Twins/Triplets/Multiples Mum to be!

Anyone face the same problem as me.

Tried coming to the thread a few times but cannot find the thread lei.........

Ok finally can get it again.

Kate,

ok later i go see...FB very laggy today..

erm..i also plan to have 2 kids, 1 boy 1 girl. so i told hubby i want another one..but quite true la financially very tight right now, will see how next time.

btw do u have family history of twins?

I dun know abt will i be first in the Q later on not seem that till now i am still the last one left behind. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Not sure izit our thread is hide at the lower portion so the mummies cannot find. I also took a while to find the thread. I was still thinking 2010 dun have twins. Hee hee........

As for twins stroller, my brother whom twins is about 6mth old got the twins stroller but it was never in good use cos seldom both bb will stay in the stroller at the same time. And is indeed bulky to push it around. In the end my brother bought a single stroller and the bb take turn to sit. He even offer that i can use his twins stroller after my bb is out to try out.

doblue,

yikes..i bought the twin stoller liao, delivery will be on this saturday. i think the trick is to put them in the stroller early, but hard to say, some bbs dun like to sit in strollers as well. i will definitely need the stroller cos i dun have a car, and a maid, so its going to be tough bring them out for PD visits and so on..

i think by then, sure got more mtbs with twins that will come along...after all still got 7 months til the end of 2010. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gera, which stroller u bought? Maclaren triumph?

Yes, my dad got a twin brother according to my mum but I din get to see him before. Coz my mum say last time my grandfather very poor so sell away 1 of the twin.

Kate,

i bought the Maclaren Twin Techno. Triumph one can only use from 3mths and above, Techno can use from birth.

your daughter using what stroller? if maclaren also, maybe can follow MomMe, buy another single and get the clips, then can save $$.

oh..sorry to hear about that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Gera, my girl using combi one. Dun tink will buy the twin stroller 1st. Maybe before going bk to wrk then decide.coz I will be the one sending all my 3 kids to sch n bk hme and I'm all alone.see hw tings goes.

Btw i send the cheque out to natal esstiential last wk but no response from them yet.they din even cash out the cheque. Wonder wat happen.

Kate,

have you tried calling them? i think u better call tmr and check. btw u got make any special request? there is this belief that says cannot eat chicken after C-sect. dunno if i should call up and request..they are quite strict lei for their confinement food practices, cos i request for less ginger and they refused to entertain me. i only decided to order from them cos they been in this business for very long and got very good reviews. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

btw when the twins are born, will u be getting any help? u got maid?

Gera,I will call them to chk tmr. I did indicate wat I dun wan n hope they can chg to other.

I'm in the mist of finding a new maid. Hope can find 1 before I deliever.coz Im in the mist of moving also so hire a maid to helpout.

Whether twins will go infant care anot still depends on the maid performance Liao.but sending to infant care means every mth the sch fees is high. Haiz.....

doblue,

no worries.. a lot of babies are born around Oct-Dec one.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] lots of "activities" during the year end to CNY period... so unlikely you will be the last one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

All,

how do you get more comfortable at night when sleeping?? My wife have a lot of problem getting to sleep... the weight is really affecting her and she felt that the bed is sinking... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kate,

Good luck in finding one! oh you are moving before you deliver or after? so you should be busy packing now? Don't exert yourself. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yeah lor infant care is ex cos now have to pay double, but i heard can use CDA account? other than maid, u got anyone to help out? you will be going back to work after ML rite?

Don,

third trimester liao, i am also having difficultly sleeping, firstly i am waking up every 1.5 hours to pee. and my pelvic bones feel squashed when i sleep on my side. lying flat is out of question. Ask her try sleeping while sitting down?

Gera,

If you are determine to train the bb to sit on the stroller is possible also but not without the pain of letting them cry their heart out. So far my problem with my 3 dd is the really cry unit we have to carry them esp in public place.

2 of my gf actually let the bb use the stroller while they are at home to kind of train them to get used to it. ANd their bb really rest well in the stroller outside too. You may wanna try.

Gera, im also not sure whether moving out before or after birth... all depends on my twins when they want to be out... cant force them to come out rite? so if timing really crash, will let the maid (if hire alrdy) and my hubby go n settle n move lor... then i juz move in together with babies.

yup... CDA can be use for infant care. but the CDA partially also our own $. imagine 1 mth $1.2K, very fast the CDA account will be drain out liao.

After ML, I will be back to work liao. No one will be helping me to look after the maid n babies. I also will be worry to leave my twins with a maid alone. but got to see how tings goes lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Will you wake up with a sore back if you sleep while sitting up? How about the legs? Continue to prop them up?

she tried to sleep sideways also but not much success. Either babies done like to be the one below...

Doblue,

good idea hor..but anyway if the twins cry non-stop, of course won't insist they sit inside the stroller..maybe i shall test test at home first. worst to worst then go and buy baby carrier. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kate,

yeah lor that is the only way if it clashes..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1.2k per month per twin? wah that is alot lei. yeah i get what u mean, CDA, although we pay half, its still $$ lor. how bout your mom or in laws?

install CCTV at home?

Don,

i not sure lei, cos i got tail bone pain so i can't sit to sleep. does your wife need to frequently wake up to pee? for me i not so much bothered about the inability to sleep, cos i know my sleep will be disrupted lor.

and yeah i can't sleep on my left, cos my twin 1 hates it, so i only can sleep on my right. twin 2 is sideways now. actually u can try sleeping 45 degrees sideways, meaning u dun squash ur twin in either way, u prop ur back with pillow and u sleep on the pillow. or get a wedge to prop. i bought a wedge early-on and it helps.

Doblue/Kate/MomMe,

ask you all, cos u all have exp with previous pregnancy, how will u know cervix is open? the mucus plug would need to drop out first rite? or is it possible the cervix could be open even if no mucus plug came out?

i am starting to have bad cramps at night again. really hope its another false alarm.

Gera, for me I duno if i dilate anot leh... is gynae will check for me when I go for my chkup. then when i admit into the hospital (mine is induce at 40 wks), i only dilate 1.5cm. after which as time goes by, it only dilate till 2cm n so on. only when i have my epi, it dilate faster. duno why also.

Errr... wat is mucus plug?

A cervical mucus plug is a plug that fills and seals the cervical canal during pregnancy. It is formed by a small amount of cervical mucus.

The mucus plug acts as a protective barrier by deterring the passage of bacteria into the uterus.

Normally during human pregnancy, the mucus is cloudy, clear, thick, and sticky. Toward the end of the pregnancy, when the cervix thins, some blood is released into the cervix which causes the mucus to become bloody. As the woman gets closer to labor, the mucus plug discharges as the cervix begins to dilate. The plug may come out as a plug, a lump, or simply as increased vaginal discharge over several days.

Kate,

so now for every of your appt, ur gynae will check ur cervix? my last visit at 29 weeks, gynae never check lei, although i was check about 2x when admitted previously.

Gera,nope.up till nw.... He still haven't chk my cervix to see if got dilate anot.maybe got to wait till bb head engage 1st then will chk. Anyway tink my Gynae will opt for c-sect. Tmr will be seeing my Gynae again. Will see wat he say n keep u update.

Gera

According to my gynae, not everyone will have the discharge of the mucus plug when dilated le. Strange right.

Coz during my 2nd last appt she said she wanted to check and I was telling her no sign of mucus plug and she mentioned doesnt mean dun have mucus plug then no dilation. :p

Recent 2 appts ie 36 and 37 then my gynae did a check on cervix. Other than that, its more ad hoc basis.. when I complain of too many contractions.

Kate.

how many weeks are u now?

Which infant care r u looking at? rates are pretty high..

Momme, I'm at 34 wks. I stay at wdlands so looking for infant care ard tis area.high chance is sparkletots coz near to my girl CC. Per head ard $577.my girl in LV now. Dun tink I can afford to put all 3 in LV.

MomMe,

oh..yeah its so strange. like that very hard to tell lei, esp now keep having cramps, but still can tahan, not as bad as the other time. but quite bad that it always wake me up when i am sleeping.

i think checking cervix too many times also can induce labour, that is wat i read on the net, maybe that is why gynae never check for me.

Kate,

oh you also stay woodlands? i stay Sembawang. which polyclinic u plan to bring ur twins for vacinations? i never been to any polyclinics in the north so have no idea. any recommendations?

speaking of engagement, for twins, how does twins engage ah? the Twin 1 will engage only rite?

Don,

The Ikea pillow kind of support my back well. So dun really have much sore.

Gera,

When i have dd2 my mucus plug came out 2 days b4 i deliver. I rush to the hospital and the nurse check said i am not dilated at all. Then 2 days later my contraction came and i deliver at 40 weeks and 2 days. For dd3 i dun have mucus plug discharge at all, just contraction at about 39 weeks and deliver out. So is really case by case basic.

As for checking cervix, other than dd1 that the gynae check my cervix at 37 weeks. My other 2 the gynae, who is not the same as the first one, did not check at all. Only after i got contraction then he check.

MomMe & Kate,

Was reading the past thread and thot to share how i settle the older one while i prepare for the bb.

Dun know izit too late for you both since you are due soon. My dd1 also very sticky to me cannot sleep without me. What i did was i either go out with my friend during her sleeping time so that hubby can settle her or i just go out for a while and quietly come back while hubby settle her. In her mind, mummy is out so she kind of left with no choice. It took us about a week to let her be able to sleep with daddy.

As for waking up the older one due to bb crying, so far i got no problem with that. Until now my 3 dd still sleep with us, dd3 used to wake up and cry very loud but the 2 jie jie never wake up at all. I guess all my kids are not light sleeper. So you got to see how your older one are.

The thing now is we dun think we can let the twins sleep with us cos no more space then the 3 jie jie dun wanna sleep in their room [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] , still dun know how to settle this. Sigh.........

doblue

wow.. all 3 sleep with u?

My boy is a v light sleeper le... I cant even watch tv in the room when he is asleep le... :p

Am thinking of having the twins sleep in another room... in a way it may be good for them coz dun want them to sleep in aircon room at the beginning. But prob is I dunno if I'll be able to hear their cries when they wake for milk... my friends actually leave their bb to their maids at night but I dun feel so comfortable le... but am considering asking my maid to sleep in the baby room and to call me when the babies wake.. alternatively I just move to the baby room to sleep myself... real headache...

guess during the first mth the CL is here i've gotta see their sleep patterns

Just bk from my Gynae appointment. Ask Gynae abt the engagement ting n he say twins no engage de.n he say will have to see my babies position next week which is ard 36 wks then fix a date for c-sect. saying mine is momo so best is ard 37 wks can c-sect. anyway no weight gain for me tis wk. He only chk for blood circulation for my twins n heartbeat.

Kate,

ya actually for identical twins most do csect. R u bb head down?

Wah no weight gain? Did bb put on? I v jialat super heavy now my knees n ankles hurt when I walk. I'm even heavier than my hub tho he almost 20cm taller than me!

MomMe,

wah..i am also heavier than hubby already, except both of us are the same height. very demoralising lei.

are ur ankles swollen? mine is very, and its due to the weight i am carrying. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kate,

how are ur bbs weight now?

Doblue,

oh thanks for sharing, then that is even more scary lor. i think i will just use my instinct once again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gera,

Am tiking of bringing my twins to Polyclinic for vaccinations too...but wonder how it is like. Cos didn't use Poly the last time....

Gera,

ya extremely swollen. Think my body is reaching it's limit in how much it can take. Feet got even more swollen in last 2 days n I can hardly walk now

MomMe,

Yup, not only they sleep in our room, many times dd2 & 3 will climb up to our bed until me and hubby always got back pain. Sigh....

Dun worry. I dun think you can sleep thru one. I guess as mother we kind of are made to wake up once bb cries. I am not a light sleeper but i wake up even bb was in another room with the CL. Imo, i am not for the helper to sleep with the bb and get disturb by the bb cries, cos i prefer the helper to have a good night sleep so that in the day while i need to rest i dun have to worry they will doze off while looking after the bb.

They always change, so far my bb are harder to handle during the first 3 mths after that then they are more settled. Juz enjoy as much rest as you can when the CL is ard.

Gera,

I suggest it is better to be safe than sorry most time lor..... Like after the "false alarm" i have with dd2 i still dun take chance, the contraction 2 days later was very mild but i still rush down to check. Same thing for dd3 the contraction was so mild but i know is contraction i juz go down. Both time i was allow to go home and wait even i am already dilated a few cm. The funny thing is both time i did not manage to made it home cos the pain get worst b4 i reach home, always u turn back...hee hee

Doblue

tat must be v tirng for u n hub. My boy sleeps on the floor tho he does prefer to sleep on the bed n will instruct his dad to change places w him. Ha.

Ya bb r much more manageable when older. I really dread the earlier mths when gotta burp them. :p

o ya.... Ur daughters all ok right? Last time u mentioned hfm

MomMe,

Wishing you a smooth delivery tmr! 1 more day of pregnancy discomfort to tahan. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

got time must come back here and post ya?

Doblue,

Thanks..i will take note of that. think that time the cramps was a one-off thing i guess.

but your "false alarm" part, you were almost due rite? i guess with twins, you will bound to get alot of false alarms liao.

MomMe,

Thanks. My girls are alright now. Hopefully my house will be HFM free for a while. The last time dd1 have was almost 4 yrs back.

All the best to you too. Take care.

Gera,

Yup the "false alarm" was bcos of the mucus plug came but in the end i waited for 2 days b4 bb is out lor.

I'm still dun know if i should go for c-sect or natural delivery. According to my gynae even if my bb breech i can still try for natural since it will be my 3rd time. But i kind of got no more courage to handle labour pain anymore. But i am also fearful the pain i need to handle after c-sect. Anyway, i still got sometime to think about it.

Gera n MomMe, my gynae din weigh my twins for me as he say 1 wk cannot tell any difference. will weigh for me tis sat chkup. but he commented for me no weight gain therefore i assume babies also no gain weight bah.

babies' heads not down yet. anyway already mentally prepare for C-sect liao. tis sat he will see and tell me wat to do lor. he advise me to C-sect at wk 37.

Polyclinics for Vaccination

Gera, I never been to polyclinics for vacc for my elder. i went to my gynae wife clinic. but i heard polyclinic offer FOC jabs for those complusory de. however for those like 6in1 jab... is not free one lor. still need to pay. for other area, tink nearest will be marsiling or yishun polyclinic.

MomMe, wish u have a smooth delievery today.

MomMe,

hope i'm still in time... good luck and all the best for the delivey!!

doblue/gera,

thanks for the tips. We tried that but does not seem to work... think we just have to tough it out for the next 2 weeks.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kate,

can't be la, no weight gain, means ur bbs could gain weight lei. 2 weeks ago i didn't gain any weight, then found out it went to the bbs instead. also dunno how to explain it.

so both bbs are still breech?

hmm for vacinations, i plan to go for the 6 in 1 one, or 7 in 1, dunno what is the price difference, but doing it at polyclinics should be cheaper rite? since now we have to pay for 2 bbs. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gera, 1 head down the other breech. anyway tis sat will knw wat is the weight of my twins liao... 2 weeks ago my twins weight is 1.6kg and 1.8kg. not far away from 2kg liao... keep my fingers crossed.

yes... 6-in-1 better cozs else they need to be jab 6 times liao. i tink vaccination pricing is ard there de... wont be much cheaper. but polyclinics do provide FOC jabs for some complulsory jabs.