Any comment on Dr. Adrian B Woodworth from Thomson Women Clinic

Hi gals, can I check how often u all go for checkups during the 1st trimester... I went last week, will go back to see Dr Woody again 2 weeks later.

Mich, I dun understand y when one still stick to him since she doesnt like anymore....if there's so many complaints then just change doc lo......there are somethings like swimming which doc say its ok but my mum said better nt, so I just don't eat or do just in case, to play safe

firipy,

For 1st trimester, if no spotting or bleeding, will see him every 2 weeks. If have spotting or bleeding, will see him as often as 2 - 3 times a week.

FYI, my fren continue her swimming routine till she is 8 mths plus preg. She swims in laps not just stay in the pool & relax leh. Of course choose timing where the pool is not so crowded in case got kicked by other swimmers. Really depends on whether how comfortable you are with exercise and whether there is any complications.

athen, thanks!

I hardly swim so my mum ask me to do it after 1st trimester......She scared I suddenly wanna be so enthu abt exercise n over-exert myself

Hi blessedmum

thanks for re-assuring. just that i read in some thread that some gynaes (even those very popular ones) do not allow overdue babies so I a bit concern only.

Went to see him last few weeks for the first time after reading so much about him (bad and good). Yes he is chop chop type but I am comfortable with him so will sign the package with him.

Hi ND's girl,

Dr Adrian does deliver at Mt A but i think he support TMC more.

Any feedback on TMC and Mt A? Which is better? I heard TMC is more ex than Mt A. Is it true?

Hi berrypie

thanks, I delivered my #1 at Mt A with him but then I heard that due to the swine flu he is not delivering at Mt A only TMC anymore.

Anyway, my preference is Mt A over TMC although I have not tried TMC personally, my sister delivered there. The overall feeling of the nurses and environment to me is Mt A feels more friendly.

Hi ND's girl,

I just visited him yest. He told me it's up to me. He can deliver at Mt A but bcos of the swine flu, it's best to do it at TMC cos less foreigners and he can do free upgrade fm 4 bedded to 2 bedded. Initally, i prefer Mt A but worry abt the swine flu too.

Hey berrypie

thanks for asking him
glad to know he still willing to deliver at Mt A. I am taking the 1-bedder so the free upgrade will not affect me.

So when are you due? I'm due in Aug and only seeing him next week.

Hi ND's girl,

Im due in Sept. So you hv booked 1 bedded with Mt A? Im planning to book 2 bedded with Mt A since they are having a promotion for POSB credit/debit card holder. Probably i will do a hospital tour before i decide.

berrypie,

For myself I only tried TMC and I'm very pleased with the service and nurses there. Yes, with Dr Adrian, its auto upgrade from 4 bed to 2 bed.

Personally, I have not tried Mt A, however I got friends who delivered there and also mention to me that they are pleased with their services there as well.

I think its personal preference, its like if my frens tell me try Mt A even though they say good, I still choose TMC.

mich: totally agree, for me, somehow i just prefer TMC tho i have visited both hospitals. And i must say TMC nurses are really v helpful and friendly. enjoyed my stay there v much hahaha

My girl was delivered by Dr A too. I must say he is the best gynae I have ever seen! I missed seeing him after I gave birth.. haha..

I delivered at TMC. I think their service is quite gd and the food is delicious.

blessedmum,

yup. and over there keep on eating one... LOL

nurses all very friendly... YEs, I enjoyed my stay there too...

berrypie,

Nope, i did not apply for it. But i heard from frens it does save a little.

Berrypie,

I did not apply for it either. I cannot rem the amt i paid. I still get refund from the deposit I paid. I opted for a 4 bedded. 1st night I stay 4 bedded but DR A upgraded me to a 2 bedded.

Mich,

I love the papaya n fish soup there.

I am expecting No.2 and I am going back to TMC.

With regards to FBI & SBI, I applied for FBI. There are some savings such as discounted Ante-natal course, Dr Adrian's fee for delivery, hospital stay for both myself & bb. If you bring bb to TMC 24 hrs clinic, u get 10% discount.

U can call up TMC to check if there is any prevailing credit card discount for the membership fees for FBI or SBI.

Pardon my ignorance, may i know what is FBI / SBI? Are they only applicable at TMC?

I am due in end Oct and prefer to deliver at Mt A.

mich/ahxue,

can i chk u gals, what do u mean by auto upgrade from 4-bedded to 2-bedded? u actually book 4-bedded with Dr A, then he jz transfer u to 2-bedded while paying 4-bedded fees?

delfin,

As in when we admit, we ask for 4 bed lor. But after delivery I was pushed to a 2 bed room. So im payin 4 bed price but stay 2 bed.

Mich

But why is tat an upgrade? bcoz lack of 4-bedded rm or bcoz Dr A? if lack of rm, nw TMC is undergoing or rather finishing the reno, then i dun tink i will get free upgrade with enuf rooms around..

hi all, thanks for the best wishes ! and sorry...never check this thread for a long time...

welsie, spinal c-sec is same as epi...but according to the nurse at TMC, she say dr woody only do spinal c-sec and the cost is cheaper..

summer'smama, he also discharge me on the 3rd day cos he saw me carrying my baby and walking around the ward...hahaha..btw, his stitching skills is amazing, i only can see a pencil line, at first i cant even find the line..

i also prefer TMC, the nurses service very good, food not bad lah...will sure go back to dr woody and deliver in TMC for the 2nd one..

delfin,

I'm sorry but i seriously dunno how to ans ur question. But it seems to be a normal practice. Boz for both my 2nd n 3rd baby, i paid 4 bed but stay in 2 bed... dats only for TMC.

Porky, yes yes. he is amazing and always so assuring.

Talking abt tmc's soup ... makes me drool.
My confinement food is nowhere near tmc's standard ah!

hihi..
been real bz...no time log in here...

Yap...really miss the time spend at TMC..tat was the honeymood period..just eat,sleep,feed bb...when go home tat's when the real life kick in...
Agree with Summer's Mama..their confinement food is good & the soup are thumbs up!!

do u tell Dr A whether u gals wan natural w or w/o epi when u do booking wif him? i mean how does it really goes..the so-called procedure

hihi Felicia!!!!
you found your way here ar...

delfin

when nearer to due date you can ask him regarding the various painkillers etc..
like for me..all along i already decided i do not wan epi,so i told him straight,i do not wan epi if possible..tat's my super last resort..
than i wanted natural..so he was ok..but he did warn me tat if really got emergency than not up to me to chose or decided..coz tat time with my elder gal,my hip was small & bb big...

eunice,
so u end up c-sect lor..were u delivered at tmc too? hw was the bill like?

i was tinking choosing 1-bedded rm, coz i m super light sleeper,but worried abt the bill. Then my fren say u wont b able to get rest anyway if BF, so not point. Is it true? Then might well save up n choose 4-bedded..any advice?

delfin..

nope..both my kids was born natural without epi..took only laughing gas...
mine was in 2006 & 2007..took 4 bedded auto upgrade to 2 bedded..tat time upon adminission was deposit of $600..after the 3days 2 nights stay,took back abt $200+ cash,medisave deducted abt 2k++
I will not recommend to take single bedded as i rather save the addition $$ for bb..coz if natural,staying like 2nights only...after delivery you will sleep well coz your body sort of overworked...i was on fully BF,so nurses will wake me up when bb wan to feed,but i ever have tat nurses see me soo soundly sleeping that they didn't wake me & let me rest..but with parents instructions,they will not give bb any formula so they gave bb some gluose...

Dr Adrian did a HVS culture test for me. Is this test the same as Strep B test? I'm tested positive. He gave me some oral antibotics. Still need to drip antibotics during delivery? Forgot to ask him yesterday. Anyone knows??

Any idea after delivery, can I still go back and see Dr Adrian for like cough and flu? Will he charge for consultation? As I have never when back to him for these besides the normal post natal check up.

As I'm breastfeeding, dunno whether should I see normal GP or not.

Hi, The package stated that it includes post natal visit but i am not too sure as well.

Dr Adrain Antenatal package which cost $550 +7% GST. It includes :
-Unlimited antenatal visit and consultations
-blood pressure checks
-tine test for sugar & protein
Routine blood test
-Ultrasound scan
-Antenatal Vitamins
-Postnatal visit

Any one who have went back to Dr Adrain after birth?

Hi Mich

Since you have delivered, than you should go back to a GP & inform that you are breast feeding..as Adrian is a gynae,so his main field is women's health & pregnancy related..not so much as in general medicine..

delfin
I delivered last Oct via c-sect with epidural. Chosen a 1-bedded room. After CPF deduction, the cash payable is around $1800++. I told the nurse to give fm to my bb during night time so that I can have better rest during night time. Anyway for the first 1-3 days after delivered, my milk supply wasnt in yet.

I'm new to the forum.. Been going to Dr Adrian the past 2 visits.. so far so gd.. quite a funny gynae.. LOL.. even though waiting time sometimes really is long but overall is ok.. haa.. but i sometimes really duno watz on the ultrasound cos itz really kinda blur leh.. hahaha..