TOA PAYOH mummies

newmummy, yes i book quite in advance, book also must see got slot.. i was lucky. its 1188 minus $600 for working moms so i got to pay $588.. then plus gst i think. kind of worried that there is no slot in the beginning, cos HDB hub one is reserve for HDB staff, safra so so only...

j foo, u are dragon, born in 1976?? im dragon but born in 1977, my this yr birthday fall on CNY 2nd day -.- Eat more chendol for me, i always wanna go penang but never got chance. U fly there?? my fren say he went by bus is super long journey.

ivy,
depression-tell me about it. my gal slept well during the day and kept waking up at night during the 1st mth. 2md mth was the best, she just slept throughout the night but like i mentioned b4 3rdmth onwards was hell nights. people also told me to use sarong whc i went to get a 2ndhand one but the problem is my gal will wake up when the sarong stopped shaking. so fed up and ended up swaddled her to let her know that its night time and go to sleep. i let her cry for a while and over time she got the message and slept in her playpen.

i'm also a dragon. i went to penang once and went on a makan spree! loved the food! especially the penang asam laksa! aiyo i'm drooling at the thought of it....

did anyone let your child try this Bambino brain training program - www.intelligenceinsight.com.sg

I was at United Sq the other day and passby this shop and was very tempted to get it for my son but tot of checking if anyone knows abt this program and how effective is it..

oh my,jfoo,ivy and char,we all same year~!me also dragon wo~!:p
jfoo,tats y i told u me and u are same schoolmate,u from Union high school rite?if not mistaken i told u i knew u~!:p

ya,char,ivy, the penang food,thumbs up!!:p
i also love laksa,guess wat,i got the packing of the ingredient for penang laksa from pg le!!but no time to cook yet...:p
Ya,go pg hv to fly,else coach journey is abt 10hrs le!!

Ivy,tats vy lucky u!but me is PR,cant get subsidy,so hv could i possible pay $1k+ for it!!!so hv to find nanny lo...

Sgal,welcome~!thk ivy go oneis not cc..

Hi all, wah got Penang gang here in Toa Payoh. Lotsa great food up there... I'm no dragon, I'm a rabbit..an older rabbit..

Jfoo,Beatrice enjoying school?? My girl is a little stressed up now... But,so gd, this yr no CA1 and CA2, Last yr, there was SA1, CA2 and SA2..+oral...

Ivy, really think yr bb is having colic. infacol, like Jfoo mention is good. Give on a regular basis even if the bb is not crying. colic babies cry really loud and hard coz it is painful.. U can't do much except pat them, soothe them. try to carry them against your chest to add pressure on tummy, ,rub and massage tummy(there is a way to do so...) and what all the rest of the mummies suggested. If I can remember, colic comes in about this age too, but its a phase and will pass. Jia You!! Just check, when you heat the EBM, is it warm enough. Also are you storing the EBM correctly so that it remains fresh when yr bb needs it? Also must really burp her coz she still so young. I took up to 45mins sometimes to burp, I remember coz it took so long. but after burping, less colicky and less throwing up..... hope this helps....

Sgal (shuigal) , its firstskool by ntuc.

newmummy, ya if no subsidy, i also dunno what to do. Infant care or Nanny i think both got to close 1 eye, cos we mothers have our own way. BTW are u going to cook the penang laksa for us??

Kin, i gave her ridwind recently and it works, will check out on infacol. I also order a natural one call colic calm, cos i tot give regularly, better give natural ingredients one. I test out and see how. Must burp so long? no wonder.. sometimes i burp and burp nothing.. until i almost doze off esp midnite feed.. motherhood really challenge, times and times wanna give up.

Char, yes depression.. once awhile i got vision in my head wanna kill her haha, u know tat time that u can scream.. of cos i wont kill her lah.

Ivy, personally I dun rock my baby to sleep and also dun give pacifier. But during the period when I was working, my maid was looking after my baby and she rocked the baby to sleep. So after I quit my job, I did a lot of work to train my child to unlearn some of these so called bad habits - like the need to rock to sleep and sitting in front of TV to eat his meals.

I went to attend a course on parenting . It's called Preparation for Toddler Years (6 months to 3 years. It's a useful course cos it also touches on disciplining. They have other courses like Preparation for Parenting (0 to 6 months). Regret that I didn't go for this course cos a lot of my friends who attended this course find it very useful in preparing for parenthood. Those who apply the principles manage to put their baby to sleep through the night when the baby is about 6 to 8 weeks even though they are being breast-fed. The principles were written by Ezzo & Ezzo. One of the popular titles is called Baby-wise.

Attached is the website:-
http://www.gfi-singapore.org/webapp/smarty_forwarder_home.php

Oh yah, wanna check does anyone have any good and reliable professional cleaners to do house cleaning after renovation? Thx

*ahem* another dragon here hor... :p but sorry ivy, i also dragon, also born in 77, but my birthday is 13 feb, two days older than u!!! hehehe... :p but u gd lah, your birthday all flowers dirt cheap cos florist clearing, my birthday never get flowers one, too ex liao!!

final orders :
- jfoo : 1 closed pineapple 20pcs + 1 pork floss roll ==> $25
- dor : 1 tub sambal prawn rolls ===> $13
- giant squid : 2 closed pineapple 20pcs + 1 pork floss roll --> $37.
- christine : 1 closed pineapple 20pcs + 1 pork floss roll ==> $25
- eunice : 1 open pineapple 20pcs ==> $12
- hui0870 : 2 closed pineapple 20pcs + 1 pork floss roll ==> $37
- pam6256 : 1 closed pineapple 20pcs + 1 kueh bangkit ==> $24
- ivy : 1 closed pineapple 20pcs + 1 kueh bangkit ==> $24 (1 fish & 1 prawn otah ==> $7.60)

dears... the items will be delivered to me late friday nite. for blk 100, pls come collect sat AM b4 12noon, or after 10pm. sunday whole day ok. pls sms me and cfm your timing. for blk 146 (eunice, ivy, anyone else?), i will arrange timing w u on monday itself.

are.. my god.. in between us is valentines day haha. I never get flowers lah, also dun like flowers. Somemore presents always combine, if hit CNY, lagi no one bother haha.

Christine, my kids using the Luk Bambino. Beatrice loves it. Jayden is getting use to it. It's good in terms of training them to think in patterns and being observant. Beatrice will make it a point to "train" every weekday morning before breakfast.

Looks like there are plenty of Dragons here. Beware, all other animals, otherwise you may turn into roast rabbits, pigs, cows etc etc Haha!

ARE, will collect from you on Sat, is that ok? Will you be home? Or Sun morning...9am or so, too early or not?

Newmummy, we ought to meet up. See whether I can recognise you or you can recognise me...I only spent 2 yrs or so in Union High. Did you attend Union Primary?

ivy,
i didn't have killing thoughts but felt like giving my gal away at that time, haha!

are,
this year's birthday for you falls on eve of cny wor, so have extra sumptuous dinner prepared for you bo?

Hey Sgal,i intend to,but seems like abit"dangerous" le coz no one "keep an eye" on tat maid,u won knw wat she will do to ur bb...so still will go bek to nanny better lo...my hb said if got maid i sure ask her do alot of thgs other than tk care bb...haha...but this is surpose to do by maid ma,rite?:p
btw,how much to get maid?i not even know the market price lo..

ivy,ya lo,so ex le,then u don wan get nanny?ur mum/mil?

jfoo,ya,may meet up...thk cant recognize liao la!i change alot le..become more older liao le...hehe...nope,i didnt attend union primary,primary look more diff from now liao la...haha~!

jfoo
Oh, so you don't go back to Penang often??

Yah man, only Gurney Plaza has some shops worth seeing....
I want to Island Plaza and it was in semi-darkness...the cab driver told me the tenants whose lease ended moved to Gurney Plaza.
I enjoyed looking at the nice colonial buildings....
Went to the Peranakan Museum too. We ate at old coffee-shops.

TPY mummies are only interested in FOOD! kekeke...

char
I agree with you that taking care of infants is no joke!!! Keke...
Hb/I have phobia....heeeee
Now we are more 'tseng nang' (free).... going out with them is easy too.... and don't need to lug bags around...

ivy
I think at some point, all mummies feel inadequate. Just don't be too hard on yourself. If you hv help frm ur mum or mil, take a breather. Just remind yourself that this phase will pass.

Sleep training - I suppose mummies hv different views about to train them to sleep.
My boy used to sleep v little, when he was a few months, he only slept for 20min to half an hour!

newmummy
Bb with maid alone whole day?? Beta not lah........ hear of too many unreliable maids... don't know what they wl do to the bb... haiz.....

Does anyone have contact for part-time cleaner? Is she willing to go to Holland V area? I'm checking this for my collick ... Thanks!

Char, same.. i ask my hubby anyone want her, i sell to them.. when very exhausted, wanna strangle her haha. But when things cool down, see her so cute.. then of cos different..

Are, u sms me when to collect ok, this time i try to come down with baby hehe.

newmommy, my MIL din even turn up on my bb full mth, so dun expect her to take care. My mother say she dun dare to take care of bb so small, must able to walk then she dare -.-.

styloBB, yes today my mom came and manage to coax her. Usually she just drop lunch and go. So today i feel better when i get to have some time, even though its like half hr. I guess being 1st time mom.. can be really lost, dun even know what to do with her every day. Pple say feed play sleep... i dun even know what to play with her. Sleep also dunno how to make her sleep..

ivy... same lah, no one bothers w my birthday cos all busi w cny or v-day. u better dun come dwn w baby lah, so windy these days. i go up and look for you, cos i also wan to see baby! :p

char... nothing for me lah. my family dun celebrate birthdays anyways. maybe will buy a small cake cos my 2 nieces like to sing "happy birthday" song. :p make them & myself happi, then after that force everyone to eat cake. hehe...

jfoo and all other mummies... the cookies have arrived! hehe.. but i'm oni home tmr after 9pm, so pls sms me if you want to come over. sat i will be in till noon only. sunday anytime i ok.

and hor... sotong me & hubby, mis-communicated & ordered 2 extra bottles - 1 almond cookie ($12) & 1 peanut cookie ($10). anyone wants to take over?

hi stylobb,u are rite!How dare i leave alone my boy with the maid?tat day some more got one maid called me,don know wer she get my tel from and ask me wan employ her or not,she need contract!omg!they so "smart" like this way,how dare i leave my boy alone with maid??horrible!

ivy,then in this way,really no choice,hv to tk care ourself le..me also no mil help,so i learn from don know till know!:p
jia you~!

wah,are!all cookies wer u get from ah?paiseh i didn read the thread from beginning...i back penang,so cant get from u,paiseh..:p

wah so long didnt read this thread, so happening!

StyloBB,
the swim suits so cute! Too bad, I don’t have daughter…

Are,
Hehehe… my boy’s case is exactly the same as your girl’s but in the opposite way. For the first 12 months of his life, most strangers would think he’s a girl. When he’s older, people can’t be sure – they ask, “boy or girl ar?”. Until the recent months, people know he’s a boy. 

Ivy,
During the first 6 months of my kid’s life, he self soothed to sleep i.e. no pacifier, no rocking, no need people to pat him. We have a munchkin crib light for him, that’s all. We joked about how that thing was his ‘TV” cos he kept looking at the changing crib lights and the sound (mimic a person’s heartbeat) until he fell asleep on his own. It was a real breeze back then.

When he’s older, chaam lor… Need to pat/sing/play/talk liao. Till now still like that. So I use that time to “bonding time” lor.

Samantha, are you still looking for simple puzzles? I have some from Orchard Toys and Frank if you're interested. PM me for pics. All 4/6/8 pieces per puzzle.

Newmummy, actually I haven't changed that much (apart from size!!!) compared to my sec school days and even primary school days. Dunno whether that's bad or not, haha! Those aunties who have not seen me for donkey years are still able to recognise me when I go back. Haha!

Stylobb, I normally go back to Penang only when my parents are over there, so maybe once every two yrs. We go to UK more often, once a yr, since parents are residing there.

hi jfoo,tats good,nvr change look!me look vy boylish tat time in union...haha!now also change body shape as well la...hehe...
so u will back pg whole family?i mean with ur kids and hb?

dor
Nice meeting u and chloe - she is cute esp with the school bag...! She is indeed the petite type, like mummy...keke

ivy
Not to scare you, it takes some time before they switch from sleeping in the day to the nite. My twins used to sleep like logs in the day, then at nite, eyes open big big.... hehe
It's good that you manage to take a breather.
Again, don't be too hard on urself, ok???
That's why being a mom really teach us PATIENCE.....

It is often that grandmas are scared of looking after babies, the usual comment I hear is the babies now are VERY DIFFERENT from the babies of yesteryear!!

newmummy
Yah loh, good maids are an exception, not the norm!
All the maids I see downstairs with the old folks are usually smsing on their hps!
Wow, that maid so pro-active!!! Too smart for us...keke

samantha
How old is ur boy?

Was it you who posted sth sometime back about wondering how long you were to live w/o kids compared to w/ kids.. ? hehehe... I was smiling to myself when I read it....

That day I went to see GP, he asked me if my job requires a lot of talking or shouting... I said yes, shouting at the kids! Kekeke...
Btw I have a 6 year old boy and a pair of 4 year old (fraternal) twin gals.

jfoo
OIC... UK wud be so interesting...but expensive... keke...

are
I went to Chinatown today to get shrimp rolls, kueh bangkit and kok zhai... hope they taste good... from the famous Dai Chung Kok shop....

Is anyone interested?

Gap Blue T - BRAND NEW. 4T. SGD7. V nice design, already sold 1. My gals cannot fit in them.

3576878.jpg

Osh Kosh Denim Skirtall.. worn probably twice. I hv looked at them - still good condition. The lighter patch is natural due to the denim. Again, I bot in different sizes.
3T - Length: 50cm
4T - Length: 55cm
SGD12 each

3576879.jpg

PM me if interested. Collection at Blk 79A or nearby or Central.

*repost* calling all tpy mummies...

mummies... am i the oni one who is getting all confused as to who is wat nick, actual name, how many kids, in which sch? i would like to start a list, so i can refer to it on and off, and know who i'm "talking" to! hehe... pardon my brainless-ness pls! so can all mummies pls pm me the following details so i can compile a list? if u would like your details to be given to me oni, pls let me know. for others, if you dun mind, i will eventually email the list to all mummies who have given details. mummies who did not give their details will not get the list. pls pm me the following :

- nick
- actual name
- HP
- email
- blk and lorong
- number of kids, sex & age
- sch your kids are in
- whether u like open or closed pineapple tarts. hehehe...

think there are a few clusters liao... the lor 8 cluster, the 79 cluster, the lor 1 cluster... hehe...

are,
i actually set up a list of a few of the TPY mummies on it - nick, actual names etc. i just sent you an invitation to join the group. you may wanna take a look at it.

other mummies who would like add on to the list may PM me your email addr and i'll send you an invitation. you may also set up pages on that website to compile other lists like places of good food cos the list most of you compiled is in archive and is troublesome to search for it to find out where has got good food. you may also set up any pages of your interest which you find useful.

ivy/stylobb,
as a sahm i think if were to become a grandma i'll also be scared to look after my grandchildren. it's so tiring to take care of own kids so to me, my grandma time is to play with them and when problems arise give them back to their mothers. hahaha!

ivy/dolphingal,
i've added you ladies into the google group liao.

char, lolz, if i grandma i think i will help out part time. As in when the parents not able to take care of them, not full time. Full time i ask them to hire maid haha, i oversee.

Oh realise need to have Gmail acc, my gmail is [email protected]

hi all mummies~!Just wonder one of u or know who want to sell second hand pram/stroller?i got one now,but pretty big and heavy,need one more to just carry him from my hse to nanny especially wen im alone carry him,nd one hand carry him,one hand hold the pram especially go won the staircase..pls inform if got lubang...thx~!just need a simple one will do...

Hey newmummy08... I hv a maclaren volo (old model-netted kind) to sell @ $80. u keen?

Condition is 8/10. usual slight worn out bits due to usage and there is a sticker mark on one of the handles, but the handle pads are still intact, and all functions are working perfectly. i actually bot it frm another mummy who uses tis as a spare so seldom used. my ger dun fit comfortably so i've oni used it once myself. welcome to view before purchase! give me your email and i can send you pics too.

Mummies, there's a new drama and music centre for little tots (age 1-8) at blk 47 (opp HSR). It's called Colourful Hearts. Person in charge works for Julia Gabriel and has been trained there. She's Indian. Nice lady. Young (compared to me! haha!), energetic. Currently there are trails going on @ 15. Charges are $200 for 10 lessons. Young ones must be accompanied by a parent (like JG). Can check it out. Tel 90255815 Melissa.