DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

Hi doggiemummy,

Actually,many old folks asked me to take Kao Li Shen which is very tonic and heaty stuff. I ve checked with Chinese Dr before. I can take Kao Li sheng but not Tang Kwai. And not sure whether can take during this period of P as I am on that hormones pills and jabs.

Me seeeing Dr Fong every week, and earlier it was every 3 to 4 days from Wk3 till today Wk8.Imagine how I spend already as of today. Sigh !!

Cervical Insuffiency does happen but rare.In my first prenancy, I encountered same thing spotting and cramps but after a jab it does not happen anymore.Was on the same hormones pills but not so high dosage.

My colleague told me if you did that stitch for this pregnancy, the following pregnancy have to do it.Well, in my heart I was thinking after this one, I will close factory. Too tiring and my age also carry more risk as well.

Touch wood, for 2 days I ve no sign of bleeding or spotting. Haven't take any tonic or special food. My appetite is no good and portion eaten also much lesser. But my tummy is hugh looks like 3 to 4 mths. The jabs actually causes bloatedness.
As of today I took 6 jabs. Sigh !!

Angel...
the chicken soup is not as heaty as kao li shen lor, i was just puzzled if it didnt happen during your 1st pregnancy, it should not happen now rite?? (i thought) try to take some mild bu pin or go for 2nd opinion lor
good luck gal, take care

Hi Doggiemummy,

I am now taking chicken essence as a supplement tonic. Anyway it has high protein, still better than nothing.

First trimester, pregnant mums can't take ginseng.Read in some articles before. Importantly don't mix eastern and western medicine together.

If things go through smoothly, I will take extra effort to take all the good tonic during confinement. Guess this is my last p cos 2 is enough liao to give them quality time. It is during the after birth, our bodies absorb better those tonic than any other time. I experience myself, during the first 40 days after birth, I find myself eating all those heaty confinement food and tonic. I didn't fall sick or feel heaty.

After 40 days, went to mum place and eat similar confinement food, not long later got sore throat, feel heaty and fall sick. My mum told me the body before 40days are absorbing all the tonic back, so if can eat just eat all the quality stuff.

angel
my chicken soup recipe is a pass down from grand parents kind of thing. It's better than chicken essence, there are a few other ladies in this forum also taking it. Please try. Think I am not the only one worrying for you

Preparation:
1 buy a small/middle black chicken,
2 use the back of knife to hit/break the bones of the chicken
3 place a small plate inside a big bowl
4 place the black chicken over the plate (no parts of chicken should be outside the bowl. i.e. the bowl MUST contain everything)
5 heat wok , then place some water into it (not too much water as water may sip into the bowl)
6 place bowl (with chicken) into the wok of hot water.
7 steam for 3~4 hours (check constantly to make sure water do not dry up)

Hi Doggiemummy,

Frankly speaking, I don't dare to eat black chicken. I can drink the soup but don't ask me to eat the black chicken meat. I have never taken that in my life.

Seemed that your recipe has no herbs at all !!

hi Angel
you have been mentioning "that stitch", what exactly is that? I have misc b4, so very worry that my next preg will not carry through again...touch wood!!

Btw, Dr Fong prescribed me some pills to boost hormone levels and I finally carried to full term for my previous preg. Girl now 13 months liao, still waiting for the chance to go back visit Dr Fong and let my girl take photo with him leh...heehee

Hi Liz

You can check out my other thread.
It's the last 4th thread in this forum. title :
" Anyone experience incompetent cervic that is stitched up " Some mothers have contributed there.

Hi Doggiemummy,
My edd should be around end of october. What about you?

Hi Angel,
I was given folic acid and some hormones pills. No blood test done. Just a scan and since can only see waterbag, he ask me to go back 2 weeks later.

marmalade
Mine is 12th or 13th Oct. I am at the Oct 2006 MTB you can join us there.

I was given folic acid and homones pills too, without blood test done

Angel,
My recipe is to drink the soup only, then chicken will be tasteless by the time the soup is ready

Hi doggiemummy
Sorry for late reply cos i have been experiencing morning sickness and too sick to come online. I'll join you in the Oct 2006 MTB tread after confirming my EDD with Dr Fong cos I think my EDD should be 31 Oct but maybe its not.Otherwise join liao will be kicked to the Nov tread. Haha..

marmalade
I saw baby moving last night, waving and kicking hard ... bb's now 3.11cm ... hubby is very excited and shock cos he didnt expect to see baby's fully developed (head body hands legs)

Hi Doggiemummy,

So are you in your 9th or 10th weeks ? How is your morning sickness? I guess mine should be peaking with extreme tiredness and appetite slightly better now.

Really die hard for spicy hot stuff, ate 2 days of black pepper beef. If you can take beef, it is good for bb as it is high in iron. I took alot in my first pregnancy and my boy, flesh now is tough.
Tough and strong. See, if there is chance I can post his pic.

Doggiemummy
Wow! So fast can see the baby movement..Can imagine both of you must be really happy and excited ! I'm happy for you too!
My appointment is next Monday. Hopefully Dr fong can see something also.
Angel
I have morning sickness too. Not much appetite just feel like drinking coke to ease the nausea feeling but my hubby don't allow. So i just put medicated oil and lie down most of the time.

Hi Doggiemummy and Marmalade,

Dr Fong said morning sickness is good, showed that you body is reacting to the rising hormones. But it will take some time to go away. I rem my first pregnancy, morning sickness start very late at 9th weeks and last thru 14weeks.

Afterwhich once stabilised, I start to do shopping and buy baby stuff.

My check up is next week Tues at Paragon. Will ask for MC don't want to rush back office.

Doggiemummy,

Ya, but it all depends on individual body. All pregnancies are different.

So I guess your check up also not so frequent now.
He will space out eventually to once a month.

Only at 5th mth his package will start. Still long way to go, Sigh !!

Angel
Dr Fong say normally no MS = can eat well
now 3 weeks see him once. After I finish this time's homones pills, can stop liao ... clap clap... save some $

Hi Doggiemummy,

I took at least 8 boxes of hormones pills. I also hope my next check up say finish no need to take.

Do you get hungry fast. I can't take much rice, but I have snacks in between. My head still giddy alot. Think it is the effect of the hormone pills.

We mothers have to endure all this kind of pain, ending with the labour pain. But take it as a life time experience. Not everyone experience labour pain.

Just wanna share my sad story. Went to see Dr Fong this morning and after doing a vagina scan he told me my waterbag is empty,he did a thorough scan but just can't find the baby inside. I am already in my 7th week now.He said this is caused by poor quality sperm or ovum,that's why baby can't survive.In fact i didn't experience any spotting or bleeding all this while. Just some morning sickness. Upon his advice, me and my husband decided to wait for another week if still can't detect anything, he will need to wash off the waterbag before any complicancies arise.

Marmalade,

I suggest you see another Gyne for second opinion. I was like you when Dr Fong told me my baby not growing and can't find heart beat. No choice have to spend a bit more to seek from another Dr. Play safe for the innocent life.

I heaved a sigh of relief when my second opinion dr saw baby and heart beat.

hi Marmalade
ya, i agree with angel. go for a second opinion. I have similiar experience (but not with Dr Fong), but not so lucky, second opinion (different dept but same hosp) also no heartbeat...I did an op to so-call clean the womb. but now, i still regret a little, should have gone for a third opinion with another hosp...

Hi Angel and Lis,

Thanks for the suggestion. I will discuss with my husband but so far Dr Fong seems to give me a good impression, look professional and seems to know his job well. Anyway, I hope he is wrong this time.

Lis,
Was that your first pregnancy when you need to wash it off?

Dr Fong say after I finished this box of homones pills, I can stop taking them. Baby was 3.11 cm when I saw him on ww9.5 (13th Mar) no MS yet, dun feel so tired anymore, but still eating alot as usual.

hi marmalde
yes, it's my first preg. For my 2nd one, also did the "washing"(i have 2 misc, only my 3rd preg whom I consulted Dr Fong is successful, but my first gynae is a famous one and I think she's good) But the no heart-beat case is my second preg, the 1st misc starts from spotting.

Hi Marmalade,

Today just had my checkup.Ask Dr Fong about the stitiching whether need to do it. He said he will check again and stitch is only done in second trimester. But didn't hear him say anything after scan.

I am now 10 weeks++ and baby is very active kicking legs and switching hands hard.Now 4.2cm big.He said the size is bigger supposed to be 11 weeks baby.Told him this P I take alot of soft drink cos the nausea feeling makes me want to eat and drink sweet stuff.HE said it's ok for me as I can't eat much rice and sometime end up vomitted all out.

As this P, milk also a turn off. Asked him need calcium supplement, he said first trimester no need to as our body has enough reserve.If I can't take milk don't force as it will make me vomit more.

Next visit is 3 weeks later. EDD 17th Oct. So almost same time as Dogiemummy.

Mamarlade,

See a second gynae and hear is it the same diagnosis.

Hi Lis,
You must be really down during the first 2 misc but luckily you got through the 3rd pregnancy. Congrats!

Hi Angel,
Good to hear everything going well on you..I'll be going to another gynae this coming sat. Hope turn out well but I am already prepared for the worse.

Hi Marmalade,
I had exactly the same case as yours.9 weeks pregnant, no heartbeat, no bleeding, empty waterbag. Dr Fong suggested me to do the wash off. To reconfirm what he said, I went to another gynae for 2nd opinion, however he also could not find the heart beat. Finally we decided to do the wash off. I suggest you to look for 2nd opinion. Or 3rd opinion if necessary.
Take care, hope everything goes well.

sorry I MIAed for awhile, was given hospitalisation leave till 13th April, Dr Fong told me to have complete bed rest. Was bleeding last week scared me half dead, but babies are ok, still swimming around happily, after scaring me and hubby. Don't know the root cause of the bleeding yet but everything is normal, cervix did not dilate too. So now it's rest rest and rest.

Oh yes, a piece of good news to share, i am expecting twins, non identicate. Baby 2 was hiding behind Baby 1 all the while. just caught him on scan recently, when I was admitted to Mt A for bleeding. So the bleeding may be due to my body cant work so hard now, now that I have twins.

Office people, bu4 wen2 bu4 wen4 (didnot call to check up on my condition) hopefully when i return my desk is still around. There was a case of a clerk being fired for taking too many MC during her pregnancy.

Hi DoggieMummy,

Wah !! double bonus le esp u first time mummy. Take good care and rest well as your tummy grows. You will deliver earlier than me as twins normally does not carry to full term.

What did Dr Fong do to stop the bleeding ?? Jabs again and hormones pill ?

I will see him next week, finally passed the first trimester. Keep me posted on your progress.

Angel,
I saw Dr Keneth Edward Lee when I was at Mt A, Dr Fong was overseas. I was given Jab at Mt A, and Dr Lee told me to have complete bed rest. After a few days, I went to see Dr Fong, he only checked if my cervix has dilated due to my babies weight. No more homones pills, as I have reached ww 12. The pills will not help anymore as the placentas are fully formed

The best way to stop bleeding is to lie in bed and dont move around, as if the bleeding is caused by a tear or something, we need to lie there and wait for the tear to heal by itself

Doggiemummy,

Seemed that Dr Kenneth Lee is his stand-in Dr cos my last pregnancy, he went overseas when I was in 36 weeks.Told me to page for Dr K Lee if I go into labour.

I put on too much weight, now only 14 weeks already put on 6.5kg.My target is below 15 kg. Last pregnancy, I put on 15.7 total but after birth I had 3 kg more to shed. But before I could do it, now p again : - )

I will want to loose some weight after this seond birth. AS we aged, better keep a norminal weight, cos once hit 40's alot of problems like diabetic, high blood pressure tends to creep in if unhealthy.

I start to feel baby light twitching inside.Very nice feeling, it make you feel secure. For first pregnancy you will take a while longer to discover that is baby movement.

This is my second P, and I am more aware of the symptons.

Hi doggie mummy,

How are your babies progressing ? I am now into week14 and baby is about 8++ cm.

Dr Fong advised me to take the aminocetisis test ( cho yang shui in chinese ).Instead of blood test. It will be done in Wk 16. This will determine whether baby is abnormal.
But I did ask Dr Fong to check the NT scan where he measured the baby neck thickness, if the value is big, it is an abnormal sign. But mine is ok again this is only an indication not actual result.

There is also a difficulty as the placenta position is on the front of the womb, kind of blocking the view thru scan. So have to be very careful in doing the test. After poking thru the tummy, I will have to rest on bed with less movement for 2 days. There is also some small risk of miscarriage.

What to do, when I am fated to have a second baby at this age !!

hi angel

Dr Kenneth Lee is Dr Fong's ex-classmate.

I am at my week 14 plus
babies are active... can feel their movement already, told hubby to double confirm by listening to what they are doing, they are swimming faster when i felt the kick. But feels like 1 baby is more active than the other one

I will be seeing Dr Fong at the end of the month, at week 16 exactly. Will be doing the blood test, to check for DS.

Hmmm... Dr Fong didnt do any measurement for me leh. Do I need to request him to do the neck thickness check? or leave it to him?

hi doggiemummy

I ask Dr Fong about it and he straight told me he can do it when he scan me. Guess u request about it.

But are you alr 35 ? If not, risk is low. Me borderline case, P time is b4 35 but will be 35 during birth.

I have to call clinic again tomorrow to cancel blood test but go straight to amnio test instead. No point for both.

angel
i am 30 yrs... oh then I must remember to ask Dr Fong during my next visit. Need to call to cancel blood test?? actually blood drawn from who? mum or baby?? I didnt tell Dr Fong if I want to do the blood test :p he only say consider

Hi Doggiemummy,

Actually my first P, I was about 32+ I didn't take the blood test. Dr Fong told me not necessary. Only did one blood test at 7 mths to check my blood count and antibody on hepatitis that's all.

Detailed scan is very impt. It tells you the baby actual growth and measure the baby's heart and blood flow etc.check baby's artery etc, all the important organs.

Blood is drawn from mother but my amnio test is draw the amnotic fluid from the baby water bag thru the belly button.

Hi Doggiemummy,

Ya, those time he said not necessary. So I didn't do it. You ask again next check up. I just called paragon clinic and ask them to make app for me to do the amnio test at tmc, likely to be in early May.Dr Fong also away for some conferences.

So wait for clinic to call.

Angel
Dr Fong is away on the 1st week of May, I think. my appointment was suppose to be on 3rd May, but was brought forward to 27th April.

Hope he is around during our labour

Doggiemummy,

Is your twins a fraternal or identical ? Forgot to ask you that.

So I guess you have to buy most baby things in double qty. Like stroller, milk bottles etc.

But good, one shot 2 goals : - )

I hope he will schedule mine on second week, so I can rest the whole week as there is a public holiday. After that amnio test, I ve to rest for 2 days.

Angel
My twins are fraternal.
Ya lor need to buy double, I will be shifting back to MIL's place, so I can forget about equiping my own Flat with the baby stuffs, if not I need to buy 4 sets (2 sets at MIL place, 2 sets at my place)... hahaa

Oh you are delivering at TMC? I will be at Mt A (most likely). Cos Dr Fong volunteered to meet me at Mt A A&E the other time, so I presume he goes there more often ... hahaa

Doggiemummy,

I will deliver in Mt A. prefer there cos more spacious than TMC. If you do your general scanning there you know what I mean.

I kaypo b4 ask the mt A nurses, is Dr Fong popular in Mt A ? Seemed that he is quite well known there. In fact my last delivery, there are other mothes delivered too, cos saw him came out of other room when I walked to nursery to see my baby.

Angel,

Ya lor, when I went to the Mt A A&E, the nurses seems to know him quite well

General Scanning Room?? not the Room at A&E rite? I slept at the 2 bedded room once, overnight. Quite spacious lor. The nurses not bad too.

doggiemummy,

I meant was the TMC hospital, is very small and cramp. MT A is spacious.

We should be doing our detailed scan end May.It is done at TMC.

Will you attend any antenatal class at Mt A ? Think will be good to first time mothers. I think I attended around 6 months time.

But yours will be C-section so those breathing techniques will not be put into use. Anyway my time, at peak of labour, we scream instead of doing those breathing exercises

hihi... I am new here... I am seeing Dr Fong at the moment (5.5 weeks pregnant) and was just wondering if anyone has comments about his stitching skills, whether he visits you after the delivery etc?

Hi Stormie,

I had an emergency c-section in the last pregnancy by Dr Fong. He is good as my wound is not obvious after 2 years. It becomes a light pinkish line. So not to worry.

Normally, after birth, he will visit the mother every morning around 9 am.

As for delivery, it can be anytime, my case was he came in at 11 + pm and end up in caeserean till 1 plus am.

Hope this info helps.

Hi Doggie,

Clinic has called me, my amnio test is on Wed. Wish me luck cos I ve phobia with needle and pain.

Last time, at birth, I struggled with Dr Fong and he didn't succeed in bursting the water bag. End up he called the anasthecian dr to give me epidural.

So you can imagine how traumatic it was for me at birth.

Thanks Angel! it helps to ease my worries a bit... been with him for my previous pregnancy which ended at 12 weeks as the heartbeat just stopped... so very anxious now.. not sure if the same thing will happen... so this is your second pregnancy?