DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

Hi Stormie,

I understand your worry. I have some friends who has the similar problem as you too.So long as you heed his advice and take the medication should not be a problem

But a word of caution, if you encounter any unusual bleeding or spotting, don't sit on it and wait, call clinic immediately.

Yes, this is my 2nd P. If you have read my earlier messages, I did have lots of unstability for 5 weeks.I had bleeding and spotting and was on 3 weeks MC. Had a total of 6 jabs and hormones pills for 3 months

First trimester is crucial and take really good care.

Just rem, every pregnancy is different so take one step at a time. Okie !!

Thanks Angel... you had a very stressful first trimester... good luck and take care... i will take one step at a time but just can't help feeling anxious and Dr Fong is not giving me any reassurance that this pregnancy is a normal one... just gets me a little edgy and just want to do a scan everyday to make sure everything is ok... haha... so kiasu..

Stormie,

Are you also given the hormones pill? I took that for 3 mths and max dosage that make my head spin and feel sleepy.

But just a reminder, don't carry heavy stuff and walk too much. If you can rest just rest. Sleep with a pillow under your legs.

Do you have any morning sickness yet ??

Hi Angel... yup, given the hormones pill... makes me sooooo sleepy after eating it... what is the max dosage? i am eating 3 times a day... try to space the three times once in the morning, once in the later part of the afternoon, once before i sleep so as not to affect too much of my work... i sometimes get so sleepy that i fall asleep while sitting on my chair in the office...

i forgot and carried a box of A4 papers yesterday... though only a short distance, i felt really tired after that... hmm.. i am not sleeping with pillow under my legs yet... think i will kick it away at night... anyway, will give it a try...

not much morning sickness yet.. only once in a while I get a little more sensitive to certain smell which makes me a little naseous... besides that just feeling tired, hungry but no appetite to eat in the day, got to force the food down my throat...

Hi Stormie,

I took 6 a day, 2 each time. So I spaced them all out.Can't eat 2 at one go, cos I will just doze off in office. Every 3 hours I take one.

For my case, with the pills I still bleed and spot so Dr Fong, gave me jab.

I discovered I was P early at 3 weeks and I had those unstable symptons from wk 3 till wk 8 and things start to get better.

I suggest you eat small meal each time.

Hi Angel,

Glad that tings have stablised for you. I think if I think one every 3 hours, I will need a bed in the office... Don't think I can take that... so when are you due?

Stormie,

My Edd is 17th Oct but I plan c-section so should be early Oct. Hubb wants this bb to be born on 1st Oct. Children's day.

So you can imagine my whole day is spinning during the earlier weeks.

Did Dr Fong do any blood test for you ??

Hi Angel, so your kid will be a children's day baby... best wishes!

nope, he did not do any blood test for me... i do not have any unstable symtoms just that nobody knows if this pregnancy is normal or not or it will again die halfway... might just ask him to do a blood test next week just to give myself a peace of mind...

Stormie,

I asked one colleague to see Dr Fong just now cos yesterday she told me she had this unusual brown stains.Then also menses didn't come.So I suspected that she is P.

So I told her don't delay go see a gyne then she told me her formal gyne is on leave. I proposed to her to see Dr Fong. And she took urgent half day.True enough she is now 6 wks P :- )

Also given the same hormones pills we took and a jab.

My office has 10 staff now P. Really productive year.

Can I suggest you ask Dr Fong whether a blood test can tell anything for your case. Blood test can tell whether our body has sufficient hormones to support the preg.

My first P has this sympton so 2nd P Dr Fong first visit already take my blood. True it is low and need supplement and jabs to bring it up to support it.

Hi Angel,

Congratulations to your colleague. how many employees do you have in your office?

Dr Fong actually did mention briefly that I should do a blood test if I want to find out earlier if the baby is growing or not... else wait for one week then go back for a scan...

Stormie,

We are a manufacturing company comprises operation and staff. Total about 500 ++. But staff maybe about 200 I suppose.

In this case, you just go for a blood test to get a peace of mind.

Angel
Dr Fong visits every morning before 9? oh so it's before his clinic opens

In case of labours, will he "fly" down and leave his patients at the clinic? not likely hor... hehee
Oh u had C-section the other time, how long did the healing take, I heard the pain can last for 1 month, true?

I am visiting Dr Fong tomorrow for Triple Blood test, hope to see babies' gender too.

Stormmie
Dr Fong is good, i had problematic 1st Trimester too... but, you need to do your own monitoring too as you know your body reaction better. Dr Fong does not give much assurance (I agree) but better than those who warn you too many things. And make us worry about everything

Hi doggiemummy,

I had my amnio test this morning. I was nervous afraid of needles lo, but not too bad though initial prick into the tummy was a little discomfortable.

I have a boy as he showed the bird proudly. So I will have 2 boys.

Regarding c-section, yes it take longer to heal than natural birth. I have checked with a few friends, natural birth normally by a week, should be ok.

C-section, first 2 days is like bed-ridden, lower body no strength to come up, even to sit up on bed need help.After that the nurses will ask you to come down, try to walk. If still weak, sugg to start to sit on chair first then take one step at a time.

By 2 weeks, wound should be ok, but generally, I do not have much post surgical pain. It is sore at the cut area. And I didn't take any pain killers at all.

But get the abdominal binder, it really helps.The staff nurse helped me to get one from the pharmacy.It holds the wound area and I wore that for one month.

Good thing for c-section, the bleeding/menses is much shorter than natural birth. During the c-section, alot of blood clots are removed.

Hi Doggiemummy,

I think stormie has changed Gyne. Cos she mentioned in other threads.

Sometime, I think it is good not give too much assurance as there are cases of misc due to various reasons. In my office, I have already heard of a few cases, from no heart beat to it dropped out by itself. It is quite sad to hear pp misc.

I just heed Dr's advice, take those med and jabs and rest as much as possible. Till the bb is stabilised.

If too much assurance given and results end up negative, then start blaming again. So I think it is good to not too pin to high hope, but just heed the dr's advice.

I decided to stay on with Dr Fong as he knows my history since first birth though I had some heavy heart issues initially, ( bb not growing, can't heart beat, etc )

hi Angel

Yes, I agree. Well Dr Fong didnt find the cause for my spotting and bleeding too. Hubby didn't like his advice too, everytime say the same time. But I stayed on with him, cos I felt comfortable with him and I could communicate with him. All my friends told me to change Gynea when Dr Fong failed to find Baby 2 until 3rd month. But books say that it is common and since the 2 of them are of the same size then think it's ok lor.

That's why I was mentioning in my above message that we need to "self-monitor" our own body lor. Anyway, scientific measures couldnt help me, i went for the supernatural measures... hehee. To be too assured and pinning too high hopes is not good too, if anything should happen. We may not be able to face it. Just enjoy the pregnancy and hope for the best lor.

Yes I understand about miscarriage cases, I too thought baby was gone when i was bleeding red, couldnt sleep the whole night, asking baby to hang on till morning when Dr Kenneth Lee is here. And baby was still small then couldn't feel if baby was moving

Congrates for your 2 sons
Thanks for sharing the C-Section info.

hi Angel64

congrats on your twins boys .. so envy ...

i am having a gal

I think the point on Dr Fong not able to detect the 2nd bb may not be his fault. As we read, most says ultrasound are not 100% accurate and thus there is no other means for the gynae to detect.

Still didnt manage to see the gender of the babies. We took a while before figuring out the babies' "weird position". They are facing each other, but head to legs. know what I mean? confuse rite? haha... I needed hubby to explain to me again at home before I can visualise. Baby#1 is at 170+ grams, Baby#2 is at 140+ grams. I am at my week 16. I have gained 7kg since pregnancy
more to come...
Dr Fong told me to be prepared for C-section unless at later date babies positions are suitable for natural birth

Dr Fong will be on Conference from 4th to 7th May

ilovebabies
Ya lor I agree, Dr Lee only found baby #2 cos he saw a bit of shadow behind baby #1.

Like the way he talk to the babies from the monitor... makes me the babies are "so alive" since I couldnt feel them all the time

hahaah doggiemummy isnt that wonderful ? talking to the babies ...

I am in 21 weeks now and I talk to my gal once in a while... there was times she can react as I ask her to kick if she understand wat I say to her ! amazing ? well it could be a coincidence but I want to believe that she is listening to me

Hi all, I'm a new member to this forum. Just like to know the success rate of getting preganant again if one has PCO problem

Just went to Dr Fong's clinic this week

Hi Snowy,

I am a mother with PCOS, as diagnoised 3 to 4 yrs back. Now I am into my second pregnancy.

So we still can get P, not to worry. Only setback is that we may not ovulate every month and menses can be irregular.

May need dr assistant to get P. Dr Fong does prescribe clomid to induce ovulation. So there are ways to overcome the problem.

I have a colleague also have PCO but delivered a boy last year. She saw Dr Fong and with his help, she managed to get P. : -)

I think babies can start to hear from 5th months onwards. I rem for my first P,I let my boy hear classical music in the office. I placed my discman under the table on PC CPU. Connect headphone and put on my tummy. ( Not too loud )

Seemd that when he was born, he can associate some of the tunes. At times, when he cries, I hummed those tunes, it can soothe him and he stopped crying.

tks angel64 for the info ... this is really my intention of letting my bb hear the music now ... haha to soothe her to sleep next time so it will be easier for us !

i even heard of this parent who turn on the vacuum cleaner and the bb fall asleep !! this is becos the bb hears all kind of noises inside our tummy and the bb is used to these constant noises.

Hi Angel,

Thks for yr reply. That is a gd news indeed. But my menses have always been regular, so was quite shocked that I have this problem. Anyway I'm going to see Dr Fong for my second apointment next week, will hear what he advise

hi Irene

do u have cramps during mensus ? I know of a fren who has very regular mensus but she has v bad cramps during her mensus and has to go on MC everytime. She has PCOs as well.

Hi ilovebabies,

I do have cramp occasionally during menses and the cramp usually on the 2nd day of my menses.But my cramp is not that bad as per what your friend experienced. Pple with PCOS have to be on long term medication?

hi irene

as far as I know ..there is no cure for this prob. It can only temporary be relief via medication (stopping of mensus) or during pregnancy when there is no mensus. but as what angel mentioned, Dr Fong will help u using medication, so I guess you dont have to worry much. It has been becoming very very common nowadays....

Hi Angel,

I hope you don't mind I ask this question.
Do you get pregnant naturally or through IUI ?
I have PCO as well. For the last 1 year I had been doing the IUI three times. With dr. Fong's helped, I managed to get pregnant on the 3rd IUI but was diagnosed with blighted ovum; so I have to do D & C. Last week was my 4th IUI. I am really hoping this time really works.

Hi Rosary,

It'ok, if I can help and I'll give you as much info as possible.

Let me tell you some of my problems. We tried for only 6 mths and there is no results. Can also say we kiasu cos I was under tremendous stress from relatives and friends to have bb. I myself wanted so much to have a bb. After 6 mth's trial, we seek Dr's help, a famous fertility specialist. And spend a bomb there. I was then diagnoised with PCOS and fortunately my early intervention also found by dr that I have ovarian cysts and fibroids. I went thru a laprascopy to remove those things.

My hubb's spm results also no good, low count and quality also no good. The fertility dr draw some mucuos from my uterus and put some of my hubb's sperms to test out the friendliness of my mucuos. It shocked me that all the sperms could not survive.So how can I get P. Both sides also so neg. After the opt, I was given hormones jabs to rest my womb, and that makes me like going thru menopause. I had those hot flushes, mood swing, horrible feeling.My hubb was on medication for quite awhile to improve the count and quality.

I went thru one cycle of IUI, and I didn't get P.So I was quite disappointed. Dr actually want me to try IVF if we want kids fast. But we choose to do it on our own.

I use the O kit to help me detect the crucial period. I was also half hearted then thinking will not be P so easily. To our surprise, I became P 6 mths after my fertility treatment.

I suggest you follow up closely with Dr Fong. I also did seek a Chinese lady Dr in Jurong East. She also gave me some medication to help my cycle and improve my conception chance. And it was thru her that I know Dr Fong.

Hi Rosary,

I have witnessed my colleague who lost her first baby thru miscarriage. And worst thing was during the time I was P with my first baby.

So I encourage her to See Dr Fong, and she had PCOS with exactly same sympton as me. Irregular menses and cycle can be as long as 45 days to 60 days.During those time, she was on medication to induce ovulation. Dr Fong asked her whether she wants to try IUI. But she didnt't. She did it naturally and was P after that. Her baby now alr coming 5 mths.

I am sure you can make it.

Hi Doggiemummy,

I think for twins' mummy, the load will be heavier than us. Everything is double.

Just heed Dr Fong's advice on the P progress. I saw a triplet's photo in Dr Fong's clinic in Paragon.

Ilovebabies,

I suggest when baby is out,make the home routine the same. eg TV is on, pp talking and things are like usual. The baby will get use to it.

If there is a compromise, like talk softly, cannot on TV, etc, baby will adapt to it and home have to make changes to accomodate her.Even when she is outside alittle noise will wake her.

I suggest you let her be like usual expose to noise so that she will eventually adapt to it.Even how noisy the environment, she still can sleep.

One more thing on sarong,i find that is super addictive. Cos when my boy was newborn, my confinement aunty ( also my hubb's aunty ) gave him the sarong.I prepared everything from cot to sarong and mattress, in case one method can't work, try another.

When I brought my boy out, to my mum's place. There is no sarong there.And my boy was so cranky can't sleep at all, the only way I can soothe him was sat on my mum's bed and bounce like a sarong with him in my arms and managed to doze off.

When I took care of my boy from second mth onwards, I totally eliminate the sarong. He was given cold turkey treatment for 2 weeks when I pat him to sleep on the mattress. It was tough initially but slowly the sarong was off.

When we go out, my boy can sleep on the stroller and no need sarong any more.

hi angel

i agree with you .... i have the same tot as you also until I saw how my niece juggle between Sarong and normal bb cot ... she can sleep with these 2 methods !!

guess my sis is real lucky then !

Hi angel
Dr Fong didnt gave me much advice
except during my bleeding period... but he kept asking me if I have questions for him, he asked us twice before we left.

Are we suppose to fire him with questions?? or he will give us information when the time comes??

Doggiemummy,

I suggest you write down your list of questn before your checkup. I realised many times when I have qn to ask but when see Dr Fong, can't rem
them.

So made a point to write them. Esp first P, tend to have more question.

hi doggiemummy

me like angel, always list down the qns I have along the way .... so that I can bombard him ! hehe anyway we paid for his service leh ! sometimes I have some burning qn I will call and look for Mindy .. the gal with the curly hair ... she is the asst ops mgr there so she is like Dr Fong's righthand gal .... and she will ask Dr Fong on my behalf ....

As for me, really urgent question, I may ask them to pass message to Mrs Fong instead. She is really a very nice lady. :)

My tummy is really hugh, can't imagine at adv stage. Think I will be more tired than before.

By the way, my last trimester towards birth in my last P, it is like first trimester those tiredness. I can doze off in office.

Guess it is the load that tire down my body physically !!

I may plan to go Msia shopping buy bb's things. The baby clothes is cheap over there esp if there is a sale , less 20% further and plus exchg rate.

Last time, I rem I bought alot of Pureen wet tissue, and it is heavy and hubb complained as if singapore don't ve baby wet tissues.

The supply is so much that it can last till my boy now 2 yrs old and I still have abt 5 to 6 packs left.

As for diapers and milk powder I don't think they are that cheap. And I heard the milk powder also taste different no doubt is the same brand.

hi angel

i dont think I dare to go msia now that I am preggie ... u r brave !!
and I am quite skeptical abt buying consumable food over the causeway .... guess I am just timid .... rather buy in singapore ... but I agree that you can save a lot !

Hi Angel,

Are you still on medication for the PCOs even after your pregnancy? Since there is no cure for PCOs, does that mean that we have to be on medication forever?
I'll seeing Dr Fong and the Chinese physician at Jurong East tomorrow for the second time

Hi Angel,

Looks like my 4th IUI also fail, my menses is coming.
I am seeing the Jurong East physician for almost 1 year but so far no results. I know Dr Fong also from the JE physician. Both of them do not give me any medication to regulate my menses. Because of I have PCO and irregular menses, they suggest me to have SO-IUI straight away with Puregon injection everyday. I just follow their advise because I want to get pregnant asap. But nothing happens so far.
What medication did dr Fong give you and your friend to induce the ovulation?
I am thinking of changing chinese physician. My friend advise me to go to Dr. Du Xue Mei at Bukit Timah. Have you heard about this Dr. ?

Hi Snowy & Rosary,

I was told by the Gleneagles fertility dr that my prolactin hormones were high and it causes me to have to irregular menses.So I was on med for quite awhile. But I do not know whether is that the actual cause of my infertility.

I was given the same med clomid by Dr Fong and fertility dr to induce my ovulation. I rem I took them initially one tablet on D2 for 5 days then on D10 took an injection to ensure eggs to release. But one tablet was not effective and it was finally inc to 3 tablets a day.Then I got multiple eggs.

I was worried I will get multiple pregnancies but my trial then didn't succeed ( Failed to get P ) Guess was too stressed and die hard to have a bb.
Then finally I resort to the ovulation kit which I bought from JE chinese Dr a pack of 10 for $20. and tried to detect my ovulation myself. Finally I got P in Yr 2003 and in March 04 I gave birth to a boy.

After birth, I miss my mense for 7 mths as I was continuously bfeeding my boy. Subsequently my cycle got more regular and I was able to tell when I start to ovulate. Guess what pp say could be quite true, after birth tends to be more fertile.

From the egg white discharge to mid mth cramp at the lower abdominen. My second P was conceived without any drugs or kit used.

I have not consulted any other Chinese Dr, except the lady Chinese dr in JE. Is your hubb's spm ok ?? Sometimes it is not totally the woman's fault. My hubb was also on med to improve his spm quality and qty before we made it.

Did your hubb see Chinese dr and Dr Fong as well?

Hi Angel,

I just went to see Dr Fong this afternoon and he told me that he will not give me any medicine (clomid) cos I told him we intend to have pregnancy through the natural way. Ask me to see him in 3-4 mths times if no gd news yet and he will ask me to take clomid then.

The Chinese Physician that we saw this morning ask my husband to go for the sperm test to see the sperm quality, i consulted Dr Fong in the afternoon who advised that not necessary at this moment for my husband to do sperm test since we planned to have natural pregnancy

Hi Snowy !

Did you buy the ovulation kit from the chinese dr ? I think that kit can helps to determine the crucial period to do it.

Guess your PCOS is not as serious as us. So chance of getting P naturally is high. Suggest you take things lightly and let it happen.

If possible you get that kit and test out when your mid cycle is.

Hi Angel,

I did not buy the ovulation kit from the Chinese Physician, the doc only prescribe some medicine for me to take. Since we intend to take it naturally we shall wait for 3-4 mths later and see if I have any gd news, otherwise will see dr fong and maybe buy the ovulation kit.

As dr fong said to me just now since I just have a miscarriage, these few mths I should be quite fertile, so no harm trying to get pregnant through the natural way