Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Other than Shichida, I have not tried other programme like GUG or JG, so can't compare
in Shichida, 1 parent will accompany the child. basic tables & chair for the kids to carry out activities with parent's assistance.
class size of 6 kids to 1 teacher. mainly flash cards, linking memory, foreign languages, songs & puzzles. suppose to stimulate right brain

we enrol them for Shichida after watching a documentary on Channel 8. Kumon was also featured in that same documentary. A 3 years 3 months old boy in Kumon can do fraction (equivalent of Primary 4) in that documentary, wow!
We were so impressed by what the kids can achieve after attending Kumon & Shichida that we enrol my elder girl for both.

But on hindsight, I think the kids featured in the documentary are already borned smart, so with the right programme to stimulate them, they really accelerate. hehe, doesn't mean every child who enrol will become gifted lah

tamarind

HANYU PINGYING
They learn hanyu pinging during the first term or so in P1,there after, its the clean and proper chinese strokes. The teacher in my girl school is very particular about every stroke...maybe they are the "chinese school" tradition.

HOMEWORK/EXAM
Agreed,no homework may not be a good thing. It may mean,parent has to coach yourself.My gal do not have CA, Mid year and just one final year exam at the end of the year. Sound good but during the final year. all is tested at one goal...so during the usual day, I have to monitor her.

ENGLISH/CHINESE SPELLING
The above is once in a week in my gal school.I think at this age, they know how but just lazy to learn so parent has to make sure they make a point to sit down and learn. Its the matter of getting them discipline.

Rainbow,
Thanks. I remember when I was young, they taught Chinese characters since K1. I am sending my girl to Berries to learn Chinese, and they are teaching Chinese characters at nursery level. I remember reading something in the newspaper, that they want to change the way they teach Chinese, to emphasize more on speaking and listening, less on writing.
There is something seriously wrong with the teaching system, because my hubby, even though he got A1 in O-level and A-level Chinese, he is not able to speak fluent mandarin, and not able to read Chinese newspaper and don't understand the Chinese news from TV. Even now when they try to change the system, I don't see how it is going to help by putting emphasis on hanyu pinyin.

Re: English/Chinese spelling
For English, the most important is to know phonics, if the child knows phonics, he/she can read and spell most letters. When I was in school, they never teach phonics, and I have to memorize all the english words by heart. Only when I have kids then I realise there are phonics class. My hubby said he learnt phonics by watching sesame street.
Are they teaching phonics in Primary school now ?
For Chinese, no choice but must memorize the strokes. So best to start from a very young age.

Re: Shichida,Kumon
Shichida seems to be selling the fact that they can make all babies become genius. But I know of mommies who drop out after 1 term. They make mommies do a lot of homework with the child, like flashing cards everyday, so the mommy must be very hardworking.

I remember reading this from another mommy yell0wp0wer.
http://blogs.webmd.com/healthy-children/2006/05/raising-your-21st-century-child-how-to.html

Quote:

The upper limit of your child's capacities is constrained by who and what she is (mostly via her genetic heritage). All the extra stimulation in the world isn't going to make your child an Einstein or a Mozart or a Michael Jordan.

Tamarind
Good morning....

My gal was in Berries since three year old and she is still there.

RE:ENGLISH /CHINESE SPELLING
My gal did not go for phonics.She learned through breaking up the words.Some learned thr memory though for some kids.
No, they are no longer teaching phonics in primary school. Like you, I do not have phonics class when I was young too.
Agreed, for chinses has to remember the stroke.

Chinese Language
I used to take Higher chinse in A level, and I guess to be interested in the language is the key to success....Probably you can send her to classes that is fun filled with chinese?

Ironically, my gal comes from a English speaking family, but she scored almost full marks for her chinese exam...maybe there is really a flaws in the system...just like what you have mentioned in your hubby case.

Hi there! Good morning ladies!

Well it's true, I think all of us were not taught phonics when we were in school. Tamarind, like ur hubby, I first learn phonics from Sesame Street too.

Patsy, like u I'm also the target of those beauty product promoters ... for eye bags or dark circles or my pores! I admit, I don't apply toner after cleansing my face so I end up with big pores on my face. Now I try as much as I can to apply toner tho I'm not sure if it helps

My girl is in K1 now in a mosque kindergarten so she has additional subjects like arabic character reading and writing & islamic values/ ettiquet(moral education). On top of that for K1 & K2 students in her kindergarten, they include computer programme in the curriculum. All these apart from the usual subjects required in the MOE framework; language literacy (English & Malay), self & social awareness (health & moral edu etc), Math (numeracy etc), environment awareness (science, ecology etc), aesthetic & creative expression (arts & craft, music & movement, dramatization) and motor development (pysical education & outdoor games).

She is doing ok in kindergarten though I am worried about primary school after listening to others stories. I mean the stress & pressure etc.

Now, I just try & give her a great childhood as much as I can and making sure she always feel loved by us.

Btw, welcome to the grp MO2

hippo2002,

Whr in Bt Timah does ur girl attend gymnastic? Anyway, it's a shame u have to drop her off from speech & drama class, I think it's suppose to be good. My daughter school used to have speech & drama class but they had to close the class as enrolment was low. I'm trying to attend a course in teaching speech & drama myself so I could teach my 2 kids! Btw, I love speech & drama myself! The course with Julia Gabriel is really expensive so I'm trying to see if there's another alternative which is as good. Anybody wanna take the course with me? I'm planning like next semester intake? I think it's a 6 mths course, about once a wk or so.

Cheers Ladies!

hi precious gem

i'm thinking of taking the 6 mth Julia Gabriel Certificate in Speech and Drama course this June too. Dun mind cheaper course too if it is as good as the JG's one. JG's pretty intensive, 2 weekday nites per week and one practical attachment during the weekend too. Though JG's definitely well recognised. Heard from the staff recently that from next year, it will be a 9 mth course as they will incorporate an additional module or sthg. Maybe we can go for it together?

precious gem

read in your previous post that you are keen to form a playgroup where we organize activities for the kids. How old are urs and where do you stay? i'm keen on that too...dun mind joining one.

hi everyone. hope you had a good weekend.

I think the emphasis now has shifted towards speaking and pronunciation for Chinese learning. The stress is on being able to hold a conversation first, then, able to write good essays.
Hanyu Pinyin is great because it helps children who are able to speak but are yet unable to write, to still do well in Chinese. In fact, in China itself, school children are encouraged to use words that they cannot yet write in their writing, by using hanyu pinyin. sooner or later, they will learn the words. The idea is, not to restrict the child's imaginative writing to only the words he can write! Personally, i think this is great.

The focus on hanyu pinyin also encourages correct pronunciation of Chinese words. Many so-called Chinese speaking people here actually mispronounce the words, much like how some English words are also mispronounced. I had an earful from friends from Mainland China who had great difficulty understanding me! Now, I make it a point to check the pronunciation and learn the proper way to say the word. My girl is able to help me too, although she doesn't do much writing in Chinese. She's exempted from Chinese exams, but I still get her a Chinese tutor from China to help her in her conversational Mandarin. She's good!

Precious gem, don't fret over primary schools. The time will have to come, and just take things as they come. The stress and pressure can be overwhelming at first, but just remember to take time and reflect on what you really want for your kids. like now, you want them to have a great childhood, that's wonderful. Then, keep that in mind, all the time, even when they are at school. Don't stress yourself out and don't stress them out. They'll have a great time growing up with you!!

Tamarind
Thanks for your quote. A very timely reminder to us all. Whenever I see red looking at my girl's test or exam results, I quickly gather myself together, and try to think what I was like myself in the past. Then i realise that much of her now is also what I was before. Genetics, lah! I wasn't that great a student myself, how can I expect my girl to be? Just try to encourage her to try harder the next time.

hi everyone. hope you had a good weekend.

I think the emphasis now has shifted towards speaking and pronunciation for Chinese learning. The stress is on being able to hold a conversation first, then, able to write good essays.
Hanyu Pinyin is great because it helps children who are able to speak but are yet unable to write, to still do well in Chinese. In fact, in China itself, school children are encouraged to use words that they cannot yet write in their writing, by using hanyu pinyin. sooner or later, they will learn the words. The idea is, not to restrict the child's imaginative writing to only the words he can write! Personally, i think this is great.

The focus on hanyu pinyin also encourages correct pronunciation of Chinese words. Many so-called Chinese speaking people here actually mispronounce the words, much like how some English words are also mispronounced. I had an earful from friends from Mainland China who had great difficulty understanding me! Now, I make it a point to check the pronunciation and learn the proper way to say the word. My girl is able to help me too, although she doesn't do much writing in Chinese. She's exempted from Chinese exams, but I still get her a Chinese tutor from China to help her in her conversational Mandarin. She's good!

Precious gem, don't fret over primary schools. The time will have to come, and just take things as they come. The stress and pressure can be overwhelming at first, but just remember to take time and reflect on what you really want for your kids. like now, you want them to have a great childhood, that's wonderful. Then, keep that in mind, all the time, even when they are at school. Don't stress yourself out and don't stress them out. They'll have a great time growing up with you!!

Tamarind
Thanks for your quote. A very timely reminder to us all. Whenever I see red looking at my girl's test or exam results, I quickly gather myself together, and try to think what I was like myself in the past. Then i realise that much of her now is also what I was before. Genetics, lah! I wasn't that great a student myself, how can I expect my girl to be? Just try to encourage her to try harder the next time.

cowandchick,
It's not only Mommy and Daddy's genes, still must consider whether any of our relatives have bad genes :p Both my hubby's sisters grades are so bad cannot get into local universities !!!

I told myself if my kids cannot get into local U, I will let them learn hair styling, baking, tze char, still can earn a living hahaha

precious_gem,
Wow your girl kindergarten program sounds very good. My kids will be in PAP kindergarten, don't know how good it will be.

Rainbow,
My girl likes Berries class very much, it is very fun filled for her. When she is older, I will teach her Chinese myself, my Chinese not bad OK, used to read martial arts novels by Jin Yong. I can't teach her now, because all along she speaks English to me, and Cantonese to Po Po. She is not used to speaking Mandarin to me. Hope that when she is older, she will get used to the fact that Mommy knows English, Cantonese and Mandarin too !

Cowandchick, Tamarind

I read many years ago, a parenting book written by a German, very inspiring. His son was borned with slight disabilities and doctors expected his son to be 'slow'. With his special stimulation method, he trained him to be a genuis. his son became a professor in an ivy league uni. He is the forefather of pre-school education because at that era, children only started formal education at 7 years old whilst he started training his son from birth
To sumarise his book: genius can be cultivated ! Prof Shichida also advocate the same school of thoughts

But my brother & I (2 years apart) grew up in the same environment. I burnt mid-night oil only to get 6 As in my O-level. He was playing computer games before and throughout his exam and still walked away with 7 As. Sigh....so the only explanation is he's simply borned smarter lor.

can a mommy here help to tabulate a summary ?

hehe, because with so many mommies, kind of lost track so more convenient to have a table for easy reference

I try to tabulate using excel & cut & paste into paint brush but cannot upload. Any volunteer who knows how to do it? we can all send to one person

suggestions:
nick
SAHM/FTWM
interest
age of 1st child/boy or girl
age of 2nd child/boy or girl

OK I will start.

<table border=1><tr><td> NICK</TD><TD> SAHM/FTWM</TD><TD> interest</TD><TD> 1st child age/sex</TD><TD> 2nd child age/sex </TD></TR><TR><TD>tamarind</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> travelling/shopping</TD><TD> 4 yo girl</TD><TD> 2.5 yo boy </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Click here to download the template.
mime_txt.gif

mommies.txt (0.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hippo2002,
I believe that every child has a hidden talent. It does not always have to be the ability to do well academically. A child may do badly in school, but he/she may have superb interpersonal skills and will do very well in the sales/business/banking sector. Or a child may be very creative and he/she can create beautiful clothes/hairstyles/cakes
Both types of children can be very successful in life and earn a lot of money. It is the Mommy's responsibility to discover these hidden talents and nurture them.

hi from Saigon, Vietnam everyone!!

re: grades

not everyone who gets good grades/high academic achievement becomes successful, just like not everyone who fails in school is a flop. Think Bill Gates! I have promised myself never to push Sabie to get straight A's because what's important is she learns, not she can answer some tests!

re: Chinese

am worried Sabie will grow up not speaking proper Chinese because neither hb nor myself can speak well, nor can we read and write (i can read but the old longhand style, not the short cut version)

I agree with Tamarind, if your child is talented in other fields, it is our responsibility to nurture this and make sure they try to develop their talents, but we shouldn't force it though, coz they might get tired of it and end up wasting their talents!

Tamarind: am a techno tart here, don't know how to do the table, so here are my details:

Nick: patsy
FTWM
Interest: shopping, golf, music, cooking
1st child age/sex: girl, 17 mths

Okay, its my turn...

Nick : Rainbow
SAHM
Interest : Travelling, shopping ,Hi tea
1st child age/sex : girl,8 years
2nd Child age/sex : boy, 20 months

Tamarind
Thanks for the template!
aiya, I don't know how to add such that it continues on 2nd row ?

<table border=1><tr><td> NICK</TD><TD> SAHM/FTWM</TD><TD> interest</TD><TD> 1st child age/sex</TD><TD> 2nd child age/sex </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippo2002 </TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> shopping & spa/ reading/ travelling</TD><TD> 5 years old girl</TD><TD> 3 years old girl </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

very true, Bill Gate is a great example. but very few people become Bill Gate or Richard Branson. so the safest approach is to study study study. in case cannot make it big as entreprenuer, still got that certificate to fall back on, won't starve. I think of studies as a back up plan.

my brother doing extremely well in his career. His first class honours gave him a wonderful headstart in career. Luckily he can easily afford to support my parents so I'm not pressuried to work to support my parents. Otherwise, I won't even have the option to be SAHM.
I believe doing well in studies still pay off. Hopefully at least one of my girls can make it in their selected field of interest. If both of them becomes SAHMs like me, my hubby & I really 'eat grass' at old age.

The only reason I wish to return to work is to save for retirement. Very sad to be old and penniless !

SAHMs,
Do you worry about your retirement? or am I thinking too much?
my hubby very optimistic, he said the children will provide for us at old age
I prefer to have more money than my kids, don't have to really rely on them, so any pocket money from them is like bonus instead

Hi Hippo2002,
not only you. I don't know, for me as FTWM think the same way - worry for the retirement.

Nowadays, life style changing so fast. Not even dare to think whether the children will support us at old age. I think it is better for every parents at least have own saving. When the kids grown up also feel relaxed .... not find us as a burden.

Yes, of course additional money from them, like you said is a BONUS.

My turn ...

Nick : Mo2
FTWM
Interest : Travelling, shopping.
1st child age/sex : boy, 5 years
2nd Child age/sex : boy, 1 year

thanks to all mummies who provide comments on homeschooling
I don't think I have the making to able to homeschool my boy. Too big and challenging task for me.

All the talks and seeing majority of the kids so clever makes me so stressed. My boy is still not too good with speech comparing with his peers and even those younger. I still haven't got into finding what enrichment class to bring him, I am feeling so lost now. I just don't know what my boy likes.. feel so lousy mummy.

<table border=1><tr><td> NICK</TD><TD> SAHM/FTWM</TD><TD> interest</TD><TD> 1st child age/sex</TD><TD> 2nd child age/sex </TD></TR><TR><TD>tamarind</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> travelling/shopping</TD><TD> 4yrs girl</TD><TD> 2.5yrs boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>patsy</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> shopping/golf/music/cooking</TD><TD> 17mths girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rainbow</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> Travelling/shopping/Hi-tea</TD><TD> 8yrs girl</TD><TD> 20mths boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mo2</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Travelling/shopping</TD><TD> 5yrs boy</TD><TD> 1yr boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>jastan</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> spa/travelling/shopping</TD><TD> 3yrs boy </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

i also dono how to add on to table. Help!

Nick: cowandchick
SAHM
Interest : Music, reading
1st child : girl, 10 yrs
2nd child : boy 23 mos

Thanks... sorry!

retirement
I told my hubby I must die before he does. If he goes first, I got no money how?
But seriously, yes, i do worry about old age too, that's why I try to do some part time work where possible. Before my boy was born, I took on part time jobs, but all money used up already! sigh. Hope to get started again soon, so at least have a little bit to go on!

like hippo said, money fr kids would be a bonus. Cost of living so high, I doubt if my kids would be able to provide much anyway, so still better to have own savings to live on. Told hubby will have to downgrade to smaller flat when kids are grown up. Scary hor!

JasTan
It's alright. Read somewhere that boys speech development are usually slower than girls. That's only initially. He will surely catch up
My elder girl only started talking at 2 years plus, considered slow when all her peers in Shichida can speak complete sentences way before her. Once she started childcare, she became so talkative & argumentative that I kind of missed those silence moments

Maybe you can start your son on MRC English? They teach letterland phonics. There is a new class on Saturday morning. You can go for a trial

There is also mind stretcher (next to Tampines swimming pool). I called to enquire but didn't see the premise yet.

Jas
know what you mean, seeing so many smart kids around, and you feel like yours is nowhere near!
My 2 nephews are brilliant. Both in IP schools, and the younger one top his school for PSLE! Compared to them, my girl seems like a doh-doh. I get more stressed at end of year, when relatives start asking how our kids performed in school. Once, my mum even asked if my girl passed! I was shocked and a bit hurt. True, my girl will never be like her cousins, but that doesn't mean she's going to fail everything! Sigh, that's the reality of life, i guess.

I used to feel so pek chek, why my girl so slow, not smart, etc. But soon I realised that there's no way to force her to perform by comparing her to her cousins. I had to accept her as she is. I tell myself, maybe she late bloomer like me. I fail, fail, fail all the way in primary and secondary school. When I tell people I got place in NUS, they think I joking!

Now, I try not to compare too much. As long as I feel she's done her best, and she's not at the bottom of the class, I tell myself it's okay. How nice to have smart kids, but I'd still rather have my girl as she is.

Homeschool with syllabus & fixed curriculum is definitely very stressful (for mommies!)
I can't do it even though I'm a SAHM, no discipline. and how to get a young child to stick to timetable?

hehe...my definition of homeschooling is when my girl is in the mood to even read some books or play puzzles, she choose what she wants to read or explore (lots of material for her to choose). Very flexible. As long she's doing something, I'm satisfied :eek:)
I don't have a study plan or a to-do list.

I think academic is not the only yardstick. my number 1 yardstick is whether she is fillial & takes good care of me? I expect my girls to start taking care of me now
for example, is she helping me with houswork at home voluntarily? picking up her own stuff & kept her room neat so as not to create additional chores for me

My elder girl rinse up her swimming costume last night, hang it in the toilet to drip dry. To me it's a great achievement !

hippo2002/cowandchick
Thanks for the comforting words. I know shouldn't compare and hubby and I always remind ourselves this. Hubby is better at this but maybe I am the more KS type.

Talking about saving for retirement, I have not even think of it. although I am working, but seems like I don't have much savings leh... jialat...

Updated the table.
<table border=1><tr><td> NICK</TD><TD> SAHM/FTWM</TD><TD> interest</TD><TD> 1st child age/sex</TD><TD> 2nd child age/sex </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippo2002</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> shopping & spa/ reading/travelling</TD><TD> 5 years old girl</TD><TD> 3 years old girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>tamarind</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> travelling/shopping</TD><TD> 4yrs girl</TD><TD> 2.5yrs boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>patsy</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> shopping/golf/music/cooking</TD><TD> 17mths girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rainbow</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> Travelling/shopping/Hi-tea</TD><TD> 8yrs girl</TD><TD> 20mths boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mo2</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Travelling/shopping</TD><TD> 5yrs boy</TD><TD> 1yr boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>jastan</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> spa/travelling/shopping</TD><TD> 3yrs boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>cowandchick</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> Music/reading</TD><TD> 10 yrs girl</TD><TD> 23mths boy </td></tr></table>

I think in whatever you do, you need a plan to state how you intend to achieve it, and the methods used. That is the use of a curriculum and syllabus. Of course, you can structure it your own way, as long as you are able to complete your own syllabus. It takes quite a lot to draw up a curriculum, even though you may already have the syllabus. That's why we usually leave it to the professionals.

We can do things our way, the easy-going way, but we may miss out a lot of other stuffs along the way. All forms of education, whether formal or informal, must have a plan. That is why, if we want to home-school our kids, we must be able to produce that plan to show what will be achieved. Otherwise, everyone just 'homeschool' their kids, and at the end of it all, they've learned nothing. The MOE also need to know we are aware of the responsibility of educating our kids! Not an easy task, that's why parents who do so usually buy a prepared curriculum from overseas. BTW, those parents i heard of who homeschool their kids did so before the compulsory education act came into force. After that, haven't heard of anyone doing it!

To write up a complete curriculum and syllabus to homeschool one or two kids is not worth the trouble. but if a few parents can come together and work on something to share, maybe can still be done.

I hope I haven't discouraged any one keen on homeschooling their kids. I don't think I can, but some of you looks like you are quite capable of doing it. Don't let me stop you, but just to let you know what you need to do in preparation for it! Good Luck!

For pre-school, I prefer home schooling. Less germs and more flexible. Allows the child to progress at her own pace. Social interaction can be with siblings or during enrichments

for primary level, I rather they are in the main stream primary schools since every child has to sit for PSLE anyway, even if home schooled

in the 80s, almost every child starts at the same footing. We all start learning ABC in primary 1. But the gap in primary 1 kids can be quite dramatic nowsaday according to news report

hippo2002
I have the same ideas and thoughts as you regarding pre school.Still, I will send him for his nursery class when time comes cos want him to particiate and have fun as a group.Like you, I do not like the germs....

For primary level, I would want my kids to be in the mainstream pri school too....

Hey here's my info:

precious_gem
FTWM, 39 y/o
Spa, reading, watching TV, exploring the world(travelling)
17 yrs old girl, 4.5yrs old girl & 1 yr old boy

Btw, I told my husband not to expect for any of our kids to take care of us so although I try to put aside some money for my kids, I also put a tiny bit for my old age.

Another thing, I told my hubby that I want to spend my golden years in an exotic spa resort like in mauritius, or any of the Banyan Tree Spa resort ... and since I know I won't be able to afford it, I decided to take up courses in various massages so atleast I could still stay in an exotic resort (quarters) as a massage therapist! I hope the skills that I have acquired could atleast sustain me and hubby a decent living when I'm retired. Actually, my hubby just retired from civil servant so gotta bit of pension and medical care so I warn him not to die before me!

hey hippo2002, we have 3 same interests and our girl is also the same age. My girl actually start talking really late ...when she was 3+, just before she starts nursery! My boy is 1 yr old and only just start saying mama & ayah(father in Malay) though he seems to understand some of the things I said but that's about all he can say. he babbles alot though & pointing at things as if telling us something. He is actually 13 mths and still need for someone to hold one of his hand to walk. Although he's able to walk, he seems to have no confidence in himself. His sister start walking at 10.5mths & was climbing up & down my grille gate before that. My boy seems so fragile.

Yes homeschooling is tough even at preschool level. You must have the patience, energy, dedication & commitment and most importantly the passion to do it. If anyone of you really has the interest to do so, I can share with you about the local scene ... with the MOE framework. That is for a stuctured curriculum but the best is to expose them to all sort of hands-on-experience and talk & talk & talk to them and make sure it's a 2 way conversation cuz not only they can learn alot but u learn alot about them too! I think most of you did a great job already especially with the various activities and trips u took them like the zoo, parks etc, it all adds up. Children at this age learn and pick up things all the time. They are active learners and learn better thru sensorimotor skills so give them the experience to touch, smell, see, hear, taste & do things!

hippo/rainbow, i agree... am planning to let Sabie attend JG in June but it's more so she learns to interact with other kids, coz now she's very wary of children her own age coz no one to play with... not going to expect that she learns much! If any, that's a bonus!!

Good Morning Ladies ... wow didn't feel like getting up this morning ... thot of calling in sick, but I'm not sick ... just sick of working sometimes. Actually I kinda like working even when it's stressful cuz I think I work better under pressure. The only thing I can't stand about working is the office politics! That kinda stress really puts me off ... and make me sick of working.

Hey, Mo2, our chdn r the same age except that my almost 5yr old is a girl. Do ur boys get along? Does ur elder helps u to look after the younger one? For girls, my elder girl shows her caring & loving nature and do helps me to look after her younger bro unless if her favourite cartoon is on! But I notice her bro looks up to her and would hug and kiss her even while she was sleeping. He's like me, a pieces ... sensitive, romantic .....

Plan to take my girl out to the playground and the shops around here when she finish school this afternoon. Need to replenish my first aid kit for the trip ... I'm going away this long wkend to a remote island, not far away from Batam.

Ok I hope u ladies have a good start this morning ... we all need that to have a good day.

Cheri,
I just log on to JuliaGabriel website, this semester course has started, Jan 3, for 6 months. Not sure when is the next intake. Should commence around July but registration shud take place ard May-June. Yep it's 2 evenings a wk and attchmt on Saturdays ... that would really be tough for me, not so much the work but missing time with my kids especially my boy

As for the playgrp, I'm still keen, I'm in Woodlands ... what abt u?

precious gem

my girl used to attend MMI childcare at Blk 750 Woodlands Ave 4 for almost 2 years
she enjoyed working on the montessori materials
We brought her to view 11 childcare centers and she picked this one

they have half day session 7am - 1pm, so can be playgroup for your son too
But actual lesson time is only 2 hours 9-11am

precious gem

we have something in common...one year old boy, mine maybe half a year older and our age not far apart...

How do you cope with your boy?My boy is super active compared to the girl. I even cancelled my holiday trip due to this boy cos cannot handle him....Is your boy quiet or active type?Wanna share some tips with me how to go through it?If not cos of him, my house will never have a maid as I used to manage everything myself.thanks

hippo2002
Nope. I haven't really get down into this. They also never contact me. I think their mgmt is not good. They should take the initatives to follow up with me. The centre principle seems to be so secretive, never reveal herself, always direct to the main in-charge.

So how's your girl? Her cough gone already?

precious_gem
Enjoy your short getaway...

Updated the table:
<table border=1><tr><td> NICK</TD><TD> SAHM/FTWM</TD><TD> interest</TD><TD> 1st child age/sex</TD><TD> 2nd child age/sex</TD><TD> 3rd child age/sex </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippo2002</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> shopping/spa/ reading/ traveling</TD><TD> 5yrs girl</TD><TD> 3yrs girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>tamarind</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> travelling/shopping</TD><TD> 4yrs girl</TD><TD> 2.5yrs boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>patsy</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> shopping/golf/music/cooking</TD><TD> 17mths girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rainbow</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> Travelling/shopping/Hi-tea</TD><TD> 8yrs girl</TD><TD> 20mths boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mo2</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Travelling/shopping</TD><TD> 5yrs boy</TD><TD> 1yr boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>jastan</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> spa/travelling/shopping</TD><TD> 3yrs boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>cowandchick</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> Music/reading</TD><TD> 10 yrs girl</TD><TD> 23mths boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious_gem</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Spa/reading/watching TV/traveling</TD><TD> 17yrs girl</TD><TD> 4.5yrs girl</TD><TD> 1yr boy </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Looks like a lot of you are really early risers! Just completed round 1 of my housework, so taking a break here, before round 2! Aaahhhhhh...

early childhood education
I wasn't trained in this area, but have attended a lot of short courses on this. I was interested because of my girl; like precious gem, to be able to help my child as she grows.

Unless you have a lot of kids, and foresee you can use the knowledge over 10 years or more, it may not be a useful investment. But then, once your kids have grown up, you can also use your qualifications to look for a job as an early childhood educator. But that is also provided you have in the meantime attended courses or seminars to upgrade yourself - knowledge and skills!

Actually, in education, a lot of things are common sense. And especially as a parent, you would have a good feel of how your child learn best, theories are not that essential. I am fortunate that I have a degree in education, and that helps a lot when it comes to tutoring my own girl. But honestly, I think all parents are natural teachers! My sis doesn't have any teaching qualifications, and her two boys are doing so well in school! She also tutored them herself when they were in primary school!

Maybe going for a full course is a bit too demanding for some mums. I would suggest attending short seminars instead, to familiarise yourself with the different ways of tutoring your own kids. Then, move with the flow of your child. Having a degree doesn't make me any better than some of you mummies here!

We can also compare notes and share ideas here as we go along. This is the purpose of forums, isn't it?

C&C, got work have to get up early lor

and good point about us tutoring our kids while young.. i too plan to tutor sabie myself if possible (maybe not in chinese) cause i think we as parents, specially mothers will be the one to know what really is the aptitude of our kids and can tailor the tutoring method that way. Do you know of any seminars on this topic in teh near future?

The papers always carry adverts of such seminars. Can look out for them. But when you go, do be careful tho. Some are just out to sell you their programme, and will tell you that you not qualified to teach your own kid! What rubbish! Univeristy maybe, but we're talking about pre-schoolers here! So do be wary!

I always wake up early cos its habitual....

For me , I believe in monitoring the kids closely when they are young is impt. Simple thing like maybe checking whether they have finished homework or just guiding them.They are still young and a lot of things they may not know the importance of it and that is how we as parents stepped in.

C&C, I couldn't agree with u more abt all those things us said. u can pick up alot from watching kids' prog like sesame street, barney, cartoons like clifford etc. There r lots of other prog abt child devt on Central and CNNA. At the moment, CNNA is featuring alot on special needs chdn which I think it's good evn for us parents with no such chdn, atleast a good educational prog for us and we cud share this info with our kids. Kids need to know that there r other kids who r not like them but just bcuz they r different doesn't mean they do not have they same needs as other normal chdn. They also like to make friends, like to play with toys & other kids, can feel sad and happy & so forth.

On central, after the Supernanny season, they feature this Child of our Time and another series which I can't remember the title. Even when I was younger I used to watch this prog by Dr Miriam Stoppard (I think), a British PD and another prog by an american PD Dr T... (let check, get back to u later) specialise in infant & toddler. He has also written so many books though I have not read any.

Let me get his name ok ... BRB.

I have sooo busy over the past 2 days ! Sorry couldn't help with updating the table. The table is a great reference !

Re: Early childhood education
The way I learn about early childhood education, is by going to many trial classes with my kids
I have been to GUG, Zoophonics, Gymboree, My Gym, JWT gym, Little Gym, Rythm in me, Berries, Montessori, ACTphabets. Very kiasu hor. Mostly is one time trial only. I learnt from the class, and found out that I can do the same thing at home too ! Currently I am using the Kumon workbooks at home, don't need to go to their classes hehehe

I even wanted to try Creative Baking which has classes for kids. But it's $80 per child per session, which I feel is not worth it. So I bought my own oven and baking tools, learn to bake muffins from the internet and taught my kids to bake at home !

The good thing is that I can cater to my kids according to their different abilities. I still remember those teachers at GUG, who just continued singing and couldn't care less about whether the kids can understand or not.

Re: TV
Both my kids learn all their letter sounds by watching Leapfrog DVDs. But I would not allow my kids to watch TV for more than 1 hour a day. They become so engrossed with TV, they would not move or respond we call them. It's like their brain just stopped functioning. I am quite sure that they didn't understand what is happening on TV, they are just simply watching the moving pictures. Some cartoons are in Mandarin and they could not possibly understand them, but they still like to watch.

Re: Study study study
My mother was nagging me yesterday, for allowing my kids to play with playdough too often. She said that it will make them neglect their studies ! But I feel that playdough is a good way to improve their fine motor skills, and nurture their creativity. I got very fed up with my mother, because she reminded me of how she was when I was young. She nag me to study study study everyday, and would scare me everyday, that if I don't study, I would become a road sweeper !!!
Now I am stuck in a job I dislike and earning a mediocre pay.
It's true there is probably only 1 Bill Gates in this world. I am looking more at people like David Gan (famous hairstylist) and Sam Leong (Director of kitchens at Tunglok). Both of them studied less than me, but both are earning much much more than me.
I just hope that my kids will find a career doing what they really love to do. The thing is, all I knew was to study, I don't know what I love to do any more.