TOA PAYOH mummies

Ryes,
i still got the paw paw cream, 2 full tubes, i test 1st.

I manage to get petpet newborn, their S is for up to 16 kg so big! the newborn one my hubby got from kiddy palace up to 5kg so we using it now and see if its good. Too bad my hubby got one is sticker and not velcro one.

Are, i using ur glass bottles now, each about 100ml. Ask u, if bb start consuming more than 100ml each, how to heat it, heat 2 x 100ml and keep the remaining in fridge?

ryes, char,
http://mywifelovestocook.blogspot.com/
u see my blog, also egg got bubbles.

Ok chinese steam egg, usually pple use salt or soya sauce to season only, my mom use soya sauce, she say nicer, cantonese pattern add century egg and salted egg. My mil use salt, i find it not so nice and she like to add tofu say silky.... eh.... hehe. Of cos wanna use chicken stock also can lah, but i tot overpower the egg taste.

Japanese chawanmushi use stock, i use to cheat by buying those instant soup and add into the egg to make chawanmushi. They filter the egg with a cloth to remove the bubbles and those lump tat cannot be beaten well. So if really wan, chinese steam egg also can lah, but i like to pour the egg into the mince pork and mix again...

Also my mom say, once u put into the steamer, cannot steam on high heat, will cause more bubbles.

Ivy

(I posted this some time back in a different thread).

"The glass bottles can store up to 90ml-100ml each. Dont fill up to the brim as liquids will expand. What you can do is take out what you need for the day either the night before or early in the morning from the freezer and put in the fridge to thaw, then for warming up, you pour the defrosted milk from one or more of the storage bottles into your feeding bottle and warm that.

For me, I send my baby to infantcare. Nowadays, my baby drinks 120ml per feed, so I provide the infant care centre with 6 of the glass bottles every day (4 feeds plus a bit extra). I pump at work either 3 to 4 bottles (which I refrigerate but dont freeze) and put these in the centre's fridge when I pick baby up in the evenings. This is for the next day. Then I top up 2 to 3 more bottles from my freezer the next morning when I send baby. I dont defrost these until they are put in the centre's fridge. Centre uses the chilled milk from the day before first then for the last 2 feeds, they use the milk I brought from home (which would have thawed by then). This minimises the time the chill&unfrozen and frozen&thawed milk are kept respectively. Hope this helps. "

You can apply the same concept as above eventho you're at home full time. If you know you are going to need Xml the next day, you can 'not freeze' that Xml amount - just store in fridge. The surplus you freeze. Cos each time the BM is defrosted/ reheated, it loses a bit more nutrients. Do note that the experts advise when you put milk in fridge to store inside the fridge (i.e. dont put in the fridge door compartments).

gals,

Which clinic in TPY do you gals bring ur baby for injection? The clinic in Blk 177 (Children clinic) good ? My hubby went there just now but they were closed for holiday. Any advise?

Hi Ivy

Wah sey! YOU can really cook!!! I've just started to learn how to stirfry only and hb is already very happy and look fwd to coming home for dinner. Even though I know sometimes the food very lan, but still he eats it happily. At least it makes me happy too and more motivated to try out.

I must try some day your recipes!

Petpet is not velcro one leh, is all sticker type. I"m using petpet for my kids day and mamy poko at night.

Ivy, I dun like children clinic. They charge very ex and often ask u to purchase unnecessary vitamins and supplements. Previously was telling u, go to the united sq, Aglow clinic. I send my kids there when they are sick.

For jabs, I go to CK Tan at TPY lor 1, Dr Serene Tan. Charges are abt $130-$140. Recent jab is prevenar, the pnenumoccal one $160.

Ryes,
tats what i told my hubby aglow, but he say got to travel.. so he tot of find one at central, just walk. So for vaccinations dun need to go children clinic is ok?

My hubby also, sometimes i cook not nice, or cook new things, ask him be guinea pig but he also happily eat, cos home cook food is the best! I also learning stage only.

That blog i stop after busy with getting pregnant and being pregnant haha. I also trying to improve my cooking, the soup and steam egg is my mom teach one. Western i learn from "Asian Food Channel" haha and online recipe lah.

I was trying to learn baking but still sux... the only successful and damn nice one is butter cookie, too bad no time to do for christmas.

rlrenn, ar ok maybe next time i buy a few brands all small pack and try. Cos now she need to change diaper almost every 2 hrs, only nite time she can sleep longer cos i give FM.

ivy, try to do the jabs at one place. e.g. pnenumoccal has 4 jabs (or 3, cant remember). Do all the 4 at the same clinic. There is a 'completion cert' at the end of the last jab.

I gong gong signed a vaccination package with my pd (recommended by my gynae) so didnt even had achance to 'shop around'. But now I happy la, cos I will get all the certs at one place mah.

Hi Ivy, I used cloth diaper for my bb when he was less than 2 months old cos I feel that disposable ones are very rough except for Pampers which I use at night for him..No rash at my bb's bottom at all. And, most importantly, bb will cry immediately if the diaper is wet (then u hv to change immed) unlike disposable ones, which will absorb the urine for a while until it is quite full before ur bb make noise. Anyway, that time got CL to wash the cloth diapers for me, afer she left, I also used Nepia, also quite soft as compare with most of the other brands..U have a weighing machine at home? U can weigh ur bb's weight by weighing urself first, then carry her and weigh together. From the difference u will know what is her weight and whether she puts on weight or not..

christine,
my weighing machine not accurate one.. it round of to .5kg.. so my baby when born is 2.7kg, they will round off, so i think i going to check her jaundice again see if can ask for weight.

ivy,
good to know that you're feeling better and have gotten used to motherhood. good job! woah, looks like you're another mum who can cook. as for PD, i bring my gal to children clinic at blk 177. it is ex there but becos my gal has been seen by the PD there since NB till now and also becos the clinic is jus across from where i live so i continue to bring my gal there. the PD will suggest to buy certain thing but you can opt not to buy if you feel not necessary. the PD is on leave for one week. think she'll be back on 28th if i rembr correctly.u can try different PDs and see whc one you're comfortable with.

ivy... i send my boys to Dr Chan at TPY Lor 1 for jabs. Nice & pleasant doc..and charges are reasonable. In fact gonna go there this wked for my boy's dtp jab.

Re Diaper : Niaper .. tried and get so disappointed. I used it many years back for my girl. But when i bought it few months back for the boys, I'm so disappointed. It is worse than Pet Pet and NTUC brand diaper. The cotton in the diaper shifted and it leaked real bad. The quality is totally different now. After tried and test all the brands, Mama Poko is still the best which I used it for nights and Pet Pet,drypers are good for day use. Pampers Comfort also good for day use since its cheaper than Pet Pet, but don't know y my boys are allergic to it.

Hi Precious, my boys finally find a friend who like wiggles. Not many kids in Spore like Wiggles. The foursome are funny but my boys are just too obsessed with them. They played the dvd over and over again daily, until we are all so sick of wiggles. I even teased my boys if the purple wiggle is daddy since they see wiggles more than their daddy. haha ... I'm now trying very hard to kick away their obsession hehe ...

hey janice... actually i wanted to pass u a wiggles CD my fren dub for me last time. err... guess not! :p

be@ns... oh, i like to go to dr chan since they opened! i tell my hubby i wan to go see handsome dr. ha! he is very nice indeed. there is also a very nice doc near my place, dr diana, whose very good with kids. her charges are quite cheap cos she's like semi-retired, she's oni opened half day. can call her to chk if she does jabs and how much : 62582670

hey... anyone keen on taka vouchers? $370 selling at $340. buyers are asking me to go meet them in town or far away places! *faintz* hope tpy mummies can take it off me, i offer free delivery! :p

precious... oh, i dun mean music CD leh, its still the show. u can hv mine if u wan, cos my ger dun really like it. janice and dor has lent me enuff cds to keep her occupied, for now. : )

Re: got gain weight or not?

Actually when Junior was just a new born, I got no prob recognising his weight gain. He was like a balloon like that. U can tell he's growing bigger each day cos the yi fu ben lai gang gang hao. As days passed, his clothes became visibly tighter. hehe...

Ivy, I used ntuc diaper only when my boy is older about 18 months cos not too sure about the quality. But it's quite good for me so far. No spolit pieces, so am happy with it. For newborn, I just stick to pampers. It's good and my bb dun have diaper rash. As what the other mummies have suggested, destin is a good cream to use.

Dor, I am shifting to blk 62. Finally after such a long wait for HDB, I got the key yesterday...

Janice, thanks for the contact. AS our timeline is pretty short, we decided to settle on one fast. Hence, we didn't contact your contractor. Will keep his contact for future use. :) Thx much. I am having headache over the living room layout as to the placing of sofas and dining table. Din like my hubby's idea but no better idea leh since we intend to keep the study room.

are...haha, pleasant looking lar. Wonder wat happened to his partner - Dr Tang?

wiggles.?!..hehe...all old men!

char,
ya that doc on leave lah. Ok maybe consider dr chan. Pet pet one so far ok for day, but dun like the sticker, prefer velcro.

Today went to parentcraft, they ask me to go back for review, baby now weigh 3.14kg, from 2.78kh, so got increase lah. Just that she lazy to suckle and me also dun really latch her correctly, so today kanna teach what to do and breast kanna press till damn pain sia.

samantha, the LC at parentcraft press breast damn kua zhang one leh, like my breast is stress ball haha. Although it will remove any lumps but damn pain.

ivy,
i rembr when my brought my gal for her 2nd jab at 1mo and the nurse at the polyclinic was nice enough to show me how to massage the press but becos i had engorgement i almost screamed when she pressed on my breasts. she said no choice but have to press it at that pressure, so painful sia!

wah breastfeeding really very ci cham, i also see a mommy at parentcraft the nipple super sore sia..

dunno why suddenly my daughter wanna suckle non-stop again.. usually happen at nite, today she suddenly wan to feed non-stop afternoon.. she change her appetite to hi-tea..

Rlrenn
Food is okay, not bad but I dont think super great or anything like that. Had lunch there a few months ago - 3 persons, we didn't order that much, the bill was about $200plus.

Have to walk up at least 1 circular flight of steps so not v appropriate for pp who have difficulty with steps. Need to book if you want a table next to the window.

Hi sunny

thanks for ur comments.. $200plus for 3person is expensive...also search the net and review is not too good.. shall give it a miss.. thanks!

Ivy,
Really, the way u described was v funny - stress ball? LOL

Actually if you continue till baby has teeth, you may still continue bfg leh. Cos the feeling v shiok, too shiok to stop. My boy always has one hand on my breast that he's sucking or holding onto my thumb, the other hand holds my back. Then at times he would peep upwards to look at me and smile, then turn back to continue munching.

There bound to be times when accidents happen, u know - your cutie cutie suddenly becomes jaws and OUCH! But still...

Rlrenn,
Revolvoing tower is good. I like how the view changes as u eat.

HI Ivy,

I brought my girl to the Children Clinic since she was a newborn primarily because of Dr Heng. Both my husband and I are very impressed with her, at how fast she was in administering injections and really experienced in diagnosis of ailments. And of course, the clinic is just opposite my block.

I agree with the other mummies that her charges are high and they do recommend some medications/ supplements which we do not find necessary. But yet again, she's a specialist. So, for her "expertise" and given our girl is still young (20 months), we are willing to pay the premium. Till, she's older, we'll switch to a GP! ;)

HI Ivy

i saw you bought a wardrobe for your girl. Hw much did it costs u? I think I need to get a wardrobe for my kids liao. The toyogo boxes are not enuff to fill all their clothes..

For me, jabs I go GP (Dr Serene Tan, Blk 125, TPY Lor 1, serious illness i go PD.

Samantha - your description is so true. When baby breaks the latch (which can be quite painful), and turns head to smile happily at you, it's a definite awwww..... moment

ryes,
i pay about $400 plus, i choose the configuration myself from Ikea. Its a little more ex than those wardrobe sell in blk 179, but i find 1st i can choose the way its build, 2nd pple say ikea wardrobe no good, i went around also other wardrobes very fragile too leh. Ikea got 10 yrs warranty, but i dunno what it covers hehe.

TBmummy the clinic u talking abt is which block??

samantha, let me get pass the 1st mth then see how haha.

be@ns.. i oso dunno? i juz tot i always miss his shift since i dun go often (thank god!)? actually dr handsome was referring to his partner, but he ok looking also lah. hahaha...

precious... no prob. can get it any time.

rlrenn... actually i've always heard v gd reviews of prima, and wanted to try myself, but i'm very bad w motion sickness, so dun dare to go. hehe... :p

ivy... jia you!! glad everything's working out for you! tis forum has worked its wonders when we can share info and give/receive encouragement!!

and most importantly...

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">merry christmas and hope 2010 will be a blast for all the wonderful mummies here!!</font></font>

HAVE A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A BLESSED 2010!!!

Gonna be busy over the next few days with friends coming over. We've had traditional Christmas menu, tomorrow's "Thai Christmas" "Chinese Christmas" the next. After that must crack head with what to put on the menu for my son's birthday... speaking of which, need to find cake!! Oopsy...

Hi Ivy

then u build the wardrobe by yourself? I must go dwn to take a look...

Merry Christmas everyone..
Wasnt a good start too. If you realise the time I'm doing up this posting..sigh..my girl just puke all over the bed past 12 midnight. Had to clean up and kids finally went to bed at 2am. I sure hope it's not the gastric flu. Am feeling a little gassy in my tummy...

Ryes, normally my hubby and i will assemble myself, but becos i was pregnant then so we got ikea pple to assemble, dun remember how much i pay.

merry christmas everyone, great knowing u girls here.

hey mummies... anyone got Shop N Save stamps to spare? i've already got 8 stamps so juz need another 4pcs to redeem, rite?

are, i dun have, i seldom go shop N save, mostly go NTUC. Next time i have i keep for u cos i never keep one.

wondered if any of u have any spare 2010 wall calendar to spare? or where can i get myself one?preferably FOC.. hehe..
thanks ya..
pls pm me if u have spare then i go n collect from u? =)

thanks..
wishing everyone a happy n healthy 2010..

fyi mummies, my new indo maid is here.. she is so much better than my previous maid.. can cook and know her work well.. at least now i have more time for my bb.. =)

Hi Ryes,

how's everything back home?hope ur gal is better now.. do consult a doc if need to..

take care..

are,
i dun shop at shop n save le.. but if i do n have the stamp.. will definitely pass to u! =)