TOA PAYOH mummies

Hi charsiew,
CCC means childcare centre in short. My objective to send my son to CCC is same with you. My son is very timid, I want him to learn social skill & be more independent. I have been seaching for CCC or playgroup in TPY since Mar08 but unable to find a suitable one. No choice, I went to Bishan to find CCC. There are many CCC in Bishan, but finally decide to put him in YMCA. Tomorrow he will go to school liao but I will have hard time to bring him to school. I dunno how to coax him to school tomorrow.
At this moment I dun think Kinderland will move out as safra drop the renovation plan a yr ago.
I have asked Jessin to reserve a place if someone will to withdraw but no news till now

oic! now i noe what CCC means
hehe..tks for yr enlightenment, tme

i understand how you feel..im pretty shy myself, am afraid to speak up & talk when in a new group..i don't want my son to be like me when he grows up, want him to be independent too..

anyway, i wish u luck~ hope that everything runs smoothly for u tmr~ jiayou!! osh ossh!
sidetrack: i rem i cried hysterically & held to the legs of the table very tightly & resought to lock myself up in the room when my mum tried to get me to PAP kindergarden last last time..But i was very eager to go to school on the next day! so don't feel despair if he's fussing very badly on the 1st day ya? I'm sure he will start to enjoy once he make some new frens
jiayou!

i will check out jessin, hopefully i can be at least on the reserve list..

wah.. just awhile only so much is happening here!lolz..

CG is super active mom! lolz..
next time when my BB cme out i may join u for the outings.. hehe.. since we stay so near... =)

so for the potluck.. how many BBs will be there?
hehe.. =)
wat r e mommies cooking? *slurp*

Would love to join the mommies for gathering at CG's on 16 Aug but too bad, cant cos my son has class on Sat @ 6pm.

Just to share with mommies on my experiences with TRBK ; My son just joined the kindergarten since June (last month) and he is having great fun and has been looking forward to going to school. The school is clean and environment is good. I like the fact that they have space and their own playground for the kids to play with. The teachers and staff are warm and friendly. They also have after class enrichment classes conducted by well known educational centre at a more affordable price.

<font size="+1">Playdate cum pot luck on 16 Aug, Sat at 430pm at my place, Toa Payoh Lor 5</font>
-------------------------------------------------
1) CG n Sha (garlic bread, drinks)
5)
6)
7)
8)

Playdate cum pot luck on 16 Aug, Sat at 430pm at my place, Toa Payoh Lor 5
1) CG n Sha (garlic bread, drinks)
2) Dor (otah)
5)
6)
7)
8)

Dor
Would you be bringing your bb gal?

Playdate cum pot luck on 16 Aug, Sat at 430pm at my place, Toa Payoh Lor 5
1) CG n Sha, 25mths old (garlic bread, drinks)
2) Dor (otah)
5)
6)
7)
8)

Hi all, Im new here...
Im staying in TPY lor 5... going to register my girl to playgroup.. my girl is 18months now..my neighbour grandchildren went to this Deerland at Blk 50... she says the teacher there is nice.. I also went there to see, its pretty small and its aircon... actually me prefer non aircon place...so still thinking..
Hi Joan, you mentioned about TRBK your son is in, may I know whats TRBK and is it in TPY?

Sabrina
I stay at Lor 5 too. Which blk do you stay?
Btw, I don't like Deerland personally... Lights are too dim, teachers are not montessori qualified (and they claim they are using partial montessori method), area is too small, and the set-up is not condusive. Just my personal view.

Hi Sabrina,
I have same feeling with CG when I visit Deerland. If you intend to put your gal for 2hrs playgroup, you can consider apple tree, I saw their panel they going to open class for 2006 born kids for 2009. Jessin is also a playgroup, no vacancy for this yr liao, you can register her in 2009 if you are not hurry to put her.

Hi Sabrina,
TRBK stands for Thomson Road Baptist Kindergarten, it's very near to United Square. Takes in preschoolers from age 2 plus and above, to K2.

Hi Celestine,im staying at blk 37, r u staying at same blk?
I have checked with Apple Tree, the lady I spoke to, her name is Lynn or something..she's nice talk to and helpful.. anyway Appletree playgroup is for child from 3 yrs old.
not sure if Jessin playgroup is also for child from 3 yrs old.
Thomson Road Baptist Kindergarten seems nice... will go visit it...me2 prefer big space and outdoor playground...since kids like to run and jump abt alot.. Joan, before TRBK, did u send your boy to playgroup? I would like to send my girl to playgroup when she turns 2 next Jan.
btw have you all heard of this Edufarm Learning Centre, they have one at Kim Keat Blk 258
http://www.edufarm.com.sg/

Sabrina
I stay at Blk 36.. heehee! We should arrange to meet one day at the playground then. Apple Tree is from 2yrs and above, maybe you want to call and confirm? I have one mummy, her dd is at Apple Tree Kim Keat. Have you trie Little Skoolhouse at Lor 1 or Kinderland at TPY Safra?
Is Edufarm Learning Centre an enrichment/tution centre?

Hi Sabrina,
I brought him to NTUC at Whampoa for a 3 hours programmes when my son was 2 plus. The teachers and the principal are friendly and warm there but one thing I don't like is that they do not have their own indoor and/or outdoor playground and the kids are brought to the public one nearby. With the recent HMFD, the school was notified to cancel all outdoor activities and all kids were cooped up in their classes for the whole session.

I am fine with that as long as the kids can occupied their time playing and learning. However,one thing which I never agree and can't stand is to place the kids in a room for a half hour TV programme!! I had voiced my opinion on this unhealthy activity provided in school to the principal. She understood and agreed with me but again, the school can't help it cos the classrooms are renovated in an open concept and it would be very distracting to conduct all classes (from playgroup to K2) together at the same time. (which is why each class will staggered at different time for indoor and outdoor activities).

yes CG, we should arrange to meet at the playground... but Im working mum so we can only meet on weekends.. but usually I bring my girl to the playground on Sunday evening time..do u bring your girl to the playground often?

0.5hr TV program still ok for me at home..but at school..hmm dont really like that also.. but no choice as the space limited at the school.. cant really find a perfect school, one to be just next to your house, great teachers, big space, own playground, reasonable fees...etc well its the same for all too... perfect hubby, perfect child, perfect job... =)

hi all , i intend to enrol my son to Blk 232 playgroup next year when he turn 30months . For a year . then 2010 enrol him to LSH ...

Wonder PCF better or Appletree ...

hi TPY mummies,
i was introduced this thread by CG, hope i'm welcomed. i'm a sahm with a 16mo gal. i jus moved back to TPY, Lor 1 yday. actually since the birth of my gal, i've been staying with my parents' plc in pasir ris and due to personal reasons, had to move back to TPY. so now i've to get used to being a real sahm w/o any help frm parents. haha.

i see that the latest topic here is about playgroups. good to know a bit more about that as i've no clue about this matter. hope to learn more from experienced mums here.

<font size="+1">Admission Discount for Go.Go Bambini</font>
Children under 2 years are FREE on weekdays only until 31 August 2008. May be combined with other promotions for accompanying children.

ANOTHER INTERESTING PLACE @ KALLANG LEISURE PARK
http://www.bambiniplayclub.com/
Date: 25 July, Fri
Time: 430pm
Rate: $8.00 per hour (for 2yo n above)
Remarks: Do bring your socks along
5)
6)
7)
8)

anyone taking part in the baby contest at tpy west cc this sunday?? i just register my girl..
never mind win or lose..jus let her try out..

my gal is having fever cos of mmr jab, dun think will have her take part in the contest. hmmm...this thread is not so active ah......no one seemed to welcome me leh....so sad....

This thread is moving not fast ya , hahaha ...

And oh ya , CG , think i saw u n ur girls 2 weeks back at toa payoh central .. you are quite tall right ? =) so pretty mum !

finally have time to write here again..

CG, thanks for the Huggies post.. ordered n they r delviering this Sun too...

Char, welcome to the thread n back to TP..

Sabrina, do u have more info on the baby contest?? which event is your girl taking part in??

Dor, u pick your gal late yest?? I was already late but for once, u r even later.. hehe.. but i met her gonggong at the door.. :D

CG - Yest spotted u in d crowd wif ur sexy hot pants (whee!whee!) First time met ur hub, bth of u mks a perfect couple 'lang chai nu mao' (in chinese). The aunty besides him is ur in-law?

Miin - Wow! U m.i.a. for awhile finally returned. Yest I suppose to fetch her wif hub but her gonggong volunteered to do so. Met CG &amp; family @ TPY central yest too such a coincident.

Sabrina - May i noe how u go abt register ur daughter for the TPY west contest? I wanna let my daugther (16mths) hv some exposure and mingle wif other kids as well.....but actually, am the one that likes to be in the limelight but too old liao (mediacorp wont accept) so hope to be 'sing ma' instead hahaha! Joking.

Char - Welcome to join in....CG also brought me to this thread, many thanks to her! btw, which part of TPY r u staying?

CG - Yest spotted u in d crowd wif ur sexy hot pants (whee!whee!) First time met ur hub, bth of u mks a perfect couple 'lang chai nu mao' (in chinese). The aunty besides him is ur in-law?

Miin - Wow! U m.i.a. for awhile finally returned. Yest I suppose to fetch her wif hub but her gonggong volunteered to do so. Met CG &amp; family @ TPY central yest too such a coincident.

Sabrina - May i noe how u go abt register ur daughter for the TPY west contest? I wanna let my daughter (16mths) hv some exposure and mingle wif other kids as well.....but actually, am the one that likes to be in the limelight but too old liao (mediacorp wont accept) so hope to be 'sing ma' instead hahaha! Joking.

Char - Welcome to join in....CG also brought me to this thread, many thanks to her! btw, which part of TPY r u staying?

haha! oops me make a booboo! Wow, thot my hub is quite late liao, urs even lata....guess i shldnt complain 2 much...

Dor
My hb always comes back home after 10pm. Saturdays he has to attend meetings after meetings.

Btw, any mummies have the English Julia Gabriel CD? I have the Chinese version.

CG,
I guess as long as ur family spends quality time together that replaces those late nites and saturdays when ur hub is nt ard.

Btw, hv u brout ur daughter for Cruise or on a plane. I hvnt tried any but thot of doing it end of this year, still feeling quite skeptical abt it.

What do they hv in Julia Gabriel CD? I brought some Bernie, Estienne travel adventure and Phonics CDs for my daughter looking for some addition any recommendation?

Dor
my girl will wait for her papa to come home every night to play with him for at least half an hr, then she is willing to go and sleep. JG songs are very catchy, she likes it. I bought Montessori phonics and Leapfrog phonics for her too. And of course, a lot of books! So far, only brought her to Bintan

Dor, your gonggong din get your hint la.. to spend time as threesome.. haha.. or maybe he's trying to create time alone for u n hb..
both kids took the plane since 1-2 mths old. aleesha flown 2x so far. hv to visit my in-laws. just make sure Chloe drinks during takeoff/landing n if it's a longer journey, enough entertainment for her.

CG, JG is a CD right? Where to get them? How much do they cost usually?

My son's CC is organising their field trip to xplorer @ pasir ris downtown. 1st time we are joining.. anyone been there b4?

Miin,
Wat i meant was yesterday me &amp; hub suppose to fetch Chloe fm Infantcare aft our dinner, but my fil volunteered to fetch her (as his usual routine) instead so we went home straight. Abt travelling wif bby jus wonder how to settle her meals since now she's on solid and we usually feed her home cook porridge. Perhpas i shld jus gv her henize puree for a day or 2 if we do go on a trip.

Dor, u must be happy that your hb was able to hv dnr wz u.. :p i suppose it's rare he knocked off early.

What I did when my son was 1+, whenever we go out or travel n home cooked food is not an option, we'll give Nestle instant porridge in powder form. Just add water n wahla..porridge is ready. It's more salty than his usual food but it's really convenient. I really dun like to give those puree food in bottle. Just mentally dun like it. Prefer the powder form.

However if she has never tasted the Heinze puree, u may wanna let her try first before the trip. If she rejects it on the trip, u'll have a headache.. where r u planning to go?

Miin,
Yaman, u r absolutly rite its a rare occasion coz this wk he's on reservist kekeke! Gd idea of giving Nestle powdered form porridge, i used to gv her tat when she was 8mths old, but stop for awhile liao and turn to home cook porridge. Me too hv d same thinking as u abt bottled food heehee!

Planning perhaps end of this year bring her on a Cruise, gotta see my hub schdule as well. We r keen to try her out on that for the start, my hub &amp; I went up b4 n we find its pretty stable in terms of journey and schedule unlike plane gotta worried abt air pressure, limited moving space, follow-by travelling to plcs of interest looking for diaper changing room etc. Hahaha! It'll be quite a challenge for us since 1st time travelling wif bby. R u interested? Perhpas we cld organise a Cruise trip, wat say u?

Dor, interested but no S-11. Oh u can go to Star Cruise website n apply for kids membership (dunno what la). TInk pay $10 then kid's cruise is free. Check it out.

My next trip.. going back to my hb's hometown again.. haha. visit my in-laws. For last 4 yrs, I've oni been flying Sin-Jkt vv. Wish I'm going further man..

Miin,
Thx for the info! I guess 1 time on a Cruise the rest of my meals for nxt few mths will be mainly bread liao lor ;P

Dor
Can just bring travel cooker. Very easy, it was how I managed when I brought her to Bintan. When is the cruise going to be? Count me in too, keke!
Pull-up pants, is more easier to change wo a diapere changing room.

wow, suddenly so many posts. thanks for the welcome mummies. i've been popping by everyday but not many posts then. guess i'm used to the Paris ris mums thread cos its very very active there.

charsiew,
yeah our names sounds similar. are u a sahm or ftwm?

Dor,
i'm staying at Lor 1, opp the wet market cum harker ctr. wat u? re travelling, so far i only brought my gal to KL in june to attend a cousin's wedding and we travelled by coach. thankfully the trip to KL was ok as we had the coach with individual tv screens so she was entertained by watching some cartoons. so the trip back was ok too as she seemed to have gotten used to travelling on a coach altho w/o tv screen. i have an electric kettle w/o the coil inside so i cooked instant porridge for my gal but most time she ate wat we ate and we'd order porridge if available. but i must say travelling with a kid is so troublesome in terms of packing. i had to use 1 small luggage for her medical stuff as my gal is prone to getting bronchiolitis, and other stuff like FM etc. dun think i'd wanna travel again so soon. haha.

cruise seems suitable for toddlers/kids as they have lots of space to move about although i haven't been to one myself. hope u enjoy your trip, Dor.

so, who is registering their little precious in the baby contest? i'd too register my gal too but she's still sick (brought her to see PD jus now) and furthermore have already planned to go to pasir ris to visit my parents, they miss my gal.

milin,
altho i stayed in pasir ris for some time, i haven't been to downtown east. but i heard that it's much better now than b4 their makeover. there's an indoor ferris wheel whc can be seen frm outside. sori cant provide u with more info.

thanks Char.. no issue.. it'll give me a surprise then..

i agree with u. bringing kids on trips needs more fuss. Bringing 1 kid is fine but 2 or more.. it's a headache unless your hb is helpful.. Thot of bringing my kids to HKG disneyland but bb too small.. perhaps will wait till both are older then they can enjoy together.

meanwhile just saving up my money. Dor is right, after 1 cruise trip, really have to eat roti for a while.. haha.. unless u are earning good salary..

CG - thxs for ur suggestion. glad 2 noe u r keen too prob will wait for the NATAS exhibtion hopefully we can enjoy good discount. Travel date still yet to finalise tentatively looking at Dec '08 will let u noe again.

Char - Am putting up @ lor. 2 blk 121 &amp; Miin is jus few blks away fm mine. I freq the Lor. 1 mkt &amp; hawker on Saturday morning. Btw, how old is ur daughter? Am wondering when can mine start taking her meal on so call 'outside' food haha! very 'mafan' specially bring her out gotta prepare her food. U r lucky tat ur 1st trip wif ur gal to KL by coach is a pleasant one, most of the time they r quite restless due to the long n bumpy journey unless travel by executive coach.
Hope ur gal will recover b4 Sunday, ur situation now is jus like mine sometime back, my gal was shortlisted for the 'most beau eyes' catagory in one the bby contest alas she had fever tat day hence cant be there...i was tempted to bring her to sin expo but dropped the idea...miss a chance to be a 'sing ma....hahaha!

Miin,
Heard a few of my colleagus and frenz who went to HK disney says its a flop! I wld suggest u to consider either Aussi, Goldcoast or Japan Disney although is nt as gd as the one in USA, LA but definelty better then HK, these plcs r not too far fm Sin too. I intend to bring my gal when she's older n able to tk those rides suitbale for children.