Cup cakes for birthday

Wah...this thread is really fast leh. Only 2 days never log on and its already moving on so fast.

I gg on the 9 dec workshop..so no one attending this date?

Js mum I will trsf the paper cup$ to u shortly. Can u help to pass it to pink and i will collect it from her during the workshop. Cos not working at the east liao.

xiauling, indeed can see lots of improvment in ur frosting.

Another suggestion on the non stick spray...I bought those empty container meant for hair spray and filled it with veg oil and spray on the tray.

Jst wanna share custard cream cake baked by my niece who is only 13 yrs old. Yummy....
I told her next time anyone in the family wanna order birthday cake can go to her. She baked nice banana choco cake too. I told her I'll be posting it in the forum to share her master piece with u mummies here. She told me don;t want and its ugly...'I say wah ur standard very high leh!!!!'

Catika what u bake? And wat happen maybe mummies here can help to retify the source.

1088144.jpg

1088145.jpg

1088146.jpg

catika
i going workshop but i not sure. wat date. hehe... wait 2inpink inform me coz any date i`m ok wan. Maybe 9 dec
fatmum
wow yr niece only 13 yr old become young chef liao. yummy custard cream cake. Hungry liao.

my baking today was a total failure...the cake..haiz...the frosting worse...
the 1st few was still ok...but then suddenly all melt...
what is happening?? anyone of you can enlighten me?
PS: didnt even dare to take pixs. :S

Xiau Ling, I also dunno whom the recipe belong to, is fm one of the archive. I use buttercream.
btw, is the cream very sweet? Although the cream melt...the kids still love it but all adults says is way tooo sweet. :$

xiau ling, sweetie_hamster
How do u est the size of dough to cut for the base for fruit tarts?

Js'mum
Gonna miss your donut demostration on 15 Dec

fatmum
Impressed wif your 13 yr old niece's master pc

who going to n2inpink's workshop on 20th?

Xiao Ling/Fat Mum: Hey I'm gging on the 9th too..

Cant remb which thread I loaded this receipe from. Thot it seems easier than the flaky pastry. Is the crust the same type as the egg tart we buy from the shops?

Btw if I bght the tart mould (not disposable type). So after baking how do I remove the tart fr the mould?

Btw Egg Tart Filling: Some recipe call for evaporated milk to b added. This receipe don. So will I get the same taste?

EGG TARTS

Ingredients for egg filling
160g sugar
300ml water
lemon slice
8 egg yolks and 7 egg whites
1 drop yellow coloring (not nec, but use it if you find that the egg colour is in pale yellow)

Method for the egg filling
1. Stir in sugar into boiling water till dissolved
2. Add the lemon juice and set aside till cooled
3. Lightly beat the eggs and filter the eggs
4. Combine the eggs with the sugar water. Set aside.

Ingredients for Pastry
250g butter at room temp
450g flour
1 egg
1tsp vanilla essence
Method for pastry
1. Sift the flour
2. Rub the butter with the flour till like crumbs
3. Add egg and knead till dough like
4. Add essence and mix well.
5. Take a portion and shape the crust into tart mould.

** Method (for Oven)
1. Bake the tart crust at preheat oven at 180C for 10mins. (Make sure that the crust is completely baked and dry).
2. Pour egg mixture into crust and bake at 180C for about 10 - 15mins. (Make sure egg filling is cooked but do not overbake as the filling will result in a crack. I didn't watch the clock, I watch the oven window).

foreverfriend, i use 20g cos my tart mould is the medium size one...but i do find the crust too thick. can reduce or increase it accordingly. hope this info helps.

Here's the updates on the trays n paper cups:-

A very nice mummy had offered me her help to buy for us instead yesterday cos she's nearby tat area and I accepted with great appreciations.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+0">BIG THANK YOU to You and Your hb, Shook!!!</font></font>

Updates on the payments are here:

mime_msexcel.gif

Order for Donut tray n Paper cups.xls (17.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

<font color="ff6000">nikonnet1,</font>

I hv passed the trays n paper cups to n2inpink's maid liao. You may arrange with pink tmr when she's back to pick up oso for <font color="0000ff">Icelim, dearie_e,sweetie_hamster and watie</font>. But I hvn't hear from Watie if she's cnfm on her tray leh. Can you check for me pls? Thank you so much!

<font color="119911">3rascals,</font>

Shook has your tray and paper cups liao. She will contact you. Thks!

<font color="ff0000">Mummies collecting at n2inpink's workshop,</font>

All your trays n paper cups are with n2inpink liao. For those who haven't pay me, pls kindly do so asap, appreciates that.

Oh, forgot to tell you gals this. Shook actually grabbed all the trays off the rack at Sun Lik. The boss 'scratched' his head and said "Dun know why recently the trays are so <font color="ff0000">"HOT SELLING"</font>, if known early, should hv ordered more." He must be so happy now tat biz is picking up more recently.

HAHAHA!!!

Thanx Xiao ling. Didnt try Egg tart todae. Tried cream puffs, thot it'll b easier.. BUT flopped. became "pancakes" instead...

Help help!!!

Do u all hv a weighing machine @ hm to weigh flour, sugar etc? How to measure 120g plain flour, if I don hv a weighing scale?

I;ve got measuring spoons & cups @ hm. when receipe calls for 1 TSBP, do i scoop a flat TSBP or a heaped TSBP..

Need to clarify these doubts b4 i try on creams puffs & donuts..

3rascals,

How's your egg or fruit tarts? Can share here and give me some? I like fruit tarts..hehe.

<font color="aa00aa">Catika,</font>

Sure, will see you on 15th.

Hmm..why not share here abt your baking? Maybe the experts here can help you. This thread is meant for sharing and learning as you know leh.

<font color="0000ff">fatmum,</font>

Sure, oredi with n2inpink.

Wow, your niece so high standard arh? The cake looks so yummy n nice. Tell her we envy her so much leh...can bake at this young age. FANTASTIC!!!

<font color="ff0000">Shook,</font>

You not gg for the 15th? I dunno if I'm still 'wanted' for the donut demo leh. Feel so paiseh to teach there lah...Hehe!

Js'Mum: For donut, can i replace Canola Oil with butter? (don use cooking oil at hm) & omit the lemon juice?

3rascals,

I not sure abt replacing with butter and omiting lemon juice. Dunno how's the taste gg to be like. Sori hor, can't help you. Do you hv any other oil at home?

JS'mum: didnt try tarts.. only cream puff. Hope my donuts goes well then will try tarts. at hm only margarine, butter & seseme oil.. Btw u use weighing scale?

Xiao Ling: saw the scale. But like not accurate lei. Thot of getting a digital one but don wanna waste the $$ unless nessc..

how to measure 120g of plain flour at hm if I;ve got no scale? only measuring spoon? Wanna try on cream puff again tml.. my dough is too wet. thot mayb too little flour or too much butter???

3rascals,

Yup, I use digital weighing scale, previously bot during a BP, cost ard $20+. I oso hv a manual kitchen scale.

Why not get some cooking oil from your mum or neighbour if you know them well? hehe..just a thot lah.

I'm not sure abt measuring with the spoon for flour. But think whether heaped or flat depends on the ingredients you want to use. See if other mums can help you in the later morning. Sori!

Xiao Ling: Went thru the archives & realised the egg tart receipe is fr u. How u measure yr sugar & flour? using scale or normal tablespoon?

Sweetie_Hamster: I wanna try yr fruit tart. Realised most measurements in grams. U use weighing scale? If not pls guide me on how to measure. Thanx U

Js mum, paisei, now then trsf the $ to u cos bz packing my luggage. Trsf done 26/11/07 @ 0544hrs ref 1453992312. Many thanks

I told my niece to fwd her recipes to me then once I receive will post here and share with mummies

Wah..3rascals at this hour u still thinking abt baking. U really got addicted liao he...he....I remember during my sec sch days,
1 heaped/rounded dessert spoon (the normal spoon we used for dinning) = 25gm regardless of type of ingredient. So 2 dessert spoon = 1 table spoon/TBSP...but that will contradict ur last measurement i.e 1 tbsp sugar= 25g. Hope i did not confuse u ah!! Now I oso used digital scale. Perhaps u can invest on the daiso scale plus minus abit shld be alrite. Baking its like chemistry..mix to see the effect.

For butter to replace oil personally think shld be alrite but u need to melt it first. Else u may have problem during the mixing cos can't mix evenly and thus result to over mixing. But for lemon I think it is necessary cos lemon is acidic so may need it to make the ingredients esp the liquid form like milk to be curdy so that ur batter may not end up too soft/watery.

For TSP/teaspoon, normally its meant for baking powder etc so I don't really scoop the ingredient to full heap but agaration.

As for measuring cup was told by phoon huat staff not to compact the ingredient.

Hmm....the cream puff did u wait for the dough to cool down before mixing in the egg? Cos if dough is too hot it may cook the egg . as a result the egg can't perfom as a raising agent.

Xiauling ur egg tart looks yummy. Think will try using my muffin tray to bake the pastry.

3rascals,
I use a measuring scale, brought it from Phoon Huat quite sometime back. don't how to measure without scale..sorrie.

see if anyone else has any idea?

Xiau Ling
Hv u tried dat egg tart recipe b4? Looks complicated. The recipe use lard
Thx for sharing the link

sweetie_hamster
U weigh the dough for egg tart individually? Same for fruit tarts?

Js'mum
My pleasure

I will b going for the class on 20th Dec

3rascals
I hv 2 measuring scales - both not digital one. I find it crucial to hv. Dun need to invest in digital scale. Plus or minus a bit is ok unless u want chef std
Out of curiosity, wat oil do u use for cooking?
For tablespoon, I use normal soup spoon. I hv a measuring cup for cup measurement. Sorry can't help on the conversion

Hi ladies, good morning,

j'mum, i went to sun lik on sat and all the trays are sold out! hahaa.. a lady told me,' its all sold out, dunknow why suddenly so many pple buy donut tray'. In my heart im thinking, must be the SMH mummies whom bought it.. kekee

She told me that mon will have stocks but den i dun have time to go down again, i bought a few things there, some deco candies, blueberry fillings, lemon curd fillings, cupcakes,chocolate coating. My hubby saw me and he was like wah.. you want to open cake shop har. kekeke

Foreverfriends,
yes, i weigh it, roughly about 20g but after pressing on the mould, sometime i will hv to remove some excess on the tip. same for the fruit tarts.
but i do fine the crust abit too thick so next time i shall reduce it.

Js'mum,

Hv just transfer the $$$, sorie for the late payment and tks 4 the help
To Account POSB Savings
084-90921-1 Js Mum
Amount S$16.10
Transaction Reference 1454209041

Foreverfriends Honey (shook)
i never try before this receipe.

Have a new info good lobang buy more cheaper cupcake casing.

cupcake small 250pcs S$8.50 the white colour paperline
cupcake medium 250pcs S$10 the white colour paperline
cupcake large 250pcs S$11.50 the white colour paperline

Lee Bee Enterprises Co
Blk 507 Jurong West St. 52
#01-154
Tel : 6665 5972

10 to 7pm (Monday to Saturday)
10 to 1pm (Sunday)

I tried baking cookie from those ready mix pack on Sat. At first the cookies are still very crunchy and yummy but by the next day the crunchyness was gone even though it was kept in a air tight container. Anyone know what went wrong?

LV,carebear,
i wanted very much to attend the workshop too..
but too far for me.
i m at bt. panjang.
when both of u graduated, can teach the westerners? keke

me really keen..

xiau ling,
can u share with me your cupcake recipe?

Js'mum
Sorry just read the thread and notice that u have receive my payment already. paiseh!

wow, i can't finish reading the thread. I have been MIA for 3 days then I lost track already.

JSmum, I have contacted Watie, she will get the tray. She will pay to you.

Ohya, with these 3 days MIA, I have made something to contribute to this thread. Hehe..

See ya.. First attempt in baking, the cheesecake melt in mouth one ler.. *Happy*
1090505.jpg

Sweeite_hamster
Wow,dat's a lot of work to weigh the dough individually. No wonder your tarts r so even

xiau ling
Jurong too far for me

nikonnet1
Cheese cake is my favorite
kao_drool.gif
Simple n nice. Does tis 1 need baking?

Hi Caramum,

I'm staying at Woodlands. At least i know tat someone staying quite near my area
but both of us attend different date....if not, we can go down together

Hoho03 - U r between us...haha but nearer to Caramum

Tis thread is moving so fast wor...

Hi Js'mum,
Sorry for the late reply...
I would like to collect the cups during n2inpink's workshop on 20 Dec

Sorry just saw ur account number on the attachment... will do so by today... Tks!!!

I have transfer $5 to your account for the pmt of cups. Collection of cups will be on 15 Dec cupcakes workshop. Do let me know if anyone still need to buy the donut trays by tomorrow.
Transaction Reference 1454527485 khoo53

Hmm... just finished baking doughnuts. Cannot wait for lunch / workshop with pink and gals... hahha.. yesterday went to jurong... shop shop... wah seh!!! like in heaven... a shop selling all kinds of things... actually have got the trays!!! bought a tray to try out today!

hehehehe... the method is easy... dun even need an electric mixer... just bowls and spoon to stir stir stir and mix...

the end result... my doughnuts like porous leh... not very jia luk... but VERY huat!!! i filled only 1/2 amt in the holes... then huat till some overflow!!! <font color="ff0000">whatz happened?</font>

had a bit of difficulty taking them out... need a small teaspoon to make a round... then lift up slightly... hmm... <font color="ff0000">is it like that?</font>

the taste test... YUMMY!!! like the nice nice fragrant taste... a bit like egg, a bit like yoghurt (used marigold low fat natural youghurt, 2 x 150ml for 1.90), a bit like vanilla... the bite... hmm... soft, does not stick to teeth... hmm... but think i will cut down on the 125g of sugar. it's a bit sweet for me... i like not so sweet stuffs.
(porportion of 250g of flour to 125g of sugar... hmm... maybe i'll cut down to 100g of sugar)

I'm eating some doughnuts without any coating... nice nice... hehehe.. but think kids will like some chocolates!

the white chocolate i bought (dark red reflecting packaging kind)... can melt first time, then stopped for a while... second time i wanna melt, cannot be melted liow... very sticky... <font color="ff0000">dunno why?</font>

anyway, taken pictures but can't upload. Used the formatting command but somehow got a technical message. nvmd...

<font color="ff0000">mommies can help?</font> ... dunno how to coat... i dip 1/2 doughnut ring into the melted white choco... very very sticky... then come out very UGLY... not smooth one... how huh? ...

thats my update... hehehehe... think later afternoon i try again...

the recipe is from n2inpink blog. Need bake for 1 hour lor. Those no need bake one I don't dare to let my girl eat, cause got raw egg inside mar. Haha, you guys got cheated by my strawberry already. Reveal the original cake let you see bah.. Dunno why it crack in the middle ler, like a mercedes benz.. Hehe..

1090818.jpg