Any comments on Montessori for Children

Purin: Sure. I think we needn't make appt with LV. For littlewoods, I will arrange with them. You wanna visit Montessori for Children coz I am going there at 1pm.

weilin,

my leave approved already. i dun mind going to LV again. Since little woods is at gentle road too, should go and take a look. where is montessori for children ?

weilin,

i can go off at 12pm. if i meet you at novena, i need about 30-40 mins. how about lunch ? if not i got to grab some bread on the way.

Hi Selina,

Hahaha... I will prepare an itinerary. R u interested to join too?

Funny & Purin,
Where else u wish to visit? Think Little Woods is having their vacation, not sure if we cna visit.

Tentatively, this is the plan.
1pm: Montessori for Children
2pm: Little Woods Montessori at Gentle Rd
2.45pm: Learning Vision at Gentle Rd

Not too sure if there are other montessoris around that area. Only know there is Etonhouse beside MFC which is beyond my budget.

I saw one Learning Horizon also at gentle road, not sure if it is a CC or playgroup. Probably can take a look. Do you have this month Young Parents mag, it has listed out all the infant care, CC, playgroup and montessori.
How about TP central, any CC ?

Funny: U wanna see Kinderland at TP safra? Tink Little Woods having school holidays.
So, u still wanna visit Montessori for children? Tink they r having holidays too. Can just go see environment.

Hi <font color="ff0000">weilin</font>,
hehe thanks thanks. i interested to join, but seems all are having holiday now? then we cannot c the activities there?

Selina: Ya, except the child care centres like Learning Vision. U free this Sat morning? We can pop by Kinderland at Safra TP.

last time i emailed kinderland, they reply email very fast. but TP kinderland only full day program leh.. and the guy told me on Sat no activity, he suggest me to arrange a work day to c how children enjoy in the cc.. but i hvn't got time to go yet.. another concern is TP only full day program...<font color="0000ff">if u go TP kinderland, what time?</font> my son nap from 10:30-12:30AM, will they open ard 9:30AM? is it too early for u?

i try join u all on the cc tour
at least gain an idea of differnent cc..

Selina: Yes, I thought of visiting Kinderland for a feel of their program on Sat 9am. Their fees $700 after subsidy. The nearest playgrp for Kinderland is Hougang. Abit far for us. I m supposed to go for the farm trip, but hubby don't wish to go and drive, so thought it'd be better for me to go for CC visits again. Hahaha....
They are opened from 7am to 2pm on Sat. You want to meet at 8.30am?

funny n other interested mummies: little woods is closed for holiday but the directress is willing to come on 19th june 2pm to let us view the environment. Shall we go ahead with our visit since we have applied leave already?

Now on the itinerary, we have
(1) montessori for children
(2) little woods montessori
(3) learning vision at gentle rd
Any others? How abt Kinderland TP safra? MMI?

weilin,

yap, we should visit as many as we can since on leave.I am ok with the itinery. if got time we should go to Kinderland at TP.

Selina, u coming along ?

ok i will join u mummies, going to apply leave now..
if visit Kinderland at TP on 19th, will u still come this Sat?

Hi wei lin,

Sorry I'm a bit lost here. But I am very interested to join you in your 'recce' of the place. 1stly, do they offer full-day or hal-day child care? or is it only playgroups? do they accept as young as 18mths... or rather is it suitable for 18 mths old? and lastly, the fees mentioned in the thread are all playgroup fees i suppose? and not child care fees?

wei lin,

i won't be bringing my gal.

siti,

do join us for the CC hunting. we are there to find out more info too. which area are you looking at?

ok, i'm referring to the 3 places you are going to.

I'm looking for child care at newton area coz i work in the school just beside the food centre. So, as i come to work, i can send my daughter and fetch her when i go back, lor. That is, if my mom plans to continue working. Currently, she's taking care of my daughter alternately with my mil. With the 2nd one coming, i don't think my mil can cope with 3 grandchildren (one of them my sis-in-law's son). so, it'll be great if there's a good CC here, and reasonably priced. I think i'll think abt the price later. will perhaps join u guys first for the recce. Thanks for organising yeah.

Siti: In your case, I guess you will need to send yr gal to a CC. There are pat's toddler care, learning vision (at gentle rd, kkh &amp; tan tock seng). Think there are 1-2 more, yet to check out all the places there. Montessori for children n little woods r just 3 hrs programme daily.

Kindly leave your names in the list for the visits on 19th June, 1pm. Mummies, pls PM me your HP.
(1) rae_cheong
(2) Purin

Kindly leave your names in the list for the visits on 19th June, 1pm. Mummies, pls PM me your HP.
(1) rae_cheong
(2) Purin

Funny? Selina?

Fixed appointments with:
(1) Montessori for Children 1pm
(2) Little Woods Montessori 2pm

Perhaps, after Little Woods, we drop by Learning Vision at Gentle Road.

Any other suggestions? Kinderland at Safra?

hi weilin,
tat's interesting - where's the goat's farm huh?

today i so fed up - went to MMI@Sengkang. Made apptmt at 10.30 am. Was raining n was late for abt 10 mins. Saw the admin assistant who was supposed to bring me around. She saw me but made me wait for 15 mins cos she pre-occupied with another parent. While i was waiting, the senior executive there din even bother abt my presence. The principal was not there too. The worst is - when she came in, she n another lady were arguing who should entertain me! With all these delay, their N1 kids starting to hv lunch. GOSH! No chance to view how teachers handle class n whether kids r happy. According to the lady, she told me they hv another mandarin class after their lunch but she din allow me to stay on. She was quite adamant on asking me to come back another day @ 9.30am instead. But I told her i was told 10.30am was ok n tat's y i came at tat timing. n she insisted 9.30am was the best timing. even told me not to visit on mons as kids might be cranky on mons n also rainy days! but all the more we should see for ourselves how they handle such situations rt??? aiyo, talk to her i can faint ah.. i can only watch the kids eat. She did not even offer to bring me to view the classrm to see their materials, etc din get to see the toilets, just merely point here n there... so disappointed with this centre. even though i've been to their open house, but feel should visit again cos now with teachers n students, more realistic. My boy so disappointed too.. made our way there despite the heavy rain but get such lousy treatment! The teachers dun look enthusiastic at all too - very diff fm the teachers at learning vision at my place. My boy can actually warm up to the teachers at LV very fast cos they r so friendly n loving. now i'm caught in a dilemna whether to visit mmi again... haiz...cos personally i prefer montessori edu. but if the teachers not enthusiastic then, not worth the $$ leh... the $$ more to pay for the materials... the ratio 1:12 same as other CC ..haiz...

etoile, wat a bad encounter! Alamak, ratio 1:12 meh? I thot shld be 1:7 as per MCYS guidelines, me now keeping my fingers crossed!

Oops etoile, jus realised ur son is going for N1... But I better call on monday to check the ratio for 18 mths CC again!

weilin,
LV also 1:12 leh...but they always hv 1 one assistant teacher around.
tks..prob take time to bring my son there.. trying to bring him see other farms too.. should be rather enriching for them to get close to nature ; )

cyan,
1:12 ratio is for N1. think for PG is 1:6.

weilin,
sure?hmm, is it for N1 class or playgroup?
then, must check again.

Thanks for clarifying etoile..

The staffs there oso funny, hw can they argue in front of parents!

I wil continue to update here when my daughter starts cc. A little worried now, do hope tings wil turn out fine... -_-"

(1) rae_cheong
(2) Purin

Funny? Selina?

(1) rae_cheong
(2) Purin
(3) Selina (u hv my HP already

Funny?

where else we can visit? hehe muz make full utilization of the leave..

Hi weilin,

(1) rae_cheong
(2) Purin
(3) Selina (u hv my HP already
(4) funny

Selina: The nearest is the one at Upper Thomson, I'll be taking 1 day leave in July to go down again as more or less my hubby n I like the MMI in Upper Thomson. Juz wanna check out the place when the lessons are resumed after the holidays.