Any mums stay @ sengkang

Helen, not opposite leh.. my block's street name officially is rivervale crescent leh.

EDD is in 26 April 2006. Heard that girl normally may pop earlier..

What abt you, Helen? Boy 3mths old? So now back to work?

Hi Elfrenz.. mayb who noes.. we ve met but juz dunno tat we re neighbours.. =p

So, Elfrenz, u mtb or mother already? How old the kids? =)

hihi evon,

yah lor.. perhaps we met before.. coz i saw quite a few MTB recently, u might be one of them ;)

me already a mum to 9 mths old girl.. heehee

evon, yap my son is 3month plus now. yapyap , i already back to office. i oso heard that girl normally pop out slightly eariler . before birth one month remeber to drink coconut .

what is the coconut 4? both my mother/mils said dun drink...

So, any of u mothers ve placed ur kids in infant care or child care centres? Or babysitting? Can share /w me?

drink cocnut is for easy to delivery . take 1 coconut before delivery date. then take another one 2 week before delivery date , and take another one 3 days before delivery date.

helen,
i am also staying in rivervale cres..opp those temples...ha..maybe we stayed near

my boy is one year old plus already

evon,
must be pretty excited on your birth then...
oh only drink coconut one month before your delivery..cos it will cleanse the bb (from old tales) and bb skin will be smooth and nice..
but don drink now

by the way, my parents and in laws are taking care of my son at the moment..so didnt place him at any infant care of child care..

feel free to ask any questions

wow we have a lot of mommies staying around the same area

really works huh??

my chinese physician was saying to drink lots of barley drink during last trimster..

BTW, green young coconut? So, 1mth b4 EDD take 1, then 2 wk take 1 >, another last 3 days take last 1.. correct?

evon
help in delivery i am not sure...but definitely will have a fair bb

hmm...i also not sure what kind of coconut...should be young ones...

i only took 2 before delivery...so itz up to u

Evon,
yap u are right. that is what my collegues told me. i agree with jol too, it will make the baby skin more smoother.

i think should be young coconut ... i actually took a few before i delivery haha....

Hi all d mummies,

wow so many pple stay in rivervale crescent. I used to put my elder ger in infant care at 184C rivervale crescent from 2 mths to 16 mths.

haha, i oso heard dat drink coconut b4 delivery, d bb will be cleaner, dun know how true but i follow lar. bb ok..both dark at birth luckily fair after few mths.

i think its quite true for me.. i drank like twice a week for 2 weeks before EDD.. and my girl came out very clean... my gynae commented that..

helen,
u also live in blk 183? haha..same here..maybe we are neighbours..i stayed in block C...u?

yes village girls, there are so many of us in rivervale crescent..maybe can form a playgroup?
is there an infant care at blk 184c? i didnt notice at all...

184C got infant care centre? Wow.. so near.. n i didn't noe.. Hi, Village Girl, how did u find it? Where not continue 4 ur other kid? SAHM?

Joleena Chia, u're lucky tat parents can take care.. they living near u?

I tot bb skin fairer is to take lots of bird's nest. n young coconut is to help to get us easy to deliver the bb leh.. =p (C how ignorant i'm.. )

Seems like most children here age ard few mths - 2/3 years old.. rite?

ha..seems like the infant care centre is rather unnoticeable hehe...

yes i am considered lucky
..they are staying in hougang so itz a 5 min drive to their place..

yes bird nest help too..in a way...coconut cleanse bb? ahaha..datz wat i heard

yes we have a young crowd here..

joleena, i live in Block C too .. haha

thereis a play group in blk 184C ... i dunknow too...
i mum and mil help us to look after my son too
birds nest make the skin fairer

Hi Foreverfriends Honey,
My baby boy is still in KKH. Currently now weighs 1.8kg already. Very soon he will be coming home. I think need to be 1 or 2weeks more. Now have mix feeling.... Happy and joyful he will be coming home. Anxious and stress whether I'm able to cope his feeding as he still haven't learn to latch on. He prefers bottle feed.

Joleena
I stay next to Rivervale mall.

Evon
Congrats. Busy shopping for bb stuff now?

Pris
Dun worry n feel stressed. U will b able to cope when your bb is home. U try latch on 1st. If he can't latch on u express n bottle feed him

COCONUT JUCIE
I drank coconut juice 6 wks b4 EDD. Started wif half coconut for 2 wks than 1 coconut for next 3 wks coz my son popped a wk b4 EDD.

FAIR BABY
Drink tao hua drink

FORM PLAYGROUND
I 2nd tis idea

hi shook,
still remeber me. i am linsaw. u give birth to baby boy or girl. i am living in Blk 183C remeber u came over to my place before.

<font color="blue">Foreverfriends Honey: </font> Thanks, Foreverfriends Honey. Me been shopping but not spent anything much yet. Both parents've kind of helped me complete the bb clothes though.. so lack of the other stuff. Not sure when to start shopping for it.. but the discount was not very fantastic. Still looking.

Anyway was a bit confused if i shd buy bb stroller now or later after birth.. since bb won't go out till 2nd/3rd mth later. Then oso, the brands of bf pumps 2 buy.

A bit scared tat can't bf... but'll try.

Also, want to avoid Epidural.. hope I got muz determination 2 do so.

Today c a young kid /w her mom. She looks a bit handicupped.. I a bit scared..I pray tat bb's fine; yet I do wish tat I've the courage 2 accept if my bb has any handicups. Really not easy.. pray tat I won't b depressed. Read tat depression's normal 4 preggies n after delivery.

evon,
bb stroller dun need to buy so early. after birth then decide what to buy . i actually have one breast pump ( manual type) Piegeon , i use for 2 times cos no milk so if u like i can sell to u at a cheaper price. it actually came together with the feeding bottle and nursing pad. actualy price is S$53. cos i not using it , it a waste to put at home if anyone need it then will be good. dun waste loh
if u dun like manual maybe u can try the automatic type , try avent , i heard from my firend not bad.
dun think too much everythign will be fine

Helen
I been to your hse b4. Er.... wz your nick Yan_Yan?
I gave birth to a boi. He is 18mth old
Avent has electric pump now?

Evon
For NB, not much to buy on clothings. Best if u can get hands me dwn. If not get half a dozen of kimono, 4 pairs mitten/booties(if u wash clothes everyday) will do.
Do u intend to let your bb wear nappy cloth or diaper?
Stoller not in a hurry. Look c buy when there is offer. Get your/ your hubby's friends or colleagues (if they ask wat u want) to get stroller for bb shower. But u go look c wat model u want 1st.
BF bb, most impt is latch on. BB is the best pump in the world. If u hv any bf question, let me know. I help u if I can.
If u wanna buy electric pump dun buy way in advance. Buy only when u need to use it coz it comes wif a yr of warranty
Epidural. Tell youself u can do it. Dat's wat my colleague advised me. She said dun think of alt. V impt practise the breathing technique. I told myself my mum did it. So can I
U dun worry too much how bb gonna look like. When u worry, bb oso worry. BB feels the mood of mummy. Juz b happy
R u going to engage a confinement lady?

Evon
Start shopping when u r in 2nd tri. U may b too tired to shop in 3rd tri.

Best manual pump Avent
Best electric pump medela PIS but v x $500+ n heavy
I used ameda electric pump $200+. U can get a trial fm mums in mind.

shook,
ya last time my nickname is yan yan . recently just change. i give birth to a bb boy too. he is 3 month plus. i think avent has electric pump ( if i didnot remeber wrongly)

Evon,
NB clothing dun need to buy too much , go to wholesaler to buy will be more worth it.
stroller can ask your hubby friends or your friend to give you as a gift but u have to see the model frist . for my case Epidural is no use to me. cos after i inject Epidural i still get the pain . the doc say only 10% of the woman does not react to it , i am the 10% hehe
during the last tris my gynea wanted to do 3D scan for my son , end up he is so naughty , everytimes the gynea say 3D scan his face will turn away end up we did not manage to see his face. and we were so scare dunknow how he look like. but after he is born , he look so handsome. haha

Thanks, ladies.. = )

<font color="blue">NB BB clothes</font>
NB BB clothes all settled. xcept mittens n boots. trying 2 find ard $2~3 per pair ones... but mostly saw ard $4~5.. quite x.

Cousin've given most of the bb clothes except those after 6mths... so my mom managed 2 reserve some from her... hopefully can get during CNY.

<font color="blue">Stroller and Infant Car Seat</font>
Saw Combi ones at Kiddy Place @ Suntec, n then @ Baby Kingdom. But ard $300+. Meant 4 infant till ard 4yrs old.

Even infant car seat oso not cheap.. we saw one can use dual ways till the child up to 4 years old +..

But dun dare 2 ask friends n colleagues 2 buy. Paiseh la..

<font color="blue">BM Pump</font>
Gf oso intro me 2 Avert as well. She too using now for her bb too. But heard bottles n teats all must b frm Avert.

So still looking ard.. not seen Mendala though.

BTW, is it true that we muz start using to simulate our breasts @ 3rd trim so that can ease milk production?

<font color="blue">Confinement Nanny</font>
Praise the Lord.. manage to engage my cousin's 1st confinement nanny.. cousin was saying she beri good but her 2nd child, the CL already ve another job so can't take hers.

<font color="blue">Epidural</font>
Hope I can tolerate 2 w/o that... nv try how high my tolerance can b.. =p

<font color="blue">BB</font>
Is it normal 2b like tat? I mean suddenly see other less fortunate children n then start anyhow think? I really praise the mothers who re /w these children.. they re so brave. Wish i've that braveness... juz can't help thinking /w so many charities shows going on as well.

BB Elsy lately kicks a lot n especially at nite. Even my hb can feel her kicking recently. Only 2nd trim leh!

Yup, there is 1 infant care/childcare in Blk 184C. I search the magazine that time when i'm looking for one in 2003. Their pricing is quite reasonable $750 b4 govt subsidy. Then after dat NTUC oso opened 1 infant care in SK too but cost >$1k per mth coz got aircon.

I pulled her out when i gave birth to my 2nd ger. We employed a maid instead then my mum help us to look after the 2 kids with the help of the maid. Wah, if put 2 in infant care/cc, very siong leh.

ha, i took epidural for 2 of my gers. can tahan leh. i tried to concentrate on breathing but is too painful lor. Many of my frends did it without epidural, not me. failed. Haha.

Evon, excited right....i remembered when i was preparing NB items for my 1st bb...i was so happy n excited. All bb items look so cute n lovely.

I support the idea of forming a playgroup. Cheers.

evon,
NB
u can get it from the shop near opp bugis junction . thereis a wholesaler there selling NB clothing . they sell in half a dozen. in bugis there is temple. it is opposite the temple

stroller and infant car seat ,
U can let them know. cos normally those close friends collegue will ask what u need so just let them know loh . If it over their budget they will let u know one. or they will change the model .

Breast pump,
i saw this model in the hospital -Mendala can rent from them . but i not very comfortable with the idea so i did not rent .

BB
u dun think too much . u mst think od something happy then your bb will be happy. look on the bright side.

Helen
Y u change your nick?
Do u still contact our sk neighbours?
R u still bf now dat u r back to work? Who look after your bb?

Evon
Gd dat confinement is settled
U dun need to buy clothes for your bb. Wat u hv is enuff. U get more as full mth gift
Cheap mitten n booties can get fm the wholesale centre @ Bugis. But u gotta buy min 6 pairs. I saw @ kidsmall suntec unfamous brand meet your budget. Dat wz a yr or 2 back
Stroller n bb car seat if your friends or colleagues asked u wat u want n if big gp of them can ask them to buy. If small gp, ask for cash. @ least u dun hv to pay so much yourself. Dun ask for voucher, restricts yourself to buy fm a particular shop only
Avent pump can only use wif avent bottle coz the neck is big
Mendala is v common. U can find in any shopping centre bb section. But their product x. Dun buy single pump. V v v noisy
Dun stimulate your breasts to produce milk b4 bb pop, it will cause your uterus to contract Latch your bb on immediately after delivery. Dat's the way to stimulate your milk production. Dun b depress initially when your milk is v little. BB has reserve in their stomach. Anyway their stomach v small abt size of their fist. Keep latching on, your milk ss will est in 3 to 5 days time. B prepared to do nothing but sit dwn n feed bb. My son latched on every 2 hrs. Ea time he latched on for 1hr+.
Normal for preggie to b emotional. Think of happy thing your bb feels happy too. Remember your bb feels how u feel
Your gal v active

Village Girl
Child care wif air con no gd. Child get virus easily fm sick peers. bo wah to pay so much yet child get sick easily hor

Hi shook n Helen
kao_kiss2.gif

I will b dropping by Bugis later 2 c.. so it's somewhere near the temple, right???? Will go c.

Noted all ur advice as well.. can't wait 4 bb to pop then she can ve playmates as well. Can understand that being the only child @ home, can b really bored...

<font color="blue">So I am on if there is a playgroup near our place. = )</font>

I am staying in Sengkang too. My baby boy has just turned 6 months. But I am new to the forum.

Has you all meet up before?

Hi Tang Ling, welcome. We not meet up b4.

Shook n Helen, thx 4 the info.. I went n found the shop.. got several things cheap.. =p

Once again, really thank you.

Tang Ling
Welcome. I hv not met up the gals b4 except Helen
6 mths, juz started on solid?

Evon
Most welcome.
U got mitten n booties fm the shop? Nappy cloth cheap, towel oso cheap there

Some1 mentioned abt gym
I brot my son to gymboree @ Hougang n JWT @ Tanglin. If u want your bb/tod 2 hv lesson solely on motor development only, can join. Go for trial 1st b4 u sign up the lesson. I prefer JWT to gymboree

hi mommies and mommies to be

wow this thread is rather active..

welcome tang ling
so which part of sengkang u are in? some of us are near rivervale crescent area

hi evon
glad you got some good bargains around
.continue happy shopping...let us know if you need more info

foreverfriends
is there a gymboree in hougang? i thought only in serangoon gardens..
i brought my boy to Baby Jumper Gym in OCC...
are u still with JWT?

Joleena
My apology gymboree in serangoon gardens, not hougang

My boi not wif JWT. He is wif BJG now @ Pasir ris

Foreverfriends
Oh i see...i used to bring my boi to BJG at Pasir Ris..but changed to OCC branch instead as i think my boy prefers to teacher at OCC..

by the way, is your boy in little walkers? was wondering if i should continue sending my boi to BJG..
any comments

Joleena
The teacher who taught your boi @ Pasir Ris transferred to OCC?

My son is in little walker

How old is your boi? Y u thot of terminating your child wif BJG?

Foreverfriends
yah..she got transferred to OCC so we followed her as well

my boy just turn one this dec...
am not sure should we continue with BJG cos it doesnt seems effective..
wat do u think?

Hi Foreverfriends Honey,
Mothercare in KKH sell Avent electric pump. Guess what's the price. $800++!!! Shocked!!! More expensive then the latest $700+ Medela PIS Advanced.

Evon and other mummies,

FYI Breast pump can go through rental basis. No problem. It's the pump set that is being used to loan you. The usual funnel and other accessories have to purchase them for hygenie purpose. You can keep these accessories after you finish your rental. I was being told that the rental business are much better than the retail side.

I had contacted the supplier that sold Medela Latina PLus electric pump to KKH. Currently I'm on rental of the latest Medela Symphony (one grade higher than Medela PIS Advanced). If you want to purchase Symphony, it will costs $3000++!

Both Symphony and PIS Advanced have two phase pumping. The beginning will stimulate baby sucking for 2mins then the next will be the pumping. It's great for relieving the block ducts and can really drain out the milk. This pump can even increase your milk supply. It did for mine even when I have quite a lot in the 1st place.

Rental for Symphony : 30days $7/day, 60days $6/day and 90days $5/day.

They also have other electric pump like Medela Latina Plus and Medela Select (not sure whether correct). Rental rate for these two are cheaper than Symphony.

Hi everyone! Wow, suddenly thread so active! All come back from holiday, izit?

For those staying in Rivervale, is there a childcare centre behind Rivervale Mall? St Anne Woods or something like that, not sure if it's the name of the cc centre or just the area?

Also, I read in another thread there's a playgroup in the SK community Hub. Anybody knows anything about this?

Foreverfriends Honey
Hi, your son is very close in age to mine. What's his name? Yep yep, I took NPL for 2 years, as I had to be the sole caregiver. Company didn't allow me anymore leave.

Joleena
Hope you all enjoyed your son's first birthday! How did you celebrate?

Evon
Do read up on some breastfeeding books to get an idea of what bfing entails. Don't be like me, blur blur, then kenna major shock because not mentally prepared. Recommend "The Nursing Mother's companion", or for personal accounts "So that's what they're for!" and "How my breasts saved the world". All available in library.

I gave birth in Thomson, and I know that their Parentcraft Centre had a Medela Latina that you could use to pump. The other hospitals should have such units for rental as well. Why not try these units before actually buying one? For me, I started with the Avent Isis manual, then my hands got so tired, so bought a Medela Electric Plus, much more convenient. But then, some mommies swear by their manual pumps. Do take your time over the decision, consider it an investment.

Tang Lin
kao_welcome2.gif

Welcome! Me joined not long ago too. What's your ds name?

Joleena
When is your son's b'dy?
Did u test whether your son know wat is being taught? Is he able to recognise the card in the class? How many term hv your son been wif BJG? Wat made u said BJG not effective?

Pris
I saw Avent dual electric pump yes'dy. Boi $800+ faint. Did u c the single electric pump?
Medela PIS's price increase so much. 2 yrs ago wz $500+

Boey
Sorry dunno abt the childcare n play gp dat u mentioned
Your co so gd let u take unpd leave for 2 yrs envy
kao_drool.gif
. U going to send Teddy to childcare when u start work?
R u still breastfeeding?
My son's name is Yan Chen. We call him Chen Chen

boey
yes he enjoyed it too..we booked a chalet in downtown east and celebrated with bbq etc..

foreverfriends,
oh my boy bday is 3rd dec...
ya he recognise those cards etc...i have only been with them for 1 term..
not really not effective..maybe just feel my son is too active during class that he keeps crawling all over the room...sigh..
so am still thinking if i should continue..
watz your opinion? u think itz good?

Shook, ya... the shop was selling really cheap.. if only had known earlier then we can save $ on the bb clothes since 1st 2 months, bb probably b staying home n no nd 2 gai gai. =)

Wow, Pris.. thanks for the info.. heard of the rental.. but didn't know tat to own the electric pump can b so expensive already!!!! I'm not sure what Gleneagles've... not sure if they have such rental services...

Boey, thanks... will start picking up books from library..

Question, do you ladies really pump milk in office? Office toilets???? I'm a bit shy if the equipment makes too much noise as the male toilet is juz next 2 the female one.. office do ve an executive toilet but it is outside at main lobby... =(

Anybody got good suggestion place in Raffles Place for pumping milk?

348560.png

shook ,
i did not use up all my maternity leave. my last month i took flexi. my mum is helping me to look after my son. but when my hubby is not working , he will take care himself.
something i still contact KK. what about you. did not still contact anyone. how old is your child?
evon
glad that u manage to get some clothing . the shop there sell alot of bb clothing right. u actually can boot and mitten from them . i oso hear from my friend.

Tang Ling,
welcome u .

Question : How does one bold or colour the text? Seen some people doing it.

Shook
Yeah, my company pretty understanding of my extenuating circumstances,but then I have to 'pay back' when I return to work. Sourcing for good childcare now, but still nothing that positive near SK, leh.

Yep, I'm still bfing Teddy. Might as well, since I'm with him! Figured since can't really afford to send him to all those expensive extra classes, give the best I CAN for him, including breastmilk!

Had problem with calling my son Teddy, 'cause it rhymes with Daddy. He solved the problem himself by calling Papa, so now we ALL call my dh Papa.

Joleena
You mean he ate BBQ as well?!?!?!? Did he eat the cake also?

Evon
Don't worry about breast pump noise. It's quite discreet, I could pump next to my sleeping baby for my Medela! But the problem with pumping in toilets is hygiene. I've heard of ladies pumping in the filing room, conference room, pantry, anywhere discreet and lockable, or where no male will just come barging in.

BTW, is your ticker active, or is it just an image?

Hi Helen!
*Wave!*

Boey
any plans to bring your son for any classes?

nah..he didnt have any BBQ food definitely...haha...but a tiny bit of cake though haha..
we brought along a slow cooker to cook his porridge..so he is not left out

Hi Foreverfriends Honey,
Avent electric pump $900++ not $800++!!! PIS Advanced is the latest model and replace PIS Traveller.

Evon,
KKH don't provide the service for rental. I found the contact number on the Medela Latina Plus pump in KKH. So it's the company (so call sole agent for Medela in S'pore) that sold the pumps to KKH. PM me if you need the rental company details.

Joleena
IMHO, bb n little tod's brain develops v fast. They learn fast @ tis tender age. Parents can't tell if they learn anything bcoz they can't xpres themselves. B it BJG or childcare or playgp, as long as the child is taught something n learns something. If u r able to teach your boi @ home, no need to send to enrichment classes.
I sent my son to BJG for 2 terms. Contemplating to cont for another term bcoz the teacher who taught him transferred to Bt Batok. Another teacher who is gd is going to take a break next term. Another teacher not up to my expectation. I hv not tried the other 2 teachers. I wanna let my son to cont to attend enrichment classes till I send him to playgp. I find my son learns better wif a gp of little tod. Peers pressure

Evon
If your office has meeting rm or your colleague or boss work in rm n they r ok to let u use their rm, better to pump in rm.
I pump in toilet. My office not breastfeeding friendly. Pump loud no choice. I saw the avent pump is stated ultra quiet or something like dat but v x. $800+

Helen
I sms n email KK occassionally. Jazz once in a blue moon
My son is 18 mth old.
Where do your mum stay? U bring your son home everyday? Your co dun allow u to take 3 mths maternity leave in a row?

Boey
Sorry how do u mean u gotta pay back when u back to work?
I saw a few childcare centres near the church. U dun like the childcare centres there? Did u look ard near your work plc?
Teddy so clever calls papa instead of daddy to differentiate

Pris
I saw Avent electric duo pump @ Mothercare n Metro selling @ $800+ close to $900