IVF-FET Support Group

Zinnia,

BB is right, in fact for me i started scanning and doign the urine test (for LH surge) on day 10. Thereafter my ET was planned roughly about one week from day 10. So it is really very fast unlike a fresh cycle.

Vibes

Angel gv me the same tip to take hot soup before ET, but instead i put hot pad on my tummy before going for ET. Not that i believe this is the reason to our success but no harm trying if you want. Very childish it may sound but i imagine there wil be blood circulation like i was doing arcupuncture. Also during 2ww i put hot pad on my tummy once a day. Don't laugh at me!
nono.gif
You know when we really want something, we can do things that are so cartoon. I sincerely hope you will be preggie like us than it will make 3 of us and it give more hope to others waiting for FET.

BB

I will also try to put hot pad then, i understand what u mean when we are really desperate we will try all sort of means to help us get what we want.

Can anyone share on any tips to increase chances of implantation?

Any special food or drink that is good to take during my 2ww?

Vibes,

Many say acup. is good but i only use hotpad cos i am lazy to go to the sinseh. For my 1st fresh cycle i was paying alot of attention with my diet, but this round for FET i ate everything, drank coffee everyday and 2 glasses of wine a week. (dont do like me!!) So now i do not believe so much abt food will help increase chances of implantation. They say when you least expect you will get it and this is the case for me. I was really relax during 2ww so i hope you will try the same. But take doc's advice to rest for a few days after ET.

Now that i am pregnant i am not so relax, haha. Everyday worry abt the little fellow inside, until i hear the heartbeat guess is difficult to stay cool. But will try if not is bad for my mental health.

BB,

I'm thinking along the ssame line as you, coz during my fresh cycle i had to avoid many foods so now i just want to take it easy. I will not put so many restriction on my activity and diet.
I can understand your anxiety now that you are pregnant. Since pregnancy is not easy to come by for us, it is only natural that we will worry about every single little thing.....endless. Be a bit patient and soon you will be able to see your little junior/s fluttering heartbeat

Vibes,

during the 2ww, I rested only for a day or two and I'm back to work. In fact, I heard some light walking might help blood circulation...but we avoided sex incase it affects implantation...infact, we've not resumed it since my ET (on 28 Dec, gosh more than a month already!!) cos we're so fearful it might cause early miscarriage. BB, did doc Ng give you any advice on this? I sometimes miss the intimacy with DH but just bear with it for the sake of the 2 little ones...I can't imagine if we have to abstain for the next 8-9mths, what a torture it'll be don't you think so? hmm...sorry if some ladies are more conservative and shy abt this topic but no one else will understand better than all of you...

Angel,

Doc told me not to hv sex for the 1st 12 weeks. Haha the last time hb and I ML was 30 dec!! Yes i do miss the intimacy but will not take any risk and we agreed that even if it is for 9 mths we will do it. If we can ML from the 2nd trimester, i dont think it will ever be the same knowing the baby is inside you, must be so gentle and careful. Even now if hb touch my nipple i will scream, so soar. My breast is not only fuller i feel is bigger.

BTW i had serious acne problem on my back but doc does not hv any cream for me. Went to the pharmacy and they confirmed all the products on the shelves are not for pregnant women cos they contain Benzoy Peroxidel. So girls keep this in mind! The nurse tell me to leave it but really cannot tahan lei, the acne are so red. Aiyo so ugly!!!

BB,

wow, how come your acne on the back is so serious? On your u/s next week, make sure you ask Prof Ng for some medication...in the meantime, can you apply some Johnsons' baby powder to soothe the itch? I have a few acne popping up on my face, but nothing serious like yours...did you drink enough water?

Angel, Prof ng has no acne cream, must find time to see a skin specialist. Any recommendation? I do drink water but will try to drink more.

Now i'm on OCP Pills. On 9 Feb, i will be start inject lucrin. Meanwhile still have to take OCP pills. And on 22 Feb, i will be going to KKIVF to do scaning and blood test. And i'm not sure from there onward. And also Do u think i will come my menses on Feb? Sorry Ladies, i'm being blurr now.

Just a little update, had my ET today. Do not dare to put too much hope this time as the embryos even though all survive but of not too good a grade.

Zinnia,
Sorry can't advise you as i don't have much experience with ocp. Wishing you all the best in your coming ET

Vibes,

We shall see ok, dont think too much now. Just pray at least one with stick on you. Take gd care of yourself.

Zinnia,

Me also blur lei. Are you saying that you are doing FET with lucrin injection?

Vibes,
Thks. And you take extra care during this time. Good Luck to you.

BB,
I havent start my FET yet, DOc say will be in March so now i'm on OCP Pills. Will only start my injection on 9 feb. I felt like FET journey is quite long than fresh cyle. Or maybe i'm too inpatient.

Abt heat pad... where can i get that and how much it cost?

Zinnia,

I see why you feel is a long journey, is the OCP pills lor. Cos mine is without OCP and injections. I only took clomid on 2nd day of my cylce. Anyway cannot do anything right now so be good girl and stay patient. I bot my OSIM heatpad more than 1 year ago for my shoulder injury and i think is abt $30+ but you can buy other brands that are cheaper.

zinnia

I just bought 2 heat pads from guardian pharmacy 2 weeks ago, they cost abt $10 each...I use one as a cold pad to numb my butt before PIO injection and one as a heat pad to sooth the site after injection. I must say they're a life-saver...before using them, my PIO jabs used to be so UNBEARABLE and I'll have huge swellings the day after. Now, it's much better. Vibes, you should try it too. Praying for you...

Angel,

Just returned fr my GP and doc confirmed no cream for my acne or rashes. Pregnant women should avoid it. I am ok to leave it as it is but was thinking if so many things cannot use (i tot it was only rentino-A) we should also switch our shampoo, conditional and body shampoo etc to something safe isn't it but why nobody talk abt this???

BB,
I dnt know why i have to take this OCP Pills. And what OCP pills for? What is clomid? why am i blurr.. sigh...

I have Osim heat pad too.. but dnt know how to heat it again.. coz once it turn cold/ or the het is gone, it will be very hard.

Angel,
PIO injection is Pregnly?

Zinnia,

PIO is progesterone as what Angel mentioned. Pregnly is HCG. They are not the same. Actually when HCG is high in our body, progesterone should go up also but for my case doc kiasu so i hv both injections twice a week until week 12.
For the heatpad put in the microwave for 1 min.
Think you are given OCP pills to regulate yr menses. My menses is very zhun but i do not ovulate well so i took clomid for ovulation. Are u with KK?

Luckily I'm not on PIO this round, i still remember during my last pregnancy i had it every day and had to alternate both sides. I still can feel the pain now when you all mention about it!

By the way, right now i don't have any symptoms at all....but i read thru previous posting, Angel and BB also didn't have any symptoms.

Vibes,

Just realized that angel, me and you , all three hv our ET on Thursday. HiHi maybe is a good sign so dont be bother abt not hving symptoms now. Rest well and dont walk too much over the weekend.

BB,
Alamak! I already walked everywhere today, coz CNY just ard the corner, so i went to shop a bit. Also i didn't take any leave, still working today. Think i better go Zzzzzzz now.

not so good news for the week. My u/s on Friday showed 1 twin smaller, sac and heartbeat also not as optimum...so may have chance of losing it...
very sad...doc says it's all up to Nature.

BB,
my acne has calm down alot since 4th month onwards. now it's almost 70% cleared. i think when prenancy 1st started our hormones are very high so will cos us having acne breakout. so i will cure by it self.

Angel,

Do not lose faith in that little fella, keep up a good spirit, be positive so that you can channel all positive thoughts to your bbs.

Renee,

I hv ordered a blemish cream from Miessence, You know the 100% natural organic brand. I kiasu cos i worry even if acne subside it will leave scar cos mine are those big red ones. i feel more anshi now knowing that yr skin is clearer after mth 4. Ok will be more patient

Angel,

stay +ve ur bbs can feel it!

BB,

How are u lately? Good appetite? Me leaving for taipei on thur...will visit the temples there and will pray for all of us to have healthy body and healthy bbs...by the time i come back then can know u carrying single,twin or triplets liao hor? U take care huh! Me will 'work hard' in taipei and hope can join you all on the journey to motherhood soon.

Nanz,

I tot u are in taiwan liao,enjoy yr trip to the maximum. Ya must pray for us hor, me not so good. Hv some spotting over the weekend and doc increased my progestrone injection yesterday. Hope everything will be find on thursday when i hv my scan. But since yesterday after the injection i am taking it easier cos i really feel that there is so much doc can help and the rest is god's will so i dont want to be stress anymore. Or shall i say i am fedup of worrying. I will try to bedrest as much as possible till thursday hopefully the spotting will stop.

BB,

whenever I had spotting, I'll be imagining things and worrying myself unduly. But doc always prescribe bedrest. So do be good and keep your hopes up. Thurs' not too far away. As for me, I'm trying to think +ve too for my little twin to catch up...

Nanz,
have a wonderful relaxing trip and hope you'll get your dream baby in Taiwan!

Vibes and Pebbles, thanks for your encouragement...I'll not give up yet as long as there's an inch of hope.

BB,
Good gal! haha!

I also been seeing skin dr as you know. i use acne cream given by her too. before i preg, i also use it to clear acne. i have shown dr loh whatever acne med i use. so far all are safe.

BB,
Do rest well, think positive and eat well too! Your scan should be on the 8th right? Will be quite soon already so just 'ren' a bit more, ok?

Nanz,
Have a good trip and hope you come back with good news!

hi angel

I had frequent spotting for the first trimester, 12 weeks, too and had to take 6 progesterone pills every day for 12 weeks.

Anymore trying FET somewhere in June? i dunn think i am able to conceive naturally cos menstraution only came 2 times after i delivered last April and now me no menses for abt 6mths liao. I dunno if i should go back to my previous gynea anot.

hi zinnia,

u can get the OSIM heatpad (the big one) at KKH pharmacy for $24. like you, i was on OCP/lucrin and going to start my oestrogen pills soon. when you have done your first scan and blood test on day 14 after starting lucrin, the nurses will advise you when to start the oestrogen pills. FET will take place approx 2-3 weeks from starting the oestrogen pills. hope this helps..

hi pebbles,

how's your little girl? she's coming to 10 months right?

Yvonne,

Today only a few drop of spotting. Apart fr fixing my lunch i try to lie as much as possible since monday. TOday i had my hcg injection on tummy, it was very very painful that i screamed. I did not even scream when i poke double dose of PIO, i wonder why it hurts so much? it didnt hurt this much when i did my lucrin and puregon on tummy. I wonder it is cos tummy is more sensitive now or HCG is a diff kind of medication

BB,

hang on there. Your u/s scan's tomorrow right? Will be praying for you...how come you've to inject HcG again? Prof Ng advised it? Meanwhile, continue your bedrest and keep us posted k? Hugs.

Zinnia, how's Dr. Sheila Loh? I'm considering switching to KK cos many people tells me that babies from multiple pregnancies tend to 'pop' early and I had history of premature waterbag rupture so if I or my babies stay at Gleneagles, I may not be able to afford it...ladies, what do you think? I'm 8wks now, recommended to switch gynaes? I'm reluctant because I've been seeing Dr. Foong for 8 years since his NUH days and he's really quite good but the charges at Gleneagles can really be frightening...

Angel,

Dr sheila is a very good doc but i must warn you that her waiting time can be very long. The longest i waited was 5 hrs. Besides seeing her own patients she has to audit all the IVF cases in KK. But bear in mind that KK is afterall not a pte hosptial. You will never get the same attention like you hv now. In case of emergency, i dont think the hospital is going to pick up the phone and call Dr sheila, most probably you will be treated by the doc on duty. I am really comfortable with her but also for the above reasons, i choose to stay with pte. If you are worry abt the cost (in case of complication) maybe you can try to find a gd doc at Mount A or Thomson medical.

I had HCG since the beginning. twice/week at home on top of the PIO twice/week at the clinic. Also the oral pills. even with so much support there are still spotting. GE is really ex, i already spend $1k in less than a mth, think at KK you will pay 50% only.

Angel,

you might want to consider NUH, Prof PC wong or Prof Mary rauff, they are fertility specialist and if you got complicated case, they will refer you to other specialist too, heard that a pregnant lady water bag burst prematurely and Prof PC Wong referred her to Prof Bonso, a specialist on complicated cases and Prof Bonso is the one that got awarded for IVF research and is now doing mainly stem cell research. Dr chris chen, Dr foong, prof wong, prof bonso, they are all the same team from NUH who deliver the first IVF bb in sg.

BB,

as long as your spotting improve, you need not worry so much, moreover tmr is the u/s day liao, good luck.

hihi cookiemz

My little angel is doing fine
though born prematured at 32 weeks, she is fast catching up her weight 8.2kg at 10mths
you planning for fet?

hi pebbles,

ya, i'm planning for FET end feb/early march...
mine is artificial cycle, so i've already started the pills and injections for a few weeks..

are you still bf-ing your gal? i had to stop before i could do my FET. wow very soon your gal will be 1 year old.. time really flies

Hi Girls,

Scan went well, baby heartbeat and size are normal. Very happy!!
Still a little stain, it might or might not stop. Doc told me there are ppl that stain througout the whole pregnancy. God i dont want to be one of them!! But i hv to continue my HCG jap up to 10 weeks and PIO up to 12 wks or maybe longer.
I saw this lady with 1 mth triplets at the clinic, so cute. She told me she had spotting during her pregnancy. She gave the same advice as the doc. that is to rest and no stress. My hb was next to me and show me the face that says " see, i told you!!"
Well... of course i will take the advice but it is really boring to stay at home and do nothihg.
On the 14/3 i will do my 1st DS test, hope everything will go smoothly.

Angel, Hope you and the twins are doing well!

BB,

So happy to know that your bb's size and heartbeat are right on schedule...yes, dun worry abt the staining...sometimes I get it too and I'll get sleepless nights which makes it worse.

As for me, am going back for scan on Monday afternoon, due to my previous losses, hubby and I request for weekly instead of fortnightly scannings...though it'll cost more but it's impt for us to know that babies are fine. I'm having headaches today, perhaps because I'm not drinking enough water. But ever since my nausea started, I can't bring myself to drink water leh, makes me wanna puke so maybe now body is dehydrated...also not eating well...BB, you have such problems?

Cookiemz, yah, after reading some threads, I've switched my appt with Dr Sheila Loh to SF Loh cos he helped my friends deliver twin gals last year. I'm still reluctant to leave Dr Foong but I've to think of the cost factor of babies possibly staying at NICU for a month or so if I deliver early. My friend's twin gals were delivered at 31 weeks, stayed at KK NICU for more than 1 month, bill came up to 30K but after medisave and subsidies, paid less than 2K cash...if at Gleneagles, I think will pay thru the nose...

BB,
Congrats.... So be a good gal. stay at home.. do not move around so much.. ok

Cookiemz,
Thanks for you info. So for how long shld we take oestrogen pill?

Angel,
I agree with BB. Dr Sheila Loh, she ok. Only that, I dont get the chance to communicate with her much.

hi BB,
dun worry abt the staining, but do try to rest as much as possible. my first pregnancy was via ivf and i also experienced staining throughout my 1st trimester, was on progesterone pills and took PIO jabs twice weekly till wk 12.

angel,

i'm with SF Loh and he's good

zinnia,

i have not started on the oestrogen yet, but my prescription is for 19 days... did the nurses give u a diagram showing the stages of the artificial thaw cycle?