Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Patsy,
I agree with you about not asking the eldest to always give in to the youngest.
In fact, when my baby boy is born, I actually spend more time with my older girl, and let my mother and maid take care of the baby. I want to let my girl know that she is loved just as much even though she has a younger brother.

I would love to go to Europe again, used to backpack there before. But I am also scared of the long plane trip. Nowadays, I don't really like to fly to anywhere more than 3 hours away.

Sorry to hear about your girl's heart problem. Did she require any surgery ? It must be really hard for you.

hippo2002,
Hmmm..that does look like bullying.
My girl likes to snatch things from my boy's hand, I get very angry with that and will scold her badly. She seems to be improving as she gets older.
I guess your older girl will be better when she is older, just need to be patient to keep explaining.

tamrind: i may have to go to NY in July, thinking of the 15+ hr plane ride makes me want to faint! but yeah, backpacking round europe is great.. get to taste the life as locals live it.

my daughter had her first surgery when she was 30 hours old, now scheduled for another one soon.. just waiting for a donor from the US. i've come to terms with it, with Faith in the Lord and a lot of support from family and friends!

Patsy
All the best for your gal surgery....

Tamarind
Your maid dare to answer back and show displeasure or not, when you pointed out her mistakes?My maid being an 5 year ex sin is showing signs on and off and am planning to get a new maid and buying time...Once a good one come along, I will send her back though she still has got ten months to go.....She is so vain and diet conscious....Talked to her exemployer and she told me that this maid has changed and asked me do not keep her anymore.....

I don't know what to really expect in a maid as I never had one before...any advice...thanks

Tamarind
Your girl looks so cute in her bikini. I used to dress my girl in bikini when she was younger too. Now cannot. She so lanky, like her dad. Full of bones only. Sigh.
Looks like you had lotsa fun in Krabi. Is it mainly a beach resort? What else can we do there?

Patsy
Hope your girl gets better soon with the next surgery. How long more to wait for donor? All the best!
Seems like your work requires you to travel very often. I don't think I'd be able to do that. Miss my bbs too much! That's why my sister says their umbilical cords still attached to me. Cannot let go leh.

Hippo
Try to engage your 2 girls in an activity where both of them can share. Maybe make something together where each will have their own thing to do, but cannot complete without the other.
The fact that your elder girl is protective towards her sister when they're out shows that she does love her younger sister. Perhaps at home she just wants a bit of your attention as well. May be she's afraid that you'll stop loving her because of her younger sister. I know it's silly, but little kids do think like that sometimes. Even my 10 year old girl needs an assurance now and then. I have to let her know that she'll always be my girl, and no one can take that love away, not even her brother!

Growing up is tough! And parenting them is tougher!

thanks Rainbow and cowandchick...

the first few times i had to travel for work i cried all the way from home to airport... after that it got easier. i still miss her of course, but i think the time away is also good for me, coz i get a chance to be a person again instead of just a mummy.... dunno if i'm making sense??

hippo
my gal likes to snatch thgs from her bro also and always wana play with thgs that her bro is playing. i taught her to ask for it instead of snatching it, so far her bro quite accommodating so she kws that she can actuali get thgs from her bro w/o the need of snatching it from him.

my gal is rough by nature so sometimes she will push her bro away when he attempts to touch her thgs when she's playing wif it. once her bro fell from her push but she quickly go and sayang him.

u/std from nani that sometimes she will purposely trip him to make him fall - so noti! but sometimes she's so lovingly twds him - hug him kiss him... hope thgs will get better soon...

patsy
i tink it's gd to get away from being a mumi sometimes... my coli commented that it's a gd opp for her to catch up with her slp ha ha... how long is yr biz trip normali?

hope yr dd can get a donor soon...

Patsy,
All the best to your girl !

There is non-stop flight to NY now so not too bad. A few years ago I went to NY, transit in Frankfurt, took about 22 hours ! So tiring ! But NY is a great city to sightsee and shop.

I know what you mean about being a person instead of a mommy. When I am at home, every second is spent with the kids and I don't have my own time at all. When I travel on my own, I can really do what I like.

Rainbow,
Only my ex-filipino maid showed black face and argued with me, I sent her back after 6 months. Is yours filipino or Indonesian ? All my Indonesian maids are very humble and obedient, and never show displeasure in front of me. I do not accept bad attitude from a maid and will certainly send her back. Don't forget who is paying the maid salary.

cowandchick,
I spent time on the beach at the resort, also took a small boat out to the island where there is magnificent scenery and we can feed the fish. Also can do elephant trekking but we didn't do that.

thanks tamarind. Will suggest Krabi to my hubby for next trip, if he's keen. Not sure about my boy tho. Can't swim yet, but can't leave him at home.

happycow, Thanks!! Just been to KKH to see her cardio, she's been put up the waiting list as urgent, coz oxygen level very low (74 max when normal is 95) so hopefully we get her valve soon. and yah, definitely catch up on sleep!! luckily i plan my trips myself so rarely am away for more than 3-4 days, though i did go to europe for 2 weeks late last year.

tamarind: oh yes!! can't wait to go to Century 21 and Woodbury Commons, will plan so that i will have a weekend in NYC instead of in ohio!! The non stop flight to NYC is quite long too, 19 hours, think i would prefer one that stops so i can at least stretch my legs
Being a mummy is a lot of fun, but sometimes it feels good to be a woman too... when you don't have to see diapers and milk bottles but spas and wine, haha!

Patsy,
Your girl is so chubby and cute ! How old is she now ? Is that a swimsuit ? So lovely. Hope she gets her valve soon.

tarmarind
My maid is an indonesian. I regretted taken her as she has five years experience in sin before I take her...I was new and did not know that she is too season to hired....

She knows how to lie and defend herself very well, will not loose to a typical singaporean....

I told her this morning, I thought I have employed a filipino as in my mind indo are very humble, loyal and obedient....

Am still looking around for suitable maid and once I find it, she will go...

hello mommies, for holidays, I would highly recommend Darwin. It's a refreshing change from Melbourne/Sdyney/Gold Coast, not too commercialised yet. Kakadu was featured in National Geographic. Tiger Air flys there.

733287.jpg

733288.jpg

Natas Fair starts this Fri. Anyone going?

I'm keen on Korea. Any mommies been there? Any recommendation?

tamarind, thanks! she's going to be 17 mths on Friday... and yah, we tried on the swimsuit my mum got for before going to Sentosa 2 sunday's ago... she loves trying on clothes and shoes

rainbow, not all, my MIL had an indo maid who lied, stole and used my FIL's hp till the bill got to $1000+! my opinion is that like in any job, the personality of the person counts more than the nationality, sometimes the generalization we rely on is misleading!

Patsy,
I agree with you that we should not over generalize based on nationality. There are certainly many good filipino maids out there.

My girl also loves pretty clothes. But hor there was a problem when she started to go to playgroup. She thought the uniform was ugly and would not wear it ! It took more than 2 weeks for her to finally agree to wear the uniform. My mother blames me for making her so vain.

Then when we change new maid, the only concern she has is, can the new maid tie her hair up beautifully ? Faint...

Rainbow,
I hire Indonesian maids now because I have 2 maids and need to keep the cost down. Previously I always hire experienced maids, though none of them have bad attitude like your one, they have other types of problems.

My newest Indonesian maid has no experience working as a maid at all. But she speaks good English, has a very good attitude and very willing to learn. I think fresh maids usually have less attitude problem and easier to control. But not every new maid will have a good standard of English, so need to choose carefully.

hippo2002,
I have only been in Seoul, Korea. The shopping closes at 5am in the morning ! I saw some daddy/mommy shopping with their babies/toddlers at 12 midnight, crazy right ? Good for shopaholics, by not cheap though. But somehow I still prefer Tokyo, may be because I am more familiar with Japanese culture.

Darwin looks nice, did you bring your kids there ? Anything interesting for kids ?

haha tamarind, don't scare me leh, sabie is 16 mths old and already want to put lipstick, and can sign facial coz she saw my mum doing it! And she can sit quietly while i dress her up and comb her hair, as long as i keep saying "mummy make you pretty, ok?" lagi faint!!

how old is your daughter now?

Tamarind

Thanks for your advice....Not sure asking a maid did she eat her dinner, and she turned out to be defensive and as if want to eat me up is consider an attitude problem....she has diet problem....

Patsy
Your girl is soooo cute. girls all very vain. My girl was no different then, and more so now! She goes through 3 or 4 changes of clothes when we tell her we're going out! Then she asks, 'does my top goes with the pants?' or 'which one suits me better today?' Her royal highness takes forever to get ready, so much so that we have to threaten to leave without her, then she hurries up! Double faint.
When combing her hair, she tells you exactly how she wants it to be done - tie 2 pony tails, not to high, about the ear, not too back, not too front, ..... And after you've done it all, she tells you, not very nice hor?! FIRE!!!
The only thing that she doesn't really go for is lipsticks and other cosmetics. Maybe bec i don't use them either. But i also not so fussy about clothes, leh?!
Those of you with little girls, your time will come!

hippo2002
Darwin looks interesting. Have heard of it often, but never really bothered to check it out. Maybe i will now. Thinking of somewhere to bring the kids, since our Toronto trip cancelled. Can't imagine lugging 2 kids with me there, when hubby at conference. Been there once with my girl when she was 3, bad experience. Locals not very friendly.
When is good time to go Darwin? What's weather like? Will it be affected by Monsoons in later part of year? Thanks

maid issues
Rainbow, you so funny. Your maid sound like some carnivorous animal or a cannibal!
I used to have maid when my girl below 1 yr. So glad i sacked her. Cook my dinner at 4pm so that she can go chit-chat with my neighbour's maid. Even drop hint to me that her 'friend' doesn't need to cook! Has to mop my floor on the very day i have visitors, and while they're still in my house!!! When it comes to eating, she's number one! She eats first, then us! If tell her to wait a while, face black like thunder! As if she's dying of starvation. Cannot use our shampoo, toothpaste or body wash. must choose her own brand! Very hard to serve this royal highness! So sacked her after 1 year. No intention to get another one, not after so many 'horror stories' from friends and papers!
I'm so glad I am SAHM, so able to go without one.

re: maids
few years ago, my upstairs neighbour was killed by her maid ! it was a high profile case and the forensic came quite a few times. seen their black van.
also heard so many horror stories about maids throwing babies downstair. I don't leave my girls at my ILs house ever since they hired a maid. Never once considered hiring a maid. I am very paranoid when maids are concerned.

cowandchick
I went in Apr, end of wet seasons, before yellow river dries up, so still in time for cruise (see 1st picture) but we couldn't visit Katherine because there was massive flood.
Darwin best season is May onwards

re: vain girls
haha! my girls also very vain. wanted to put eye shadows & lip gloss everytime I made up. my 3 years old just discovered she had feckles and cried, said her face is dirty. Alamak, she had freckles since 1 year old, but she suddenly sees it in the mirror one day. Must pacify her & say her freckles made her more cute
I don't keep long hair for both of them because I don't know what to do with long hair, even though they asked to keep hair long. I can't tie blaits or anything. Mommy with clumsy finger leh

cowandchick -- so funny!! i'm actually looking forward to the day she can choose what to wear and such... am sure it's gonna be a procession of clothes every time we want to go out!

hippo -- i'm actually trying to think of what to say to my daughter when she grows up and sees her surgery scars (she has 3 now, 2 in the chest and 1 in the thigh, will get another one soon).. how do i explain to her that it's ok and it doesn't make her ugly. Good thing is that they're mostly hidden by her clothes coz i'm worried bout her getting teased by classmates...

maids: i wish being a SAHM is an option for me, but with her medical costs, I have to try to help HB..and the opportunity cost of me quitting is quite high coz we would definitely feel the pinch if we lose approx 10K a month...

Patsy
my 5 years old girl had 3 stitches below her eyebrow. She slipped in the bath tub during our holiday to Krabi. We tried to make light of the matter. We don't mention about her scar so that she's not so conscious. The stitches faded after more than 1 year.

Re: leaving the job
I lost 50% household income. Really feel the pinch too. due to insufficient family support & crazy working hours, so the best option was for me to stay home then

After reaslising the benefits of SAHM, I hesitate returning to work even though I have better family support now and my kids are older. But my folks can't handle my elder girl & I'm worried she will go astray if I don't keep a constant watch over her

my gal likes to choose her own clothes also and will put them on herself (before i can oppose) but most of the time, she will ask me beforehand that whether it is ok for her to wear that particular dress/clothes... realised she always like to wear the few same dresses/clothes, being her favorite.

she will comment on my nail polish (if i ever go pedicure once in a while) also but i won't paint for her definitely. i won't wana make her like a 'xiao da ren' (small adult).

Just wondering do any mommies exercise regularly or sign up for any exercise programme?

any recommendation?

my bones feel stiffer with age

I used to swim quite a bit. Was school swimmer when much much younger. Now that my boy is settling down at childcare, hope to swim again. But must go very very early morning, fewer people. Now very embarrassed - flabs everywhere!

Used to jog, but i hate breathing in car exhausts! Anyway, after so many years of no jogging, i pant after just 10 minutes! Don't like gym coz everyone there looks so fit and trim, make me look even worse! I stick with swimming! At least most of time submerged in water, can't really see my flab so much.

hippo, some of the scars have faded, and if you don't know where they are you wouldn't notice them really.. but you know how insecure girls will be when they go into puberty... i know i'm worrying about something that's gonna happen 10 years from now but i can't help it!!

no fitness regime now, but am hoping to start one soon... cutting down on carbs to try to loose weight but i know i need to excersise too... will maybe start going to the gym again??

Patsy,
My girl is almost 4 years old. OK your girl more vain hehehe

Rainbow,
Your maid certainly has an attitude problem. You are too nice to continue to keep her. I would have sent her back the next day.

Re: Maids
It's very difficult for working mothers like me and Patsy to do without maids. I feel that so long as maids are supervised all the time, and we treat them with respect and dignity, it should be OK.

Re: Vain
My 2 year old boy also wants to choose his pants ! He only wants to wear nice pants. Faint...

Re: exercising
I used to go to Amore for aerobics class before I have kids. Now very stress no time to go.
Actually I am very lazy to exercise, I know of a good way to slim down and have tried it before : eat very little ! I dropped a few kg within weeks, without any exercising. But it takes a lot of will power lah.

exercising
cowandchick, not everyone at the gym look trim and fit... at least not at the one i used to visit. i used to go to california.

trying to hit the gym again before my membership expires. it was suspended for 1 year when i was pregnant. but i can hardly find time now after DS arrived.

my schedule as a WOHM:
8 am leaves home
9 am reached office
6 pm plus leaves office
7 pm plus reaches home
8 pm plus finishes dinner
9 pm plus plays w DS and nurse him to sleep
11 pm plus DS finally SLEEPS and time for my bed too.

how to fit in an exercise regime??? weekend also very packed with activities.

did TRY to go to the gym before work. i plan to leave house at 6.30am and reach at 7am plus... work out til 8am, shower and leave for office. the PROBLEM is that i can never wake up!!!

HOW???

WOOFWOOF,
My schedule is exactly the same as yours !!!
I heard one suggestion is to go to the gym during lunch hour. Actually there is a gym in my company, but I am too lazy to use it. But not everyone will have this luxury.

WOOFWOOF
the oni possible way for u to work out (besides lunch hour) is to leave yr DS with yr hubi or MIL for that few hours in the evening. but sometimes i kw paisay to bother MIL hor.

mine with nani so i dun wish to trouble them tho' i am sure they will glady obliged. if there's any evening event that i hv to attend, DH will be in-charge of picking up and caring for them.

tamarind - eat very little? how can? I live to eat leh!

FTWMs no time to exercise because of work and home. For me, SAHM just too lazy. But must try, must try....

tamarind: scary really, imagine how she will be when she's 5!

re: maids, ya, if you're a FTWM, no way can you live without a maid, i try to monitor what she does during the day using Skype but still...can't do it the whole day but good enough i guess.. as long as she does what i expect of her then i close one eye if she sleeps a bit or is a bit slow.. luckily when i hired her i categorically told her when she comes with me to Singapore she has to do house chores, coz in Manila if you're hired as a nanny, that's all you do, don't even have to wash the baby's clothes coz my mum had a maid to do that... so far ok

woofwoof: haha same here! all my grand plans of waking up at 5:30 to go running have so far been dreams...

cowandchick: me too... luckily i changed jobs, in my past job, i had to do sensory evaluation of cake and ice cream EVERYDAY!! how to loose weight???

thank God it's the weekend!!

aiya, my only personal time is go facial, then catch an hour shopping since I'm in Orchard. keep my mind active and feet busy :eek:)

thinking of picking up aerobics again at nearby CC but worried whether my stiff bones can take it & may be out of breath. tried yoga previously but it's not suitable for me.

gym is nice but cannot travel too far to gym regulary, no one to take care of kids. ad-hoc is fine but my mom doesn't like commitment

maybe can pick up a dance (tap dance or belly dancing or hip hop) but I paisay to join the teenagers in the class
hubby keen on in-line skating but I'm scared of falling leh. at my age, cannot afford to break any bones, really kiasee

haha, a lot of excuses !

hippo, what abt line dance? my aunt used to do that. i think they hv at CCs also. but i always think it's for senior citizens only! didn't realise I'll be one so soon!

Anyone tried that b4?

Wah, Patsy, cake and ice-cream - a dream job nightmare! so much food yet cannot eat! suffering man! how you take it?

cowandchick

haha! yeah, I also thought line dancing is for senior citizen

a CC nearby starting a Kickboxing class in Apr. Think I will give it a try. If I can take it, will enrol for aerobics too in May. Then I will have fixed exercise programme twice a week.

Too ambitious, huh?
Just a nice plan. implementation is the tougher part

Patsy, woofwoof
wow, wake up early for gym, mission impossible
I love to sleep in :eek:)

C&C: haha, eat lor, no choice mah, part of the job! but soooooooooo hard to diet, specially when we had customers... bring them to lunch, eat in the lab, then bring them to dinner! really die!

hippo: me too!!

missk: aiya, am only here for 24 hours, won't have time for coffee. am not really familiar with jkt, always airport, hotel, customer, hotel, airport. Maybe next time we can meet up and i can see another part of jkt!

Patsy

I used to be like you cos in the marketing field and has lots of entertainment, eat in and out....

Teach you a trick, keep yourself busy by serving the rest. A gal friend of mine always do that. She looks as if she is eating but she is helping to serve and finished all the food....

exercise during lunch hour is out as no gym around office.

looks like can only ask DH or MIL to help look after at nite... hope to steal 1 hour for some jogging.

woofwoof
jogging is out for me. Got some knee problem from younger days! sigh. Looks like got to stick to the water.

hippo
looks like you've got yourself a keep fit programme now. Good luck, I'll cheer you on from the sidelines. Kick boxing, don't think i can. Old bones more brittle, cannot afford to break them! Keep to low impact sports like swimming lor.

Hi Mommies!

Sorry I haven't been logging on. I've been away for more than 2 wks and boy do I miss alot. It's just that my kids have been sick and I've been in and out of KKH and SGH. My 4.5 y/o girl got very high fever 40-41 degrees on 10 March, even after giving panadol & sponging continuosly for 24 hrs so rush down to A&E KKH and we found out that she got tonsilitis and also her white blood cell increase due to bacteria. This is the 2nd time it happened and Doc said probably her immune system is low so now on multi-vitamins and apetite booster as she doesn't eat much. Then as she was recovering, on 14 March, my 1 year old baby got fever 39-40 degrees and again gave panadol and continuos sponging for 24 hrs & he's not feeding during that 24 hrs & when no change rush to KKH, then found out he got pharyngitis or ulcers at the throat, that's why he's not eating or drinking milk so he was very weak. He was put on drip for more than 24 hrs at KKH and only discharged after he was feeding back to normal. Had to stay home for a week to nurse him and was on anti-biotics. Then my eldest daughter who is 17 tripped and fell and broke her tiny toe on 17 March so to had rush to A&E SGH, got X-rayed and bandaged the toe and got discharged. So was taking care of 3 sick children at home. Just got back to work yesterday and had to go to SGH to send my girl for a follow up check up.

Ref: 2nd Child.
I think for those who is still undecided about having a second child, should go for it. It's good for your child to have a sibling. I had my second child when I was 34 and hubby was 46 and had my third child when I was 38 and hubby was 50!
Yep it's not easy but it's fun to see ur kids growing up together. I wish I could be a SAHM but couldn't afford it cuz hubby got kids from previous marriage to support too.

Ref: Travel.
I'm a travel bug myself and enjoy backpacking since I was a teenager. The last time I backpacked was going around Thailand with my family for 21 days in June 2005, my girl was 3 y/o and I came back with a baby! I mean I conceived my son in Thailand in Ko Samet on 19 June! Been trying to have a third one for 2 yrs after my second girl was born but to no avail so I gave up. I thot I was too old already but I guess not! He was a pleasant surprise gift from Thailand! I took my 2nd girl travel since she was 2 months old and we would travel every 3-4 months. It's also the first time we dip her in the swimming pool. My youngest son has only been on 2 trips so far but we're planning to go to this remote island in the riau archipelago for a long weekend during good friday. Then another trip is on the plan for the June holidays .. probably to perhentian islands in Malaysia. My hubby and I are such beach bum. We love to swim & snorkel or just lazing around and we took our girl along. Her first time under sea water was when she was 5 mths old. We even got a picture of her underwater! This next trip will be my baby boy first dip in sea water though he's been in the pool since he was 3 months old.

Ref: Courses
I was also able to take a 2 yrs Diploma course (work related) after giving birth to my second girl, & then took another course which is interest-related; massage! So far, I'm trained in sports massage, traditional indonesian massage, holistic/swedish massage & foot reflexology. I also took a course on threading & ear candling. Wanted to take a course on basic hair-cutting but am trying to find a suitable time. Will be taking a 12 weeks conversational mandarin course starting next month at the CC.

Ref: Losing weight.
Well I almost given up but I thot the main thing is I should keep fit and healthy. So trying to eat a balanced diet and briskwalk at the park/ to the playground a couple of times a wk, swim once a wk, do aerobics with VCD once or twice a wk, yoga with VCD once a wk, that shud be good right? Maybe later on this year, plan to take up martial arts at the neighbourhood cc so atleast get a workout once a wk.

Ref: Name calling
Oh yeah, I'm so pass being called by "auntie" or "makcik" (malay) and twice last year, a "grandma-looking" lady thot my son was my grandson!

Ref:Aged
Tho my hubby will be 51 this year and I just turned 39, he looks very good for his age. He told me the secret for men to look young is 3 things: no tummy, not balding, no grey hair. Though his hair is slightly thinning he dyed his hair and physically he is fit, in fact he still got his 6 packs! He also carry himslf well. I so envy him!
kao_frustrated.gif
I find what he says is true and for women, once u got a little tummy or hips a little wider, u turn into an auntie!

Well I'm still catching up on my reading of past postings on this thread!

Rainbow, can't do that coz we mostly take them to western style restos, with wine etc coz my boss likes to drink!

C&C, same here, can't jog or do aerobics anymore coz i broke my ankle

precious gem: poor dear, you've been in and out of the hossie... take care of yourself too!!

BTW, I get most of my cardio workout from briskwalking. You see I put my baby with a child minder who lives about 4 bus stops away from my work place and after work, me and my girl would briskwalk to pick up baby though I pity my girl, cuz she has to jog to keep in pace with my long & brisk strides. Sometimes we would stop by a "fitness corner" to do a couple of exercises and also at a nearby playground as reward for her. She enjoys the walks very much.

Another thing, our once-a-week family outing is usually at the beach/park; east coast, changi or west coast ... so I could still briskwalk while pushing baby in stroller, my girl cycle on her bicycle and hubby either jog or briskwalk alongside. I make sure I get a good 30-45 minutes of workout before we stop. We then play ball games, fly kite, sand play and playground. It's good workout for me and good play time for my kids and quality family time for all of us. If we go to the zoo,jurong bird park, night safari, etc. walking around the park is good workout too. I even find myself huffing & puffing when we were at snow city, from climbing up the "snow hill" before sliding down ... usually I can manage to do this abt 5 times before I gave up! So take ur family out and start working out at the same time and have a blast of a time!

Ref:Nurofen/Brufen
It's usually given if the fever does not subsides after a few dosages of paracetamol, means after 12-24 hrs and fever is at 39.5 degrees only. If fever is lower, just give paracetamol. Btw, it has its side effects so try to minimize using it. All this info from the staff nurse attending to my kids.

Ref:Enrichment/Extra class
My daughter is attending Art&Craft class @CC and swimming lessons so far. Thinking of sending her for silat or tae kwan do. She went to kiddy gym for about a year when she was three. Though she enjoyed it, after baby boy was born it was hard to send her due to distance. For phonics, language arts, maths, try to teach her myself. Thot if I build her a strong basic foundation she should be able to catch up later on.

Ref: Phonics
Just want to share abit. I know there's alot of different types out there in the market but I just stick to the basics. I teach my daughter the consonants first after that introduced the short vowels. While doing this, I used "word families" & at the same time u can introduce consonant blends. Later on, u can introduce long vowels, digraphs etc. Actually I found the "american" style is easier to teach kids compared to the "british" style with the monothongs, dipthongs, tripthongs etc

Ref: Language Arts
In any language, it's practice and usage of the language that will make one confident in using it. Also exposure & expansion of vocabulary, free/creative expression etc, exposure to books/ reading etc. This is also the best time to expose her to various topics for discussions eg. about animlas, plant life, the weather or anything and also to explore & investigate! We want our child to have an inquisitive mind.

Ref: Maths
At this level, preschoolers/toddlers, the language is still the basis. knowing colours, shapes, patterns, able to differentiate, sort, match, classify etc are the basic maths concepts. Measuring using non-std units, making graphs, draw charts etc can also be introduced through play.

Ref: Music
I'm not trained in music but I try to sing nursery rhymes do some actions songs, finger play or music & movement or use simple percussions using empty milk tins, home-made shakers (from art & craft) or bells with my girl to let her get the sense of rythmn/beat. We will play the freeze game to teach her about fast or slow beat, high & low pitch etc.

BTW, anybody here in Woodlands or Bukit Panjang?

precious gem
what side effect does bufen have?

I was told by KK as well as pedieatric to give bufen if fever > 38.5 degree
(2 to 3 hour after parcetomol, used as an interim medicine because we can only feed parcetamol every 6 hours interval)

One GP even told me to feed together if fever at 39 degree! Another GP gave wrong diagnosis.
I'm almost convinced there is no good GP in my area :eek:(

Precious gem
Bet good things will come along after this series of in and out of hospital...How did your kid get tonsilitis , did she always take fried food or biscuit?

Hoppo2002
After my son had that fever last week, I used paracetomol and monitor his temperature.If by four hour, the temp go up, I will feed paracetomol and used it to control it.If by 4th hour, temp still maintain the same level, I will drag the timing further till he is fully recovered.....

hippo,
I dis ask her but I can't seem to remember now. but paracetamol u can give minimum of 4 hrs interval & on my kid's bufren bottle stated if fever 39.5 degree.

patsy
actually my hb can b lazy at times but i always use "it's for the benefit of our children & our marriage", which is true. I also reminded him that he knew I was active & told me that's one of the reasons he married me.

Rainbow,
I think it's hereditary. I got tonsilitis too and so does my mom & my aunt. Mostly the women in my family (maternal) got them. Tonsilitis is bacterial, I don't think it has anything to do with fried food or biscuit. I even spoke to the ENT specialist and now I'm able to "control" the "attack" though the recommendation is to have them removed (which my mom just did last year). Not a pleasant experience.