Perth Holiday - Any Suggestions/Advice/Tips?

foreverfriends
That's good that Gaia works for your boy. My boy has slight dry skin which does attributes to ezcema at ear loop and also legs. when we were in singapore, he used cetaphil and it is quite good.
over here, he is now using natural instinct bath and it's ok too. Previously he used some local brand bath for allergic skin and is good too.
His ear - the only way to 'get rid' of that eczema is to apply rosehip oil. As for myself, nothing works for me ... except Pinetasol.

Hkbaby
i've only been to MR once. And it was a short trip which we only went to Voyager. We'll be heading MR mid December. And we'll stay in Sunflower farm. Will let u know (if its not too late). I had been to one farm stay in WA - up north and well... cannot expect much. It's a farm! but the cleanliness of the room/chalet is far better than the so called 3 star hotel in KL.
If we are expecting motel/hotel/service apt standard for these farm chalets, then we'll be hugely disappointed.

Forever friends
Gaia prices. I din take note. i guess even if it's controlled price, some place may sell it more / less than others. but not a huge difference though.

Mngo,
really appreciate your feedback on Sunflower farm. We r going in feb so shld b still in time to book jus tt i read there's Leeuwin concert in MR in feb too!

My friend stayed in MR Hideaway and commented that only the bedrm looked like the website, others like kitchen and toilet abit old. Animals not alot and owner not v hospitable

Sunflower seems to have more animals fr the website which is y I'm more keen.. no prob w 3 star standards.. no doubt abt Aussie cleaniess

Hellos! Just came back from perth last Friday so wanted to share my experience in case some of you are planning similar trips
Pardon the long posting.

Day 1 - Stayed at Duke apartments. It was $270 a night for 3 bedrooms (should be cheaper for smaller apartments) and we paid another $80 for early check-in. New and clean and good location
Took a free CAT bus to the town centre and Swan Bell. Had dinner at Penang Restaurant in William street. Good food

Day 2 - Decided not to be so ambitious to rush to Pinnacles. Instead, we decide to drive to Swan Valley to visit Caversham Park.

The cars we booked at Bayswater was given away as we reached there late (difficult to settle baby)
And the baby seat I ordered online didn't arrive either. Went to the M2000 opposite to try our luck and it was a blessing in disguise! Great, very helpful service and we got 2 Hyundai Elantra at a cheaper price than Bayswater. Cars condition is clean
Provided free maps somemore (Bayswater didn't have that when we booked last time), and baby seat is available on-site (without having to book separately). Highly recommended!! The odd thing was that they are cheaper on-site than when I checked on-line.

However, we got hopelessly lost and reached Whitman at 3pm. MIL was giddy from motion sickness (due to all the U-turns plus hot afternoon sun) and baby was grouchy in the car. Everyone didn't feel like going into the park anymore. In the end, sat the whiteman tram before going back to perth. Lousy day
*Thank goodness my hubby managed to repair his phone GPS by the next day*

Day 3 - Freemantle in morning. Went to the famous Cicerolle's for Fish and chips. So-so food. Fries was soggy. Went to freemantle market to walk. Bought some nice pieces of soap shaped like cakes. Bought hats for baby and FIL. Turns out that hats are a very good idea. Drove all the way to Raeburn orchard. The orchard is nice but very hot! Got to see tiny apples, pears, and plums. And baby had his first close-encounter with a horse

Day 4 - Proceed to Margaret River. Got lost initially as Hubby's GPS didn't have the new 2009 maps and some of the roads were changed due to the new Perth-Burnbury highway. In the end, we went by the Old Coast road.

Stopped by Busselton to see the jetty. We had the best fish and chips there, surprisingly. It was too hot to walk the jetty so we just took pictures. In any case, it was under repair. Baby had a ball of a time chasing after seagulls and throwing them fries (those that he didn't pop into his own mouth ;p)

Reached MR at about 3pm. Stayed at Margaret River Hideaway. Nice chalet! Newly renovated and modern. They had farm animals too, like peacocks, sheeps, chicken, ducks, and cattle (not dairy cows). They feed the animals every morning and we can tag along. Good for those who wanted nice comfortable lodgings and yet some animals for the kids.

Went to Prevelly River Mouth at sunset and it was beautiful! First time I see sunset in a clear cloudless sky.

Day 5 - We just spent the day in MR. Visited Voyager wineries with its beautifully manicured lawns and rose gardens. Didn't like its wine though and we ended up buying GRAPE JUICE! Went to The Berry Farm to get some jams for FIL and for lunch. Their Vege Tart was fantastic! Very yummy! Lastly, went to glass blowing demonstration in the town. We had bbq for dinner, with well marinated meats from the Butcher in town.

Day 6 (last day) - Drove back to perth. Stopped by MR chocolates to get some souvenirs for office and relatives. And Cape Lavender for lunch. It was nice but the lavenders won't be in full bloom until 2-3 weeks later. Food so-so only.

Went for a wild-crab chase in Mandurah without any success
Reached Perth at 6pm and went straight to Kings Park so that my MIL can see her flowers. But it was FREEZING. Nevertheless, the scenery was gorgeous up at the park.

Booked the Mounts Way apartments for a rest before our flight at 1am. Clean but run down. Thank goodness we were there for less than 4 hours and only needed a place to rest, bath and do some final packing. And it still cost $102!

Overall the trip went well. It just took longer than expected for everything (due to the large group size) so we didn't get to go many places I had planned.

Hi hkbaby

I stay in Sunflower Farm in MR during my trip this October. The chalet is clean enough but abit run down. The Owner is very friendly and helpful. There is quite a bit number of animal there which my boys happily feeding every morning, bucket of food for feeding the animal can be taken from the main farm house, free for those staying with them, for outsider which visit the farm 1 bucket cost 3AUD. Also there is pony ride every morning for kiddy that is below 6, the owner is kind enough to let my elder boy (5yr old) to have a little jog on the pony den the normal slow walk, which has make his day. On alternate evening there is a tractor ride, do not miss it. The Owner will drive the tractor to somewhere into the open field. He keep some rubber toy under the trailer for the children to play in a small tiny stream that can be found where he make stop during the ride. Also he will put up a small fire for the children to BBQ marshmallow which he bring along. Last must mention is the 3 friendly dog the farm have, they will be the first to greet you once you alight your car in the farm, my boys just love them and ask to take photo with them to keep for memory. Will definitely go back again to stay if visiting MR as my boys love the farm

Hi foreverfriends

Price for Gaia do vary in different place, but like wat mngo mention the different is not big. I know cos i buy from varies place not just Garden City hee hee....

Apring
So happy to hear that Sunflower farm is a good place for the kids! My boy loves pony ride
and he likes tractor too. I am looking fwd to this.
Oh did u use the bbq pit at sunflower farm?

mngo
When I wz in Perth, I din know abt GAIA. Argh....
My boy's ezcema is triggered by sweat. When he wz in Perth, his skin wz smooth n nice. But my hubby's ezcema wz bad as his wz triggered by dryness besides sweat. V contraditing. Dry cannot, wet oso cannot

Aspring
Wat GAIA products do u use? Do u use it for ezcema? How many cartons did u buy?

shook,

I mentioned Natural Instinct to Aspring as it is a cheaper alternative for something that's natural and not really as a bodywash for eczema skin condition.

My sons have eczema on and off and Natural Instinct didn't dry their skin out. But of course I do not like to make claims that it's recommended for people with eczema as it is not scientifically researched by the company to do so.

Tks aspring for the reply. Great to hear that your boys enjoyed Sunflower. Sounds so fun!

Do u know how early can we start feeding the animals? any limitation of time? Is pony ride available everyday and only in the morning at fixed time? their website stated 10am and 4pm if ircc.. can arrange for earlier? tractor only on alternate evening or can b requested? can collect eggs fr hens?

pardon so many qns.. mayb i shld drop an email to ask owner instead.. got excited planning itinenary so trying to fit in the activities and time allocated..do share w me watever u know, ok? in ur opinion how much time needed to enjoy the farm activities? like tt best to stay 2 nights? cos plan to move on to next location as we drive along.. Tks.

Aspring,
My family enjoyed the sunflower farm too!! My gal can spend the whole day in the rabbit cage. She will talk to all the animals like they understand which surprises me n my hb. I missed the tractor ride though cos the farmer was on hols. My gal loves playing with the 3 dogs on the farm. hehe

hkbaby
r u planning to stay in the farm. If u do, then there is no limitation on time. U can still walk in to feed animals in evening. They leave some buckets of food there for feeding. If u r just visiting then u have to go during their opening times.

Hi foreverfriends
Oh... i am same as your hubby, the dry climate have erupted my eczema too.
But both my boys is doing ok with gaia when in Perth. I use the body wash, shampoo, leave-on conditioner and the smoothering lotion. I am not sure is Gaia suitable for eczema or not as i normal use is ok lor but once my eczema erupted i will stop using soap but only water for shower, but i found the smoothering lotion quite good as i use it during my trip in Perth for myself and DS. I did not know the size of their carton but i fill half of my lugguage with Gaia :p

Hi Hk baby
You may feed the aniaml anytime if you are stay in the farm, but for feeding milk to the baby it only at 10am and 4pm. The pony ride is available everyday at 8.30 in the morning. Tractor ride is on every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday, i dunno whether can request the tractor ride on other day or not but no harm asking the owner
. So far i know no collection of egg in Sunflower.

My itinery in Sunflower is, the children have their breakfast done by 8.30 to go for the pony ride, follow that is free feeding and interact with the animal in the farm until 10am to bottle feed milk to the baby then we will leave the farm for other activies and return to the farm by 4pm for the tractor ride. I only stay in the farm for 3day 2nite which i feel is not quite enough as i only have little time in MR which i still have a lot of place has not visit, also my boys have not enough time to fully enjoy the farm. If i were to go again i sure will alocate more time in MR/Sunflower Farm.

Hi Muffin
My boys too love the 3 dog that in the farm especially the smallest one which named Coffee. First thing waking up in the morning is to look outside our chalet and see is the dog outside our chalet and yes coffee is alway there to say good morning to them outside our chalet. Now is already a month since our trip my 2yr sometime is talking about Coffee

Tks muffin and aspring. Owner has just emailed a very detailed reply to my queries! so nice of them and they make it sound so fun to stay at their farm! tractor ride can b arranged if u stay 2 nites w them if they happened to fall on sun/mon! they said got egg collection af lunch but guess everyone prob out exploring MR by then! no milking cos there's no young animals so no milk produced too!

may i know how long the tractor and pony ride? looks like got to have more time allocated at the farm... wanna go out explore those parts of MR which i didnt go the last time...

anyone knows if there's any dim sum restaurant open at 9am in perth?

Hi hkbaby
The total time for tractor ride is about an hour. As for pony ride it just two - three round in the open space in the farm. Oh i did not know they have egg collection in the afternoon but like what you say i am already out for exploring, may be if i go again next time i should alocate a whole day in the farm.

hi All

I'll be reaching perth at abt 11pm and need to be at Busselton (abt 2 hrs drive) by about 8am. Will it be worth the money to spring for a night at a hotel? or hang around at the airport? Is the airport entertaining (to walk shop and eat mayb nap)? Any input appreciated. Thx

hi mngo

Thx for the tip will def get a hotel.
Anyone can share whether m2000 does car rental from aiport (pickup 12am dropoff 9pm)?
How early do we need to check in at perth airport?
Any orchards has fruit picking in mid june?
Is Cape Lavendar in bloom in mid june?
Thx

sweetbaaby,
i heard from m2000 that there's some changes in law with regards to car rental from airport. you ma have to check with them.

by the way, i am not network consultant . i also don't know if the owner of the family will go around getting people to hack into credit cards and emails or not. i will not know whether or not the owner is part of syndicate or fraud group .

so...

the best thing is to change money and pay on spot. BUT i don't know if you change money, whether or not someone follows you behind to rob you of money.

cheers~

mngo

Sooner or later, you will be promoted to a pimp where male SMHer ask you for sleazy night spots. :D

I'm so proud of you! :D You should be our Perth's mascot. :p

hidora
lol! lets see when i'll be promoted :p haha.
oh ya , i should be a fortune teller as well, in case some of them wants to go burswood and start asking me whats their chances of winning.

hi mngo

I found it strange too. Every online accomadotion site (that I tried to secure this particular farmstay), replies with the identical email from owner(microsoftword doc with payment details forwarded thru email).I think I'll opt out and find another place.

Any accomadotion in perth less than A$160 pn?Pls recomend.

sweetbaby
which site you go to? it may be from a 'group' .
i suggest that you give the farm stay a call to give details. i booked margaret river farm stay online, but i emailed to them personally without going through any quotation system or whatsoever.
and i called them to give my details

Hi folks
I am back from Margaret River.
We had a good time at Sunflower Animal farm!
My boy loves the pony ride, animal feedings, tractor ride.

We actually happened to dine at Augusta - one of the fish and chips place and it's good. so much better than Cicerellos.

Aspring
My hubby uses QV bath oil.
Does bathing wif plain water only helps to tone dwn your ezcema when it erupts?
Wow u filled up 1/2 of your luggage. It muz b heavy!!
I only try the skin soothing lotion. V thick but difficult to squeeze out of the bottle

Happy New Year to all!

Anyone visited Albany Farmer Market? May I know how big is it? How long it takes to cover?

How about Bartholomew's Meadery and The Toffee Factory and a Bit On the Side at Denmark? Are they worth visiting? TIA

anyone can recomend good buys in Perth?
Natural skin products for adults and kids?
I know Gaia but my boy's skin dont react well to it.
brands of clothes or bags that are cheaper there?
gifts of food items for friends & family?

Hi hkbaby,

Albany is not in Perth, nor is it part of Perth.

Perhaps you should set up a new thread in SMH, with the title: Western Australia Holiday - Any Suggestions/Advice/Tips. It may be easier to get your answer there as Albany is too far away for many people, including us (resident of Perth) to travel down.

sweetbaby
there's no good buys in perth considering the xrate.
natural skin products ... i cant recomend as i am not skin specialist.
brands of clothes or bags that are cheaper? well, r u talking abt Lv or gucci? we dont have hermes or chanel here. Ferragamo and burberry is not cheaper.
gifts of food items? u can buy instant noodles if u want. or you can buy nescafe!

Hi.

Anyone brought their own car seat to use? Do you have any problems using it there? It seems that they have this child restraint regulation which the car seat must pass and tag with the label!

No lah. Sorry to bother u on this. Just felt very strange that visa application can be so varied in prices. So wonder if safe2travel is reliable as I have not heard of this company b4. Anyway I have called them and decided to go ahead applying thru them. They actually charge S$20 per application. Managed to get them to give me lower at S$15 since I have 5 pax. Their service is quite fast. Sent them passport copies in the morning. Done early afternoon.

hkbaby
safe2travel has been around. my ex company uses them as official travel agent. i've been on trips with that company and it's good.

the price now increase? i remembered years back, it was 5 dollars . last year my mom went to them, and they charge 10 dollars. probably cos through me / network.

in fact price do varies. my in laws had it done FREE in malaysia. so i think the agents earn like mad.

chloe,

thks for the link. so do you print the relevant online maps and bring along with you on the trip?

i guess we're still used to paper maps as these were what we used for our roadtrips in the US couple of yrs back. but gotta keep up with technology these days!