**Birth story**

This is my birth story. I am a July 2010 mummy.

Frankly,I dunno how those mummies actually remember the timing of each event. Hehe!!

At abt 4.15pm, I checked in to the delivery suite @ MAH. Then change into the delivery gown, given the enema (dunno how to spell) to poop. After that, waterbag broken then put on drip to induce contraction. When I checked in, still 3cm dialted.

After an hour, I cannot take the contraction pain anymore and requested for epidural. After 30mins, the doctor came and gave me the epidural. I was in so much pain that I dun really feel anything when he did the process. After a while, although the pain is gone but I still know when I am having a contraction.

At about 7pm, the nurse checked my cervix and it is about 4cm dilated. BB heartbeat strong, contraction is good. But the pain getting stronger for me again... so the nurse increase the dosage... even though the pain is soothe but i still can feel the urge to push like that and it was really uncomfortable. Hubby keep asking me not to push.

At about 8plus, the nurse checked again and cervix is dilated to 6cm but BB head still high. Nurse increase my epidural dosage to the max and still it is not helping me much cos I was still feeling very incomfortable down there and soon I was moaning away. Nurse told me she cannot increase the dosage anymore and by this time I am already using my 2nd tube of epidural.

At about 10plus, the nurse came in to check again but still 6cm dilated and BB head still high. She tried to help me out by twisting her hand to open up the cervix further and ask me to try pushing abit to see if BB head will come down. But doesn't seem to be working much.

At 11plus, I am still not opening up and remain 6cm and I was really tired out liao. My gynae called the nurse to check and ask to speak to my hubby. I already know what he will be suggesting to hubby. When hubby came back, he told me gynae suspect BB's head is big and can't come down so cervix is not opening. Suggested emergency C-sec cos he scared if I delay any further, BB might be in distress. I agreed immediately. I was also very surprised that I was not afraid at all of being cut up. I was just too tired.

At 12.15am, I was pushed into the OT. My epidural dosage increase in prep for C-sec. Hubby came in awhile later to be with me. When they cut me up, I smelled burning smell. I asked hubby if they are burning me up. Haha!! Then suddenly I got 2 pairs of hands pushing my stomach and another pair tugging below. It was so uncomfortable like my tummy is bursting. I keep hearing Dr Fong say " the shoulder, the shoulder" Then at 12.44am, BB is out. But I didn't hear him cry, was so worried and keep asking hubby. Hubby say they cleaning his mucus.. then suddenly.. a big cry came. I was so relieve. Surprisingly, I didn't cry when Kayden was born. I thought I would cry big time but I guess I was too tired le.

Hubby followed BB to the nursery to take measurement while the gynae stitched me up. When I was out of OT, I was shivering like hell and I vomitted. Luckily I didn't eat anything since lunch so all I vomitted was water.

I couldn't even breastfeed Kayden that very night and told the nurses to give him FM first.

Thanks mummy Ann.. But I have a question, I thought emergency c-sec, hubby is not allow to acc??? How come your hubby can go OT with u???

Ya, MAH is Mount Alvernia Hospital. They do allow hubby to go in with me lei. Maybe because I do C-sec with epidural & not GA? I only know GA, then hubby not allowed in.

Tiara's Birth Story...This includes my own thoughts, fears and experience in the whole episode.

Something happened.Hind water bag burst with a distinct 'pop!' sound as I was turning in bed changing my position in the morning of 8 Feb, around 11am.(There's Hind and Front Waterbags.The common one with a big gush of water is the front water bag.)I was waiting for more signs to make sure i'm right about the water bag bursting.I laid down for 20 mins and then stood up anticipating big gush of water, thinking it could be baby's head engaged and blocked the waers from flowing out, as mentioned widely in internet articles on water bag bursting.But little was mentioned about hind waterbag bursting unless you specifically search for it.But how was I to knoe since I was a first-timer?I then realised that Hind water bag burst will only manifest in the form of water discharge very much later, after nothing else happened.In fact it was only later in the day, when I was convinced i had to get it checked out by the gynae that through ultrasound, it was confirmed my water levels had dipped as there was a leak of amniotic fluid.So I'm right.

Ok.back to the timeline. After the 'pop!' sound, I waited a long time to see if there were other signs like bloody show(or discharge) or consistent contractions lasting for a minute on intervals of 10 mins or so. However, I had none of these, or at least, I din really notice or feel contractions or cramps, maybe because I was numb or my pain threshold had been stretched as in the past few days following the day, I had them coming and had tried very intense ones in a night few days before that those on the day felt like nothing to cry about.

I was praying nothing had happened and I was imagining things as I had badly hoped for her to arrive during CNY, which is just 5 days later to the eve of CNY!(About 2 days ago before D-day, about 4am, I woke up with very intense Braxton Hicks and strong baby kicks that felt like it's the real thing.I woke papa up too, in case it's the real thing.Sitting in the hall to rest a little and think if I shud get admitted, and not sure if it was the real thing, I talked to tiara and told her it's not time yet and to wait patiently for another week.I think I manage to take deep breaths to relax myself and coax her to relax with me and the contractions and pain gradually disappeared and we went back to bed.Actually my gynae had pre-empted me that it might be as soon as i leave his office, I would be due as i was already 1.5cm dilated.But nothing significant happened on that day as I was psychoing baby to come out during CNY and being very careful myself not to trigger labour until bad contractions 2 days later.)So, I was in denial that it had happened.

Truting my instincts.I t6ried to convince myself nothing was really happening but I felt great unease deep in my heart. I just knew something had happened. I called papa at about 1pm and told him about it and that he might have to come home.i called mom and she told me to get admitted rightaway.But I was disappointed as I had tahan until 5 days before CNY. In fact, she was supposed to be a mid-CNY baby, due on 5-6 day of CNY, 19 Feb!Sad.I was in denial and was kind of blaming her for not waiting.Bad right?But I had my own reasons.After 2 months of not sleeping well with a huge bump being in the way of comfortable positions and feeling lethargic all the time and having problems walking from the heavy weight of the bump and swollen elephant legs, can you imagine how much I look forward to the end of it and holding my lil precious in my arms?Who cares about the glamour of having my baby born during CNY?It's not that.it's a genuine concern and fear for how being born in the year of Tiger would affect her for life and trying to cut loss.It's her mummy wanting a good start for her life. I have worked with bosses and rich influential people who are very superstitious.in the Chinese culture, of all the animals in the Zodiac, Tiger is the worse, especially if it's a girl.I wanted her to not be born disadvantaged in any aspect,especially not because of her birthtime. I wanted everything to go well for her in the life and being prejudiced against in any way just because she's born a Tiger is what I would not want her to suffer.The only way around it was for her to born during CNy. in any case, CNY is a good time for Chinese.It cancels out anything bad and everything becomes lucky, 大吉大利。but Man proposes, god disposes. But it is not something I can control.

Now, I learn to not depend on myself but entrust her into God's hands. I trust that what God brings her to, He will bring her through.This is my real believe-In Christ Jesus.but somehow, not everyone is a christian, and I just hope she will be given a fair chance in everything in life and not be affected by other people's superstitions. We can ignore, but we cannot deny we will be affected. especially if these people become our superiors.I know of people who reject their son's girlfriends just because she's born in the year of Tiger, or some animals.on auspicious days or ceremonies, some animals are also told to stay away for fear of bringing bad luck to the event.See?Sounds familiar?

Anyway, After calling mom and papa, I called the doctor finally at 3 plus.i knew he would ask me to go in and have a check and I was already in my 38th week, baby's 2.9 at the check few days ago and birth was eminent anytime.At about 4.30pm, papa arrived home. And we were soon on our way to Dr Lawrence Ang's office, [email protected] we arrived, I did not wait long for my turn to be checked.Ultrasound showed that water levels dipped and he confirmed that my waters had leaked.He got me strapped on an ECG machine to monitor baby's heartbeat for half an hour.He told me to admit into Mt A by 6pm and sent me off to pack my stuff.

Can't believe things are happening now.We went back to Causeway Point,had some pizza at Pizza Hut, did some walking around and shopping as there was only very little contractions. Wendy had also mentioned that even if I check in early, I would only be lying in bed waiting for things to happen.I did not want medical intervention as much as possible and I know if things did not happen, that would be the case. Of cause, I was fearful, increasingly fearful.But remarkably, I was very calm for a first-timer throughout.I took my own time and stayed relaxed.After walking around, nothing happened and I decided to go home and watch the Quan Yifeng and Christopher Lee's 心晴大动员.

It is really happening, STARTING FROM NOW. At about 9 plus, Dr Ang called, said he's at the hospital and asked which ward was I in. I then told him I'm still at home as nothing happened, asked if I can admit into hospital the next day, he said no.For the safety of the child, to prevent infection, baby has got to be out within 24 hours. he told me to check in immediately. So, off we went in a cab to Mt A, reached at about 10.15pm.Spend sometime at the reception area, couldn't decide if I want to stay in a Single bedded, a two bedded or a 4 bedded ward.Doctor also advised me to stay in a 4 bedded as it is only for a few hours, then once the contractions become regular and intensify or there're other signs of labour like show or water bag burst,I would be transferred into Delivery suite.The charges vary quite alot, that's why he advised me against taking delivery suite immediately upon admitting because we have no idea when would things start happening, it may not be anytime soon, while the cost would escalate with time.This is what i like about Dr Ang.he helps his patients save money by giving them good advice.I then finally decided on a 4 bedded ward and got admitted at 11pm.True enough, after waiting for awhile, being strapped on the ECG, the contractions intensified and the intervals became closer together and I was then transferred to the delivery suite after about 2 hours. In the Delivery Suite, I was again strapped onto the ECG machine to monitor baby's heartbeat and contractions. Nurses inform me that the doctor will be in at 7.30am. But for the next 6-7 hours, other than contractions, nothing significant happened and there was no further dilation, still just 1.5cm.At 8am, Dr Ang arrived.When he saw that nothing much happened, he told me that we are getting close to the end of the 24 hours window period and chances of infection will increase thereafter so he decides that we've got no choice but to induce. It was a torture for me. Everything I was fearful of and didn't wanted to happen came to past within a short span of a few hours, until the birth of Tiara. The water bag was burst with the long thing with a hooked end.There was pain with the gushing out of the waters.And who said it was not painful??Liar!There, he ran pitocin to speed the dilation, so there was IV drip needles poked into my poor wrist.Ouch!Before that, there was Fleet pumped into my system to remove waste so baby will not fly out and fall flat face down in faeces at the beautiful birth moment.once it is pumped in, within minutes, everything came uncontrollably out clean.It's like..super bad diarrhoea.Disgusting.Makes you feel weak too.imagine...diarrhoea til the legs become wobbly...just before giving birth...?!

Dilation & Pain Relief.In four hours,I was fully dilated.the pain of dilation started manageable, then you notice the pain escalates over time,until you really feel like climbing up walls at the end of the second hour.Initially, I rejected Gas and Air, but at 7cm dilatreda end of the 3rd hour, the nurses insisted, saying that if i stay stubborn and refuse any pain relief method, i may end up having a C-sect if i deplete all my energy trying to cope with the pain.I am more afraid of C-sect and it sounded logical.So i took.Form then, i hugged onto gas and air and keep sucking it in. i then realised why it's one of the methods of pain relief provided for delivery.it's effective when you're full of it. Keep sucking and you feel as light as floating on air and the pain's gone.But the gas and air gets depleted once you stop sucking, and the pain sensation will come back almost like you've never used it.i sucked on it and kept myself between semiconcious and totally numb until birth is over.It's somewhat effective, but i guess it's bad..?cos i dun feel good staying in numb state.

The doctor. Doctor's job is only to be there when you're fully dilated to snip you down there, get you to push right and receive the baby.Actually, cut the long story short, it's only to receive the baby.In Singapore, all babies have to be delivered by a doctor.That's actually what you are paying so much for.They are responsible for wellbeing of the baby and mummy during the delivery. he came at 8am in the morning, burst my waterbag and ran pitocin then left. When I was 8cm dilated after slightly more than 3 hours, the nurses called the doctor and he arrived just as i was fully dilated and ordered me to push when the next bout of contraction comes and with a 'snip!', baby flew out right into his arms!papa was right beside.He was asked to cut the umblical cord.papa told me that tiara had 3 rounds of umblical cord round her neck and Dr Ang was very skillful and quick, unwinding the cord off her neck as she flew out.Before she flew out I felt a sting in an instant and total relief after that.In fact, the relief was so obvious that I felt relaxed immediately.I did not feel anything after that.That's why getting a good doctor is so important.I think he's a good gynae too.After baby's born, the nurses put her on my chest as I delivered the placenta and was stitched up. I din feel the stitches at all, which is my greatest fear which kept me awake in my late preggy days, maybe because the worst was over and I was numb from the trauma or I was given an LA to reduce further trauma.I was so tired that for the rest of the day, I could hardly open my eyes.Yes, even when friends and family visited me, I only managed to greet them with half opened eyes.I only felt better the second day.Hence, the nurses did not have me nurse Tiara immediately following her birth as I was unstable.

Hubby. He was ecstatic, I think. So much that he forgot he had an important thing to do, to take photos of the memorable event for keepsake!Haiz. Almost every mummy had the pictures taken but me, Thanks to papa.Grr!It's once in a lifetime and unique to every child okay?! Even if one may not feel comfortable to share the pictures with others, they're mainly for your own keepsake!Not everything is for sharing.It's a big event in a woman's lifetime ma.Haiz.. so Sad.The irony is, the camera has always been in his pocket!And I've reminded him a thousand times before things happened.I was just too worn out to get him to do it at the crucial moment!haiz...and hubbies, do not leave your wife at all throughout labour until delivery is over.Hubby left me to get some coffee after being with me in the hospital for more than 8 hours. I could understand he needed the coffee to perk him up for the real act later. It was 11 plus in the morning, he had to sleep in the chair beside my bed the whole night and it was uncomfortable so he didn't rest well and was very tired.But it was untimely as it was after the waterbag was burst artificially and pitocin was ran in me that kick start the labor and sped up everything until delivery of the placenta, all in 4 hours.I know he didn't know that I was that close to delivery, and he had left the room while I was finally having some sleep as contractions in the earlier hours, since being transferred to the delivery ward from the observation ward, were strong enough to keep me awake, albeit nothing else happened, no dilation or waterbag burst or show.I was rudely awaken by the sudden increase in contraction pain and a strong urge to push that I realised papa was not in the room. I panicked and reached for the call to call the nurse but it dropped as I touched it.I was in total distress now.I shouted out calling the nurses and no one came.After what seem like eternity, papa and the nurses came into the room at the same time.The nurses checked and I was 8cm dilated, and they called the doctor.This part of being totally alone in the room when things started happening left a great deal of phobia and trauma in me of the birth experience. This is what they call 叫天天不应叫地地不灵.I was so afraid no one will be there when the baby's really coming out.What if there're complications?Tremendous pain + Worries and fear = Phobia!Perhaps some hubby cannot be birthing instructors or efficient helpers, but they can contribute to a better birthing experience for mummies, and definitely their presence support and loving acts, sayang mummies and reminding them to breathe are more effective than anyone or anything else that help mummies alot during this time of need.So, you dunno when things will happen.Safety is the best policy, bring everything you may need, especially food and drinks to fill the stomach, coffee or tea to perk yourself up, jacket in case the room is too cold or when you feel cold usually due to lack of sleep.something to keep you occupied like reading materials or lappy as you wun know how long will the wait til the final moment last.Camera for the moment AND REMEMBER TO USE IT.Take the birth time reflected on the clock in the room, the bed number, mummy on the bed in the delivery room, first moment of baby's birth,first moment of baby on mummy's chest nurses or doctor carrying the newborn and so on.. It's once in a lifetime, unique to mummy's every birth experience and individual baby and no replays!Soon after baby's born, he's carried away to be weighed, washed up, checked and later, put into the warmer to stabilize her temperature.

Tiara first appearance. Tiara's born a very nice bright pink skin with very round big eyes.All the nurses commented that she had very big eyes.She had alot of shiny ebony hair and were quite long at the back.Before I had my deep sleep almost right after her birth, like any mummy would, I scrutinized her all over with hald opened eyes for 10 fingers(couldn't reach her toes as she was laid flat on my chest) and she had eyes, nose, ear and mouth and see that everything was normal before I was relaxed and feel asleep.I woke up about 6 hours later.

Worry about everything.I even worried about what time she would be born as some people say she's a cow because babies born during or after CNY would then be considered Tiger.If that's the case, they say cow babies had better not be born in the morning as they would have to slog all their lives.So i was eager for her to be born during midnight. But as the hours passed from 12 to 5am, nothing happened and I was getting increasingly anxious as it would be dawn soon. it would be good either before dawn or afer dusk as the farming hours are over and cows can go back to sleep.But, baby have to be out latest around noon as that would be the end of the window period before chances of infection increase tremendously and doctor's determined to have her out before then. Luckily she's out at lunchtime.haha.. so since farmer have to eat, cows have a break too right?haha.. That made me feel better.Anyway, good start at birth is important to me.The rest is up to her own doing.As far as I can, I will strive to bring her up to be a positive person with good values and personality.

I only understood what my mum went through for me when I became a mum myself.It was a painful but empowering experience for me.I always tell papa, in the past, I enjoyed good health and had no reason to be put on a drip or be cut up or stitched and be in pain all the time.I went through everything I was most afraid of all in 1 event on a day.But I think it's worth everything I went through, everytime I look at my chubby cute little Tiara playing with her daddy.But ask if i will want another one?My first reply would be a 'NO!' without thinking.But well, that seems to be a formulated reply for all first time mummies, as what others would say to me.But think about it, my fear of going through everything again is there, especially of the first 10 days of my confinement as the pain of the stitches were so bad that I could hardly change position from sit to stand or lie down and vice versa, or simply move my butt.it was a torture for me. i can deal with pain, from cramps or contractions but not with open wounds like stitches or surgery.

Natural birth without epidural.I have no regrets going this way, albeit the pain i went through. But that's the real deal, isn't it? I think that made me love Tiara even more, because she didnt come easily.no matter how much she fussed and tested my patience now, it just moulded me to be a better person and stretched my limits more. Even if I were to go for another one, i would opt for the same natural birth without epidural, even though friends who had epidural shared that they had an enjoyable experience watching Tv while pushing their babies out.it sounded much more fun and relaxing but well, not trying to be gung ho or wad, I just think it's better for babies to be born with as little medical intervention as possible.I had insisted on that from the begining.Dr Ang had only intervened when nothing was happening after the 8 hours wait that had no further progress since i admitted into hospital. I had also not wanted episiotomy, but i guess, the doctor deemed it necessary cos he knew better when things happened and he was responsible for the safety of me and baby so I dun blame him.In fact,i was grateful he took such a short time to get baby out as her life would be endangered if she was born slowly as the umblical cord would have tightened around her neck and strangled her, and not slip off as he unwind it and she flew out.All in all, it taught me that birth plans and preferences can be communicated to the doctor and the rest is up to their discretion based on actual event to decide which could be complied to.No matter what unpleasant thing has happened, like going being induced and had episiotomy,as long as it is not too way beyond what you can accept, give benefit of doubt that all's done in the interest of the mother and baby to make your experience a better one.After all, everything done and over with.

Lenny: Yes, my gynae is Dr Fong Yang.. hmm.. how did you know?

Elise: I stay in a 1 bedder. I paid abt $3k in cash after medisave decution. Mine is more expensive as I did E-Csec.

i m a nov 2010 mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The moment i knew i m preg,i wana a c-sect as my hubby gene is big size + big head. But my gynae who is a pro natural ask me to try natural.

So at exactly 39 weeks preg,i went ahead n induce.

Check in hospital at 8am.Nurse came in n insert endema to clear bowel.

Exactly at 9am,gynae came in to insert the pills to induce.He commented that bb head is high and left.

9am to 10am - on CTG.n had lite breakfast while watching tv at the delivery suite.

10am to 12 pm - request nurse to remove CTG for me and went out to walk ard the hospital.

12 plus noon-gynae pop back to check.No dialiation,no contraction.he went off,while i nap.

12 noon to 3pm -during this invertal,nurse came in n out to check on contraction.Turn me here n tere tryin to get the contraction kick start.And it works. Feel slight contraction and bearable.

ard 4pm - a nurse came in n check on my dialiation.Sad to say only 2.5cm since 9am till now. i m exhuasted as i m too excited to slp the day b4 and woke up at 5am.Nurse called gynae to inform him of my progress. bb head still high up.

5 plus pm - nurse revert back to me,telling me that my gynae give me 2 choice - 1 is to insert the 2nd pill to induce and continue to wait.2nd is proceed for e-csect. i choose the latter.

5 plus pm to 6.20pm - abit chaotic as a few nurses came in and help me to prepare for the ops. i opt for epi.and they came n push me up to the ops room.My gynae arrives and the drama starts here as they could not find my hubby is who is waitin at downstair.So while they adminster the epi,the nurse went ard to search for my hubby.In daze,heard my gynae asking the nurses why they took so long to get my hubby up.

ard 630pm,the ops starts and my hubby arrived when my gynae has already cut open my tum tum.he is juz in time to see the gynae pulling my bb out frm my tum tum @ 6.36pm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] manage to catch a glimsp of my bb.

After that i doze off.And on off i have bad sheiver.No vomitting.

At ard 9pm,i m fully awake and hub push bb for me to see. Didnt bf till 2nd day.And was able to move down the bed with help from hubby to the toilet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i stay in 2 bedded and was lucky tat out of 3 nights,2 nights i stay alone in the room.

Hi juz to share i had elective C-section GA and I absolutely felt no pain from my wound fr the moment i opened my eyes! And by the second day I am walking around as per normal entertaining guests in my ward. I also BF 2 hours after my surgery. Everyone was surprised coz I was whining in pain throughout my 3rd trimester and even when the nurse poked that thingy into my a## to clear the bowels before my c-sect... I was screaming away! MY hubby was like... omg.. good luck to you in another 30mins!! it has been 8 months.. my wound heal perfectly.. almost invisible. no keloids. Even my gynae was surprised to see me so well. I didnt even take any painkiller when I went home.In fact my skin around my tummy were sore for a few months after delivery due to the stretch but my wound..totally sensation-less! phewww

I thought it would great to share my birth story as my baby is going to turn One on 16/05/2011.

Had a smooth < 8 hours delivery though I'm a first time mum.

Birthday: 16th May 2010 @ 6.03am (39 weeks, 1 day)

Weight: 3.355kg

Here's my Birth Story...

14 May (Fri) @ 5am:

Felt like having water gush down. Went to bathroom and felt like there was heavy and transparent discharge, so I thought it was my water bag that had burst. Still contemplating if I should see my gyne. I didn’t have any pain at that moment.

10am: decided to check it out, called gyne and he asked me to go to Mt A. Hubby came back from work and we took a cab to Mt A.

10.30am, was admitted and nurse did a VE check and informed that I wasn’t dilated and it could be just a normal discharge where at times could be heavy. Monitored for a while more and found I had irregular contractions, they suggested induce, but I declined and decided to return home and wait. Dr suggested that he would see me at the clinic that night.

8.00pm, Saw gyne, did another VE and found that I was 2cm dilated. To monitor contractions and other signs.

15 May (Sat):

Minor on/off contractions throughout the day, could still go about the days activities. Had a nap and showered.

7.00pm, felt stronger contractions, decided to wait and go for dinner, but half an hour later, couldn’t walk whenever the pain about 6-7 mins interval came in. so decided to go Mt A.

10.30pm, headed for Mt A. got admitted and found that I was 2cm dilated and was having very strong contractions. Was lead to the Delivery Room to change & clear the bowels.

11.00pm Dr was making rounds at that time, he came to examine and decided to put me on drips to induce, while all these was going on, I couldn’t take the pain and the nurses suggested that I take gas or epidural. But didn’t want painkiller but gave up when intense pain, Took epidural. It was administrated within half and hour. Then Dr broke my water bag. Told me baby should be out by 5 to 6am.

12.00midnight Nurse came to check on me and found that baby had popped inside me and found the discharge to be stained. But his heartbeat was stable so nothing to worry about. Epidural was a godsend. The jab into the vertebrae was nothing compared to the contractions & feel sooo much better thereafter. Could doze off to sleep until ~4.30am when I started to again feel the want-to-pee feeling. Apparently it was the baby's head descending. Short check by the nurse & confirmed dilation is already 10cm & could see the baby crowning!

5.30am Nurses got the things ready for Doc.

5.45am Dr was asked to come & after 5 pushes and with the help of vacuum and forceps, the baby is out at 6.03am.

Amazingly smooth & fast delivery for a first-time mum. Baby was put on my tummy, I didn’t know what was happening and saw him next to me, I was in a daze. When the baby was left in my arms the first time, the feeling of joy brought tears to my eyes. Indescribable feeling of motherhood.

I'm a first time mummy n i would say my experience in this lil one was indeed a fast n unexpected one..

25th Apr 12noon

had my usual gynae appt. Was at week 36 6 days but when i was at the clinic, my gynae told me im at week 37. Was told to lay down on the bed for scanning n that was the 1st time i feel a small contraction.

My gynae did a VE on me n told me im 1cm dilated. Told me that i might deliver before election. My EDD was supposed to be on 16th May. Was v excited coz din expect that i will deliver before my Edd. Did a ctg test. After the tes, my gynae did a VE on me again. After that told me that i will deliver either that day or the day after! Gynae asked me to admit to hospital at 10pm so that i can save on 1 day of hospital bill.

Really got a shock!

3.20pm

contraction started.. Abt 10mins interval. Went to look for fresh coconut drink. Had something to eat at the same time.

4pm

Reach home n hb ask me to take a nap. Set alarm to wake up at 7pm. I bathe n wash my hair before heading to bed. Lying on the bed n had a feeling that i need to poo. Keep visiting the toilet to wait for signal to poo. Nth came out. Contraction was like 3 mins apart. Call gynae n the nurse told me to wait at home till 10pm. But if i insist to admit now, just need to pay for the day's bill. Anyway she say go to hospital also do nothing but wait.

7pm

went toilet the last time n im dripping a bit of watery blood. Contraction was terrible. Ask hb to send me to hospital.

720pm

reach tmc. Was push to level 2 where pple deliver. The nurse called my gynae n my gynae ask her to bring me to ward. At that point, it was very pain n i beg the nurse to check on me. They see me in great distress n send me to observation room. The nurse changed me n told me i was 8cm dilated. A midwife came along n help me to open up to 10cm. All i feel is that i want to poo.

8pm

push me to delivery suite n waiting for gynae to appear. Pain was really intense. Finally gynae appeared n my bb was born after 1 push.

Bb only 2.6kg n was born at 830pm.

Hb rushed to do admission procedure only after i gave birth.. Haha

i am a first time mummy and i gave birth to my first born on 14 Jan 2011 in Mt A.

What happened..

Midnight of 14 Jan 2011, had a very bad fight with hubby(over what I cannot really remember). we started to cold war. then the little princess decides to stop mummy and daddy's cold war by trying to come out. we did not expect it to be so soon bcos my edd was 1 feb 2011.

1am - went to the toilet to relieve myself. i was sure i squeeze out every drop of pee but when i stood up and went to the door i felt a gush of liquid. hands and feets went cold, i yelled for hubby. look on hubby's face - priceless.

2am - after calling gynae and he asked me to go hospt immediately, hubby and his whole family escorted me to mt a. i was abit paiseh cos i still in state of denial, didnt believe i was going into labour. at this point, zero pain, no contractions.

2.30am, admitted, strapped to ctg, nurses said still no contraction, and water bag leaked only but never burst. but will be soon. still no contractions and only 2cm. nurse put me on pitocin to hasten contractions.

4am, still no pain! increase the pitocin level and nurse already calling dr to come in to break my water bag. but this baby so guai, no need to wait for dr. at that moment my waterbag really burst. the feeling was so strange. like peeing but cannot stop. and i felt a little embarrassed with the amt of liquid coming out. nurse had to place me on a pee pan.

4.15am, right after the waterbag burst, the contractions came. started off like bad period cramps, and it got more painful and more frequent.

6am, cannot take it anymore! ask for epi. it worked, but only for my right side! but it was enough to sooth my pain a little and i could go into a forced sleep.. too tired.

9am, slept for 2 hrs, woke up around this time and couldnt go back to slp. not allowed to eat but hubby smuggled in subway for me. haha.

1pm - i have been in labour for half a day! nurse check dilation, only 3cm! i wanna faint. doctor check and say baby's head is stuck, cannot come down. then the news --- EMERGENCY C SECT.

then suddenly the whole room spring into live. everyone rushing here and there, i was shifted to another bed, pushed to the OT. worse thing is bcos my epi only work on one side i cannot possibly be awake when they cut me up.. so i was put on GA.. cannot witness baby's arrival.. hubby also not allowed in.. my little princess Reia arrived at 1440hours on 14 Jan 2011, 50cm, 3.26kg.. the love i have for her compensated for all pain(esp the csect wound!) and i will do it over and over again for her.

hee.. interesting.. i delivered on 1 April 2011..

when i went for my gynae check up, he told me bb head not engaged yet. have to do more walking, climbing stairs n squatting. so my friend suggested me to scrub toilet floor.. can clean the toilet oso help to push the baby down..

hence i went to wash my toilet after i came back from work on 31 March 2011. after squatting for 1/2 hr i was perspiring. and when i was bathing, i felt some jelly substances coming out from my vaginal. i tot it's normal discharge so i ignored it.

when i went to pee at 9+pm i cleaned up myself n there's alot of discharge on the toilet paper.. but i still ignored it.. (i din noe that the mucus plug/ show can be non bloody)

before sleeping i told my baby "Charlotte, don't fool mommy on April's Fool day okie!! Guai har.." so i happily went to sleep and prepare for my last day of work before i start my ML.

near 4am i woke up to pee and went back to sleep.. before i fell asleep, i heard a "pop" sound i still ignore it. until i felt something gonna flow out (like menses flow kind) so i quickly jump out of the bed and ran to the toilet wanted to sit on the toilet bowl. But when i reached the toilet, whole gush of water rushed down . Everything wet hence i noe e waterbag broke.

I quickly called my gynae and he asked me to go to the hospital immediately (just happened that he was also attending to another mommy who's waterbag oso burst) So happened that on that night my hubby didnt stay with me (i was staying at my parents' place) as he was rushing for his exam. So i called him at 4+am woke him up n he got a shocked when i said my waterbag broke.. Den i went to woke my parents n ask dem to send me to the hospital.

I was admitted abt 530am.. while waiting for the nurses to bring me to the delivery suite, i started mild contraction but bearable. Then the usual things the nurses did.. CTG on my contraction n bb's heartbeat.

Then my gynae came in to check on me. i was 2 cm dilated. he said i shld delivered by lunch time and he went back home to rest n will visit me again in the morning.

My hubby came and accompany me for a short while before he leave for his exam. my contraction became more n more painful but i endured coz i insisted not to go on any epidural.. the pain came n woke me up. when it went off i fell aslp again. This went on for 4hrs + without me noeing time past so fast. I was so nauseaous whenever the contraction came. Vomitted mani times..

At about 10+am i gave up n wanna take the pain relief. The nurse waited for my gynae to come n wanted to prepare me for the jab. But when my gyane came, he looked at the CTG chart he said my baby's heartbeat is irregular n dilate onli 6cm but he can feel the baby's hair.. So he monitored for another 30mins before he decide wat to do..

30mins gone n still my baby's heartbeat wasnt improved esp when i have contraction. So he suggested for emergency C sect as he doesnt want to risk baby's life. Without calling my hubby, i quickly agreed to my gynae's decision.

End up i have to go on epidural with C-section (both i dun wan at all right frm the start) i was so tired that i dozed off once the epidural was injected. My hubby rushed back but i was alr pushed into the OT hence he couldnt witness the birth of our baby.

My gynae have to wake me up to take a look at my baby n i dozed of after 5secs.. after the nurses clean n wrap up my baby, woke me up n wan me to carry so that can take a few pictures for me..

I cant help it too but to share my exhilirating birth story i gave birth on Eve of Xmas at 2139Hrs.I was already started my ML as i was too heavy and tired to work and even walk as my water retention o my feet is very bad..on the 22nd of Dec approximately at 4pm i jus had my shower and was resting at the edge of my bed when i suddenly felt a sudden hard turn of the baby it felt weird and i spoke to my angel and told him to hang on to new year as by then we wud be moved to our new place and my EDD was supposedly on the 14 Jan 2011.

I suddenly noticed my bed starts to have a wet patch ..n water started to flow i tot i was peeing so i went to toilet n it didnt stop as i was alone at home and this was my first child i called my gf n ask wat was it as expected she said might be my waterbag burst so i called my husband he too asks his experienced colleague and they mention its time ....

He arrived home along with my PILS (they are staying with us)and brought me to KKH ..i didnt have any contraction at that time..but i was already wheeled in to delivery Suite at abt 6pm.

i was only 2 cm dilated at that time the doctors decide to insert pessary bullet to induce contraction they expect me to dilate faster..with this soon after 6 hours im still very slow its was only 3cm they insert another dose again at 1am till 6am(23rd Dec 2011) till im just 4cm dilated ..with minimal contractions.

The doctor checked and says its going too slow and they insert another last dosage ...and tis time contractions become stronger but still dilating too slow at only 6cm.At about 4pm they decided to use Oxytocin on me this is where the nurses warned me and tell me that this would make contraction much stronger and more painful and i beter take an epi which im adamant not too..

Indeed i cant control mother nature even the gas didnt help as contraction was too strong and my dilation was still slow i then agreed for epi to be administered to me at 3.00am(24th Dec 2011)sent. I keep drifting on n off to sleep and the pain come and goes and i kept asking for more epi to be administered to me and they even hook up a laptop to control the painkillers administered to me...

My dlation was progressing but still slow at 7cm..i insist on natural birth the pain was unbrearable it hurt my ribs and everywhere I wasnt even allowed to go or get down frm my bed for last 2 days as they were afraid the cord my spill out when i go and pee...

in the afternoon about 12 pm i think the gynae came and asked my choice of birth i told them i want a natural one..and they say they will come back and check my progress ....at about 6pm the nurse check and says she can feel a bunch of hair down there i was happy thou so exhausted....i tried pushing slight to hasten the dilation ..and finally the gynae and surgeon came at 8pm and told me that C sect is best for me as i might have run out of energy in pushing as it has been coming to 52 hours of labour ...i was scared to death..

i bargain with the doctors to give me another 1 more hour and hopefully by then i would be 10cm dilated and proceed to deliver naturally but unfortunately we cant control fate as i was still at 9cm dilated and at exactly 9pm they came and gave them our permission to proceed emergency C-Sect.

In matter of minutes i was shaved and prepared to go into OT my hubby broke down ..so hard after witnessing the pain i went thru for the last 52 hours jus to bring this angel into the world ...ironically my angel survived so well his heartbeat was strong as ever despite my water was already burst for the last 2 days...at 2139hrs he was born he didnt cry much..i was so persistent asking the nurses is my boy ok and y he didnt cry ....finally the nurse brought him to me he is acarbon copy of his dad hahhaha in fact i felt nervous in seeing this angel ..

Nurse took him away and pass him to my husband who was waiting & crying outside ..my heart breaks cos it was my sis in law who told me she came and waited together but found my hubby alone outside waiting and crying so anxiously..

I couldnt wait for the stitching to be over wanna see my baby mah ....finally all done i was wheeled in recovery room less than half hour the staff got anxious too knowing my husband was waiting for some news of me outside ..they decided to wheeled me in to the ward...after that i manage to speak to my hubby a few words and he was told cant stay cos i was in 4 class bedder ward. ..so off he go ..and i was so tired but i cant sleep..and felt from 12 midnight till 6am was the longest night ever in my life.....and now my boy is 18mths old healthy,hyper and cheeky as ever and his smile always lit up very day of our lives and now im expecting number #2 in my 16 weeks..so sorry for long winded..

my apologies my date input was wrong i gave birth in 24DEc 2009 and my supposedly EDD is 14 Jan 2010.sorry mummies getting too old already ..

Hi mummies Kkh have premier service which gynae will be by ourside from the time we check into labour ward till we deliver the bb...

Dear libbyaz,

Can't help but was really touched by your story... started tearing in office... haha... colleague around thought something wrong...

Really lucky to have our hubby by our side when we need them...

my #1 was not so dramatic but was really appreciative to have hubby by my side. #2 coming in dec this year, hope delivery will be a smooth one too!

so u also delivering in Dec 2011 too?

hi wormybaby,

Thank you for reading..yes very appreciative of their support during these times..Yes im delivering in December 17th dats the EDD. Which hospital do you intend to give birth at? Im still a bit nervous to give birth for #2..hehe

libbyaz (libbyaz)

your story was so "extended".

how bearable were the contractions without epi?

wow - ur HB must be very treasure u now - after all the pain you been through...

congrats on #2 and hope it will be fast, smooth and safe.

hi libbyaz,

havent decided which hospital yet? Gynae moving out from kkh so i cant deliver there.

how about u? any advice? recommendations?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi gilera,

i think i bear the contractions more than 24 hrs if im not wrong..thanks for the well wishes yeah hope to hv a smooth journey for #2 too..

wormybaby

Currently im with doctor kenneth at Mt.A but i think im going back to KKH im rather comfy with the environment there because which ever pte hospitals you are at they still refer to KKH if there are complications they say.

Hmm advice no leh..im learning as I go along too...while I was in my labour ward for #1 a nurse gave me this words of wisdom which i totally agree when "you have a child its not what the child learn from you but what you learn from having the child..."

Just do what your instincts tells you.Take care of your baby too..lets update the progress in here..Cheers!

Haha.. I noticed I'm the one creating this thread yet I didny post my birth story.. This is my birth story and I'm a first time mummy who gave birth on early March this year..

Okie.. Now tell u my birth story

910am : reached Gynae clinic n put on CTG to monitor contraction n BB heartbeat, was 1cm dilated. Nurse inserted pill n wait n monitor for 40 mins in the clinic

950am : asked to go walk walk n come back 1230pm. So hubby, mummy n myself went to Novena shopping centre to walk walk n have lunch. Contraction n burning sensation started getting more n more till I have no mood to walk.

1200 noon : can't walk any longer so decided to go Gynae there half an hr earlier.

1pm : Put on machine n check, 2cm dilated. Gynae asked hubby to do the adminssion n we walked to observation ward.

130pm : changed to the operation suit n cleared poo poo, that liquid to clear poo poo Reli Er xin... Stone..

145pm : Gynae came n he broke my waterbag, didn't expect so painful n cried a little bit

Contraction getting more n more painful but still bearable as I hope to delivery without epi, so ren n ren, the highest contraction level shot up to 179 for more than an hour n I couldnt breath properly n my rib n spine so painful. Hubby asked me to have epi n I still insist not to have it.

5pm : nurse came n check, 3cm dilated n she commented. I might only delivery after midnite n suggest me to have epi coz long labour. But I rejected. Half an hr she left, the contraction is no longer bearable n finally I requested for epi. N i cried again when they put me on epi as i reli hate myself for having epi. Anyway, epi started taking effect around 6pm.

6pm : nurse came and pushed me to labour ward 1.

7pm : midwife checked, 4cm dilated but becoz of the magic epi, I can't feel much pain, hubby myself happily watching tv in the labour ward while waiting to dilate more n more.

847pm : midwife came n check, n told us 8cm dilated, hubby n myself so happy that I might delivery earlier than we expected. Quickly told mummy, mummy was all the way waiting me at my ward as we have already checked in n reserve a single room for us.

1045pm : midwife came n checked, finally 10cm dilated but BB head still high, n midwife prepared herself n myself to get into the delivery position.

1100pm : epi level start lower down so that i can feel the urge to push, but i can also started to feel the contraction pain, anyway, started to the real push before every individual contraction came, each session divide into three or four push n each push count 10 times.

1130pm : pushed for dono how many times, another two midwife came n helped me, after half an hr hard push, BB head still very high.

1200 mid nite : I was so tired n I teared as so many midwife came n help me but BB head still not coming down. Hubby calm me down as I was so upset that I might end up going for emergency c-sec after so much suffer. But all the while I have been non stop pushing n pushing since 11pm.

1230am : Gynae finally came, I cried n ask him to save me as I Reli don't wish to go for emergency c-sec, he said he will try his best. N I continue push n push. Within the Nx 10 mins, Gynae decided to use the forceps to pull the BB to my birth canal. I was so shocked when Gynae use the forceps to pull as I didn't expect the pulling force so strong, one time with my push, BB head out.. Then I totally blur dono wat should I do next but non stop pushing n pushing till midwife asked me to stop pushing as Gynae need adjust BB head into the right position before pull out the rest of his body..

0043am : BB finally out n threw on my tummy..

After midwife clean BB jayden n myself, BB jayden put beside me n we pushed out from the labour ward, the moment I saw my parent outside the labour ward, I cried again.

After reached my ward, I vomitted twice, n started feeling very very cold... Tried to nap a few hrs but becoz too pain then I couldnt slp very well.

Then plus the delivery nite, total I stayed three Nites in Thomsons..

I'm giving birth soon and reading this thread is really useful.

Many mommies mentioned that we will be given this liquid to clear bowels, which sounds scary to me. How is the procedure like actually?

Ann: My baby also came out without any cries until they cleaned his mucus. But once he cried, they took my baby away to the NICU and only put him back to the nursery 3 days later!!! I had to go home without the baby n wake up every 2 hours to express me bm. Maybe mine is subsidized rate under NUH n they wan to earn more from me but I dun think its a good way to earn more money.

dun worry, josephine. nurse insert a long funnel thingy into ur butt and exert some pressure. no pain and over in 1-2 mins. i was very kiasu and went toliet to 'wait' almost immediately. poo-poo almost straightaway.

Josephine,

Once i admitted, the nurse inserted this liquid called Fleet enema into my anus. There is no pain, only can feel some liquid going in. I rushed to the toilet to poo after just 5 mins.

According to the nurse, this Fleet Enema is a saline laxative which works by drawing water into the rectum which helps soften the stools, causing us to have an intense urge to poo poo.

I just delivered recently and was given Fleet Enema to pass motion.

The nurse told me to control for 5-10 mins before going toilet. LS after that!

Josephine: My husband asked the nurse how long it will take effect n nurse say some pple just 1-2 min so I went in toilet straight away to stand by but in the end I pass out all the medicine instead. LOL

Jenny: Haha it takes effect quite fast but the nurse asked me to hold "as long as you can."

At that time I have slight constipation so its good to clear out everything. In fact i was given two bottles of fleet enema to bring home after i discharged and i used one bottle on the fifth day coz don't want to strain the wound.

Very nice stories I read. Makes me excited to tell my story once my baby is here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Felicia,

Quite ok..not really uncomfortable..

My birth story for my #2 (fyi, my #1 took me 13hours in delivery suite)

EDD: 10 Sep 2011 (My gynae was away from 2 to 7 Sep)

My gynae made an appointment for me to see her on 8 Sep after her return at 4pm (provided my girl can wait till then which she did.)

8 Sep:

4pm - Went for my check up. My gynae did a VE for me and I am 3cm dilation. And the muscus plug came out after the check. I was told it would be either tonight or tomorrow. Gynae said if i wanted to be admitted cos already 3cms. But I chose not to as no contraction yet. So went back home.

6pm - Reach home.. during then irregular contractions come n go come n go.. it is bearable but irritating..

7pm - Contractions getting regular (every 20mins)

8pm - Contractions every 15mins (Mum called and I told her my muscus plug, my dilation, my contractions and she asked me to take some food, bathe and proceed to hospital)

9pm - Contractions every 10mins (went to cook instant noodles, eat and bathe)

10pm - Contractions every 5mins (called hb to come home)

11pm - Contractions every 3mins (Proceed to hospital)

1130pm - Change gown, insert the medi to poo, on ctg machine and check dilation. 5cm dilated already. Asked whether want epidural, opt not to.. Being asked 3 times.. Insisted not to take..

12am - Push in delivery suite

2am - Have the poo feeling.. Check dilation 8cms already. so the midwife told me that she will put her hand inside to keep checking for dilation. It is very uncomfortable.. half way through my waterbag burst.. and she quickly informed the other midwife to call my gynae.. as the labour will be very fast..

everything very fast and I just kept using the laughing gas.. until my gynae came and she assured me that 3 pushes bb will be out.

And true enough, my princess is out after my 3rd push.. and I am very happy that I did it without epidural. I've made it!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

After reading the birth stories, its really inspiring and touching! wish to go through this process again!

Ok my birth story :) All on 27.09.11

2am (I think): Woke up with very bad diarrhoea n went toilet 4 times. But poo doesn't look watery so I think bb must be blocking my anus again. Went back to sleep in living room while elder boy and hb sleep in master bedroom.

5am: Woke up with lots of tightening and cramp pains that gradually extends to the whole tummy. Went to toilet but nothing came out. Leaned against the wall for support as I felt too weak from lack of sleep. Instinct tells me this could be it. Tried to sleep the pain off to no avail. Started timing contraction intervals. 5min! Decided to not wake hb up as he needs to fetch elder boy to CC. Used deep breathing techniques to manage pain. Drank Milo kosong and felt slightly better.

6am: Elder boy woke up crying for me. I tried to carry him but it was too difficult to do so for long. Hb opened the door shortly before 7am and he leapt from my arms to his. Didn't see him until evening. Continued to attempt sleep on the living room sofa and used deep breathing to manage pain.

8am: Hb came back with fishball noodles (both of us on leave supposed to visit gynae in afternoon) but I was in too much pain to eat. Went to switch on 92.4FM and felt better. Had a burning urge to call gynae clinic but interval fluctuate between 5-10min so decided against it. Don't wanna spend unnecessary money at the labour ward cos I was prepared for repeat c-section anyway. Read Wong Boh Boi book about labour and realised diarrhoea can be a symptom of labour! 3 signs of true labour: Regular contraction check, bloody show nope, waterbag burst nope. All 3 must come together according to book.

9.30am-10am: Felt some liquid coming from private area. Reached down and realised it's blood! Shouted to hb to get ready and went to toilet. More bloody show! Decided to call gynae clinic and nurse told me to straightaway go labour ward. Grabbed packed luggage, daily necessities and rushed out of home.

10.30am: Reached labour ward. Thank God for smooth traffic en-route. Nurse told me to remove all clothing, jewellery and wear a pink gown while they prepared a bed for me. Hb went to attend admission procedures. Got a drip due to gestational diabetes. Totally no food until evening thank God I ate some fishball noodles. Hooked me up to contraction monitor. Interval remains 5min. Bb heartbeat between 120-160bpm which is normal. No signs of distress. Tested blood pressure which returns normal. Did a hurting like hell VE check: 6cm! Looks like die die must give birth within 24hrs. Attending nurse didn't appear too happy about my VBAC attempt. Good thing her shift ended prematurely and another nice nurse came to attend to me. Looks like plenty of mummies in delivery at the same time!

12.30pm: Hb went out for lunch. Gynae came to labour and broke my waterbag. I asked him isn't he inducing labour by breaking waterbag. He said I'm already in labour this is not inducing cos inducing isn't allowed for VBAC. He and all the nurses kept asking me whether I wanna pain relief. But I think my pain threshold is high so declined the offer. Gynae said bb poo inside my womb. 1st sign of fetal distress.

12.30pm-2.30pm: The contraction pain intensified so greatly after waterbag burst. Had a feeling I'm not progressing well. VE check: 7cm. Worse, every time I'd contraction, bb heartbeat dropped. 2nd sign of fetal distress. Decided on either gas or epi. Hb not around he told me earlier epi cost $200 extra, within our budget.

2.30pm: Epidural administered. Slight pain upon insertion. Moderate numbness set in not soon after. Started to have severe shivering and bit of headache. Blood pressure attached to me all the way. 1 time dropped v low at 70, causing panic. Hb came back for awhile and left to pick up elder boy from CC. Catheter inserted in bladder.

2.30pm-6.41pm: Everything started going fast and furious. Contraction continued to peak to 1-2min at alarming levels but all I felt was an urge to poo. Felt totally relaxed. Epi reduced to 1ml from initial 10-11. Nurse was happy with my progress and transferred me to delivery ward. Watched tv, slept, friendly chat with nurses and listened to songs to pass time. Dilated the remaining 3cm during this period.

6.41pm: Fully dilated and bb engaged! Nurses and me called hb to witness birth to no avail and decided not to wait for him anymore cos bb poo inside me again. Gynae came and encouraged me to push whenever I felt a contraction.

6.56pm: Few strong pushes and bb was out. Felt a tremendous sense of relief! Placenta expelled in pieces and gynae removed a fair bit, leaving the rest to my womb to expel the remaining portions. Stitched me up due to a minor cut while pushing.

7pm: Hb finally arrived with elder boy (crazy traffic jam) and managed to at least witness the weigh-in. Regretted eating the fishball noodles as I vomitted quite a fair bit and no appetite for dinner until 10pm.