Indeed it was a Long journey. How u convinced yourself to do 7 iui? I did once so-iui and move on to IVF.. Couldn't cope with the failure that time :(

Do u have anymore snow babies?

It was due to the fear I had on all the negative stuffs I read online & I just didn't want to proceed on with any invasive treatment, yet I still wanted a child. haha....plus, I experienced ohss in one of my IUI cycles and it was bad enough though I didn't have to be admitted. But I was very glad I had a friend whom sat me down 1 fine day and went through the process with me step by step in details and she made IVF sounds like a breeze, maybe coz she's a very positive person. Thus, I feel it's really important to have loads of positive vibes on this journey.

So I really hope that if there's anyone out there who's still contemplating, please do not let fear defeat you and waste your precious time. It's really not that scary nor painful if you take enough preventive measures.

I still have 1 blast from my 2nd fresh cycle and 1 D3 from my 1st fresh.

Can I just check for those who have done FET before, did you practice fasting prior the procedure? When I first did my fresh, I have no issue so the nurse said that it is ok not to fast overnight for the FET.

If you're with KKH, hubby can go in see the bb heartbeat with you...but strictly no photo or video taking. Unfortunately, that's the hospital's policy though you'll still be given a scan of your bb pix.
Aiyo why they dun allow video at kk... Haiz

Can I just check for those who have done FET before, did you practice fasting prior the procedure? When I first did my fresh, I have no issue so the nurse said that it is ok not to fast overnight for the FET.

I didn't fast coz I was confident that I won't need to be sedated for the ET.

It was due to the fear I had on all the negative stuffs I read online & I just didn't want to proceed on with any invasive treatment, yet I still wanted a child. haha....plus, I experienced ohss in one of my IUI cycles and it was bad enough though I didn't have to be admitted. But I was very glad I had a friend whom sat me down 1 fine day and went through the process with me step by step in details and she made IVF sounds like a breeze, maybe coz she's a very positive person. Thus, I feel it's really important to have loads of positive vibes on this journey.

So I really hope that if there's anyone out there who's still contemplating, please do not let fear defeat you and waste your precious time. It's really not that scary nor painful if you take enough preventive measures.

I still have 1 blast from my 2nd fresh cycle and 1 D3 from my 1st fresh.
Indeed ivf is not an easy journey, but it definitely has higher chance of success compared to SO iui / iui.
For me, I first did so-iui with SF Loh, and it came back negative. So he gave me 2 options, one is to jab with higher dose, the other is go straight to ivf. He said my Amh wasn't that good for my age hence he say if want ivf then better don't drag.
So then I went to nuh to seek second opinion cos if do ivf I will want to do in govt hosp to get the grant. Went nuh, see prof, did all the blood test all over again. This round AMH normal! But Prof say 2 options again, iui or ivf. They don't do so-iui. Reason is since already need jab, might as well take a step further and do ivf, increase success rate to 30+% depends on your age..
So that begins my ivf journey... Lucky I know a few colleagues who did ivf as well, I got the courage from them..

I didn't need to fast for my FETs. Rarely sedation is required for ETs unlike ERs and for some reason if the hospital or clinic thinks you may need sedation for ET, then they may require you to fast. Think you should be fine. All the best :)

IKR!!! so we consoled ourselves that as long as bbs are healthy, that's all it matters lor....then we don't feel so pek-cek. haha
Yeah stay positive. Besides once 'graduate' to obgyn of your choice, hopefully your doc will allow videos for the subsequent scans. Jia you!

I didn't need to fast for my FETs. Rarely sedation is required for ETs unlike ERs and for some reason if the hospital or clinic thinks you may need sedation for ET, then they may require you to fast. Think you should be fine. All the best :)

Thank you DawnBB :)

Hi Ladies, I would like to try my 3rd ivf with KKIVF, any recommendations and tips for the Doc and procedures? How about the average cost that we need to pay?
Only KKIVF have subsidy right?

I hear of embryo glue but it doesn't seem to be widely used in Sgp. At least The embryologist at TFC where I did my Ivf never mentioned it while they focus on ICSI fertilisation skills, proper treatment (centrifugal wash if needed before swim up and selection) of sperms, appropriate culture medium that support cleavage stage embryos and further culturing to day-5 if needed, and assisted hatching if needed esp for frozen cycles.

We were dealing with poor sperm quality and Ivf was our only hope. No issue on my side but as I started Ivf, I realised advanced age did have an impact on my egg quality. Apart from eating healthy balanced meals, cut out processed foods and toxic household or personal care products as much as possible, I did brisk walking to enhance blood circulation and attended Tcm acupuncture by Dr Seah Ai Wei from Thomson TCM. Supplements I took include prenatal multivitamin tablets which included folic acid, CoQ10, Royal jelly capsule and Dhea (2x25mg daily). Dhea was suggested by doc. I also took high protein rich foods like eggs, chicken or beef essence and also foods that supposedly aid implantation like brazil nuts, walnuts, avocadoes, mixed beans cooked with porridge or with pork bone broth.

I started all these measures after failing my first fresh cycle in Jan 2015. I succeeded at FET in Dec 2015 with eggs from my 3rd fresh cycle in Sep 2015. By then, we saw very good improvement in both hubby's sperms and my egg quality. We managed to have good number of embryos from 3rd fresh to try culture to day-5 blastocysts for the first time. I also did intralipid for my ETs since my 2nd transfers as my doc applies this as prevention measure against possible autoimmune issues. I didn't do endo scratch as my doc advised that my womb is fine with ideal thickness and triple lining for every ET so he feels that I do not need it.

Sgp law doesn't allow PGD testing unless you have genetic medical reason. I was getting frustrated after repeated failures having transferred good or excellent looking embryos but not knowing if they were chromosomally normal. I had already prepared to consult dr Choolani clinic for reproductive immunology testing as well as to do next Ivf at Safe under Dr Wiwat in Bangkok if my last FET wasn't successful. I chose dr Wiwat as I know a number of success stories with him from women who are advanced age and/or with Low or diminished ovarian reserve.

Don't give up hope. This journey requires much perseverance. It is not easy but to stop trying will never get you there. At least we tried and have no regrets.
I hear of embryo glue but it doesn't seem to be widely used in Sgp. At least The embryologist at TFC where I did my Ivf never mentioned it while they focus on ICSI fertilisation skills, proper treatment (centrifugal wash if needed before swim up and selection) of sperms, appropriate culture medium that support cleavage stage embryos and further culturing to day-5 if needed, and assisted hatching if needed esp for frozen cycles.

We were dealing with poor sperm quality and Ivf was our only hope. No issue on my side but as I started Ivf, I realised advanced age did have an impact on my egg quality. Apart from eating healthy balanced meals, cut out processed foods and toxic household or personal care products as much as possible, I did brisk walking to enhance blood circulation and attended Tcm acupuncture by Dr Seah Ai Wei from Thomson TCM. Supplements I took include prenatal multivitamin tablets which included folic acid, CoQ10, Royal jelly capsule and Dhea (2x25mg daily). Dhea was suggested by doc. I also took high protein rich foods like eggs, chicken or beef essence and also foods that supposedly aid implantation like brazil nuts, walnuts, avocadoes, mixed beans cooked with porridge or with pork bone broth.

I started all these measures after failing my first fresh cycle in Jan 2015. I succeeded at FET in Dec 2015 with eggs from my 3rd fresh cycle in Sep 2015. By then, we saw very good improvement in both hubby's sperms and my egg quality. We managed to have good number of embryos from 3rd fresh to try culture to day-5 blastocysts for the first time. I also did intralipid for my ETs since my 2nd transfers as my doc applies this as prevention measure against possible autoimmune issues. I didn't do endo scratch as my doc advised that my womb is fine with ideal thickness and triple lining for every ET so he feels that I do not need it.

Sgp law doesn't allow PGD testing unless you have genetic medical reason. I was getting frustrated after repeated failures having transferred good or excellent looking embryos but not knowing if they were chromosomally normal. I had already prepared to consult dr Choolani clinic for reproductive immunology testing as well as to do next Ivf at Safe under Dr Wiwat in Bangkok if my last FET wasn't successful. I chose dr Wiwat as I know a number of success stories with him from women who are advanced age and/or with Low or diminished ovarian reserve.

Don't give up hope. This journey requires much perseverance. It is not easy but to stop trying will never get you there. At least we tried and have no regrets.

Hi DawnBB: so good food really helps the body and CAN make a difference? I'm 43 yr, am desperate in this kid issue. Please let me know more details of food you eat when prepare for the successful IVF in year 2015, as you said. Can you send me private message? I'm new member in this forum. thank you very much!

Support meds..
Oh.. Thanks.. Thgt only finish the inserts then ok..

How's the waiting time at kkh?
Waiting time to take blood? I waited less than 5 min.. For the results, ~1.5h

Hi Hope2016,
Congratulations! So happy to hear another successful case. By the way may I ask what does 5 frozen blastocyst? Is it referring to grade 5 cells?
Thanks! They are 5-day embyros.

Congratulation to you sister :)
Thank you! All the best to u too!

Indeed ivf is not an easy journey, but it definitely has higher chance of success compared to SO iui / iui.
For me, I first did so-iui with SF Loh, and it came back negative. So he gave me 2 options, one is to jab with higher dose, the other is go straight to ivf. He said my Amh wasn't that good for my age hence he say if want ivf then better don't drag.
So then I went to nuh to seek second opinion cos if do ivf I will want to do in govt hosp to get the grant. Went nuh, see prof, did all the blood test all over again. This round AMH normal! But Prof say 2 options again, iui or ivf. They don't do so-iui. Reason is since already need jab, might as well take a step further and do ivf, increase success rate to 30+% depends on your age..
So that begins my ivf journey... Lucky I know a few colleagues who did ivf as well, I got the courage from them..
Dreamscometrue, may I know your overall experience with NUH? I am planning to switch over from KKH. I just failed my 3rd cycle with them. So sad.

Overall I'm quite satisfied. Have not been with Kk so I don't know how its like there.
But in Nuh, if you're Pte, all your scan will be done by your doc unless he's away. Not by sonographer like in kkh.

Overall I'm quite satisfied. Have not been with Kk so I don't know how its like there.
But in Nuh, if you're Pte, all your scan will be done by your doc unless he's away. Not by sonographer like in kkh.
Good to know that. I don't get to see my doctor in KKH unless doing ER and ET. Do you know how long is the queue for IVF at NUH now?

Hi Moinie,
Dun give up. Maybe you wanna consider to be a private patient in KKH? From what I read, it seems the attention given by doc is definitely more as being private patient.

Hi Moinie,
Dun give up. Maybe you wanna consider to be a private patient in KKH? From what I read, it seems the attention given by doc is definitely more as being private patient.
Hi Jenlam15, I am a private patient at KKH. I believe they treated all patients the same way just that subsidised patient doesn't get to choose her doctor.

Oh... gosh.. apologies for that. I thought being a private patient the doctor will do the scanning themselves instead of by sonographer?
Thanks for letting me know cos I always think there must be a difference somewhere. At least if being private patient, the waiting time to see is shorter and more flexible.
Which doctor were you with?

Oh... gosh.. apologies for that. I thought being a private patient the doctor will do the scanning themselves instead of by sonographer?
Thanks for letting me know cos I always think there must be a difference somewhere. At least if being private patient, the waiting time to see is shorter and more flexible.
I'm under Dr Tan HH. He's a busy doctor so the waiting time is long. Consultation queue is normally at least one month.

For KKH, private patients will be waiting at the The Private Suite (more comfortable and cosy waiting area).

Good to know that. I don't get to see my doctor in KKH unless doing ER and ET. Do you know how long is the queue for IVF at NUH now?
Oh I can't really remember. I only know after see prof Once or twice, decided to do IVF.. Then went ahead..

I'm under Dr Tan HH. He's a busy doctor so the waiting time is long. Consultation queue is normally at least one month.
Before my IVF journey, i was doing my normal gynae check ups at kkh.. The waiting time just to see a doc can kill u. Like 2 hrs?! So far when I see prof at Nuh during my IVF journey, I'll always be very kiasu to try to be the first few patient in am as I still need to go back to work. Usually within 1 hr I can finish seeing him and blood test