Calling mommies staying near commonwealth

Hi Hapi Melodius,

He's my senior then.. I joined P1 in 1984.

I'm staying at Cantonment. Will take abt 10 mins drive to reach Radin Mas.

Hi Hapi Melodius,

My daughter is 4YO and i'm expecting my #2.. i've got a blog for her joeykhor.blogspot.com

How abt you? How many kids do you have? Do you intend to send them to Radin Mas?

Come to think of it, when your hubby was in Radin Mas, it was a all boys school.

Hi Preggie,

Congrats, when is yr EDD, boy or gal? Yr princess is lovely

I have 1 5 yr old boy & a pair of "Long Feng Tai", 2 years old
still considering whether to send there, might want to try Henry Park Pri or River Valley Pri first...

Really, are you a SAHM?

Hi Hapi Melodius,

I'm only in my 10th week. So still dunno gal or boy.. But my girl insist that the baby in my tummy is a baby sister

You are so lucky to have a pair of long feng tai!! Must be so cute!! Were you surprised when your gynae told you that you have twins and one boy, one girl?

I saw in another thread that your kids love little einstein... My girl loves the cartoon too.. i think disney playhouse channel is very educational.

No. i'm not a SAHM... i work full time..

Hi Preggie,

Oic, indeed too early to tell but doesn't matter boy or gal so long bb is healthy

Ya indeed a blessing to have them, taking care of them is another real challenge. Indeed surprise as not easy to have twins & never think tat this will happen to me, hehehe...

yaya, they love little einstein like yr princess, agree tat this is a gd channel suitable for kids

OIC, me too, cannot imagince staying @ hm looking after them...

Yr princess is very sweet & btw where did u order her Dora BD cake, very nice leh

hi kk,

ya, boy juz started his hanyu pin yin chinese foundation class last wed. it will be his 2nd lesson tmr. I'll keep you posted.

Btw, any mummies know of a good PT maid arnd our area? I need to hire one for wkend cleaning [the usual stuff]. Any recommendations?

Hi Happy Melodius,

The dora cake - i ordered from ecreative.

My girl was born on 30 Dec 03. She's like the smallest (age and size) in class. hehe

Hi Smurf16,

My girl is learning hanyu pinyin in her school now.. but i wonder if she really know what hanyu pinyin is... coz she hasn't even gotten her phonics right.

hi HM,

My boy is in K2 this year - turning 6 in May

I send him to Alpha Genius at Jln Bt Merah (next to the mkt at blk 109). It's a no frills school and only 2 other girls in his class. Was told the teacher is from china and she has 8 yr experience in teaching in pte tuition ctrs.

Hi Preggie, may I hv the website or the tel no. of the cake shop you ordered the dora cake? im thinkg of getting boy a BEN 10 cake this may. im sure he'll love it cos BEN 10 is so popular with young boys now

Hi Smurf,

Recently i found a lot of kiddy activities at Bukit merah area... the Bukit merah cc offers quite a number of children activities, then there's this factory outlet store at redhill and now you've just enlightened me to Alpha genuius

You can order online from http://www.ecreative.com.sg/

They are very reliable and comments on the taste of the cake have been very positive

Hi Smurf,

Recently i found a lot of kiddy activities at Bukit merah area... the Bukit merah cc offers quite a number of children activities, then there's this factory outlet store at redhill and now you've just enlightened me to Alpha genuius

You can order online from http://www.ecreative.com.sg/

They are very reliable and comments on the taste of the cake have been very positive

hi mummy1030

i may have some preloved home wear for your friend's 5yr old if she doesn't mind. let me know.

oh, didn't pm u abt maris stella in the end cos i have decided to drop it after i spoke to the school bus driver. imagine, my gal will have to spend 1.5hr in the bus before she gets to reach school if she attends the pm session from 12pm-3pm cos the pick up time is at 10.20am. btw, is yr gal in the am or pm session?

Hi kk,
Thanks alot, don't think she mind and its for a boy in case I didn't state earlier.

As for Maris Stella, my girl is in the pm session and she is the last girl the bus pick up and the first one they send home. She takes the bus at 11.20am and she is usually back by 3.15pm. Where r u staying? My girl taking bus no. 3. The rate is reasonable and so far, she is settling well there. I almost send her to St James but changed my mind cos' my girl won't like the teaching method. I also like Lorna Whiston Pre-school and though she was there for only 2 over months, she still miss her friends there. Pls let me know when u hv packed the clothes.

Mummies, if u hv preloved clothes for me to pick up, pls pm your address and mobile to me. I will plan the pick up to save time. thanks again

Hi smurf,
Wow big boy liao hoh, is e class gd & expensive?
Do they have Ben10 cake as my boy love this character so much

Hi Preggie,
Thanks for the info
btw does Bt Merah CC have art class for toddlers?

Hi mummy1030,
Can ck with u what is e rate for Maris Stella, is it near to botanic garden, actually want to send my twins to St James in 2010, any feedback on this sch

hi mummy1030

i am staying at telok blangah cres and was told that my area will be the 2nd stop and will only reach home ard 4pm. though i quite like the school but i can't imagine letting my gal spend so long hr in the bus lei... sigh... now have to think of a reason to explain to her why i can't put her there next year..

thanks, smurf16

can you pm me the contact of the school? i can't find it from yellow pages.
what are the charges like and is it the night class that yr son is attending?
i hope to start my boy asap cos find his chinese really poor and he doesn't seem to show interest in the subject at all.

hv been checking ard for chinese lesson and when i tell him that he has to go for enrichment class to prep for P1, i am so surprised that he actually requested to go back to berries. he had attended 1 term there when he was 4+ before he came down with chickenpox and then conjunctivitis. the thing abt berries school is that they are so popular now, their classes are very full, was told by the staff that they now do not provide any makeup lesson for weekend classes.

Hi Kk,

Have you considered Berriesworld for chinese lessons? My daughter attends berriesworld on sunday.. i can see improvement in her command in mandarin

Hi Happy Melodius,

The cake shop can customise any cake you like.

I can help you check the type of courses they have at Bukit Merah CC. Joey attends ballet there.

Hi mummy1030,
Is Maris Stella gd, dun know to send my twins to St James or Maris Stella

Hi Preggie,
Thanks so much, appreciate if you can ck for me. Btw where is berriesworld & do they conduct Han Yu Pin Yin class, intend to send my boy next yr

Hi Hapi Melodius,
I registered my girl at St James when I thought I can't get her in Maris Stella. When I went to Maris Stella, I got her a place so I decided on Maris Stella. The fees much cheaper at $480 a term and no deposit. If I remembered correctly, St James is charging $680 per term plus 1 term deposit. Also the deposit is due 6 months ahead. I met a mummy at Lorna Whiston and she withdrew her son from St James cos' she said their teaching style is too rigid. eg. the kids have to stay in a circle until they have a solution for a certain problem then they can leave the circle. Also, I think they have 12 Nursery classes this year so that is alot of kids. Maris Stella only have 3 classes for both am and pm session. I like Lorna Whiston but they have only preschool childcare which means I hv to opt for half day or full day. They don't have just kindergarten classes. Also the fees are quite high, for half day I was paying around $660 with subsidy a month. Since I have a maid now, its no point for me to put her at Lorna Whiston. As for Maris Stella, my girl's current Chinese Teacher used to teach my niece and nephew and they are both graduating from NUS this year so you can imagine how long the teachers work there. Even the bus for Maris Stella is cheaper than St James so it works out ok for me.Hope this helps.

Hi mummy1030,
Really thanks for sharing, appreciate that
Agree that St James sch fees is expensive & everything is $$$ & since the teaching method is in this manner, dun think will be keen to put my twins there. Btw ard hw much is the sch bus?

Hi Hapi Melodius,
I am paying $100 for two way to my place at Strathmore. One of the shop tenant at Dawson place sends her grandson to St James and she is paying $90 for 1 way. On top of that, St James will require you to buy uniform, PE attire, hat, bag, etc. Maris Stella only uniform. I think St James is very commercialized now. Maris Stella school fees is still very low compared to the other school. Another reason I put her there is Maris Stella is one of the school under Catholic schools of Singapore. Hopefully this would help when I enrol her in CHIJ next time. St James is not linked to any schools at all.

Hi mummy1030,
Thks for all e info, sch bus charges is reasonable unlike St James, quite expensive for 1 way
Agree that St James is very commercialized now, everything is $$$
Hopefully will help her to go to CHIJ, intend to put my gal there oso, heard many positive feed back abt this sch
Are u staying near Dawson Place? Went to Dr Chan @ Dawson Place & he is very nice & patient, have you ever seen him before?

Hi Preggie,
Thanks so much, appreciate if you can ck for me. Btw where is berriesworld located & do they conduct Han Yu Pin Yin classes, intend to send my boy next yr

HI Hapi Melodius,
I am staying at Blk 59, just behind Dawson Place. My family doctor is also Dr Chan and u r right, he is very friendly and patient but I always tell him to put a timer in his office so he knows how long he spent with his patient cos' I think he has to cut the time he spent with the patient cos' of the long queue.

Wow, this thread v. active today. kekeke

Hi Preggie,

Tks a lot for the cake shop contact. Btw, my boy attends art class at BM CC on sat evenings
I think i v. kiasu hor? He got phonics, art, hanyu pin yin and swimming. Think i better drop phonics next term as he's been attending for 1.5 yr and now quite ok with reading.

Hi HM,

I'll be checking with e-creative on BEN10. Keep you posted.

Abt St James, when i sent my boy there in 2006, they were alrdy a 600 pupil school. Now it's grown to 800! Ya, mummy1030 is right. This sch is now v. commercialized. i'm paying $130 for 2 way bus trip and additional $4/trip for bus to fetch him bk after attending enrichment class. On top of this, sch fees was revised this yr and its abt $674/term. Then hor, they also made it compulsory for each child to buy school jacket + hat and do not allow the children to wear their own jacket / hat lor. I actually din want to buy cos it's his last yr in kindergarten but where got choice? If everyone wear sch jacket on rainy day then he dun have v. stigma
. We always joke amongst the few moms who send our kids there that we get letter to pay this pay that so often until numb alrdy. Haiz.

Hi KK

The tel no. for Alpha genius is 9183-7858. They only start classes in the aftnoons / evenings so don't call in the morning. Sure cant get them

Boy is attending the Wed 6.30pm class - chinese foundation + hanyu pin yin. Cost is $150/term and lessons are 1.5hr each time. If you reg your son there then we can meet there! Seems like berries world is quite popular. Are they good? Expensive?

Hi mummy1030,
Wow, so lucky to get such a gd flat in that area...
Agree that the Q is extremely long, sigh
but seems he is gd so worth the long wait...

Hi Smurf16,
Tks for checking

Hah, a large no.of students indeed, so really everything is abt $$$, sad hoh
Tks for sharing, will consider Maris Stella for my Twins Nursery in 2 yrs time, me kiasu, hehehehe

Good morning mommies,

Hope you gals dun mind me joining this thread although i'm not staying at commonwealth, but my estate also start with C - Cantonment

BTW, my office is quite near to Dawson Place and we go there for lunch sometimes. Any recommendation for good food ard this area?

Hi Smurf,

My gal still can't read yet. sigh.... Which school did you send your son to for phonics?

Hi HM,

There are a few berries, but i think the nearest for us would be orchard / palai renaissance. I'm not sure if she's learning HYPY at berries though, they mostly learn cheng yu.

My gal is learning a HYPY in her kindergarten now.

Hi HM and Smurf,

Talking abt schools being commercialised, i'm also quite upset with the school my daughter is currently attending. Her class grew from 11 last year to 27 this year!! I feel very shortchanged by the school leh.... and because of the large number of students, i feel that my gal is not getting enough attention from the teachers.

We're disappointed with the school but my have decided not to withdraw her coz she's already very settled in and anyway, it's only another 1 more year before she moves on to a Pri sch. sigh..... for my #2, i dun think i will go back to this pre-school again.

I just signed up my son at Berries at Tanglin Community Club (near SCGS) for a trial lesson (N2 level) this Sat. The one at Pandan Valley is full. I did not consider the Orchard one 'cos with parking and ERP, it will add to the cost.

Hi Preggie,

I thought MOE requirements states that K1/K2 class size is max. 25 students?

Hi Preggie,

Good morning & thks for the info
U r most welcome to join, talking abt Phonics, I just send my boy to Zoo Phonics & find that it is quite effective. Btw where is yr girl schooling?

Hi Hapi Melodius,

Now they are having offer for the trial at $15 (usual is $28-36). I did not ask for the charges as I will speak to them on Sat. And also, die die, I will register him there lah - whatever the cost (I think it's $300+ looking at the normal trial lesson price). He now speaks like an ang moh, plus, seems not many slots left. Friends and colleagues who had kids at Berries World all have only good comments for the school - from Tampines to other branches. The website is at http://www.berriesworld.com/.

HI Hapi Melodius,
Yes, Maris Stella is having sch holiday now. Haha, I brought my girl to her old pre school, Lorna Whiston, for a visit and her ex-chinese teacher brought her in the class so I left her there until I pick her up at 5pm. Give me a short break!

Hi Hapi Melodius,

My gals is attending Etonhouse.

Abt phonics.. my hubby tried to teach her.. but no success.. sigh... i think she's just generally not interested in reading.

Hi HM,
e-creative got BEN10 cakes! See pic. They can also customise if you bring other ben 10 photos but it'll cost more.

1297737.jpg
Price $58 incl delivery

Hi Preggie,
Your girl also 6 this yr? I saw you mentioning ur gals attending etonhouse le. Wow, admire you... v. expensive school. :p
My boy attends his phonics in school - St james arranges for enrichment classes & its optional. The school is The Mapping. Think they also hv classes for non st james kids. If you are interested i can post their no. Let me know.

Hi Preggie,
I am surprise that Etonhouse is squeezing so many in 1 class. How much are u paying a term? Is your girl attending the one at Orchard Boulevard? BTW, there is nothing great about having lunch at Dawson. Maybe because I live here and I am sick of the food here. I am workin near AH but I eat in most of the time. My colleague buy back for me and I am not too particular about food.

Mummies who have preloved clothes for me to collect, pls let me know when you have sorted out the clothes. I hv to send the clothes over and she lives in the East. Thanks again for your help.

Hi Preggie,
Ethon House is gd leh but expensive rite?

Hi mummy1030,
Tks for informing, really can give u a break if somebody looks after for you for a while

Hi smurf,
Thanks for e info, the design is simple hoh, will you be ordering this?

Good morning Mummies,

Just some info to share.

From 17th March, Isetan is have a Trade-in for old training cup to NUBY No-Spill Flip-it Straw bottle (355ml) or Flip-it Sports Sipper (420ml) at $5 each while stocks last.

17th to 21st Pupsik Baby Pouch Carrier at $29.90 assorted colors.

From 24th to 28th March, Isetan is sellng the Bumbo Baby Sitter with Tray for $59.90 wile stocks last. Usual: $160.10

ANTIMOS repellent
Price will be adjusted soon. Spoke to the distributor cos' wanted to buy in bulk and price quoted is higher than NTUC. Asked about it and she said NTUC supposed to adjust the price that is $3 to $4 higher. SO mummies who are using this, u betta stock up unless any mummy able to get a good price. Currently, NTUC selling at $14.95 for a pack of 4.

Hope this is helpful! I am an Isetan fan! Not too chionheh??

Thank God its Friday!

For Antimoss repellent, get it from Malaysia if you can. Think travel to M'sia is very common nowadays? Can ask friends or colleagues to get if they happen to be there. That's what I did last time - almost half-price leh!

Hapi Melodius,
I was too busy with my career,etc... so married pretty late and actually not planning to hv a kid so its a miracle that I hv a girl now who is 3+. She is a miracle considering my age, health, etc. When I read the news on Lydia Sum, I started worrying about my girl

Hi Catherine, thanks for recommending Antimos the last time, I am using that in my room now. I don't have anyone travelling to Malaysia often so I can only try to get them at a cheaper price in Singapore

Hi mummy1030,
Dun worry too much, definitely things will be fine, so your darling princess was born in 2004 (any pic to share? My eldest was born 2003
btw who looks after yr princess?