Any comments on Montessori for Children

bbloveme: i m still in the midst of checking the centres ard, yet to finalise anything. but we have already registered her for mar 07 enrolment in LV. I have the same worries, scared tat she can't adapt to pri sch system. Tat's why I wanna go for a visit at montessori sch to know if it's suitable n within my expectation.
Of coz, I would prefer CC coz, it's cost-saving n i dun need maid if i send her to cc.

this is catching my attention
may I know how to tell e diff btwn their(meaning the preschools/nurseries) system as compared to our Primary schools'?

Weilin: Me oso worried on the getting sick thingy... I do hope the teachers wil get the kids to wash their hands regularly, as well as keep the classrooms clean with good housekeeping. MMI SK's classrooms are non air-con and quite big and airy, so I am hoping for the best...

And nope, me not sending T to GUG liao... actually we've got a space and was due to start lessons but I cancelled it two days b4. Since she's going to CC soon, I hv decided to give GUG a miss...

Hsee: Wat a coincidence! Hee! The 2 wks full day trial fees are as follows:

Registration: S$ 105.00 (Non-refundable, I feel dat it's very ex, and it is the highest among the few CCs I've checked. But "stuck-in-the-throat" lor, we stil hv to pay for it)
Insurance: S$4.20 (one time fee)
Trial fees: S$ 393.75 (S$ 750 divide by 2, plus 5% GST)
<font color="ff6000">Total payable: S$ 502.95</font>

There is no need for uniforms for trial students, and for full day students, u would need to purchase mattress covers (S$ 23.10 - 2 pcs), which I am gettin my MIL to help sew for me...

And upon confirmation, uniforms wil costs S$ 63.00 (2 sets of uniform + 2 sets of tee shirts &amp; shorts) and we hv to pay for prepared Montessori workbooks @ S$ 63.00 - per year basis. Will be pro-rated accordingly. And there is a one month deposit (S$ 750 nett), refundable with one month's notice.
Have u been to the school yet? Me kiasu mommy, went there twice liao.. Haha!

Hi weilin,

my gal is 14 months old. u taking leave on 19th june ? I see whether i can take leave anot. will let you know. infact i am planning to look see some CC or playgroup next month. really need to do some homework liao.

just to check for those who send their bb to GUG, how is their fee charge like ? I just got a call from them said there's a slot in June. The lady was speaking very fast, she told me to pay $442.30 for 8 lessons, means 1 lesson is $55+ ?
Is it that exp or is normal ?
sorry first time sending my girl for playgroup.

funny: ya, i m taking half day leave on 19th. we can also go LV again. Kekeke....u let me know if u can take leave a not. Then we shall plan for a cc visit day. =)

Funny: There's a refundable registration fees of $100. 8 lessons is $280 before 5% GST. Still got registration fees. Looks like many children have dropped out. That day, I was at the reception, the lady was busy calling parents up to ask if they want the slot.
I should be continuing next term and will stop. Coz, my gal don't seem to enjoy the lesson and tink she's too young for zoo phonics.

weilin,

I shall let you know when my leave is approved.

OIC, there's a $100 refundable registration fee.

bbloveme: u mean the visit to montessori for children?
u wanna me fix another appt with LV at gentle Road too? I dun mind visiting another time. I also wanna observe another time.

Btw, how was motherhood fair?

Hi Wei Lin,

So far, the cc i have visited are around Sengkang area. Been to MMI, Gingerbread, bubbleland, ntuc, sunbird. So far, MMI is the one that impressed me. Could be becos the school is new so everything is new. Got a swimming pool and the ciriculum sounds structured based on what was told to me when I visit them.

Cyan - wow.....even for 2 wks trial will need to fork out $500+ For your 2 visits, when time did you go? Actually when should be a gd time to visit the CC? I have been there only once and it is a Sat. Thinking of going down again before registrating my girl.

Pardon my ignorance but noticed that there is this worry that kids not able to adapt to pri sch system if they are in motessori sch. Y is this so? When I visit MMI, noted that the teaching is class-room based so should be ok, right?

Cyan,
me also intend to send my boy to full day at MMI SK this july. Been at their open house but did not sign up cos my younger bb still very young then, scared older boy fall sick spread to him... but now my boy coming 3 yrs this OCt, tot better to let him attend CC. Am in 2 minds whether to send him half/full day (me SAHM) cos scared he dun eat well in school, go school kenna bullied...but hor, if he stays home, i very difficult to spend time with my 2nd one, always neglected.. i got no maid, so end up always busy cookin n feedin them, then it's their naptime... Personally, i've always wanted a montessori env for him n given his character, think he'll thrive in tat env. will u be fetching ur bb? how old is he/her? i gotta take the school bus.. any idea how much it is?

hsee,
u intend to send ur kiddo there too? how old is he/her?

Hi Wei Lin,

Can I join you if you are going LV at Gentle Road? I live at Upper Bukit Timah. So only considering those along Bukit Timah and near to Newton.

Purin: there is a greentree montessori in hwa chong. Very big n new. Bad thing: fully air con.

Seem the MMI at SK looks good but too bad i stay in woodlands. The MMI in woodlands and ten mile junction doesnt seems to hv gd response leh...

I am lookin at woodlands (very few gd ones) or bukit timah area too. Preferably near MRT. Is Gentle Rd near MRT?

Purin: there is a greentree montessori in hwa chong. Very big n new. Bad thing: fully air con.

Seem the MMI at SK looks good but too bad i stay in woodlands. The MMI in woodlands and ten mile junction doesnt seems to hv gd response leh...

I am lookin at woodlands (very few gd ones) or bukit timah area too. Preferably near MRT. Is Gentle Rd near MRT?

Hi Quek Wei Lin,

I only went to visit the place when my girl was 18mths. I remember almost signing up but due to the fact that it is too far from my hse. The reason for me to visit that school was becos my MIL stay near there &amp; I'm thinking at that time to her there while I can work.

Hello etoile,

she will be 18 months soon, still thinking whether to send her there or not. fees are steep leh and its not within walking distance. me worried she too young to take schoolbus.

Quek Wei Lin,

Personally, I really like that place &amp; the directress. She is a very nice &amp; patient lady. Beening a first time mummy with really no idea of what Montessori is all abt. She took her time to explain to me &amp; show me how the materials works. If I overcome my phobia in driving, I might put my girl there.

Montessori for children:-
I went there today. Just my feel. The ratio of teacher : student is 1 : 12.5. Which I feel that is way too much for a montessori environment. I can only accept up till 8 student inclusive they have assistant teacher to help out.

Gen: Wow! The ratio of montessori for children is too high! Hmmm......
You also have phobia of driving? Me too? Drove 4 times since I got my license 2 yrs ago. Sigh*
Guess I will pay a visit at MMI Thomson. I don't mind paying for transport. Hoepfully, my FIL retires by then, then he can send my gal to n fro.

Hi Hsee, ya boy, rather ex hor? For my 1st visit, I went during their openhouse, mainly to check out the sch premise as there were no students yet. 2nd visit I went during their shower time as I am more concerned on tis area. I did not like it if my girl is to be changed in the open of their classroom. And I oso wanna see hw the teacher bath the kids. Depending on ur area of concern, u choose a specific time to go in, some of us may be more concern on lesson times or meal times... The admin staff is called Jasmine, she's the one whom helped me thru out, rather nice and helpful lady..

Hi etoile,
Think 3 yrs old shld be a rather ok age to attend school. My girl is coming to 18 mths tis end june, and in fact, I am worried dat she'll be too young! But no choice, my work schedule is more or less confirmed liao (Me SAHM now too!). I have a suggestion, which was given to me by one of the staff during the openhouse, is dat u go for the full day, since fees diff by $25 only, but u send ur son later, @ ard 9am instead of 7,8am and pick him up earlier. Morning are when the academic lessons are held, and their signature "Montessori Time" is also in the morning. I am doing tis, sending in at 9am and picking up @ ard 4-4.30pm. Not considering on sch bus @ the moment so did not check out on the fees..

HTHs!

Cyan, any idea wat's the teacher to child ratio at SK? I'm also keen to know the capacity of the school and how many children are attending the programme? Thanks.

etoile,

The rate should be 1:7 if I remember correctly. On the capacity of the school and the no. of children, me not sure, did not enquire b4..

Mummies for r interested in MMI upper thomson... fees is $1080 for a term.
Is there 2 MMI in Thomson?
I am kinda confused.
Gen: U visited the one opp Sin Ming Plz?

Hi <font color="ff0000">weilin</font>,
wow u very resourceful and hard working
read posts now.. i oso need to hunt for cc liao.. thanks for the info!

Selina: Hahaha... perhaps, "kiasu" will be a more appropriate word to describe me. Hahaha... I feel that a child's pre-school education is very impt. It lays the foundation of the child.

Popped by MMI at Upper Thomson today. They are having holidays now, no lessons. But teachers are still there. Nice place but it'll be tough to drop my girl if we drive. Otherwise, i reckon transport cost abt $100+.
Kavita (teacher-in-charge) was patient and explained each stage of montessori program to me. I like the environment, it's clean, big and well-maintained. 3 levels. Playgrp at level 1, Nursery at level 2, Kindergarten level 3.
Overall, I am quite impressed.
Some info for interested mummies:
Fees (5 x a week): $1080 per term (3 months).
You can also opt for 3 times per wk.

Bbloveme: For playgroup, it's 2hrs 45 mins per session. Yes, there's transport service. Abt $100 to Whampoa. Not sure abt Woodlands, you can check with their adminstrator.
Is there any montessori playgrp ard yr place? It'll be tiring for yr gal to travel to n fro everyday.
They have weekly enrichment too. Now, only on Saturdays 4 to 5.30pm.

weilin,

wat time does the playgroup start at MMI upper thomson ?

i have applied for half day on 19th June, waiting for approval. which CC you plan to visit ?

funny: there r 2 slots, one at 8.30, the other one 11.30.

intend to drop by montessori for children, LV. U wanna see Little Woods at Gentle Rd too?

Hi Wei Lin,

you mentioned you gg to visit a montessori sch on 19th june,may i noe the name of the school,i'm interesd too.

Hi Rae, raffles is at telok kurau, near to east shore and faith is at holland and dunearn rd.
my fren send both his son and daughter to raffles, he said it is pretty good.