Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

Gillian dun think too much, remember God has a plan for all of us, there will be a reason y he planned so, he will guide u through it.
Jus dun be so stress up will do. Today is a holiday jus go out n relax, the rest will take care by itself

Gillian,
http://library.med.utah.edu/WebPath/FEMHTML/FEM200.html In a natural pregnancy, the egg will be released upon ovulation, meet the sperm and fertilize in the fallopian tube. The embbie will continue to develop and travel along the tube and at around day 5-7, the developed embbie at blastocyst stage willl implant onto the uterus lining.

Your embbies were frozen on D3 of fertilization, allowing 1 day for thawing will be about D4 by FET day.

So FET does not take place on ovulation day.

Hi Gillian,

Don't freak out. The antibotics that KKH gives is just to prevent infection from the ER op if I am not wrong. It may not prevent yeast infection if I am not wrong.

I also had a case of itchy v and discharge about 2-3days after my ET op, and becos I am on crinone inserts, the situation was even worse.

I didn't see doc to get medicine becos I did the following to ease the condition:

1. Wash the V area with a PH-balanced wash (can buy at Guardian)
2. When washing the V, use the shower head to blast the V area with warm water, using fingers to pull apart the skin folds.
3. Dry the V area thoroughly after bath.
4. Use a small, sharp sicssors to trim your V bush to shorter length so that not so hot.
5. Eat cranberry dried fruit.
6. Eat yoghurt.

Doing the above improves the condition but doesn't really solve the problem, but at least makes it tolerable.

You try it ok? Don't panic.

Hi Ladies..

As you all have known, i was admitted to hospital on Tuesday and had an emergency op cause was dilated and had a weak cervix. Need to be hospitalised now... but so far so good.

Gillian,
what Ruru advise is true... U shd eat the antibiotic diligently..
By eating yoghurt and cranberry can decrease the yeast infection.. and do wash ur V using the PH Balance like Lactacid or something similar.

Currently I'm using crinone inserts. I always have the balance of the inserts diluted.. So I make sure I wash up regularly... To keep it clean and dry..

Hi ruru, thanks for sharing. i will get my hubby to buy the cranberry dried fruit and yoghurt.

hi ladies, im getting better.. so will just wait for the best..

Hi ju, yes, i really eat the antibiotic diligently.. but this infection still occur, nothing much i can do but learn my lesson to take more care on personal hygiene like use boiling water when washing clothes.. doc has said its nothing to do with the ER or ET..

Hi Sam, glad that you are doing well
it's not easy to carry triplet and u are so great all these while

Hi Gillian,

The PH in our v area is very delicate, so with any change in hormones, it can cause an inbalance and allows the bad bacteria to grow.

You may wonder why buy cranberry dried fruit rather than drink the cranberry juice? It is becos those bottled cranberry juice may have added preservatives and sugars, so not as effective as the dried fruit.

Ehh... regarding using boiling water when washing clothes, please be careful as certain fabrics cannot tahan the heat leh and may shrink or change shape? What I do is I bought this dettol laundry sanitiser (not the normal dettol brown liquid!!) and use it when washing clothes and underwear. Very nice smell one, don't worry! Your clothes won't smell like hospital smell!

Hi Sam,

Glad your condition has stabilised, phew! It is really very hard for you, tahan a few more weeks and your 3 princes will see you very soon.

Hi Gillian,

Don't worry about the KKH antibiotics, like what I tell u, I don't think that medicine can prevent yeast infection as yeast infection need another specific type of antibiotics to kill one leh.

It almost scare the shit out of me on Tuesday.. suddenly had cramps.. and i had to kneel down cause of the pain.. furthermore doctor gave me 3 options.. and 1st option was to terminate the pregnancy.. i almost want to kill myself there and than.. but too weak already.. then the 2bd option was to do the cervix circlutch with risks involved as my waterbag already bulging, luckily when they do the op on me i was hand upside down and it falls back nicely for them to sew me up.. though im still dilated now, but im suppose to hold for another few more weeks.. say another 3-4 weeks will be the best..

I really want to thank Dr Tan Hak Koon, Dr Hema and Dr Tan Wei Ching for doing such a terrific job and helping keeping my babies safe in me...

Well.. I can only say im utterly dissappointed with KKH as before i went SGH was at KKH and well..it's just terrible.. well, i guess after my delivery i may have to write a letter to the medical board to complain KKH..

Thanks for all your support, understanding and concern.. This triplet mummy here will hang on there to deliver her babies safely..

Hi sam,
I think the pain u encounter is early contraction.. Jus like when want to give birth.. Can imagine the pain when i give birth to my ds too.. Need enpuiral else cant tahan., must be very afraid at that instance.. Glad u r doing fine now.. Do rest well now.. So u going hospitalised for 3 to 4 wks?? Take care and we will all pray for u that u will hv a smooth delivery to ur three kawaii prince.. ;) btw, wht bad xperience u had encounter at kkh?? Convinent to share?

Hi gillian,
Dun be negative.. Doc never say implantation is not possible due to infection.. It is ur guess only so dun frighten urself k.. Everything will be fine for u and gd news will arrive after ur 2ww that is bfp result.. In the mean time, hv confident in urself and ur embryo..and rest well too k.. ;)

Hi Sam - hope all is well for you...3-4 weeks very fast one...I am sure everything will turn out well and soon we can go yr place to visit u!

ah kat

Hi Ladies...
Jus came back..

Sam
Jiayou jiayou! We'll all behind u here!

But hor.. why did u not ask to be send to SGH 1st?

Gillian
My FET wil be a medicated one as my AF is not regular. Dr Loh has already written my prescription for me... it includes med to prepare the lining, aspirin n something else which I can't rem wot it is.. haha

I'm suppose to call up KKH when AF is here. Wil go n collect my med.. then start taking them. Thk I shd go back for scan too close to my O time to check my lining... if all's ok, shd be able to do FET le.

Nurse told me shd cost less than 2K. But mine is D5 FET, so I expect to pay more than that amt for the extra days in the lab.

Dun worry abt ur condition... it's not over yet til ur AF is here... or when ur BT results is out. So stay +ve, ok?

Ah Kat, RuruCat,
I'm soooo happy that tonight will be the last brew of the bitter herbs from Dr Zou 8:) I can better tahan the taste than before liao. After drinking the herb, a small piece of chocolate can cover the taste already 8:) Yesterday I squeezed out a pimple on my cheek, caused by munching on the chocolates earlier on 8:p

Sam,

good to hear you are better now. You go, girl! Hang on, yah!

ruru,
Dr SF Loh also told me to take yoghurt everyday coz I told him that after my FET and with inserts, V itches though no yeast infection found after swab was done. He recommended I take yoghurt everyday. But what I notice is this: after taking yoghurt religiously every day, there is an increase in V discharge. Does that happen to you or any of the ladies here? It's not itchy though.

Hi Sam,

Hang on hor. Very fast you will see your little musketeers already. Don't think abt what has happened. just keep your mood & spirits up ok? Jia you!!

Hi Mystyy,

I am not as 'on' as you leh, as I only eat yoghurt as and when I feel an itch coming on at the v area.

Maybe u stop eating yoghurt for 1 week and see if the V discharge stop? There is no need to eat yoghurt during AF days, with the blood flow, the old lining is discharged together with the bacteria. Once AF clears, then you start eating yoghurt again.

Haze1ine,

Stupid me lor.. never chk and dun even know that there is a 24 hr O & G here at SGH.. Anyway me and my friend also had bad encounter with KK, but my friend already switched to Mt E. Just got the whole story from her too. so decided that once i delivered and settled down will take action against KK.

hi ruru
Thot usually no gd to eat any cold food during 2ww?? Isnt yogurt cold?? How like that?? Very contradicting..

Hi Joanne,

I didn't deliberately avoid cold food during 2ww, but more of cooling food. I do drink cold drinks but in moderation due to my PCOS condition where I should reduce my sugar intake as much as possible.

What you can do is you can place the yoghurt at room temperature around 5mins after taking out from the fridge so not so cold? But don't place in the open for so long as bacteria can grow and contaminate the food.

Hi Sam,

I think you have never think that you will suddenly need emergency service right? Nevermind, now that you and your darlings are safe, don't think too much and concentrate on getting thru' these 3 weeks 1st.

I assume that you are going to give birth in SGH and not TMC right? After birth if you have time, can you share with me your experience in the maternity ward?

I am keeping info for future reference as my gynae do help patients give birth in SGH. Thanks!

mystyy/ruru
I love yoghurt but hvnt had that since I kep away from cold stuff..

But wot Ruru said is rite, can't keep commercial yoghurt long at rm temp for long or it wil promote bacteria growth.

But u know those indian yoghurt.. most eaten at rm temp leh.

sam
haha.. that's why I wonder why u went KKH instead of SGH.

Nvm lah.. as long as u n ur bbs r ok now. Concentrate on that now... as a day goes by, u win ur battle for ur bbs longer by a day!

Sam, i detest KKH too..

yesterday i went kkh for the progestrone blood test.. on the form, the nurse wrote 7.30am - 4.30pm. as my hubby needs to work on sat, we can only reach kk at 2pm.. kkivf is locked! its sat.. i do not know the operating hours and of coz i just follow the nurse instruction. happen a nurse came out and told me its sat.. sounded like sat, i came for what? i show her the form and she said this test is ok, come on mon and continue with the insert. as u all know, i dont have insert, only the pregynl jab, i dun bother to tell her i dun have coz she is in a hurry to go off..

today i went 24hrs women clinic for the pregynl jab (due to sun). actually we can do it ourshelve, but hubby has problem to break open the glass bottle. he always cut his finger and his main concern is worry glass fragments will go into the medication. as i need jab 4 times, i was given 8 glass bottle of medication. 2 bottles every time, and need to mix.. in the box there is 4 bottles left.. 2 bottles for today and last 2 bottles on wed and the stupid nurse go and open all 4 bottles! After the jab, i was in a shock how come she did not return me the balance and i wonder the amt she has given to me today!

she went to another room and check with another nurse, came back with damn red face which she had cried! this made me even more worry with her crying and what she has done to me.. she said she gave me the right dosage, 0.1ml for every mixture.. since there will be 2 mixture, 0.2ml which is the right dosage i need to get. then told me to go kkivf to collect another set of pregynl which she will pay me back. imagine each set there will always be balance after injecting 0.2ml, and for what she open all.. is it that im the one and only first case that when there for such jab.

when i met my hubby outside the recep, i cant help but burst out my tears.. i cant stand them and really worry the amt of pregynl the nurse inject to me.

this 2ww, i dont seems to have ample rest, keep going to kk. i just hope this 2ww end faster.

Gillian,
I wonder if she is a new nurse, whether you're the first patient that she has to jab for pregnyl.

For me, I past the tower together with pregnyl bottle for DH to break for me, so that he won't injure his hand.

Hi Gillan,

The part of the pregynl bottle breaking and the glass fragments getting into the medicine is a real concern as I ever ganna before! I was so anxious when the glass shattered and I was still wondering whether to cont' as will I be injecting the glass pieces into my body??? In the end, I did it and luckily didn't have any bad side effects. Pheww!

Please don't worry about the increase in HCG dosage ok? It won't have any bad side effects on you except maybe u will feel more bloated, that's all. It won't affect the embryo and in fact it is good for implantation!

It is just that you are given such high dosage, you have to tell the nurse when you go for the blood test ok? It takes a few days for the HCG to leave the body thru' urine so it may or may not affect the HCG blood test result.

Gillian
Guess it jus wasn't ur day... but I thk more pregynl doesn't matter. Cos private practice has diff dosage, even for progesterone. U can check with the KKIVF doc-in-charge if u're worried.

But u know God always hv a funny way of testing us... so pull urself together.. show him that u deserve wot u ask for!

Gillian,

sighs.. sad right.. imagine meeting irresponsible nurses nd doctors .. KK is just like a factory .. or shall i say very "commercialised" like food court..but i think also depends on luck lor.. some people have good reviews abt KK some had bad reviews.. What i can say is if they jeaopardise your or babies life, SUE THEM!!!! ITS a must!!! WRITE TO MEDICAL BOARD!!! Dunno how many lifes they are going to ruin.. sad..

Sam,
What happened in KKH ?

Gillian,
I'm really dumbfounded about ur case.
But lucky its pregnyl, its to make ur body produce more progesterone.

mayb its blessing in disguise.

Tdy my 1st Day AF, SGH say i'm to be on BCP today till 26th April.

Will my AF stop coming?

My AF will suppose to report right after i stop BCP, is it true ?

First time on this pill leh.

Sam,
Were u on BCP previously?

Haze,

Antagonist,

u know the nurse told me my AF will report soon after i stop BCP on 26th.

I was like huh really ?
Why my AF will come twice in a mth ?

morning ladies,
I have 1 week to be exact for my Bloodtest..
So far feeling very good.. only tiredness and slight headache...
btw need to ask some of you.. do you have any bumps (like skin color or white color) ard ur nipple?? I do have thoses some bumps... (wondering)

rinoa
huh... by rite if u stop BCP, ur AF wil come in abt 3 days or so.

BCP usually take abt 2 wks worth...

But today is D wot of ur cycle?

Ju
I dun hv that.. so maybe got hope for u.

One more wk to go.. u hang on in there...

sam
U at home or stil in hospital??

Haze,

D1 of AF, see red but not full flow yet.
So i was instructed to start BCP today.

I took just 1 pkt of chinese medicine from Joanne's recommended senseh in marine parade, my AF shortened from 36days to 32days.

seemed to be working.

rinoa
That time I start BCP on D8 of my cycle... took 3 wks (1 wk longer cos of CNY closure)... then my AF comes like 4 days aft I complete my BCP.

I guess the purpose of on BCP might also be cos ur AF wasn't so accurate. With this, they can better gauge ur dates.. cos once u stop, AF shd come soon...

Sam wasn't on it maybe cos her AF accurate.

rinoa
Not for me.. cos when I go c Dr Loh.. I'm already on D7 of my cycle.. he said ok to start then.

Ju
When u start ur BCP? U stil rem?