IVF Mummies

LY,
Ryan is such a happy & smiley boy!!!

hi! Went for my details can yesterday! i got a ger this time! yeah!

Jolene,

LY,
i add ur's to my link huh :D

Rae,
ur boy ok now??

hui,
thats great ...this time round is a ger....
Wat is your link? maybe i can add u too...ryan dunno have friends yet....

Rae,
He is indeed a happy boy...he can laugh for no reason...he is an entertainer to us...especailly when hb come home from work everyday....he will cling to him...then i will have easy life...

Rae,
Has your boy recover?
When child is sick, is really tough looking after them...Take care..especiallyu now preggy...will it spread?

Jolene,

CONGRATS.....I have yet to u reply u in facebook. So envious of you..manage to 'squeeze' through b4 age 3X (haha..between u and me), or at least 1 or 2 weeks +/-

Ur girl is quite light, like hui's. Mine is 9.x Kg, i think thats the average for 1 year old girl. But my girl doesnt want to eat proper meal (like porridge etc), maybe its the milk/biscuits etc that she eats that help maintain her weight.

hui,

good to hear that u have a girl. I dont think u can close shop yet..u still have frozen embbies..haha

LY,

your boy 16kg u can still carry him ?? wow...saw your blog..i also left a message there..haha

Rae,

My girl also cannot sit still. Run around every moment..

thanks hui & LY,
yes, he's doing fine now.... no more fever & red-spots disappearing....... back to his old self, just that he eats a lot these 2 days..... lol

yeah hui, u can close shop..... am hoping for ger ger too

LY, my boy oso likes to cling to his papa.... dunno y... but gd for us too

stumbled_by, i told my boss that i rather hv active kids than 1 who is very quiet.... something wrong....

Hi Dawn/ Hui/ Stumbleby/ Rae/LY

Hui,
That is great, a girl now. When u due??

Rae,
EDD will be 23rd Jan. That is few days before cny. Will have hard time finding confinement lady. Your first is also during cny, did you engage cl? Is yours good , can you recommend.

Stumble by,
Ha, that is what we have aim before that big 3X keke. You jia you.
Saw your recent photos. Your girl looks big. So envy she can walk on her own very well. Mine think got to wait for another few months.

Perhaps really is her intake of milk. My girl took on solid well and her milk intake is only 3-4 times per day.

LY,
Wow, your boy is really big at 16kg. Big and healthy. Must have difficulty carrying him.

Jolene,

3-4times per day is okay. My girl doesnt eat much porridge (usually only during lunch and its like two adult table spoon). her milk intake also about 4 times a day. Each time from 120ml to 180ml.
I guess some bbies just take a while to walk. My mum said i only walk at 15th month!
I too late to aim for that 3X, cos my birthday is few days before u..haha

Jolene/Rae/hui,

Will u try to breastfeed (longer) this time round ? I heard usually 2nd one it will be 'easier'. Maybe u can consult a lactation before birth, or join some support group etc.

Jolene,
wow, really few days b4 CNY..... my mum did the confinement for me leh, somemore it will cost a lot more during CNY cos most of them gg back to Malaysia for the festive celebrations and few will be willing to do it.....

stumbled_by,
i hope i can. after my previous gynae check-up, i went to Parent Craft, cos just next to gynae's clinic to ask abt breastfeeding. they said to take it easy now & njoy the pregnancy, dun let the no-breast milk affect you and advise me to go back after week 20 or so to attend their classes...

btw, has anyone of u consider to send ur kids to childcare or playgroup b4 2yrs old?

Jolene & stumbled by,
I dun carry him unnecessary. Backaches lor...if carry for long distance. I make him walk if possible or use pram.

Rae,
Last time ever tot of putting him in childcare at 18 months which is next month. But till date, my boy still having reflux, not fully recover yet, still vomiting everyday. And also I still give him breastmilk so i might wait till next year when he is 2 years old, see how is his condition, then make plan. After all I need to work as finanlly very tight now...been not working for 2 years liao...everythings also increase in price.Hiaz....

Rae,
Jovial put on 500g less than 2 weeks..finali hit 8kg!! but he's now sick hopefuli wun lose weight..

Jolene,
am due in early Nov

LY,
icic......yes better wait for him to get well 1st. yup, everything increase, electrical bills up on 1st Jul

hui,
tt's gd.... but usually will lose weight cos they dun hv appetite to eat.....

do your toddlers fall down on the head often ? How many times have they fell down (on head) since birth ?

Mine has fallen on the front of head for about six times. fallen on the back of her head for 2 times. today is second time...sigh..how ? on the back of head since more serious...

i know can watch out for symptoms, but besides that..is it ok ?

Rae,

I did consider playgroup. but still havent action. usually it is 2 hours right ? I will wait till she doesnt need morning nap anymore(jus 1 afternoon nap a day) then go..i read somewhere toddlers by 18months will usually just sleep once a day.

stumbled_by,
yes, mine fell down on head b4, front & back but ct rem how many times..... usually, it's cos he did not look where he is going
tink it's norm for kids to knock on heads but not too often. If they start to vomit, then better bring him to doc. ur 6 times is per day or different occassions?
yes, 2hrs. i found 1 just 2 blks away from where I stay but they do not hv 2hrs, just half day AM or PM or full day - childcare. Am sending him for a 2weeks trial, likely in Sep after his 18mths jab.... and see how he goes from there. We did not want to send him to too far cos will be stressful for both parents & child.

rae,
Din know have 2 weeks trail available. How much is it? Izzit NTUC childcare?

Stumbled by,
My boy mostly fell from bed...think got more than 6 times since he was 5 months

LY,
wanted to send him to NTUC but got to take bus from my place so a bit xiong for me (send him there) and mil (pick him up). am sending him to Carpe Diem Young Hearts but seems like not link to MCYS for the trial
www.carpediem.com.sg

will see how he takes it after the trial. Charges for half day (either AM or PM) is S$350 (after subsidy for working mums, S$150). For full day, it's S$445 (after subsidy for working mums, S$150). Since, am on 2wks AM trial, the charges are only S$175 and no need uniform yet. All these do not include charges of uniforms, mattress and mattress covers (for full day kids) etcetc.......

Rae,
Pricing quite ok.
So that means, your son is now look after by your in law? U planning to let your mil look after your 2nd one?
I din know that mattress & cover have to pay too....

LY,
yes, since he's 2mths old, look after by my mil.... bring him back on friday nights & weekends. so am a weekend mum :p
ya, thot the sch will provide mattress & cover but guess cos of the HFMD, no sharing bah....

Rae,

the 6 times she fell is since she was 8 or 9 months, after she started crawling. usually fell when floor is slippery or when she couldnt balance(This was before she knew how to walk)

wow..still got trials. I plan to send to 2hours playgroup, not childcare. But does your son sleep and eat easily ? Mine doesnt sleep or eat easily, thats why i only consider playgroup. Does he sleep in morning ? I am scared if she goes childcare in morning come back super tired then sleep and miss her lunch. nowadays her napping hours more and more weird. harder to get her to sleep, sometimes she sleep only at 7pm for afternoon nap!

u are weekend mum so is your son not close to you ? Will he stick to your MIL ?

LY,

Fell from bed cos he slept on bed ?

stumbled_by,
think it's norm for bb & toddlers to knock & fell when they are learning to crawl & walk. Till now, my boy also knocked himself against tables, chairs and corner of the walls cos when he turn, he did not look, just turn & walk. But got to watch out if it happens too often.

the centre am sending my boy to does not have 2hrs playgroup so hv to send him to half day. depends but compared to NB, he sleeps & eats better now. he will sleep either once in the morning, from 11am - 130pm or 2pm, then will nt sleep again until his bedtime. if he only sleeps abt 1hr in the morning, he will sleep again in the afternn for another 1hr plus.
i doubt my boy will sleep when he attends the lessons cos there's kids to accompany him to play etc.
yes, he will stick to my mil but more to my hubby. dunno y, he likes to cling on to his father since born...... if both of us are around, he will ignore my mil, only when hungry, then will look for her..... hehehehe

Stumbled by,
He fell off bed while playing, sleeping & even when floor was slippery.
I tot playground only for children at 3 years old?

Hi Stumbled by,
Yes, this time am telling myself to have tbf. Must persist. So must be successful.....

Rae,
You are lucky to have your mum helping you for confinement. Ya, it's super expensive, i check a few at 2.6-2.7k.

Me too intend to leave my gal at childcare when she turns 18months. Hope mil agree. But the chances of getting virus is really high.

Did you gals inject your child with pneumococal yet? Have not injected yet, if intend to put in childcare have to do it soon.

Jolene,

Rae and I are thinking about few hours childcare. I am thinking about 2hrs, she's thinking about half a day. I guess if your MIL take care of 2nd one alone, need to put elder one in childcare then.

Yes, my daughter is vaccinated against pneumococal (the advertisement with a child disabled issit ??). It is 3 dosages. Everytime cost $150 or so, cant remember cos my mum is the one that brought her there. She has completed the vaccination already.

There is also rotavirus vaccine, but i havent done yet, not sure if will do.

LY,

I think playgroup is 18mths onwards can already. 3 years onwards is nursery, like N1.

Rae,

Maybe ur hubby play more with him, as in make him laugh etc ?

Rae/Jolene,

Just curious, do your bump show earlier now ? I heard from a friend as early as 1st trimester she got to buy bigger size clothes.

Stumble by,

Oh, you injected her quite young. We have not vaccine her yet. Thinking to do it soon. Think after 1 year is 2 jabs.
Have done the oral rotavirus when she is few months old. That is recommended by pd.

2nd pregancy tends to be more obvious. Mine already show around 2nd month. Have already started to wear my maternity pants, feel more comfy.

Jolene,
Yes, lucky to have both mum & mil around. But cos of the differencs in thinking & methods, have conflicts with mil now & then but ct be help
. if can close 1 eye, i will but if not, i will tell her. is ur mil looking after ur girl alone now or u hv maid? My mil is looking after him now, tt's y, in order to lessen her load, decided to send him to childcare earlier. At least she has time to rest etc before my 2nd bb comes. Also, agreed with 1 mummy to send 1st child early & dun wait till the 2nd is borned cos ur 1st child will think we are abandoning him.

Have not send him for pneumococal and rotavirus jabs. When is good time ah? His next jab is at 18mths (Aug 12), ok to do it together?

stumbled_by,
think after my confinement, he took 2 weeks to look after him. Also, soon after i delivered & while in the labour ward, my hubby told him tt he's there & needs to settle some things 1st, my boy kept quiet for a while. Even the gynae, nurses & I were surprised. Mayb it's fate that they are close and good for me, at least he will not be a mummy's boy..... LOL. my hubby loves kids a lot and knows how to make them laugh, play and pacify them.

Yes, my tummy showed up sooner than 1st pregnancy and thou am in my 15weeks now, i looked like i'm in my 5th month. Asked my gynae & she said it's norm, our tummies have been stretched previously liao
Like Jolene, started to wear maternity pants in my 2nd mth....

Rae,
dun jab together. That time, i brought my son for pneumococal jab 2 weeks before the MMR,end up i got to postpone the mmr. Waste my time going to polyclinic, q so long then realized cannot jab. My son jab for pneumococal when he is 14 & 15 months at $167 per jab.

LY,
thanks for the heads-up
i will call polyclinic tmr to find out more. hw many jabs r there in total for pneumococal and rotavirus? what r the side effects, fever?

Rae,
Ryan had total of 2 jabs for pneumococal, no side effect observed, but swollen at the jab area.I din go for rotavirus.

Rae,LY

Yes, must be about 1 month apart any vaccinations. My daughter also went for MMR then got rejected..haha.same mistake as LY. I think my daughter got 3 jabs for pneumococal, cos the 1st one was b4 1 years old. I heard the earlier take the better as their immune system is weak then..

Rae,Jolene,

wah..maternity pants from 2 month onwards, thats really fast. dunno how come my mum last time said her 2nd child she can tahan until 4th month then wear maternity. maybe i was a light-weight 1st child baby..haha

thanks LY & stumbled_by for the advises. tried calling polyclinic but no one ans. Will ask my hubby to check with nurse next mth on his 18th mth jab.

hi Rae,

2 jabs for rotavirus, 95 dollars each jab.

for pneumoccocal jabs
4 jabs for below 6months
3 jabs for 6 to 12 months
2 jabs for 12 to 24 months
1 jab for 24 months n above.
$150 per jab

hi dawn,

thanks for the rates & no. of jabs. can ask if the rates & jabs are of GP or polyclinics or PD?

hi stumbled_by,

1mth apart means the 1st & 2nd jabs to be taken a mth apart or rotavirus & pneumoccocal jabs are to be taken a mth apart? thanks

Rae,
I ever called up NUH to find out too. Is around $150 per jab, however this does not include consultation fee. B4 the jab, u need to see the doc first. Thats Y i decided to let ryan jab at GP...is cheaper & can jab anytime. Mine is $167 inclusive jab & consultation per jab.

Do u have any TCM (using powder, not herbs) in the _East_ to recommend ? It is for woman's health(fertility). Cos after I miscarried last December, my cycle length is very long and discharge not normal (those mid cycle discharge or menses discharge)

My health also dont seems good recently. Just dont feel good.

I searched in the motherhood forum for TCM doc but dont find anyone suitable(near my place etc)

Stumbled by,

Last time I used to visit Thong Chai Clinic. Can be either powder of herbs type, but is not cheap.Or u can go Yu Ren Sheng Clinic. Sms or call me if u needs more info.

I prefer to go to one where u know the physician. Last time I went to Eu Yan Sang paragon before, but now I prefer one that opens after office hour.

any of u has good, english speaking CL to recomm? am helping my english speaking colleague to find 1. thanks

stumbled_by, there is one at hougang Ave 8, the chinese sinseh is actually from Thong Chai but on tues and thurs nites (6pm to 9pm) and also saturday afternoons, she is at the medical hall ...v long queue to see her though.

opps....yes think is ave 5....i oni know how to go...but can't name the location. the dr is Dr. Tan Siew ...something rite? in her 60s v motherly figure...but doesn't like western IVF/IUI....prefers u to try her medicine oni.
i lost the contacts liow, maybe Hui can provide? think we r talking about the same one.

How r u, ladies?

hi dawn, stumbled_by & LY,

had called pnenomoccocal hotline for more details. Yes, pnenomoccocal jabs are not available at polyclinics. Info provided by Nurse Koon who ans my call, only GP & PD have such jabs and price range from $180 - $220 (depends if it's at GP and PD). So $150 is considered cheap. My GP charges $170 and will arrange for the 1st jab soon.....

Rae,
$170 is considered cheap. I think $150 is quoted from hospital rate which does not include consultation fees. Ya...should go for it...but dun clash with the mmr and 18 months booster.