Mummies/SAHM staying at Jurong

Chelsi
Oh, I have used to it for 2.5 yrs le. hehe..
How old is ur child?
What type of enrichment class you have enrolled?

May,

My gal is almost 19mths now.
She have been attending classes at Julia Gabriel

And now on waitlisting list at Little Neuro Tree at the new safra..still no news fm them

I'm at st65 blk 671.
You?

Really salute working mum cause i have been thru the stage too.
Can be so tired till bang wall.
No life at all. Sick also must tahan ... haha

May,
This afternoon after seeing your post, i give a call to Daystar. So upset leh. DS can't get in. very disappointed. he is in the waiting list. I dun know abt the loving cc..but most i received its negative feedback. teachers not attentive, tends to put down the student infront of many students if he/she makes a mistakes etc.

Jas
Huh, when did you enrol him de? Sorry if I have asked you before because I could not rem. The same was happen to me on '08. I have failed to get in, but successful at PT Saint Elmo, but I still nv choose this sch. Don't get too upset, by the way, how old is ur child. If not, you can wait for next yr end intake. And you have to enrol him as early as Jan or Feb.

Wah, the negative feedbacks at Loving seems more serious than Daystar. By putting them down infront of everyone will hurt their little heart le, that's cruel! If that's the case, I would rather chose Daystar. Most importanly is to educate our own child to be careful at all times. We as a parents should also teach them and not depending on the teachers to keep a close look out on them. Even when going to Pri, they will still fall on field while playing etc.

Joanne
The loving care development that your child is, is at which block? Issit the 610D?

Chelsi
Ok la, I believe there are alot of ftwm here also. I have no helper, so engage a nanny to take care of my son. Everyday before 7pm pick him up from nanny house until the next day morning, his papa will bring him to nanny house at 7am+ again. Haha....not really no life la, but no personal time lor...
Frankly speaking, ever since I was pregnant at 3.5 yrs ago, I have stop outings with all my frds. I dun have own time at all! Big Sacrify. haha...worth it!

I feel that the ccs here in Jurong west are very competitive. Cannot imagine if it comes to selecting a primary school for them in the near future.

Jas
Haiz, but maybe you may have register a little later than me. Cos my frd register 2 days after me, she can only manage to secure a place in Jan.

Ya, the cc's here very competitive. I tink its becos here alot of young parents ba. Haha, talk abt pri sch, I already have a few selected ones in our area. But of course, the best is Rulang, but its a distance away. Even be a PV, you may not get into the sch. So still thinking is I shld be a PV for Rulang or not.

Please comment on what you think for Thematic-Approach. As understand that daystar is using this teaching method. Have also understand that this method is infact more effectice for homeschooling.
Please advise.

May,
I heard its not easy to be PV also. imagine 40hr or 60hr PV!! my god. really stressful being a parent. Esp my DS is born in the year of pig...lagi competitive!

Jas
Ya, being a PV, u have to be interviewed by the principl. So also not say you wan to be a PV, you can be a PV. I ever saw from the forum that you can actually go for the 1-time off PV activities. But dunno if now still applies or not.
Ya, being a parents really stress. I guess pig year many babies, so many competition. Haha, both our child already born in Pig yr le.

Hi de_luxe,

How old is your child?

My gal attended Playnest which is from 6-18mths as u already know.
She was there when she was between 12-18mths for 2 terms which is like half a year before going up to Playclub (18mths-3.5yrs).

I personally like Playnest alot. Staying 2 terms can get a little bored for me but frankly kids like routine and i can see my gal likes it alot.
I actually see she learnt quite a fair bit from the classes...

They have playtime(indoor),magic box,storytime (sometime puppets),art & craft,snack time(serving organic food or fruits),playime(inhouse playground) and lastly music time when back to class.
All within 1.5hrs

Playclub whcih she is attending now is totally different from playnest.
She was a little confused in the beginning but now she is coping well.
Here they teach alphabet,numbers and colours.
No more soft cushion protection or low chair. It's like telling them you have grown up.
They also have playtime both indoor and inhouse,storytime(but diff fm playnest),snack time(no more organic),art & craft(messy everytime but my gal enjoys it),music time(my gal will jump & dance),playclub bear etc etc
All within 2hrs.

School standard of hygiene also not bad.
They will check all kids hands & feet attending classes before letting them in.
But some of the toys car outside at their inhouse playgroud is not v new fyi.
Some not all that why even thou i am a fussy mummy i didn't mind. Hahahaa

My friends and some of the mummies there also comment they prefer Julia Gabriel as playnest area is quite spacious and well protected. They also went for trial elsewhere b4 deciding on JG. I did not go for trial anywhere else.
Just decided on JG based on ppl's comment

Hope i am not too long winded for saying so much.

chelsi thks for your feedback. My son will be exactly 7mo on Monday. He can sit fairly well, but can't crawl yet, tho desperately trying to - puts his butt in the air and can move backwards and gets frustrated in the process.

Do you go to the one at Evans Road or at Orchard? What i'm not sure about is that theirs (and a few others) are min 2x a week - something that i'm not sure is too much for us to cope with i.e. whether i have time/energy to bring him and whether it might be too over stimulating for him. Would like something that includes Chinese as well cuz he's not exposed to Mandarin a lot at home, but i know that JG is exclusively Eng or Chinese only.

So far only tried the trial at gymboree. We've been sick with flu so can't go anywhere for the time being.

hi! i kp forgetting to check in this thread lol! finally found time and finally remember to drop by here.. hailey seems to dislike slping these days so all my time is devoted to entertaining her and when she naps, i rush to pump milk. mooo!

jas: im at blk 630. yes we shld meet up. im gg nuts w hailey at home! lol!

preciouskk: i tried flashcards tt the doc gave me when we went for her 6in1 jab. n some colorful book thing dat my mom likes to show her. sometimes she bo chap sometimes she smile. haha. bt those GD or shichida ones i nvr tried.

re: cc
how old shld hailey b when i start looking for cc for her?

re: schools
i think is competitive in jurong cuz there's only a handful of schools here and so many kids..

Hi de_luxe,

You're welcome.
Ya.. the most if u want with chinese will be like 2 day english 1 day chinese.
That's mean 3 times a week.

My gal at Forum

My PD is at Mount A .. keke .. so quite far.

de_luxe,

Your boy only son?
If only 1 kid still can manage to go classes twice i guess esp if u not working.

Most all twice a week? Hmmm.. i also not sure but i believe shld have those once a week ba.. Try searching first b4 deciding ;)

I get bored too but for my gal no choice and seeing her enjoy brightens my day

chelsi yeap, only 1 kid - but he's enough to tire me out. He's so full of energy, i can barely keep up with him. That's why think good for him to go to such classes to use up his energy. Dunno how you guys cope; for me, just him and house work is enough to make me exhausted. I've lost so much weight, all my clothes are hanging off me.

I tried little gym today, din like it at all, feels like i wasted my money.
Prefer Gymboree.

Found one that's once a week, called Bibinogs at Serene Centre. Anyone heard of it before? They sound quite professional on the phone.

JG told me if i wanna do Chinese and English, then must min 4 times per wk, 2x each class. *Faint*

jamie i also have a hard time getting Johann to nap. How come you need to pump? I find it so much more convenient to latch on... no need to wash up, etc..

de_luxe,
Me 1 too and i cannot cope that's why still have baby sitter..haha!
I think i will go mad if ask me face her 24hrs everyday.
Now i only care for her myself after 7pm for weekdays and whole of weekends only.

I want to lose weight also cannot ...haha! Still as fat. In fact i put on weight. haha

Never heard of Bibinogs.
JG 4 time a week for chinese & english? hmmm.. maybe they change already.

baby chelsi: yea sooner or later nd to work de.. thinking maybe when she 1 yr old or earlier.. so thinking at least i can go work in peace when i've confirmed dat she gt cc to go to, u knw wat i mean.. =)

deluxe: i pump cuz right frm the start i crazily pumped cuz i kept feeling full. didnt knw tt it wld lead to over supply. bt i realised dat other ppl can take over looking aft her sometimes and it's much easier when there's ebm. so i decided to jus continue lor. i used to pump 3hourly bt nw i lazy, pumping only 6hrly cuz usually i'll jus forget the time and pump when i feel very full which is 6 hrs later..

Hi jamie,

Saw you at JP Lai Lai just now with family.
You look just like your photos but your hb look more handsome in real person.

Never call u cause you dun recongnise me at all
sob sob...

Lol

baby chelsi!! y u nv come to me!! jus tell me u are baby chelsi!! lol!! hahahhaha!! aiya.. u were eating too? whr were u sitting at? by the way i told my hb u say he more handsome. he very happy. lol.

Hahaha..

I sitting by the side where your hb sits.
I saw you the moment you walk in.,
No lah.. u with family plus i am with hb so dun disturb u lor.

Really ..in blog he look quite skinny but in real person i find him looking alot better. Like i say.. more yan tao

He seems to be a doting daddy too. Will monitor your baby on off i noticed.
Lucky u.

chelsi that's why i need to go out at least once a week for adult company! can go gila esp on the days when he doesn't want to nap.

Look after baby 24/7 + chores + bfg --> will be strange if i put on weight!!

I can't use baby sitter, except when my mom can come over, cuz J doesn't like the bottle. He will only take the bottle if he's very sure I'm not at home and even then will only drink max 100ml. He wouldn't even take the bottle if he senses that I'm just napping in my room. If I'm out, the minute I come back, he will want to latch on. This boy really has very firm ideas what he wants.

jamie oh yeah, i had oversupply too, but not cuz of pumping. Somehow it just happened, dunno why. I managed to stop pumping 2 months ago, now freezer is finally almost empty of ebm cuz been using for his cereal. There was a time when my freezer had no more space for ebm and i had to keep throwing the older ones away. So sayang hor!

Why not wait till she's 18mo then go back to work? Then dun need to use infant care which is more ex than cc..

Maybe the SAHMs here can organise gathering at JP one of these days...

de_luxe,

JP i am always on cause i always go anyway.. haha.
I think you must try slowly let him use bottles & latch on both as he turn one. I have friends now having trouble when kids refuse FM when she wants to stop BF.
Envy both u & jamie leh.. i BF only abt 2mths only because no milk
sob sob
I really think you should go out once or twice a week lor.. at least at those classes you can chat with other mummies.. if not like u say really can get gila.
Or take him go safra play water. Out of the house on off helps i guess. Time pass faster also.
So where you taking him for playground ? I am trying to find good one now also. Stopping JG after this term . Want to let her try something else.

Jamie,
Ya.. i agree with de_luxe.I don't like Infant care other than the fact care is not one to one and it's so x lor.

chelsi i only go JP if i have to... but always avoid weekends cuz it's so packed.

i won't bother with bottles, it's no point cuz we'll only end up "fighting". Will just skip bottles and go direct to cups. He will have to drink his milk from a cup when the time to wean comes. There are a lot of reasons why the kid may refuse FM, not just the bottle. It cld be cuz of the taste but also cuz they miss the comfort of being bf.

Hmm... actually with bfg, it's rare to have no milk cuz demand = supply. You can always try to bf longer if and when you have #2. Juz need to figure out what the real problem is, e.g. latching.. and to also prepare yourself in advance + find pple who can help you w bfg.

Oh i do go out at least 1 a week, except last wk cuz we were sick.. that's why not keen on 2x a wk classes else where got energy and time to go out w my frens?

I'm doing JG trial tmrw at Evans Road. Will do a few trials at various places before i decide. Maybe you can try GUG, Bibinogs (http://www.bibinogs.com/), Positive Focus (http://www.positivefocus.com.sg/), Socatots (http://www.socatots.com/singapore/), Tumble Tots, Little Gym

hihi... forget about the thread... now only my way back home ... in the bus.... hahah.... finally got back my laptop... can surf but now i'm trying to cut down pumping time... so once i'm donw with pumping... will have less time online... coz no reason to on my laptop unless meeting...

hi jamie...
did u pm me on the bumbo chair... had reply u... if u keen do let me know... my gal thight too big to sit inside

regarding cc... pls personally i don like the loving cc... please judge for yourself...

Long time never post here as been busy and most of the times come in my itchy finger will directly go BP section and sure end up shopping 60% of the time so am avoiding coming here.

garfield: sama sama! haha! i've been prowling the bp, spree and wts section to see if anything's worth to buy. lol. hb say i can be the site moderator, make sure everything's gg well. hahaha!

poshies: how long hv u been bfg? doesn't it make u very bz? and how often do u pump since u nd to work?

baby chelsi: i told hb wat u said, his reply -> finally someone see my gd points... "-_-
ahhh.. my hb also say dun wan #2 so soon.. he hasn't got over the slp deprivation and the for-no-reason crying from hailey..

deluxe: must be very tiring to keep latching.. hw long does he take for each feed? if he can take solids, hw come he "rejects" bottle?
how long can i freeze milk for in our regular freezers if i put in the lower compartment?
I dun plan to put hailey in infant care, one of the girls in may mommys' thread gt diarrehoea and fever. i tink it was quite bad cuz lasted a few days and "lao sai-ed" more than 10 times a day. im scared to take any risks! so i'll prob leave her w my mom for the 12th-18th mth hopefully my mom can tahan her for 6 mths then she can go kindergarden straight..

Jamie,
Hahahaa..your hb so funny.
But really... that was the impression he gave me.
Usually it's us the mummies who fuss over our baby but he is one of those few ones i see who will fuss over baby..that's y i say u're the lucky one.
Somemore before hailey arrive he also so sweet to u. Make u b'fast wor.... v sweet.
Gd daddy & hb
Thumbs up.
But dun tell him anymore.. later he feel proud. Hahaha..

My gal till now 19mths every night still cry every night when she wake... Talk abt sleep deprivation?? haha...

Usually baby cry for a reason. You must slowly find out why lor.
Hungry, cold, tummy pain, need comforting eg eg
Slowly u will know as u monitor.

jamie i dun find latching tiring except when he doesn't want to let go i.e. comfort sucking. Usually he doesn't take more than 15 mins, unless he's going to fall asleep then he will latch till he doze off. I actually find it much easier, faster and more convenient than pumping, cuz dun need to store and later reheat ebm. If u always have help around to babysit then i guess it's easier to have ebm. But i'm alone most of the time so i have to do the washing, sterilizing, etc all by myself.

Taking solids and rejecting bottle are mutually exclusive. Rejecting bottle is due to nipple preference.

EBM can last for 3 months in the freezer.

I think not just infant care, as long as the kid is in childcare, bound to get sick more often. Sounds like your gf's gal might have gotten rotavirius. At 18 months, they dun start kindergarten yet, it's still considered childcare. Kindergarten is 4-6yo.

Yeah, as chelsi said, baby dun cry for no reason. Need to observe their body language.

chelsi ur gal still wakes every night? how often?

btw you can also check out Centre Stage (http://www.centre-stage.com/) for her.

Anyone here has a package with Amore Day Spa? I used to have package with them but finished it before delivery. Wanna buy some products. So looking for someone w the package to get the product discount and you can get the points.

Jamie,
So bad right and the thread is so tempting and every mth I spend at least $100 at the overseas spree.Hardly can control myself cos whenever I buy something for myself I would also buy at least 1 item either clothes or toy for my gal else i feel so guilty and hubby always comment whenever I come back from collecting my loots he would say "wow buy things again".

I always tell myself before buying anything I must buy what I need instead of what I want but basically it easier say than done.

And next mth target is get the leapfrog stuffs(about $200+) for my gal so next mth is nothing for me.Prays hard tat I really get nothing else will be very broke.

garfield,

True.. easier said than done.
I also always tell myself stick to budget but always end up out esp at JP shopping..mainly stuff for my gal

de luxe
count me in hor if there is a gathering on weekday hehe. pm me earlier. sorry i hardly check the forum recently.

may
the loving care development is at 660D. next to the playground, beside jurong west sec sch.

anyway i will be on msn
anyone want jio me for lunch can msn me at [email protected]

morning...

hi jamie,
my gal is 17th month now... i pump 3 time in office and 2 time at home.... office is before start of work, lunch time and 5pm (which is abt going home)...

garfield yeah, me also find it hard to stay within budget. Recently been prefering to rent toys instead of buying, save $ and space...

chelsi wah thats's often.. she still want night feeds? COuld it be cuz she's overstimulated in the day?

Mummies, wanna ask how and when do you start toilet training?

de_luxe,
She play or don't play during the day still will wake at least once .. haha
Ya..usually she wants milk. Give her water she beat me or cry even harder
lol
Last night wake at 3.55am & refuse to sleep till almost 6am lor .. angry with her!! argh

My gal now only know how to tell us when she wants to poo poo.She is 19mths+

hi Mummies! how's everyone?

Deluxe,
Now my boy is fully toilet trained in the day at 20months. But we still let him wear diaper when he sleeps in the night. however, it is usually dry.

Hi Deluxe
My boy complete his toilet training at 24 mths. But same as Jas, night time continue with diaper.

But such things no time frame, when they are ready, they will tell you. No need to hurry, let it be natural.

jas when did you start training him?

may you mean wait till they start telling you they wanna go potty? My fren's boy is 2yo and still refuses to acknowledges that he needs to go, even when she can smell poo in his diaper.

Deluxe
My frd boy now 28 months also nv tell my frd he poo poo. Only after he poo poo, then he tell my frd.
Of course to make them ready, u have to train oso. But even if train and they refuse to inform you, then that means they are not ready. Like I train my boy on 18 mths, but failed. Then I let him rest for a few months and train again, he is slowly able to tell his needs.
And slowly I practice to let him go without pampers during outing. haha, of course, he fail 2 times n just urine, it was drastic...hahaha...