Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

Ah Kat,
today's the DAY!!! Not so sexy and sporty like Haze, but here's cheering for you all the way also 8:) Jiayou jiayou 8:)

Thanks Bambi for your wishes...

BTW, will I feel anything during the 2WW? So far I'm feeling ok leh... read that some pple have vommiting, bloatedness, nausea feeling etc... but how come I dun have any of these symptoms at all...

Cant help but keep thinking I'm not normal, different from the rest.

Hi Serene,

Good luck for your 2WW! Rest well, eat well and have positive thoughts!!

Me also had no symptoms also. Bloatedness went away in the 2nd week.

So don't think too much abt symptoms lah.

Ju,

U saw my post to answer your qn on the antenatal check up?

Joanne
I dun go on wkends de.

Anyway, u drink Complan b4 rite? If drink b4 ok.. then this time.. maybe its cos of something else then tummy upset leh?

Else.. stick to ur usual brand lor. I'm ok with Complan.

Serene

Those terrible feelings, usually associate with ppl with PCOS who's prompt to OHSS.

Dun c too much into symptoms.. sometimes.. hving all symptoms, also end up BFN. Jus stay +ve all the way.. hv happy thoughts.. u're almost here le! Jus need 1 to strike! Hope the one inside u.. is THE ONE!

Ju
Else u hv a quick lunch, try take a short nap in office. Maybe u'll feel better. Last time my preggie colleague did that.

Hi, Juliana,

Must keep some baby dusts for me from your darling twins ok? I should be doing my IVF cycle in mid-June

I also want twins

Hi Joanne,

Yes, I will have once-twice watery stools from drinking ensure/complan/mommy milk etc. But not when I drink HL milk. Strange leh. So I stop the protein supplement, nowsadays drink HL milk or Anlene small package milk (the one advertised by Michelle Yeow).

Hi Serene,

Don't read too much into the symptoms ok? U just rest well and think of your little darling nestling in your womb.

Strawbearbi...
Thanks I have read the answers.. I only have the appt card with me.. No letter or document attached.. So I assume its Dr Loh who will do scanning..

Ruru,
Dont worry, I will spread the baby dust to you too... So you are doing FET or fresh IVF??

Serene,
Just relax and dont read too much.. Some ladies have different reaction during their 2ww. Some ladies, no cramp nothing.. but spotting during implantation... Some nothing at all.. Its just how our body works...

Do take alot of plain water intake, fresh milk or mummy milk, increase protein intake and vegetables..

Ruru,
I think i started taking half boiled egg 1mth before my IVF leh.. maybe you can try... Then during 2ww, increase to 2 half boiled eggs... Now I'm sicked of half boiled eggs.. only sometimes if I have the craving of it..

Serene,
I had the symtoms for my 2fresh cycles + 2FETs also, false hope and BFNs. Don't read too much into the symptoms, just stay relaxed and take good care of yourself.

I'm on '2ww' to collect my Lucrin jab on 27 May, which is 1 day after your BT. Happy anticipation for you, while I can't wait to quick quick start my new fresh cycle 8:)

Hi bambi, vi4, haze and ruru
Thks for ur reply..;)

Hi haze
Had been drinking complan and notice everytime sure hv at most 1time watery stool.. Hmm.. Wonder shd i drink it during 2ww since worry not so gd to hv diarrhoe during the 2ww period..

Hi ruru
Ya lor.. Didnt notice it initially until recently.. But hor .. Anlene and HL dun hv selenium leh.. Thot the purpose to drink complan and ensure is for the selenium?

Hi Ah-Kat,

How was ur IUI today??

Actually I was seeing Dr Nair previouslu but switch to KK to do IVF becos of cost... Too expensive to do in pte and some more no govnnt co-funding... However I still prefer Dr Nair.
Think he is more careful as compared to my current dr.

Joanne,
if you cant take complan. Then dont take.. Just take HL or Anlene... Btw you can always substitute the selenium with brazil nuts...
Just dont limit yourself with one product... try to do research for substitute stuff...

Hi, long time din post because past few weeks wasn't good. HCG level did not raise well and sac could not be detected.. so gynae just gave me a jab to kill the cell and next week will be going for review to see if this jab works well otherwise will have to go for surgery.. After taken this jab, im not supposed to get pregnant in the next 3-4 months.. anyway, i have also decided to rest for abt a year..

Good luck to the rest who are trying.. do still remember to spread the baby dust to me ya

Hi Gillian,

Sorry to hear about your sad news.
take care and be strong.
May I ask this chemical pregnancy is it thru IVF or IUI?

Gillian,
HugHug, have a good rest and tiao your body first. We'll be here for you whenever you need our listening ears.

Hi ju
Thanks for your reply.. Hmm.. Maybe will try ensure then.. Hope is ok for me.. Btw, did u took any complan or ensure during ur 2ww?? How frequent you drink chicken essence too?? How many brazil nut you take each day then is sufficient?? Thk u in advance for ur advise,,;)

Hi gilian
Pat pat.. You mean ur sac is outside your tube after the scan? Thats why call etopic pregnancy? Did u asks ur gynea why and what happen? So now u r waiting ur menses to come naturally? After ur af finish, try do a mini confinement, take this chance to take some ba zhen soup or dom and red date tea.. Try to bu ur body well well so that get ur body ready.. See some tcm doc will be gd too.. Who knows, u may get to conceive naturally o e day..;) Take care and feel free to come back chat with us anytime..;) we will always support one another..

Hi Gillian,

Do take the time to heal emotionally and physically. U may want to ask your gynae whether u should do any blood test to investigate if your body has any underlying problem.

My gynae asked me to take this m/c profiling BT, I am now waiting at his clinic to review the result.

Let your tears come and we will heal with time.

Hi Gillian,
so sorry to hear that... hope that you are doing well and will keep some of my babies dust to you..

Joanne,
I actually took ensure and complan before 2ww.. abit kiasu... Then during 2ww, I took Dumex Mamil Mama. Then eat the brazil nut, like 1 to 2 and sometimes more than than..
I cant take the chicken essense cause it smells.. I just eat chicken soup which my mum cook for me and increase the protein intake like soya, white meat (fish & chicken, eggs, red meat and also vegetable (eg spinach, brocolli, carrots).
I avoid COLD stuffs during 2ww, NO TO cold drinks, ice-cream, watermelon, cucumber. Actually I only eat ice-cream (ben & jerry) during Mothers' Day only one times cause I was craving for it... And till todate, I still stick with Milk, Milo or Honey (ones a day for Energy) and plain water.
And rest well during 2ww, I did remember I feel so tired and feeling very warm and kept sweating. During 2ww, I eat then sleep, watch tv.. And move ard the hse if i'm tired... But mostly just pamper myself with sleep sleep and sleep

Joanne,
Actually, you can set up your own way of 2ww, like what how frequent you want to drink chicken of essense and brazil nuts.. Try to do some research... Cause some women reaction differently!!! Research will broaden up you knowledge abt IVF/ICSI & pregnancy

Joanne, I also think whether should i stop the metformin during 2WW. because if not everytime also need to go toilet LS.

Gillian, very sorry to hear your news.
IVF can have ectopic? because my friend was advised to do IVF as she ever had ectopic by natural way. So doctor said if IUI may also end up with ectopic. so just to IVF.

Ah Kat,
All the best and gd luck! Can u let me know which day u did the SO-IUI? I mean Day wat? Did u take MC after that?

Vi4n (vi4n),
Thank you for your reply leh
I also hope I dun need to do IVF. This is my first time trying SO-IUI. Alot of things dun koe one. So hor.. Does it mean Day 11 my hubby need to deposit his sperm? I need to arrange him to fly back to Singapore.

Did anyone here tried their SO-IUI at KKH? Anyone anyone? I tried to call the KKH IVF Centre since this morning.. but phone always enaged one.. sigh..

yes vi4n, ivf can have ectopic, the consent form we sign when heading for ivf indicates that.. but quite rare, suay suay, im one of the rare case...

juliana, thanks for ur twin baby dusts
i will try again but not now, and i cant also coz of the jab i took

hi ruru, nope, dr loh did not mention that.. probably i can ask him during next week appt. i only took hcg test..just before the jab, i took blood count and kidney function BT.. very very scare of drawing blood now.. took 12 tubes liao
more to go

hi joanna, probably shd be sac not at the right place, our uterus.. somewhere out there and dr loh cant locate that.. heard that maybe surgery can find it if the jab doesn't help.. my bleeding has started, but weird is hcg level still raise..

bambi, thanks.. yup i will come in to pour my unhappiness and ladies here have to bear with me for a while

hazeline, thanks.. my mum has been great.. keep boiling and cooking tonic food for me

hi elle, serene thanks.. i will really take care esp its my 2nd miscarriage liao

labbitpj,
KKHIVF is always busy in the morning with all the patients gg in for jab, u/s and ER/ET. You will have better chance to reach the nurses on the phone in the afternoon around 2:30pm-3pm, and they'll be in better mood/condition to answer your queries.

Gillian,
we're all on this torturous IVF journey together, it's only right that we lend a shoulder to lie on and lift each other up in times of difficulty. Good times, bad times, we'll weather it out together. Don't worry about pouring out your unhappiness, we'll be here for you all the time 8:)

Gillian,
I think before you go for IVF again you can try massage to sure the uterus and womb are in the right position... cause if we carry things, our uterus and womb will move abit...
actually, Dr Loh did mentioned that I need to take alot of water during the ET as during the scanning he saw my womb n uterus abit slanted.. So it will helps him to target properly. But my friend told me massage to have both of it at a proper position and I tried...
But what I know is that when our womb is downward, we will tends to urine often... abit of urine also will come out...

labbitpj, depending on the scan on Day 11, if your egg size is good on Day 11, then normally dr will give injection to release the egg, then next day will do the IUI. That will be the day when your hubby need to produce the fresh sperm.

yup no problem...

Maybe when hcg level back to normal then will try it out.. u can share the contact with me?

Btw, for those having ivf at kkh, is purgon, ultrasound scan, consultation fee claimable under medisave and govt grant?

Gillian
Anything b4 stage 2 (puregon), is not claimable. hv to pay cash.

From stage 2 onwards.. to ur ET, is claimable. That final BT test aft ur 2ww.. u hv to pay cash.

I forget to pay that.. I tot claimable, n they billed me!

hi gillian,
take ur time to rest and recover... maybe trying naturally and not having any expectations will bring good news...

i'm at stage 1 - lucrin... so far i've paid cash...don't have any deductibles from cpf or grant yet.. the BT for rubella, HIV and hepatitis all paid in cash too

I started straight into Stage 2 so haven pay anything yet... was jokingly telling my hubby is FOC one! kekeke! ButI think tmr go back do HCG BT must pay liao...