Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

Hi Sunflower,

Becos your sac is still growing (abeit slowly), it means that your HCG is still increasing (must confirm with BT), that is why you will not 'miscarriage' so soon. I have a friend who got pregnant naturally and she went for her 1st scan at Week8 and turned out to be a blighted ovum like my case. I was astonished that the sac can tahan for 4 weeks without any medical support! She chose D&C in the end.

Oh, regarding the pain from natural AF, I guess it depends on how big is your sac and how thick is your womb lining? I am fine, no pain whatsoever, just like my normal menses.

One point I need u to note, most of the docs are pro-D&C, so sometimes you may feel yourself having no choice in the final decision. If you are keen to wait for natural AF, why don't you give yourself a deadline? Like for my case, Dr Nair wants me to do a D&C and I told him my wish for AF to come naturally and I told him to give me 5days to wait it out. For your case, maybe 2 weeks' wait? If nothing, then go for D&C. Don't have to rush into it.

Hi ladies...
how's everyone?

Ju
Hope u'll hv good HCG readings today...

my sunflower
u jiayou, ok?

Rem I told ruru, I hv a friend who only hear her bb heartbeat in her 8th wk... she too had 2 previous MCs.. lost at 6 & 8 wks. She had a son who's 3 now and she's going to deliver her 2nd child in Aug... that's the survivor who only let her mummy hear heartbeat in 8th wk.

For both her MCs... her doc, prof ng, didn't do D&C for her. For her 8th wk one, she was given something to take n her body let it out natually. So u can ask ur gynae abt this, cos I stil thk if can, dun go for D&C.

But of course, once u reach certain wks, might not be possible. So.. do ask ur gynae abt this, jus to be sure.

Dun giv up ok... the fact that ur embbies did implant.. means there's stil hope, ok? Rest all u want n try again when u're ready.

Eskimobaby
Do call KKH n tell them ur AF is here.. they wil tell u wot u shd do nex...

Good afternoon ladies...

Ruru,

Glad ur AF reported on its own

So dessert this weekend shouldn't b a prob?

Haze,

Hope u enjoyed Bintan

Can join us this weekend?
I was telling Bambi, there is this nice dessert store in the new Kopitiam @JP2.

Strawbearbi,

Amazing! e scan can tell about tummy of foetus.
the mummy is starting to worry about her princess's figure even b4 she is born , hehe cute!

Eskimobaby,

For IVF in KKH , had better b alert or know what is the next steps.

Coz they bo chap 1 will ask u to call when its time, but e prob is phone call never gets through. So very last minute.

For SGH, my gynae already prescribed me my BCP 3 wks b4 AF due to report.

Bambi,

I hope so leh. Dun want her tummy to get too big. =p

Ju,

Post your updates soon ok? How did your DH react huh?? So exciting to know.

Ruru,

Good, a load off your mind liao. Don't give up ok? When you feel very tired talk to us, we will give you encouragement and support... Same goes for Sunflower also.

Rinoa,

Next time arrange dessert in the central ok? Then I can go join =p So lonely in the east leh. =) How's your dinky?

Hi Ju,

Congrats.

Hi Gillian,

Hope to hear good news from you soon. Should be quite positive liao right?

Hi RuRu,

My heart really cry for you. You're such a strong woman. I'm onz for the cheer up session, it's my first time to join you ladies too.

Hi sunflower,

You've come so far, so never give up k.

My AF came today. I will be rest for one to two months first before moving on again. Too tiring for me. Most probably i will give SGH a call to make a first appointment in May, might want to go straight to IVF if can.

Snowies,
thanks for your support for Ruru 8:) We will be happy to have you join us for the cheer Ruru up session 8:)

Gathering to cheer RuRu up attendance:
1. Ruru
2. Haze
3. Bambi
4. Vi4n
5. Ah-Kat
6. Strawbearbi
7. Juliana
8. Felixcat
9. Elle
10. Joanne (weekday night)
11. Devlina
12. Rinoa (free in April only)
13. Snowies

Maybe Haze, Joanne, Eskimobaby, you and me will become cycle buddies in June-July 8:) Praying for showers of good luck for all of us 8:)

rinoa,
yeah.. luckily i managed to call thru before i went down... i managed to get the BCP... and i'm starting on it tomorrow.. i remembered nurse sarah told me that i can take the BCP earlier if my af reports earlier than the date given to me.

bambi,
i'm starting on BCP tomorrow as my AF reported 1 week plus earlier.. and 2 weeks later going to start on lucrin... i dunno if i'll have the courage to inject the lucrin..

joanne,
i dunno if it's becos of the marine parade tcm or becos of my polyp removal.. this is the first time that my af went back to normal to 30 days.. it's been 1 yr plus since i last had a 30 day cycle!

pls let me know the date of your gathering once it's cfm and see if i can join u gals... may is quite a bz month for me.. so afraid i might not be able to make it.

HiSunflower,

Tried to post someting for you on Sun but somehow not able to due to network issue.

Anyway, I just want to tell u that I feel exactly how you felt as that was exactly what I had gone through much earlier. I also went through a few weeks of talking to tummy and non stop crying before I finally got confirmation that the preg is not going to continue and I had to do a D&C. It was really painfully (mentally) and mind torturing...even until today..the "what-if" creeps in and saddness can just suddenly hit me and I will start crying for nothing.

And did I mentioned that this was the 2nd MC that I had gone through. The first one is somewhat like Ruru / Joanne case where by the time I scan, the preg already stopped and AF come almost immediately....

Sorry for being emotional tonight...

A bit fan now - I am supposed to be in my 2ww for trying nature now (ending coming Sun) but don't think there is hope this cycle. There is simply no symptom at all!!!! I think have to buck up for my next SO-IUI cycle....sigh...

By the way, Ruru - glad that AF came naturally for you..at least a closure and for you to move on.Remember to call Dr Nair if you want to start immediately, Letrozole is supposed to be taken from D2-7

tried to log in yesterday but I think the website have some probs.

Well, did break the news to my dear hubby... He was breakdown to silent and start to tears.. of happiness.... And gave me a very TIGHT HUG....

Did my Bloodtest yesterday, I get to know the result ard 2plus pm. I was told that it was BFP.....BFP...BFP...

The bloodcount was 3604.5. Not sure if high or not....

I have to go back to KKH to collect my medication today...

How Yve & Sue doing are they fine.. Kinda worry for them...??

Ruru,
Glad that ur menses come naturally... I just hope that you will have the BFP again!!!

Jia YOU.... Hope that my baby dust will dust all of you...
As per normal, cant sleep well wake up in very early morning.. Now experiencing cramps.. and hungry for every 4hrs..

Strawbearbi,
When is the time we can change our gynea... I tot of going back to my previous gynea Dr Benjamin Tham from AMK Women Clinic....

Good morning gals.. Wht a cool morning.. How i wish today is weekend..zzzzzz
Hi juliana
Congratulation.. It must be the best bday present for ur hubby.. So touching.. Ur hcg is three thousand over?? Thats very high.. I only hv hundred plus when test bfp few mths ago and felix got 800 plus and my gynea already consider very high.. Hmm. Maybe u r carrying triplets too?? When is ur next scan?

Hi ah kat
Oh.. Ur af due date is this weekend too?? Me too.. So u intend to do so-iui in may?? Sorry, abit forgetful.. U ever mention that ur gynea say u had a 19mm embryo for this cycle rite?? So there is still chance that u can strike natural.. All the best to u..

Hi ruru
Glad to know ur af had come naturally.. Yup, that time my gynea ever say my lining is quite thick but when menses come, i got bad cramp until cant stand straight.. But didnt really bleed alot like my usual cycle.. Jus got blood clot.. At this time, u will feel very weak, did u take mc rest at home?? I rest for 4days and when walk or stand quite long.. My womb will feel abit pain.. This is oso the best period to eat alot of bu w/o feel heaty.. Bu only after menses clear.. That time i take this chance to tiao my body strong.. Eat meat fried with lots of ginger, take dom, take 十全大补汤, take tcm medicine, chicken essence, wear slipper at hm etc.. Anyway u must keep womb warm and yet u wun feel heaty this period though u take alot of heaty food.. It is like u must do a mini confinement.. Do rest well and take care..;)

Hi sunflower
Yes, the gals r rite.. Here we share all the happy and sad news so u dun hv to feel bad to share any bad news.. We support each other.. That time when i mc, the gals here give me alot of support.. Yes, u r rite that we tend to feel demorslise and tired of all this art treatment.. Thats why i intend to try natural for this few mth but when i see all so positive in doing art, i suddenly hv the urge to start my iui soon..but due to work, can only do in june.. So i hope u can still owsys come to here and visit us.. U will stand up very fast again..JiaYou..;) do share with us wht dr fong say.. There maybe miracle.. Dun give up k..

Hi strawberri
So nice to know that u r already feeding ur gal so well that she already got tummy..;) take care on ur diet though.. Too much fast food is not so healthy.. U shd eat lots of fish now..;)

Hi snowie
Sorry that me abit forgetful, u did iui last mth?? Rest well..

Hi eskimobaby
Oh.. So nice that tcm dr at marine parade had regulate ur cycle too.. Think only me delay so long for this cycle after see him.. Hmm..

Ah_Kat,

Don't fan don't fan. Keep your mood happy, who knows? Even if no symptoms also cannot say for sure rite? =) Jia You!!

Ju,

Regarding the changing of gynae, there's no hard and fast rule lah. For me I prefer to complete the detailed scan (@ 20 weeks) so that I know my bb is ok, then I am more comfortable to change gynae. Coz if there's any complications, I think I can trust Dr Loh to take care of me. Since there's nothing to worry about, then I just change lor.

I would say at least wait till you are past 1st trimester when the pregnancy is more stable. Maybe the experienced mummies can offer better advice?

Joanne,

Actually I also don't take so much fast food, will just be more cautious when eating from now on. I still can't stand fish so I depend on my DHA to take the place of the fish lah.

Morning Ladies!
Rinoa
Sorry.. can't join u ladies this wkend. I'm kinda packed.. hv a lot of things to do.

I'll c u ladies in that mass gathering...

Bintan.. boring lor! haha Very hot.. rained ytday when I'm going back. Luckily the ferry was pretty calm..

Ju
Woah.. pretty high HCG. U did BT on ur D21 rite? Hmm.. so HCG shd be quite high.. maybe either a very healthy singleton or multiples.

Do take good care of urself hor. And watch that diet... we ladies tend to get out of control easily! hehe Take small regular healthy meals.

U ask for extra rest? Or u going back work on Wed?

Ah kat
Relax... try not to stress n thk too much abt it, ok?

And am glad more ladies can meet us in the coming gathering... look forward to meeting everyone!

Yes, very happy my AF comes on its own. There is no pain and cramps, just slightly heavier D1 AF flow than usual, but nothing alarming.

I am going for my HCG BT later to make sure it drop down to normal non-preggie level and going for my u/s tomorrow afternoon to make sure the womb is clean.

Hi Ah-Kat,

The 2ww is most torturous, and the mind will be over-analyzing overtime somemore.

I called yesterday morning. Dr Nair will see me tomorrow afternoon for u/s and will start me on Letrozole if the scan is clear. The nurse told me it is ok to start on D3 instead of D2 (today).

Hi Rinoa and Bambi,

Ok, we meet at 11am on Sat? Ah-Kat, u want to join us for desserts? We meet at JP new extension outside Breadtalk?

Gathering to cheer RuRu up attendance:
1. Ruru
2. Haze
3. Bambi
4. Vi4n
5. Ah-Kat
6. Strawbearbi
7. Juliana
8. Felixcat
9. Elle
10. Joanne (weekday night)
11. Devlina
12. Rinoa (free in April only)
13. Snowies
14. Eskimobaby ( prefer April, May to be further confirmed )

Eskimobaby,
the nurse will teach you how to jab, and the needle is very fine, so don't be scared at all 8:) You might hit a blood vessel, there will be a little bit of blood coming out after the jab, but just tiny weeny bit, not to worry. You might get 20cent / 50 cents blue black after that, but it is not painful one, will fade away in 1-2 weeks. Some ladies use a ice cube to numb the tummy area before jab, so they won't feel so much of pain. If you have fat tummy (like mine...haha), then it is an asset for the jab also 8:)

Afterall, there is no greater pain than delivering a baby, and we are all gearing up for that. So 敢敢来, ok 8;-)

Ju,
congrats 8:) Your HCG is very high, let's wait for your 6th week scan to see how many little ones you're carrying 8:)

Hi Joanne,

I don't intend to do mini-confinement as I didn't bleed much. I just ask my mom to help me to make chicken essence and pig-liver to replenish the lost blood. I feel fine actually, so just going to treat this cycle as a BFN that comes later, that is all.

But thanks for the advice.

I am thinking of making our gathering date on the 8th May (fri) evening or 30th May (Thur)? But Strawbearbi, are u flying to HongKong on thur night or fri morning?

Venue: ????
Timing: 7-10pm

Actually with such a large crowd, there is no way we can sit in a round table except in a chinese restaurant. So the reality will be a long table, I guess.

Any suggestion from the ladies?

Please indicate intention ok?

Hi Juliana,

Woah, I think with your very high HCG, it is a very real possibility that you are carrying twins leh! Woah, the wet dream of every IVF lady. Very happy for u.

bambi,
i can't really believe that i'm starting on my first ivf liao... quite apprehensive and worried too... i really must look up to u gals who take it in your stride.. i dunno if i can do it.. i think worse come to worse is to go GP or go KK for them to jab for me... cos i dunno if my hubby will be brave enuff to do it for me or not... talking abt fats.. i definitely have a big slab of fats... never short of it.. hahaha

joanne,
but also no use.. cos i'm going for ivf liao... also need 2 hands to clap.. hubby sperm quality also no good so even if i'm ok still got my hubby to think of.. so fastest way i think is to go for ivf.. at least tell myself that i've tried

eskimobaby
Dun worry so muc.. jus go with the flow.

Abt jabs, I always thk u'll get used to it. So dun worry. That is the last thing on ur mind for IVF.. the wk b4 2ww.. that's the worst of the whole stage of IVF.

Sometimes, i thk if u know too much, u tend to worry more too. So.. blur blur do.. blur blur strike... that's the best!

Jiayou!

RuruCat,
my colleague recommend this Jap restaurant :
http://hyacinthus.wordpress.com/2007/09/09/akira-japanese-restaurant-at-link-hotel/

http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel_id_33511/travel_site_143395/
BUS STOP at BLK 55 (Opposite Link Hotel) :
123 16 175 195 33 5 63 75 851 970 NR5

Akira Japanese Restaurant
50 Tiong Bahru Road
#01-01 Link Hotel
Singapore 168733
Tel: 6738-6221
Business Hours: 11.30am - 10.30pm daily.
$28++ for lunch ala carte buffet
$30++ for dinner ala carte buffet

I just called, they have partial tatami room to accomodate 14-16 person, and we can put our legs inside the slot. I've never been there before, so I dunno the service level & the food quality.

Ju,
if the restaurant is not halal, are you allowed to take sushi and salad etc that is without pork ?

ruru,
hahaha u describe it as a wet dream... so funny... hahaha how true...

hazeline,
yeah.. i'm trying to take it one step at a time if not it's too scary.. after i collected my BCP yesterday... went back home and took out the notes that the nurse has briefed me on the 1st time that i will start lucrin in 2 weeks' time i was like.. huh so fast... and hesitated a while whether i should start on BCP this cycle... but i told myself if i dun start i'll never start and never find out...

i'm thinking of getting tingkat dinner for the 2WW even tho i do go back to my mum's pl quite frequently but maybe to minimise travelling during the 2WW maybe got to take tingkat dinner.

Hi Eskimobaby,

Good idea! Just laze at home during the 2ww. Don't worry, once u start your lucrin jab, u will suddenly feel time flies by very fast.

Regarding the jab, you will get the hang of it fast, I guarantee u man! After that, you will become an expert!

Hi Bambi,

I passby the restaurant before, quite crowded, so the food must be ok right?

I don't mind, but the location is quite ulu, as it is not within walking distance from Tiong Bahru MRT station, must take bus for 2 bus-stop.

So which date u prefer or no preference?

Outing to cheer RuRu Cat up:
1. RuRu Cat (Either date ok)

2. Haze (Either date ok)

I duno where it is.. but doesn't matter. Wil find my way there.

8th May (fri) evening or 30th May (Thur)?
---
2. Haze (Either date ok)
3. Bambi (Either date ok)

8th May (fri) evening or 30th April (Thur)?
---
2. Haze (Either date ok)

I am going to Mt E for my HCG BT liao. Will check-in in the afternoon. Ciao!

I am suggesting SunMoon Jap Restuarant at Central (Clark Quay) or Billy Bombers at Cathy. I know there are more central branches for these 2 restaurants, but since we are a big group, we choose a not so central location, the restaurant will usually be more accommodating.

Every lady must come up with one suggestion, and I will call up to see which restaurant can offer the best in terms of location and seating arrangement.

Oh, the other forum gathering was at Marche at Vivocity. But does anyone knows what is their policy for large group? I vaguely remembered that for big groups, at least half of the group members must be at the q before the restaurant releases the table to the group right?

Hi ruru
Sorry next thurs is end of a wk since friday is holiday, i need to bring my kid hm so same for 8th may which oso end of the week so dun think this date i can make it.. Only either wed or thurs nite for me.. ;) u gals enjoy k.. Wait till next time as i oso dun want all of u to change bec of me.. Will feel bad...

---
2. Haze (Either date ok)
4. Strawbearbi (8th May) - I'm flying off on 30th Apr =)

Ok for me for either days - the Jap rest at Link Hotel, I had been there - quite good selection of food but lousy service - esp when they are crowded.

Actually so many of us - why not we go some round table Chinese rest?? Can order more food and easier to talk - Ju, u ok with non halah food?

---
2. Haze (Either date ok)
4. Strawbearbi (8th May) - I'm flying off on 30th Apr =)
5. Elle ( either date ok)

Btw, I will start on Puregon this Thursday. Is there any certain food to take or avoid during this period?

Hi Elle,

Woah, so fast hor! No, all food in moderation during follicle stimulation period (stage 2). If you want, u can start taking eggwhites, Ensure/complan drink to make sure you are getting enough protein in your diet, that is all.

Hi Joanne,

Oh, you mean you place your DS in your mom's place from mon-fri? I see, I see. Sorry, I misunderstood. Ok, next time we meet on thur ok?

Hi Elle,

Woah, so fast hor! No, all food in moderation during follicle stimulation period (stage 2). If you want, u can start taking eggwhites, Ensure/complan drink to make sure you are getting enough protein in your diet, that is all.

Hi Joanne,

Oh, you mean you place your DS in your mom's place from mon-fri? I see, I see. Sorry, I misunderstood. Ok, next time we meet on thur ok?

RuruCat,
no problem. Since Joanne can't join us on both evenings, how about having the gathering on Sat afternoon ? Then we can enjoy the food more leisurely, can follow up with coffee drinking / (window) shopping after that 8;-)

Ruru
Ya lor. time really flies.how are u now? feeling ok?
Just now i complain to the nurse saying that i feel frustrated to find place to poke the needles coz always so painful and bleeding. Then she saw my bruises, she was so surprised why I poke there where is the same level at the navel.she said it should be poked on the lower level from the navel.
Sigh! after 2 weeks of jab then I know.

Is ensure/complan taste nice? because i really can't stand milk unless those flavoured type.

eskimobaby,
i was like you last time. When 3 years back advised to go for IVF, once knew I had to have daily injection, i backed out. But after no result this few years and found out about this thread, i really feel encouraged to give it a try. From fearing those needles, now I already at stage 2. Honestly every morning is still a struggle for me, to find where to poke.hahahaha.

We jia you together, ok?

Hi Bambi,

Yah lor, but I am not sure whether any ladies want to meet on 9th May which is Vesak day and also eve of Mother's Day. Or else we meet on the 16th May (Sat)?

Oh and regarding lunch, there is this restaurant that supposingly serves healthy (less oil, salt, msg etc) food at Central, it is Grains Restaurant. Has anyone try this restaurant before? It has a large round table that sits 12-13 pax.

Ok, ladies. To make our gathering easier, there are only 2 dates of selection:
1. 9th May (sat) 2. 16th May (sat)

Please indicate preference !!!!!

4th outing attendance:
1. RuRu Cat - both dates ok

ruru
9th u can mah? hv to eat vege or not? Or half day?

To make our gathering easier, there are only 2 dates of selection:

Please indicate preference !!!!!

4th outing attendance:
2. Haze - both dates ok

Hi Elle,

I am fine lah. In fact, just now I went to find the chief embryologist for a chit-chat and she said that I looked very normal, I told her that if I keep harping on this sad event, I will not have the courage to move on.

I had cried and said goodbye to my embryo and now it is time to move on with my treatment as my biological clock is ticking loudly and surely at the background of my mind.

Nevermind lah, ask your HB to kiss your blue-black to make them all better ok?

Complan is more creamy and taste like melted ice-cream. Vi4n and Joanne loves it, but it is very expensive ($2-$2.70/satchet, depending on where u buy and how many packets u buy). For me, I drink Ensure 1 day, Complan another day. Ensure is not so thick but it taste ok to me. I only drink chocolate flavour for both brands.

4th outing attendance:
----------------------------------
2. Haze - both dates ok
3. Bambi - both dates ok