Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

The nurse just called me up. I will extend my Lucrin first till next Friday to continue with Puregon. So meanwhile the Puregon on hold. Therefore my ER and ET will be on 11th onwards instead. At least I can fully prepared myself and have good rest after that.

elle
Is SGH busy also? Why extend? I know Rinoa extend cos her gynae not around.. ur gynae Dr Hema too? Maybe u two might end up being cycle buddies leh.

U like Ensure ah? I dun like Ensure leh.. I like Complan better! haha

No lah.. not everyone wil be on BCP. I wasn't on BCP for my 1st IVF, straight start Lucrin on D21. But for my 2nd IVF at KKH, Dr Loh insist I hv to take BCP.

I thk at SGH, they did a team discussion b4 they decide on ur protocol.. so much better that way and I'm sure u're in very safe hands. So dun worry... jus go with the flow!

elle,
that's good... at least u can have a more relaxing 2WW...

I dunno if it's the weather or it's the BCP... but my lips were very dry after taking the BCP... so been downing lots of water.

i bought 2 packets of complan vanilla flavour but haven't try it yet.

Haze,
actually the extend is not due to the doctor's busy. But this morning I tell the nurse, i might have to go back to work after the op because the date falls on my closing period. Then she was bit worried because she said there's chances to have complication after the op. That's why she suggest to talk to the doctor first whether can extend. Unless the doctor say cannot then no choice to have op on that day. After confirmed with doc, doc says ok to extend so I can fully rest after the op. My gynae is Dr Yu.
When Rinoa is going to start? Mine confirm next Friday 29th to start on Puregon again.

Hahaha, i find Ensure taste better and somemore cheaper. Complan is quite ex.Oh, so not necessary have to go thru BCP. Because i read all those go thru ivf, sure go thru BCP first, tat's y i wonder how come i din have too. I scared they miss this procedure. I find the nurse there sometime quite absent minded. Maybe too much patients.

Eskimobaby,
ya lo. I was quite worried just now. Lucky can extend. How much u buy for Complan? I can only take chocolate milk, so I only try tat flavour. But prefer Ensure's taste. hahaha

elle
oic.. then good for u too. U can do ur IVF in peace n w/o worry.

I duno abt rinoa leh.. I thk she jus started her BCP last wk..

know what happen,bump my HR manager on my way to the toilet and saw my tired face.. Asked my why?? Then he said you pregnant?? Then I say Ya.. I'm having backache.. So he said morning sickness got already.. I said so far not yet...
So he ask me to get a support for my back (like pillow or backsupport for chair those kind)

Ju
U nv put cushions on ur chair.. I hv 2. hehe

But u hv to take care of ur back.. cos if it's multiples, ur back shd be more strain cos of the weight.

Take it easy, ok? Maybe ur HR manager know also good lah...

Hi elle
I see.. Maybe many pp buy the chocolate one so cost more ex. Do they hv vinella one there? That day i oso buy vinella and strawberri one at $2.. Glad to know that u can rest well after ur er/et.. Btw, u going to take 2wks own leave or mc during ur 2ww after er/et..since u cant tell ur boss u do ivf so i wonder how u going to tell him during ur absence? Last question, when doing ur ivf at sgh, fr start to now.. u already take how many days leave for ur checkup?? Thk u for ur info..;)

elle,
i bought it at $2.70 at a cold storage in katong.. more ex than wat u all are getting.. so just bought 2 packs to try first and see if i like the taste.

hazeline,
i also hope i dun get sick these 2 months.. but the weather is really crazy...

Ju,

Back support is very impt since we sit in office the whole day. Make sure that when u sit with the back support, your spine is straight and comfy. That means the support is correct for u. Take care ok?

Joanne,
I think so too. All flavours are there, Vanilla, Strawberry and chocolate. Only chocolate is different price. The rest they sell at $2. Initially I am considering whether to take full 2 weeks mc or one week mc and another on leave because we are forced to take 1 week unpaid leave anyway.But i decided to take 2 weeks mc . As for the unpaid leave, leave for after the result. Either succeed or not, still have another week to rest.
I will just tell him i am having surgery for women's problem. last time a colleague of mine also have op to remove fibroid and mc for 2 weeks.So I will use the same excuse.
As for the check up, hahahaha, i din take any leave at all. Because my check up either is during lunch time or not early morning. Overall my appointment is either 8 am or 11 am. So quite ok.I start work at 9.30, so the most i'm late for 30 mins.

U're doing ivf as well? sorry i forgot

Eskimobaby,
u bought vanilla flavour at $2.70. That is quite ex. I only buy one packet Complan and a tin of Ensure since it din come in packet.Lucky I like Ensure rather than Complan, otherwise dunno how to finish my Ensure

Hi elle,
Nope... i am enquiring so much as get myself prepared if my natural and SO-IUI failed (touchwood)... had been thinking how can i hide from everyone in my office during my absence for the 2ww thingy... maybe if really *touchwood* come to this extend, wonder can I take the HL leave given by SGH/KKH hospital to my GP to request them to convert to MC for 5 days ?? So that my company wun suspect anything... then myself take another 5 days leave say need to take care my own son etc.. sigh... very silly me hor... take 2ww also got to consider so much... not like rest of you can go easy in taking the HL... I ever take 2wk of HL last time for laparscopy so dun think can use the same excuse as you anymore..hmm...

btw, how you tell your boss why you are late 30mins so frequent? what excuse you use??

I am trying natural for this cycle and next cycle due to got exhibition next month so since can't rest well for that 2ww, that's why didn't do any ART... will try natural and take chinese TCM medicine to tiao and bu my body... then follow by SO-IUI in June and then IVF if no good news... sadz...had just mc on February this year... hope really can be more fertile after mc like what ruru says. keeping my fingers and toes crossed..

btw, I notice there are quite a few kind of Ensure, is it Ensure Life that u gals are taking?? I saw Guardian sell at $14plus... is it right elle? btw, for Ensure, how many spoon is use to make one cup to drink? Did you try the strawberry Complan? Actually the taste very nice..

Hi Eskimobaby,
Ya.. at $2.70 is really ex... I saw NTUC sell one box of chocolate complan - 15pks at $33.50 only...did u buy ensure? maybe you will like the taste too...it is cheaper compare to complan..

Joanne,
sorry to hear about ur mc.Don't give up trying. I myself have been trying to conceive for almost 8 yrs by now since my last natural ectopic. Quite a roller coaster journey for me,giving up in the middle of the way then buck up again,give a try. After delaying for 3 yrs, then try for IVF.
Actually for HL, i was pondering for sometime also since I am still new in my current company (only half year)and noone is going to cover the job for me as I am the only one in charge.But think having baby is still my priority so I will just go ahead and take.
As for late ar,hahahaha, actually I never told my boss cos he's not SG based anyway. so normally i would only tell my colleague I will be late and I will just enter by back door. Try my luck not to bump into HR ppl.So 神不知,鬼末觉。

I bought Ensure Life, ya about $14 plus I bought at Guardian.I only try it today so I only make a small cup with 2 spoon. Want to try the taste first. I can only drink chocolate milk, as other flavours,dun feel like trying.

I think dun worry too much first. 船到桥头自然直。 concentrate on tiao and bu your body first. hope we all graduate soon

Hi elle
Ya.. Actually i am almost same as u.. Had been trying for a 2nd child since 6yrs ago.. Sigh.. Had been seeing 4different gynea to date.. Keep thinking that since i conceive my son naturally so there shouldnt be any problem in me so had been trying only clomid and do a larpascopy for this 6yrs.. Didnt know there is this soiui until i know abt this forum.. Fr here also get to know my 4th gynea, dr foong.. Sigh., how i wish get to know this forum earlier instead of half yr ago, then will know wht to do next few yrs ago.. Sigh.. Time had been ticking for me and now my son is already 7yrs old soon..so sad that he has been so lonely for the past six yrs without any playmate.. So this yr, no matter what, i must try my very best le.. Thks to all the gals here support, i really learn alot here and had made many new friends here where i can confide in since no one around me that i can talk to abt this art treatment.. The pp here are all very nice and patient to share the knowledge they know..
Ur office no need punch card.. So nice.. For me, think got to always take half day leave.. Hope my leave and mc is enough this yr to cover all my art treatment.. I really wish to see everyone here to graduate by this yr..

Ladies, guess what? I had a miscarriage yesterday. Bled so much till have to be hospitalised for observation. I am typing from KKH now, enjoying my 'breakfast in bed' at the same time haha. I was still being advised to go for DnC to be thoroughly cleaned but i refused. So they will just have to scan me next week to see how.

Ruru, you are so fortunate, just normal menses. I bled so much, so shocked, never seen this much in my entire life! Now i know those M/C scenes in movies can be real and roughly how contractions feel like.

Did you do mini confinement? Think i have to. Sigh, is my M/C case very drama?

my sunflower
Oh dear, u take good care of urself ok? I thk u shd 'bu' back.. since u said so much blood was lost. Try n do a mini confinement, ok?

Hope everything is fine for u in ur scan n u dun hv to do D&C...

Morning Ladies,

My Sunflower,
Take care ok.. so sorry to hear abt ur M/C.. hope you do a mini confinement to "bu" back ur body and energy...

Sunflower,

So sorry to hear that. Hope you are feeling better now? Your DH is there taking care of you?

Don't think too much just rest well hor. Yah, pray you no need to do D&C. Cross fingers!!

My sunflower - please do at least 1-week mini confinment to bu back your body. Very impt...
I know how drama and scary this was...that time, my bleeding started while I was half way to the toilet while in office!!! It was a horrible thing and I will never ever forget that! You are such a strong gal!

Rest well and grieve all you need to..Take care

hazeline,
the same loh... on n off...
everyday, reached home eat then fast asleep till morning.. lazy to go to work.. feeling tired.. but force myself.. or else bb also lazy in future...

My Sunflower,

HugHug, take good care during this period.

Below is copied from another thread about mini confinement :
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=next&topic=5&page=2103041

For your mini confinement (2 weeks):
a) Dang shen, longan & red date tea. Drink it everyday. To provide strength and blood.
b) Bath with herb (da feng ai). To get ride of wind (buy herbal bath mixture fr medical hall, must boil hor b4 having bath).
c) Cook chicken soup with DOM, hua qi shen & ginger. To warm your womb.
d) Fried chicken / meat / liver with ginger
e) Fried rice with chop garlic, sheredded ginger, mix veg, meat & sesame oil.
f) Fried chicken with sesame oil.
g) Fried veg. must add few slice of ginger.
h) Avoid cooling stuff eg. winter melon, xi yang chai, chai xin, orange, pear, papaya & etc.
i) Avoid carry heavy things.

Thanks ladies. Thanks Bambi for the list. Gonna cut it out for DH to reference and help me prepare. Thanks!

Strawbearbi, yes my DH is with me. We took the single bedded ward so he could stay overnight.

Just kenna sent for scanning and waiting for report. My HCG was 1670 yesterday, hope it drop dramatically today else and if scan is not good, i might need to DnC still. I stole a peek at my scan, think it still look thick leh. Sigh. I think it might be hard for me to siam DnC liao.

sunflower
so sorry to hear abt your plight. Pls take good care of urself ya...bambi's list looks good, so u may wanna follow ya.

Hi My Sunflower,

Woah, your m/c very drama-mama leh. I also have a drama event yesterday midnight. I went to eat seafood yesterday night and ate 3 raw oysters around 9pm, by the time around 11.30pm, my stomach already growling and queasy liao. By 12-12.30pm, I am passing brown watery stool at interval of 1mins. Just wipe backside and stand up from toilet bowl, wash hands, walk to bed and straightaway rushed back to toilet!!!!

I think I did that action for around 5-6 times and can u believe it, my HB slept thru the whole episode! I cannot tahan and woke him up and he was like in a daze and he fell asleep again! I took 2 imodium tabs and managed to sleep after awhile when the medicine took effect.

Hi My Sunflower,

Hmm... I think you bleed more becos you are in a more advanced stage of pregnancy than me leh. My HCG was only 361 and my womb lining was 9mm, so I knew I should not bleed so much, that is why I didn't go for a d&c.

I think for your case, you really have to see how leh, if prolong bleeding also no good for health leh. I think a mini-confinement is necessary for u also. For me, I will ask my mom to make me black-chicken soup twice weekly for the next 2 weeks. Don't intend to do mini-confinement.

Ruru,
U dare to eat raw seafood after the goo gaa series of food poisioning... I was told by my friend who work in HSA, not to consume raw seafood...at these moment... because of the virus...

elle,

For er, you are only given sleeping pill, lightly sedated only and you know whats going on ard you, the whole process is ard 3 hours or so with bedrest and you can go hme after that, ET is even faster but resting on bed half an hr more than can go home. Both procedure will cover you with MC.

my sunflower
Ur HCG actually quite high still leh.. hope everything is ok for u.

ruru
Mus be the oysters lah.. u take care.

ju
u better stay away from uncook food...

sam
SGH giv MC? Not HL? Hmm...

Sam,
SGH does not issue hospitalization leave ? KKH issue 14 days HL from day of ER onwards.

How heavy are your 3 princes by now ? Have a good rest and enjoy the quiet time while you can 8:) You'll be kept busy all the time after their delivery 8;-)

Ruru,
maybe your immunity is still not yet up, so watch your diet for a while first 8:)

Rinoa, Ruru, Ah Kat
I've scheduled the electrician to fix my home cable for tmr afternoon 3pm, then I can watch TV from my bed from tmr onwards, and 2ww in July 8:)

So I've squeezed in early morning acu at Dr Zou's place, then I'll take MRT direct to JP to meet you all. Will hitch a ride from Rinoa on the way back home 8:)

Yah, must be the oysters becos that is the only food item that I never share with my HB.

I haven't eat sashimi and oysters for about 2mths+ and wanted to eat them to encourage myself to move on with life. Then ganna serious LS. Scared man!

Hi Bambi,

Woah, it looks like u have a hectic sat tomorrow!

Hi sunflower
Hugz hugz.. That time when i hv mc, only hv more blood in 1st day of af.. Wht i cant tahan is the cramp.. And u can feel ur womb very weak after 2 days.. Dun walk too much..as u will feel pain.. Than after 4 days, i walk jus 5 mins and can feel pain le..oso, u can drink the red date drink now, mus drink whole day like ur plain water.. Beside this, u cant take much bu now until ur af clear else it will retain ur blood in ur womb which no good.. Rest well.. Also, this is a chance for u to tiao ur body strong so that better prepared for ur next bb.. U can drink shi十全大补汤after af clear.. U wun get heaty now by drinking all this.. It is jus like after give birth.. Last time i oways feel giddy before af come.. Then that time after mc, i eat alot of bu to make my body heaty.. Wear slipper at hm etc.. Then recently i realise my face color nicer, pp can see my face 气色better and i dun feel giddy last mth when my af came.. *touchwood* btw, i think is better that u rest this cycle well and start ur art treatment again after next af come..so that give ur womb some time to recover.. Take care and we will always support u.. ;)

Hi ruru
Jus fyi, jus after mc, it is a NO NO to eat raw food and sea food including prawn.. U must take care ur body well since u r planning to do art soon..
Btw,u saw my message send to u yesterday? Any reply?
Hi sam
How r u? Hope u r doing well together with ur 3 prince.. Rest well..;)

Sam,
As Brad Pitt said about feeding their twins, "We try to get them to eat simultaneously for the sake of management, but it gets a little crowded at the bar!" Yours will be very very crowded at milking time 8;-)

Hi Joanne,

I have checked with Dr Nair liao, he said there is no scientific basis that a woman is more fertile after her m/c. But statistics have shown that woman tend to strike after an m/c, that is all.

hi all, sorry for mia.. mine is really a miracle case.. despite v. infection, i still manage to make it.. however, hcg level is not very high type, so i will try to be more optimistic and hope that the follow up on 5 may will bring me more secure news.. currently on duphaston and will continue with dr zou's medicine

haze, bambi, good luck to u

ruru, sunflower, do not give up.. both of u will make it ultimately too
and to the rest of the other girls too

Gillian,
Congratulations, smooth 9 months 8:) Do visit us regularly and chat with us, let's jia you together on our journey to Motherhood Kingdom 8:)

Hi Gillian,

Woah!! Congrats!!! It is your time, baby!

Hey, maybe u and Ju that day wear red rose on chest pocket and acknowledge each other with a big hug and a pat on the back for a job well-done.

Gillian,
this is for You..

C*O*N*G*R*A*T*U*L*A*T*I*O*N !!!!!

 SiNg A LoNG 
Congratulations and celebrations
when I tell everyone that you're in love with me.
Congratulations and jubilations
I want the world to know I'm happy as can be.

Who would believe that I could
be happy and contented.
I used to think that happiness
hadn't been invented,
but that was in the bad old days
before I met you
when I let you walk into my heart.

I want the world to know I'm happy as can be.

I was afraid that maybe
you thought you were above me.
That I was only fooling myself
to think you'd love me.
But then tonight you said
you couldn't live without me
that round about me
you wanted stay.

I want the world to know I'm happy as can be