Mummies in Australia?

Erm... actually I'm not sure of the location either ... Had 'chauffeur' back then :p hahah...

But now, it's located near Willeton (I think). Take Roe Highway and exit at Willeri (Ave or Dr)... It's the first left at the circus (if you exit at Roe from the Kwinana Fwy). There's a petrol station near there.

Oh yeah, I've heard of the Jandakot Airport food as well :D Think I had the cha kway tiao (if I remember correctly). Don't think the food stall is there anymore now...

Andrea,

Karen's blog was mentioning on organic gardening and it seems interesting.. maybe we should try that out one day.. And my garden is not doing well lah, only the mints are.. They are growing into some sort of mini shrubs! Just trimmed until botak yesterday. :p

mpsiggy,

I miss Singapore for the convenience too. Like I can leave kid with my mom and I go shopping. Over here, I have to bring my kid along wherever I go. But there's certainly more family time. My hb gets home at 5pm daily. In Sg, 5pm is his 2nd tea break time. If he gets home before 9pm, it's already a blessing. And time here flies quite fast. You wake up a bit later, watch some educational tv prog with kiddo. Meddle a bit in the garden, then let baby sleep. Surf the net/ forum a while, prepare dinner, cook, and hb will most prob be home. Spend some family time, bath kiddo, let kiddo sleep. And it will already be night time.

You will learn more things here I guess. Firstly learn to be more independent. No one to whine to, no one to help out. Before you know, you will even dare to kill cockroaches! (I'm trying! Small roaches everywhere here) Secondly, you will learn to be more creative else you will be bored to death. Thirdly, you will learn to be more appreciative to little things in life. Like 2 hrs of net surfing is a God send gift.

If I can choose again, I will still choose here I guess. Life is tougher but it's rather enjoyable too. One thing for sure, no interferences from in laws. Heheheh.

I agree with Hidora... if I should choose again, I'd still come to Australia. Somehow, you have your own life...

Quality of life is certainly much better here than in Sg for us. My husband finishes work early if he gets in early -- at the earliest, it's 4.30pm. So he's usually back by 5.30pm or 6pm. We have more time with the children and are able to visit parks and beaches... rather than just shopping malls.

<font face="tahoma"> hidora and Andrea,
agree with u gals. am too pampered here! hehehe but the problem is hubby will be jobless if we move over unless he goes over first. this is the major pullback to be frank. </font>

mspiggy
my hb and i will be jobless too when we move over.
But ... heck! It is not an easy road to get the PR for us. abt 2 years to get one, and paid quite a bit of money.

in worst case, we can be kitchen helper lor.

<font face="tahoma"> mngo,
of coz i will be jobless too but i guess i can find job faster due to my line. but again, have to send my baby to child care so no different. cant spend much family time like hidora and andrea.</font>

mspiggy,

If you have enough savings to tide you over for a few mths, it should be ok for you and your hb to come over without a job. And even if hb goes over first to get a job, it's still ok. Cos that's what happen to me and Andrea. Hb came over first and we joined later. Treat it as a last chance to be without hb since you will hv to face him (only him w/o any other family members) for the rest of the stay in AU. ;p

I think ozziemummie and her hb also coming over without a job. Is that right ozziemummie?

Think of all the other benefits you can get here! Family benefits, free delivery, 5k baby bonus, free immunization, and beauty of nature (not just concrete and roads), free schoolings for kids. And best of all, a charming new Prime Minister who speaks excellent Mandarin than most of us. Heheheh...

mngo,

Ya, the roaches here are scary... I'm starting to get immune to the roaches, spiders, millipedes, slaters, worms, caterpillars and etc etc etc thou... T_T

<font face="tahoma"> hidora, yeah read but the new PM. Singapore has live telecast for the voting results then. I find that he looks abit "asian" and his son in law seems like a Chinese! hehehee hopefully more benefits for everyone and fair to all people. </font>

mspiggy,

Yup, his son in law is a Hongkong chinese. And his 3 kids are either majoring in Chinese or studying chinese now. Check out his youtube. My mil who is a chinese teacher is so impressed with his Beijing accent. http://youtube.com/watch?v=zN42pk7eozk

Some details of him from wiki.

Rudd studied at the Australian National University in Canberra, residing at Burgmann College, and graduated with First Class Honours in Arts (Asian Studies). He majored in Chinese language and Chinese history, became proficient in Mandarin, and chose a Chinese alias, Lu Kewen.

Hehehe, I've been promoting him around.. :p

Don't worry abt the jobs... but yes, I think you will feel more secured when either you or hubby has one.

For us, we didn't want to take the risk since we have kids, and not much savings :p So my husband came over first to look for employment. It was not easy to manage without him in Singapore... but there was help back in Singapore of course. Still it was a challenge, and that sort of helped prepare for life here

As for me, I actually wrote in to one ad a couple of weeks back, and now have an offer... Will likely start work in Jan
But feel terrible abt placing the children in Childcare... the guilt of working mothers :p

Andrea,

Congratz! I miss working life so much! Financial freedom! Not sure how I will feel if I place kid in childcare since have not try that yet. Thinking of looking for babysitter thou. Do you have any babysitter to recommend?

mngo,

Haha, passion dying off already. :p

Andrea,
Congratz! Will you be teaching again in Perth. By the way, I talked to my friend in perth. He said they don't have recommendation, but they are using the childcare near their place in canning vale.

<font face="tahoma">hidora,
you're staying in Queens Park now right? My frd also staying there, she sends her kids to this childcare at Vic Park, if i'm not wrong it's somewhere opp KONGS chinese supermarket. You go check it out. </font>

hi ladies, i'm new here. have a set of 5 mth old triplets... reading u gals discussion on more time for family time in oz really made me drool... cos hb and i always feel there is too much stess in singapore.... it is a norm to leave at 8pm-10pm in his office... and u feel so awkward if u walk out b4 others do.... sigh..... i really wish the babies have more time to spend with daddy.

<font face="tahoma"> hi mesh,
wow... triplets!
not easy for you to handle 3 young babies alone</font>

Hi mesh,

Woah, triplets!! I have one son already puffing like mad, can't believe how I can survive if I've triplets.. And the expenses too, everything is times 3! But I think there's also 3 times the fun.

Are you and your hb pr already, or thinking of applying?

mspiggy,

I think I know which childcare that is. I think I will go recce when I have set my mind to work. I'm still rather happy bumming around at home now. Hehe..

Thanx MsPiggy, Hidora & Hopeac
Kinda excited thinking about working again, but now a lot of other things to sort out... second car, childcare, time schedule... Hb and I will have to sort out the dropping off and picking up of children.

I won't be teaching ... haven't had much luck getting into schools.... will keep trying though. But I really think it's not that easy despite the shortage of teachers.

We have set our sights on a childcare in Canningvale. They have vacancies for both the boys so that's important for us. The only problem will be when our older boys starts Kindy in Feb.

Hidora,
I don't know any babysitters... but do check carefully. My friend who has been here for a long while sez that we may not enjoy subsidies for some babysitters. At the moment, only approved childcare will certainly enjoy some benefits.

Personally, I feel that with babysitters, we cannot really check on the quality of care, so I'm always hesitant ... or maybe even paranoid. I tend to choose childcare so that I can check on how well they treat children ... I dread to think carers can get away with abuse (at its worst) when other adults/carers are around. But with babysitters or family daycare, it's one person taking care of the children... and perhaps they do seem to be nice in front of the parents... but I won't know what goes on when parents are not around ... (see? My paranoia at work... :p)

Andrea,

Heh, sorry I nv indicate clearly.. I'm looking for babysitter to baby sit baby for a few hours on weekend. That way, me and hb can go out and have some couple times.. Like movies, romantic dining, some sneaky peaky in Kings Park.. (j/king ;p)

Without a babysitter, we are stuck at home with baby 24/7. We really need some time off for ourselves.

Managed to squeeze in some time to update ;)
Wah, the thread suddenly so active in my absence.

Quick summary:
5Dec, 7.30am - made my way to KKH delivery suite
9.30am - gynae came n checked, cervix still abt 3cm, he broke water bag, started drip to induce
11am - start to have mild contractions
12noon - decide to be "hero" & do it without epidural, keep breathing in & out
12.20pm - the urge to push was soooooo extreme, luckily gynae came back in time
12.29pm - a 3.195kg baby girl was born

I guess it is easier to push without epidural, therefore, the whole process was much faster than my #1.

By yesterday (6Dec) morning, gynae saw me in the ward doing well, so he said I could be discharged. So, yesterday afternoon, came home wz my baby girl. So far, ok except having problem wz breastfeeding. Kind of feeling stress cos #1 dun hv that problem. I regret only bf #1 for 2+ mths. Since I'm not working this time round, was planning to bf for at least 6mths, yet it is not working out. sob sob...

Anyway, now praying hard that jaundice will go down, baby will pass hearing test in 1mth time (she failed the hearing test yesterday, so worrying) and good health all the way.

Will catch up wz all again when I more settle down. Thanks all for your well wishes

Congrats Hentang
Good to know it was a smooth delivery for you

Don't worry abt bfg for now... and don't stress over it too much. It will take a while before the milk really comes in... just keep baby suckling and hydrated. If necessary, supplement with formula or water.

Jaundice will also reduce eventually. Try sunning baby
But remember to cover her eyes

Rest well for now, and enjoy bb :D

Congratz hentang!

Don't worry too much about the hearing test. God has blessed your girl with a smooth delivery and will continue blessing her all the way.

Take care and we hope to hear from you soon.

Hi Hidora,
I know what you mean
The only thing abt being her alone is that there is no couple time
I NEVER go the movies anymore... and can't shop in peace :p *sigh*

Mebbe in the meantime, you can get friends to help you look after bb

congrats!! hen!!! wow... fast labour... well done!

hidora, mspiggy, we are not pr yet... ave been thinking about it b4 the triplets came... now got to think twice....but i really sick of the work envt in sgp.

andrea, which level did u teach in sgp? is it difficult to get teaching job in oz?

Hi Mesh,
welcome to the thread :D Are you teaching too?

I taught at both Primary & Secondary levels before. Over here, I'm not too keen about teaching High School students, as I feel that they are different from our students.

There are many openings in school, but I don't find it easy getting into schools. Here, you need to be registered as a member with WACOT. To teach in public schools, you will also need an ID with the Dept of Education (something I didn't know initially). To get this ID, you need to go for some kind of training.

I suppose it makes it more difficult for us (non-locals) since we are unfamiliar with the system and policies. Also, every school is different somewhat...

I've been told that it would help if you first do relief-teaching. But the irregular schedule is not something I'm after.

Anyway, don't let me put you off teaching here
I'm sure there are other teachers who have found jobs with no problems.

Oh yes, recently it was announced that WA teachers will be the highest-paid ... IF they teach in the country (rural areas). They also provide housing and offer other settlement assistance... Again, that's not for me as I doubt I'd be able to get use to the type of life in a rural setting...

I understand what you mean about the work envt in Sgp... for me, it was a timely move... I was dreading going to work for a long time already when I was back in Sg... All those policies in place to 'help' working mothers were really no help at all... especially if your employers don't share the same 'vision' of the policy-makers. And in teaching, it's worse... it's a huge guilt-trap when we take MCs or CC leave....

A BIG hi to all mummies in Australia.

Hi Hentang,
Congrats on the arrival of ur No.2. Don't be too stress to bf, stress will make things worse. I always admire those mummies out there who really hv the determination to bf their children long term.

Hi Andrea,
Ur r living in Canningvale? I will b moving there in Jan (my bro-in-law's hse), has enrolled my gal in Kiddy for Feb intake as well (school name is something like Campbell...)Is it the same as ur boy?

Hi Mesh and Andrea and those interested to teach in WA,

I found out some info abt teaching in WA. Intended to teach there initially, b4 I know I was preggy with No.3 due in Mar next yr. Postpone the idea cos need to take care of 3 kids for the time being. Agree with Andrea that it is not as easy as in sgp, i think the license has to b renewed yearly with a fee. More info on teaching is as below (a reply from the Dept of Education):

All teachers employed in schools in Western Australia must have at least four years full time tertiary training with at least one of those years being teacher training. You will need to have your current qualifications assessed by the Western Australian College of Teaching (WACOT). You will also be required to register as a teacher with WACOT. You can download the forms and find further details at www.wacot.wa.edu.au.

After successfully gaining WACOT registration, you may submit an application for a Teaching ID number with the Department. You can download the forms at www.det.wa.edu.au/education/teaching by selecting 'Employment' and 'What to Submit'. After submitting your application, you may be required to go through additional recruitment and selection processes, including an interview and presentation. You will be advised of this throughout the process. You can supply us initially with a certified copy of your WACOT receipt.

To teach in government schools in WA as an overseas trained teacher you will need to complete the Entry and Orientation Program. The first component is a 3 day workshop on the curriculum and current issues in education, such as Aboriginal Education and Behaviour management.

There are two options for the second component; one is to complete a 10 day supervised practicum in a school and gain a satisfactory appraisal (this is unpaid), the other is to begin relief teaching and gain a satisfactory appraisal after 10 days teaching (at least 5 days must be completed in the same school). Which option you take is ultimately decided by myself and my line manager, dependent on your teaching experience, area of study, qualifications and the length of time since you last taught. Once a satisfactory appraisal is received you can begin to teach on a restricted licence pending the final component of the entry and orientation process.

The final component is to complete a group interview, where you present a lesson plan and discuss pre-seen questions with an assessor.

At the moment there is up to 8 weeks processing time for applications, so you will need to send in your application to us with that wait in mind. The application form for employment with the Education Department can be printed out from the web: http://www.det.wa.edu.au/education/teaching

You can submit your application form to us before you arrive in Perth.

After receiving your ID number, you will be eligible to apply for employment. Please refer to our website at www.det.wa.edu.au/teaching for information on career opportunities, how to seek employment and the current teaching areas of need. Certain positions can be found advertised on our website - specifically urgent placements and Local Selection positions. All others are filled by our online placement request system at http://tesweb.det.wa.edu.au. You will only be able to enter your online placement request form once you have a Department ID number.

Curriculum information can be found at www.curriculum.edu.au, http://www.det.wa.edu.au/cmis/eval/curriculum/ and www.curriculum.wa.edu.au/progress maps/index.htm

If you have a look at the website below you can view all of the Districts and the schools that are located in each one. This is a really good way of seeing where you are prepared to teach. There is a link at the top to a map of the Districts in the State. The map is located at the following http://www.det.wa.edu.au/districts/index.htm The Department has divided the state into 14 different districts.

Hi Ozziemummie,
Need to thank u for ur offer to share ur experiences with me. I will PM u to discuss more, Hope that i m not bugging u too much since u r hvg ur holdiay visit here.

You might want to view the schools at the following address http://centoff-wdw1.det.wa.edu.au/schoolprofile/home.do . This link should allow you to look at all of the different schools in the state.

There are three main avenues for gaining employment as a teacher with the Department of Education and Training WA. The first is through the Central Placement System. Around 80% of positions are allocated this way and involves you submitting an online Placement Request Form at http://tesweb.det.wa.edu.au, indicating the teaching areas that you are willing to work in and the locations that you would be willing to teach in. From the data you submit, you may be matched to a vacancy that arises. Making yourself widely available throughout the state will increase your chances of gaining a position and your best opportunities for employment lie outside the metropolitan area.

The second way to gain a position is through Local Selection. These merit-based positions are advertised at http://www.det.wa.edu.au/jobs.asp and are updated daily. You will need to address selection criteria and the position is at one school only. You will still need to have an ID number and be registered with the Western Australian College of Teaching to be eligible for these placements. The Remote Teaching Service operates on this model whereby all applicants are recruited through a separate process and then if successful, inducted separately also, due to the completely unique nature of the positions and working environment.

The third way is through relief teaching, whereby you apply directly to the schools in the vicinity of your residence. You should submit a brief CV, outlining your qualifications, experience and availability. You will still need to have an ID number and be registered with the Western Australian College of Teaching to be eligible.

Hi Evelyn,
Welcome to the thread
Thanx for posting the details of teaching in Aus... it really is a rather complex process. Where are you teaching in Singapore?

I'm not in Canningvale... actually further south
But Canningvale will be convenient for both my husband and me as it's en route to work. Will check out Campbell... the one I'm looking at is along Bannister Road, just across from the markets

Do leave a contact so that we can keep in touch when you get here

Another quick hello...

Baby is sleeping most of the time now, nurse said it cld be the jaundice that makes her drowsy (1st time hearing this). Tmr got to make another trip to the polyclinic to check if her jaundice level goes down. She's still on formula while I'm trying to pump the milk out cos suffering frm engorgement. May call lactation consultant tmr to get help on how to correct baby latching problem.

We may not go to China next year, so potentially we may move to AU earlier, now planning for middle of next year. Probably will start to plan for the move after Chinese New Year next year. All the info going ard in this thread will definitely be very helpful.

Hi Hentang,
hang in there with the bfg. I had terrible engorgement the first time, which ended with mastitis. It was a horrible experience which led to my giving up on bfg :p

The second time round I was more prepared, and enjoyed bfg more, although I didn't bf for long. I was also fortunate to meet an LC at the hospital who taught me massaging techniques to relieve and prevent engorgement. She was a godsend...

Anyway, good luck with the move to Aus
Just holler if you need help ... I found this thread really helpful too when I was planning for my move

<font face="tahoma"> hen,
congrats on your new bundle of joy! yeah was told also that jaundice will make baby sleepy. dont give up bfg. hang in there!

Hen
your nurse is right.
When my boy had jaundice, he was sleeping most of the time too!

yeah!!! u not going to china! go AU... better place for everyone la. hehehe

Hi Hen

Congrats on your new baby!
Engorgement very painful, but hang in there...put cabbage leaves in your bra, it was a lifesaver for me.

Andrea: when u starting work? I think the work culture is more senang then here...so will be ok. At least u will be able to have some personal time for yourself @ work.

hi Sunnygirl,
Should be starting in Jan
Still waiting for the paperwork to arrive
Will let you know how it goes.

I believe work culture here will be better
My husband is certainly enjoying it here much better than in Sg! :D

<font face="tahoma"> Hi Andrea,
i like their compartments and the changing mat coz if we use normal bags, things get very messy for me. need to search ups and downs for things especially when babies cant keep still for long while changing

I agree MsPiggy
At one time, I was eyeing the Fleurville, OiOi and the Daisy Gear bags... but too ex... so I settled for Kipling from Ebay... which was much cheaper :p

HEN congrats on ur delivery...feel like having 3rd one...but 2 bad time n space doesn't permits....

Evelyn welcome on board

MIA for awhile only ..so many things i miss out....been very busy lately...with hari raya n my dd got HFMD....n so bz with werk

ozziemum
i finally get acknowlegement email fr immigration after almost 3 months, so another 12 weeks or so to wait for their next reply....so heppi..cos i'm so tired of fetching my girls 2 n fro my moms and childcare...starting tis mth as my hubby juz start a new job...n i must du all this by myself.....

hey folks
sunnycake and i tot tat we would like to have a gathering with all of us here, before everyone of us disappears downunder, to Perth, Mel or Sydney.

Can we know who is leaving when ah?

ozmummie - Jan 08
Mngo - apr 08
sunnycake -
mspiggy -
hidora - Already there
Andrea - Already there
ryatie -
Hen -
Evelyn -
Tweetie -
Hopeac -

If most of us are ok to have a meet up, we'll do it in jan - WEEKDAY. This shall be Only Ladies meetup.

updates

ozmummie - Jan 08
Mngo - apr 08
sunnygirl -
mspiggy -
hidora - Already there - will be in sg from 12 jan to end of Feb
Andrea - Already there
ryatie -
Hen -
Evelyn -
Tweetie -
Hopeac -

Yah, we shld meet up ..after chatting for so long, always nice to put a face to the nick :p Plus, it will be good to have a network of frens when we move.

ozmummie - Jan 08
Mngo - apr 08
sunnycake - Mid 08 (hopefully)
mspiggy -
hidora - Already there
Andrea - Already there
ryatie -
Hen -
Evelyn -
Tweetie -
Hopeac

Update of Status.

ozmummie - Jan 08
Mngo - apr 08
mspiggy -
hidora - Already there
Andrea - Already there
ryatie -
Hen -
Evelyn - leaving 12Jan08
Tweetie -
Hopeac

Hi Andrea,
The answer to ur Qn, I am teaching in Compassvale Primary in Sengkang till end Dec07.

Anyone knows how do we convert our Sgp driving license in WA? Do we need to go for practical and theory test? Heard they changed the policy. Thanks!

<font face="tahoma"> Hi Mummies,
Update of Status.

ozmummie - Jan 08
Mngo - apr 08
mspiggy - in 2 yrs' time
hidora - Already there
Andrea - Already there
ryatie -
Hen -
Evelyn - leaving 12Jan08
Tweetie -
Hopeac -

Hi Mngo,
hahaha just buy and use as normal bag, will #2 comes along then very handy. kekekekee</font>

aiya evelyn
u wont get to meet hidora!
hidora will be here 12 jan i think

conversion of license? current policy i am not sure. i have asked ard, everyone gives me diff story. the best is to check out the website