Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

mystyy,

ic. actually what's the diff between ga n light sedation? light sedation also totally knock out? when we are doing er, is it always ga?

for the tcm medicine, i usually pour abt half a mug warm water n adjust if it's still too 'thick'. my medicine this time is not so bad, tasteless. just don't like the particles.

sam,

don't think too much abt the finances for now ... since there's nothing much you can do anyway. just focus on yr coming et and 2ww. n take one step at a time.

when you're pregnant, maybe you can see if there's any part time/temp job which you can do. some co may employ you if you're only a contract staff for a few months n they don't hv to pay for yr maternity leave.

as for yr in-laws, hmm, think it's difficult for yr dh to stop giving his parents allowance unless his parents are 'automatic'. perhaps can discuss abt reducing the amt just to tie through the rough period? i think as parents, they won't want their son to suffer also rite?

Morning Ladies...
Today my tummy much flatter liao leh... n somehow, feel that my hopes also gone flat! *sigh*

It's really funi, I'm worried when it's all bloated. But now that it has gone now, I'm worried that my hopes r gone too!

sam
dun thk so much abt ur situation. Jus go one step at a time.. sometimes u'll feel like why things happening at this critical time.

I was worried abt my work then... even try n pick a timing when I'd less affect my work n all! But some things no matter how much u plan, cannot predict one. So in the end, jus dun thk so much lor. Things wil work out eventually, somehow.

Maybe can talk to ur ILs abt reducing their pocket $ lor.. for now. I'm sure they dun want their son to be stress also.

mystyy
haha... now I laugh it off when I tot abt that incident. Some ppl r jus too fortunate to be sensitive to ur situation. I hv a feeling that same lady wil come n ask me wot happen when I gone missing for wks! Wil try n brush off her questions. I'm not the only one who can't stand her now anyway.. so nvm.

felixcat
light sedation is fine I thk. I really dun feel a thing leh. For sam's case, might be diff cos she dun hv an anesthatic on standby like Ruru said. But for our case, we shdn't feel anything with light sedation.

and wil be good if u opt for that for ET too.. save u a lot of problem abt the bladder thing!

Haze1ine, Felixcat,

*sighs* I wish my In laws are understanding lor..Too bad they are not.. Anyway i just wanna check freezing of emmbies by cash or medisave?

Today embroylogists called at 8am.
D3 of fertilisation - Total 12 - 10 are doing very well and 2 are still doing well but slower..

I ask her the grade of my embbies and she said majority are grade 2, grade 1 being the best and grade 3 they will discard.

They are very strict on grading the cells le.. she said if shape are not uniform, cells structure smaller or doesn't divide nicely they downgrade them..

They will instruct me for ET tom which is confirmed on Tuesday..

Felixcat,

GA is stronger than the light sedation. Now, I remembered - when I had lapscope done, after the lapscope, my shoulder blades were so painful as the anasthesia is wearing off. But for ER is just light one, coz after it, I didn't feel any pain. But I heard someone here mentioned before that someone did under Light sedation and could hear what the nurses and doc are talking abt in the OT and could feel some pain. Think it all depends on the anasthetist you get. So don't worry, ok?

Sam,
I am kind of in the same situation as you. DH also give to his family and it's like nearly 1K a mth, without them working. Sometimes, I get angry too and told him many times that if they ask for extra, not to give unless it is life or death situation. I look at DH, also poor thing. He works very hard and in the end, have little left for himself after paying bills and sending to his mum. But I think for that, I cannot do anything much coz it is his duty to give, but I put the limit to it. Coz at times, the younger sibling kept asking to buy this and that, I say he is big enuf to find part time work and earn his own pocket money. There were times I spoke to the younger sibling too, telling him to be more independent. Once he said he wanted to study here, I told him he needs to have lots of money although if scholarship is given. Coz I know if the sibling comes here, then it'll be definitely DH's full responsibility to take care of him.

Just be patient, ok, Sam? You've gone a long way. If you get preggie, at least the baby will keep you company and make you happy. For now, try not to think too much about those things. Already we are encountering difficulty in getting a bb on our own and then there are also other problems. Maybe for now it seems life is unfair, but perhaps there might be a glimpse of goodness in everything that we are experiencing right now. So, cheer up! Your ET is next Tues and your embies will want a happy mummy when they are transferred in you! ;)

sam
If I rem correctly, freezing is via cash leh. Cos I paid a 3K deposit earlier.. wil be deducted thru there. Cos not everyone wil hv embryos to freeze mah... thk only ER n ET procedure itself can use medisave.

Even things like assisted hatching, which is addtional cost, is via cash I thk. My bills not here yet.. maybe u can check with mystyy.

Every hsehold hv their own story lah... but I thk u mus hv been really patience to hv really come this far. So do hang on n dun giv up now, ok? I'm sure u can get over this.. we'll all here for u.. jus like u've been here for all of us.

Hw r u feeling otherwise? Stil bloated? If there's bloating above ur belly button area.. do tell ur gynae, ok? Cos I find my OHSS, started when it started to bloat there.. that's wot makes me very uncomfortable.

Sam and Hazeline,

ER and ET bills comes together as one bill. Things included are items they use during ER and ET, anasthetist charges, drips - protein or water if you use any of them, the insurance that you bought ICSI charges, assisted hatching chargins and freezing charges oh and also your day surgery bed charges for 4hrs. Others included are things like semen preparation. Sam, freezing of my 3 embies cost $642. So the total of $9K++ in the bill includes everything. No separate charges. The only thing is the deposit of $3k paid before ER.

Remember I was on drip (water) coz of empty bladder? I was afraid it would be ex, but it only costs $2.70. For FET bill, it includes thawing abt $214 and for both ET and FET, ultrasound is charged at around $200++. So in other words, anything that they do and use for your ER and ET is in your final bill.

sam mystyy
So far, I've only received a copy of the consent form I signed n also my insurance.. hvn't got the total cost breakdown yet.

But it's stated D5 wil cost more leh.. hv u ask SGH how much urs wil cost? I thk since it's govt, shd be much lesser than us.. so dun worry so much, k?

And pls do freeze them, dear. U've went thru so much to get them out n I thk u're very fortunate to hv so many good grade ones. Pls do still keep them... dun worry abt the cost now. I'm sure u'll work something out.

And buy the insurance also hor... no matter wot, it's stil better to play safe. I assume u're transfering 2 nos in order to qualify for the govt subsidy.. so it's abt $100+. Mine's $700+, cos it's 3 nos. and yes.. that's a lot of diff.

There's a breakdown of the storage fees (exclude GST) alone for frozen embryos at Mt E:
24mths S$481.50
36mths S$706.20
48mths S$920.20
60mths S$1123.50
72mths S$1284.00

But during the counselling, I was told to freeze embryos, wil be abt $1-2K leh. The price increase if u hv more embryos. So I thk this figure is jus the storage fee. There's an additional fee for the no. of embryos u hv, the more u freeze, the more ex.

morning ladies!

hmm ... will go for light sedation then. don't want to ache all over after the procedure.

haze1ine,

how are you doing? thur will be yr bt. so fast!

sam,

hv you heard from yr embryologist?

think somebody asked for an updated list. here goes:

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Nick</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Gynae</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Status</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>IUI - Oct</TD><TD>2WW (BT - 12 Nov) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haze1ine</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>IVF - Oct (Stage 2)</TD><TD>2WW (BT - 13 Nov) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Hema </TD><TD>IVF - Oct (Stage 2)</TD><TD>ET - 11 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Strawbearbi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>IVF - Oct (Stage 2)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanne</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>SOIUI - Nov</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rurucat</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>LK Yap</TD><TD>FET - Nov</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>PebblesS</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>FET - Nov</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Felixcat</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>IVF - Nov (Stage 1)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yve</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Peter Chew</TD><TD>IVF - Dec</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Try Again</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>FET - NOV/DEC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyy</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>LK Yap</TD><TD>FET</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ah Kat</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Suresh Nair</TD><TD>IVF - Dec</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juliana</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Hendricks Marianne Sybille </TD><TD>IVF - Jan'09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

haze, Dr Cheng is from TMC, and the grant is only for govt hosp...

can i check, for a cycle of IUI &amp; SO-IUI, roughly how much will it cost? My hubby has been asking me and im not too sure as i have yet to go back to my gynae to check on it yet

felixcat,
no.. not yet....
I wanted to go back to Japan for a while.. but my parenets said... not to come back since it is winter and was afraid that I will get sick from the weather difference.....

Im kind of ... depressed now....sigh....

wanted to go back and consult some people back there too......so sad....

sue,

are you japanese?

hmm ... it's good to hv family support. do they know that you are trying ivf? if the difference in weather is big, then you may fall sick. but it may be good for you to go take a break.

i've been wanting to go japan, but i kept postponing it due to this baby making project. n ds will start school next yr so i can only plan to go during the school hols when there'll be surcharges n crowd....

joline,

none of us under tmc thus not sure what are the charges.

my doc at gleneagles charges ard $600 for iui and ard $2000 for so-iui (varies depending on yr injection dosage).

felixcat,
yes..they know and that is why they say I shouldnt go back.. since if I am starting my next IVF at January.. I should take better care of my body...

but because my parents are not young I know they will say they cannot come over because they are not young and the weather difference will be too much to adjust from there to here...

it is so Japanese.. for them to oppose...and even my sister wrote to me not to go back since it is already 10 degree there.....

my hubby says they are just caring for my state...but.... sigh sigh sigh....

sue,

hmm ... i can understand the dilemma. maybe it's better for you to rest here or maybe go for a short trip nearby? or maybe yr sister can come?

felixcat,
I wish.. she can... but her girl is trying out for a private junior high school in 3 years and is going to cram school.. even during the holidays..

and with two children.. I dont think she can come over alone.. unless I go back and help her with them.....

yes, that is what my hubby was saying too.. to make a trip somewhere else.......
but, just felt like going back home and relax..................and reset myself for a new start.....

sue,

are you working? if not, i can understand it can be quite boring at home with no one to talk to the whole day.

maybe all of us should have an outing and go to yve's restaurant.

sue,

they hv onsen in taiwan. maybe you can consider.

seriously, i wonder if the rest of the ladies would like to meet up n go yve's restaurant for a meal?

what say you, ladies?

Felixcat,

Yes the embroylogist called at 10.30am this morning. All 10 are doing great and will be doing ET tomorrow at 7.30am.

The other 2 are still growing but most probably will discard them as i said they are quite strict on grading the embbies and all grade 3 will be discarded..

Haze1ine,

I started to feel some soreness and cramp at my womb there.. issit normal? Like those raw raw feeling like that and i cannot walk fast will be quite painful.. can walk slowly.. and also having very bad heartburn..

Just now i call the nurse to check wats the bill size now.. She told me its $6K incl of my medication, so medication i will take back $1.6K. she said will try to help me put in freezing in the bill. Freezing is $1.2K. So roughly my total bill will come up to about $7.2K. Hope it will be lesser...at the final bill tomorrow...

felixcat,
Taiwan has onsen?! really?? can you tell me the name of the onsen?

sam,
I was looking at SGH websight... but couldnt really figure out what the contact number is for IVF speciality section...
Can you tell me the contact number to SGH?
thank you

Hi Sue,

I dunno if i can give you the direct no to the centre itself cause the no given to patients only.. but i give you SGH no and maybe you can ask them to divert you to Care atSGH.. 63214377.

sue,

actually there are many onsens in taiwan. i went to one at 乌来. it's ard 30 mins from taipei city.

trying to find a website in english. you don't by any chance, understand chinese?

Hi FelixCat,

I am on for the idea! Loves jap food and don't mind meeting you ladies as we have been talking for almost 8months.

Hi Sue,

Hmm, u don't mind I ask u personal question? Ehh, since u don't have to work, I assume you are financially ok, so why don't you seek the 2nd opinion of a private gynae? At least check to make sure Dr PC Wong's course of action for you in Jan will be suitable for your condition right?

Oh, would you like to join a gym to exercise? I feel very relaxed after exercising and mentally I feel stronger also. I had been training under a personal trainer for the past 3years since my spine surgery. And since my personal trainer is a lady, the gym sessions are like chit-chat session with a friend.

Or you like to keep a pet? I have 3 cats at home and they have kept me company and make me smile all those lonely moments when my HB is too busy with his work to keep me company. Cats are clean (bathe once every month)creatures, they pee and poo in a sand box so very hygenic and don't need extensive toilet-training. They are also quiet, don't have to go for walk.

Hi Sue,

I have been to this onsen hotel, "Shui3 mei3" in Taipei and love it. There is this area in taipei known as "Bei3 tou2" that has many onsen hotels. You can either stay overnight or just book the private onsen room for an hour.

Hi gals.

Hey!! I welcome everyone to come to my restaurant. When will it be a good time? Let me know yah. On weekends it'll be better since it's in the Raffles Place area. Weekdays' lunch time crowd is overbearing.. And dun wanna rush thru' meal also.

Sue, u Japanese and alone here? Maybe can pm me where u stay.. I can keep you company! Actually my DH going back to Japan next week 'cos of biz and also 'cos the family tomb "moving". I don't wanna go 'cos it's so freaking cold... I don't like cold. So, although I'm the eldest son's wife, I've been excused. Hahaha.

felixcat: think u can safely change my dr to Dr. LC Foong. Will go see him and stick to him for the treatment.

Don't know if you have this experience of mine before? I kept bumping into this ex-colleague of mine who is heavily pregnant for the past 1 month. I think in total i spotted her twice (without greeting her) and yesterday night I was at Suntec and I bumped face-to-face with her again! We spoken abit to each other, she is giving birth next month. Sigh.. I hope this is a good omen as I never had this experience of seeing an aquaintance in 3 different places in a short span of time leh!

Hi Yve,

I also don't like the cold but my HB loves it man. Every year during CNY period, we go for our annual holiday and he always prefer cold countries. We had been to Hokkaido 2 years ago and the temperature was like -20 degrees celcius! My FIL was not used to the cold temperature and slippery ice that he slipped and fell during the trip, he was not used to the jap food (He is a typical chinese man with weak gums and bad teeth, so must eat rice and soft meat). I think he didn't really enjoyed the trip and after that trip, he never dare to go on long holiday trip with us again!

Sam,
that is ok thank you for the general number will call them! thank you so much...

felixcat,
no... I dont understand Chinese... sorry.. just some words...

RuRuCat,
that is so sweet...hahaha..ah.. but no cats for me... I dont really like cats and my husband is allergic to animals...specially dogs.. his face gets swellen..

Personal trainer! wow... how much would it coast? it sound costly....
I was going to hot yoga... but while I was on superfact (the first week) I went and.. then I almost fainted... so thought should do something else...
but not too much of hard training.. but I want to lose at least 5 kg before starting the next IVF.. for better BMI

Regarding private hosptials, before starting IVF since, Prof PC Wong didnt tell me much, I went to few clinics including a doctor who specializes with Japanese.. boy, she was expensive.. paid 250 dollars for 45 min consultation! because of that I think my husband doesnt want to go for second oppinions.......ahahaha
But I want to try and see SGH for second oppinion... I have a feeling that other doctors may have done the same as Prof PC Wong.. since my baseline blood test was normal, and was responding the the drugs normally...
but what I got myself thinking is that he may have been able to do a different protocol due to my age..........
He never says something that might point back at him being bad.. so Im assumming that he will never tell me.. but, I think there was too much surpresion drug used on me and may have killed my good eggs too.......
but what I want to know is.. from the middle I started to get 7 follicles... so whether that means that my eggs were not killed all the way or not......but it is actually my age.. and eggs that is not good enough....

Yve,
do you think your husband maybe able to get his hands on the DHEA suppliment? I was reading that the suppliments are the ones that is an extract of yam.... but even in Japan DHEA is not sold in drug stores.. but have to go to a gynea and have is perscribed...

Around what area do you live? I am around at the east coast..

RuRuCat,
your story about hokkaido is funny.. but you really had courage to go to hokkaido at such a cold time.......

Every year I wanted to go to their ice festival around Feb.. but will always chicken out.. because it is so cold there during that time... and end up watchin the news on tv about it... hahahaha

rurucat,

sounds like a good omen to me!

yah, how much is the personal trainer? i haven't been exercising for donkey years, feeling a bit guilty.

great! i love jap food too. so, confirmed parties:

rurucat
felixcat
sue
yve (hope you hv time to sit down with us.

how abt other ladies?

ruru: I pm u mah. In the site there is a contact us and within this, there is a locate us section. The outlets can be found there. If u always go to Isetan, sure can find the items there.

sue: I don't know about DHEA. Only read from some ladies who wrote about it here in the forum. Know that it is not used by the drs here. If it needs to be prescribed even in Japan, probably my DH won't be able to get it. Think I read some where that in US (I think, can't remember) can buy off the shelves?? I'm not sure.. but why u wanna try that? The workings.. it's like not verified. I'm just sticking to my multi-vitamins and wheatgrass.

felixcat: sure I have time to sit down with u gals. I don't do anything in the restaurant. There is a ten-cho and a fuku ten-cho. They are the bosses. I'm customer. hehe.

ok, yve, updated liao:

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Nick</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Gynae</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Status</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>IUI - Oct</TD><TD>2WW (BT - 12 Nov) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haze1ine</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>IVF - Oct (Stage 2)</TD><TD>2WW (BT - 13 Nov) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Hema </TD><TD>IVF - Oct (Stage 2)</TD><TD>ET - 11 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Strawbearbi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>IVF - Oct (Stage 2)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanne</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>SOIUI - Nov</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rurucat</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>LK Yap</TD><TD>FET - Nov</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>PebblesS</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>FET - Nov</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Felixcat</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>IVF - Nov (Stage 1)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yve</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>L C Foong</TD><TD>IVF - Dec</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Try Again</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>FET - NOV/DEC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyy</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>LK Yap</TD><TD>FET</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ah Kat</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Suresh Nair</TD><TD>IVF - Dec</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juliana</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Hendricks Marianne Sybille </TD><TD>IVF - Jan'09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sue</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>PC Wong</TD><TD>IVF - Jan'09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Sue,

No choice lah, my HB is only free to go for holiday during the CNY period due to his work. If don't go Asia countries such as Malaysia, Thailand,Australia and New Zealand, I think the rest of the world is cold leh.

Oh, you don't like cats? My latest addition to my family is a persian kitten 6months ago (looks like Garfied), she is super-duper cute but very stupid as compared to my 2 other cats.

Oh, I need a personal trainer due to my spine surgery. 4 years ago, I went for pilates exercise and the trainer pushed me down and after 1 week, I suffered a slipped disc. I went for surgery after suffering excuriating pain for a year and subsequently I never train in gym without supervision as scared. U can request a personal trainer to formulate an exercise regime for you and teach u how to use the machines for a few sessions. When u are more confident, can do on your own already. One session is $85 for 1 hour.

The reason why I ask u to ask for 2nd opinion is because my ex-gynae who did 2 rounds of clomid and 2 rounds of SO-IUIs on me is not very professional. After asking for 2nd opinion for my current gynae, I realized he allowed my follicles to grow until too mature, thus affecting the quality. I am very afraid Dr Wong kept something from you and you don't know and cont' treatment with him not knowing what happened. It is good you are seeking 2nd opinion from SHG Care.Do keep us updated.