Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

elle
U wil graduate 1st lah.. me stil hv 2 more mths to go.

Chiam liao.. seems that KKH recently always kana bad reviews.. haha

So.. did u take BCP also? U under Dr Hema?

haze
hahahaha,not confirm I will graduate first just because i start first la.maybe coincidence ppl have bad reviews on KKH recently. But my bad encounter is dated far back 5-6 yrs ago.I am under Dr Yu and honestly I dun really like her. but now bo pian, started already so just stick with her. She never suggest to take BCP. Once AF comes,i go for lucrin jabs directly.My first few visits to SGH are very good and quite impressed compared to KKH. But dunno why lately seems it's not smooth for me also. Doc too busy to advise and never give clear instruction to nurse. Nurse misplacing things and causing me lots of times waiting there for some simple issues.
U'll do urs in KKH? under Dr Loh?

elle
Mine is done under Dr Loh.. but I've not been one of the lucky one to strike under him leh. I failed once in KKH, once in private.

Anyway, I guess as long as we strike, everything else doesn't really matter liao. It's only when u doesn't, then a lot of 'wot ifs' starts to come out..

Ladies, I checked earlier the AF red already.
So called up clinic again. tomorrow can start the serophene already then 16 April will go for scanning again.

Hi Elle,

Welcome back! So did u manage to store the lucrin in a proper fridge or everyday use ice?

How to avoid the blood vessels? The area with the least blood vessels is the area two finger-width away from and below the navel button.

Another tactic is to gentlely poke the needle on the skin to try 1st, but if like extremely painful, don't poke thru', find another spot!

What Haze said is right also, she said just poke around the area where the injection site doesn't hurt one.

Hi Gillian,

Yes, since you have double dosage, your cramps will be worse than the normal dosage. Don't worry and rest well. Drink more water to flush out the HCG from the urine.

Haze

Ya lor. for me as long as strike, then doesn't matter liao. but my hubby keeps saying, can choose gender or not? He din like to have gal
. But I dun really care.

hi, RuRu

How're you?
Fortunately managed to find a proper fridge there, but the problem is there is electricity problem. So the fridge might not as cold as the one here. And the worst part is my flight getting delayed either to or fro and my ice box can't sustain till then. So i guess there is about 2-3 hours was not in "cold" condition. I am not sure whether it will affect the medicine or not.

The nurse also taught me about the 2 fingers width away and I did per say but still bleeds
. Ya, I think I will try to poke first. If it is painful then I move to other spot. The funny thing is if today it's not painful does not mean the day after tomorrow the exact same spot, not painful. I also dunno why

But soon or later I will know where is the spot I can poke without pain.

elle
I guess I can't afford to be choosy... with my condition. So boyboy or galgal, I wil be happy lor.

Vi4n
Dun giv up, ok?

Hi Elle,

Oh, then you poke the same spot again lah! I always do that. This poking and bleeding and pain only happens to lucrin jabs. Puregon jabs are much easier and pain-free.

Hah, you tell your HB that the only country that can choose gender is in USA and maybe less developed countries where $$$ can ease the path?
But best go USA becos can choose gender and can put in as many as up to 5 embryos to increase chance some more.

My friend (female) also don't want to have gal leh. When she was preggie with her 1st gal, she was so upset. Now she is preggie with her 2nd gal!!! I think she will try for 3rd bb so that she can have a boy-boy. Weird thinking from a tertiary-educated couple with no large inheritance to fight for scenario right?

Ruru, Haze, not giving up. just try again.

I also don't know how many times should I try IUI.
Will ask dr about it on Thursday. Thinking maybe another time of IUI then proceed to IVF?
Because if do at Govt hospital, with so many times of IUI, i can do IVF already, right?

First thing of IVF with Dr SF Loh, but today read the experiences with KKH, seems like I better choose SGH.
Or maybe my doctor will recommend? See how lah.

Why dont want gal ah? my hubby prefers a gal, so will be as cute as me wor. hahahha..

Hi,Vi4n

U're also influenced to try at SGH? hahahaha.KKH jialat liao.
We all jia you together ,ok?

RuRu,
my hubby dun want gal because he finds difficult to take care. Well he scared his dd kena bully or cheated next time when grow up.Then i purposely ask him, is it because u scared of retribution coz u cheat a lot of gals is it( including me la, hahahaha)? Tat's y so scared having daughter. He cannot answer.

Aniway, i dun really care. I've been ttc-ing for almost 8 yrs, gender is the last time come to my mind. As long as healthy can already. I also told my hubby,if really got dd, then she will be mine lor, u have no share since u dun like. hahahaha.

Hi Vi4n,

With the new rule of 3k Govt Co-fund, 1time private SO-IUI = 1 time IVF at Govt hosp liao.

Last time is 3-4times SO-IUI = 1 time IVF at Govt hosp.

I have no preference also. I told my HB if boy-boy, he takes care, if girl-girl I take care lah.

Hi Elle,

That is also my HB's concern leh! I told him nowsadays kids are sexually active as young as 14years old leh, so the only way to control the situation is to have an open communication channel with the child and teach the child sex education once they reach puberty. They can act innocent with you but you dont know what they do outside one lah.

Ya loh, for location wise i will wanna choose KKH, but read the experiences here, seems better to choose SGH. So let's see how.
Ruru, yups with the govt grant IVF is really more affordable. In fact for my 2 times IUI, I can do IVF already.

But I just being asked to handle 1 project and boss already said 'attendance must be good ah'. So how to take that 2 weeks hospitalisation leave.
So i think try IUI again first loh, after that then see how ..

Ya now a day the children really grow up too fast liao. and too knowledgeable.

Vi4n,

jiayous! Who knows u'll b 3rd time lucky, IVF so mafan can avoid best avoid.

Mayb our 2ww will coincide in mid-may ?

Coz my AF came tdy too.

Vi4n, I also dunno how to tell my boss about the IVF. I plan to tell him once confirmed BFP liao. As for the 2 weeks hospitalisation, maybe I just tell him I have surgery or something like that. The reason is currently in my department of 6 people, 3 are pregnant. My boss already buay song with it and last time he passed a remark but jokingly, " no more maternity leave." Then I looked at him. He's quite sensitive and he jokingly said to me, "Don't think of it." Actually I want to tell him about IVF things, but after that incident, i decided to keep mum and will only tell when BFP. Can't imagine what will be his reaction then

Bambi - me finish the bitter med last week and the spotting had stopped - guess the bitter and smelly TCM really work!
But now me on another round of TCM (powder type) - supposed to help O...sigh...

Ruru - just saw your question for me..
Nope, for the first time I never had to wait for Dr Nair at all last Sat - in fact, the nurse had to call and hurry me! Apparently he had to rush for procedure that afternoon, so they never slot in a lot of patients. And he told me he worked on Good Friday as well..poor thing.

Anyway, the scan was good - I have a 19mm follicles on my own first time!! So, Dr Nair say don't waste it and gave me a jab for O and asked us to try nature this cycle - if nothing, then go back month end to see him for another round of Letrozole and SO-IUI.

Crossing fingers now and hope that I no need to see him for SO-IUI come month end but on the other hand don't want to get my hopes up. Anyway, we will know in 2 weeks time.

Ju: Counting down for you - we all need another piece of good news here!

ah kat
Woah... even with spotting n all, u stil manage on ur own a 19mm follicle. Hope u can strike naturally with this one..

elle
Do liao then say! If u can keep it til u're 3 mths.. I thk he cannot axe u liao... :p

Yah Hazeline - because Dr Nair is basing on the last round of heavy spotting to count the days and he said that I am in D12 when I see him????!!
Anyway, first time I see myself having such a big follicle - so, see how lor.

But he did mention that lining not too ideal...so...maybe not...

ah kat
R u given anything to make ur lining better?

Miracles do happen.. at the most unexpected time usually.. so who knows, rite?

Hi Ah-Kat,

Stop drinking Dr Zou's 'o' medicine as you have your HCG jab liao. Go and ask her for the Part 2 medicine which is to help improve the womb lining thickness one.

Haze - bo leh - actually honestly I think he also don't have too much hope...cause he had already asked me to make appointment for May to see him...ha ha ha..I don't know lah..on one hand hope that it will really happen, on the other hand hate to get my hopes to high up..we'll see

Today was a bz day at work, so much to catch up on in this thread!!

Ju,

One more week to go before judgement day!! Keep your spirits up ok?

Rinoa,

I also no problems with BCP, so don't think too much. Hope your this round smooth smooth BFP!!

Vi4n,

Sorry to hear abt your AF flow. Hope your next round of IUI will be the last hor.

Ah_Kat,

Wow, good leh got big follicle on your own. Must hardworking a bit lor. Good luck! Miracles do happen when you least expects it.

Haze,

How's your cold?

Elle,

I also juz told my boss it's a surgery. Men usually won't ask too much. If he ask you, u say it's a woman thing lor. He sure paiseh to probe further.

Ruru,

Not only teach sex education, but I read somewhere I think magazine lah, that we should teach them the proper terminology of body parts, explain what making love is and means from young when they start to ask. Instead of trying to hush hush the whole thing, make them understand what it's all about. Not easy to teach kids nowadays lah....

Oh, hope you will see good results this wed scan ok? Have fun ok? Enjoy the moment u can see your bb in the womb!

Today I was chatting with my preggie colleague during lunch time. she's with RH and she told me her gynae told her recently a lot of ppl from KK changed to RH. I guess KK really cannot handle the crowd. Also I think no need to worry for them coz their patient volume will not drop significantly. Think it's really heng suay. So far my experiences with KK has never given me any thing to complain about lah. So I no comments lor.

Hi vi4,
Sorry to hear abt ur af flow.. Btw, did u ever think of rest one mth and nu ur body well well first before trying again? As this time u got 4-5 follcles which are quite alot so i thot chances are high for u.. Anyway, i wish u the best of luck for ur 3rd iui.;)

Hi elle
I oso will hv headache on the 2ww if will to go into ivf.. As i will not want my collgues to know and yet if i say surgery, they may say our co insurance can claim so end up they will suspect if i dun claim.. As few yrs ago when i do laparscopy.. Rest 2ww, also got to submit expenses claim.. So super sianz lor.. Not sure wht xcuse to use unless take 10days leave which very xiong too.. Any gd suggestion fr any of u??

Hi ruru
Thk u being ur reply and being so helpful..;) i afraid get too fat by drinking so much milk now.. ;)

Hi ah kat
Natural can o is the best.. Wish u can succeed naturally this cycle.. Jia you in bding..;)

Hi haze
We will be cycle buddies by then;)

Good morning ladies,

Rinoa, my next 2ww should be end of April + 2 weeks of May because for me will not be 2ww but 3 ww. From these last 2 cycles, my AF will come on day 33-34. So longer waiting time for me. I also dont' know why I'm so special haiz..

Joanne, I don't think i can wait loh. I prefer to make use of every month of trying. My hubby actually think this time should be due to this poor sperm quality loh. So bought the euyansang chicken essence with american ginseng and cordysep for him to take 2 times weekly, on top of the man's vitality supplement.

I also bought the Pre-conception supplement from Blacksmore. It also has selenium in it about the same dosage as Complan. Btw, it stated there that selenium is a high toxic, so daily intake can't exceed 150pg.

For IVF, for me I already tell my boss about it mah, and they are supportive for now lah. I need to let them know early because need to arrange who to cover my works.

Vi4n
U bought that Pre-conception supplement from Blacksmore? I saw the advert on it.. but duno how good it really is...

Ohh... I duno too much selenium is toxic leh.

There shd be folic acid inside also rite?

Haze, because it said will promote free radical environment, so i wanna try loh.
Ya got folic acid, so i stop my own folic acid supplement.
I don't have a good healthy eating habit. so in a way this supplement will help also bah.

about the selenium, it is stated on this supplement box. you can check it out.

Hi Vi4n,

U can actually request from your gynae to let your HB take this herbal supplement, Tribestan. Dr Loh from KKH usually prescribed this supplement for the HB. The urologist that me and my HB visited also prescribed this to him. But I think cannot take long term, eat 1-2 months only. Tribestan can supposingly help with both morphology and volume of soldiers.

vi4n
good luck for your next try ya..u'll strike this time round!
My Hub was given Immuvitol when we were trying during SO-IUI.

Vi4n,
Dr Loh also prescribed Tribestan + VigorAce multivits for my hubby. Can buy at the cashier at KKH pharmacy, no need prescription for purchase.

I'm not sure of the exact cost, I think it is around $100 for 1 month supply. Hubby is taking the maximum dosage, 2 for morning + afternoon + night 8:) The other day he told his friends that he want to have 2 girls at 1 go. I prefer to have boys, but I'm just happy that he's motivated to try for baby now 8:)

Ah Kat,
wishing you lots and lots of good luck for your natural cycle 8:) Take good care of health during this period 8:)

After these few months of break, tonight I will resume acu with Dr Zou, will jia you for ER/ET that will be around end of June 8:)

Thanks ladies for the supplement recommendation.
That's time from KKH gynae also prescribed 1 supplement, can't remember the name but very expensive. i think around $100 for 1 month also loh. But that time never check whether got improved or not.

hi all, is it that the pregynl jab i took can cause +ve in pregnancy kit? if wed i need to take the jab again, when will be the best time to test?

Hi Vi4n,

Yah, that is tribestan loh, $100 1 bottle.

Another suggestion I have for u is during SO-IUI, when inserting the instrument into our V, the nurse usually uses KY-jelly as a lubricant. I recommend that you use Pre-seed instead as it is sperm-friendly. Although thru'out the IUI procedure, the tube won't touch the Ky-jelly but just for precaution-sake, u can bring your own Pre-seed lubricant and pass to nurse lah.

I used pre-seed for my FET op this time round also. My gynae is fine with it.

Hi Juliana,

Woah, congrats! So early can detect 2lines, could be twins leh!!!

Hi Gillian,

Yes, the residual from the pregynl jab can cause false positive in HPT and BT. If wed, you take jab, I think by mon morning 1st pee should be quite ok liao.

Another way to go about this is to start testing from thur morning and cont' to test until you get a -ve (which means the HCG jab has been metabolized fully by the body) and then cont' testing until the 2 lines appear again. But this is a very expensive method if u are testing with ClearBlue as 1 test kit is $12? You have to be consistent with the timing and the HPT brand for this experiment to work.

hazeline,
i'm not on pregynl. I'm using inserts only
cause Ruru ever said try testing using D12 and today is D12. Maybe I will try this Friday.. Then will tell DH abt it as Saturday will be his birthday.. So this will be a special present for him.. Just hope I will get it soon...
Everyday I kept rubbing my tummy and say pray so that it will STICK STICK AND STICK

Hi Juliana,

Me too when I 1st tested positive. Don't think you will get much sleep this few days also until the BT date. Or you want to bring forward the BT test?

Oh yah, u are not on Pregynl jab right?