1 bedder @ TMC - how much did u pay?

Hi first_mum, giving birth depends a little on luck too. Think positive and pray hard for an easy delivery.

When I gave birth 1st time, it was a single bedded at KK. It took me some time to adjust to the idea of a 4 bedded for my 2nd delivery. When the receptionist informed us of the free upgrade to a 2 bedded, we were elated. I had the room all to myself after 1 day when the other patient got discharged. So, it was like a single bedded room but paying a 4 bedded charge. However, the reason why we felt happy was not just the free upgrade but because we had a healthy baby girl !!!

lani,
aw, ur hubby so sweet! now M&S has cap-sleeved soft lycra v-necked PJ tees, go n take a look, m sure u'll fall in luv with them!

39kg?! i tink 43kg just nice loh. but skinny women usually look better after giving birth cos more fleshy and healthy, u must be one of them...

oh isit?? tot 3.5kg is norm for bb gers. now i know. so my ah ger shd be fine heehee! ur ger seems to be putting on weight fast and healthily hor.

lani r u a SAHM?

haha ya big head = big brains. m sure daddy will agree also!

janet,
agree. have been praying, hope everything goes smoothly.. aiya hospital only stay a few days no need pay so much, like u said wads important is dat bb is healthy, naturally we wld feel v gd in any environment when we see that cherubic little gem

heehee, nowadays i seldom buy things for myself anymore. everytime go out head straight for baby dept and buy soooo much stuff for my daughter!!

i used to be skinny lah, but since age of 21-22 a little fleshier lah, ie weight will hover around 43-45kg. now don't say lah...still got quite a bit of fats to lose!!

btw, when you check out of hospital after delivery you will still be the size of around 4-5mths preggie hor, so make sure you bring something comfortable to wear. don't be over-ambitious and bring your pre-pregnancy clothes hor...surely cannot fit one!! haha!!

yes, i am now SAHM - for 7 days only!! just quit my job, last day of work was 30th sept. i was on maternity leave for 5 mths, then went back to work for 1.5mths only then decided to quit and stay home full-time with my daughter. felt that i need to be home taking care of her full-time for the first few years lah...

lani n janet,

juz to check, when did u ladies pay up the deposit for the hospital ah? coz right nw wat i've paid is only for gynae right? so issit during my admission or slightly earlier?

Lani, check wif u, did u opt for total bf? coz i was tinking if they would try to latch my bb to me immediately after he's delivered, as i've heard it would b gd for our bb to suckle immediately after their birth.

celtricia,
as far as i know, for hospital no need to pay any deposit. they will bill you full amount when you are discharged. after CPF deduction, any balance can pay by credit card if you wish.

as for total BF, i wanted to, but because i had emergency c-section and was VERY groggy and in ALOT of pain, after delivery, i gave instructions to give my baby FM fisrt for that night and i will BF next morning. the hospital is actually quite supportive of BF, after i delivered and when i was in my room, the nurse came to me and asked if i wanted to BF my baby that night (my gynae left instructions that i requested for total BF), but i told her i will start next day.

immediately next morning 9am i started latching on my baby, and i did so every 3 hrs till 9pm. then at 12am and 4am i allowed the nurses to supplement with FM. this went on for 4 days. i think on my 2nd day there the colostrum started coming in, and i made sure my baby drank that. then on 3rd day my milk came in - ALOT some more until got engorgement!

i continued supplementing BF with FM when i went home, ie. her 3am and 6am feedings would be FM from bottle (my mum would feed her) so that I can rest. surprisingly my baby didn't confuse breast and bottle - she drank from both very well.

lani.. so no payments were nided to b made to the hospital until we discharged ah.. thanks for the info..

hmmm.. abt BF.. coz i told my gynae i wan to total bf.. but he say in case my milk doesn't come in, he asked me wat brand of FM i wan to give my bb.. so i'm afraid they will give my bb FM even when i dun wan to.. hee.. so its assuring to hear frm u dat they quite supportive of BF.. n u r so lucky to haf so much supplement for ur bb.. i hope i dun nid to give my bb FM at all..

Hi preciousmoments, it should not be hard to stick the pad on disposable undies.

In the 1st 2 days (especially) after delivery, it is more advisable to use disposable undies as the flow tends to be very heavy. I remembered I was not allowed to get off the bed on the 1st day (although natural birth). So, I couldn't change pads more frequently than I wish.

I agree that cotton undies are more comfortable than disposables, but if they are stained then who wash for you ?

celtricia,
if you don't want the hospital to give your baby FM, then make sure they know it, cause they might still give around 12am or 3/4am. If you want your milk to come in faster, then you need to latch on your baby VERY often and let her/him suckle as much as possible. The longer and more often the suckling, the faster the milk will come in. From what I know, newborns can survive for the first 2-3days without any milk, as they have enough nutrients in their stores to last for that long, so no need to worry if your baby is hungry or not the first few days.

prciousmoments,
janet is right. maybe first few days use disposable ones. i also couldn't get out of bed first day, so the nurses helped me to change my pads! so it's better if you use disposable ones so that they can change it easily for you and just throw away the panty and put on new one for you (and also less embarassing lah!!).

hi preciousmoments, I stayed at TMC and didn't know they actually had this disposable stretchable undies for after birth. Really comfortable, the nurse put 2 thick pads overlapping after delivery. Then they helped me to wash and change at night b4 sleep. Kind of embarrassing that someone had to wash that area for me, but no choice as I wasn't allowed to get off the bed.

Don't worry too much, women who give birth experience this. Relax. Check your hospital bag to see if you have left out any personal toiletries you can't do without, & also the impt documents. All the best !!!

lani, thanks.. i will inform them again dat i dun wan my bb to b fed FM.. hee..

Janet, check wif u, approx. hw many sanitary pads did u bring wif u when u were warded?

i have a few more quetions, do i need to bring breastpump to the hospital? do i get to shower after giving birth? i can breastfeed my baby immediately after birth? i told my gynae i wanted to breastfeed totally, so he suggested giving the baby glucose n water 1st because in the first few days, the breast milk will not totally come in yet, anyone of u face the same thing as me? also, can we wear our normal bra or must we wear nursing bra? sorry for bombing so many questions. jus getting very nervous. i will be delivering in TMC, jus wanted to know mre abt situation delivering there.

lani,
i also head straight to the bb dpt these days, my hubby is gg crazy looking at the same tings over and over again haha! men dont get it, the joys of motherhood!

by the time check out of hospital will be size of 4-5 mths preggie? thats gd new to me! cos i see pple still looking like full-term pregnant, only slightly flatter tummy!! ok thanks for advice, wasnt intending to bring my pre-preggie singlets and shorts haha!

u were on maternity fpor 5 mths meaning no pay leave for 2 mths?? im also very apprehensive after gg back to work after maternity, my maternal instincts v strong, dnt tink i can bear to leave my girl with the maid!

so how does it feel being a SAHM? do u busy urself with the bb all day long? do u have a maid? im on block leave now, everyday go shop for bb things haha! but i tink i quit, wont have that much financial freedom liao! is ur hubby supportive of ur decision to be full-time mummy??

lani/janet,
if i intend to go on full BF, does that mean i hafta get up several times a night to BF during confinement? cos i understand that confinement it is best to get lotsa rest ley. then how? does the CL get up with me everytime as well? that means i get up every 2-3 hrs to BF? do i put the bb with CL and bring over to me when she wants feed? or i sleep with baby for more convenience?

lani/ janet,
when u bring bb out what are the essential items to bring? do i have to buy a bb bag? a milk bottle insulator?? i see its not very commonly on sale anymore, is it becos pple stopped carrying insulators around?

also im thinking of getting a Quinny pram, but the sales pple say only good for bbs above 6 mths. for the 1st 6 mths, we dont really bring bb out, except for checkups rite? and which is a better way for women to carry bb around? a sling or pram? prams too bulky for women isnt it?

Preciousmoments, don't worry. We all get nervous nearing the delivery.

A: I didn't bring the breastpump to the hospital. Reason is bcos the bm will not come in the 1st few days. Only colostrum.

A: As for shower, I did after 1 day. But it was a quick one, using slightly warmer water.

A: I wore a normal bra with breast pads in case the breast leaks.

A: BM does not come until after day 3. In the meantime, what will come is the precious colostrum which is high in antibodies. If you are not sure, check with the nurses. They are very experienced and be able to clear your doubts.

celtricia,
since i stayed 4 days, i brought 2 packs (20 pads total)

i wasn't on total BF, so in the middle of the night my mum woke up to feed her FM, so that i can sleep. i heard some mums will express BM and the CL will feed with bottle. If your baby rejects the bottle then no choice you gotta wake up and BF directly. Newborns will feed every 3 hrs, and each feeding lasts about an hour, so after a feeding, baby will usually sleep then wake up 2 hrs later for next feeding. This will probably go on for 2-3mths when they can go longer b/w feeds (maybe feed every 3.5hr or 4hrs). sleeping arrangement is totally up to you lor.

i didn't have any CL, only my mum stayed over to help out. so my mum slept in the nursery with my baby.

being SAHM is rewarding lah, but VERY tiring!! i don't have a maid so gotta do all household chores too!!
financially we are comfortable, hubby pays for everything, and he is very supportive of my decision to be SAHM. i definitelt won't trust a mais taking care of my daughter lah, but that's just me.

quinny zap is not meant for newborns. maybe from around 8-10mths then can use. for newborns you have several options. you can carry baby in a baby carrier/sling meant for newborns. you can also buy those strollers meant for newborns, is can recline all the way flat. or you can buy a car seat for infants and also use it to carry baby around. there are some brands which can take out and carry, and some which can be double up as a stroller too.

a baby/diaper bag is certainly useful. for me i bring out lots of things. milk bottles, milk powder, boiling water, cool boiled water, diapers, change of clothing, face cloth, wet wipes, tissues, blanket and her toys. and now that she is eating solids already i also have to bring out her dinner with me (porridge in a thermos flask). i use the Allerhand Diaper Bag. Costs about $120 now but very useful for me.

preciousmoments,
i showered the day after i delivered. up to you if you wanna bring breastpump or not. milk will come in usually on 3rd day, so if you stay longer than 3 days you will need a pump, if less than that then no need. even if you don't bring you can go to the ParentCraft Room and use their pump, but sometimes got long queue lah. Theirs is the industrial one, very EX but can express very fast!! if you wanna BF it's best to use nursing bras - so much easier! if you use regular bra very leceh to remove and put back on lah. remember when you BF gotta latch on both breasts (one after the other), so it's easier with a nursing bra, just snap off and on. for me i used nursing bras, and also breast pads with the nursing bras as your breast will definitely leak one. if you are unsure about BF, consult the lactation specialists at TMC - they are VERY helpful. just tell the nurses you wanna consult them and they will ask a consultant to visit you in your room and show you how to BF with your baby and how to latch on, etc.

Hi preciousmoments, don't worry about it. Good luck and all the best.

Since your baby is still young, you would need to bring the following essential stuff:
-A spare set of clothes
-3/4 pieces of diapers
-baby wipes
-tissue paper
-cooler bag (if breast feeding. check out shops at Plaza Singapura selling children's clothes)
-Nappy rash cream
-Small Face towel
-cloth diaper (when changing diapers)

Sorry, I can't remember the name of the shop at PS but I did see a cooler bag there for sale. How about Mothercare ?

lani,
i also dont trust anyone to take care of my bb, except my mum but she doesnt want. but if i really have to continue working, then close 1 eye abt the maid loh. ure lucky ure financially able to stop work. as for me, i wld worry everyday my hubby doing ok anot, too stressful!

havent decided on any pram or bb carrier. wana buy something that can last longer not just for NBs.. will continue looking around. thks for the tips!

wah u sound like u bring the works when bringing bb out. still looking around for a diaper bag. difficult to find something with comfortable straps and dont look obiang!

any guidelines on wad size nursing bra i shd get. everytime i go mothercare there seems to be no one around who can help me ley.

janet,
wads a cooler bag? only for BM?

Hi first_mum, going out with a baby can be jelak because there are so many things to bring. It's worse when bb is on solids, have to cook porridge and keep warm in Thermos flask.

Cooler bag is an insulated bag for keeping the ebm cool. Usually for bm. For formula-fed bb, you need hot water flask, bottle with warm water and formula.
For eg if bb is drinking 3oz formula, you put 2oz of pre-boiled water into the bottle and add in 1 oz hot water and formula when it's feeding time.

If you need advice on nursing bra, can check out Triumph.

Hope all this helps.

hi janet,
thks for being so generous with ur sharing

wads the alternative for cooler bags? suppose i wana save on this cos i wont be bringing bb out so often den how? can i just bring EBM around in a normal bb/ diaper bag?

are truimph nursing bras gd? how much? so far most pple have recommended mothercare..

for FM, do i hafta get the bottle inuslator bag to keep warm? do they really work?

Hi first_mum, I'm glad to share whatever I know. Hope it works for you.

EBM has to be kept cool when out of the fridge or it will contaminate. Shop around, there may be shops selling cooler bags which don't cost too much. I will let you know if I can see it around.

Gotta go now. let you know again soon.

if you wanna bring EBM out you gotta keep it cool or it will go bad! cooler bags are not that expensive. have seen an Kiddy Palace and Isetan selling around $20-$30. I read in another thread got this shop in IMM selling for $2 only!!!

If you want nice looking diaper bags and willing to spend around $100, then take a look aht the Allerhand brand. Very nice range! www.allerhand.com You can buy from Mothers Work at Great World City or Tanglin Mall.

For nusrsing bras, basically you gotta go 1 cup size bigger than your current pregnancy size (ie if you are now a B, go for a C) and then go 1 size down for the measurement than your current pregnancy size (ie if you are now 36 then go for a 34). Basically if during full-term pregnancy you are a 36B, then nursing bra go for 34C. The ParentCraft Centre at TMC sells nursing bras leh! You can go there and try on and buy! They also sell nipple creams, breast pumps, etc.

as for FM, the bottle warmers/insulator bags do help to keep milk warm, but only for few hours. if you plan to go out ALL day then not a good idea to use it. better to bring milk bottle, milk powder, hot boiling water, and cool boiled water then make the milk when baby is ready to drink. this is what i do. a bit leceh but after a while i got used to it.

janet,
thks! dats v kind of u. i saw a few cooler bags at isetan today, after reading ur posting that it is necessary. they cost between 20 to 50 bucks.

question:
does that mean if i put in cooler bag, my EBM can last for the whole day when im out and wont turn bad?

lani,
will check out kiddy tmr, thks! i visited the allerhand website liao. the bags looks durable and functional. 100 bucks is reasonable. so far i havent seen many bags with good compartments... but tanglin and GW far for me, mayb over the wkend ba.

thks for the precise advise. i know what size to get now. but are the guidelines applicable to everyone all the time?? will go to parentcraft after my next checkup.

how to bring hot boiling water? as in thermos flask? so do i hafta get those insulator bags? how long do they last anyway? 3 to 4 hrs?

Hi first_mum, my cooler bag came free when I bought my Medela mini electric from Robinsons.
I read somewhere that a nursing mum brought her Coleman cooler box wherever she went. She will fill it up with ice with the ebm and transfer into the fridge when she reaches home.

Lani has experience in more aspects. I am also learning from reading her posts.

My kids are 4 years apart and things have really changed during the years. When I go shopping now, I head straight for the children's dept. It's amazing how advance children's things are now.

You can actually get a Tiger flask to store the hot water. I put hot boiling water inside and it can keep hot for more than 4 hours.

first mum,
i am not sure how long you can keep EBM in cooler bags, as i have never brought out EBM before. i am lazy lah, so when i go out i used to bring FM! heehee!! i also find it very troublesome to express, so at home i used to BF direct latch on only. i only expressed when i experienced engorgement.

for hot boiling water, I use the Tiger brand thermos flask for hot water. quite good, i find the boiling water can last from afternoon to night. once your baby starts eating porridge, you might want to invest in the Tiger thermos for porridge also. it's very good and alot of mummies on this forum use it. The RRP is almost $100, but when you wait for the Tiger Fair (either at Taka or Isetan) it is selling for around $50.

btw, when you deliver at TMC, they give you a free diaper bag. but not sure if you wanna use it lah, cause it looks very much like those typical corporate gifts, not very trendy looking! haha!

about the nursing bra sizes - you're right, it may not apply to everyone, but i was told by the salesperson at mothercare that is the norm for majority of women lah. and i found it to be quite true, cause after i delivered cup size went up and bra size went down! if you want to be sure seek the advice of the staff in the ParentCraft Room.

Hi first_mum, when my girl was much younger, I only brought her out for jabs and then home after that. After the jabs, I brought her to the supermarket when it is off-peak (not so crowded).
It was only recently that we went shopping for few hours. The weather is very humid and just stayed inside the shopping center.

Personally, I feel that young children should not go out too soon as they may not have the immunity to defend themselves esp b4 their jabs.

I bought 2 Tiger flasks, one for storing hot water with a stopper. The other is for porridge. Look out for the Tiger fair at Isetan as it is much cheaper.

As for diaper bag, I prefer to use those bags which come free when buying cosmetics. Much more attractive.

hi lani and janet,
both of u have generously fed me with v useful info as a 1st time mother. everyday i wld educate my hubby abt something new i learn from this forum. my hubby and me still quite young, v blur, so we need all the advice we can get. god bless u!

im v keen on BF but duno whether ill encounter difficulties anot eventually. dats y im not sure if i shd get all the BF equipment now. scali BF 1 mth give up liao!

ive seen the TMC diaper bag. looks quite cute la. wanted to get a hospital-cum-diaper bag but SIL say not nec.

nursing bra size - if i dnt lose wt aft giving birth, does that mean my bra size wnt go down?? mayb just go up 1 cup, bra size dnt change how?! nursing bras from parentcraft wad brand?

noted! will invest in a good tiger flask when bb arrives...

dnt tink ill bring my bb out too often wen small also. my hubby quite paranoid abt germs and infections wan, so i guess he'll not wana bring bb out too much also.

my edd is dec. wad are the things i shd have ready by now? worried that i'll pop early and cannot go out get the things myself n hubby needs to work...

Hi first_mum, many new mothers encounter difficulties when breast-feeding. Learning how to let baby latch-on, clearing blocked ducts and handling a change of hormones after child birth requires family support. Frankly speaking, I was also in tears 2 days after discharge from the hospital partly because of the blocked ducts.

Being young and cash-tight, it's not impt to buy a diaper bag since TMC will provide you upon discharge. There is also a bottle holder (but non-insulated). What you can do is put some ice into a plastic bag and place it at the base, with the bottle of ebm on top. This way the ebm should be able to keep cool until the next feed.

Have you bought all the necessary things for yourself & baby yet ?

-baby tops/long pants (0-3 mths for small sized newborns but dont buy too many).
-newborn diapers (Sealer/Pampers/Mamy Poko)
-bath tub
-Latacyl (for bathing bb with sensitive skin)
-nappy rash cream (Desitin brand)
-bottles

During your confinement, do take care of yourself. Since it will be in Dec and the weather tends to be cold, take care and don't get sick or you will fall ill easily after that month.

hi janet,
ive heard so many horror stories, i can only pray for the best! im having cold feet abt everything now, the delivery, the after-delivery, confinement, CL/ maid woes, BF, u name it! lucky for me, bb is v gd, doesnt gime much probs, ive been enjoying gd health thruout preg, hope things stay this way!

im confused as to how to dress bb in the 1st few mths? rompers or tee & shorts better? if rompers, short ones or long coverup ones (too hot??)? wad do they wear in the day/ at nite in bed (assuming non air-con)? do they hafta wear bonnets/ caps??

diapers ive gotten 1 pampers premium 36 and petpet size S 46. enuff anot? and wld u advise bb go on full disposable diapers cos i worry abt maid/ CL having hygiene probs if use cloth nappies..

bb bath pdts/ lotions/ detergents (perishable??), is it too early to get now? still 2 mths away, wad are their shelf lives like??

Hi first_mum, if you have been in good health during pregnancy, I guess your bb should be in good shape too. Think positive ok ?

Newborns tend to lose heat easily, but yet don't over dress them either. Day time (no air con), let them wear short sleeve tops/shorts, with mittens and bootess. Night time, short sleeve (if warm) but long pants. Mittens/bootees as well. However if your long pants is the type which covers the toes, then no need for bootees.
Bonnets too warm. Singapore weather no need that.

For diapers, it will depend on bb size. TMC will give you the remainder of newborn diapers when you discharge. Pampers/Sealer/Mamy Poko are the 3 brands which sells newborn diapers. Your bb is a Dec child and that means rainy season. Disposable diapers would be cheaper and more hygienic than cloth ones. Newborns wet and soil themselves often in the 1st month esp.

I bought J & J milk bath for my girl. As for washing her clothes, I use Napisan (little bubbles). J & J baby lotion if her skin is a little dry. Can get that now or later. No prob.

How about detergent to wash bb bottles ? Tollyjoy or Pigeon. It is safer. Tollyjoy baby detergent is cheaper than Pigeon. As well as brush to wash the bottles as formula tends to be oily.

hi janet,
thks for the encouragement!

v useful info. now ive an idea of wad types of clothings to get for bb. my hubby was saying if i let bb wear full coverups to sleep, she'll be v angry wiv me haha! cos so hot!.. bonnets not nec but thin cloth hats to shield from the sun shd be ok when bringing bb out i suppose?

i tink my bb shd be small to normal size. so far, her weight has followed the norm stated in pregnancy books quite closely.

will check all the different brands. was thinking skip the bb detergent part cos mum say use norm detergent can liao, just dilute with more water..

do i hafta get ready FM just in case i dnt hv enuff milk supply 1st few weeks? wads gd/ safe for NBs?

hi first_mums, you are most welcome. as long as you don't find me long-winded.

you can get some baby clothes from OG Orchard. 5 pieces for $10. tollyjoy/pigeon/lucky baby not bad. i used cotton wool to wash her bum after she has soiled herself. more hygienic than a cloth.

sorry to say this, but normal detergent may be a bit strong for bb skin. just in case the maid doesn't rinse well, some bb have sensitive skin.

don't get formula yet. follow on whatever brand the hospital is using, and chances are the bb won't develop any allergy. btw, i asked the nurse to give my girl fm for the 1st day. upon discharge, the nurse gave me some sample bottles.
my bm didn't come in until day 3.

in the meantime, it was the colestrum (watery substance) which came from the breast which is extremely high in antibodies. ask the nurse later. don't worry about buying any fm now.

for diapers, size S will be too big for a newborn. you need to get size NB (which is Newborn). so far at supermarkets (NTUC) I only saw 1 brand (can't remember the name already), but sometimes very difficult to get as always sold out. I used Nepia NB diapers - buy from Seiyu Bugis Junction. 1 pack $19.90. I really stock up leh, ie. at one go buy 4 packs! So no need to go so often. I believe after I used up around 7 packs then my baby was big enough for diapers size S, so that's when I changed to Drypers.

As for FM, you can wait till your baby is born. See what the hospital feeds your baby, then buy the same brand. For me they fed my daughter Enfalac A+, so I stuck to that brand, and she took to this milk very well (now still drinking it). It's good to have a tin on standby at home, just in case you are unable to BF and need to supplement with FM. If this is the case then you will also need at home milk bottles, bottle brush, bottle cleanser (I used Tollyjoy), sterilizer (or sterilizing tablets).

As for clothing, normally when baby is born they will have very mild jaundice, so the PD will advice you to dress baby in sleeveless tops in the daytime. No need any pants (diapers will do), and must wear mittens/booties. Make sure you also have swaddling blankets ready (maybe around 6-8, you can by from Metro), as newborn babies need to be swaddled almost all day and night (it's very comforting for them). if you don't know how to swaddle your baby, get the nurses at TMC to teach you how to do it. It is imperative that you, hubby and everyone at home know how to swaddle baby! Trust me, you will know how important it is when one day your baby is crying uncontrollably and once she/he is swaddled snugly, the crying magically stops!! For nighttime, I dressed baby in short-sleeve top, pants, mittens, booties and swaddle blanket. Rompers, bonnets, etc at home is not necessary for newborns. If you bring her out, then a hat is a good idea to shield from the sun.

Also, normal detergent is too strong for baby's clothes. Remember newborn skin is very sesitive. I used the Kodomo detergent.

I also just used Lactacyd for baby's bath. It's highly recommended by TMC and very kind to newborn skin. Besides, you don't have to rinse off. You also will need cotton balls (buy those sterile ones from the pharmacy at TMC - $1 for a small packet). Maybe once your baby is around 3mths old you can start using those bath products you can find at the supermarkets (eg J&J, Kodomo, Pigeon, Mustela, Avent, Gerber, etc).

If she soils herself, you can use those Baby Wet Wipes to clean her. Tollyjoy and Pigeon are the most popular brands. Also don't forget to get Nappy Rash cream.

janet,
the more long-winded the better, then i can learn more

thks for the tip, will go to OG for their next sale. wouldnt cotton wool leave fibres on bb's bum if u use it to clean his bottom? i tot wet wipes b a beta choice, no??

got pigeon detergent for clothes and NUK bottle cleaning detergent today liao

lani,
i tot bb wld outgrow NB size v fast, dats y got the S as well. tink i wld try nepia too, heard gd reviews abt the brand. is it true that nepia sizes abit smaller than angmoh brands?

can we swaddle bb wiv cloth nappies? or must be receiving blankets. im rather confused abt which to use for wad, receiving blankets, cloth nappies, hooded towels, bath towels!!?? i oredi have quite a few short-sleeved rompers, means i shd stock up on sleeveless tops now...

lactacyd only 1 type for bbs and adults alike rite? its the green and blue striped box correct? ok i will get that... i already got the mustela bath pdts, looks like i gota keep them for another few mths again... cotton balls must b sterile? norm off-the-shelf type can anot? n how big is consumption of cotton buds, i have alot!

so many brands of wet wipes around! tink ill just get the cheapest la since its use and throw anyway! but dnt tink the price varies much among diff brands rite?

the S size will be too big for a newborn, so you use the NB size first until she is big enough for S. Yes, go for Nepia - i really liked it! Yah, I think Nepia is a little smaller than angmoh diapers, so quite suitable for our petite asian babies. Remember newborns poo after every feeding, so you will use around 8-10 per day in the first few months!! 1 pack of NB Nepia has 60 pcs, so that would last you maybe 1 week only. So good idea to buy 4 packs to last you about a month, so you don't have to keep going down to Siyu Bugis Junction to buy.

Swaddle with cloth nappies? I am not too sure about that. To be safe I used swaddling blankets (hospitals use them too), as the material is cooling for baby and it is also slightly stretchable, so easier for you to swaddle and more comfortable for baby also.

short-sleeved rompers are fine for you baby to use at home in the daytime, but in the event your baby has jaundice, your PD will ask you to dress her in sleeveless tops at home and "sun" her everyday, so maybe good idea to have a few on hand. once her jaundice is over, can switch back to wearing the rompers.

i think there is 1 type of lactacyd only. mustela is also very good, you can switch to using them once your baby is around 3 mths.

as for cotton balls, i'm not sure if can use off-the-shelf ones for newborns, at TMC we were told to use sterile ones for newborns, as their skin is very sensitive. remember, you will be using the cotton balls to wipe their eyes, face, etc, so better to be safe. i did try using off-the-shelf ones before to wipe my baby's face and eyes before (thought it would be cheaper and more convenient) but then the skin around her eyes turned red! so better not ah!! after thant i bought like 20 packets of the sterile ones from TMC to stock up! each bath i sue around 5pcs of cotton balls. 1 for face, 1 for eyes, 1 for back of ears, 1 for neck, 1 for nostrils (all these were taught by TMC nurses).

My 5cents worth, maybe check with ur OBs whether baby big or not, my bub came out @10lbs, alot of clothes we bought cannot be worn, now 6 weeks have to wear 3-6 months clothes =p

Carol

Hi first_mum, do ask your gynae regarding your baby's size. Some tend to expand nearer the delivery. Sylerion is right about this.
Baby tops between 0-3 and 3-6 months are slightly different in size. My girl was 2.69kg when delivered, and wore 0-3 (newborn) for about 3 weeks before moving on to the next size.

hi lani,
my CL recommended drypers, wonder how much and whether it has NB size. i wld luv to try nepia, many pple have said many gd tings, mayb ill go for the "oct promo" 4 pks for $56.

ok. where can i get gd quality swaddling blankets? i only saw at metro (doesnt look v comfy so ddnt buy) and mothercare (too ex!).

my SIL passed me 10 short/ long-sleeved rompers, i hv another 10 on my own so i shd have enuff of those liao. i shall buy more short-sleeved tops then. im tinking of buying some bottoms too, for sleeping/ gg out. do u recommend shorts or long pants? how many shd i get? but im very confused cos diapers are so puffy, wad size bottoms shd i get to last for at least 6 mths for norm-sized bb gers? bb dresses are so cute, v hard to resist buying too many all at once haha!

must use sterile cotton balls? i have no idea. will stock up on my next check-up!

janet,
my bb's weight has been normal so far. it follows the pattern described in books very closely. the next chk-up ill b 32 wks, dat shd gime a gd idea of bb's eventual size rite? i try to buy 3 mths above clothes cos my mum say 0-3 mths too small for some bbs, waste $$ haha. thks for tip!

Hi first_mum, since your SIL has passed you some rompers and some of your own, don't get too much already. For sleeping, you can get some long pants.

My girl looks nicer in dress w/ undies. I bought some Elle ones for about $5 each. My girl started to expand after 3 weeks although she did have a good appetite. I agree with you on this, girls' clothes are really cute and beautiful. Must try to resist or you will go broke. HaHaHa.

not sure if drypers has NB size. i've not seen it before. i definitely recommend nepia. i used it and got no complaints.

i used the swaddling blankets from metro - the quality quite good leh! definitely had mileage for me! used until my daughter almost 6mths old! heehee!

i think you have enough rompers already. short-sleeved tops maybe just buy a few cheap ones, as you will prob only use when your baby has jaundice first 2 weeks and when the weather is exceptionally warm.

for pants to wear out/to sleep, i think long ones are better. and no need to get so many, maybe 2-3 only? i doubt you will bring her out so often the first 2-3mths.

girl dresses are indeed very cute!! but must control! for me i definitely went overboard leh! bought soooo many, and some end up never even wear cause she outgrew them sooo fast!

for first 2-3mths it's better to use sterile cotton balls, as their skin is VERY sensitive. after that you can switch to normal cotton balls already.

Hi Lani, girls' clothes are so cute aren't they ? I have to control myself whenever we are at dept stores or I will go broke. But honestly I am quite tired of pink by now. So I try to go for yellow and other pastel colours.

How old is your girl ? Mine is coming 11 months.

janet,
yes they are!!! you are so right, very hard to find girls clothing that is NOT pink! haha!! my daughter just turned 7mths. getting to be a handful now! very assertive and knows exactly what she wants! headache liao... i just quit my job 3 weeks ago to be SAHM...

lani, girls can be a handful too. at 10 1/2 months, my girl is pretty assertive and will crawl to get what she wants by herself. if she is in a good mood, she won't mind the brother touching her head or kissing her. otherwise she will make noise at the slightest thing he does.

lani/ janet,

swaddling blankets and sterile cotton balls on top of my shopping list now hee!

wad size shd i get for pants?? since diapers so puffy, will make bb bum big big rite??

BREASTFEEDING
my CL advise to BF in the day and feed EBM in the night. is that norm practice? will bb get confused fr simultaneous breast and bottle feeding?? i read in books its not gd to intro bottle feeding so early ley. whos rite?

if we express BM, is it better to store in sterile plastic bags or milk bottles or those avent VIA storage cups? which one most economical and hygienic? and when we express, do we express straight into which type of container we wana store it in, or after that then transfer?? so confusing... will it also depend on WHEN we wana use the BM??

im interested in getting the avent VIA cups. if im using medela, will the avent VIA cups fit the pump??

Hi first_mum, get 1 size bigger for pants.

It all depends on how long you plan to bf. My gf advised me to give ebm from start if I'm not bf more than 6 months. This way, it won't be too difficult to switch to bottle. My girl has been drinking only ebm for the past 10 months already.

If you are getting Avent, i am afraid it won't fit with other brands.

I use Medela mini. Expressed straight into the sterilized bottle. When it is time to drink, just warm the bottle in a cup of hot water. NEVER WARM THE BOTTLE IN MICROWAVE.