Mummies in Australia?

mspiggy,

Heh, is you are coming in Mar then can meet up. I will be in Sg for holiday during Jan to end Feb.

ozziemummie,

Heh, your mission is definitely not for me. Still struggling to drive now. :p Would not have managed by myself here for 6 wks.

Which day are you flying over? I'm flying off on 11 Jan.

Yo, am back again. Everything is going on fine, baby has grown!! Last gynae visit, estimated size is abt 2.5kg. So now, am waiting for when the baby feels like coming out naturally (hoping to be sometime ard 2nd week of Dec).

Now monitoring the AUD exchange. Also waiting for it to drop to ard 1.25 then change.

Anyone got good job search sites in AU to recommend? Hubby & me want to start looking for jobs over there, if can get, we'll probably move over earlier.

Hi Hen,
Good to hear about your baby

Anyway, some sites to look at are:
www.seek.com.au
www.mycareer.com.au
www.careerone.com.au

However, if you are in a particular industry, sometimes they have sites for specific jobs like IT or engineering.

HTH :D

Hi Ozziemummie,
Have you contacted the company yet? How is it?

Anyway, mummies already in Aus, are there any recommendations for child care here?

Thanx

Hen,

all the best!!!come baby come!--but wait for full-term ok? hehe :p

Andrea,

yeah i called Nicholas yesterday(thursday)...he says he's working on it. so i'm waiting.

hi Ozziemummie,
I hope he'll be able to help you out
When did you plan to ship the things over? How come the other company messed things up?

Which part of perth are you in? Maybe I can ask my friend who is staying there about the childcare? Have you found a teaching job there?

Hi Hopeac
I'm SOR... near Kwinana... but looking for childcare along the Kwinana Freeway (between Murdoch and Jandakot). Not a teaching job, but starting to apply to jobs and one interview coming up...

hi Hopeac,
My friend is staying at cannington vale, I think it s near the kwinana Freeway right? Let me see if he or his wife knows any childcare near your place.

Is childcare exp in perth?

Hi Hopeac

As long as it's near Kwinana Fwy, it's fine
We actually looked at one there... looks very nice. But my concern is if it is good in terms of care. Coz the one near my place is very nice and brand-new... but care-wise, we were not pleased.

Also, childcare is expensive in Australia generally. But with subsidies (which is dependent on household income), it is manageable

Thanx again... look forward to hearing from you

<font face="tahoma"> ladies,
who's in singapore now? and who's in aus now?

i know hidora is in perth. am thinking of meeting up. what you gals think of the idea?

so many post! i just came back from short trip. not to perth though ..

misggy > i am still in singapore. so far andrea and hidora's in perth.

ozmommie > u took No pay leave to go Perth to give birth ? if not how would u hv the maternity leave? u r such tough lady!!!

<font face="tahoma"> hen,
hahahaa you're too busy to meet us after baby's arrival.

mngo,
where did you go? am just back from KL too. </font>

mgo,

yeah i no pay leave for 6 weeks!! and started maternity leave 2 weeks before EDD!!!!
then just before went back to work decided to QUIT! so i went back to work for one day and served immediate notice. had to pay back one month salary...so considered govt gave me 3rd month maternity to quit lor

mspiggy
i went to kuching. my hb's hometown

ozmummie
wow yr office is not bad to grant u no pay leave. did u have to give them any reasons?
haha... use maternity leave serve notice. not bad yea

I'm new to this thread... wow so many pple moving to Oz. My hubby's has a 3-year job assignment in Sydney and we'll move there (w my 3yo boy) after spending CNY 08 here. I've just got back from a short trip to Sydney (Parramatta) 2 weeks ago, been there to look look see see the houses and check out the living expenses. Expensive I must say, with the exchange rate making things worse.

Abt the issue of importing the car to Oz, the companies in Oz have a salary sacrifce scheme where one can buy new car using pre-tax dollars. So you pay less tax. I thought that makes good sense, so we will sell our car in SGP, and get a new one there. We are not Aus PR.

Who else is moving to or in Sydney? We can keep in touch and meet up there. I think I saw only Jojos.

Just a quick update before I MIA. Gynae just cfm that I'm 3cm dilated (at 38wks), he's expecting baby to be coming out either tmr or Wed. Latest, by Wed morning, I'll have to be admitted for delivery. Catch up wz all again after my delivery.

Hen,

u go girl!!!! all the best!!!

hi mummies!!

sorry i also MIA for a quite a while. been busy lah.

mgo,
yeah my ex workplace was very good...my department manager was nice lah.the company knows i giving birth in Oz and approved my no-pay leave. my hubby's good fren's son was studying in UWA. he stay right in the area (Crawley) and just nice it was summer. so he's back here in Sgp and paying empty rent...so he rented to us for the 8 weeks that i was there lor. God plan and provide one

by the way i won't be flying till 1st Jan. too many things not settled and my hubby is one big procrastinator when it comes to clearing his stuff...my house is in a wreck! all his stuff all over!grrrrrr.....

one good new tho' - we got approval from Oz to bring our car over.

the bad news - my hubby thinks they'll valuate the car very high so must pay a lot of taxes....so after serious risk calculations and consideration, we decided to sell the car

that means i have to pack as light as possble. we'll probably just DHL over....apparently 'cos we staying near the uni area there's a special deal from DHL for delivery to school areas....my hub called DHL some 1 month back....150kg for abt SGD1200. and they clear customs for u plus send to your door-step. fuss-free and they clear customs for u. i need to double check on the facts tho. will clear it out if it's not true.

looks like the AUD dun want to come down leh...sigh... keep hovering at 1.28 now leh. last week we thought got one window 'cos for just one afternoon the AUD fell to 1.25 but jumped back up

anyway my hubby and me open one more joint account at DBS 'cos Ozforex has an account there. my hubby predicting there's one more unwinding of the jap yen in feb/march. so we'll buy AUD then and do the transaction online via internet banking.

these few weeks i also busy EATING. 'cos will miss the food here in Sgp leh...plus inflation everything is expensive and food portion'quality all drop...very sad. so better eat while there's still rather affordable and "plenty" of food!

i just learned and cooked my aunt's authentic teochew braised duck recipe today...successfully!!! wah it's hard work man...my hub forced me to learn
so maybe i go perth and open Lor-Arg stall!

Hidora, how's the summer going for u?

Andrea,
thanks for your contact and help!! looks like i may not use Nicholas afterall since we're not taking the car with us!

Hi Ozziemummie,
No worries... glad to know that things are working out
There are advantages to packing light too -- gives a great excuse to shop, shop, shop! :D

hen,

Have a smooth delivery!!

ozziemummie,

Can teach me the braised duck recipe? I love ducks! ;p

Hmm, weather here is still pretty ok. Was really hot for a while, then it cool down again. But we bought ourselves a portable air con already cos when it's hot, it was unbearable! But the air con can only help to cool down the air a bit. :|

Also formula milks increase price already. >_< By $1 for the brand I'm using.

Dear Ozmummies,

Hi Hi, I m new to the thread. Am migrating to Perth in mid-Jan and giving birth there end Mar. Any advice which public hospital is conducive for delivery? Anyone has any birthing experience to share? Heard there is no fixed gynae, so we see different gynae for each checkup and on the day of delivery. Can we get Chinese herbs for confinement there? So much unknowns. Wonder if baby can adapt to the cold weather there? Anything to look out for? Thanks!!!

hidora!

no problem! but since u've been there for a while, can get 5-spices powder there? and need cinnamon, star anise and clove....and garlic & blue ginger! most importantly got can get duck easily or not ah? we're wondering too. let me know ok?

your house no aircon is it? no wonder u needed the portable one. yeah i can be so freaking hot...it'll get hotter next month!

sigh..everything increase price! so eat while we can still afford to!!! my hubby say by the time our kids grow up they won't know how good food taste like...they can only imagine 'cos they can only share our past experience...so sad.

Andrea, i agree! shop!!! but let's hope i dun do too much of it! hehehe!

Evelyn,
welcome! to make it short and sweet for now, u need to apply for your medicare card first. then go see a GP to get referral. in perth, it's standard protocol they refer u to KEMH - King Edward Memorial Hospital for women. it's like the KKH of WA. it's true u get different docs all the time. i was there @ 32 weeks..by the time i got to see doc/midwife @ KEMH i was already 36weeks! Go without any expectations...dun compare Sgp and Oz medical system...it's rather different esp with ob/gyn.'cos it's a midwifery system. but they take care of u very well. u'll probably get the room all to yourself
i think 3 out of 7 or 8 of their labour suites are really posh! i was really lucky to be assigned to it. do sign up for the hospital tour. it's a MUST to get yourself comfy. u dun pay a single cent- that's the best part. and they're r very generous with pain management - lots of epidural and pain-killers after!

as for confinement herbs, i'm not too sure. any mummies wanna share? i guess as long as they r commercially packed and SEALED it should be ok. just declare it. it's best u check aqis.gov.au for the list and print it out to protect yourself.

u'r gonna be having an autumn baby. u need to pack a little differently for your newborn as the climate is drier (not like sgp) and can get pretty cold in the night and early morning.

I had a super-hot summer baby. he didn't wear most of the clothes i brought with him ;P slept naked in the day!

so much to share. u can PM me then i give u my contact number...call me easier lah. i still in sgp.

Hi Ozziemummie,
Sorry to intrude on your thread to Hidora... but yes, you can get the spices you requested. However, my mom mentioned that the 5-spice powder seems a little different from the one in Singapore. You can also get the cinnamon, star anise and cloves from the chinese provision stores -- a good one is in Northbridge (VHT or something). I'm sure the others also have, but VHT has a whole back section of spices and herbs. Or you can go to Kakulas ... very good selection too!

As for blue ginger, very difficult to find. But my mom found it in Subi's Station Markets when she needed it to make Laksa.

If you need other spices and herbs, it might be better to grow them! :D It can be quite expensive. Chillis and Lemon Grass are ex here. Chillis sometimes cost about $9 to $10 per kg, and Lemon Grass are about $1.30 per stem. Recently we bought a Lemon Grass plant... so hopefully, it will thrive then we can use it whenever we want.

Hi Evelyn,
Congrats on your soon-to-arrive baby! There are herbalists around (i've seen a couple in Northbridge). I'm not sure if they pack confinement herbs... but I think they should since they are herbalists. However, if you know what herbs are needed, you can go to the bigger and better-stocked provision stores like VHT and can buy those herbs to use. Only downside is, they are not pre-packed. There are some pre-packed ones, but I did not notice if they are for confinement...

Ozziemummie is right about the climate. Autumn/Winter weather will be drier and definitely colder. Try to get sleepsuits so baby's feet will be kept warm. When you are here, you can go to Best and Less, Big W, Target or K-Mart to get them. I got some for abt $5 or less per suit.

Also, use baby lotion so that baby's skin won't be too dry. One thing you might like to bring over is the 如意油.

For me, I brought over lots of that and Vicks (for after-bathtime ritual... hehe)

I hope the information will be helpful to you when you are here.

ozziemummie,

Yup, all spices can be find here. Most of them can be found in Woolworths. For blue ginger, I am able to find it in Woolworths too. I see ducks around but can't rem where. Woolworths/ Farmerjack maybe?

Andrea,

My coriander plant not doing well leh, any tips to grow it well? I saw chilli selling for $50/kg in Subi! So tempted to take pix of it!

Evelyn,

There's a Chinese medical hall (宝林堂) at Northbridge. The senseis inside are pretty famous here and always appear in the Chinese radio shows and Chinese papers. I believe they will be able to pack the herbs you need for confinement. It's at William Street.

Do you have MSN? We are mostly on each other's msn list.

Hi Hidora,
My coriander also didn't do well... suddenly the leaves became very fine and there were lots of flowers. Apparently not enough water. Tried to 'drown' it, but still did not work :p So we threw that away and bought a new one.

My other plants are doing well though ... the chilli has already begun to bear fruit. Now looking around for Pandan!! :D

Andrea,

Is your strawberry still bearing fruits? Mine no fruits, only leaves.. boohoo!! My chilli also bearing fruits.. yea, got 2 chillis now. How to grow spring onion ah? I tried planting onion to let it become spring onion but doesn't seem to work. Must get sproutings from Bunnings?

Hidora,
yup, the strawberry is still gg well. If you buy another pot, look for those with flowers
as for spring onion, you can't use the normal onions. try to get those that are shallots. Or you can sometimes find them in Woollies. Then stick them in water to let the roots grow a bit more b4 planting them in soil.

I haven't seen spring onions in Bunnings... only chives.

so many posts!!

hey ozmommie... for DHL shipment, we must find a place in OZ first, and then ask them to ship over isit?

can we park our goods at their warehs and give instruction to ship only after we have address?

do we pack or they pack for us?

andrea, hidora
wat to grow there tat we can pluck and eat without having to buy?
strawberry, chilli, pandan, lime, lemon , coriander.

wat else ah ?

Hen: ooo..congrats...hope to hear more about ur birth n do post pics of ur little darling

Evenlyn: welcome to the thread. Have you gotten a place to stay yet? Think most impt is settle the home so that when ur baby comes, u will have comfy place for confinement etc..

Andrea: Jus got back frm a trip to Perth to settle issues on my house. My garden is really going to be a big headache. Need to get a gardener liao...I am garden dummy lor..dunno how to grow plants one.

Ozzie : DHL should be good option if u dun have much to ship rite? my SIL just paid 6k for 1 container. will let u know how the service is when i talk to her agian. The AUD is going down...i watching it carefully too...will go change once the board rate is favourable

Mngo:Think for add, u can do that. Jus use any local add and delivery address can be given after u settle in Perth

Dear all ozmummies,

10q so much for all your wonderful advice.
. I m more assured as what to expect, guess must go with zero expectation so that will not be disappointed later.
We will be staying at my bro-in-law's place for a start, then will look for a place to rent/buy, likely after my confinement. Too rush, only 2 mths to delivery after arrival. Hse is very exp now i was told. Rental wld b as good as throwing $$ into drain cos not cheap too. Will try to get an MSN a/c soon so that we can chat there.

Andrea,

My strawberries got flowers one... But they nv chg into berries!! Argh!! I need green fingers! Oh, I thought can use onion..grrr... Bunnings got spring onion sprouting, but very tiny ones..

Mngo,

Basically can grow everything if you got green fingers! And I'm so lacking in that. I blame it on the soil.. lousy soil condition.. hehehehe. My aunt grows quite a lot of things in her big garden. Fig, lemon, orange, louquat, kumquat, bitter gourd, water cress, kang kong, chilli, coriander and etc.

Check out this mummy's blog. http://karencheng.com.au/

She is staying in Perth too and is attending the same church as me. She grows like everything. Btw, thanks to her recommendation, I'm eating raw snow peas as snacks! She grows them too so that she can eat them fresh.

hi Sunnygirl

How's the house coming along? Everything ready for move-in? There are some gardeners you can hire to do up your lawn/garden. We usually get Jim's Mowers (or something) to cut and maintain the grass.
Check the local or community papers for contacts

Hidora,
maybe it's the weather... the strawberries grew towards the end of winter and early spring. But lately, I haven't seen any flowers, although the plant is thriving.

I'm really trying to find the Pandan... :p So far, I only know of the eastern states having it. Planning to grow vanilla too

What other plants are you growing at the moment?

Andrea,

Ya.... my strawberry plant is thriving, the leaves so big until it looks like umbrella...T_T Couldn't take it and trim away the leaves yesterday.. :p

I've 1 chinese parsley, 3 mints, 1 louquat, 1 rosemary, 1 tomato, 1 basils <--- planted by our gardener.

Then 3 diff type of strawberries (grrr)...2 types of chilli, many chilli sprouting from those small hot chilli (waiting for them to grow bigger and stronger so I can transfer), 1 rock melon (from 6 become 1, all the others died), 1 miserable coriander, 1 wrongly planted spring onion, some sweet potato leaves.

What do you have in your garden? :D

<font face="tahoma"> wow.. this thread is back to live again.

hidora and andrea,
really envy you gals now... wish i can move to perth faster and plant things i like too.

frankly speaking my urge to move to perth is dying... coz back here i have mother support when comes to child caring. if i move, i'm ALL alone! how did you gals do it? i mean really have the determination to make the BIG MOVE?</font>

Hidora,
wow... your garden is doing well!!

We have a coriander, parsley, italian parsley, basil, chilli, strawberry, bay leaves, rosemary, lemon grass, oregano and chives.

Will probably get a tomato soon. Also, plan to stick my ginger into the soil soon! hahah... all these are so expensive... will be better off growing them ourselves.

Hi Mspiggy,
I think for me it's the challenge of doing things alone. True, there's support back home, and I do miss my family and friends, but here I finally have the opportunity to have my own family unit... just ourselves and our children. In Singapore, my MIL lives with us.

So, I do enjoy living here. Also, I draw strength from the fact that my mom who is also a homemaker, brought us up by herself while my Dad worked. So if she could do it, then I could at least try :D

But I must say... it's a REAL CHALLENGE... and I really do respect stay-home moms!!

<font face="tahoma"> Andrea,
you're doing very well too! you're just as great as your mom!

wish i have the strength and determination to do it when the time comes.</font>

hidora...

i cannot grow anythng one leh.
my cactus hor.. died!!

i mean.. easy to look after also die. wat more for the other plants right?

evelyn
welcome to our thread

mspiggy
bring yr mom over for time being lor.
i look forward to life in au cos i think i like stay home. i dun like to work.
also i stay with my il ... but not now lah.
i yearn for freedom :p

just to share
Some of you may know abt it, but if you haven't been there yet, then you may want to try the food there.

Taurus at Willeri has great asian food... quite authentic too
Apparently, it's the old Spencer Village's food stalls.

Anyway, if those who are already in Perth and craving local food, then this place is not bad

<font face="tahoma"> mngo,
my mum might not want coz my sis and dad are in sin.

andrea,
i love the food at spencer village. very nice! my hubby used to work at the fish & chips stall there donkey years back! hahaha</font>

Cool, MsPiggy! So did he 'learn' any tricks on making great fish and chips?!

Spencer Village was too far for us then... remembered gg to it twice at the most coz heard abt their great laksa
It didn't disappoint... hehe

<font face="tahoma"> mngo,
am not sure exactly which suburb but i know it's quite near Thornlie and Canning Vale. I think must use the Nicholson Rd

Andrea,
am i correct? coz too long already. hehee
actually during my uni time, the "zi za" u at Jandakot Airport is very nice. They also serve Durian Icecream! YUMS!!!!</font>