Twins/Triplets/Multiples Mum to be!

I been thinking of upgrading since yesterday but the estimation of bill size for preterm in case I deliver is alot. But at this rate of my frustration is not doing any good to me also lor. Mayb I go home is so much better than here.

Leah, farting after c sec is normal . You will feel like got lots of wind in tummy. Cos when c sec, the womb is opened up and wind will get in. It's in a way exposed when opened up, so that is why you r prob feeling this way.

I did too , so my dr gave me some med for wind as tummy was hard. In a day or 2 , U will feel better. Farting it out makes u feel a whole lot better .

Leah,

wah u r really good. No engorgement huh?

Wat pressure band? Something to wear over the wound? Gosh so now pain?? Scary!!!!!

Can't wait to see ur boys. ;)

MomMe,

I upgraded In the end, cos the nurses at subsidised ward all one kind. Cos my room the patient opp is dying then cos I am quite bothered bout it during my pregnancy. They refused to transfer me to another room lor. Then even make sacastic comments as though carrying twins very easy like that. Can the nurses carry twins first then open their mouth? So idiotic.

Just can't wait to go back home. Wanted to go back today but they still want to monitor. Sighs!

Gera,

hmmm the nurses there not v sensitive huh... Given the situation tot tat they should be more sensitive. ;(

tat's good. Hope u can get a good rest tonight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

no la, best doc make sure everything is ok before u discharge.

We are going home later!!! I'll send pics soon! Right now it's just bf on demand... I requested them to sleep with me.. Now I roughly know their pattern.. Both very sticky!

discharged today. given nefidipine to take once a day (long-acting dose), gynae say i fall within the lucky 50% out of 100% who come in for preterm labour that they are able to reverse it.

got irritable uterus, and now my condition is unpredictable, so was told to monitor the pain, if the pain is severe and does not go away after an hour, was told to immediately go back.

now i regret waiting for 3 days before asking for help. but lucky in a sense during this admission.

and i won't be on bedrest cos i got an unaccounted blood clot floating somewhere in my body that gave me symptoms of pulmonary embolism, was given compression stockings to wear and told to walk around within the hse. haha. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw how is everyone?

the forum like very quiet lei..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gera: congrats! glad you've been discharged [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] do take care!

think everyone is probably busy.. with a few mummies who has already delivered or are delivering soon.

as for myself, i'm still resting and in between, making sure that we've got all that we need for the babies' arrival. going for the 2 jabs in my thighs tmr... i really hope its bearable.

Azureoct,

thanks! yeah really glad to be at home, more freedom. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i heard from the nurse that thigh jabs are less painful than the butt. cos thigh got more muscle. anyway its all boils down to the skill of the nurse. the first jab i got on the butt was painless. it was so swift in like less than 10 seconds, but the second jab was horribly painful lasting 2 minutes and i bleed abit. lols.

Good luck on your appt tmr!

azureoct, i didn't find the jabs more painful than a normal injection, despite it being intra-muscular.

A tip - just dont look at the needle!

Gera & Spiffy: i survived the first jab [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i think the nurse was quite good. i expected to feel pressure when the medicine was being administered into my body like my normal flu jab but i really didnt feel it that much. the sore feeling kicked in almost immediately after she was done though but it helped when i rested abt 10mins on the treatment bed so now i'm good as gold [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will be taking the 2nd jab with my GP friend so prayerfully, it will be just as good! keke :p and no Spiffy, i was too chicken to look at the needle or when she was administering the jab. my gynae friend distracted me by talking to me.. hoho...

someone is delivering this week, right? is it poohbear? keep us updated, ya? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yeah poohbear is delivering on coming thurs.

btw i been having alot of diarrhea past few days, in the ward, gynae say maybe its the gastric pain medication, but i didn't take any yesterday and today, but still diarrhea. its not one of a symptom of labour rite?

Gera: are there any cramps? but i think you better check with your gynae cos they shld know better. i do think that my stomach is a little easier to get wind and diarrhoea since i became pregnant. but most of the time, i dont get any cramps so I just take charcoal pills. the bout i had last week, i took Lomotil to help since it was a little more serious than the usual once or twice diarrhoea and wind.

haha.. and it sounds like we're all queueing up to deliver soon. you shld be the last of our batch? after that, there's a few more newer mummies like doblue and all, right?

Azureoct: i am having my usual cramps on and off...actually the diarrhea is like 2x/day so its not very excessive. will just monitor..hope its nothing. maybe i will just lie in bed and rest, hopefully it goes away.

yeah yeah i will be last batch..u are 31 weeks now? i am 3 weeks slower than you and Don. yup after me should be doblue and keann...

Hi Gera

Good to know that you are back home. Do take care.

Leah

One of my gf dd also have a deform ear when she was born and she went to c a ENT doc in Raffles and said that he good. If you need the contact let me know.

Guess i will be the last since i am only 13 weeks now. By that time i think you all too busy to come to the thread with all you babies.

btw can i ask if touch the tummy will it stimulate contractions? i noticed i get braxton hicks when i touch lei. now i dare not apply any tummy cream liao..

Doblue: thanks for your well wishes..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] aiya i think we sure will come back and chat one provided if got time...hehe..

Doblue,

there will be new mums by then.. and the good thing is, you will be at the head of the Q.. which anyone here will tell you that it is a great position to be in.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya.. we were thinking she sure will fail because her blood sugar is usually higher than norm..but looks like her sugar eating days are here to stay... for now.. nope. No need to see a dietician at the moment.

weight is quite ok. The big one is too big actually, which is a concern but weight is only 1 of the measurement, as long the others are fine.. the countdown goes on..

Spiffy

tat's great. Since they reaching 2kg should be going back soon right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

spiffy: good to hear that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hoping you will be able to bring them back home with you real soon! must be real tiring for you everyday but do try to rest as much as you can once they're home. i'm sure with all the toil of travelling to be with them daily, you probably didn't get v good rest since their birth.

do KKH's business office pass you a bill every week? or you will only be able to find out the cost when they're discharged? paiseh, memory really not doing well nowadays, did you manage to get a downgrade on the class for the babies?

anyone can tell me what is the baseline weight for week 29? the babycenter average fetal weight no longer accurate liao, cos now third trimester, twins are growing at a faster rate.

wonder how are my twins weight so far, going for FA scan coming monday. my last scan at 27 weeks is both only 1kg each.

gera, mine at 30 weeks... one at 1.2kg and the other at 1.3kg.

tmr going to see my gynae again. hopefully they grown heavier.

Gera: according to the sonographer who did my last scan last wk at 31wks estimated them to be 1.98kg and 1.53kg. though there's a discrepancy in weight but my gynae's happy... says that the growth is within range.

ideally the babycenter average fetal weight should still be applicable.. my smaller one is still following their estimate.. the bigger one exceeds that but my doc says it is really because my bigger one is bigger than norm, rather than the smaller one is underweight...

i remember the weight growth really kicks in after 28th week if it helps..

azureoct, yep i managed to get downgraded to B2. I should ask them for an interim bill cos i have no idea how much i'm racking up. They'll only send it to you when the kids are discharged.

By the way, I heard that Yumyum delivered 3 days ago and the triplets are in Special Care Nursery!

oh.. good for yumyum!!! i hope her babies are doing well also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

at least KKH got abit of conscience.. my colleague whose daughter has to be warded in NICU at Gleneagles get a bill from their biz office every week. though its good to know how much you've incurred so far but i think parents dont really want to think abt it at that moment when their babies are trying to grow healthier under special care.

rooting for your babies to be discharged soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

personally, i'm wondering if i shld opt for B1 and B2 ward.. just in case. my gynae says that if all scans show that the babies are doing well, he's happy for me to opt for A1 since my hubby can be my personal slave at all times :p

thanks all for the rough estimation, so i have some baseline in mind to expect for. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i am also hoping the twins weight will increase. since now on GD diet, have to cut alot of carbs/eliminate sugar and fats. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don,

the average fetal weight from babycentre is based on singleton, and i read that twins grow at a faster rate in third trimester playing catch up.

congrats to yumyum! hope she and her triplets are doing fine.

azureoct,

hope ur hubby will be slave to you, mine just slept like a pig when he stayed over for one night when i was in the labour ward. i even had to force him to wake up before the docs come in. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Gera: because i buay paiseh with my hubby.. if i need help, i will just bug him.. haha.. like i will hit him to wake him up when i had cramps in the middle of the night.

don't know what you have to eat for your GD diet but from what I heard from my friend and gynae.. their recommendation for the growth of babies is the intake of proteins. my friend says that the protein intake for her (she was also on GD diet) is 4 glasses of milk, soy milk or protein supplements.. this is on top of whatever other sources of protein like meat or cheese. she told me there was a mother of twins in her class too.. and the recommended portion for her was 10% more. i suppose you could follow that.. i also try to drink more milk and soy milk now in the hope that it helps with the babies' growth.

my gynae recommended those milk supplements like Anmum but i hate those!!

if your GD diet allows you to take milk... then i think work on that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gera,

not sure how reliable if this website but it shows the weights for twins:

http://www.twinstuff.com/twinweights.htm

Congrats to Yums!!!

Hey... yum is @ KKH right?

Spiffy,

does that mean that you might have met her? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

azure,

I take enfamama .. its the least foul tasting of the lot.

Its v sweet tho, so prob not rec for Gera.

Azureoct,

my GD diet consist of

breakfast: 1 cup of milk

plain wholegrain cereal/2 pcs of wholemeal bread

lunch: palm-size serving of meat and veg,

1 cup of rice and half serving of fruits

Tea: 1 cup of milo plain

2 pcs of wholegrain crackers plain

or/ 1 cup of low-fat plain yoghurt

dinner: palm-size serving of meat and veg,

1 cup of rice and half serving of fruits

supper: 1 cup of milk

i only can drink max 2 cups of milk/day. and with this diet, i am horribly hungry, almost starving. i can't drink powdered milk supplements cos got lactose intolerance, sure diarrhea. i also cannot tolerate Soy products. i think i am relying on the protein i take per day.

and hor...they told me i am gaining too much weight. presently only gain 17kg. they say the average range for twins is 20-25kg.

plus i got gastric reflux so i can't finish all my lunch. just half of it and i am full, how to eat fruits like that? so obviously 1.5 hours after lunch i am hungry again. The dietician here in SGH cannot make it. obviously they never encountered twins mtb with GD. they were so blur lor. i even have to complain to my gynae to request for additional calories cos the one they serve in hospital is too little. btw during the 5 days, i lost 3 kg, but i gained back once i am at home. hehe.

i eliminate sugar completely/cut down on carbs, just that i am having 1 more meal during supper time. 1 cup of milk before sleep not enough for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

azureoct,

for me hor, at night i scream and shout when i get leg cramps but my hubby still in la la land. in the mornings when i complain...he say, "huh you got call me meh?" sighs. i was in labour ward for 2 nights, but the 2nd day i ask him to go home and sleep lor, cos he come and sleep over also useless to me.

MomMe,

thanks i will have a look later. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Spiffy,

ha ... She mention before over the forum tat her name is Christine, u jus randomly call out when u r in the nursery la. Ha.

I have popped! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Both boys in high dependancy ward coz of their weight but overall they are doing very well. Did not get to c and carry them yet, hope can do so by tom.

poohbear,

congrats! you have a good rest ya! btw what are their weights? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]