Cup cakes for birthday

gunjan, nice cake! yummmm!

eron, guess many of us have skinny children. maybe must bake more and feed them more! haha!

angi_wee, think i saw the dog bone cutter in daiso... not too sure now but i ever saw it. shud not be too difficult to find.

pink, i wan, i wan! tis sat i'm free! yr monsters not in huh? i tot of bringing my monkeys lei....sigh!

nlh: nice cookies
fr. where did u get cranberry? carrefour or Harvest?

pink: U R my inspiration
which white choc cake recipe U R referring to ?

Nice zebra cake!!!

abt cuppies : mee fool, inda last 5 min, i incresed da temp, i tot cuppies r not baked well, so they gets darker on da top. but i trim da top n frost da cuppies with italian merigue buttercream. hee hee hee

no inside photo of da cuppies. next time i will shoot it

Hi Eron,
Ur qns for me had been answered by few fellow mummies ^^ Daiso is like those $1.99 shops..selling all sort of barang like stationery,kitchen ware items, decoration, snacks etc.

ya..North or East dun hv if not wrong...else will be more accessible.. =)

wow...so many pages,n i'm still reading it

All the pics on the pastry make me more hungry n slow down on my work...haha...

Hope tat i can catch up with all the mummies but i doubt so...busy with work n preparing for my overseas posting

But there's something i can contribute is the link of this chef : www.amypastry.com
Attended her lesson n thumbs up for her chiffon cake with 3 different types of topping.

Hv a nice day

gunjan,
yr macaroon really tempting.... i still dare not to try, cos to me, it's too difficult leh... tho my shi fu keep encourage me to try.. thumb up for u !!
i tot yr chocolate cake made from white eggs, cos my hubby got high cholestrol, my MIL oso, and i've lots of white eggs left over, so wanna do other thingy lor.. ha ha!

catika,
yr Q abt: how come lapis can one layer beige, one layer brown? ... how to do that leh? ... think i need to explore how to grill (<-- is it gently bake?) using my morries... *sigh*.
yes, coz of using grill function, every layer of the lapis cake will have that result, the brown layer actually is the surface of the cake

HI CL,
nice cuppies!!! thumb up!!

the white base, the cars is fondant?
the alphabeth is gummy sweet from sunlik?

weldone!

pls send my wishes to him, tell him aunty pink say:
HAPPY BIRTHDAY...... may God bless him!

hihi pink, u'r right its addictive! juz wanna see e end pdt very shiok! hahhaha... not nice nvm pretty can ord hahhaha...

can i invite myself 2ur baking session?

any west mummys?

huh JB! so far away! if u gg help me buy lor hehehe i wanna cut cookies for my king seth hahha he my loyal supporter! hahhaha

hihi hwee, daiso dont have, i IMM kid always go de...

oya pink ur cake look very nice! but my std not there yet, got any ez recipes of pound cake?

hihi pony, e cuppies very nice too! very expensive? yummy?

Hi pink,

for yr zebra cake, how to put batter alternatively to create the zebra look? yrs looks so nice~

CL, I think those on top are all fondant right? Alphabet, cars and white base. But how come can get "outline" for the car? you use edible marker?

Jsmum, I think I also got to give a miss to the potluck ler. Paiseh hor, don't kill me. Too rush for me as my in law has wedding "lunch" and I got to take care of my son until she got back.

Potluck before CNY :-

Date: 20th Jan 2008, Sunday, 2-6pm
Venue: (1) Has been changed - within Tampines/Pasir Ris area
Food: Pls indicate your speciality

1) n2inpink (1+2) bring: rendang chicken, spinach and ham frittata, assorted sushi (simple one), risoles (indonesian finger food), onde onde
2) Js'Mum (1 + 2) : yam cake, pineapple rice
3) xiau ling : layang layang, Lidah kucing( Indonesian cookies )
4) Dearie_e (3+1) peanut&amp;red bean pancake
5) mdl (tentatively: tiger strips peppermin choco cake)
6) hwee (2+2) will bring desserts (let me know wat you all like)
7) Catika (2+2) finger food
8) Ruffy_happy( cream puffs)

Memoiracts
R u chicken little? Oops saw your ans
Do u need to cover your cookies wif aluminium foil when u bake wif toaster? Wat is the baking time u set?
Happy b'dy to your boi. Beautiful cup cakes! Wat is the white base, cars made of?

Xiau Ling
Supermkt sells uncooked ones. If u want cooked ones can buy fm stores selling chee cheong fan

Catika
My mum's oven oso gives out smoke on top while baking. I wz shocked but noticed happened agn next time I bake

CL, you don't reveal your son's age huh? I know lar, the cutter you bought are all alphabets one, don't have number mar. Hehe, am I right? I got the same set of cutter from PH, $4.50.

angi_wee, think i saw it in daiso in plaza sin. sometimes they carry different stuff in diff outlet. i'm also in the west. i stay in cck. goes to imm too!

xiau ling, its very easy to toast the sesame seeds. either in a pan over low fire or toast in oven. no oil. just let it toast in pan until you smell the fragrance. or if you toast in oven, just set abt 80-100C and toast for 20 to 30 minutes. store in airtight container after cooled. can sprinkle over anything including your vegetables and rice.

CL,
Very nice cupcakes leh.. u use fondant for the car and white base?

BP for Agar Agar Mould
==================
I will be going down this wkend or coming monday. Please let me know if u are interested and I can help buy and post. Unsure of the price but think should be around $2.

1) Mdl - Peach x 1

hwee, really? if u saw it a long time ago then it muz be gone ord lor... pls help me keep a look out k? ooo u stay cck, i stay JW, lets go imm together soon! ru a sahm? my king seth is coming 18mths, u?

Thks May,

BP for Agar Agar Mould
==================
I will be going down this wkend or coming monday. Please let me know if u are interested and I can help buy and post. Unsure of the price but think should be around $2.

1) Mdl - Peach x 6, SHOU x 1

May Wong, can you help find out the shop's name and the opening hour. Probably go down on Sunday see see look look. Btw, not sure is that the cheap shop that has been stated by xiau ling ler. Xiau ling, what is that address again? Same shop not?

angi_wee, yes, me at cck. but me FTWM. hee hee....my prince is 13mths and i have another princess who is 6.
sure, can only go imm after off hrs and weekends... :p

BP for Agar Agar Mould
==================

1) Mdl - Peach x 6, SHOU x 1
2) Peng - Peach x 2, SHOU x 1

angi-wee, yes. if i come across will get for you. any specific size you looking for? i suppose its for your king seth? (same as my prince, born in yr of dog)

hi ladies, so long didn't post any pic of my fruit. hee hee...most of the time all cakes eaten up so fast didn't remember to take pics before. anyhow, last night made these gula melaka chiffon. nothing left liao.

1188582.jpg

1188583.jpg

pink: i still dun understand leh... how come one layer 'white' one layer brown? the brown layer u grill longer arh? also, grill is gently baked arh? ... this saturday i going bedok/kaki bukit... maybe arrange again? ... if i'm going, will bring my lao-da, can?

pink: also, 500cc egg white means i beat/whip up the 20 egg whites and scoop out 500cc (equiv. to 500 gram) ... also, izit condensed milk u use fernleaf full cream milk? ;)

hwee: where u get the small cute cute pandan cake mould wor... me interested... hahaha...

Hi hwee,
R those mini chiffon pans? can share where u bot it from &amp; how much? Gula melaka chiffon recipe can share? =p tks

shook: no leh... mine comes out from the sides of the door... very surround wor... hahahahah... this saturday me going kaki bukit (morries service centre) to see technician!
for this brand, it will be normal if first time like that: empty oven warm up maximum temp for 15mins to get rid of the oil coating on the heating elements...

but i bake 4 times liow... still so "surround system"

yesterday i went down to sunlik. saw some mini pandan cake mould.. have diff sizes though.

i made fruit tart and pizza again last sunday but my camera failed me last min. the toopid card got struck. cant on and take pics.. got to send in for service.. but this time fruit tart pasty softer and nicer coz i made till real thin.

catika, mdl, i got those from daiso. but they ran out of stock. got the balance from ntuc and tangs at double the price! haiz! i like them small and cute.
i also have those bigger ones but now only use these small ones to bake chiffon.

i dun have the recipe on hand will upload them later.

hwee and mummies... seems like daiso is a good place to see see look look for baking stuffs hor... but only S$2 ... the quality can or not? ... wait bake liow release some coating/poison... die die when makan??? :p

anyone encounter any 'bad quality' things?

Mdl: hahahaha... wait get too many peach mould... u can invent a 'tree with branch stand' and then do agar agar peach tree... really longevity b'day wish liow!!! :p .... *think it will really be innovative and nice wor* ...

hehee..no la...cos think time consuming if will to wait for one mould to set before i cld make another one. so best is doing all 6 peaches at one go lor 'wrink'

uhu i'm gg daiso ltr who need to cek stk of pdts?

i rmb seeing those cute mini doughnut cutters thou...

quality i think should be ok coz jap stuff althou some made in china but perhaps stricter QC? hhahhaa...

Hwee
Do u wash the sesame seeds b4 frying or baking?
Which section in Daiso do u get the baking stuff?

Catika
OIC my mum's oven is light smoke @ the top
Oh 1st time use gotta turn to max temp n heat up for 15min. Thx. I only remember gotta heat up but can't remember temp n duration
" 'tree with branch stand' and then do agar agar peach tree... really longevity b'day wish"
v innovative

catika, the quality ok la. cant expect much for $2. for those chiffon moulds its mixture of metal and aluminiun, quality stil ok la. so far have baked more than 5 times liao. if got poison should have effect liao right?

angi-wee, have fun! i never come out empty handed in daiso.

shook, actually no. oops! if you wan i guess can wash and air dry them before toasting. for daiso, i go to their kitchen / baking section. they really have all sorts of stuff!

Help me, pink !!!!

I'm one of the mummies attended your 22nd Dec workshop. Tried twice baking the vanilla cupcakes using the receipe you gave us.

Even though that day on the workshop, my group was not making this cupcake, I reckon the result of the cupcake should be the same as the marble ones.

My problem is : my cupcakes crack on the top (if i filled up too much). Secondly, the texture is thick and moist in the centre of the cake.

What could have gone wrong? Is it my oven? I'm using a simple electric oven, Tefal, without fan. How can I recify this problem?

Solutions/comments from other mummies are welcome too.

Chicken Little
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YR SON

shook
i want to buy to bake cookies put on top wan

hwee

nikonnet1
it is this addreas?

Lee Bee Enterprises Co
Blk 507 Jurong West St. 52
#01-154
Tel : 6665 5972

Here also selling Agar Agar Mould peach they selling $1.80 if i not wrong coz last week i also buy agar2 mould.

Gim Hin Lee (Pte) Ltd
Block 10 Haig Rd #01-363/365 Tel : 6742-8388

Xiau Ling, I think you and May Wong talking about the same shop. The market block is 505 mar. She said near to market block so 507 is the one lor.

Thanks for the address again. I think you posted it here for at least 3rd times already. Hehe..

maruolin, i have the same problem as you when i baked my cupcakes first few times. wat i do is i reduce the heat by 5-10C and bake longer for abt 5-10 minutes. cracking on top is ok, part of baking process tho not all cakes will crack.
guess pink shud be able to advise better.

angi_wee, you good lor. i cannot resist shopping at anytime.

hwee
Initially I din wash. My mum told me muz wash if not v dirty. True enuff the bottom got a lot of sand when I wash. Now dare not buy uncooked 1
Saw Daiso selling pipping tip wif pistol. Wonder if tis is gd??
Do your cup cake hv smooth flat top after u reduced the temp n increase duration of baking?