Mummies in Australia?

mspiggy,

Haha, very near to Carousel Shopping Mall too! About 15-20 mins walk. (See lah, after staying here for a few mths, 20mins walk is very near already!) Hehe.

Renting this house with another 2 housemates who worked in the co as my hb. So 4 of us plus 1 baby in the house. Rent is $350 per wk, and there are 4 rooms in this house. Pretty good bargain we got.

I wouldn't buy house in Queens Park area cos a lot of A. Not a very safe area. We will be looking at other places for a perm house.

hidora,
my frd was saying must get the new Queens Park and there's not so many A. new Queens Park is after the train station, hence further from the main road.

mspiggy,

Hmm, I'm not sure where the New Queens Park she's referring to. There's two side to Queens park train station. One side is lots of A, the other side is lesser. Our house belongs to the lesser side. And if after the Queens Park train station will be Cannington station. I still see lots of A around. Esp in Carousel.

Just to share a story. A Korean girl requested to walk with my housemate as she was robbed a few wks back near the area after Queens park. She said that 2 men grabbed her from behind and snatched her handbag away at around 7.30pm. Luckily they only robbed her. And there was another case where a girl was raped and killed in Bentleys area, which is the area before Queens Park.

And believe it or not, I heard police siren many times a day, everyday - morning, afternoon, wee hours! I was telling everyone that the no of sirens I heard here in 4 mths is more than the no I heard in my entire stay in Sg. :p

hidora,
yap... am kind of "used to" the siren already. i stayed in bentley for 2 yrs during my studies there. crime rate is very high, we gotta be really careful and alert.

when we go out at night, we will still leave the lights on so that pple will not know if you're in or not. just one of the examples of safeguarding ourselves.

Wah..so drama? I think have to be careful about where we stay..
there is this suburb profile in the WA police website which tells you how many robberies etc.. in the past 12 months for each suburb. I relied on that very heavily when house hunting.

i heard that the WA govt is removing those govt housing from cannington area and bentley hence slowly A will be reduced.

i blur liao. what u mean by "A" har? which group of pple? maybe can PM me to enlighten me if it's too sensitive to put up on the thread

wah thanks for the robbery info! I'll warn my hubby when he does house shopping!!!!

Hidora,

then u not scared when u walk to Carousel alone with your baby?

Anyone used www.seek.com.au? i mean got a job via there? what's the success and efficiency rate? anyone knows?

Wah this thread is damn hot this week hor? hehe..

mspiggy,

My church fren said for women driving alone, the first thing they must do is to lock the door when they get inside the car. Lock then wear seat belt. She said that those men will just walked up to your car at the traffic light and robbed you.

I also heard that the housing will be removed. But dunno when leh.

mngo,

Ya, Bentley is a pretty bad area. :|

sunnygirl,

Where can I get the suburb profile? I browsed the WA police website until blur.. Hehe. TIA!!

ozziemummie,

A means aboriginals. Hmm, I only go Carousel in broad day light mah. And the shopping mall quite a lot of people, so ok. I'm more afraid of walking there due to BEES!! I have to cross a patch of grass field to get to Carousel, and I saw a swarm of bees flying pass me 2 wks back. I have nv seen a swarm of bees in my entire life ok... so scary.. >_< And there are always many bees around, and flies too... How I miss winter, dun have all these bugs.. eeeeeee

hidora,

i see....hahaha...me blur lah.
i'm feeling a bit lost and stressed thinking about packing up!

Oh u know early this yr before i popped Joe, I was driving with my hubby and a fren who came down from Sgp to visit. We were on our way back from Swan Valley at the traffic light. wah there was this group of youngsters who will dash out and wet your windscreen with soap! they trying to earn a few dollars by washing your windows and windscreen for u. so scary. They know the traffic light very long...good thing the lights change and we sped off!

So i guess rule of thumb is: always lock your car doors!

hidora
wah... sounds so dangerous.
i always tot au is safe!

which church r u attending in perth now?

ozziemummie,

Coincidently, today at the traffic light, one guy was washing and wiping windscreen for the cars! But we nv think he was scary, just think he's very hardworking. And he not suka suka go wipe people's windscreen. People actually signal him to come wipe for them. He's really hardworking lor. Ran to the other side for cars when the traffic light chg colour. Topless under the the scorching sun. Wonder did he wear enough sunblock... I mean it's so not worth it if he got skin cancer...

mngo,

I would think Singapore is the safest country to live in.. Crime rate is really low in Sg as compared to here.

I'm currently attending Bethal Independent Bible-Presbyterian Church at Gilford Rd. It's behind Swansea market.

hidora
the church u attending... is it asian church?
if i do settle in perth, i'll most prob end up at Faith Community Church. FCC.
I think sunnygirl too right?

i went Zion Fellowship. the pastor was from Cornerstone i think. it's a small family church. i liked it!

it's up north in Joondalup. Near ECU...got shopping opposite but it's closed on sundays

sunnygirl,

Thanks for the link!

mngo,

Yup, it's an Asian church. It's actually a branch off the Singapore Bethany Independent BP church in Paya Laber. The pastor is a singaporean too..
Very cosy, since 90% are asians.

i think there are a lot of asian churches in perth.
i heard of zion as well.
FCC branch out from Church of our Savior if i m not wrong.
pastor's from singapore. my ex pastor.

yah, will attend FCC when we go over lor.

Hidora : I din know that Betgany Independent also have a branch in Perth. I used to attend that church when I was a teenager.

Mngo: FCC is affiliated to COOS.. Perth n SG really have lots of connections

I'm also previously from IT, but working in the travel related industry. So if anyone of u got "lobang", don't forget to sound me out.

During uni days, it is well known that Karawara, Bentley & Victoria Park area are not quite safe. When I was staying in Karawara, my place got broken into 2-3 times. After that, I moved to Como & South Perth area, which is much better. The property prices in Como & South Perth are so expensive now, sigh... can't afford. My ex-colleague, who has returned to Perth, is living in Karawara area now. I went to her place once and found that it has changed quite a lot. A lot of new houses now.

I used to attend a BP church back then too. Anyone attends Methodist church over there?

mspiggy
i din know we hv to lock car!
when we went to perth for holiday in march, we did not do tat.

MIA for a while. Been so tired tat can't sleep, dun feel like working but yet got loads of work to clear. Guess got no choice but to 'dong' until full term.

Looks like many of you hv been studying either in Perth or Melbourne. For me, I studied in the moo moo state (Canberra) where u dun c much pple, hear much and can't do much. Haha!!!

I juz printed out the immi docs for my girl but realised it doesn't state hw much we hv to pay lei for processing. Anyone got idea???

Hi Tweetie,
There is a section that will tell you the cost. I think it costs AUD$1390 now if you are applying in Singapore. It will cost more in Aus.

You can go to www.australia.org.sg and check under <font color="0000ff">visas charges</font> for more info

mngo,
you didnt? we started doing that even during uni times... too many car break ins, gotta be careful.

next time you must remember to lock them.

Yesterday, just went for check up, gynae noticed that I've not been putting on weight. He checked n said baby is kinda small for 33wks. Est ard 1.9kg but mine looks like 1.6kg. He is worried whether blood flow in placenta not good or placenta not able to provide enough nutrients to baby. He said if really so, may have to consider deliver earlier. Just when I thought everything is going to be ok this time round (after so many pregnancy problems for the last few years), now I feel so loss. How can I not feel stress/worried?

Guess all this migration & hubby going to China to work thingy will be the last thing on my mind for the time being or put on hold till we know everything wz the baby is ok.

hen,
i guess you're stressed, you need more rest. i heard that sleeping on your sides will help baby absorb better from placenta.

try it now if you havent do so. my frd also the same case as yours. she took leave and rest at home for 2 weeks and also sleep on sides. and during her next checkup, her baby indeed grow better.

mspiggy,
Its 1st time I hear that sleeping on side helps but I'll try (though I hv been sleeping on my sides, n as much as possible, on the left). Maybe its bcos I haven't been able to sleep well at night, thatz y baby not growing well.

Guess I got so worried bcos during 1st pregnancy, the experience totally different. I was a workaholic, worked til the day I went to delivery. I was stressed at that time as I was doing my MBA too. Throughout 9mths, didn't hv any major discomfort & didn't feel baby moved at all. Most of the time, I was not worried n quite happy wz life then. During that time, I ate out most of the time, a lot of fast food & junk food. But thank God, baby came out normal & healthy & 3.395kg!

I thought that this time round, since I quit my job n be a stay home mum, I shd be less stress & get to eat home cooked food more, things shd be ok. Sigh... being pregnant is really so tough.

Don't worry folks, I'll hang in there somehow. Thanks for all the encouragement.

hen,

supposedly sleep on the LEFT side is better...something to do with the weight of the baby pressing on your liver(where most of the blood is circulated) if u sleep on your right.....hope i didn't get the organ wrongly.

so for the whole pregnancy i slept on my left. didn't like sleeping on my back anyway.

hen,
hope you're feeling better now.

yes, ozziemummie is right... apparently the books/articles mentioned that sleeping on left side helps. But when i checked with my gynae, she said just sleeping on sides will do else we'll be very restricted. hehee

But i tried my best to sleep on left side, but once asleep... dont know which sides already. hehehe

hen

how are u n baby gettin' on? hope ur feeling better with all the advices tat tis mummies had given u....hope u'd rest welll....take care...

Hen
U delivered!!
Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was so busy to even login to chk out the thread

Thank you, really appreciate all your concern n well wishes. I'm doing ok, trying to feel more positive abt things. Last week, had another detailed scan n was told that blood flow between baby n placenta is normal, baby is estimated to be abt 2kg, so its still considered normal & average. Now waiting for gynae's appt next mon to see what he has to say. Been monitoring my weight, still not gaining much. I'm trying to feed myself wz lots of dairy products, chicken essence, birdnest, n probably durians (which I don't fancy but as some friends hv advised). Also, once sch hols start, not having to walk my girl to sch everyday, hope to get more rest. Will keep all updated as things progress over here

hen
i ate a durians weeks before delivery to up the baby's weight. maybe it did help a bit lor. but i din over eat durians

Hen,

Glad to hear that everything is alrite. Hmm, perhaps you wanna try eating cordycep? I got those powder form in capsules from the medical hall and take them daily. Ate durian only once (and got food poisoning. Didn't take any other tonics except for paosheng with black chicken like once a wk. I didn't take any birdnest as I heard that it may cause asthma in baby. My baby was 4kg+ at birth, about 1 wk before edd.

HTH.

Hen,
glad everything's well now. like hidora, i didnt eat durian also coz it's very heaty!

but i took cordycep and sleep on my sides since 2nd trimster. my son's birth weight is 3.91kg and he's out on 38 week.

give birth in overseas land

i cant help but i was told tat my fren's daughter's cleft lip was the due to after effect of doc's in queensland, did something to her lips, and din take good care of her.

another case tat a baby got slight brain damage cos doctor din rescue baby on time. this brain damage child was born in another part of english world.

is singapore really a better place for us to give birth?

mgo,

i thot cleft lip is a developmental defect. what has it got to do with the doc?
actually when we knew i was preg, my hubby already quite determined for me to give birth in Oz 'cos we were afraid of conditions like cleft lip or down syndrome etc....the oz govt has a cleft lip scheme. they pay for the initial repairs needed for the baby. in Sgp u have to pay your own

Hidora, milk powder prices super increase in Sgp. Oz got increase prices?

Andrea, can i have contact for the shipping firm u used? i'm exasperated now. logistics plans screwed by the lady attending to me. i dun want to use this company liao. wanna find others.

mummies waiting for AUD rates to drop: think very difficult. sigh! Jap YEN stopped unwinding leh. yesterday afternoon 1AUD=1.27SGD was the lowest liao. we didn't change $$.we were hoping for 1.25. sigh

ozziemummie
I also thot cleft lip is a dev defect.
I really have no idea if that so call fren was trying to conceal the truth?
U have given birth in OZ?

mspiggy,

Wa, your baby also very big! Somemore you gave birth at wk 38... If you waited until 40, def bigger than my boy. Hmm, seems like cordycep is really good. :p

mngo,

Ya, cleft lips is a developmental defect. If the baby has cleft lips, the parents would be able to see it during the detail scan at wk 20. So it has got nothing to do with the dr..

Yup, ozziemummie gave birth in Perth. Her boy is a Aust citizen by birth. Heh.

ozziemummie,

Wat? Sg increase milk prices again? Wa... they one yr must increase how many times? How much is the increment? For Perth, fresh milk price is increasing, but formula milk remains the same.. Sometimes even got discount. :p

I just helped you msn Andrea. If she replied me, will drop you a mail. =)

<font face="tahoma"> Hidora,
I guess he's too heavy that's why I had "show" on 38 weeks. Cant wait till full term already.

Am planning a trip to Perth in Feb08 or Mar08, hopfully will have a chance to meet up.

wah i m so evious leh... ozmommie's son is aus citizen by birth! wow...

ozmommy... how come u r back in sg?
how old is yr son now?

mgo,

my son is 9.5 months old. though it sounds good that he's aussie from birth, it was not an easy mission lor. I had to go there when i was 32 weeks preg- alone with my mom. hubby was still working in Sgp and went over to join me only when i was 38 weeks! so everything i had to do by myself for 6 whole weeks leh. had to take care of my mom 'cos she dunno english and not street-wise. she cooked for me to eat while i drove her around, did the marketing and had to bring her along wherever i went. Also went KEMH for my antenatal checks myself

So u see, this mission not for the faint-hearted. But God was good to me!

me back in Sgp 'cos we weren't ready to relocate at that moment. i wanted to take advantage of my maternity leave in Sgp. worked for almost 7 yrs leh...must enjoy the benefits! Plus hubby needed to work and save more $$.

oh ladies i changed my flight to 1st Jan 2008. too many things not settled yet.
Hidora, looks like i'll see u later!