use girdle to slim down ley. to bind tight tight after giving birth to easier get back into shape!

thks lani. now i understand. today i requested my gynae to change from PD centre to SBCC as recommended by many mummies here
. hope that means my bb will be in gd hands!

Hi first_mum, it's natural you feel hot when you are expecting. Reason is because your body is working doubly hard to provide for the unborn baby. Every organ is working hard.

When you deliver at a private hospital, you would need a PD to look in your newborn from the time she is born until discharge.

janet,
i wonder, the moment we give birth, does our body heat level also drop immediately?? i used to be quite "kia leng" wan, but not anymore, the colder the better. wonder if i ever revert to my old self.

i see. ok. u know of any gd PD at SBCC?

wad did u do to kill time during confinement? did u really not do a single thing except eat, rest and feed bb??

First_mum, when we are pregnant, our body tends to be like a "generator" - always feeling hot. But after giving birth, there is a lot of 'wind' in our body esp with C-section. So we need to replendish what is lost after childbirth and nourish again. Take care during confinement or you will get ill easily after that and it will be too late to eat any tonics.

Bring a jacket and socks to the hospital.

Try to wear a pair of bedroom slippers during confinement. Tank tops and shorts are out too. Try to sweat it out. During my confinement, it was just eat, lie down and express milk for baby. Mind you, expressing milk every 3hours is no joke. In between, sleep or watch TV lying down.

My PD is from Kinder Clinic. There is one good PD from SBCC I know of, and his name is Koh Poh Kian but too far for you. He is at AMK.

First_mum, Dr Koh is very experienced but the waiting time to see him is very long even with appt. So you may want to get a PD who is nearer your home. I stayed with the current PD because he is experienced. I heard Terence Tan is also very patient and good too, but far for me (he's at Mt Alvernia).

Hi mummies here,
I am a Feb MTB, just want to chk does TMC hv any 'hidden charges'?
cos i heard frm a fren that TMC even charge for bb cot in the nursery room, painkiller etc...
just want to clarify, thks n hope some of the mummies here can give advise

thks!

janet,
thks for the advice. will try my best to follow the rules of confinement. my health has always been ok, if deteriorate aft bb then how to hv stamina to tk care of her.

will keep myself warm during confinement. must buy bedroom slippers liao!

thks for PD recommendation. AMK is indeed far for me, plus long waiting time is a disadvantage. will ask ard if the east has any gd PD.

valerie,
ur rite abt extra costs. my SIL delievered there twice and shes charged for everything from painkillers to milo! but i guess its the same everywhere ba.. in the end the bill is still quite std compared to the rest.

and from all the +ve feedback i hear abt TMC from everyone who delievered there, hafta close 1 eye abt the extra costs loh, if can afford ok la...

Hi Valerie, there are bound to have some extra costs. Medicine like painkillers and antacid doesn't add up to much. As for Milo, I thought it is part of the meals that we are paying for ? Like what first_mum mentioned, sometimes have to close 1 eye because any hospital you deliver at will charge misc costs too. That includes KK.

First_mum, don't worry too much about confinement. Times have changed. The important thing is to keep yourself warm and don't fall sick. Do remember to sit down when you drink anything and try to lie down on the bed as much as possible.

Hi first_mum, nearing your EDD, you will experience Braxton Hick contractions ie tightening of the womb. It is a rehearsal of the 'real' thing. I don't remember any spotting but clear discharge.

If you experience any spotting, do inform the gynae.

halo mummies

thks for the reply
will take note of the points you all suggested
haha gt to one eye close lor

my mum said during confinement period
most impt thing is to cover the legs n body
dun expose to the air or wind
maybe we can wear socks n slippers at hm to protect the legs
I hv bought 2 pair of toe socks