Dr Tan Kian Sing from TCM

yenyen/purplelace
heh? really ya ? 50 cent only ya?? i dont know got that cheap one... normally see at watson so expensive.. so when i know at dr.tan sell 2 dollar, i just bought it.. btw, i dont know the brand le.. but sure from China..

purpelace,
i have no choice le.. coz this is my first and i really wanted the baby. so i will do everything for it and also not that young anymore.
Actually i have signed paper for IVF for July 09 cycle at KKH, but God give me His bless earlier, i found pregnant at end June, just 2 weeks before start IVF.

maia

but still u have my admiration...u were willing to go thru so much
and thank GOD u are preggie before IVF start!!!

ya i joined my ttc thread on line from UK 40 to 50 cents per strip.Dr Tan $2 per strip ex leh!!!!!

i calculated my bill for seeing Dr Tan since end march ...$1580 liao....very very xiong for hub....

I am new to this thread, but have been reading this thread for quite some time.
Glad that it is active again.
For me I am seeing Dr Tan also and have been "tiaoing" too. My CD was like a stock chart, from 36 days, 42 days and then 52 day, having late ovulation problem. Hopefully can see miracle like maia. May god bless us all ....

thanks purplelace.. yes, really thank God i conceived naturally.. save my money and mind for IVF..
and yes, dr.Tan medication n acupuncture are not cheap also.. every month average 200-300 dollar..

Jas,
keep have faith !! someday u sure will strike also !!

halo gers,

must check the sensitivity of the opk strips when u buy online....

Some are cheap like 40-70cents but the sensitivity is like 10mIU/ml LH detection limit.

The ones i bought online is 25 mIU/mL LH detection limit. but it cost abt S$1.05 per strip... still cheaper than Dr tan.

hello ladies,

glad to see that the thread is alive again.
just got to know that 1 of my colleague is preggy with no.2 liao. she only tried for 2 cycles.
feeling so down. how come some pple just so easy to conceive but i need to try so hard and spend so much.

xinxin,
dont worry...
i know it is so hard to see people pregnant so easily..
when i failed my 3rd IUI, 2 of my best friends got pregnant for theirs 2nd child, one got it accidentally without planning, one only after 1 cycle trying... sssggghhhhh...
but keep in faith someday will be ur turn and be happy.. dont stress your self ok.. stress is not helpful when ttc.. jia you !!

xin,maia,

ya ....sometimes i really felt like giving up..after went thru so much...so much $ spent..heartpain of mc..some pp just shui shui bian bian try n conceive one or two try..

ald throw those OPKs..no detecting bbt liao.....cos these are stressful for me....

i just want to conceive healthy bb!!

Maia, I think me got the opk from another thread same wif Purplelace...it's cheaper..ya it's not cheap to visit Dr Tan but if there's result at the end of the day..i think it's well spent..

Sharky, I didn't take note of the sensitivity wor...but I believed it should b the normal type ba..next time will ask for more sensitive one..

sharky,yenyen

15MIU is the best among all types but tink no more stocks liao as the manufactuer not doing this....

ladies for those ATY did u all manage to finsh part 2 of the ATY? or wait for next cycle to consume?

Purplelace, how abt 20MIU?

I just started on my ATY and skipped for 1wk and resume yst...so I can't comment much on this.. muz b good and keep drinkg...until XX arrives ((TOUCH WOOD))

Hi Sharky, I think the opks are the ones I used.. but I bought at much lower cost.. how much r u paying for it? and How many?

i paid S$23.00 for 20 opk & 5 hpt test strips...

where did u get them?? hmm... think its about 90cent per strip....

recommend me a cheaper website to buy le

purplelace,
i jog everyday for 45 min after work.. yes, its in the night hehehehe :p
breakfast and lunch is normal, night time i only take fruit or salad.

maia

wow u were very determined!!

45mins is a long jog!
then did u still ttc when u were on diet?

sharky

lukcily sometime Dr Tan asked me if need Ovulation strip i told him no nid!! cos i got liao..n i didnt noe his is quite ex!!

purplelace,
yes, i still on diet and jog while ttc..
but for jog, after Ovulation dr.Tan ask me to do lesser like 30 min and 3 times a week instead of every day.
he said can not too tired, embryo need to attach to womb.

Hi maia,

u are so determined. I think i cant do it lor.. but yet again, i dun need to lose weight la..
this cycle i still waiting for ovulation leh. dunno y opk still not positive yet leh.. today is cd21.

purplelace,

so u trying again? i refused to give up leh. feel that since can conceive so sld continue trying. dun give up..
i got my results for the antibody and chromosome test liao.. everything normal.. so quite rest assured.

xin,

i may stop my TCM as too ex liao..wil let hub continue...i same tinking as u!! Dr TAn also said my factory working shdnt give up..but me really quite tired in ttc....

Hi all, my new cycle started..gonna buy new opks..juz as expected coz no ovulation spotted le..my hb told me to be slow & easy.. he told me his malay colleague's wife recently knew that she's preggy..so envious..and his colleague told him they took 2 yrs to conceive coz earlier on they had a abortion..so ok la, I will not pressure myself liow..juz take bbt & opks while visiting Dr Tan and dun think too much (meaning dun b dissapointed when received neg result)...

Purplelace & Xin2, jia you..you sure get +ve result sooner or later juz like wat Dr Tan said..

Maia, starting July this yr, my hb "motivated" me to go jogging..I'm v lazy one although I dun need to exercise to lose weight..I only ran 2 rounds of the track & field then I stopped to brisk walk around the track to cool down..I can't run more than that..and to think I've joined track&field, softball & badminton last time...but really la,i'm v lazy type nw..wahahaha..but if ask me to go gym,still ok la but not running...good for you that u've the motivation and finally managed to loss weight.. ^__^

finally got my positive on the opk. waited so many days and finally saw the 2 dark lines.
hopefully managed to catch the egg this time round again and can have a healthy pregnancy.

I wanna share my experience with Dr. Tan.

I found out from this forum about Dr Tan after TTC 7 months. Found out there are many successful cases through Dr Tan, so I persuade my hubby go along with me to see Dr Tan. I can say I'm quite lucky also, I'm with him for 3 cycles (3 months) only, strike it successfully!!

What I can remember, after the fist consultation, Dr Tan only asked me to do the accupunture and take some ATY. Then, during the second month, he asked my hubby go for SA test. After we got the SA report, Dr Tan only said my hubby SA test still ok, but need some improvement fpr better result. So, he gave him some pills (1 pack of colourful pill and 1 red bottle of small black color pill) to eat. In that month BBT, my temperature looks good (after O, temperature hit from low to highest), even Dr Tan told me maybe got good chance. But, unfortunately, our hope burst after my AF came late than expected date.

When came to third month, my temperature like roller coaster, hit up and down. Dr Tan also wondering what the hell for my body, but he still give me accupunture and ATY. That month, I went for 3 times for accupunture (in past 2 months, I can only manage go there twice as the appt always full). After 3rd time accupuncture, Dr Tan checked my egg in my lower abdomen, he said the egg quite small and maybe it needs more time to ripe, but he still asked me continue do "homework" as usual, the best is do it continously in 2 weeks time. So, we really "obedient", listen what Dr Tan told us...hahahaha.

God bless me, my AF came late in that month, but I afraid it might be false alarm again, so I didn't dare to tell my hubby, coz I don't want him disappointed again. After 1 week later, I tested myself using pregnancy test and Bingo! I strike it successfully. And I'm in 4th month pregnant now.

I share my story here, just hope all sisters don't give up easily. Sure we will get the chance to be mummy one day. I still remembered when I told this good news to Dr Tan, he told me I'm his 3rd patient who strike during that month. So, give yourself more confidence as well as Dr Tan, although the accupuncture give us feeling not really good, or the ATY is difficult to drink, but I believed sure your dream will come true one day, just need your patience.

p/s : Position also important when you do your "homework". I saw some sisters said "doggie style" position is high chance to strike, and we did the first try and guess what, it's really bring me good news...hehehe...;p

Baby dust to all sisters!!

Ping

wow thank u so much for sharing yr story

cos we have been trying so long kinda xian every mth zhun zhun AF report...

actually i dun mind acu at all kinda relaxing for me
ATY me also ok!! just one gulp drink it down

hope all of us will BFP soon!!

My hubby and me started seeing Dr Tan end of Sep 09, after the 2nd IVF attempt failed. I succeeded at the first IVF in Dec last year but lost the baby at 17 weeks this Mar. So trying to see if TCM can help us conceive naturally or at least build up our bodies. Will try it for 3-4 mths.

Is there anyway to improve the fresh fish maw taste? I cooked it with the medicine tt Dr Tan gave but the taste is quite fishy. Even when i put in a ginger, it doesnt really help.

Anyone got any complaints from yr hubby on the taste?

Hi Tancy..
sorry for your lost.. is there any particular reason why you have miscarriage ? because its already 4 mths...

for fish maw, yes im agree, it is quite difficult to deal with the taste.. normally i put more ginger and some paper..

hi Ping,
congrats on ur pregnancy. really hope that i can be preggy again.
actually, after the miscarriage last cycle, hubby suggest that we try this cycle, if dun have then mb next cycle try ivf lor.. but i still undecided leh.
he say to just give it a go n since his SA result shows great improvement liao, mb easy to strike.
but i scared of all the medicine n injections leh.. how??
if try naturally, dunno will still need to take hw long?? but ivf if unsuccessful then dunno hw liao. sure very sad...

my hubby just went for accup, its his 2nd time liao...

dr tan never ask him to buy any fish maw... Does it mean that his case not so serious???

hubby is complaining tat he oways break out in sweat when he goes for accup....

xin

why so invasive go into IVF?? since yr hub SA test got improvement u really dun worry just keep on trying...plus 6mths after mc quite fertile ok?? i drop u email did u see?

sharky

yr hub SA test was 11% morphology rite? quite good leh...so maybe no nid fish maw haha
why break out in sweat? me n hub enjoy the acu!!

purplelace,

my hub SA morphology is 4% only....

i don knw why he will break out in sweat whenever accup...

im only afraid when i see the needle & the doc poking me with the needle, after that i oso enjoy the accup...

Hi purplelace,

dunno leh.. tot if young nw n SA resut good so chances of ivf successful is higher lor. but i really still undecided lah. cos of all the medicine n injections. actually the cost is not a prob for us.

if try naturally, dunno wen will i strike lor. so a bit sian liao.

can i check the temp before n after ovulation, what are ur temperatures??
This cycle my temp increase very slowly leh..

dunno isit the hormones still haywire lor..

purplelace: ur temp hw? got go bk normal?

Ping:
u mentioned that ur temp roller coaster? can share what are ur temp? this cycle mine also weird weird lor..

xin

oh i see...cost though is not a problem for us..but there is emotion involved....plus both of u still young..but if u n hub hve decided on IVF all the best

i didnt take bbt since my mc in May liao
throw bbt n opk away!

Mia

My doc said I had sticky blood during pregnancy and that wld have cut off the supply to the baby. This was not detected as it was not part of the standard tests they do for pregnancy. All along, the scans and all the heartbeat they did for the baby was healthy.

It was v devasting for both myself and hubby and both side parents as we are all looking forward to the baby (knew it was a baby boy only when i delivered him).

I told Dr Tan tt i felt cold during pregnancy when most preggy ladies felt hot. According to the western doc, they dont think it is a prob at all. H/w, the Chinese TCM told me tt it not v healthy for both me and the baby and the chinese medicine might help. I lost 3kg even when i was 17 weeks preggy (v bad morning (all-day) sickness).

For the fresh fish maw, previously i used slow cooker and cook for a few hours, then add in the medicine. Last sat, i use the normal fire n cook for an hour and add in medicine n cook for another 10 mins. My hubby said tt the taste is not so bad now. Previously, i add in too much water also. But i must say, it is a challenge to buy the fresh fish maw from the market.

I hope tt Dr Tan can help us to conceive naturally.

Xin,

Sorry, I think I lost my BBT chart, can't find it now...

What I can remember, for my first/second month after seeing Dr Tan, my temp keep increasing from 36.3 to 36.8 after O.

But, in third month, after O, my temp went up from 36.3 to 36.7 then 2 days later go down to 36.2 again. This last almost 2 weeks after O. So, I thought there is no hope again for that time and really hope that cycle can finish asap then I can start new cycle again....hahaha

For my opinion, maybe you can give more time to Dr Tan, just see how's the improvement after acu.

Some advice :
- take BBT whole cycle (from day 1 till AF come). So, you can compare your temp every month.
- Try don't take any "cooling" food/drink after O. To me, I listened what Dr Tan told me, drink
fresh warm water (water only boiling on that day) only, don't take cold drink and "cooling" fruits (e.g watermelon, pineapple..etc)
- According to Dr Tan, my body is cooling type and no enough "xue se" - blood colour (after he checked my tongue), so he advised me take more red meat. So, I try to eat red meat at least for 1 meal per day.
- Every time finish "homework", try to lift up your leg for at least 15mins ~ 20mins

<font color="0000ff">Just to check, for Ovulation kit's sensitivity, e.g.

1) 10 mIU/mL LH
2) 15 mIU/mL LH
3) 25 mIU/mL LH
4) 30 mIU/mL LH detection limit

Which one is better? Smaller the number or bigger?</font>

Ping;

thks for sharing.. this cycle, my temp increase from 36.3 to 36.7 for now. today is DPO7. so wondering if the temp will rise further..
Can i ask what did dr tan say abt the low temp that u had that time? so weird.. tot temp have to be high? then do u have other symptoms?