Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

Hi Gillian,

So sorry to hear your news. Do rest well and join us again in this journey. It may not be easy but we will cheer each other on towards the same goal! Take care ok?

Labbitpj,

If your hubby is travelling, you can ask him to freeze his sperms when he's available in Sg. So he does not need to fly back and forth.

I don't suppose the quality of the sperms will be affected. You can double check with the doctor. For my IVF, I also used frozen sperms.

Ju,

So your next appt is at how many weeks ah?

Serene,
My IUI was ok today but I am getting rather depressed now...tink until today I still haven't O..which is unusual and definitely not good..Dr Nair did a quick scan today before the procedure and seems that most of my follicles are still growing much bigger and O haven't taken place (no sore boobs too!) Triggered was done at least 72 hours ago (on Monday 8pm) - so someting must be wrong somewhere.

Not having any hopes now...tink no choice but I most likely will have to do IVF next.

Very sad and disappointed...will see how things go.

sayang sayang. Dun be sad... Maybe you'll O today or tmr and still got chance... rem to BD tmr night since you'll O anytime from now...

Gillian,
U take gd care of urself and rest more k? *hugz*

Juliana,
How many times u tried on SO-IUI before u try IVF? I envy u leh... can get twins..
Happy for u!

Strawberbi,
Acty I told my doctor and nurses that my only concern is my HB being stationed overseas and if I'm doing IUI, timeline will be my concern.. But hor.. the doctor and nurses also nvr give me any advise. Nvr say can freeze the sperm etc leh. Sigh... Sometimes when I ask the nurse something, got a feeling that she is not very helpful (staff nurse somemore). Sad...

Vi4n,
Did u tried SO-IUI before? So normally it's Day 11 to get the procedure done izzit?

Ah Kat,
Dun depressed ok? I'm sure u will O soon.. *cross fingers* U did ur IUI today means today is ur day wat uh? Day 11? Dun think too much.. Me also very scared.. Next mth my turn liao.

Serene, I went to check LH surge ysterday nite - got +Ve leh...but I don't have any O systomps...either haven't O or abt to O...very confusing..will check LH surge again tonite.

Labbitpj: My case not "normal", I've got PCOS and just had a m/c late last year - so which day I do IUI all depend on doc's advise. I suggest u do some "homework" and google abt IUI procedure and details - this help u better prepared and govt hospital is like that one, so don't get too upset if u are not getting any response/ answers from the nurses.

ah kat
If it's +ve, u shd O within like 24hrs... if I rem correctly. U go read the instructions.

Thk trust the +ve LH surge.. ur symptoms.. might be a bit 'off' this time.

Well.. get 'busy' these couple of days... anyway, wkend.. jus nice. hehe

Jiayou!

Good morning ladies!

Ah kat, got LH surge means going to O soon... within these 2 days defintely. O symptoms you mean the white sticky discharge?? wait for a while more should see lah... or maybe you didnt observed? Cos sometimes i ony saw it once and dun have liao... keke! So if I missed to see that one, then I'll also assume didnt O. Dun worry, k?
Even you do IUI this mth, should also BD too increase your chance,k! All the best!

I'm gg KK now to do the progestrone test.

Come in to chat later!

Hi labbi
Need not be 11 days then ovaluate.. That time mine is 14 days.. It depends on different pp.. U got to do ur scan then u will know when do iui.. Me will oso be doung soiui next month.. We can be cycle buddy..;) when ur next af going come?

Hi kat
Thought once jab, u will definitely o after 24-36 hr? U mean the jab not power enough to force your egg out? Dun think too negative.. There is still chance for u k..try relax and bd for next few days..

Hi Serene and Elle,

Wish you all the best.....Jia you! Hope to hear good news soon!

Hi Ah Kat,

LH surge +ve should be quite accurate le, that's how my gynae determine also, LH surge + mucus.

I also don't have any O symptom, when he asked if i have mucus, i always reply no, but after he checked, have lei....also feel confused.

Must try to relax, don't feel so tense.

Hi Gillian,

So sorry to hear that, please take good care.

Hi labbit,

FYI, i had my IUI on day 19. So should be everybody react differently.

labbitpj,
I took clomid for couples of mths before moving to SO-IUI. Both were failure due to DH low sperm. The straight away I decided for ICSI. And finally I strike.

Hi Labbitpj,

Don't be sad, sometimes the nurses may be bz so probably dun provide the suggestions to u. Maybe you can give them a call if it's not too late? U got any concerns just raise up to them. Ask them got any workaround options etc.

Snowies

Thanks. Just back from hospital from ER this morning. Now feeling sleepy. The cramp has not kicked in yet. Will go to rest now.

Thanks - the thing worrying me was when I do the u/s before the procedure - Dr Nair briefly checked my eggs and seems that none had ruptured..but the LH surge says otherwise....

Anyway, me will test again tonite! And definitely will do homework over the weekend!

DevLina
So fast hor... u take good care.

Elle
U hv many eggs retrieved? Hope most of them r good quality ones n all get fertilised!

Do rest well... got imagine me doing my 'lala' dance or not...? hehe

ah kat
Actually, I ever tested +veLH.. but scan liao, follices too small.. so I can nv O.

But urs confirm got big big follicles le.. so hope is stil there.

Ju
mine is @ 2pm...

haze
yah quite fast. In fact, I tot Ju's one is quite fast too...in a few wks time...gonna be 10wks liao.

I'm looking for PT maid to doing vacuuming, cleaning kitchen stove n cabinet, ironing and washing toilet... I was thinking taking for 2 week one time... Any recommendation??

DevLina
Stay away from crowded place lor... hv to keep ourselves healthy.

My office recently also a lot of ppl sick...

haze
yea, i shld start avoiding crowded areas now.
There are alot of irresponsible pple around, sick & yet dun wish to stay away from office haiz.

ju
be careful ok. My office will send out memos every wk to warm sickly staff to stay away fr office. We're not forced to take our own leave if needed to be quarantine.

Who is pregnant now? (I know Juliana, twins). By which procedure uh? IUI or IVF? Did anyone tried SO-IUI at KKH before? And did anyone here succeed in IUI? If succeeded, how many times then it succeed? Sorry to ask so many at one go.

My doctor ask me how many cycle I wanna try first so I said try out once first. But once means IUI on one day rgt? Can do IUI 2 days in a row meh?

Joanne,
Yeah we can be cycle buddy!
My next AF think coming on the 1st June. So maybe after Day 10, then see how my eggs perform lor. Abit scared.. Tmr I will be gg KKH IVF there for HIV, Hep B and VDRL blood test. U will be doing IUI at Gleneagles rgt? When is ur next AF?

Strawbearbi,
Yah I hope its becoz the nurses are busy thats why no time to entertain me.. but still sad n disappointed la
... coz i always go there alone.. then other pple couple couple.. So sometimes I also forgot to ask something (no extra person to listen). When I rem and wanna ask, the KKH nurses not very helpful leh. Maybe they deal with too many patients like me. Bo chap alrdy lor. But shouldnt nurses be caring and thoughtful? Sad...

Hi ju
Where do u stay?? Hv someone quite good who clean my hse bi weekly who is very gd..she is introduce by my friend.. U may want to call her.. Had pm u her number..

Hi labbi
I hasnt o yet so not sure when my af will come.. Think will o next wk.. Ya, will do mine at gleneagles. This is my 2nd iui.. My 1st iui had suceed but mc at 7 wks.. So now try again.. Abit scare of the result actually..iui process is not painful and no bleeding at all.. My gynea very gentle n xperience.;)

Ju,

Haze,
SGH just called me . total 4 eggs was retrieved ( far less than I thought) and only 2 fertilised. So tomo they going to do the ER for me, all will be in. If this time not succeed, I need to go thru fresh cycle again
. Can't imagine the struggle with needles again,

Elle,
Don't panic and tink too far lah...all you need at the least is for 1 egg to implant to become a healthy BB!! And maybe all 2 will implant and u will get twins like Ju!!

Hi elle,

You are better than me. I only had 2 eggs retrieved and 1 fertilised. Keep telling myself quality is more impt. We just need that ONE to be pregnant. So dun be sad. Think +ve.

My SIL had 9 eggs retreived but only 1 fertilised but grade 0 so cannot do ET. Worse than you. So always tell youself you are a least better than some others because at least you can go for ET.

And although for me only 1 embryo transfered, I'm already very very grateful and contented.

I'm in my 2WW now... BT on 26May.

Elle,
重质不重量, important is the quality, not quantity. Make these 2 embbies count, jiayou jiayou q(*.*)pq(*.*)p

elle,
think positive.... like wat kat and serene say.. at least u managed to go thru the whole cycle and have ET... now i'm only in stage 1 and dun even know i can go thru the whole cycle yet or not until my ER...

Elle, good luck...

today i just learned to jab myself. so tomorrow and monday i will jab myself.
I asked the clinic what is the possibility that I won't ovulate even after inject of the release jab. She said should be able to release as schedule if by use release jab.

hi ladies, I'm new to thread.

Been trying for 1.5 yrs naturally and still not pregnant....sad....

I'm trying my lst IUI this cycle...on clomid now...any tips how I should prepare my body?

So labbitpj and Joanne you got another company....hope we'll hear good news!

Angel, I'm equally blur about the various method IUI, SO-IUI, ICSI

Hi Elle,
Dun think the negative... always think positive... you will bfp this time so no need more embryo. As 2 is inside you now... that's the most important... All the best to your this cycle.. ;-) Do share with us how's your experience of ET today... must be easier compare to ER... right?

Hi Angel,
Reason why I opt for SO-IUI is because had been trying natural for 6 yrs so do not wish to delay further.. That's why try on the next step that is SO-IUI since i don't like the side effect of clomid, might as well use injection to make myself ovalute well..
The procedure of SO-IUI is depend on individual on how many injection you need to make yourself ovaluate.. for me is clomid and 3 injection, then follow by check on the size of follicle, once is big enough, doc will do IUI on us...on the day of the IUI, husband got to send sperm to clinic, wash and get the best one out, then at around lunch time, we will be there and doc will inject the sperm directly into our womb. It is actually also conside natural conceive as still depend on sperm to swim up and meet the egg. The difference is the sperm is wash and when inject, doctor will try to push the sperm further in so that they dun have to swim far in order to meet the egg. Also, timing is time well... because if natural, we wun know when the egg come out so diffcult to plan timing well..
If SO-IUI fail after few try, people usually proceed to IVF since success percentage is slightly higher compare to SO-IUI...SO-IUI and IUI difference is between got use Puregeon injection or don't have. SO means had use Puregeon..

Hi Stileto,
Welcome. Since you only on clomid then for your case is IUI and not SO-IUI... I think you will be doing your IUI very soon, for me, I will not be so soon since this cycle hasn't even Ovaluate yet... sigh... wish you success...
Just rest well after IUI, dun carry any heavy things... and dun walk too much.. ;-)

Hi Serene (cycle buddy!)

I am ok - went to test LH surge continuous on Thur,Friday and Sat..finally no more smily face by Sat - so, I supposed I did O?!

Anyway, I felt NOTHING! (which I guess shld be normal cause implantation only take place 6-7 days after O...)Still crossing everywhere for u and myself!

Are u nervous?? Do u kept thinking what will happen?? : )

Hi Ah-Kat,

Just had my last pregnyl jab today... Just like you... I have been thinking abt wat will happen too! I guess it is normal ba... very difficult not to be anxious leh esp BT date getting nearer and nearer... My BT is next tue but some ladies in the other thread told me that I can start to do HPT as early as this fri! OMG! I'm so anxious!

BFP BFP for both u n me!!!