ANY COMMENTS ON LEARNING VISION

goldsparks

I am planning to put my 2 years old girl at learning vision, half day child care. Pls, any comments on learning vision?

hi which learning vision are u planning to go? i had send my son to 1 of the lv in the west area and was very disappointed by the teachers and principle.

Hi May
I am planning to send her to the new one, at grassroot at AMK. They are having open house this sat...going down to take a look.
Why were you disappointed? Can share with me?
For your case, is it a full day or half day session?

hi, mine is a half day. overall my son cried the whole of 1 wk at the cc. everytime we went to peep at him, he's crying. very heartpain. the teacher doesnt really make a effort to pacify him. and my mum saw incidents like 1 of the teachers yanking a bag off a nursery class student , the poor kid cried very loud and the teacher jus bo chap. there are other things too.. everyday my mum come back with new complaint abt wat she sees in the centre.

Poor thing...Did u feedback to the principal?
How old is your son? Did u know why he cry? Is it due to separation anxiety? Or he is not comfortable with new environment? Do u send your son to any other enrichment classes where he will use to this type of environment? I understand from 1 parent, her kid take 1 mth to get use to cc's life....
I am also worry about whether my girl will like the environment and whether the teachers there treat the kids well or not...so planning to take a few days leaves to "observe" if enrol her in that cc....

Hi, after i withdraw my child frm LV i sent him to another cc which he have no prob. adapting. Overall I think its bcos his current cc teacher pays alot of attention to new students to help them to settle down.

But my case cld be a isolated case. I have heard good review on other LV branch.

hi crackersweetie,

which is the cc that your boy is going to now? would you recommend it? what is the teacher-student ratio? thanks!

hi woondy

my son only 9mths old so still not yet able to go cc yet lah..but I'm thinking of the LV at Biopolis cos i heard its gd...i've also been there for walk around and intro by the staff there and if u ask me, i find it not bad lor...seriously i not v experienced with cc so dun know wat are the things to look out for...

Cracker,

Try "My Little Cottage @ Rivervale", at blk 195, near riverview mall. My 4 year old is there, while my 6 year old has moved on to a before / after school since she is starting P1 next year. To me, this is a very good CCC, but it can be subjective to individual.

Just to share some tips, take some time to visit a few childcare centres, then look at the children who are with them now, take note of their confidence level, how happy are the children, how conversant are they, are they very open and warm to visitors of the school, etc.. These were what I look out for as indications of the centre's teachings and values, while the behaviour of the children will be the fruits of it. Of course, the passion of the teachers counts too.

Hi Crackers,

I stay in SengKang too and i plan to put my girl in CCC next year March and have source and shortlisted 2 CCC. both at Anchorvale road and like bluebells, i notice the 2 different behaviours of the 2 CCC. The first one i went to, the children are very lively and even questioned me why i am looking for their teacher. The other one i went to at the same day in the afternoon are very very quiet. Imagine the higher level sitting there on the chair and eating their snacks quietly. Even though the circulum seems better than the first one but i feel more ease at the 1st CCC

Thanks a million for the advice! I dint know have to do all those "homework" before enrolment...i was also toying with enrolling my son in a CCC near my house at SK or office but thot office may be nearer for me in case i need to check out on him...Any advice on Gingerbread school?

Anyone send their kids to the LV at grassroot at AMK? I had sent my girl to this cc but she refused to go now
....like to know the reaction of your kids to this LV.

Many thanks.

hi..
how about LV at Arthur rd?? any feedbacks? i'm currently a SAHM and tot of going back to wk once bb turn 12 mths which is in 2 months time so will need to find a good a reliable day care. not too expensive as well la... pls HELP... thanks a lot...

Hi strawberry,

My boy goes to LV Arthur Rd, still there
I think the teachers are really nice and caring and they work with me closely on the care and discipline of my boy.

So far quite happy with the teachers and the place.

If you intend to let the kid go to toddlers its also good cause they will start to do some transition when the baby is near 18mths for him to go to toddler class...introduce him to more variety of food, hand painting, out doors walks etc.

anyone has feedback abt LV at Gentle Road, behind Revenue House? i intend to place my boy there when he turns 18mos in jan 08. i heard most of the LV centres have a long wait list, so must start planning for registration now?

hi May
can tell me which learning vision that you have bad exp with? Planning to send my dd to one in the west, the one at ntu.

hi there may

the west..did u mean at nus? i'm planning to enrol my son there at the nus branch but am not sure if anyone of you have comments on this?

many thanks

LV @ NUS seems ok cos my friend sends her daughter there. So far no complaints from her :) I'm staying in the west but dunno if i should send my child to CCC or kindergarten. Anybody knows of good kindergarten or CCC in the west? Jurong area preferably?

Gentle Road LV suck down the road with the principle handling everything. Teacher shortage, children left running wild or do their own things for days,weeks and more the 2 months.
No floating teacher to cover any absent teacher.
The entire school staff are running very low on moral. How do you expect them to groom your kids.
Teacher was so busy to control the class then to carry out the class.

teacher ratio can some time go for 1 to 2 classes for week.

They event made use of the kids to run a indirect recruitment drive to the public while telling the kids parent they are having some party....

Furthermore they ask to increase another 100 buck which had already adjusted 3 months ago.
Reason they give as thou you are an idiot.- to go on par with leading industries of the same line and to retain better quality teachers and rental...etc now new recruit is 1000 bucks

What kinds of center is this? Squeeze the cash cow or teach the kids?

Don't believe ? < I dare you place your kids future in this center hand.

Hi mamakia,

Is your kid with the centre now? Which Level?Cos I was told that the teacher,student ratio is much lower than the standard CC ratio. (something like 1:12 for N2 level)... I was also told that they provide Quality teaching in a Quality environment... Isn't that true ?

Think I will have to reconsider again...

stephanie woo

Quality teaching ? <--my view is taking the money that you had paid for the month to make use of the same time slot for the so call quality teaching (enrichment class). My you these extra class is not in the monthy fee that you had paid. Music class, Chinese drama... all these is extra squeeze.
Whereas children not joining these xtra class will be left alone as "Free" time. It can be higher level students to join the lower level class.

Ha...now their K2 class had dissolved after parents withdraw their kids barely a month. They cannot run with just 4 kids and shovel them off to Revenue Hse.

See this is what I mean in gentle road LV.

There are more then high drama in K2. Kids in all levels start withdrawing that the population drop to 60% fill.

stephanie woo

Other educations center have 3 teachers for just 14 students.

1 English Teacher, 1 Chinese teacher and 1 assit teacher at all times.

LV gentle road can never meets this standards.

Anyone send their kids to LV at Punggol (either the Blk 128D or Blk 201D)? Can share your comments?

Thanks in advance....

I have some bad experience with Learning Vision.
My girl went to the one at NYP and my friend's child also had some bad experience/ The principal and the teachers there may preach abt quality training etc but their caliber is lacking.

In front of the parents, they seems to be very nice but when your backs are turned, they started treating your child in a different way. Unless your child is super "guai" who did not need to bother the teacher and waste their time.

Heard that there are various complaints on the teachers and principal there. And I think they dun readlly bother becoz there is usually a long waiting list there.....

Yah... agree, last year I was inquiring about their classes. They didn't even bother to call or email back to me.

hello, grateful for any comments on Learning Vision at Grassroots Club as I intend to send my child there. Thanks very much!

Hi Mrs Ching Chong, i'm actually thinking of sending my child to LV at Grassroots Club but i am horrified by the chilli padi abuse case!