Advice Needed: Any Mummy who put baby in infant care centre ?

Pastries, yup, I'm staying in clementi. My gal attending My First Skool @ Blk 375. now only have 5 infants. Are u at clementi too?

Peipei, oh.. my boy is at My 1st Skool at Blk 339. Haha! 375 is so much nearer to interchange then 339. But 375 opened in March, I went to see 339 1st and happy with the principal and they can open in Feb so I didn't change. There is one bb gal in 375 which is from 339 de, used to play with my boy. haha! Now 339 have 7 bbs! Used to be only 3 bbs in Feb. ^^

Juju, ya, good to know mummies with bb in same IFC but Pei Pei and I different IFC, but close enough le.

pastries, ya, it's rather close by! your principal is a malay lady right? which bb gal? now there are 4 bb gals and 1 bb boy (going to playgroup soon). think it's either Natasha or Xin Yu lah (both at 10 months).

well, initially 375 also planning to open in Feb too, but there were some technical issues with the electricity upgrading at the block. well, i chose 375 because i'm staying at the block! haha... so do you stay near the centre?

it would be great if we know mummies at the same IFC.

hi, pei pei and pastries

Wat is the difference between My first Skool House and got the other one also Skool somthing?

LC, both My 1st Skool and Little Skool House are under NTUC First Campus Co-Operative Ltd. They are using different teaching methods.

My 1st Skool subscribes to experiential learning and a process-oriented approach that supports the natural curiosity of the child, thus helping them to develop positive dispositions desirable for life-long learning. Usually located at heartlands.

Little Skool House develops independent and creative thinking, as well as good communication skills, in young children. It's actually considered international school, more 'high class' one. They are usually located in in prime locations such as country clubs, banks, private housing estates and shopping malls across Singapore.

Hope this clarifies.

Peipei, yes, is Natasha! Yup, the principal is a Malay lady, very nice and warm. ^^

So nice of you to have IFC right under your blk. I stayed near the central, next to swimming pool.

Have you thought of CC for your gal? I don't know whether to continue in 339..

Thanks pei pei. If it's stated as ntuc child care leh? My side here got one ntuc child care and it din state first skool or little skool. Is it thr most common kind?

pastries, that will be too far ahead leh. my gal is just reaching 4 months at the end of the month. haha.

i will monitor and see if the centre is good. if it's good, then i have no reason to transfer her cos it's so convenient for me. Maybe you can consider 375 instead? ;)

btw, how old is your son?

LC, this i'm not too sure leh. maybe you could check with the childcare centre instead? but if it's under NTUC, most probably it's My First Skool bah. you can check their website, http://www.ntuc-childcare.com to see if the centre is under My First Skool or not.

Peipei, haha, yes, abit far ahead for your gal. My boy is 10 mth now. I am just thinking should I change to those so called better CC (with better curriculum). If yes, then need to source around soon because waiting list might be long. But I will enquire current CC 1st. I would say for IFC, I am very happy with 339. ^^

LC, opp my blk also has one ntuc CC, it didn't state My 1st Skool also. I think the best is to check with that particular CC. For Little Skool House, is like what Pei Pei had mentioned, is more of the premium kind, so they don't have as many branch as My 1st Skool.

pastries, yah, enquire on the current CC 1st bah. i think they are rather standard, unless you are really thinking of putting your boy to those CC that uses different teaching technique, e.g. creative thinking, etc. otherwise, normal CC will be still quite curriculum/syllabus based.

btw, how many teachers are there at 339 for IFC? over at 375, there are 4 teachers, but seems like every morning it will be chaos as there are only 2 from 7 to ard 9am. the other 2 teachers will come in after 9am. for the past few days i was always at the IFC till 10+ before i come home to rest, because they seem like cannot cope leh. all the babies will be crying in the morning. sigh... i hope this will improve as this is the 1st week there are more babies at the IFC.

juju, the queue is really long for LSH!

Is LSH really good?? Somehow I don't have good impression of LSH..

Juju, any other CC you considering?

Peipei, yes, that is what I am thinking, creative thinking, I think this is very important nowadays ya.. Maybe because I am not creative at all, haha!

339 only have 3 teachers! I feel 339 will have some difficulty in attracting ppl to work compare to 375 because of the location. Unless 375 is full, if not, most ppl will choose 375 then 339. Same thing in 339, every morning only 1 teacher there, then the CC teacher will be pull in to help because they have shift mah.

Actually this is quite common in IFC. At least in this current IFC, I see they are pulling quite a number of staff to help, the bbs after gotten use to the staff, they seems ok. My boy can let the CC teachers carry also, not only the 3 IFC teachers.

Maybe because the previous IFC my boy is in only have 1 CC staff to look after the bbs during the morn & even peak hour and only have 1 main IFC teacher, so I am quite happy with current IFC staff arrangement.

btw, how are the teachers at 375? For me, I like all the 3 teachers at 339.

Hi Pei Pei

Like wat Pastries said, it is quite common in IFC. The teachers actually come into the centre at stagger timing and knock off at stagger timing too.. and they are quite immuned to babies crying and some will intentionally leave the baby there to cry it out so as not to make it a habit for the baby to make use of crying.. of course being parents we will heart pain.. When i first put my boy in the IFC, I also heart pain and will question if I had made the right choice of IFC than my MIL. But at least in IFC, they dun expose to TV, dun expose to cigaratte smoke, dun expose to vugalrity (though might be unintentionally by the adults) etc..

Re: trowing tantrum

Mummies with older babies (or should i say toddlers) can advise on this? Recently my boy will ignore the person whom he is angry with. like eg, if I scolded him for doing something wrong, he will look away and ignore me until i go and call him "handsome boy".. and when he wans something and cannot get it, he will stamp his feet vigorously and cry till sheeps come back and recently worse, he will hit the person like out of his mad (I sounded very kua zhang but really like those typical sight we saw in shopping malls.. sighz!!!). We dun give in to all his cries but my parent in laws just give in so as to stop him crying. buai tahan! Any advice on how to handle this situtation?

pastries, only 3 teachers?! actually 339 and 375 are quite near, not a very big difference in terms of location right? hee...

true that CC teacher might come to help at times. most of the time, the IFC teachers will be the only one.

teachers at 375 not too bad. i quite like 3 of them, except for 1. i think she is 60+ years old le (not that i discriminate her). she is relatively slower than the rest and can see that she cannot really fit into the fast-paced environment there and cannot multi-task very well. IFC teachers need to multi-task a lot because at one time, many bb to take care. but seem like she can only handle 1 - 2 bb each time.

and she is the one who gave me very hot milk to feed my bb!! today again! she warms my bm till quite hot and ask me to feed (cos i dun want her to feed). i told her very hot, she still insists the temp is alright. until i told another teacher and she helps to cool down the milk. anyway, bm cannot be too hot, kills all the nutrients inside. sigh... she is also the one who is very rough with my gal when changing her diapers.

i dunno if the other parents notice this. at least, this is what i observe. since i go to the IFC many times in a day (too free liao, :p) and the other parents just drop their bb and leave.

the other 3 teachers are very friendly and can see that they really handle bb very well. whenever they carry my bb, she will smile to them and wanna play with them.

pastries,
near my plc only ntuc & LSH cc lor. dat's why no other choices for me. considering LSH, bcos it incorporate creative thinking.

Wow, start looking at CC alry..heehee. I think must be kiasu abit.. I also kiasu that time. Start looking when my boi turns 1 year. Nw my boi at Cherie Hearts Justkidz. So far, I'm quite happy with the centre. My boi also seems happier in current cc. I did not continue my boi from prev. cc becos' I have colleagues who placed their kids there had bad comments about them. Speak vugal languages and fighting..haha seems jiat lat hor.

LC,
My boi also like yours, throw tantrums lor, if don't give in will cry and cry, lie down on the floor and beat the floor..In the end, my hubby no choice has to use the cane to scare him. Sometimes my boi reali too naughty then will cane his hands. But it helps, becos sometimes if he did it again, I told him papa beat beat, he will point to his hand and dare not do it again.

Of course you have to be "ren xin" abit.

Pei Pei,

Not sure if the older generation always feel that bb can take milk at that kind of temperature. My MIL also like that, once I ask for some warm water for milk, she give me hot water and insist that it is not hot..I guess that 60plus IFC teacher in ur IFC also like that bah..Or is she the ifc teacher or just a helper there?

snowyee, definitely she is IFC teacher.

the only reason i can think of is her skin is thicker and cannot feel the temperature right bah. even the other teacher also feels that the temperature is too hot. if too hot, will scald the bb's tongue one leh. i think i'm not a very fussy parent, but things like this i have to pay more attention. sigh...

Hi snowyee

my boy really made me lose my patience. I let him self feed himself for his dinner. towards the end, he started to play with food, I gave him warning but he continued. I then removed his bowl N spoon. And he started his usual stunt - cry the roof down. I just walked away N ignored his cries. Very cruel hor? Then come to keeping toys, he also intentionally ignore my instruction to keep the toys n book before going to bed. Until daddy stepped on to keep with him. And fr living hall to bedroom so short distance also demand hubby to carry. But of cos my hubby dim give in, just coax him to walk and he walk with jelly legs. Make my blood boiled. Come change sleepsuit, he can also walk here and walk there, refused to change. He knows I can't do anything yo him cos I am carrying my girl. Arghhhhhhh.... Sorry, this is abt IFC thread, just wan to let out!

Peipei,
OIC, if that ifc teacher is so stubborn, maybe you would like to hightlight to the PIC of the centre or talk nicely to that teacher. It's better not to clash with her cos' you still need the ifc to take care of your bb. If not, later she bear grudges then ill treat ur bb.

LC,
I guess this is at the development stage where they are exploring to self feed. I also let my boi self-feed. He also like urs, play with the food then worst still, throw the bowl on the floor and make a mess..wan to faint alry..sometimes, I pity the teachers at the ifc who take care of him, that why I also close 1 eye when they complained. But come to think of it, usually naughty kids are much clever..have a few examples from my friends' kids..heehee..

Snowyee
basically my boy is spoilt by his grandparents! My IFC dun let them self feed a lot, only when at PG then more practice..

snowyee, ya, i gotta be very tactful leh... who knows if she will ill-treat my daughter... sigh... but lucky the other teachers are good, think they will keep an eye on her.

hi janiemin
tis 6hr is apparently AVA's standard. from other thread, i also heard someone kept the porridge for more than 6hr, & the porride is spoilt.

Morning mommies, got a memo from my kids IFC.... There were 2 confirmed cases of HFMD!! Is there any way to prevent this dreadful sickness? So scary....

sophia,
i jus got a memo dat hfmd is on thae rise. not much alternatives. jus keep the bbs hygiene clean. the ifc will also step up disinfecting actions.
watch out for hfmd symptoms in the bbs

I think HFMD is really on the rise. My niece got it last week, but luckily it's minor. Only a few dots on her feet.

So really have to keep bb hygiene and wash their hands frequently especially they like to touch here, touch there and put in their mouth. One alternative is to give them the pacificer but still not the best solution.

helo,
do u have prob seeing this thread last few day?

yes, HFMD on rise, be cautious.my IFC got 1 b kena chicken pox!!but my boy havent 1 year old so cant jab.

regards travelling only with bb,
I think too much things to bring alone + pram etc..I envy those mummy who bring their bb out alone.I saw this super mummy whose one hand carry pram and push up the escalator then another hand carry the bb.i think i will be clumpsy and phobia of falling down the escalator..I hoep when my bb is bigger, then i can bring him go window shopping.haha.

Got little wings as well from NTUC. i figured out it should be kindergarden. Now like seldom see PAP liao.

I will be switching to Jurong point, my first skool in May.confirmed liao..went to visit the place, quite huge, meant to be for 25 babies but they oni take in 15 babies..i think better lah, more babies more prone to sickness..got pros and cons over current IFC and new IFC.but generally is okie.hopefully my boi boi can get used in May.

janiemin,
which ifc ur boy at now?

travelling? in sg or out of sg?
in sg, depend whr u go. big shopping ctr or more than a few hrs, better to bring stroller.
if jus short outing, carrier will do. i throw everything into 1 bag, sling & go.
if out of sg, usu wif hb. only bring sling or bb carrier. sling to bf outside hotel room. din take stroller during our 1 wk holiday in m'sia in jan (my gal 8mths old then). realised bb carrier was good enuff

juju78,
my bb now is Agape at Jurong west, jln bahar.I changed cos of the travelling distance, too long liao.

ha, we talking abt in sgp.but as bb getiing heavier, cant sling/carry..somemore they dun wan to be carry..my bb dont like to sit pram..very headache..

wah,juju78, u din bring scroller along, then u keep carrying her, ur shoulder not pain ah? then bb wants to sleep how? sleep in sling?

janiemin,
agape nearer to ur home? then if u not working, will be more troublesome to send to JP, rite?

oh ya, ur boy bigger, wanna walk hor? if u dun mind, can use those froggy bags dat he carry & u hold onto a strap?

hb & i rotate carrying her. when she wanna slp, jus slp in bb carrier lor. cos it was a self-drive, we can ctrl the timing better.

janiemin,

u gg to transfer yr bb to JP.
Hope to see yr bb soon.

I always rely on carrier when i bring her to school in the morning even shopping alone with her cos my gal is quite heavy to carry now.

juju78,
hmn,JP is in fact nearer.cos oni 1 mrt stop or ard 3 bustops aways fm my hse.for Agape, 7-8 bustops away..so i go JP travelling time will be shorten by half..In a way,u r right lah, Agape got direct bus to my working place..but i considered many factors n decided JP still save time.
yaloh, my bb starts to walk so wanan walk.hehehe..forgive me if i offend anyone..i find that if i use a strap on the bag,i like walking the dog leh..cos last time i saw a "ah gong" used this for his grandson, the bb was trying to walk to dun where lah but the ah gong dont want him to go there.so he keep pulling the strap and the bb keep wanting to walk so when i see the scenario like very heartpain.it made me link to the dog case,whereby the dog wants to walk then the master dun wan and keep pulling him.

Sherine,
yes in May, cos i need one month notice..hw is ur bb coping? u will see him the 1st 3 days lah,i very scare he cant get used.by the way, wana ask i was told for the first 3 days can oni be there for 6 hrs ist?

ya, i oso carry my bb is carrier cos i have to take bus, i scare i fall down..but carrier has max weight..i think i cant use soon liao cos bb gotta exceed wt limit.

janiemin,
oh, same as my previous reason for putting at whispering hearts lor, nearer to workplace. now change to nearer home.
yes, near home eventually is better.

hehe... i dun like the strap idea too, like walking dog. my mum alrdy ban me frm using it, not dat i wan to, anyway.

janiemin,
Ur boi switching over to My first Skool JP? BTW, ar the teachers there more Chinese speaking becos' prev. when I enquire about the PG that time,I notice a few Teachers are from China.

Dun wori, ur boi shld get used to it soon becos he is in IFC, so by rite will adapt faster..Prob 1st few days will have separation anxiety bah..

BTW, any 1 has used this studio called Dreamgraden for BB Photoshoot? They are having promo now at the forum. Thought of signing up for the promo. Wanted to sign up Sean Lau photography but I think he's not cheap.

pastries,
haha... ok ok. 10 mins is still quite a distance. :p

aiyah, your post comes a little too late. i got babybjorn liao. oops! i only tried once at home using the carrier, seems alright now. i hope she dun put on weight too fast lor... otherwise, waste my $$$. haha... now she's ard 7kg, still can afford to have 5 more kg.

Oopss.. I think I acccidentally deleted the post! Wanted to amend it but I think I pressed wrong button, all done in a hurry because boss came over to my desk.. oops..

Peipei, my boy is slim type, at 9 mth and 3 weeks, he is only 7.9 kg.. but now slowly gaining weight steadily, he eat more and more cheerful at 339.

Sean Lau Photography, is he good?? I have not searched for one yet. Snowyee11, you read my deleted post right, I think better to wait till my boy can walk few steps (with support lah) then take, can have more pose mah.

pastries, your boy very slim leh... gosh, my gal is barely 4 months old only! oops! but i heard the growth will slow down after 6 months?

anyway, my gal has been drinking lesser and lesser milk now. she has already dropped her milk intake from 7 feeds to 6 feeds and still cannot finish her milk sometimes.

also, she has been having diarrhoea for a week liao. been poo-ing min. 5 times a day. it's watery towards the end of the day. brought her to pd on mon, finish medication liao, still the same. but she seems happy and active still.

not sure if she got infected by the other 2 infants there who are also having diarrhoea. but teachers say the other 2 are teething, so diarrhoea. *wonder*

janiemin,

the first 3 day is 6hrs from 9-3pm together with the bb. You can see my gal then she is the youngest in that IFC.

My gal is coping well slowly, this wk she is not in IFC due to cough n running nose.

Peipei, yes, the growth slows down after 6 months, this is true for my boy. His weight at 6 months that time is 6+ over kg, so you can see the weight gain is so slow for him after 6 months. Maybe cos me & hubby is also small built frame, so my boy oso slim slim. But his milk and solid food intake is quite alot wor.. more than the chubby bbs at the IFC leh (according to the IFC teachers, haha)

Hmm.. diarrhoea, did you switch to soy milk? When my boy has diarrhoea, we switched to isomil for him (cos he is taking similac FM then). But I am not sure for bb on BM, is it necessary to switch to soy milk anot..

Just remember to ensure no dehydration for yr gal ya.. ensure her fluid intake is adequate. Teething will had diarrhoea, but should be mild type. So not sure whether the other 2 infants is having mild diarrhoea?? So you still can bring yr gal to 375?

Pastries,
I signed up for Dreamgraden photography as they are having march promotion. Think signed up now can untilised within 3mths. Yes, I think it's better to wait till ur boi is older then take sign up, so the shots will turn out better when he started walking. As for Sean Lau photography, heard that it's expensive but that time they are also having promo at the forum, a few mummies signed up together. I guess they are more professional bah.

My boi also like urs, slim type but he is quite tall and eats alot. I find him heavy now, guess it's around 12kg.

Peipei,
I think prob you can switch to soy formular/lactose free formular temporary if ur gal having diarrhoea cos' I think usually the medicine does not seems to help. If not, you can use the porridge water to make the milk, it helps too.

snowyee11,
when i went dwn to see J.pt my first skool, there are oni 2 teachers cos i went ard 5 plus..i can rell if there are fm china or not,cos they din speak much when i went there.but my current IFC adly got 2 china teachers.i guess nw more china teachers as sporeans may not like this job as deemed as low pay??wat to do.

oh sean lau photography is exp..i still considering to let bb take or not as a memory.

sherine,
ok..hope to see u in person..i will be going in march..oh they din tell him its fm 9am-3pm...i better asked again..so are u there all full 6 hrs?
can leave and pop in later? cos i din i dun wan to be there full 6hrs, bb will be clingy to me.

Janiemin,
Guess so, now getting more PRC teachers but I think they are good at taking care of kids.

Actually hor, I dun encourage u to stay full 6hrs, you are right, ur boi will cling to u becos new environment mah. But of course it's also good to know how the IFC teachers handle the infants when you stayed inside.

U know for my case when I switched my boi to PG tat time, I did not stay inside the centre but just peep through the window outside the centre becos I knew my boi will refuse when we are with him. Only the 1st day, he was angry with us and keep crying when we picked him up, but after that, next day is fine.

Snowyee11, I will search around for good photography studio. Actually I liked Studio Loft and during preggy time, I went down to the Studio and signed up for package but on the actual day of shooting, I had very bad mood swings, I don't know why, suddenly started crying at home and no mood to do anything. And when I called up to change appointment date, the lady answering the phone is very rude.. Also, I met the photographer when I went down to sign the package, found her not too friendly.. So end up I didn't go down to take pictures at all..

Maybe my bb and me same character, needs time to warm up, so must find those photographer who are outgoing, jovious and easily let ppl feel at ease type.. haha!

Janiemin, when i switched my boy to My 1st Skool, 1st 2 days is only half day at IFC, half day at home. They said is better for bb to adjust slowly.. Not sure about My 1st Skool JP though..

Snowyee11, wow, but u not afraid your boy will had very bad stranger anxiety on the 1st day? But I think bbs who went to IFC are more adaptable.

Janiemin,

The first day I was there the full day, then sequent i left after the teachers settle her down. U can pop in later as u want. I think you can go early the second n third day, i bring her down around 8++.
The first day is normally telling the teachers his habit n observe how they treat him. Indeed, 6 hours there is very long, I get bored after a while then i start to play with other bbs.

Actually, the teachers would prefer us not to be around cos some will cry when they saw strangers.

Really hope to see you there. Normally, i drop her around 830 then i go to work.

Pastries,
Yes, I agree. I also feel that you have to be comfortable with the photographer you choose..else will affect the photos will not turn out nice...hahaha..

Actually I'm quite worried my boi had bad stranger anxiety also. Actually the centre teachers dun encourage us to stay in with them but probably for a few hrs bah..my boi cried when I went off, but I peep through the window from outside, waited for 1hr and saw him ok then I'm more assured to leave in their care..then around noon time, I drop by again to check, make sure he's ok.

Yes indeed, I'm glad I've placed my boi in IFC previously as he can reali adapt faster. Now everyday we send him to the centre, as least he can guai guai sit down and wave us goodbye.

BTW, any 1 have facebook here? Maybe we can add each other.