Any mums stay @ sengkang

Boey, thanks. Not sure if the meeting room can b reserved 4 a moment 2 allow me to do it... =o But I will check with another colleague.

Ticker is not alive... it's juz image. This forum doesn't support those Lilypie's code. So everyday got to get new image. =p

Shook, I saw it yesterday. The new Avent electric pump.. so X... wonder if it is efficient. = )

Pardon me ladies... What do you mean by taking flexi leave for the maternity leave? I tot the coy's maternity 2months leave muz take straight in a row. N if entitled /w govt maternity leave, it will follow immediately after that? Isn't it?? Can advice me on tix..

I may or may not have the govt maternity leave despite having work more than 120 days before pregnant becoz I am contract staff and my contract happens to end in the second month of the coy's maternity leave. =( (Unless the current coy I am outsourced to likes me n willingly sign me for another year.)
349085.png

Foreverfriends
which branch of BJG u are in? Pasir Ris?
So u letting your boy to continue until attend playschool?
which playschool u thinking at the moment?
i guess after some discussion, i will stop for one term and continue in april instead
anyway, thanks for all your advice

evon,
i took flexi maternity leave as well. I took 2 mths maternity leave and clear the remaining one month within 6 months...
perhaps you would like to check with your current coy if u are entitled to any maternity leave or benefits.
Get it cleared

Shook ,
my mum live in hougang so he is stay there while my hubby is working night shift , but weekend he is sure at my place , but sunday night we will go back to my mum place.
My co allow me to take 3 month in a row but i choose to have flexi. cos i have more time with my son and during his jab i dun need to take leave loh .
evon,
u have to check with your company ,cos some co dun like their staff to take flex cos it will be very troublesome for them to montior yuor maternity leave.

Evon
Flexi maternity leave is referring to the 3rd mth either take tog wif 2 mths in a row or take later within 6 mths
Better dat u check wif your co on tis b4 u deliver

Joleena
My son is wif BJG @ Pasir Ris
If the teacher is gd @ BJG I will let my son cont for another term
I hv no choice to which play gp I wanna send my son except Kiddy ABC which is opp my mum's blk. She doesn't want the rest which is further away fm her hse

Helen
U stay wif your son @ your mum's plc on wk day?

foreverfriends
where is kiddy ABC? not in sengkang right?
oh so u continue another term.....at little walkers right?

Joleena
Just brought Teddy to trial Gymboree and Kindermusik at Tanglin today. Realised he just wants to do his own thing and not follow instructor for both places. Sigh...now still considering. What about your kid?

Also, can ask a favour? Can teach me how to cook porridge using slow cooker? Me 'ang mo pai', only know how to batch cook Western baby food. But since he's more willing for me to spend time in the kitchen, thinking of making fresher food like porridge for him. Can PM me on how to cook porridge? Paiseh...don't even know how much water to put for the rice.

Shook
Where's the BJG at Pasir Ris? Never heard of it even! What does your kiddo do during the lesson?

Anyway, my HR pple say 'it's only courtesy' to stay and work for the organisation for an equivalent period of time that I took for NPL. You know what that means! Feel like I'm bonded!

Also, do you mean the cc centres near St Anne's church? Where are they? Dunno how to get to them. My work place not confirmed, because probably get transferred out of my current workplace.

Evon
Hope that your company can at least give a room. Maybe ask among your colleagues who have kids and are bfing to see where to pump?

Boey
do his own thing? he doesn enjoy it? hmm..i send my boy to BJG at Orchid Country Club branch..it is called baby jumper gym..he just finished one term..not too bad...sometimes he just like to crawl around the room..other times, he likes to gain attention from teachers..sigh..perhaps you like to try it out there if u are interested?
i wont be signing up for next term..so most probably be signing up for the following term for little walkers group..

ha..my mum is the one who is preparing the porridge though..hehe...i am a very bad mum..during weekends, my mum prepared it for him too..sometimes, if we are out for dinner, i just grab a jar of gerber food for him...
but i can still PM u...as i learn a bit here and there

Thanks, Helen, shook, Jolene. Think'll start asking if my contract b renewed by end Jan n c my enttitlement 2 the govt maternity leave.

Boey, thanks. So far, i noe there is a mom who pump milk in office but i dunnoe her.. juz happened 2 noe becoz another colleague was talkg 2 her on the bm storage. = )

Joleena
The Kiddy ABC dat I wanna send my son to is in Pasir Ris. Here's their website http://www.kiddyabc.com.sg/index.htm Not sure if there is any in Sengkang

I will cont wif walker 2 if the teacher is gd

Helen
BJG stands for Baby Jumper Gym

Boey
It's normal dat little tod play on their own. They still dunno the concept of sharing n playing wif others yet

BJG @ Pasir Ris Dr 6 blk 443 HDB branch office building. Depending on the age, the lesson comprises of flashcards, singing, dancing, gym (dun expect gymboree std), story telling, ..... Tis is their website http://www.bjg.com.sg

O dat means u can't resign within 2 yrs. U gonna transfer out of your current workplc, your post already taken up?

There r CDAN childcare, Gingerbread something like dat, dunno wat Montessori,.... I check out more n let u know

R u going to cont to bf when u start work?
Cook porridge in slow cooker v easy. I soak rice grain b4 dumping in the slow cooker. U can add vege, fish, meat, etc. How long u cook depends on the texture of the porridge u want. For 17 mth old tod, porridge dun need to b the mashy type so dun need to cook too long. I put ikan bilis (wash a few times) scallop (wash than soak over 9). When u smell comes out u can off the slow cooker. U can add 2 portion of water to a portion or rice grain or more depending on how watery u want the porridge to b

Evon
U find a chance to talk to the mummy who pump milk in your office. Normally they will b v happy to help.

foreverfriends
thanks...so your mum is staying in pasir ris..
most likely i think i have to place him somewhere near hougang or sengkang..
thanks for your recommendations

boey
think gingerbread is good...i gathered some info here and there..and they say Cedan childcare is no good...cos the teachers don speak well either...
there is an upcoming Modern montessor opened in dec...think itz a franchise outlet..not sure on their facilities....

evon,
do check it out with your colleagues...they should be able to help you out with it

Shook
Thanks for the links for BJG and cc centres! Probably will go for a trial at BJG. My parents stay in Pasir Ris too. Can bring Teddy to see her after lessons!

Merry Xmas to all of you and may all good blessings and happiness be ever flowing. = )

PS. Me go gai gai yesterday @ KidsMall IMM n bought Medela electric single pump @ 151.30 after discount of 15%.

B going 2 get some more things over these two weeks. =)

Me not seen the mommies in office.. so not asked.. but thanks.. =)

Thought just crossed my mind. I've got the Mothercare Gold membership card,which gives 15% on pretty much everything. I've no objection to lending it out to mommies in SK. Figured that since we stay same vicinity, and got LRT somemore, shouldn't be a problem to pass it around, or get it back.

I only ask that you try to return the card to me by 3 days. I guess if you let me know that you need it longer, shouldn't be a problem as long as I have no plans to use it.

Mothercare branches at Plaza Singapure, Centrepoint, KKH, Suntec, er..er.., can't remember the rest, but I usually go Plaza Sing, via NEL

Well, offer's been made. Who knows, we could even meet up and go for shopping spree as a group, now that CNY is coming and we need to get our little ones new clothes!

Take care! Enjoy the X'mas weekend.

Boey
Most welcome
Suggest u go BJG for trial 1st. Which day u intend to sign Teddy for BJG class? Which part of Pasir Ris your mom stays?
Thx for offer on Mothercare card

Merry X'mas n happy holiday to all Sengkang mum

hi hi all .. can i join?

I m a mommy of 2 gals - 3 yrs old & 10 mths.
I stay in rivervale crescent.

Update on my bb boy Jadon. Today being activated by KKH to go down to sign consent form for blood transfussion. Jadon has been monitored on his blood platelet counts. Doctor find him very tired, especially during his feeding and he looked pale. His blood platelet is low.

"Fly" down to KKH from home. Signed consent form at 215pm. Packet of blood came at 5plus. Was being told that this blood is not what they want...... Was told that it will takes another 1hr for them to deliver again. 6plus still no delivery

At 8pm, time for Jadon feeding. He's the impatient type when he's hungry he wants the bmilk fast down his throat. Currently on tube fed. He's crying so hard until his tongue flop backward and blocking his breathing. Heart rate went down! Nurse do cpr. Managed to bring him back to normal. Continue with his feed. Started to cry again when I'm holding to the tube. Tried to pacify him but continue to cry. Saw the monitor heart went down again. This time to 50 rating only. Face turn purple and eyes big. Nurse rush over to do cpr again. Managed to revive him to normal again. Nurse called duty doctor. Duty doctor didn't response to the staff nurse (pretend or really can't hear I'm not sure). Not sure what's she busy at.

Staff nurse decided to change his feed tubing. After changed his tube when he's feeding 1/2 way. Heart rate went down again!!! I was shaken inside and almost want to breakdown already! 3times I almost lose my bb boy!! If anything happens to him, I make sure I scold and sue the doctor upside down.

Doctor only came over after nurse finish his feeding. Just went there check his heartbeat and call the nurse to chase for the blood. She treat my bb boy case like not that urgent! Finally blood came and was put on transfussion. By then it's coming to 9pm! I was told that it take blood bank 1hr to deliver to KKH! From 2pm to 9pm, 7hrs!!! That doctor just continue to do her paper on all the babies. Make me boiled inside. Throughout all these happenings, I was alone w/o anybody with me. Hubby was on his way to KKH. Tried not to cry but just could not hold back my tears. SMS all my friends to pray for him.

Was asked to go home and rest. Took dinner and reach home not long. Received a phone call from KKH that Jadon need to be ICU cos he need oxygen to rely on. They need to do investigation and monitor him closely.

Called NICU just now to find out Jadon condition and being told that information cannot be release through the phone. Sigh..... Praying very hard for Jadon.

Please keep Jadon in your prayers. Thanks.

Dear Pris,
I'm sure I'm speaking for all the mommies here when I say we'll all keep you and Jadon in our prayers.

Hang in there! Jadon's a brave and feisty boy. Be strong! Do take care!

hi Pris,
Be strong, Jadon need a strong mummy!! Do take care and we'll pray for little Jadon as well as you & family.

Deck your child with hugs and kisses, Fa la la la la la la la la
All you husbands hug your missus, Fa la la la la la la la la
All the mummies kiss the daddies, Fa la la la la la la la la
Best of wishes to your families, Fa la la la la la la la la!
(sung to the tune of "Deck the Halls")

*Hic!* A little too much brandied X'mas pudding brings out the failed lyricist in me.

<font color="ff0000">MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL, AND TO ALL A GOOD NIGHT!</font>

Wai Yen

Hi Pris

My boys stayed in NICU and SCN for almost 4 mths due to prematurity. They were born at 25 weeks gestation. Your episodes remind me of the roller coaster experience which hubby and i went thru when the boys were still in kkh.

The nurse to baby ratio in NICU is 1:3. Be rest assured that your boy is in good hands. Check with the nurses who is the neonatologist assigned to take care of your baby. Request to speak to him or her periodically to ask for updates. He or she usually is a consultant or senior consultant.

Yes, NICU do not release information over the phone, i think this is part of their rules and regulation.

Preemies usually require oxygen during the first few weeks of their life. Breathing is a tiring thing for them due to the immature lungs. Some can be weaned off faster than their peers.
it depends on individual baby.

I am a mummy of preemies and can relate to what you are going thru now. You had my contact, give me a tinkle should you need people to talk to.

You are a strong mummy. I broke down so many times in NICU although i told myself not to cry in front of the boys.

There were 4 other preemies which were born almost the same time as my boys. 3 were 25 weekers and 1 a 26 weeker. We had a gathering yesterday. The babies are all doing well now... i will post a picture here in the next couple of days. Hope this helps to boost your morale...

Jadon is off the oxygen already. Has gained weight despite being off his milk for 1day! Now weighs 2kg!! Praise God!!! Jadon went through a lot of tests as the doctors want to ensure everything is ok. All test results reflect normal and good. He's on his feed now. From 9ml to 18ml and currently 37ml. Hoping he will intake more.

Have yet to speak to the consultant in-charge due to festive season. But have spoken to the ward doctor-on-duty. I will make sure I get to speak to the consultant tomorrow afternoon. Ward doctor mentioned they might want the ENT doctor to review Jadon earlier than expected instead of schedule him after discharge.

Thank you everybody for your prayers. My hubby and I appreciate your actions. Jadon will be a warrior in this "battle".

Dear Pris,

How wonderful! Yay! Jadon looks tired, but real good. My eyes are tearing up from looking at his photo, when I think of how fragile my son also was when he was born. Jadon is a brave warrior indeed.

I noticed your posts are usually after midnight. You and your hubby get as much rest as you can, ok? Take care!

Dear Pris,

How wonderful! Yay! Jadon looks tired, but real good. My eyes are tearing up from looking at Jadon's photo, when I think of how fragile my son also was when he was born. Jadon is a brave warrior indeed.

I noticed your posts are usually after midnight. You and your hubby get as much rest as you can, ok? Take care!

Hi Pris,
Glad to heard Jadon is getting better. don't worry , he will get stronger everyday .
U must take care of yourself too.

Hi Pris
Am glad Jadon is better. Dont worry he is a strong boy.

Am sure he will be okie very soon and get discharged.

Do take care and we will continue to pray for him and your family

Pris
Great news! Dun need to worry since Jadon is gaining wt.

U muz oso hv gd rest n take care of yourself

Great news!! Jadon is out of NICU. He's transfered to Special Care Nursery. However I was being told that Jadon might need to be on tube feed when he's discharge. So scary to think of how to insert the tube into his throat down to the stomach..... Doctors want Jadon to gain weight so that his airway will be wider and prepare for up and coming ops.

Pris ,
one good news for the day. Congrats!!!! Think at the bright side. sooner or later he will be not depend on the tube anymore. this is only temp. as what the doc say , he MIGHT " need to feed on tube when he is discharge , so there is still possibale that when he discharge , he do noest need to feed on tube.
We will pray for Jadon and your family too. Keep it up Jadon.

Hi moms.... I got question to ask regarding moe registration.. =p

I was in tix particular primary school that has affliation /w another 4 primary schools in Hokkien Huay Kwan. So, theortically, 's my kid eligible 4 one of the 4 primary schools automatically w/o going through being volunteers, donations or partipating to be member of the school etc????

Any advice???

Update on Jadon. Seemed that the doc want him to put on weight so still on tube feed especially he's just out from NICU. So they don't want to tire him. He's currently 2.03kg already despite they had reduced his feed to 38ml from his previous 42ml before the incident happen. Doc mentioned he gained weight might be because he have enough rest and has blood transfussion.

Doc has confirmed that Jadon will be going through hernia cum testicles ops next week. Not sure when is the date as they will only decide base on his condition. He will need to undergo another blood transfussion before the ops.

I keep thinking he can be out of KKH to celebrate the New Year 2006. Doc confirm that he can't be discharge this year 2005. Most probably discharge next year 2006. Sigh.... He's there for almost 2mths..... Hospital bills are getting higher.... Thank God I had downgrade him to C Class Ward......

The consultant has checked the incident happen to Jadon on 23 Dec. There's some misunderstanding between the nurses with reference to the consultant's instruction on the bag of blood issued by the Blood Bank. SO CAUSE DELAY FOR NOTHING...... Ward duty doctor had a new case (baby) that just went to SCN (Special Care Nursery). So she's busy with this case and did not think that my bb boy (Jadon) incident is urgent!!! Maybe SCN has never have such a case happened that's why take things for granted. I was being assured that such things will not happen again. I'm being sacrifice/tested for other people to gain.

Pray for Jadon's condition and ops. Also pray for finances for hospital bill and ops.

hi all... i'm new to this thread... me also staying at sengkang fernvale area... i have a baby boy which has just turn 5 months old on christmas day...

hi pris,

was reading through your story and was deeply sadden by what happened. my boy was born slightly pre-mature also at week 36 (2 weeks later than you, yours was 34 weeks right) but his weight was 2.15kg which was nothing as compared to yours. but i thank God that now he is a healthy boy, growing up very well.... i'm sure that God will see your baby through this difficult moment. Put your faith in God.

there's a baby girl in my church who was born at week 26. i understand that she was also in KK for 4 months before she was discharged. now at about 8 months old, she growing up well and catching up on her development. i'm sure your baby will be well and be a healthy little boy soon.

will remember Jadon in prayer...