Breastfeeding Support Group

AppleG
You still latching on? Yep, hate the heating/ thawing of the ebm. About the frozen ebm, I try to keep but I also try to latch on more... for some weeks could only latch one side, however I think now right side should be completely healed, can feed bb again.

When i see him suckle in his sleep, he like so pathetic cux if i go to work, it will be harder for him to curb the habit...I also like the feeling that is is close to me but my MIL keep saying....bb like that no good, so sticky..I feel very sad when i see him suckling in his sleep..i very much want him to latch on...

everyone around me advised me to stop let him latch on if not he will be even worse when he is bigger....The feeling very mixed up....

I feel very close to bb when he wants to be comfort....and i feel he is mine alone kekeke...cux no one can replace me...im the only one with milk ma...kekekek

Now i just have to put him on my shoulder or carry him near my breast and tap him....to make him sleep after formula....with my expressing 2 times a day now..my milk supply is decreasing but constant supply of milk for 2 pumps....cux next week i have to start work..soon...i will continue to express morning and evening...if that is the case

By the way, does anyone knows when the breast will grow smaller??? My breast is so huge and its kinda embarassing , people keep staring at my 40d breast....wilil it grow smaller after i stopped breast feeling or what?

Nas

hi helen,

i'm fine, still perservering...trying to increase my supply again.

no time to really post at work cos really busy....

Pink

How r u doing? you heard from Joanne? More or less im settled down already, should be starting work next week...if recieved my confirmation by this week...I went for interview on monday...so hoping to recieved confirmation this week...wish me luck!!

Have you started work? me at the moment didnt dare to bring baby out alone yet....anyway i think he is too young unless no choice...i only bring him to my mum house and my in law house...espcially weather not very good these days....im starting to go on diet now...i stiill fat le..!! breast not grow smaller yet....very depress...and is sagging...don know how..

Nat
I agree with you that indeed it's a nice feeling for bb to suckle. You can still do that after work right? You can go to your mum's? Are you gonna express bm during office hours? They say b/fed bbs stay close to mummies, I dun know how true. If you can still b/feed, why not? You can feed formula anytime but once bm ss is gone, that's it.

Hi Stylobb,

Is this the breastfeeding thread you were talking abt? Hope I am in the right place for you to "talk" to me...hee.

I find it so sad when we thaw and heat the FM and realize it's not very good anymore... makes me real worried if it's worth building up such a supply in the freezer coz they end up getting spoiled after a while. I think I better not stock too much, if milk spoil, all the more disappointing.

I think you are using the Pump in Style breastpump... the high end one... same as the one Girl is using.

Yes I am still latching on. I can't bear to stop bfg... esp since baby is latching on fine.... really can't bear to break the bond. So I'll perservere! Hope can continue till he's 1... haha... dunno whether it is too ambitious.

Nas
I tink you shld continue to latch him... depriving him of the comfort is so sad u know... like u said, you alone has the privilege of soothing him and giving him milk, why stop? MIL and mothers can be "jealous" about that so ask us to stop, saying it's not good, but I feel it's not true. Let him be.... he'll wean himself off the breast when the time comes. Dun deprive him lah... treasure this bonding with him, esp the night feed. I love to see my boy suckle and fall into sleep at the nite feed.... bottle doesn't have such an effect on him. As a mother, it's our duty and joy to comfort our babies mah... to give them the security.

Mel
Increase in your supply may be becoz you haven't emptied ur breasts so they began to be more engorged and full... so you were able to pump out more milk than usual. But this might be just a seemingly increase in supply... coz you din empty your breast frequent enough, in actual fact, the next time you pump the supply will drop as the signal is that you are reducing the demand.

So are you going to continue? Did the supply continue to increase?

Helen of Troy,
I am using the Medela dual pump. I do use the sterilising tablets. It's easiest for me at the office lor, just get a plastic container and put tap water and use the tablet. Yes you have to sterilise the breastpump before you use it each time.

Hi Dutchess
You bf your son all the while? What do you mean by increasing ur supply again? you stoppped?

AppleG
Yep, this is the correct place...hehe... did not want to tok there cos very few b/feed mah..dun wanna clog up the conversation.
I think sometimes I am 'obsessed' about b/feeding tho I mentioned before my ss is not much cos I see the benefits of it in my bb. Anyway my stock is ok, only about 1 month's old cos I still direct latch. And he never rejects my brs so I just keep feeding him lor. Plus I find it amazing at bb's suckle which is so effective to relieve the hardened brs. I find expressing quite tedious, imagine like 11pm and you feel like sleeping and you still gotta sit there for 20 mins pumping away... all for the sake of bb. Yes, that's the pump, but have been lugging to and fro, heavy...due my br problem.
Where to buy the tablets??

I htink I will express milk first and see how things work out...Yeah i agree, mothe rin law and mother will get jealous, i can feel it when i am breast feeding...like they don want the baby to get too attached to me...

cux i found a job , went for interview on monday that works on alternate days...hopefully will get conbfirmation by this weekend....then i have more time for bb and then see whether can start on direct breast feeding again...at night..so see how things work out...

so does anyone knows when the breast will gorw smaller? Or will it remain big when you are breast feeding...my breast is so obvious until when i go shopping for clothes, the sales lady ask me am i breastfeeding.....Wa lau..I cannot fit into my clothes cux of my breast!!!

How?

NAs

Hi StyloBB,
I'm thinking of getting the pump u r presently using. But dunno how is that compared to the Medela Dual. Yah.... i agree the Medela mini electric single is really noisy n not really good in EBM. I tot the PIS comes wif 6 bottles, u mean that is still not enuf?

Hi AppleG,
U r presently using the dual pump? Ya, can't decide as the $$$ is so different n the PIS seems so much more bulkier. U mean after each EBM session, i muz sterilised the whole pump, i think i will have lots of problems. As a working mum, if i plan to put my BB on TBF, how often muz i express to maintain a constant supply? N what r the usual timing, so as to not affect work too much?

hi AppleG

i've been on tbf all this while. to cut a long story short, it's just that in the beginning when i was about to return to work, was very scared will nto have enough ebm, so i stocked up a lot in the freezer until my freezer was bursting. then later couldn't finish using and the milk was expiring so i pumped less adn started to use up the frozen ebm. also when my boy started on solids his intake decreased a lot. so i pumped one less session adn my supply decrease. but now, my old frozen stock has been used up and i now i'm trying to build up the stock again. need to standby frozen ebm cos some bad days cannot pump enough for the next day's feed. also nowadays since my supply dropped, i find it more difficult to pump the full supply for the next day. so i'm waking up at 5am again everyday to pump, either for the day's feed or to freeze, depending on whether i have enough for the day already. hehhee, dunno if you understand ocs i'm writing this reallly fast...:p

Was reading some of the past postings here.... so interesting and nice to have such a thread for bfg mummies.

Just feel like responding to some old postings....

<font color="ff0000">Helena</font> I dun think you can consider to be TBF your baby as long as you have introduced formula.

TBF means all the feeds are breastmilk... no formula at all.... giving formula for 1 or 2 feeds not considered that little... TBF babies have never taken formula before. I TBF my baby till 6 months. After that, I recently tried to make some formula for him to try... glad he drank some, din reject. So now I have the freedom to give him formula when situation really arises, but still I dun give him daily. only as and when needed, when we go out no place to bf so gotta give formula. Before 6 months, he never took any powder milk before.

<font color="ff0000">Mini</font> To me, it's NOT TRUE that breastfed babies cannot sleep thru the nite... it's just a matter of training and your baby's habit. Some babies naturally start to sleep thru the nite when they reach certain stage. Some gotta train... and breastfed babies are definitely possible to sleep through! It's only the inital stage whereby milkflow not established so baby needs to feed very often, unlike those on formula. After initial weeks, when milk is established, breastmilk is just as filling as formula milk. My baby is able to sleep longer hours at nite...can consider sleep thru (11pm - 7am) even though he is on BM.

Nas
hee I thought breasts the bigger the merrier? People flock to get breast implants and enlargements leh... you shld be happy... heehee... I dunno, my breasts also got bigger since i gave birth and breastfeed my baby... dunno if they will become smaller when I stop. Try to latch your baby at least for nite feed lah. No harm wat. It's a joy.

Stylobb
Yah, since baby is still latching on well, not rejecting breast I also can't bear to stop... sigh, guess shld just try to continue, it's good for them really. See how it goes.... just persevere each day as it passes lor.... my PD encouraged me to continue... she said many others wish they were in my position woh... oh well.

Got my sterilising tablets from Kiddy Palace, using the Milton brand. Actually quite easy to get lah, any baby section would have.

But dun use on Avent manual pump, the chemicals spoils the parts!

B2B3M4
Wah your user name so interesting, like some secret code.
Yah I using the Medela electric plus (the dual one). It depends on your budget. If you are willing and able to spend, of course the PIS is the best lah... but it's really ex, I think the dual pump is good enough, having the PIS would be a luxury to me. Too bad can't afford lah.
Dun be too worried abt the sterilising. Using sterilising tablets shld be the easiest. If can't, like some of the others, they just rinse with hot water. Or use microwave method.

It'll be good if you can express 2-3 times at work. For eg, before u start work, during lunch time and before you go home. This wun affect ur work too much.

If you can express during office hours, all the better.

I try to express 2 times at work.

Just wondering, BF will cause breasts to be bigger?? I always thought that BF mothers will have 'controllable' breast size due to the regular 'emptying' by baby, no?
Oh dear, I plan to BF for a while after delivery, hope my breasts won't be too big...

AppleG
Interesting thread, right? Was quite relieved to read this topic. My bb now no longer on tbf cos I could not keep up with the milk ss. I tried all ways already but still cannot, so I dun wanna stress myself, I just latch on as well as express and give as much as I can. If you read thru, Desert is also in somewhat same situation as me. I set a six-month target.
Just wondering, are you a Christian?

B2
I use the disp bm bags cos I pump 3-4 times (if bb wakes up before I go to work, I try to feed him direct) so bottles will not be enuf. My ss is not enuf for bb...I measured before, I pump 120ml but bb can take 150ml. Worse, last two weeks, ss dropped.
The high-end pump is expensive, I would not have bought it.
Expressing at work - that's tricky. A few times when I felt my brs hardened, went to work and pumped before 9am. I usually pump at 12pm/5pm, I dun feel good to pump like say 3 hours cos gotta work, cannot keep disappearing right? Anyway I am comfortable with these timings.

Helen
I have used steriling tablets to sterilise my avent manual pump before during the 1st two month. I personal don't really like it coz it got a chemical smell and the rubber parts of the pump changes from transparent to milky white colour, and my pump has a sticky feeling.

Now I don't use the tablets already although is quite convenient. I wash the pump with water and pigeon liquid cleanser, then use hot water to go over it.

B2B3M4
I have both avent manual pump and medela mini electric dual pump. Avent is good if you just want to express occassionally, for regular express prefer the electric as it is not tiring for the hands. Now I am expressing 4 times per day and am using the electric. I didn't get the PIS coz is much more expensive but know that is better than the mini electric.

MTMTMT
I am using avent bottles and teats for my boy.

nas
I think the breast size will go back to normal after a week or two after you stop BF.

I got the same problem as you. My old tops can't button at the bust area, so before I start work have bought a few larger size tops, by the way, now I am still wearing some maternity tops leh..

stylobb/appleg
My freezer stock is not a lot, also about 1mth old but I try to use before they are 1mth as they will tend to have very strong 'plastic' smell. Not sure it is bec of the avent storage bag..

you can buy the sterilisering tablets from NTUC or guardian or KP. I bought the Boots brand previously.

stylobb
I only express once at work. My schedule for the day is 6.30am, 12pm, 6.30pm and 10.30pm. Now most of my time is rushing to and fro my mum's place. Sometime during lunch hours, will rush to my mum's place to express, and after work, rush back to my mum's place to express again. All these rushing around makes me tired... and also the waking up early morning to express too.. me also intent to BF till bb is 6mth.

Now your boy is taking 150ml? My boy still take 120ml only.

Jas
Mine is usu. 7am, 12pm, 5pm, 11pm...hehe... yah, understand, tiring...never mind, try our best. We will look back and find it's worth it. How come you still wear your maternity tops?

How old r your babies if they are taking 150ml?
My bb is only 7 weeks old now...going 8 soon...taking 140 ml...my PD ask me to give him this much...

Thanks for all those replies. Definitely sounds tiring but for the good of our babies, its definitely worth it.

What wld be a good amt to stock up b4 i go back to work, meaning how many days' stock muz i keep b4 i go back to work so as to ensure there is no hiccups. I m planning to put my baby in Infant care Centre, so i need to ensure baby have enuf to drink for the day n yet not too much to overwhelmed the centre's fridge. i haven't gotten to the details yet wif the centre, anyone has experience wif putting their child in infant care centre n yet maintain on TBF?

Jas n StyloBB,
U were mentioning that u EBM in the early morning n late nights, but wldn't u latch baby on at these times for their usual feeds. by then, u mean there is still milk to be expressed?

Nas,
my baby is taking very little about 80ml per feed. she is still on tbf. i latch her on most of the time unless i am not around times. i don't plan to find a job so i am staying at home to look after her with the help of my mum. i am sneaking out every now and then cause i do not want to lose touch with the outside world...i have already returned to my pre-pregnancy weight 42kg as my appetite is really bad. seriously, i dun think i am having enough nutrition to bf but i still continue anyway...

on her 1st month, i brought her to polyclinic for injection and her weight increased about 1kg. i doubt that is her actual weght as she was with her receiving blanket, clothes on and diapers... u plan to take up the 4-in-1 and 5-in-1 thingy?

i did not hear from joanne. wonder how she's doing? i actually lost your numbers as i changed my hp and they were stored in phone memory. your job seems flexible, only alternate days.

hi pink
now can manage to get 40ml from both side, better than b4 only 10ml...
Avelyn can response when you talk to her already?? So fast ah. My little gal always smile at empty space one. My MIL say it is the bed goddess talking to her.LOL

You didn't eat well for your confinement?? Must take good care of yourself. 42kg is really light, you must be very slim. I am 54kg now still have 8kg to burn away to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight. Haizzz, wonder how am I going to do that. Planning to take up kick boxing class after confinement, but heard it is very tedious.

hi desert
ya, me still express daily cause my breast always feel very bloated and uncomfortable.

hi jasTan
is pooing every 2 days then normal? My baby poo twice everyday. Is there something wrong with my gal?

hi appleG
i was also worried it is because I did not empty my breast thats why got more milk when i pump. So far the amount is maintained for the past 2 days. Hopefully will go on like this. Now i express 3 times every day. I know it is not enough, but have no choice cause i having sore nipples.

hi Nas appleG
I totally agreed with both of you. When I found out i have an increase in BM, my MIL was so sarcastic, saying my BM very watery, BB won't be full only depending on it, must feed formula also. She nv has anything nice to say about me BF...

Nas
I would die for that size of yours. I am enjoying this period of having bigger breast although mine is only cup C now..

going to miss this 'size' after stop BF.

styloBB
so u giving your BB formula now too? My BB takes 100ml of formula for every feed as I only have 30-40ml of BM..

StyloBB JasTan, &amp; AppleG,
I try to pump at least twice at work. When I get home, I pump and let my baby latch on and feed direct to make sure there is stimulation. I use the Avent pump and according to JasTan's feedback, I don't think I will use the tablets.

A nurse from the Abott's Lab called me. I asked her how to increase ss, she says to pump every hour. I also tried drinking papaya shake and soups, looks like it does help in my ss. I just hope my ss will continue to increase.

Natash,
Your bb drinks 140ml but how many feeds per day does he do? I was told you take 150ml times the bb's weight to give you the total amount he drinks per 24 hours.

Pink,
How old is your bb? My bb is almost 7 weeks and he drinks about 100-110ml.

B2
You are right, I feed direct when I'm home. But the last feed we give formula, so I express. In the morning if he awakes, I feed direct, if still sleeping and I think he won't want to take, I express(but find this very tiring...rather feed direct.) Am thinking of skipping the 11pm slot cos I usually latch him at around 9.45-10pm.

Pink
It's good that you can stay home to look after bb. It's tough tending to a bb full-time. We look after bb ever nite + weekends, can you imagine, I got not much rest. Try to eat more.

Mel
BM is watery cos it's 90% water but it contains nutrients mah. The older folks always equate thickness = got nutrients. Just ignore them.
Yah my bb taking formula, I'm ok with it cos he's still taking bm. With total bm last time, very siong cos he can eat every 1.5 hours. I think for fm, it's 150 ml every 3 hours. For bm he lasts 120ml every 2 hours. Sometimes he can take 160ml, depends...I don't want to force him.

Helen
Pump every hour?...what got time..? I think as working mums, we are trying our best. Got to juggle so many schedules.

stylobb
You saw me at the gathering. Me still fat fat... and the bust area is bigger now. Now only my old maternity tops can fit me, all my pre-preggie clothes cannot wear.

when you not working? do you still stick to your pumping schedule in addition to latching your boy on direct? I am thinking to try latching my boy on this weekend, but was thinking do I still need to stick to the pumping schedule? If no, then where to get the stock if he's back at my mum's place on sunday evening.

nas
my boy is 3.5mths old.

B2B3M4
I didn't latch my boy on even when I am with him. I have been on exclusive pumping since my boy is 1 weeks old.

mel
I ask the GP and he said poo once every 2 days is normal. Now my boy didn't poo for the past 4 days.. today must by the pump for him.

It's also normal for bb to poo more than 1 times per day. My boy used to poo more than 1 times per day, then as he grows older become once per day, then now becomes once per two days. I think as their digestive system gets mature and stronger, their no. of poo per day will be lesser.

appleg
How do you know that your breast is really empty? I normally express about 30-40mins and squeeze and massage the breast until no milk or very little milk flow out, although I can feel some lumpy at the side. Is this consider empty the breast already?

helena
how to pump every hour? Every pumping session for me take about 45mins, and after I wash and sterilise the pump will take another 15mins. If I pump every hour, then it means I will simply be having the pump on me 24hrs, non-stop.

Hi AppleG, you mentioned that BF babies can sleep through the night. When did this happen for your baby? Any suggestions for how to train babies to this? My boy is about six weeks now, wondering if he'll start to space out his feeds during the night yet or whether I should try to train him soon - but don't know how!

Mel - i think for BM, the initial part of it is watery but if you keep feeding, you'll notice that it gets thicker, that's the hindmilk coming down.

just woke up from my afternoon nap to find my breast pad soak throught with BM and wet my top. I quickly go and express out but seems like most of the milk has leak out and manage to get half the amount only..

So wasted....

My bb is almost a month old (end of confinement!!)

I latch baby on direct during the day - he typically lasts about 5-10mins before dozing off. But funny thing is that even if I latch him on, after about half an hour, he can still finish up about 60 (sometimes even 80mL) of expressed bm. Does that mean he's not having enough?

My bb don't cry much for milk (usually only cries at night). During day time, I just latch and latch until he falls asleep. Not sure if he's having enough.

He's pooing (I consider the 'big timers') only about 3 times a day. Other times he may fart and let out a bit of poo (not sure if this is considered passing motion). I read from materials that he should be outputting about 5 times a day. Does this mean he's not getting enough??

Another question from me....

Once I thaw expressed bm for baby to drink, if he can't finish it, can I still keep it (outside of fridge)? If so, how long more can I keep it?

A bit the wasted if I throw it away, but I'm not sure if feeding baby with this 'leftover' milk is ok.

QHL
You can still keep such milk that has been thaw outside for 2hrs (keeping it warm) before throwing it away.

jas
You not so fat lah..
I try to latch him on during weekends so no stocking up of bm lor. I read from this thread that you can express, then latch on. You want to try latching on again hah? If I latch him on, I dun pump ... too tired and laycheh... you know, I got no rest even on weekends...the other day, I told hubby to drop me off at home (so I can sleep for an hour) before meeting him to go out. Nowadays I dun know whether to be happy or not when weekends come...
JL sale, think I need to get the disp bm bags and pampers too.

Hi stylobb
JL sales coming again? You mean John little right? When? I need to get the wipes. What brand of wipes you using. I am going back to work soon. Bb still rejects bottle. Don't know also. He can go without milk only drink about 30 ml for the whole afternoon.Your bb drinks similiac also. Is it good?

Hi desert
Your bb still rejects bottle. Me not sure how also. Hopefully he will adapt slowly.

moon

Hi Jas, stylobb
So that means that we need to stop end of june right? Not sure I will miss bfing then.

Hi Nas
Wow really envy your d cup.

Hi jas

Like you most of my top can't fit in cos of the breast area. So xian leh. I went to look around for blouse but if i take a smaller size the breast area will be too small and i fI take bigger size will be very loose. ai ya so hard to get tops.

Hi mel

You also always hope to have big breast ah hee. Me too leh. But having them like quite troublesome like what I have told jas hard to get tops. must buy top waste money.

moon

Moon
You busy? Did not hear from you.
Yes, John Little's, jas says so.
I use the Pigeon wet wipes, good. O dear, your boy does not want milk? Yah, my boy takes similac, so far ok.
B/f - are you gonna to continue after june? Maybe can still express?
I dun think I can leh, feel quite tired.

Thanks for the feedback earlier

Very helpful thread!

Nas, I dun look forward to having bigger breasts. In this weather especially, when lying sideways, flesh squashed against flesh may be erotic looking but hell hot for me! And I'm nowhere ur size so I can't imagine how hot it is for u! I often slip a cold pack in between the breasts... very feverish ah.

stylobb
If you express first then latch, bb will have no more milk left to drink liao right? my boy will get impatient and scream, in the end, will fall back to giving him the EBM..

Me will be going to JL on Friday to stock up on disp BM storage bag and sealer diapers...

Me too.. now whenever weekends is approaching I don't really feel happy and relax as compared to newly weds time..

serene
For me will stop mid July 04 coz my boy is born mid Jan'04. For me I don't think I will miss BF coz I am doing exclusive expressing.

i need help
my boy is about 7 weeks old. i am latching him on in the afternoon and night one formula to allow him to sleep longer.
right now i am using advent teat no. 1 , may i know when should i change the teat? i bought the no. 2 meant for above one month... he rejected it as the flow is too quick for him to handle.

another thing... my boy dun poo.. last week, for six days he never poo...so we sent him to pd, and he gave him pill to poo...
is it normal for breastfeeding child to only poo once in 5 days? (this is what my pd said and what i read from the web) but seems that most of ur babies poo so many times a day. i was advised to change my milk powder to frisovam, but i only feed him once a day... does it makes a big difference? also advised to feed him glucose water... will it really work?

thanks all

hi pink
u all still active here... me no time already..
he always doze off after latchign on for 5-10 min.. then wake up after half an hour to be fed again. very tiring.

jas
Apparently when bb suckles, he sends signals to brain that more bm is needed...hehe..that was wat I was advised.
I will try to drop by JL to get the stuff.
Yah lor, weekends ended up depressing...sigh..I was dying for a nap but if bb does not sleep, then how? Me/hubby gotta take turns. Got to cope somehow, cannot go back to those days already where we can go here and there....

Joanne,

Don't worry abt your bb not poo-ing. My bb is also 7 weeks old and he poos once every 4 days. The two paediatricians I sent him to say it's ok.
My bb, when I latch hin on, will take his own sweet time to stretch his limbs, fart (VERY SMELLY!!!) and nap. Then he will jerk and try to reach for my breast! Very funny!

AppleG,

my baby can sleep thru for earlier part of the night. realised even if i feed him anytime between 830-1030pm for his last feed, he will still wake up ard 3+am for the next feed. think he has got used to the habit of waking up at 3+am. he din cry at night but kept tossing here n there. feel tat he should be hungry. mayb next time i should wait till he cry then feed him.

Joanne,
i m using advent teat no. 2 for my 7wks old baby. he started to use this teat when i first introduced bottle to him 2wks ago.

Helena,
your baby poo must be alot when he poos once every 4days! my baby poo everyday, usually poo a few times per day. started give baby bottle this wk as my grandmum-in-law passed away n i need to attend the wake. so asked my mum to feed him. he finally readily accept bottles. he drink 110-120ml each feed. that time during the wake, my milk leak after not pumping for 4.5hrs! dun like the full n sore sensation
next time when start work sure cant pump milk so frequent. i forsee pump once in 5hrs. like tat have to bear with the painful n leaking breasts again.

hi AppleG

u mentioned ur boy can sleep thru even on TBF. when did he start doing that and did u have to train him?

do u bf ur boy to sleep? my gal very dependent on me, i m the only person who can make her sleep at night, she needs to nurse to sleep n i m trying to break this habit coz i feel its not a good habit, she wont learn how to sleep by herself. worst, I am going on overseas trips for work, i cant imagine how she'll cry at night without me

I m TBF'g and dont intend to introduce FM, so really searching for "solution" to make my gal sleep thru night and dun need nurse to sleep. currently she'll wake abt 12am n 5-6am for milk. but i feel she juz wan to suckle coz i think she's old enough to sleep thru the night, she's 4mths old. i tried depriving her night feeds, she simply scream her head off. also in my attempt to break her nurse to sleep habit, i let her cry for >1hr...but till now still not so successful.

Mini,

Yeah. His poo is a lot, so much so that it leaks out of his nappy. Gross! You said your bb drinks 110-120ml per feed. How many feeds does he have per 24 hours? You should feed on demand, only when he is hungry. Bbs cry when they are hungry. It's an in-born mechanism in them, so you ened not worry they go hungry.

Joanne,
My boy is 9 weeks old but he is still using the Avent no 1 teat and he is doing fine. I was thinking maybe it is good as he needs to suck harder to get milk as liken to that of a breast. Then he will not have nipple confusion and reject my breast.

helena/stylobb
my boy used to poo once every 2 days, but today he has not poo for past 5 days already. me quite worried. It is normal for him? We tried to make him poo but unsuccessful. Bought Gerber Apple Prune Juice for him, hope he poos after taking it..

I should go tell my mum that it is ok for babies to not poo for 3-4 days even.

My baby poos everyday so whenever he skips a day, like recently, she gets all worried and keep saying it's not good. I wonder is it true.

When baby was on full breastmilk, he can poo more than once a day. Esp initial weeks, poo a few times... Now he has started taking semi solids, he usually poo every other day.

Blessed
I have this book, which advocates PDF (parental directed feeding) i think... it teaches one to train the baby, inclu breastfed babies, to eventually be able to sleep thru the nite by 8 weeks!
It is mainly following a strict feeding schedule. Gradually, can extend the feed and nite feed the baby eventually sleeps thru. Let me go back and ask my hubby again (cos he is the one who read the book and "train" baby) then share with you all again. Can't remember some of the things now. I think red{Su} wants to know too.

jas/AppleG
I think the last time the PD told me one week is ok, and check if bb is behaving normally and not feeling irritable. I know lah, our mums usu quite kan cheong. My mum is always so concerned about it, but when my bb is with us, we dun really bother cos when he is ready, he will do his business. Jas, maybe if he does not do it, then go see doc over weekend.

blessed
Your gal will wake up once during the nite? My hubby was the one to train bb with set nite-time routine, he takes fm before sleeping.

AppleG
I asked you earlier whether you are a Christian, guess I found the answer in the other thread when the talk about pantang was on..hehe.

helena,

she's 6 weeks old and i find that she drinks little for her age... most of the time, i latch her on so i do not know. but when she feeds from the bottle occasionally, she takes only about 70ml.