TOA PAYOH mummies

CG, walk to the blk behind shell station (which is blk 203), turn right and walk straight down till the other end of another coffeeshop, u can see the 2nd street cafe opp .

HTT

Good morning ladies,

I found this thread accidentally as I was scrolling down the post. Hope you don't mind me barging in :p

I stay near TPY! Glad to know so many mummies here

My boy is 2 years old.
Now headache as to which playschool to send him to & worry if he'll adapt well

I read from previous posts some recommendation on playschool.
The MCYS building - Little Skoolhouse, is there any website? Thanks!!

Hi Sunflower

My boy is 2 years old too. Currently I send him to GUG for playschool twice a week. Found the school pretty good with nice teachers and classmates. One parent is allowed in the class all the time so we don't hav to worry too much about adaptation.

Not sure abt Little Schoolhouse etc. If time allow, maybe you could drop by few schools, look at how they conduct lessons and compare then decide.

Hi! CG,
If you u like we can meet @ the bus stop after Shell Stn and tk a stroll to the cafe 2gether heehee! Not sure if Bus no. 235 stops there thou. Let me noe if u wanna meet.

Hello! Sunflower,
Like Doris, am sending my gal to GUG as well however, mine is once a wk every sunday. I intend to let her stay for awhile since she cld mingle n learn stg there.

Dor
Yes, bus 235 stops right after Shell Station (in front of Braddell MRT Station). See u at the bus stop.

Sunflower
Little Schoolhouse is a drop-off program.

Dor & CG,
I'll meet u at the cafeteria la.. if there's a change of plans, i'll ctc Dor.
Cya on Sat.

Hi Sunflower,
My son also 2 yrs old, have been searching for CCC since Mar08. Have been to a few CCC in TPY, Novena & Bishan, finally decided to put him at YMCA in Bishan. Next week he will start to go school liao. I also worry he can't adapt cos he is extremely timid. I asked him want to go school, he alway shake his head

The little skoolhouse is good but inconvenient . The school just opened in May08, everything is new. I nearly want to put my son there but the place is inconvenient without car.

tme
Sometimes it surprise us that our child reacts differently when he is at school. Children have very strong survival instincts. Once he feels secure in the new environment or with new caregiver, he will overcome the separation anxiety very soon. My gal used to be very attached to me as I am her main caregiver (sometimes my hb carried her, she also rejected). Once she started drop-off daily 1.5hrs program at 18mths (she is now 2yrs old), she has become more independent and able to interact with others pretty well.
And she is looking forward to go to sch everyday!

Hello! tme, its pretty normal todd at this age showing sign of seperation anxiety. Even my gal giong to Infantcare is hving tis prob as well, she's v attach to me and always want someone to be ard....

Hi Dor,
But I thot my son is the extreme one. Last week, we brought him to playground, he want his dad to climb with him to play slide. After that he climb up again but his dad did not climb up & walk away, immediately my son cried out & urine on his pant. We quickly took him down & brought him home. So embarrass, many parents & kids were there & looking at us. On the way home, my son stop crying & went home happily without asking to play again.
I thot child like to play with children about same age but my son dun want to play with them! But at home, he is very different, he is very naughty & like to shout & run around. My husband & I thot he is a Autism child, thot of bringing him to see doctor.

Hi Mums,

any recommendation for good PD at TP? Need to bring my boy for rotavirus vaccine but the polyclinic don't do it. Thanks.

Lehcar
My PD is from AUSTRALIA CLINIC,
225 Up Thomson Rd
Singapore 574357
Tel : 64521205
His consultation is around $30-$45

Hi lehcar,

u can get rotavirus n pneumoccocal jabs from GP too. Sometimes they r even cheaper than PD hor..

I went to Dr Heng (Children clinic) at Central for my bb's flu last time. 2 visits cost $150.. so heartache. i know PD r exp la.. went to my GP in Lor 1 subsequently. oni $20+ per visit.

Dor was telling me another GP in Lor 1 market is cheaper for these jabs. Forgot her name.

Dor, can u add pls.. :p

hi storeberry,
YMCA is a CCC, same as other CCC, they have half day & full day. Half day cost $358 after subsidy, full day cost abt $400 plus, forgot the actual cost liao. I put my son half day first, see whether he can adapt or not.
I hope my decision to put him in YMCA is correct.

hi! tme, perhaps u shld consult your PD if he/she nt able to help, usually they will be able to provide u wif few recommendations u can sort help fm.

hi! lechar, the GP @ TPY Lor. 1 is Dr. CK Tan Clinic so far her charges for vaccine jabs r quite reasonable and cheaper compared to those i'd know.

hi! dolphingal, glad to know that u r able to mk it. We r mtg @ 12nn 2mrw.

haha! u c the most chio mummies tat's us lor! (neh jus kidding) shall i hold a stalk of rose for easy recognition =P think we'll be able to tell whose who when either one seems looking for someone and nt boarding the bus keke!

doris, dor

Thanks for the info

CG

what's a dropoff programme?

tme,

wow, do feedback how's your little boy adapting to school. Hope all will turn out well for him.

Maybe you can start preparing him for school, telling him all the fun things he'll be doing in school?

I'm looking for playgroups around Toa Payoh area..
Do you have any recommendations/advices?

I have heard of GUG- growing up gifted at Novena,
any mummies have any comments/feedbacks on this school?
But i will prefer to send my child nearby TPY though.. thinking thinking...

tks tks!

hi Dor,
We normally bring him to GP when he sick, we never approach PD becos PD is more ex.

hi Sunflower,
We have told him abt the fun of going to school, telling him that he can play with frens but he no reaction leh.
I have told the principal & teacher abt my son character & behaviour, hope they can help my son to adapt.

Dor, Miin, dolphingal
Thanks for the meet-up.
My girl was reluctant to go home, kept asking "Where's Aunties?", "Where's meimei?" though she was getting sleepy.

Sunflower
Drop-off program means no parent is allowed to accompany the child.

hi CG,
No worries.. i enjoyed the meet-up!
Have to say, ur little gal is really pretty.. =P

White lady,
we can always meet up another day! =)

Dor & min,
tks for e meet up & all e tips!! still gt lots to learn from u all!!

dolphingal
Thanks. Most important, meanwhile do enjoy your pregnancy before you start to get busy, and really busier.

I don't mind open my house on Saturday afternoon for playdate n pot luck gathering.

Finally my kidz have KO... hehe..

MTB, my pleasure.. like CG says, enjoy your 'freedom' while u can.. 'chong' all u want now.. haha.. once little one pops out, these freedom will be a dream.. hohoho..

CG, do u know how much to pay for kidz abv 2 yrs at Fidgets? May go Turf Club Giant tom. My bro said there's discount on Pampers Dry. :D Thanks..

Miin
It is $15 for unlimited. Closes at 6pm.
Very nice place with cafe too.
Another great place is SOL Restaurant at Level 1, near to shuttle bus area. With indoor playarea and outdoor playground. Food is great!
www.fidgets.com.sg

Thanks CG!! Won't be eating there though cos bringing my kidz to Mickey Mouse restaurant in Anchorpoint. Hope have time to let my son play at Fidget a while.. :D

erm...just wanna repeat my qn on recommendation/advices of playgroups
i can sent my bb to in Toa Payoh.. :p
anyone noes or can share with me?

tks abunch!

hi! CG, Miin & Dolphingal, Great mtg up wif u gals I had a great time thou is a short one hee! CG thanks for your pot luck invitation will keep tat in mind and perhaps we cld organise another gathering on one of the Saturday, u decide since it's @ ur plc. Dolphingal, too late to chiong liao ler wif ur big tummy, however, I wld suggest u can start gtg ur baby stuffs now dun wait till ur 7-8 mths coz u'll be v tired wakling ard carrying ur big tummy hee!

Chances upon this thread, can I join in the chat and the gatherings too? Hope to bring my kiddo to make more new friends.

I am staying near Toa Payoh and the Toa Payoh central is the current hang out place for my family during Sat's nite cos my son is having class there.

Currently SAHM and I have a 3 and half year old son.

Hi Dor,
was great meeting up.. =)
U r rite.. cant really Chiong at all.. get tired easily.. cant run..
yup..i'm trying to gather all the BB stuffs bit by bit... so confusing w all the terms.. still need advise from u gals..=)
I wld love the pot luck invitation too.. though no BB yet.. but it's good to see handsome & pretty BBs ard.. hehe.. =)

Hi Joan & Cindy,
welcome to the thread.. =)

<font size="+1">ANOTHER EXCITING EVENT - NATIONAL DAY PARADE PREVIEW</font>

ANY mummies keen to go Esplanade to watch National Day Parade Preview on 2 Aug 2008, Saturday?
We can meet to have dinner first.
Last year, it started around 830pm.
For more details: http://www.ndp.org.sg

5)
6)
7)
8)

Hi charsiew,
not much choices for playgroup and CCC in Toa Payoh. I know there are apple tree &amp; Jessin which both are playgroup for 1.5hrs or more. But Jessin's person in charge told me the is no vacancy. As for CCC, there is 1 kinderland in Toa Payoh Safra which is expensive. NTUC CC is cheaper but very big group. I will send my son to CCC which is located in Bishan.

Hi CG,
I have brought my son &amp; daughter pass 2 weekends to see NP preview for students. My son like it so much that we brought him 2x. 1st preview not many people but 2nd preview many people gather at esplanade to see preview. So I think there will be more people for next few preview. I would like to join but my hubby will be away for business trip

hi Tme
tks for yr advice!
Have heard of apple tree, think its near blk 86 something, lor4.. Have not heard of Jessin, but theres no vacancy? Hmm..mus be quite popular in TPY...So you will be sending your son to CCC in Bishan? (paiseh, im not sure what CCC actually means..will lodge a google search
As for kinderland at TPY safra, have heard tat its shifting to Tampines too...actually my objective is for my son to learn how to get along with other kids, social skills...not very much on academic (like those exp classes - shicida etc), cos i believe in letting children learning at their own pace, tho i also secretly hope he can learn something useful..haha conflicting thots :p )

anyway, really tks for sharing with me

will do google search for jessin &amp; CCC..hee~

hi CG, wow, you are really a happening mummy

i will try not to procrastinate &amp; to bring my bb out more often too..im a hermit...sigh..

Saturdays will be at either mum's or inlaw's place, so won't be joining too..
hope will be able to meet u gals one day

anyway, hv fun &amp; enjoy~

Joan &amp; Cindy, welcome and look forward in seeing you at one of the gathering.

Pooh (cutie), hope you r able to join us soon...

Hi! Dolphingal, dun feel shy to ask anything pertaining to ur preg, we mummies here r most delighted to help u.

Yo! CG, you r v active lah i cant catch up wif u heehee! 2 Aug outing gotta chk out wif my hub, din noe there's so many previews for NDP...seems like ur pot luck gathering v popular, let us know when is the auspicious day hor so we can mk preparation.

i shld be gg for the preview. Will rush down after my elder gal's class. her class ends at 5.45pm. Wondering if the road will be close?? CG, driving there?? I tot of parking at esplande but dnt knw whether the road will close ant leh.

Actuali tot of booking a hotel room nearby on national day to celebrate my bday ...but so ex!!

ANOTHER EXCITING EVENT - NATIONAL DAY PARADE PREVIEW

ANY mummies keen to go Esplanade to watch National Day Parade Preview on 2 Aug 2008, Saturday?
We can meet to have dinner first.
Last year, it started around 830pm.
For more details: http://www.ndp.org.sg

5)
6)
7)
8)

Shall we plan our playdate cum pot luck on <font size="+1">16 Aug, Sat at 430pm</font> at my place?

Dor
I always bring my girl out after 4pm, for indoor playgym, outdoor activites (waterplay and sandplay), zoo, bird park, farm mart, fishing ponds, botanic gardens or East Coast Park for cycling. At home, we will play together and have fun in her toys, drawing, painting, bubbles, colouring, waterplay and reading. Or sometimes we will sit down together to watch Barney VCDs. Personally I prefer outdoor activites for her, giving her the opportunity to explore more. Just what you said, having 1 child is still manageable to bring her out, once 2 children or more, should be quite troublesome too.