Cooking Tips & Recipe

LittleCat,
Ya! The magic sponge that comes with yellow wrapper. Very effective!

OK PrisNeo,
Noted.

Hi LittleCat

Not sure if you read my posting above about the Yahoo! database? I needed a way to store all the recipes and thought I'd share it with everyone who posts on this thread. I need your email to send you the invitation cos' I did not make it a public group so posting a link to the url here doesn't work. So send me a pm so I can send the invite, okay?

Wah, your hubby so sweet - help you scrub the pot
I'm trying out your pork rib + black bean + bitter gourd recipe for dinner today - will let you know how it turns out!

Hi Van

No worries
Do send me a pm so that I can send you the invite!

Hi Prisc

I agree with what you mean about striking a balance. That's why I'm a big fan of Supernanny! Do you have it on your TV stations over in Vancouver? The book written by her (Jo Frost) is good too.

lilipit, i have replied your email liao abt the part time maid

thanks annelise, i just send u an PM awhile ago..
u gals hor really post so many until i took about half an hour to read thru hehe, but it is good sign that we have this thread growing so fast !

becos i am PG mah, if not he sure make lots of noise !
Okie, let me know how u like it!

Eh tell u gals one good news the other day my son suddenly tell me he wants to eat vege, but he only take the heng chye. but better than nothing lor.. then yesterday i saw him eating apple too, but eat like old lady ...

he now very naughty, when he see i angry he will said 'mummy i love u, mummy i like u'... then when the daddy scold him, he will purposely turn his head to me and said 'mummy i like u' in away trying to tell my hubby he doesn't like him... headache!

Just made the sinful, ultimate, cholesterol laden sago with gula melaka and coconut milk !!But didn't add pandan leaves.
Going to have it for dessert tonight..

Prisc, anything cold and easy like this one and the mango sago that you suggested. Thanks!!

cat, yah.. corning ware a bit difficult to clean.. I tried before, my curry was stuck there. Does the rice taste better if cooked in the corning ware? I tried the ones from the hawker, they use the clay kind of pot, I guess they didn't scrub the rice out, that's why it so yummy hor ?
I threw my claypot away cos it cracked, hee didn't know how to use it properly. Try gif liao boh ?

The part time maid thingy : will try to look for the thread. I also don't like the idea of them doing in my house when I'm around.. but got to find trustworthy kind of people..

Eh cat, your hb not around is it ? That's why you ate so much hum ..Are you still in your first trimester ?
Did you fry your hum this time ?
When I was in my first tri, I got to eat it every week !!

choc06, wow i think i have to seriously think of about moving to east liao!!! haha

Yeah lor if is normal clay pot i sure throw, but the corning one can not leh quite expensive. But hor last time i also kena before, i use to steam rice, until water dry out..oops, the stain mark there take a while to go off, but it is still cleanable leh.. so may be have to use it to steam something, no direct food contact so not to worry.
hehe may be hor, all the old stain make your claypot rice taste so yummy!
No gif at home leh... never mind i will try the do some magic tonite.
The part time maid agency i have used 2 diff company, both disppoint me.
I was writing the email to lilipit just now, the first one, use illegal user but deny and failed to explain to us the whole incident.
We didn't know about the illegal workers thing until one day happen tat the condo change the security guard, and they check all visitor IC. (also proven the previous batch never work lah) Then they found the work permit looks bogus. They call us and at the same time call the police. We rush home, open the door, and the police bring the two workers back to police station.
The police ask us not to call like dun alert them, so we only get to call the agent the next day. the agent deny there are illegal.. impossible right? if they are working in this line dun tell me they can't differentiate a real or bogus work permit??

The 2nd company we are using now, most expensive, $268 per month. Intially still quite ok, we told them we want more ironing as our place is very small less than 1000sqt. After a while we found the clothes after iron just squeeze in the cupbord, so it become crumple again, the mug u can see the water stain at the bottom never wash clean, the bed after changing the bedsheet never push back so u can see a big gap between the wall, they put the floor map on top of your regular laundry etc....
Give up on feedback, thinking of changing now...
I don't think i want to recommend u the companines...

my hb is around, but he give up liao... also becos i said i got cook thoroughly, cos after i put hot water so i can peel off then i fry again with chilli and dou-jiang, so it should be ok..
tomorrow is 14 weeks liao.

Hi LittleCat

Replied your mail already

I just did a quick search on Yahoo for burnt corningware. Someone suggested putting lots of baking soda and water in the pot and boil it for 15 mins or so over the stove. Remove from heat and wash with detergent.

cat_tail's suggestion to use the melamine sponge is also very good - can try together with the above method

annelise, thank you so much! for sending me the email and this wonderful tips! xie xie !!

okie will try to get the sponge later!

Hi van

This is the separator I'm thinking of getting:

419143.jpg

It costs US$12.99 - am thinking of buying it through vpost or maybe getting it from b.i.y. Have you seen this selling anywhere else?

Hi choc06

Mmm...a nice cool dessert is what we all need in this hot and nasty weather!

Are you a big fan of almond jelly? If you like the firm type, can try Holly Farm's almond jelly premix. I always make that for potluck parties - just pour and chill in those rectangle disposable plastic containers, chill a few cans of Hosen longans, a plastic knife, a bag of ice and a big plastic bowl and it's ready to serve

Hi LittleCat

You're welcome
Keeping my fingers crossed for you that it works! Wah, your son is so cute! Haha, trying to win you over with his affections

<font color="ff6000">lilipit</font>
hi, may I know how big is the tray you've used for baking peach tea cake?

this thread is so interesting. so many recipes to try out though I'm not that good in cooking. But I'm certainly tempted to try out those simpler recipes.

Read about the black chicken soup above, can any mummies share with me the recipe on how to boil black chicken soup? I'm a MTB soon and could like to nourish myself during this period. Besides knowing what ingredients to buy and prepare, i would need the steps-by-steps guides to boil it too. Pardon me cos I'm a beginner. =) Many THANKS!

Hi Gebbera welcome! and u r at the right thread, haha...

eh gals, i saw some one saying to have dong-gui with black chicken, can we take it while we PG? or only which trimester?
cos i heard dong-gui will increase blood circulation is it advisable to take it during PG?

hey annelise, wah.. you doing this kind of big project ah ? next time, please rope me in.. when you need to do the cutting .. heehee.
The furthest I did was a sponge cake with strawberry and mousse on it. Have you tried doing the marzipan kind ?

Now, PH has baking lessons in AMK, when I shift over to the east, i think the nearest one will be at Aljunied.. so far.
Does the separator come with the horse carousal ? Have seen PH selling the separator, but not so nice ones..

I like the holly farm's almond jelly too, just cook and chill it.. Thanks for giving me the idea.

Eh cat, yah... come to the east..
Recently, my gal also treated me "extra" nice.. helping me to do things.. I think the teachers have been telling them that mothers' day is coming !
Maybe I'll resort to my sis' maid's friend who wants to do part-time cleaning.. but they got to be trustworthy..

Hi Jasmin

Have you tried using the Japanese breadcrumbs (it is called Panko)?

First coat the prawns lightly with cornflour, dip into beaten egg then coat it with the panko. You should be able to buy it from NTUC - at the Japanese food aisle.

hi Sophie added u in, i have put TTC is it ok with u ?
So do u you speak hakka at home?

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD></TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Loves cockles cheesecake &amp; malay food (5 mths pg) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lyn Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>Newborn in Jun06</TD><TD></TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (9 mths)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> </TD><TD>love food;seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD>home</TD><TD> cck</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> boy(2yr)</TD><TD></TD><TD> edd 16/11 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sophie</TD><TD> Bishan</TD><TD> SAH-Mum-Wannabe</TD><TD> TTC</TD><TD> Hakka</TD><TD> Experimenting with new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi choc

Yah, it comes with 4 horses. My younger girl likes horses so I thought of doing a horse-themed cake for her. Heehee, don't think my cakes will look so professional, though - hoping that the horses will draw attention away from the not-so-good-looking cakes!

This was my first attempt at icing a cake using those molded cake pans. I used white, dark and milk choc to ice cos' my kids don't like cream icings. The pink stuff around the cake is the strawberry Meiji chocolate. I bought the pan from Japan many years ago

419172.jpg

I've never tried marzipan - wanted to buy the fondant from Phoon Huat but then too expensive for experimental purposes!

I thought of baking a wedding cupcake tree for my bil's wedding at the end of the year but my hubby said I chi bao mei shi zuo! I've got some cupcake recipes where the cupcakes can be frozen up to 2 weeks before - but my freezer got no space also lah!

Wow! very professionally done !!! What were your babies doing when you were making the cake?
When i do a banana cake , I have to wait till they sleep at night

What's a wedding cupcake tree ? Can't imagine.. Have you seen the cake deco books in the library before? Very tempting and looks easy.. look only...hehe..
Think it'll be very memorable for your bil's wedding if you did..

Wow, I woke up from a short 2-hr nap, and so many postings! And pictures of yummy cakes too

Hi Little Cat,
TTC is goood. Yep, I used to speak Hakka at home, although my mum &amp; dad speak more Cantonese to my siblings. So I only reserve my Hakka when speaking with my grandma &amp; greataunt... but a bit rusty already. You speak Hakka?

Hi Gebbera,
I'm not pregnant currently, but I asked around about the black chicken, and like what Little Cat says, most people says cannot eat danggui when pregnant cos it causes too much blood circulation. My TCM doctor says can take danggui only if mixed with other herbs to neutralise the blood circulation effect, and mostly only TCM docs know how to do this. So when pregnant, better don't take danggui.

I just made black chicken essence for teabreak. I only added 8 red dates (the seedless ones so it's not so heaty) and some wolfberries (gou ji zi), and the result is very good... a very sweet tasting yummy essence! I even gobbled up all the red dates and wolfberries cos they became so juicy after soaking in the essence for 2.5hrs. I read from another thread that these 2 items are safe for pregnant women.

annelise, login to the yahoo group liao, wow thanks so much for doing that for us! eh may i ask how long u take to update those ? aiyoh impressed neh...

Some simple and lazy method recipe for today :

Soya sauce chicken

4 chicken drumstick
light soya sauce
dark soya sauce
ginger
green onion
water

Put the drumsticks, with light and dark soya sauce, ginger, green onion put in a deep bowl, steam in the rice cooker. Old fasion rice cooker that the water will dried up and it will off by itself.
Of u can use the pot to boil everything together, after it is boiling, turn to small fire, cook till tender.

Fried fish with soya sauce

Pan fried the fish as usual till cooked, off the fire,pour some soya sauce and cover it for 30 sec. Not too long wait 'chao-da'.

Hi Annelise,
There's a shop opposite Raffles Hotel (cannot remember name) that sells baking needs. I was directed there by my friend who taught me the kueh lapis. Would that shop have the baking/cake-making items you guys are looking for?

Hi choc06

I try to get them to help me - like lining cake tins, stirring the mixture or just watching the cake mixer go round and round!

I've got this pic of a cupcake tree from a US site selling wedding cupcakes. Was thinking of ordering from the States too but the b.i.y. store seems to be selling the cardboard stand too. The smaller ones look great as a centrepiece for birthday parties!

419192.jpg

Hi LittleCat

Took a few days - cos' can't log in for too long

hi cat_tail,
This is the bak chor mee one yeah? haha, it's really hilarious! I heard that last week and kept replaying it cos it was so funny, I especially like the part where the vendor says "Sorry also must explain".... And now I cannot go eat bak chor mee without thinking about Mr. Jeff Lopez and the pig liver!

Sophie,
U r rite! I laugh until my tummy ache~
Next time eat bak chor mee better make sure I tell the vendor no "ti gua". Haha...

Ooh lala... the wedding cake is beautiful and unique..
Is the cupcake easy to make ? I think the guests will be very impressed by this !!
Annelise,
My no. 2's bday is coming soon, thinking of baking her one, any ideas ?

hi annelise, I've tried the Japanese breadcrumbs
prawns a couple of times. It's quite nice too. I have yet to successfully fry them in the traditional flour batter method. my prawns fritter usually become soft after abt 1/2 hr later.Do no know where the problem lies.

hi littlecat,

glad to received such a warm welcome from you. =) was told that cannot take too much dang-gui during confinement becos dang-gui promotes blood circulation and will end up having heavier menses... Imagine 2-3 weeks of menses after birth is unbearable and taking too much dang-gui will worsen it... so better not take too much of it. Also, for BF mums, it is advisable not to take too much dang-gui too...

Hi Sophie,
So can i said you only used wolfberries, red dates and black chicken for the soup? What about the seasoning like salt or soy sauce, etc? Need to put this? Pardon me for asking such questions cos I really dont know how to cook. I will buck up and check with mum too when i go home tonite.

Hi Choc

Cupcakes are very easy to make - esp now that they sell cupcake cups that can be used on their own without the use of a muffin pan - can bake a lot at one time. I'll check with my bil how many guests he expecting for church ceremony then see whether it's feasible to do or not!

Which cartoon character is your girl a big fan of? Some cake shops just use a plastic figurine of the character as a cake topper and decorate around it. I've got some pics that are too big to post here. I'll post them on the Yahoo group under "Photos" tonight, okay?

Thanks Sophie - I'll try and look around!

Gotta go and cook my pork ribs

here's one recipe for the jap miso soups shabu-shabu (steamboat).

Miso soups base - can get from cold storage at taka or some NTUC also selling
Radish (white carrot)
pork/beef slice (like shabu-shabu thin slice)
chinese white cabbage
leek
golden mushroom
shitake mushroom
*you can add other Japanse food like the Jelly called "KONNYAKU" cut into bite size

Check this website for details:
http://www.shakespeare-w.com/english/konnyaku/whatis.html

Method:
Boil the radish with the miso soup base till the radish is soft.
You can cook this as shabu shabu where you put this stock and radish in the steamboat pot. When you ready to eat u can put in the meat/vege to cook.
Or u can simply put the rest of the ingredient in cook it then serve as soups.

enjoy!

Hi Gebbera,
No need soya sauce or salt... nothing at all. I was told that I should use an overturned bowl inside another big bowl, then put the chicken pieces on the top of the overturned bowl and let it drip onto the bowl underneath. But I didn't do it that way cos my bowls all cannot fit into one another, and the chicken pieces kept falling off. This is how I modified the cooking to fit myself:

1. Go to the wet market and buy your black chicken. Tell the uncle to de-skin it for you. Ask him to cut into how many pieces you want. I normally do 4.

2. I use a stainless steel metal stand (the kind you put in the wok when steaming things) and fit it into my big bowl with the stands up i.e. it has to be able to fit into your bowl with some space in the bowl itself.

3. Put the wolfberries &amp; seedless red dates into the bowl, put the stand into the bowl upside down, and place the black chicken on top of the stand. No water, no salt, no soya sauce. It's dry underneath with the chicken on top.

4. Place this whole thing into a larger pot or wok that you can steam in, and just steam for about 2.5hrs. The juice from the chicken will just drip into the bowl. The red dates and wolfberries will give it the sweet flavour. When serving, skim off the oil on the top if you find it too oily.

* When buying wolfberries, go to the medicine shop or Hock Hua and ask for the top grade kind... I cannot remember where they come from, I think Xinjiang... these are sweeter, whereas the normal kind has a sourish undertaste.

** Because I get hungry in the afternoons, I will place 1 of the thighs into the bowl with the wolfberries &amp; red dates, and eat that piece with the essence. Cos those on the top of the strainer cannot be eaten... they'll all be dried up.

Sophie, hey this is a better way then the big bowl small bowl cover here and there hehe...
thanks for the tips, shall try it this week!

Anyone know where to get the bamboo tray for steaming ?

annelise, happy cooking !

wow outside like storming...

Hi Gebbera,
If you have seen the past postings, some of the girls here also recommended other herbs like dang shen, lao pao sheng and cordyceps that they took when pregnant or that their gynae recommended. I have not tried any of these herbs yet as I haven't got the chance to go buy them. Let me know how your first try at this essence goes!

hey annelise, you are giving me ideas for my bro's big day too.. Is there icing on your cupcakes ? I showed my hb your pic, he said it's very unique, and convenient for the guests to take..
Can give me the website ? Want to show my sil.

Thanks alot, my girl likes chocs, strawberries and mangoes.I always make the fruit topping kind..
If you have the time, then you post the photos ok ? Wait your ah lau scold .. hehe

Ah, can't eat dangui during pg? I had a few rounds liao.. and during my conf, I took dangui soup during the first few weeks and I made for my friend.. now I know ..thanks gebbera !

Fu Hua medical shop sells those prepack herbs for chicken, I will normally ask them to recommend for me.. Don't know how to mix the herbs..

I think pao shen, cordeceps and dang shen quite safe for pg right ? The ones that can't go wrong are wolfberries and red dates.. i think huai shan also(fresh and dried ones)
Gebbera, salt will do the seasoning, soy sauce also can. Boil water first, then add chicken (skin off ) and the herbs.. Boil for 2-3 hrs..
Hello mummies, do you all do it this way?

Hi Little Cat,
I think the older folks prefer bowls cos it's clay i.e. they don't like metals. I checked with my hubby on the melting point on the stainless steel racks, and he says it'll take very high temperature to melt these racks, so I should be safe. Just make sure your racks are not made of aluminium as long term use of aluminium in cookingware can lead to dementia.

Sophie, oic, thanks for the info, yeah i think old folks will say dun use metal etc...
i heard there is this bamboo tray for steaming or for people who do the 'dong-po-rou', not sure where to get leh..

another way is use the double boil method put everything in 'dong-zhong'.

anyone know where to get chinese ham (huo-tui) ?

hi Little Cat,
the bamboo tray... is it like the dim sum kind?

as for the dong chong kind, that kind got no separator for the chicken to drip to the the bottom. My mum prefers the drip method cos she says if put black chicken in the bowl together, the essence gets soaked back into the meat, and if we don't eat the whole black chicken, it's a waste.

Sophie, yes this is why my mom said also ..

it is like the dim sum, but should be just the tray without the surounding/side.
eh if like that u think we can use the dim sum one to steam or not huh? also got hole so the essence can drip down... cos i am not sure if my tray is aluminium or stainless steel leh...
My mom will say, better got poison from the bamboo than the aluminium thing haha..

Hello gals...
Wah.. So many posts to catch up... I overslept in my afternoon nap today
Slept for 3.5 hours

Littlecat,
For Penang Laksa, go to http://202.186.86.35/kuali/recipes/hawker.html#laksa. The recipe is by Amy Beh, so should be good...

Oh yes, I am a Hokkien

Wah.. hum "bu" blood... You eat so much hum, sure will not have problems of anaemia...

Hi Gebbera,
Welcome
Congratulations! How many weeks are you already?

Hi Annelise,
Wow... You are really passionate about baking. The cake is so beautiful...

Hi Sophie,
Wah.. Your chicken essence very "bu"
. I used to do what you did too using the parts of the chicken to be thrown away when I boil black chicken soup
But I use porcelain bowl and plate...

Re: Black chicken
You can put danggui, but it's quite heaty for pregnancy. I cannot take danggui, so my gynae ask me to put pao sheng, or dong cong cao. Then add wolfberries and red dates. People with endometriosis, fibroids, cysts problems should avoid danggui...

Sophie,
We are quite near to each other... Togather with Choc06

Okie dokie... I am going out for dinner at Northpoint with my hubby
Then shopping at Popular to get materials to DIY things for baby

Someone was asking for pig's trotters recipe. I found this:

Trotters With Vinegar
Ingredients:
1 pig's trotter
500g old ginger, skinned and smashed
2 tbsp sesame oil
2 cups black vinegar
3 cups water
250g brown sugar

Method:
Cut trotters into serving pieces. Heat sesame oil in a clay pot. Fry ginger until fragrant. Add vinegar, water and brown sugar. Bring to a boil and leave to simmer until ginger turns soft.
Add trotters and simmer for 1 to 2 hours until tender and soft. Serve warm.

wah....the thread move so fast again...can barely catch up.

Little Cat - can add me into the table? I dont know how to do tables... lilipit; Sengkang; FTWM; 1 boy (9.5mths); Teochew; likes good food and likes to cook if there's time

Chihiro(sen) - i have PM-ed you as well, in case u cant find my post in this fast-moving thread. the Pan i used for the Peach teacake is 20cm in diameter.

Read something on "Apple Sauce Pork Chop", but dun seem able to find the recipe anywhere.

Can someone care to post it here or PM to me?

Shabu Shabu (beef hot pot) - <can>

Ingredients:
680 grams beef loin (*very thin slices) / Suzuki beef
7 cups dashi soup stock
115 grams chinese cabbage
1 stalk of leek
115 grams shimeji, shiitake, or enoki mushrooms.

For sesame dipping sauce:
1/3 cup white sesame seeds
1/2 cup dashi soup
1/3 cup miso (bean paste)
2 tbsps soy sauce

Method:
1. Cut beef, Chinese cabbage, leek, and mushrooms into bite-sized pieces.
2. Place the ingredients on a large plate.
3. Grind sesame seeds well and add dashi soup, miso paste, and soy sauce to make dipping sauce.
4. Put dashi soup in a pot at the table and heat up.
5. Add some vegetables in the pot and simmer.
6. Cook beef slices in the pot for 5-10 seconds as you eat with the dipping sauce.
7. Add more vegetables in the pot as you eat.

There are at least 5 types of Dashi Stock.

Konbu Dashi Stock
Konbu (kelp) dashi is known as vegetarian soup stock. Removed konbu is good to cook with vegetables.

Ingredients:
4 cups of water
6 inches long konbu (Dried kelp)

Method:
1. Wipe the konbu with clean cloth to remove dirt. (Konbu shouldn't be washed.)
2. Soak the konbu in the water in a pot for one to two hours.
3. Put on low heat and bring the water to boil. Just before the water comes to a boil, remove the konbu.
4. Now, you have a vegetarian soup stock for your cooking.

Katsuo Dashi Stock
Katsuo dashi is a kind of Japanese soup stock made from dried bonito flakes. (katsuobushi flakes)

INGREDIENTS:
4 cups water
1/2 cup katsuobushi (dried bonito flakes)

Method::
1. Put water in a pan and heat on medium heat.
2. Just before the water boils, add katsuobushi flakes.
3. When the water boils, stop the heat and strain the broth.

Konbu and Katsuibushi Dashi Stock
This is a recipe to make soup stock using both konbu (kelp) and katuobushi (dried bonito flakes).

Ingredients:
8 cups of water
1/3 cup of katsuobushi (dried bonito flakes)
6 inches long konbu (kelp)

Methiod:
1. Put 4 cups of water in a pan and soak konbu in the water for one or two hours.
2. Put the pan on low heat and remove the konbu just before the water boils.
3. Add katsuobushi in the water and turn off the heat. Strain the broth to get the first dashi. This is called the ichiban-dashi.` *This dashi soup stock is often used for clear soup.
4. To make the second soup stock, put 4 cups of water and the katsuobushi and konbu, which were used to make the first dashi in a pan.
5. Heat the water and let boil for a few minutes. Strain the broth. This second dashi is called niban-dashi. *This dashi soup stock is often used for simmering vegetables.

Niboshi Dashi Stock

Ingredients:
1/2 oz dried sardines
3 1/3 cup water

Method:
1. Gut niboshi and remove the head.
2. Put niboshi in water in a pan and soak for 30 minutes to one hour.
3. Put the pan on low heat and bring to a boil. Let it boil for a couple minutes, then stop the heat. Strain the broth.

Hoshi-shiitake Mushroom Dashi Stock
This soup stock is made from dried mushrooms (hoshi-shiitake).

Ingredients:
4 cups water
4 large hoshi-shiitake (dried shiitake mushrooms)

Method:
1. Put water and hoshi-shiitake mushrooms in a pan and soak for 10 minutes.
2. Heat the water and turn off the heat when the water comes to a boil.
3. Let stand for 20 minutes and strain the broth. * Use the shiitake mushroom for other dish

wow...so many msg liao after I went to sleep

My TCM asked me not to take dang tui during pregnancy...to heaty and blood circulation would be too strong