Any comments on Montessori for Children

I have got your numbers.
The 1st visit starts at 1pm at Montessori for Children. What time mummies end work? I end at 11.30am and plan to go home to pick my girl up. Going to lug her along to visit the centres. Any of you driving?

Hi <font color="ff0000">weilin</font>,
i tink i will take whole day leave, so any time fine for me. i m not bring son with me though.. i not driving.. u can mass msg us abt meet up location &amp; time. thanks a lot!

I taking half day, leaving at 12pm. If meet at novena, can reach there around 12.30pm+-. I am coming by MRT from AMK.

Have u all heard of BestCare Montessori at Boon Keng ? Received a flyer from them.

Called Bestcare Montessori. It's at Kallang CC at Boon Keng Road.
It's actually a child care, open from 7am to 7pm.
Half day programme starts at 8.30am to 12pm. But you can send yr child there at 7am. $425 after subsidy.
Full day 8.30am to 5.30pm $600.
Shall we visit this instead of Kinderland since most of us are interested in Montessori programme?

Hi Wei Lin,
Wow u seems to be very informative abt Montessori.
Have u heard of Tree House Montessori in Upper Thomson Road (Franchise of MMI) n Y'Kidz Montessori in Sin Ming Road (Private)? I have been to both to visit. Any comments? Thanks.

Hi Wei Lin,
Wow u seem to be very informative abt Montessori.
Have u heard of Tree House Montessori in Upper Thomson Road (Franchise of MMI) n Y'Kidz Montessori in Sin Ming Road (Private)? I have been to both to visit. Any comments? Thanks.

Sally: I have visited MMI at Upper Thomson. Almost wanted to sign up there as both my hubby n I like the place. But it's kinda difficult if we drive n drop/pick our kids. I am considering school bus. The teacher, Kavita was patient n explain each learning stage to us.

Yet to hear of Y'Kidz Montessori. U have their number or website?

Hi Wei Lin, Yup i also impressed with Tree House esp in this new location. But strictly 18mths for the enrichment class. So must wait n no trial allowed lei. My bb is only 13 mths now.

For Y'Kidz Montessori, small but the people there friendly. Cheaper too cos not much space. Annie Phoong is the administration Manager, Tel: 65540334. Got school bus from their brochure.No website.

Do you noe any other montessori in Thomson area?

Thank you so much for the info.

Kallang CC? i think it is a bit far from TPY?
hehe personally want to visit those nearby TPY.. travelling for small kids is too tiring..

maybe we can check some magzines, they list out all the cc in each area..

Hi all.

Would you know of any good ones around Tanjong Rhu area?

What is you opinion of Toddler (18 mths) taking school bus? Do you find it dangerous?

Thanks in advance for any ideas.

Hi <font color="ff0000">Purin, Funny</font>,
weilin cannot make it on 19th June. shall we proceed? if so, could u pls pm me ur contact asap? thanks!
else i may need to call them to cancel..

Funny: I went Bestcare on Wed.
Compound kinda small. But should be ok since their capacity is 59. New place. Hmm... thematic approach too, besides Montessori. I may consider this place.

Selina: Sorry! Pls let me know if you are all going to Little Woods so that I cna inform the principal as she's coming down to meet us as the school is closed. For Montessori for Children, Selina, can you call them to fix appt? They started lessons so u all can see the programs and how the teacher n children communicate n interact.

not sure whether purin, funny still keen to go without ur lead
i no familar with that area leh.. if u hv their contact, could u pls sms them asking their opinion? if they still proceed, i will go with them.. thanks!

selina,

have pm my contacts. i know where is gentle road. shall we meet at novena square,
Burger king ? will sms each other when reached ?

as for montessori for children, is it the one along the road near goldhill plaza ? weilin pls advise.

I wnet to Montessori for Children today without making appt after sending my gal hm from KKH.
Irene (Deputy adminstrator)is very nice. Realised the Kids needn't wear uniforms. Ratio 1:12. Quite large. That's the downside. But Irene is very professional n confident. Hubby likes the place.

Hi Selina,

Have PM you but no replies. In this case, I won't be going.

Hi AC,
Didn't know that you are interested in the montessori. Maybe we can go together the next time.

purin and ac,

if you happen to see this message, I will be going this afternoon. sms me or call me if you are interested @ 96567340.

Hi selina
no need sorry.... i pai say...
Actually i shld hv write in earlier to say i interested to go. i know some moms dun login on weekend.
thanks for SMS me too in the morning but i already on my way home.... lesson ends so bring bb home. :p

Hi funny
Thanks for trying to contact us. Really appreciate the effort since i wanted to go so last min.
If u dun mind, can share share how the visitation went?

Yes Purin, that will b great! bb turning 18mths soon n i heard some places need to q so better look around first. kan jiong leh....

so which r the ones u r interested to visit?
i went to the tree house montessori - upper thomson 2 mths back. overall quite alright to me. but got to see more to compare.

ac: u r interested in treehouse montessori too? most prob, signing my gal there for jan07 intake. apparently, they called me, said their intake is tight.... not sure if it's a marketing strategy to make me confirm.
u went during their lessons?

Yes i went during their lesson.
my neighbour child (much older) is with them - half-day.
She takes their school bus so I know if i choose there got transport.

i went to all levels n saw a little of how the teachers conduct the class, look at their toilet too. :p spoke with a child there as he came over n gave a toy to bb. The 3rd floor (bigger kids) were having 'free-play' time. I thought that it's rather sweet of the boy, he even try to teach val how to play.
The rest of the children knew how to keep after they play before they take the next thing.

I only visit this montessori.
Another childcare I visited was near sembawang above a market one. will skip that.
The one below my mum's place also skip cos she mentioned that she always hear a boy crying in the morning (juz join mayb) for abt a mth n once she passby she saw teachers not doing anything or mayb too tired to do anything juz let him sit at the gate n cry. now no more crying mayb used to or transfer out???

I visited 2 places, Montessori for Children and Little Woods Montessori Pre-School.
Here's my little comment.

Montessori for Children

Environment : looks clean and neat
Teacher Ratio : 1 English and 1 Chinese teacher : as big as 25 children. Morning session is quite pack compare to afternoon.
School Hours : 8:30 am - 11:30 am
12:30 - 3:30 pm
You can opt for extended hour ie from morning till afternoon. You also choose 1, 2, 3 or 5 days a week.
School fees : $1932 per term (3 months)
Holidays : slightly different from S'pore school hols.

Little Woods

Environment : quiet, have a big field but material looks old and buiding looks run down.
Teacher Ratio : 1 teacher : avg 8 depends on the age group .
School Hours : 8:00 am - 11:00 am
10:30 - 1:30pm
8:00 - 1:30 (two session)
School fees : $1250 10 weeks
Holidays : same as S'pore school hols.

* as little woods having hols, dun get to see the children at work. Personally feel that MFC is more pro as they give feedback to parents frequently and can even log into the internet to check on their review. But the ratio of teacher to student, little woods is good.

Funny: So, u r choosing MFC? Irene quite pro right? Fees r kinda steep for a daily 3 hrs programme. I din really like the high ratio. But it gives me a gd feeling tat my child will be in gd hands.

Welin,

Have not decided yet. I would like to see afew more, since this is the first 2 I visited. Any more near thomson/novena that is worth to take alook ? How abt treehouse that you are talking abt ? You are right Fees wise is very steep and the ratio is on the high side.

Are you concern abt sending yr gal to montessori and later when they are in P1, abit difficult for them to adapt to a different learning environment ? I brought up tis issue to Irene, she said may have abit of problem but it still depends of the child adaptability and characters.

I am in a dilemma.

Welin,

Wat do you think of BestCare ? Btw wat is the difference like registered with MOE and not registered ?

Funny: I m going Treehouse next Fri to enrol my gal in Nov. Guess tat's the best place wif reasonable fees for my expectations.
Bestcare is too small. Playgrp to K2 only 1 level, all in a rm, though thare r shelves as partition.

Funny: I went Bestcare n the teacher told me, she heard positive feedbacks fr parents who sent children to montessori. It prepares them well for P1. They even learn multiplication n division when they r in K2 wif montessori materials.

Hi wei lin,

My child is in montessori school. yes they learn multiplication and division. they use the goldenbeads. quite interesing but its a long process

Hey Wei ling. My child school on waiting list leh, my youngest child also on waiting list. so i am not sure got vancancy or not. Btw where you stay?

Funny: U went to Learning vision before? Sigh*, I am still undecisive after they called and ask when I wish to enrol my daughter.

Faith,
you mean your kids are now in Amazing star montessori or you are still on waiting list ? If already in Amazing star, how is the school?
i know to enroll for a good school, waiting list is abt 18 months ?!

Welin,

I just rec a mail from learning vision for enrolment in 2007. Did you receive ? I believe montessori has a good approach for teaching young kids but worry about their adaptability when in P1.
wat is the address of teahouse montessori, may go and take alook. Any more school around the area ?

Thankyou very much funny for sharing ur trip with us.

weilin
how do u find Learning Vision?

Purin
Do u want to take a look at Learning vision, Amazing star? Also, I m thinking of going down to treehouse Montessori again. Pls PM me.

Ac,

no problems.

i wanted to visit Amazing star and treehouse too. when are you going ?

I have seen Learning Vision at Gentle road. Quite like the environment there. But the approach of teaching is probably different from Monte. They have optional programmes to select like Speech and Drama, Junior Science and Music for the Intelligent mind. Programmes in LV seem more versatile.

Funny: I am going next Fri to Treehouse. I quite like LV too. That's why I am feeling troubled over this. Wanted half day at LV but bus driver can't fetch her back. Only 1 way for haf day sessions.

AC: LV at Gentle Rd is clean n big. Wirma, the principal is approachable too. Curriculum quite ok. Nice playground n music room. The kids looked happy too when I went there to visit a few mths ago.
Amazing Star is kinda far for me.

Hi <font color="ff0000">Funny</font>,
thanks for sharing with us ur trip.
huh, the waiting list can be 18mth?? then i muz really start school hunting le..

red{weilin, Funny, ac}, when is ur next cc tour? i hope we go visit when school opens so can c whether children enjoys?