Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

sam
thk since ur fertilisation % is pretty high.. with that amt of embryos... shd stil hv quite a good no. at D5 for transfer.

So excited for u! I hv a feeling u'll get wot u've been waiting for so long very soon liao...

felixcat
good... clear all ur doubts. Maybe can ask abt D5 transfer also. Thk ur gynae shd be more open to that!

But again, they say hv to c quality. I thk mine wil nv survive for D5 transfer... cos my fertilised embryo 'dying' rate.. is 1 per day. I hv 8 fertilised.. by D3, only 6 left.

felixcat
I thk it's a 'chicken n egg' thing lor... some worried that embryos wun survive til D5 in cultured env... but if they do... they'll be super strong!

so it's a risk actually... if u hv a lot of good quality embryos to spare... u can take that risk!

Felixcat,

Actually therre are failures in d5 transfer wor.. I think it really depends on luck also..Though its said D5 chances are higher as the cells have broken out from their shell and its a 1 day cell before implantation.

Hi, tried calling Dr Tan Kian Sing @ Clementi but no one picks up the call. Anyone knows the operating hours???

Thanks in advance

Haze1ine,

I tell you even if i preggie it will be a difficult journey for me.. Imagine yesterday my DH wen out with me in the morning and took a day off to accompany me, he come back my MIL alrady waiting and ask where he go..Than when he told her he brought me to hospital for check up she tell my DH to go JB to pick up her EXCEL supplements for her.. than i tell my DH not to go as im still in pain and need him to look after me..

This morning even worse, she left the washing machine soap water all on the toilet floor k and did not even bother to clean it.. tell you actually she suspect im already pregnant cause she see why i sleep so early and nap so much nowadays and why my DH keep preparing supper for me, eat so much eggs and milk and why i order tingkat and nv cook.. see how evil people gets..

Actually i was thinking if i preggie i sure go back parents house ... at least i know im in good hands.. got good food everyday, got "pu" cause my family can make very good "pu" food, can look after me well.. but my DH sure object cause he sure say not very nice and it will only worsen me and my MIL relationship only.. *sighs* Should i be selfish or see other people face?

sam,

oh yes, i remember you mentioned that you staying with yr mil. she should be happy if you're preggie. my mil will prepare tonic for me if i'm preggie so i guess i'm lucky. *sigh* you be more careful ok?

Felixcat,
Before, On and after IVF also need to take care of your health and body..

even now after ER try to tio the womb, eat nutritiously and i think my DH ask me to aviod some fish.. they will have another skin or something dunno what my DH say la but it will affect our womb and implantation i heard..

Felixcat,

Lucky you ...How i wish im so blessed also but too bad lor..Hiya.. too many eveil stories to say but forget it la... Whats the point.. I hope god can see... My SIL wedding, i already know she bias already..

forget it .. i dun wanna get upset again because of them and affect me..

sam
dun thk so mch abt ur MIL lah... jus ignore her n u rest well.

But if u can, do 'escape' to ur mum's side.. giv some stupid excuse lor. Thk u'll feel better n ur mood also better when u're there.

Ur SIL is her own daughter mah.. of course her own children more impt wot. But I thk if she knows wot u're doing to giv her a grandchild, maybe her attitute wil change leh?

My own MIL passed away abt 1+yrs ago. I had a trying time then also when she's staying with us when she's sick. But now thking back, she's not so bad lor.

She did say then.. hv kids or not.. doesn't matter. She also nv hint or say anything at all aft we got married n dun hv for so long. It's my SIL whom is brainless n I cant stand!

Haze1ine,

Haha i think she will pray hard everyday i will never give her a grandchild...To her my SIL child is enough and can be precious already..

Haze1ine,

Before your ET did they do a final scan or anything? so far they never tell me leh only do blood tests on that day... They dun need to see womb lining meh?

sam
If it's a grandchild from her own son, then it's her true line mah! Her daughter one... also not 'belong' to her!

Dun thk so much lah... jus concentrate on ur ET nex.

Final scan? Dun hv... I told u I was given antibiotics... n also inserts. Then on actual day, jus keep full bladder.. off I go liao. Same as IUI, jus a bit longer.

And since u said u're doing the wot trial n dun hv to keep full bladder.. then u really hv nothing much to worry abt lor. Jus hv complete bed rest for that few hrs. Aft that, can discharge liao.

Oh... at Mt E, seems that they insist u mus rest in incline position, meaning ur head lower n ur buttocks higher. I hv motion sickness one n I'm feeling a bit sick in that position. But I ask for another pillow instead n felt better aft that.

They also insist when u discharge, u cannot walk on ur own n they wil call the wheelchair for u. I felt a bit paisay lor... nv sit in a wheelchair b4 leh!

sam
I dun even hv bloodtest jus b4 ET leh.. wot's that for?

I know I hv numerous bloodtest aft ET.. almost once every 3-4 days to check my progesterone level. Did twice so far liao. Mon another one... they want to make sure my level is rite.

U know u'll be given progesterone inserts or injections? I also hv oral progesterone.. plus estrogen also.

Somemore I LS then. so hv to take LS medication! But I nv take now... I thk I take too much raw eggwhite, sure wil LS!

Haze1ine,

U mean during 2WW still need to go hospital ar? Thought cannot go out...

I don't know i thought only progesterone tabs since my DH only got that..

countind down to the end of my 2WW... today is D9. Getting more and more nervous. No spotting... dunno good or bad news cos no spotting means AF will not report soon... HAPPY! Bad news means no implatation....SAD! So dunno be happy or sad! hehehee! Think I think too much liao.... going crazy man!

Wonder how's Ah-Kat... dunno she do her BT ardy or not.

felixcat
Is it? I duno progesterone wil cos LS. I hv been LSing since ER leh. But now getting less frequent n not so watery liao.

My gynae jus told me the jabs wil make me feel bloated too. So he was actually wondering if he shd let me continue with the jabs or change to inserts instead. But I thk I told him I felt better liao so he stick to jabs... since my 1st bloodtest, results pretty good.

sam
No.. my OHSS hits me right in the face aft my ET! So do take care, ok?

serene
Dun freak urself out over the symtoms... I also cant be bothered abt them liao... cos I actually felt nothing at all and it's already D8 since ET.

R u on progesterone? If u r, shdn't hv spotting at all lor.

Ladies, I'm going downstairs GP to jab my buttocks liao! Talk to u all ltr...

hazeline,
before going thru the ivf, can i know what should i take eat or not to eat..

want to take care of myself before going thru the ivf. the gynea did told me to lose weight abit as i'm 57kg.. so decided to take up yoga.or light excersise

Hi there!
I'm a mum to a 3 year old Girl. I have tried to conceive again (for more than 2 years) but have no luck. I did twice SO-IUI cycle at KKH early this year but both unsucessful.

I just had a cysts removal surgery done in Sept and my gynae checked my fallopian tubes and womb at the same time. Everything is fine. After going thru so much failure, my husband & I are emotionally & physically stressful. We even thought of giving up but we know that our 3 yr old girl really want a sibling badly. She will talk to my tummy like there's a bb after i do iui so we continue to keep trying & hope that miracle happen.

Currently, i'm seeing Dr HH Tan at KKH and is considering to try IVF as the chances is higher. I am now in a dilemna whether to change gynae or not. Sigh... Btw, anyone going through IVF @KKH?

I was wondering if you could give me some advice, suggestions on what the whole process involves and how much I should be willing to fork out (everything included). Are you happy with your treatment and which doctor are you seeing at KKH?

Just any advice at all will be very very much and gratefully appreciated. = )

Hi baby 123,
I think its better for you to try IVF since 2 time of SO-IUI is a failure.
The next availble time for KKH IVF is next year end of Jan or Feb 09.
Try to make an appoint with your doctor and request for IVF.
I just made my appointment for IVF next jan / feb 09. My gynea is Dr Marianne Hendrick

Sue, My SO-IUI process also started off quite similar to yours - I was on Gonal F & Centrotide for surpression for a long time before Dr took me off on Centritide to do the trigger for O.

Anyway, for those who asked - I still have tested again....the last time I did was this Tue which show BFN...no know leh - avoiding reality

sue,

Im currently with care@SGH, am really satisfied with their service and treatments. So far i am very happy and grateful to my Gynae cum doctor. She is Dr Hema.. I think it doesn't matter if you go for a consultant or Senior consultant or watsoever because they will all sit down together to study each and every patient's file and most importantly you feel comfortable with the doctor.

But you have to bear in mind that they are very strict in tests and there are tonnes of tests to go through before they give you a go ahead on IVF. Some tests are even compulsory and not compulsory at some pte hospitals or KK. I do not know the reason why is that so but i presume maybe they wan to be sure and certain.

My Gynae and nurses instruct me what to do stage by stage and even my doctor says most likely i will get OHSS but will monitor my situation and control the situation closely.. Im glad so far im good and do not have any terrible signs..

I had been to other gynae before i went to see Care@SGH and frankly i really hate gynae who give false remarks like promising their patients they will make them pregnant and their patients will be pregnant within how many cycles.. I find that a bullshit..So i tested to see if my current hospital or gynae is like that and they do not give me an exact percentage only after my tests and they give me a rough gauge, i think its more convincing that way right?

I know of some doctors who gave their patients up to 80% successful rate i think the patient themselves need to study and choose carefully and think about it whether to believe or not..

Sue,

There are happy and unhappy patients with each and every hospital, i think most important is to have trust and feeling comfortable with the gynae that you choose.. As IVF journey is not an easy one, you will not wan to stress yourself out by choosing a gynae where you will have doubts on..You will be at a better position to conceive if you are stress free and relax..

ah_kat,
sorry I didnt see your prior posting asking what happend.

Im sorry to hear of your situation........
but lets keep our chin up and try again!.. Im trying to.. cheer myself up too.....while Im saying this...hahaha

Well, in my case...at the scanning (two days before ER) I had 7 eggs. on ER they retrived 6 follicles.. which only 3 contained eggs.. where only 1 was mature enough.

both Dr and nurse says they were suprised of the out come because my fsh is fine and response to the drugs from the E2 levels were good.

Next step says to do a centritide protocol... I have been checking and reading.. seems like this protocol is good for people who do not response well to the medication..

the first week during my AF, it is only gonal-f.. so I am guessing to recrute more eggs and then next week gonal-f with centritide.. to control the ovulation.......

I was telling my husband about seeing other doctor for second oppinion.... he said.. we are in good hands already.................

sam,
thank you very much for sharing..

I will try to talk to my husband about CARE@SGH.. besides we will be able to use the govenment funding there, am I correct?

Sorry, I meant I still haven't re-tested again...
Today is only Day 1 pass 2ww..if AF coming, shld be +/- 3 days pass 2ww since I got off the med.
Scared scared

Sue, I belive my SO-IUI is a centritide protocol.
I was put on Letrozole (Oral drug) to grow follicles on day 2 then subsequently switched to Gonal F + centritide. Because Dr was telling me although I get big follicles through Letrozole but since I did not succeed during the last IUI (pure Letrozole), he added in the injectables this time. And I had to go back for scan almost every 2 days where he will then adjust the centritide and Gonal F dosage. Towards the end, just before trigger, he then took off centrotide

thanks Sam - I worried until I feel a bit heart-burn....I really really really hope can strike...but soooooooo scared that I give give false hope to myself.

Hi Ladies.. I'm back.

My GP very funny... say I almost everyday go jab, want him to teach my DH how to jab, so I can save the $ or not? I say nvm lah.. my DH very chicken one, if I can, I'll do it myself. But it's at the buttocks, very diff to do it myself lor. So bopian...

He even ask me.. why mus everyday jab? Jab til when? And also.. how much my progesterone cost! haha

He said my tummy looks bigger leh.. but I said I felt better leh... pee more.. though stil bloated.

ah kat
Dun stress urself lah... jus let things be. If AF comes, it'll come.. if not.. it'll nv! So if u dun dare to test... then forget it lor.

Did ur clinic call n ask u to test? Mine always very sad... always spot b4 actual test.

Baby123
If u thk SO-IUI is stressful, wait til u go thru IVF! Doesn't mean to scare u but it's the truth lah.

But we've got to do wot we hv to do.. and I've always say, it's very impt to feel comfortable with ur gynae.

Hope u make ur decision soon n be on ur way to success!

Ju
I thk u shd cut down on spicy food... though it's a bit diff for u I know. But try to take more healthy stuff like veg n soto lor.

Cut down on cold drinks n also 'cooling' stuff. U know how Chinese hv all these 'cooling' stuff? It's a bit NO-NO lor.

Try this website... last time someone posted it one.. I forget who liao.. thk felixcat.

http://www.benefits-of-honey.com/heaty.html

Maybe u can try brisk walk... I find yoga doesn't make u lost weight leh, personally.

Ju
Oh.. u can also take multi vits now... to make sure u dun fall sick then. Jus check with ur gynae if it's ok to take wot u intend to take.

Does ur DH smoke? If he does... try to ask him to start cutting down now. Wil do his sperm a lot of good. I nv ask u to ask him to quit.. cos I know not possible! My DH also smokes... and I giv up donkey yrs ago to ask himt to quit liao.

sam
Woah... beef stew. Sounds yummy leh!

sue
I thk u shd insist on 2nd option... tell ur DH that. Guys a bit diff to understand why we make a big fuss over certain things at times. To them, less trouble, better!

Everytime my DH disagree with me on something, I'll ask him, u want kid or not? If not, then forget it lor. I dun hv to go thru all these leh... who wil want to.. if one hv a choice, rite?

Haze1ine,

Don't wanna do heavy cooking and my Dh loves Meat and today tingkat all vege, fish no meat so make a stew easier.. Furthermore Fri is no meat day for In laws..

sam
I admire u leh... can work.. n cook... me leh... everything also duno.

I've said b4 my biggest failure as a wife: Cannot cook, cannot hv kids.

Actually, I dun want to be so happy too if I noe I'm pregnant leh... cos.. IVF pregnancy very unstable one. I'm a very pessimistic person. I'd rather hope for the worst n I wun feel so bad if it's really not meant to be lor.

hi RuRu Cat,
Thanks for the infor. ok, so it's natural FET on 2nd cycle. Hmmm....no natural FET on 1st cycle? ...since first cycle, the likelihood for self-ovulation is higher. You ever requested FET for first cycle?...since it's closer to ER, so ehhh I assume linings mayb will be thicker/better (cos mayb residual medicated effect from prior injections is still affecting the linings?).

Duno if I'll ovulate or not also, coz my egg retrieval was only done on left ovary. Maybe medicated FET for my 2nd cycle is more advisable.

haze1ine,

why think like dat..now must act as if you pregnant .. order your DH to do this and dat..hee only now its time for us to make good use of our hubby..keke..