TOA PAYOH mummies

Hi! Babyminniee,
I used to order fm QiLin Catering tel: 64876401 for a month after my confinement. The dishes are not too oily neither salty, price is quite reasonable as well.

Ivy,
At 36 weeks, should be quite safe to take since ur bb fully developed liao. usu. it's in the early pregnancy that we more scared bcos the vital organs are developing rapidly.

giant squid,
i just hope that before that i did not have the infection and there is no leakage meaning chances for the infection to go into the water bag.

Ivy,

Don't worry so much. Cannot be helped. Just do whatever u can do at this point. Just do it, and then leave it, don't think so much and hope for the best. Don't think here think there and frighten yourself har.

dor,
5mins for slow walk la but not more than that.
my hb or i accompany her most of the rides except for one where only kids can fit into and that's the indoor one. so far she was ok, didn't cry.

babyminnie,
i'm currently ordering tingkat from kim's kitchen. we're quite satisfied with the food. tel: 63424988.

giant squid,
ya i stop reading liao. Im taking the anti-biotics starting from today, and ask try to stay happy. 3 more weeks and baby will be born!

Ivy, you must be so excited
Keep us posted.

Tomorrow my daughter's going to Pei Chun to get uniform, books etc. So exciting too, haha!

And I'll be going with her to watch Duck and Dive tomorrow night.

On a sad note, today's my daughter's last day in school, she was getting all teary about it. She's only been in the school for just over a year but I think this group gels really well. Sadly, none of them stay in TPY so none coming over to Pei Chun.

Duck and Dive was enjoyable. We had a good time and a good laugh. Some jokes were a bit too "advanced" for my daughter, haha! And she kept asking me why I was chuckling away! Performers were good too, must support the local artists.

Holiday's started. However with the weather playing up the way it has been lately, it's difficult to plan outdoor activities ahead of time...And Christmas round the corner... gift shopping time again.

Have been missing out lots. How is everyone doing now?
Ivy, sorry to hear abt the strp B. its really impt to take the med to kill the strep B. Don't worry everything will be fine.... Jia You!!!

I've been busy with my girl and teaching etc and tmr is the beginning of sch hols. gotta make full use of the time before the new yr starts again.

Hi Kin,
ya been taking, so afraid that i will forget cos a bit forgetful haha.

Today seeing gynae again, keeping my fingers cross.

Very fast, another year liaio hor. Time really flies.

Need advises regarding herbs:
I bought this ren shen chicken soup pre-packed ingredients from Fu Hua. Just wondering can I add pao sheng into the soup??

Thanks Dor! Will chk them out too.

Meanwhile, I have enrolled my girl at GUG. had the 1st lesson last Sat. Not too bad. Quite fun. I enjoyed the class!!! Haha... my girl too!! Looking forward to the lesson this Sat.

Morning all!
Can I check if anyone bought/is using the Wink to Learn Chinese DVDs?
Any reviews? Wondering whether to get for my 2-yr old niece as xmas present.

Surf,
u r welcome and glad u enjoy GUG. My gal and I enjoyed too my fav is music lesson. btw, wat r the names of the trainer and assistant?
They will usually organise a mini x'mas celebration cum gift xchange in the class and parents may select 1 food item to bring during tat day it's quite fun, my gal enjoyed it.

rlrenn,

When pao sheng is added to a pile of other soup boiling herbs, it's role is like a catalyst or an agent which helps the other herbs to release their fullest into the soup.

In my opinion, if you are getting prepacks, then no need to add pao sheng liao. But of cos, if you want, can put lah.

oh man, having so bad cough that my heartburn is very severe now, throw up all the gastric juice. What a bad time to have cough.

Do you all know if i can take cough mixture? i din sleep whole night due to the cough and throwing up of gastric juice from the aggravated heartburn.

ivy, my gynaa did prescribe me dried ivy extract cough mixture when i was preggie. It's safe for infants too. I was having cough in my 38wks too. Anyway, best check with yr gynea.

wow.. orange n surf, all gg to GUG... hmmm.. sounds fun...
dor, u hv any gd recommendation for gd teachers in GUG?? m thinking of letting my son join too...

finally.. my son 1st bday is over..time just flies.. so fast.. but it seems like he din enjoy coz he was so tired... n i had to entertain guests.. =(=(

Hi Dor

The 2 teachers are nice. Can't remember their names though. Oh, got xmas party? sounds fun
Let me ask them this Sat. Your girl still attending the weekend classes?

Hi Orangeymum

1st lesson this sat at GUG?
My class is at 4pm. My girl is 13 months, so attending the parents and babes class lor. How old is your baby?

Oh yes, I popped by Blk 86 (Appletree) and 78B (C?) (Edufarm) after work yesterday. Realised that the venue used by Appletree also used for KTV at night.... ermm... abit concerned with the cleanliness of the place, as compared to a full-fledged CC or children learning centre where hygience level is better. As for edufarm, only saw their banner, cannot find the venue, unless it's that round shape glass-panel unit that I am seeing.

Gd morning Mommies,

any kids here taking Enfakid A+ Stage 4? I hv a $5 off voucher to give away (redeemable at Cold storage, Giant, Shop n save or guardian) Voucher valid till 09 Feb 2010. Pls pm me if anyone interested.

Btw, any of u here hv facebook account? We can add each other as friends then we can get to know our kids and each other better? Especially since so many of our kids are going to Ascension next year..

Finally got a chance to visit BodyWorld yesterday, this exhibition is quite popular in Europe and did created quite a stir when it first started. It really is an eye opener and a little 'scary'. The Tix entitles u for 2 entry BodyWorld and Science Ctr for jus $21 adult, sorry kid tix not very sure how much.
Din noe Science Ctr has a 'water play' area too however more suitable for kid 6 and abv.

yeah what a sight. i am on leave today but chking my emails fm home.
wonder if 'the infant' is real too or plastic mold.
is amazing to learn tat they actually took a yr or more to plasticize the body.

surf,

my bb is 14.5mths, its the same program that we are attending but different timing that we are going. I'm doing a trial class since its the 3rd last lesson this sat and I couldnt make it next saturday so they ask me to sign up next term then this sat just do a trial.

hi giant squid,
how much discount can i get from the privilege card?any idea?
thanks!=)
mummies any remedies for phelgm?my son's phlegm has been there for over a month.. he will even wake up at nite coughing plus plus coz the phelgm is there! sometimes so bad till he will puked! haiz..

dolphingal, did you get my email? Privilege card can get 5%, just need the member's IC no, think I emailed you that.

Phlegm - chuan bei fen and nan bei xing works well. YRS also has this ning hou but very ex. It works well for my kids, esp at the early stage.

Did you bring your boy to see the doc? If not perhaps you want to try out Dr EJ Tan at Braddell, near McD, His medicine works well for the family. It's pretty strong but works wonders, haha! So far, only his medicine can knock me out and give me a good sleep when I need it most.

hi Joyce,

oh really??i din receive any emails.. haiz..
anyway thanks ya.. m tinking of trying out the chuan bei fen.. coz i tried nan bei xing just now.. hope he will be better... but still cough at nite..
oh is this ning hou very good??? as in how early is the stage can advise?coz now my son is 12mth liao.. tink can start him..
Oh EJ tan?hehe.. he is quite exp.. no worries..=) tks alot for e recommendation..

Hi Gal dolpine, for phlegm, did u try the flumicil (the orange powder)? I usually gave my boys this and the cough syrup prospan when they have night cough with phlegm. If he is really bad, he might need some airway medicine like ventoline. I find jfoo's remedy also work well, the Ning Hou sang from YRS is very good.

hi janice i tried flumucil n prospan already.. nt wrking well... tat's y i wanna try chinese meds.. wi just bot chuan bei.. will try if still doesnt wrk then will try e ning hou recommended.. tks ya..

Dor, all the body is real. The last time i went to see, they say all real leh, all are donated for science.

btw i finally feel bit better, i went to dr EJ tan, he gave me quite a strong cough syrup, which i only took a bit. Today gynae give me ivy leaf extract which be@ans mention, saying the one dr tan give might be bit strong and since im week 38 and need to monitor baby movement. But dr tan medication can keep, really very effective haha.

Today my gynae say water level is low, might have to induce soon, but PRobLem is baby head not totally engage, even though i 1cm dilated!!??

Gal.dolphine, dr EJ tan is bit more ex, but i went to see other doc before, in the end got to spend extra $$ to see him again. So now i just go straight to him, 1 time payment. But since u get TCM, then just see how lah, dun waste.

Hi dolphingal, (LONG...)
My 2 girls are also just recovering from really bad bad cough and bronchitis. Usu my pead gives also prospan and sinupret, reason bcoz the med is more gentle on the kids. It is effective for coughs that are mild or recovering. For my girl, the doc added on prenisolone(which is the all hailed cortisteriod), and antibiotics which I always try to avoid. But since this time, the airways r badly inflammed, got no choice. they r on it for 2 wks plus Ventolin.(oral /inhaled). At the same time, I went to Lor 8 Chong hoe medical hall to see sinseh Yap. Will continue w his med after the girls recover.
For yr boy, I think you have to give lots of warm water to drink, and no chicken, eggs, anything sweet. Usu they r recovering and when we forget, they eat something and the next day, the phelgm all comes back.
If possible ,even dilute the milk, (even soya causes phlegm).
hope this helps...... actually, flumucil is helpful, why not continue, half a pack twice a day for a week. once in morning, once at night. make sure you stir till everything dissolve.(this was the dosage when my girl was one yrs old..)

chuan bei must mix with nan bei xing. Just one or the other alone won't work well.

Hou Ning I think can start from 4 months if not mistaken. At 1 yr old, I think 1/3 of bottle, once a day. You'll have to check when buying. B early stage, I mean once the child starts coughing, one bottle generally solves the problem. So for you, probably will take longer. Chinese med takes longer to kick in.

wah... so many mummies are chinese meds experts. i guess we all hv suffered enuff terrible coughs episodes! i usually use flumucil for my ger, but recently i've started to use woods cough syrup when the cough is persistent, since i use it when young too. i'm a bit wary of cough mixtures given by doctors, cos my ger will cough badly (to release the phlegm) and sometimes cant clear cos she dunnoe how to spit out. even myself i can't take particular kind of cough mixture, i will cough so badly tat it affects my sinus, so for young babies, pls monitor once on cough syrup. and i agree with ventolin too. sometimes cant help it, really need to give else wun be able to sleep. i'm very scared cough will become bronchitis too cos my ger absolutely refuses to have anything on her face, the puff is all she will accept, reluctantly. can try to give some barley or chrysantamum too?

by the way, i have about 10 heinz baby food glass bottles to give. any mummy wants?

Hi mummies...Need advice..
Anyone happen to have any recommendations/contacts for reliable babysitter/nanny at TPY, preferably Lor2 area? Pls PM me if u happen to noe...tks very much

oh jfoo, chuan bei must mixed w nan bei xing??? i din know e medical hall said can mix w water n drink..=(`=( then hw u mix?? can share???
btw i gt ur email.. tks ya. =)=)
kin
will try to continue the flumucil..tks for advice..

Pound the nan bei xing and chuan bei into powder form, then mix the two with water. You can also double boil with chinese pear (the huge brown ones). Add the powdered chuan bei and nan bei xing, pear cut in half and some rock sugar to approx a bowl of water. Double boil for 2 hours on low heat. You can also use chuan bei in soups. Boil the chuan bei (in ball form) with ribs, nan bei xing, orange peel, honey dates (these two are great for coughs too) and white fungus (this is nourishing for the lungs).

jfoo,
When do you give these to the kids? as part of their soups of and on? I use to boil them regularly too, but not the powder form. The ones withe the orange peels and honey dates, I bought direct from medical hall. but my girls nvr show improvement leh... HOw much do you add for the nan bei xing & chuan bei, into the soups? a handful to a pot???
I'm still cracking my head over the kids health... maybe must be more patient.