Any mums stay @ sengkang

Pris,
it seem Jadon is developing slowly. He is a strong boy , he sure can win the battle. have faith in him. Wish him all the best on his op.
u oso have to take care of yourself.

Temple,
welcome to the thread

Pris,
Am sure Jadon will win this battle and is a strong boy. We will continue to pray for him and your family
Do take care of yourself.

Temple,
Happy 5 month to you boy! and welcome to the thread

Hi all mommies
Happy New Year to you! May all your wishes come true in 2006

good morning,
have been MIA for a while.. heeheee

Pris,
Am glad that Jadon is doing well... wish him all the best. and will pray for him & your family..

Hi all, I am new here to this thread!
kao_kiss.gif

I stay at Compassvale with 2 boys, 5mths and 2+ yrs old.

Pris, (its me Lauran
), take care and don't worry too much about coping with the baby just yet, have faith and we will all look forward to your boy coming home for CNY.

Hi lauran
Finally, someone in Compassvale too! Was thinking I so 'isolated!' *Hehe*
kao_welcome2.gif

Your bb also same age as Temple's boi, hor?

Hi lauran
welcome to the thread

Wai Yen
You wont be isolated. Compassvale is near to Rivervale

and all are within sengkang

Just tot you might like to know.
Nepia diapers direct from supplier (they deliver) at $14 per pack if you buy a carton from them (4 packs/carton for diapers and 6 packs/carton for pull-ups). Until 31 Dec.

Call the Nepia supplier at 62262650. Unfortunately to get the price I mentioned, you have to fax or email the order, so they will have to email/fax you the order form first. Troublesome, but well, you save about $6-$8 per carton.

<font color="0000ff">Hi elfrenz</font>,
Which parenting list? Jiat lak, must be careful where I put my name liao.
JUST KIDDING!!
Hmmm...maybe that's why I've been getting phone calls that ask about everything and nothing useful to offer. Everytime I ask where they get my contact, they hem and haw...

<font color="0000ff">Temple</font>
My boi is 1 yr older than yours. Presume you've been to the Jul 2005 thread?

<font color="0000ff">Joleena</font>
So near, yet so far, especially in rainy weather.
I never dare to go to Rivervale Mall when skies are threatening, like now!

Thanks Boey. But so hard to call thru to Nepia.

Hi Lauran welcome

So many mummies in SK

Today I saw one mummy with 2 babies at 183c wonder if it's any of u gals hmmm

Hi mummies, this thread is so lively

SK is indeed a fertile place leh kekekeke...

I got 1 qn can anyone answer me: comparing PetPet and NTUC which is of a better quality?
I used to swear by PetPet but when they change the diaper recently I realise that the material is now rough and tends to cut into my boy's skin- very heartache leh...
I heard some good comments of NTUC but just want a 2nd (or 3rd) opinion, anyone can share?

hi Pris - how are u coping with little precious Jadon now? How is he?

Nepia is quite ok and i think much cheaper than pampers. Can last whole nite for my gal. Soft and not too bulky. I've been using nepia since bb 2.5 mths old.

Temple
Just curious, so how does one usually calculate a early term baby's age? I know developmentally that one calculates the age from the EDD, but I guess that legally the age is counted from date of birth, eg, when he goes to childcare/nursery?

Qdee
Yah, Sengkang is a fertile town, almost to the point of children being a dime a dozen. Guess that's why so far, almost every time I go Compass Point (which is almost every day!), I will hear the Info Counter announcing that either a child is missing or a child is found but the parents are missing!

Pris
Nepia is okay, and considered cheaper than Pampers when it is on sale. It's quite absorbent, but it will drag downwards when it is full, but it won't leak, and it's quite comfortable-looking and soft.

Hope Jadon and family are doing well. Take care!

boey, which part of compassvale are you at? Me at 201.

temple, your boy just 4 days younger than mine leh, you started him on semi-solids alredy?

Hi qdee!

Pris, any news on when Jadon's coming home? Have you openned the mat yet? My mat has already became my boys' mattress for naps, kekeke. I am sure jadon will love the mat you bought him too.

Hi Qdee,
Lately Jadon has become a bit cranky in special care nursery.... Even now the nurses are scared of his crying. He wants to be bottlefed but doc still wants him to be on tubefed. Tentatively ops will be next friday depending on his condition as well. He'll still need to have another blood transfussion (top up) before the ops. Heartpain being poke here and there.....

Hi Boey,
If Nepia compare to Drypers? Which are cheaper and better?

Hi Lauran,
Jadon will not be home until next year 2006... Hoping to be before cny. However hb and I will be staying indoors with Jadon as he can't go to crowded areas or visiting.
I have not open the mat yet. Busy running to KKH, washing his clothes and preparing his room. Is there smell of plastic? I have not get rid of the smell yet. Maybe have to open it up one of the days.

Hi Temple,
Have PM you on the nepia diaper. Contact me as I need some details before ordering. Hoping to save cost at the moment.

<font color="0000ff">lauran</font>
Sorry, dunno about Pet Pet or NTUC. Since I didn't get any samples from them, I didn't bother to try!

Me stay at 298.

Pris
Nepia seems more comfortable. We didn't test Drypers to the limit of absorbency with our samples, so can't tell if it really is that absorbent. The sticky tape on Drypers feels just like a normal scotch tape quality to me, so we think could be uncomfortable as it's so darn sticky. Nepia is cheaper only if it's on sale, otherwise I consider it in the expensive range.

Other mommies' comments, anyone?

wai yen,
it's asiaparents lor.. kekekee.. i saw your posting before...

pris,
nepia is much expensive as compare to dryers.. but it's more comfortable, at least it is for my girl. agree with boey that nepia is consider in the expensive range if not on sale.

<font color="0000ff">Arrgghh! Can't resist, gotta let my mad lyricist persona loose again *Bwah hahaha...!* </font>
(Sung to the tune of Auld Lang Syne)
To all the mommies of Sengkang,
Happy New Year to all of you!
Take great delight in your families,
Even when they make you feel blue.

Oh, watch your children as they grow,
Feel pr-ide as they learn.
Above all, even as you read this,
Don't neglect your hus-band!

<font color="ff0000">HAPPY NEW YEAR, EVERYONE!</font>

Boey,

to me, i calculate his age from his birth date. I think those child care centre or pre-school will calculate based on his birth date and not EDD...

lauran,

just started about 3 days ago on rice cereal.... i mixed it into his milk for him to drink, once a day currently...

for those who has brought the play mat:

open up and air it for a few days for both side. wash with warm water with dettol...

RE: Diapers

personally, i have tried petpet, mamy poko, pampers, ntuc, nepia, drypers, huggies. prefer petpet then drypers because drypers too plastic and more expensive than petpet. prefer mamy poko than pampers because mamy poko can hold urine better as compared to pampers and pampers so much more expensive than mamy poko (don't know why my son wear pampers, always leak out).

Nepia is pretty good. can hold urine quite well (not as good as mamy poko), very soft and cheaper than mamy poko.

don't like huggies at all because it's high-cut...

Don't like NTUC at all because can't hold urine...

boey, 298 sounds very far from me. but then again compassvale also not very small place, kekeke.

temple, mine started only last week too. hubby wanted to delay feeding semi-solids until 6 months but suddenly last Mon he fed him a bottle of gerber! think he cannot tahen the "gian" look on my boy when he sees us eating food.

Pris, always been using PetPet 'cos I feel Drypers more expensive and the quality the same as PetPet.
But never used Nepia cos hubby is a staunch believer in Pampers and Mamy Poko.

lauran, what i was told is that to delay feeding semi-solid food as long as possible, this is not to stress their disgestive system till it's "better develop". after 6 or 7 months should be good...

Hi pris,
how is Jadon? He must be getting better and stronger now?

Lauran,
Pet pet quality is getting worst? cos i think one month plus ago i bought a few packet and find iti not bad? did not change the packaging recently?

temple, that was my husband's sentiments too. But I think my boy is getting impatient- every time he sees us eating something he will get all excited and even roll his eyes. hehehe, a really "gian look".
So hubby started giving some food to satisfy him but so far so good, hopefully he won't be as picky as his brother.

Helen, PetPet had a different packaging up until early September. I feel that the quality then was much better, the overall material was softer especially the tape.
After they changed to the current packaging the tape is harder and tends to cut my boy, last time never had this problem at all.
But generally considering its price, it is still value-for-money.

Lauran &amp; Helen,
So PetPEt is cheaper than Dryers? What is the range compare? I did not have the time to shop in NTUC lately. So can advise me which is the cheapest and good diaper? Nepia? Petpet? Dryers? Anybody have any idea on each individual price?

Hi Helen,
Jadon is currently weighs 2.1kg!! The other day when he's crying, my hb and I saw the bulging on the hernie area. The intestine was going in and out of the loose area. So scary...... No wonder doc said must go for ops. I shall update his condition so that you can keep Jadon in your prayers. Thanks.

Lauren,
Oh ic. i didnot have this problem at the moment . will montior for my son . thank you for your advice.

Pris,
for the diaper , i found out pet pet is the cheaper. Nepia according to the whole sale one pck is about S14. pet pet is selling at S12.29 and dryer is about S$13. for home usage i think u can try NTUC brand, i heard from my collegues they say not bad.

as for jadon, sound abit scary intestine in and out. dun worry the op will be alright. will pray for him always

Pris, really sounds very scary, I trust that the docs will do their best and Jadon will fight his way through... you have faith and I will pray for him...

Helen, just saw my boy's tummy turning red due to the tape cutting him again... was at NTUC just now had a chance to feel the texture of the NTUC brand- not bad leh... I will give it a try, let you know after I have tried the pack.

<font color="0000ff">elfrenz</font>
Oic, yah, I feel asiaparents helps quite a bit for bfing mothers, so logged on quite a bit then, now only occasionally.

<font color="0000ff">temple</font>
Doesn't seem very fair for premmies. The parents will probably have to give a fair bit of support for the child when they enter school then.

298 blocks just next to Compassvale LRT, but aren't you just across the Compassvale Street from those blocks?

<font color="0000ff">helen</font>
Hi there! How's it going?

<font color="0000ff">Pris</font>
Poor Jadon, so Jadon has an area in his tummy area that needs an op? What needs to be done?
Just asking...you might want to consider buying insurance for Jadon? There are some threads covering this topic, I believe. Try doing a search?
Here's one I found -
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/106476.html?1135743554

boey...

my guess is after they reach the age of about 2 - 3 years old.... they will have about the same learning ability... but i realise that pre-mature babies tend to be slower during the 1st to 2nd year of growing up...

Hi all mommies
Happy New Year! How is the long weekend for everyone? Bet everyone had fun

Hi Pris
We will continue to pray for Jadon and he will be well for CNY soon...dont worry too much..am sure Jadon is a strong boy

was reading all the posts on diapers...personally i also prefer Petpet as compared to drypers..find drypers not absorbent enough..and the elastic band around it will hurt the babies..am trying out giant brand diapers now..dont like and is not absorbent as well..
my recommendation is pet pet and mamy poko..mamy poko is good at night..

Hi Wai Yen
You stayed at blk 298? i have a friend who is staying there too...sometimes we will just pop by his place

Hi Lauran,
My hubby just bought the NTUC brand too. will try out and we can see whether we feel the same thing about NUTC brand diaper.

Wai Yen,
Busy these few days. so how about you?

Hi all Mummy,
Happy New Year to all of you.

for those who are interested in buying Nepia diapers, they are still having the promotion at $14 per pack. Min order is 4 packs. you can call 62262650 to make your orders...

boey, 201 is far away from Compassvale LTR, in fact I am one of the nearest to the Buangkok MRT.
I am really excited that they are finally opening the station on 15 Jan! But then again I dun think I would be using that station so soon- I always thot its quite spooky.
Will wait until when more flats are up and there are more residents before i will go the the Buangkok station.

Helen, your husband also bought NTUC, so coincidental! Let's share comments after you have tested it... I used to be quite an advocator for PetPet but am quite disappointed now.

Where can I find shops that do alteration in Seng Kang or Punggol? I need to alter the length of the jeans.

So sad, dunno why my pix didn't upload. Never mind, I'll upload another this weekend!

<font color="0000ff">Joleena</font>
Me too paiseh about the state of my house to ask people over. Even my FIL also shakes his head over my house sometimes.

<font color="0000ff">Helen</font>
Thinking of what I can do to occupy Teddy's time, so that he'll sleep at night! Else, he'll just wake up to disturb his poor parents.

<font color="0000ff">temple</font>
Thanks for the info about Nepia. So how many did you order?

O i c, as you can tell, I tend to get lost easily!

Guess when people start using Buangkok station, the 'qi' of that place will improve. Guess it's partly the quiet around that place that makes you uneasy. In the meantime, you've been using the Sengkang station?

Lauren
why are you disappointed with Petpet now? I have just bought the new packaging and find it still ok.

Missylan
sorry cant recommend any shops. Or you can go back to the shop where you bought your jeans?

Wai Yen
Don be paiseh. SOmetmes my house also in a mess hehe...we have no choice right since we have a kid around..hardly any time to tidy up the place...
Does Teddy still wakes up in the middle of the night?

missylan,
think i saw a tailor shop doing alteration at punggol plaza months ago.. u might want to check it out..

Wai Yen,
Myabe u can try to ask Teddy to help u to do some household chose.... so that when he is tired he can sleep throughout the night.

Misslan,
sorry i oso cannot recommend u a shop . but i know there is one in hougang.

Boey, haven't been using the SK MRT very much 'cos the NE line doesn't go to the places I frequent- Yishun (my MIL place) or Thomson Rd (my work place).
So my husband has to chauffeur us around all the time. On top of that we have 2 boys (2 yrs+ &amp; 5 months) so taking the MRT will be quite an event, with all the barangs and managing the boys....

Joleena, I felt that the new packaging tends to cut my boy's tummy now, the old packaging didn't give me this problem, that's way I am looking out to try other brands now.
Do you have such problems?
I heard NTUC brand better now cos new packaging so I possibly will give it a try.