Perth Holiday - Any Suggestions/Advice/Tips?

May I know where can I rent car seats in Perth? Will be getting my rental cars from Bayswater but I wanted to check out other possible baby equipment rental. Do you know if I can rent by days?

Hi mngo and uberrimae, yar baywater don't have this service. They would ask you to chcek with the baby equipment companies. But the two they recommended only charge by week. Is this the norm? I am only renting the car for 5 days.

Is m2000 good? Shall I switch rental companies? How's the quality of the cars?

Hi peapod, i am only going next mth
but some mummies in the forum did use m2000 so shd be fine, anyway their rental rates is pretty attractive..

m2000 is quite good . We rented 3 times from them.
First time was Hyundai Tuscon.
2nd time was Hyundai Elantra (in sg is called Avante)
3rd time was Nissan Tida (in sg is called Latio)
and we are going to rent again this december for trip down south.
Competitive price, and comes with car seat rental.

peapod

m2000 is not bad, i mean the rates are attractive & they hv car seat rental. but i didnt rent fr them coz when i'm there, most of their cars aready taken up so i rent fr avis instead.

Hi peapod
There is two supermarket at MR ... at least this is what i know Coles and IGA both can be seen on the main street they are very near to each other. Their closing time is 8 and 7pm.
In Perth city itself it is not a problem to find a chinese restaurant as i travelling i saw a lot of chinese restaurant but whether good or not how the price den i will not know as i only visit the one mngo recommend as i cook most of the night.

Cant agree with coolmosz more E-shed market did not have much thing unless you want to buy souvenir (as mention here before one of the souvenir shop is opened by singaporean, my finding is the other is by indonesian, there is only two souvenir shop there) if not i think can skip there. Althought Fremantle market is small too but there have more shop so i think it is still worth to go and have a look.
I did not really buy thing during this trip the big purchase is Gaia. hee hee i think i have buy a supplies of a year

I use M2000 during my trip. Cant comment on the car as i am not the one driving but the car was clean when we collect it. i book through internet so dunno the ground service good or not as i collect car in the airport and return in the airport also so did not meet any of the staff, it like self service like that. But the price i have is good, i have a nissan latio for 11 day rental is AUD 25 per day

Hi Ana Spring, for m2000, I thought we have to go to this kiosk at the carpark to get the keys.. there's no one at the kiosk? *confused*

One thing to warn people that has not so good skin when going there must bring moisturiser and reapply as often as you can. I have reactive skin i have a bit of rashes starting on the 3th day as it get worse everyday. By the time i am back my leg and arm are like sand paper despite i already keep putting moisturiser liao at the end come back n see doctor. Doctor comment the weather is too dry there and cause my skin to react so those going please take note.

During my time i collect my key from the carpark attendant and should return to him too. But when i return my car on 3rd of November the attendant tell us he no longer collect key for M2000 so i basically put the key inside the car and lock the car. When i am back den i wrote a email to them about it and they reply there is a change of policy for the airport collection/return and appologize did not inform us about it and they have safety collect back the car. So i think now collection n return is different from my time

For visa is fine to do anytime, i have a friend that only 1 week before going den realise need to do visa. But to be safe i think it better to do early in case it slip of the mind as there is much thing to prepare b4 the trip. Visa application only need 1 day

Ana
You bought a year supplies of Gaia? Is it cheap? Where did you buy from ?
Is that only for babies or can i use for Toddler?

Hi mngo, ask a silly qn =P

If there's a phone number that i need to call at perth (listed as +61 8 91234567), do I dial all these numbers "+61 8 91234567" on my mobile phone on autoroam? Thanks.

Hi Uberrimae
if you are already in Perth
you dial this 08 91234567
08 is Land line
04 is mobile phone.

Cos you are on autoroam, then your telco service provider is the Perth provider. so, it's just like you are having local number.

i received an mail asking me abt the fire of Mont Clare Hotel. Pls dun send me such email as i seriously do not know to reply.. as i dun station myself at the hotel daily.

Hi mngo
Gaia can be use for all age (i use it on myself too sometime), it all natural so will not harm the baby. BTW my DS are 5 n 2 so they are no longer baby liao but i still prefer to let them use thing that are less chemical.
In Singapore guardian is selling 19.95 for 250ml, on website under Australia the price for 250ml is 11.25(iirc), i brought my at the pharmacy in Garden City which 250ml is 10.25 and 500ml is 16.25. I went to all the pharmacy in Garden city on my last day and brought all the shampoo and body wash which on the shelf :D

Aspring,
Huh! Wah.......... you really 'sao' all the Gaia products man! The wizard pharmacy has competitive prices.

I did happpen to purchase a few bottle from one of the pharmacy in Garden City which price is slightly lower but dunno izzit The Wizard? "Sao" meaning ??? i buy too many or know all the price from different place. For the first since need to use and i am able carry and the price is cheaper why not buy more to save. For the later before i buy anything i alway do some homework

Sao is "sweep"

Over here we used Natural Instinct instead. It's all natural as well, and much cheaper. 1 liter usually cost about $16.

haha hidora, thanks.
my english really getting worse. cant even remember the correct word to use, end up use hokkien. hahaha

i think it my bad language, i am no good no matter what language, i am better with number :D....
hahaha, Ya i "sao" all the Gaia shampoo and body wash i can find the Garden city at that time ...

Natural Instinct ??? that a good price, i will do a search on it

sorry off tack abit.

Hidora

I was confuse when i check the ingredient for Natural Instinct. As the home page say their product does not contain SLS, but under the body wash the second ingredient is SLS(plant), does it make a different whether is it derived from plant or not. As to me as long as it is SLS is drying for skin.

Btw it is only cheap if you buy 1ltr, 250ml cost 7.95.

Apparently, according to google, Sodium Laureth Sulphate can be deprived from coconut or palm oil so it's suppose to be less drying compared to Sodium Lauryl Sulphate.

Normally I get the big bottle from Wizard at $15+ as I use it too.

p/s: My bottle of soap didn't have SLES as one of the ingredients... so I'm not sure if they have recently added it in or they just never print it on the bottle. Thanks for pointing it out. Next time I will check their bottles to see if SLES is listed as one of the ingredients.

Is there a kiwi farm in WA? how about abalone farm? Where can I find reasonably priced Manuka Honey? any special promo period? Tks.

hkbaby,

Manuka honey is not available in WA. WA doesn't produce manuka honey and it does not accept imports from the other states so as to protect its honey industry.

You can try the Jarrah honey. http://www.wescobee.com/spip.php?rubrique22

It's the best we have got here, and the company claims that it's better than manuka.

As quoted "Wescobee Active Jarrah Honey, produced from Western Australia’s unique Jarrah tree in the state’s southwest, has naturally high antibacterial activity*. Jarrah honey has significantly higher activity levels than Manuka honey from New Zealand, which is also strongly antibacterial*. "

Thanks ladies for your prompt reply

oops! guess i mix up the country of origin for kiwi and manuka honey! paiseh! haha!

dun think i will b attempting fishing of abalone.. just wonder if there's such a farm where we can go see and mayb 'harvest' 1 or 2 and have abalone sashimi
we need a license for this?

is it true that Strawberry Fields at Wanneroo only allow 1 row picking? any other farms where we can do picking in Feb? how abt grapes picking in vineyards? is it allow? tks once again.

hkbaby,

I am not sure if vineyards allows you to pick their grapes but I also don't see the need in picking those grapes as you can't eat them... The grapes for making wine are different from the grapes which can be eaten.

Saw lots of ppl had gone down south during their perth trip? was just wondering how child-friendly u found the winery restaurants? my son is 26 months old but not the type to sit down and linger over lunch (unlike the 9 other adults that we'll be travelling with!!!) we were thinking of going to watershed winery for lunch on sunday (found out they've got a playground there, so can keep him occupied), anyone know about it? we went to cullen last year for tea, and he liked roaming the grounds but he was younger then, and easier to distract!

Hi Foreverfriends Honey

Like mngo say Garden city is in booragon, outskirt of Perth city. Driving from Perth city is about 10min. They have huge carpark and parking is free

Thanks mngo and hidora for your replies.

Asked abt abalone cos the old folks associate Australia with seafood etc and kinda of expect to go round eating and eating!

Thot i read somewhere abt grapes picking.. sounds fun and feb/mar is the time!

Are there any other place to see Koalas apart from Caversham and Zoo?

Is Rottnest really a 'must go'?

Pardon my many questions. Tks.

hkbaby
rottnest is a MUST GO if you want to experience swarm of flies surrounding you and maybe having a taste of it :p.

koalas - sorry i cant help. i've not been to the zoo before.

shook,

I'm not sure if Natural Instinct is recommended for people with eczema. All I can say that it's less drying than the normal soap we used, even comparing to the normal baby brands.

hkbaby,

There's nothing much at the Zoo. It's better to go to the Caversham park...There are other places to see koalas, but Caversham has more than just koalas. It's quite a lovely place esp if you have kids.

Other places include
http://www.cohunu.com.au/
http://www.marapana.com/.
Just do a google.

Actually AU is more famous for koalas, kangaroos and aboriginals... so I'm not sure where your parents/ in laws get that impression that it's good for seafood... They are better off traveling to Malaysia when the seafood are cheap and good. In fact, some of the seafood here are imported from Malaysia, Vietnam and such.

The seafood here are not cheap... Pretty exp I would say. So if you wanna go around eating seafood, better bring more $$. One meal for two can easily go up to $70 excluding drinks. For example a seafood platter at Kailis Fremantle cost AUD$46+-, and it consists of lots of chips, 2 pieces of fish, 4 scallops, 4 prawns, 4 squid rings, a little bowl of chili mussels.

anyone has any views on my earlier post about wineries which are kid friendly?

hkbaby,
rottnest has got nice beaches, but u can just go to cottesloe beach really, which is much more accesible and only a 20 min drive fr perth city

Thanks all for replies on Rottnest, Koala and seafood.

Will give it a miss since there's many more nicer beaches as we plan to travel south

Any comments on farmstay? which is better? MR Hideaway, Sunflower Animal Farm or Pumphill Cottages? heard fr friends some r quite old and it's better off jus visit farms than staying over.

wonder cape lavender is worth visiting if we r visiting Lavender and Berry Farm in Pemberton? anyone visited Edengate Blueberry Farm? any comments?

Lilyn - not sure abt child friendly winery. Only know to visit Leeuwin (which we did on our 1st trip), Voyager, Vasse Felix. It's our 2nd trip but 1st w my wld b 29mths gal! so will b more focused on animals and fruit orchards.. since u have a big gp they can take turn walking him around? suppose if there's playground it shld b enough to keep him occupied?

mngo
cetephil doesn't work for my bb. Gaia works on him

Mngo, Aspring
Thx for the reply on garden city.
R Gaia products sold at different price in different places?

Hidora
OIC U recommended Natural Instinct to Aspring when she mentioned Gaia. Thot Natural Instinct may b gd for ezcema

hi hk baby,
skip edengate, too far inland for driving and there's nothing much, blueberries and a range of products for sale, can't walk around or pick berries when we were there. in fact when i was there, there were a few irate tourists too cos it was difficult to locate.

hi Liyn
not sure about the level of child friendly that you may be looking at. Cape mentelle has a garden outside the winetasting place, with a little brook & swings and while adults are doing the wines, the children can sit inside on kiddie tables/chairs and do drawing, paper/crayons provided.
Lawrence has a huge place for running around.

voyager has a great restaurant and children's meal that would keep them happpy.

harriet